Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Minnesota State University Moorhead Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/24/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 out of 15 people found this review useful. 1 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It great for people who like small campus's, its really hard to get lost and the teachers actually know you here because there are smaller classes. Its pretty much good for everyone, there are thousands of clubs, if you cant find a club that you would be interested in then you need to keep looking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips are, stay on campus at least your first year, go to events, that's where you can meet a lot of people, go to classes and don't be shy to sit down by a stranger, join study groups, don't pile classes up all on one day, only take as many credits as you think you can handle (if your taking a class you think is going to need a little extra work, only take 13 credits instead of 15 or 19, an F DOES A LOT to your GPA), use the buses there free to students at MSUM, bring warm clothes the winters get pretty cold (at least last year did, but last year might have been a little crazy cause we did have floods, but the floods are really uncommon to be as bad as last year so don't let that scare you away), check out the other campus's around (we have Concordia and NDSU right next to us and they have a lot of cool events going on too), if you know people here try not to always hang around with them because you might loose your chances to meet other people, most of all enjoy your time after college you have to work full time.

    Bang for the buck

    Considering Moorhead just switched to Banded Tuition this year, Banded Tuition means it doesn't matter if your taking 13 credits or 19 credits its going to be the same price either way. This is nice because say you really want to learn Piano, but the First Year Piano class doesn't help out your Dragon Core or help you at all for your major, you can take it cause it wont cost you any more money. So what I'm trying to say is that with this Banded Tuition, you can take all the classes you need to, but still take a couple classes on the side just for fun to learn the stuff and experience it.

    Am enjoying being here

    This is my second year living in the dorms and again if you have a chance to live in the dorms, do it. This is where I met almost all of my friends. My roommate last year and I are pretty close friends now and we started last year out not knowing each other. There is so much to do on campus all the time, we have a recreation center where we can go play pool and ping pong and other stuff. The BRAND NEW gym is free for students to go to, and its pretty sweet in there!! Once a month on a Friday, Moorhead has this event called Dragons After Dark, where they have a big event going on that's free to students, there's normally free food, dancing, sometimes arts and crafts events, plus all the pool and ping pong is free. But one night there was lazer tag set up in the commons area. It was really neat. If your into sports but you don't really want to be as dedicated as college sports normally are, there are a bunch of intramural sports which a lot of the kids here play just for fun to get out and do something and meet people.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a sophomore this year, last year I learned so much I actually drug my friends to a couple of my classes because I thought they were that interesting. Now in high school it was never that way, I wanted to get drug out of class. But college is a whole new experience, if you get a chance, GO!! I really like Moorhead, it is a small campus so for those of you who get lost easily like me, there is really no chance you can get lost.

  • 10/11/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 13 people found this review useful. 2 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Laid back personalities, politically liberal mindset, these majors: art, theatre, film studies, mass communications, political science, biosciences, accounting/finance, business

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus the first year! It's not required, but freshman who live off campus never feel a connection to campus and make fewer friends. Also, get involved! There are so many clubs and organizations on campus, that something will interest you. Clubs are a great way to meet people, and if you graduate with nothing on your resume besides a degree, you might not get hired.

    Bang for the buck

    MSUM is one of the least expensive schools in the country, but it's still a quality education. Even if a student put their entire tuition on student loans, they'd still graduate with significantly less debt than students who go to private schools or more expensive state schools.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere on campus is great. The school is big enough to offer many options for classes and majors, but small enough that you will always recognize people in your classes. The students are very friendly and laid back, and are continually holding doors for each other. Minnesota Nice is definitely showcased at MSUM.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are one of the biggest assets of the school. They are knowledgeable, friendly, and always willing to help students. There is one professor who learns the name and face of every student in her classes! She has over 400 per semester! Classes are NOT taught by grad students. While the professors do research and writing, their main focus is teaching.

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    moorhead has their own public safety department that is working 24/7 to keep students safe. emergency stations and phones are located all over campus. at moorhead, safety of the students is a top priority.

    Greek Life

    home to two sororites and two fraternities, moorhead is a good place to enter into greek life and form connections that will stay strong throughout the rest of your life.

    Clubs and Activities

    moorhead has over 200 clubs and every weekend a student has the tough decision on deciding which activities they'll attend. it's a lively campus with a great social atmosphere.

    Great for these types of students

    moorhead is a great choice for a wide variety of majors, but anyone looking at an education degree should attend moorhead, hands-down.`

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    at every homecoming game and on very special occasions, there is a dragon statue on campus that belches out fire all day in honor of the school mascot, the dragon.

    Bang for the buck

    the tuition is one of the lowest in the region and you get great opportunities for the money you pay. cost is the same if you take between 12 and 19 credits, and this gives you room to explore areas outside of your major.

    What to do for fun

    there are plenty of clubs, events, and intramural sports available to students to keep them busy. travel over the bridge into fargo to experience the city nightlife on broadway and have fun with your friends and meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    the campus dining hall has many options but will slowly get old after a while. don't be afraid to cook yourself a meal in your dorm kitchen. there are cafes and sandwich shops located around campus for your convenience.

    Dorm Life

    a great place to meet friends you'll keep for a life time. the rooms have heat, electricity, and internet and are spacious enough for two. the dorms are co-ed and an excellent place to develop your social skills.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are challenging but not unbearable. a good place to find balance between friends, academics, and family.

    Tips for prospective students

    college is the time to learn and expand. break your shell and make your way into the world with confidence.

    In three sentences

    it's a friendly campus that will really be there for each and every student. small enough not to crowd you and big enough to widen your horizons. minnesota state university moorhead is the place for anyone to craft their future and have a good time doing it.

  • 10/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to study history, archaeology, geology, business, and philosophy will do great here. Also if you like to be in student organizations there are over 100 to choose from. Be adventurous--even make your own!

    Tips for prospective students

    Know ahead of time what classes you plan to take. After orientation try to schedule a time with an advisor to make sure you're in the right place. Sometimes the student volunteers aren't brushed up in the area of your study. Bring excellent winter clothes because it gets COLD very fast. Research what dorm is right for you too--whether you can put up with noise in Nelson or you prefer to be in the renovated Dahl.

    Bang for the buck

    Did I mention that North Dakota, Wisconsin, And Illinois residents get their tuition at the same rate as anyone applying in Minnesota? For roughly 16,000$ full tuition is a steal. You can minimize this by living off campus in one of the many highrise apartments in fargo or becoming a Resident Hall assistant. There are not that many work-study related jobs so be prepared to find off campus work WELL AHEAD OF TIME or save up for the year. There are not that many jobs in town either so if you're looking forward to working during the year take in your options.

    Am enjoying being here

    This place is great for students that want a small-town feel. There is not much to do in town compared to the big city but there are definately places to go. Downtown Fargo and Moorhead has a great nightlife and a quaint coffee-shop atmosphere during the day. The campus is compact so its almost impossible to lose your way to class. We sport two on-campus coffee shops in addition to a great cafeteria with diverse foods. As a freshman you will be required to take some sort of meal plan but dont fret--being on campus is an amazing thing for a first year. Take the time to get to know your teachers and fellow students.

    Am learning a lot

    This university has a great and diverse selection of courses. You are required to take a set of core courses to graduate, but every section has a rich selection of not only enjoyable classes but ones for your major. Your advisors for Majors and Minors work on a one-on-one basis with you to make sure you are taking the right classes. The school offers small interactive class rooms along with survey-based learning in lecture halls, and study abroad options. Moorhead works closely with the surrounding universities (Concordia College and NDSU) in something called the Ti-Collegiate program to offer even more choices.

  • 01/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety on campus is good. I always see the campus safety car driving by all the time. They do their rounds every night also. A very safe campus.

    Greek Life

    I'm not in any of the Greek Life here, but I have heard some news about them. They seem very good and wonderful to join. I know last year one of the Sororities performed at a talent show and they did an excellent job! So if you are interested at all check them out!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities here, it is hard to choose! I guarantee there is a club here for every student. You are bound to find one you are interested in. I found three!

    Great for these types of students

    MSUM is great for anyone! I think everyone should give it a shot! You will always see familiar faces everywhere you go. Friendliest school out there!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The students here, including myself love our school very much! We provide so much support for all our teams! It's never a dull moment at any of the games when your with Nemzek Noize cheering on with the crowd! Go Dragons!

    Bang for the buck

    Moorhead here is a good price. Yes, college is expensive, but the other school I have looked into are more expensive. MSUM is a decent price and along with that price comes good education and lots of new friendly faces.

    What to do for fun

    When you are in college there are many things to do. Of course you will have homework to do, but what to do after that is done! In the dorms, talk to people on your floor! Get to know them. Hang out in your lounge. Friday and Saturday nights always seem to go by faster when your friends are around! Plan movie nights, go to the Dragon's After Dark's (A campus attraction held usually once a month) and go to Friday Night events also! There is always something to do here.

    Food and Dining

    The main campus dining and only dining area here is Kise. It's a dining center. They have a variety of food choices everyday. There are also small locations on campus where food is sold also, especially coffee!

    Dorm Life

    I highly recommend living in the dorms your first year for sure. Dorm life is amazing. You meet so many new people and make life-long friends! Living in the dorms is a great advantage- you are right on campus. Don't have to worry about leaving extra early for classes, or about the car starting.

    Academic Rigor

    The class sizes are good. Teachers are excellent! They are very friendly and outgoing and are very understanding. There are also a lot of majors to choose from here!

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour all of the college's that are of interest to you. When you tour look around you, at the students, try picturing yourself there. Go with your gut instinct. I knew right away after I toured here that this was the school for me!

    In three sentences

    MSUM provides a great learning experience for all students who attend. A wonderful campus, small enough to get to each class on time. Great, friendly atmosphere. I can't stress that enough!

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security is very helpful, even for things like jump starting your car during winter. there is a contact number given to all students just in case you're at the library too late and just would like an officer to escort you back to the dorms. it's available, but this campus feels very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs and intramural sports to check out. i am active in japan club and korea club, two great cultural clubs where american and international students mingle through games and activities. there's also dragon nights every friday where the campus hosts some sort of activity some nights have been black light dances, culture club events with food and shows, game tournaments, and others.

    Bang for the buck

    being an out-of-state student can sometimes double the normal tuition costs, but with reciprocity with wisconsin, illinois, north dakota, and south dakota, the tuition is much, much more manageable. there's also the binded tuition which pays the same for whether you take 14 or 18 credits. this allows you to explore a new class/subject and see different subjects you like.

    Food and Dining

    there are many locations on campus for optional dining. kise, the cafeteria is open three times a day plus later at night in case you missed dinner or need night-time study food. there's also a couple coffee stops in different areas on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    there are many, many degrees including some unique ones. msum is very good in business, biology, history, and english to name a few. msum is also one of the only universities in the midwest that offers japanese as well as chinese language. the class sizes are perfect for students who want more interaction with the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    try to be a little prepared before moving in or within the first couple weeks. take a tour of the campus including a couple dorms before signing a contract. pick up a map and drive around fargo-moorhead to get to know the area. make sure to also be prepared for a possible cold winter with snow boots, good coat and such.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe. I never heard of anyone I know having trouble on campus. They also have a bunch of emergency booths you can use to call Campus Security spread around campus. Also, you can sign up for emergency related texts and emails at MSUM's website, and they text you anytime there's anything suspicious going on or if there's any weather emergency.

    Greek Life

    Everyone I know that took part on the Greek Life at MSUM said they are a great way to have fun and to make lots of friends. There are at least three sororities and they just established a fraternity in 2012.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs for all kinds of interests at MSUM, there are a lot of choices and they are pretty fun to be part of. Also there are all kinds of fun and interesting activities on and out of campus all year round and MSUM's teachers and staff always make sure you're aware of those.

    Great for these types of students

    The Business, Education and Science majors at MSUM are pretty good. The art departments are also pretty amazing, I would definitely recommend MSUM for any person pursuing any degrees they offer in different art programs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During Homecoming they have a ceremony in which they burn a giant M on the football field. Also during Homecoming the dragon statue in the middle of campus starts spitting fire, it is pretty interesting.

    Bang for the buck

    MSUM has absolutely great classes and teachers, the facilities are pretty good and it is very aesthetically pleasing. You definitely get the most of your money studying here.

    What to do for fun

    Being part of activities and clubs is a great way to have fun at MSUM. Also, they have a great Wellness Center which has all kinds of workout options, which go from group classes to a climbing wall. And all of that is free for students.

    Food and Dining

    Overall that are great grocery stores in the area and awesome dining options on and out of campus. The only one that I didn't enjoy that much was Kise, and it is the main dining facility you are going to use if you have a meal plan. It doesn't have many healthy food options, and when it does it doesn't taste very good. I gained a lot of weight eating there, I don't recommend it.

    Dorm Life

    I know many people who made most of their friends in the dorms and they couldn't love it more, so that may be a good choice. But I didn't enjoy it that much during my year there. Most of my friends didn't live in my dorm, I didn't feel very comfortable sharing the bathroom with everyone on my floor and my roommate wasn't very compatible with me. Otherwise the RAs were pretty helpful, the rooms were really comfortable and it was nice to live that close to the classrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor depends on each professor and the level of the classes you're taking. Overall it is pretty reasonable, most professors just want to make sure you are learning what they're teaching, so that's what your grades will be based on.

    Tips for prospective students

    MSUM has a lot of great clubs, so new students should definitely take advantage of that. Also, do not overload yourself with classes, take sixteen credits at most. I took about nineteen credits for my first semester, I lost a lot of sleep and practically had no social life, it is a terrible idea.

    In three sentences

    MSUM is affordable, it has great academic programs and the professors are always willing to help students succeed.

  • 07/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 8 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Live in the dorms, if you can! The Living Learning Community I was placed in my freshman year helped me get my bearings in a new school ten hours away from home, and I always had a family on my dorm floor. You will meet your best friends and your greatest supporters living on campus!

    Bang for the buck

    As the least expensive school in the Minnesota State system, MSUM is incredible. The fantastic facilities from the brand new fitness center to the dorms are great and staffed by a faculty who actually cares. I love my school and can't imagine going anywhere else.

    Am enjoying being here

    The community at MSUM, the closeness of the campus and the atmosphere of nearby Fargo made this school an effortless choice. I drive ten hours to get to school every year but I keep going back.

  • 10/11/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    MSUM charges in-state tuition for all students, so that is definitely a bonus.

    Will enjoy being here

    The environment in the Fargo-Moorhead area is great! I felt like there were a ton of friendly people, and everyone was very helpful when I toured the campus.

    Will learn a lot

    The university has a lot of different resources that students can use if they ever need any help with their classes. Also, the low student to teacher ratios and small class sizes make it easier to develop a personal connection with faculty.

  • 12/06/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    10 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    The campus and surrounding area look fantastic. I would enjoy the Minnesota area.

    Will learn a lot

    I plan on attending here, because of the major i want.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is public safety all over the place. if you ever feel unsafe, you can call them and they will help you out. also, there are emergency boxes all over the place where if you feel in trouble, or stalked, or are about to be attacked you can press the button and lights will flash and the safety people will come to your rescue.

    Greek Life

    there are two sororities, delta zeta and gamma phi beta, and one fraternity being colonized, kappa sigma, on campus at the moment. the greek life opportunities are amazing. i reccommend it, even if you don't think greek life is for you. go to one recruitment event, or just ask if you can hang out with them. most of the people are amazing, and it's great for leadership opportunities.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a ton of different activities and clubs on campus. if there isn't a club for your interest, it is usually not too hard to find a faculty member who is willing to help you start one.

    What to do for fun

    we have sports events, there is always a campus activity going on. we have our roc which is the recreation outing center. there you can play board games, pool, ping pong, or watch the ginormous tv. also, there are many places to go off-campus. at the moment we have an agreement with the busing system, so you can take the bus almost anywhere (the routes go) as long as you carry your student i.d.

    Food and Dining

    there are different choices for dining. there is kise, which is the main cafeteria-type area. there is usually a variety of foods there, including vegetarian choices. aside from kise, there is subs & sweets. it is both like a subway and then like a coffee-type donut shop. there is one side that makes subs, there is another side that makes coffee and sells donuts, cookies, bagels, etc. other than that, there is the dragon cafe which sells coffee, soda, sandwiches, and snack. then there is the union city, which is kind of like a fast-food zone in our cmu building.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life at msum is great! there are floor meetings that you go to. there are building events. each different dorm building has an activities board that plans events for that building alone. the rooms are very decent size. there are both single and double rooms. if you have a sparring with your roommate, the housing office is very flexible and is willing to trade you around to other rooms if need be.

    Academic Rigor

    the academics here are amazing. especially for those going into teaching or social work majors, this school is definitely a good place for you. also, there is a good student-teacher ratio. so if you need help, the professor always has office hours so you can go and talk to him or her.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to keep both warm and cool clothing. at first it gets hot, and then all of the sudden it is cold. also, get to know your advisor or an adult that you can be good friends with, or at least good acquaintances. you definitely will want that person in your life, and they can help with references and letters of recommendations.

    In three sentences

    msum-moorhead is very friendly. msum-moorhead is very convenient. msum-moorhead is a great place to gain independence, get involved, and to meet your future lifelong friends.

  • 03/03/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    tons of options when it comes to eating on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    most classes have fewer than 25 students.

    Tips for prospective students

    take a campus tour. seeing the school in person is way better than seeing the school in pictures.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    dragons after dark and friday nights.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a metal sculpture of a two headed dragon that breaths fire on special occasions.

    What to do for fun

    go to student events, dragons after dark, friday nights.

    Food and Dining

    the students have renamed the prepaid dinning from kise to queasy.

    Dorm Life

    i haven't lived in the dorms, but from what i hear they are all right.

    Academic Rigor

    they don't crack down on you. it is up to you to get good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    take advantage of the student activities. they can be fun and you get free stuff.

    In three sentences

    the school has a safe atmosphere. there are student activities where you can win prizes, play games, and make crafts for free.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many activities, plays and concerts in the area.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a school that truly cares about your well-being and future career, this is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    A very good school, especially if you are intimidated by large campuses. It is small and close-knit. The teachers are friendly and helpful.

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Could be better.

    Bang for the buck

    Great tuition prices!

    In three sentences

    It's a small campus with big feel. There is a great student to teacher ratio. It's also growing in diversity quickly.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    were just starting to reestablish greek life, its a good option for people who are into that.

    Bang for the buck

    the school is really priced well. It wasn't too hard on my wallet, and had great academic programs that made it worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    A ton of different clubs and organizations were available threw the school, and they also had weekend programs called dragons after dark that was something for us to do, otherwise just hanging out with friends, going out for food.

    Food and Dining

    i actually didnt mind the food. The cafeteria was open to suggestions and actually tried to fix what people wanted.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms were nice for the most part. They are being redone and the one i stayed in hadn't been done yet, but the remodeled ones are so nice.

    Academic Rigor

    the courses are at the level I would want a college to be at. I get pushed to succeed, and the material really is teaching me.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your looking for a small campus, that is reasonably priced, this is a good choice. you get the attention you need and deserve.

    In three sentences

    this university is really great, i would rate it at a 8 out of 10. The campus is a perfect size for me and i can get the attention from the professors that i need. i really enjoy it here and will stay here for the rest of my schooling.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always available and all of the RA's have gone through extensive saftey training.

    Greek Life

    We have to sororities and we just reopened a fraternity. They are all very social on campus with recruiting and putting on fun activities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everyone. Once they become official the school gives them money and supports them with fliers and space to put up tables for recruiting. There are events going on every week for clubs and activities. Everyone is welcome to participate.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students that prefer smaller classes tailored to fit there needs. It's specifically useful for those persuing a degree in liberal arts.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have the burning of the M bonfire every fall at the beginning of the school year.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a beautiful campus, but the sports teams usually perform below average at MSUM. There are lots of activies and sports for everyone to be invovled in, but not alot of school spirit.

    What to do for fun

    Two friday nights every month they have a Dragon's After Dark activity that usually includes live music, dances, and arts and crafts. There are board games, pool, and TVs with DVD players available for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    Kise is the only dining option available other than the kiosks. Kise needs to update meal choices and offer more variety. Often the only healthy choice is at the salad bar and even the options there are poor.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is very accepting of what makes individuals unique. Some dorms are nicer than others. There is no air conditioning.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the upper classes are designed to challenge you and are based on participation. However, many of the lower level classes, espectially lecture oriented classes are simple and require little effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors right away. They want to see you succeed. Talk to a career counselor and explore all of your options. Reach our and get to know your peers.

    In three sentences

    The classes here are often small and encourage participation. The campus is beautiful and accepting of everyone. Its affordable.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have call phones all over campus and emergency buttons. Very small campus in a small city not much to worry about.

    Greek Life

    There isn't really a large Greek life on this campus a few sororities around, but nothing compared to NDSU or UND which are other close locations.

    Clubs and Activities

    They are many clubs and activities to join and new ones are always welcome to be created.

    Great for these types of students

    Great school for transfers, low budget, art students and older nontraditional students.

    Bang for the buck

    Relatively cheap tuition if you are a living in the state or nearby. It doesn't really have a sports programs and isn't division 1 so they are able to charge less.

    What to do for fun

    Go to fargo, hit up shopping, downtown bars, etc. Only 3 hours away from Minneapolis.

    Food and Dining

    There are several places to eat on campus they are fairly good.

    Dorm Life

    Didn't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I think that the campus is slowly getting better and standards are finally being set as to what needs to be completed to have good quality students that are able to get placed in a job when they graduate. They still have some work to do though.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a transfer student make sure to set up an appointment not with an adviser as they are not trained to actually be able to direct you as to what you should have completed in school. Contact the main entrance office for students and one on one's that are not teachers.

    In three sentences

    MSUM is a small campus with relatively small classes. You get one on one attention, but being a smaller school there is a lack of classes offered each semester due to lack of teachers.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    In the Comstock Memorial Union (CMU) there's a place called the ROC where students can play board games, shoot pool, air hockey, ping pong, watch television, use the computers, and even check out camping and outdoor equipment. There are also many clubs and intramural sports students can join to keep them involved. The Dragon Entertainment Group puts together big events about once a month for students to come have fun and meet people, attend dances, make crafts, and have a good time.

    Food and Dining

    The on campus cafeteria Kise Commons is a great place to relax and eat meals with your classmates and friends everyday. It has a comfortable atmosphere and occasionally has special days where they play movies and have cotton candy and other amazing sweets! However, the food at Kise is not always the greatest. Many of the meals they serve are pretty bland and/or taste weird. But they do have a suggestion box on things they could do better or if you would just like to share your thoughts. There are also other places to grab a quick bite to eat such as Subs N' Sweets, The Dragon Stop, and Union City. If Kise meals are getting tiring or you don't have a lot of time between classes to eat, these are great places to just pick something up and eat on the go!

    Dorm Life

    The experiences of dorm life at MSUM is constantly changing everyday. But it mostly depends on the student's personality and tolerance of living with large amounts of people. I have lived in the dorm for 2 years now and have enjoyed it for the most part. It's nice to be able to live so close to your friends and not have to commute early in the morning to get to class because everything is within walking distance (even Taco Bell!). Sometimes sharing a bathroom with 30 other people isn't the most ideal, but it doesn't take long to adjust. I would highly recommend living in the dorms because it's the easiest way to meet some of your new best friends.

    Academic Rigor

    If students are serious about earning good grades then the academic rigor at MSUM won't ever leave them without something to do. Time spent studying and doing homework is very dependent on what the student's major is. From personal experience, Art majors spent countless hours of studying for exams, practicing techniques, and completing projects. I have never been bored at MSUM, that's for sure!

    Tips for prospective students

    It's always a huge help in deciding which college to attend to make sure you go on campus tours. It helps gives the feel of the campus and whether or not the atmosphere is appealing to you. If you're still unsure what you are interested in majoring in, don't be afraid to contact some of the professors to give you more information and they also give personal tours as well.

    In three sentences

    The MSUM campus is big enough to meet lots of new people everyday, but also small enough to where you see familiar faces regularly. Teachers at MSUM are always incredibly friendly and willing to help their students with whatever they need. While living in the dorms, all the classrooms are within 5-8 minutes walking distance, even in the Minnesota snowstorm!

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Only three. Two sororities and 1 fraternity and one more in the making.

    Great for these types of students

    ALL!

    Bang for the buck

    So worth it. They have ALOT of services that are very usefull and, the best part, FREE!

    What to do for fun

    They provide many on campus activities and bonding time.

    Food and Dining

    There are so many options and such variety. Very accommodating for any diet.

    Dorm Life

    Sort of small but bigger then some colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you apply early because this is a very popular college. Also apply for every possible scholarships no matter how out landish. There is money out there, take advantage of it!

    In three sentences

    Wow! The campus is so beautiful and well connected. Everyone is so friendly and willing to help and are generally excited to see you succeed.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is decently priced, and has a great teaching staff.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of student activities posted online

    Academic Rigor

    It is fast paced and intense but the teachers are great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get on financial aid early! If taking summer courses be ready! its fast

    In three sentences

    I love the teachers and courses. Had some trouble with registration and financial aid though.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The university offers great classes with small class sizes which allow one on one attention between the student and the professor.

    What to do for fun

    Minnesota State University Moorhead has plenty of things to do for fun. Somethings that are offered are the Wellness Center as well as many clubs. The Wellness Center provides students with a place to get in shape and to exercise. The multitude of clubs allows everyone to find something that they enjoy so they can meet new people and explore new interests.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. There are many options available for the students so they dont have to eat the same thing every day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great. The neighboring students are friendly and the rooms are great.

    Academic Rigor

    This college challenges you to do your best and teaches you all the information you need to enter into your career of choice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some advice for students that are looking at attending Minnesota State University Moorhead is to look for scholarships in advance.

    In three sentences

    Minnesota State University Moorhead is a great, small, and friendly school. The faculty and professors are always willing to help no matter what.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I think that the prices are very affordable, and the opportunity for grants and loans helps me get through. I know that I will be increasing my hourly wage so I will see a payback in a very short amount of time.

    What to do for fun

    This experience is not applicable to me as I stayed off campus and am primarily an online student.

    Food and Dining

    This experience is not applicable to me as I stayed off campus and am primarily an online student.

    Dorm Life

    This experience is not applicable to me as I stayed off campus and am primarily an online student.

    Academic Rigor

    Obviously, every course and every teacher has different expectations, I think that the level of comprehension required of us as students seems very appropriate. They ask for growth, but it is realistic.

    Tips for prospective students

    One of the biggest things I have realized is that it is ok to ask for help. Every person I have met here so far has had my best interests at heart, sincerely. While I know I need to do my part to study and take the courses seriously, I feel comfortable knowing that if I truly need help, I will get it.

    In three sentences

    Moorhead State provides a wonderful opportunity for the online student. I work full time, and must earn my degree online. The teachers, academic advisors, financial aid advisors, and tech support people have been accomodating, helpful, and supportive throughout my entire experience thus far.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many activities and groups that are around at the school. There are events a lot of the time going on.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria, Kise, has many options to choose from. There are also cafes and other places to eat around campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are many different dorms to choose from, which is rad.

    Academic Rigor

    Awesome.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't park in the parking lots if you do not have a permit. Tickets are expensive

    In three sentences

    It is a small, neat school. The art department is amazing. If you have the chance, I highly recommend checking it out.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food choices could be better and the food could be improved. However, the overall service is nice and smooth. At least in the beginning of the school year, the food tastes delicious. Later in the year is yet to be seen.

    Dorm Life

    While some dorms have limited space, most have already been renovated. The rest are planned to be renovated within the next few years. The dorm arrangement harbors a nice family atmosphere that is very welcoming.

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone is expected to try their best and to achieve their own goals. However, each individual is expected to police them self.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get sucked into the party scene; have priorities, achieve your goals, and don't let yourself down.

    In three sentences

    Small campus so that everything is accessible, but not too small that the campus is empty of people. The teachers genuinely care about their students. After a few weeks of living here, I already feel at home.

  • 09/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's tons to do from grocery bag bingo, to renting canoes and kayaks, to guest speakers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy books on Amazon! This is true for any university. Take control of your education, make sure you know what you need to take, and ask older students about classes and professors. Don't be affraid to talk to your professors either!

    In three sentences

    MSUM is a very friendly enviroment. The classes are small enough where you get to know your professor. Its very easy to make friend in and out of your specialty field.

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a safe campus to be in, but the campus police aren't really doing anything because bad stuff doesn't usually happen that often. People are more responsible here and no one here is that stupid.

    Greek Life

    There are a couple of sororities but only one fraternity. Kappa Sigma is the prime fraternity on campus because it is the only one. We used to have more fraternities, but they were all too stereotypical, and were shut down. I don't know much about sororities other that their all girls. Sorry.

    Clubs and Activities

    All the clubs that I have joined greatly admire potential to exceed rather than already having the skills set for the activity. Everyone is welcome to every activity. You have so many options, it creates frustration just trying to choose.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year, my hall hosts the Condom Olympics where competitors use condoms to win prizes and better condoms. The Condom Olympics is meant to educate and facilitate the idea and practice of safe sexual relationships. It is even sponsored by the health center on campus.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of places on campus have parties set up by student organizations and the clubs fill in the gap of boredom. It is best to just to walk around and see what is going on within the area. You never know where a fun activity springs from the dark corner.

    Food and Dining

    Only a few places around here have edible food. Not the cafeteria because people keep complaining how bad the food is compared to the sandwich shop next door. The food there is better, healthier, and edible.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is very comfortable and best described as living on a cloud underwater. Everyone in the dorms is easily adaptable and friendly. I recommend getting to know your roommate, as well as, knowing the other dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is a lot like high school in many ways. The classrooms are similar, the sports teams play, and everyone hangs out. The difference is however, the academic grading is different and the class size is bigger, and includes a lot of information within a steady time frame.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tip 1: No laziness because this is still a school, just not high school. Tip 2: Don't bring alcohol because this is a dry campus and no drug or alcohol use is allowed, period. Tip 3: Make as many friends as possible.

    In three sentences

    Moorhead university is the best college anyone can go to. It is very cheap, well informative, and extremely friendly. Everyone I know is greatly amazed by how well adaptable, safe, and educational this college is.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    After dark, nemsic noise, go to events

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved in student organizations and study hard.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are excellent. the living space is average. The wellness center is perfect.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Moorhead just offers so much! There's always some activity going on whether it's on a dorm floor, a sports tournament, or an on campus activity like Zombie Bingo!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are not looking for a huge campus or a small one. Moorhead's campus is small enough that you recognize many faces, but still big enough that you're always meeting new people! Moorhead is also great for students who think they work better one on one with teachers. Many teachers I have like to get to know their students personally and go out of their way to!

    What to do for fun

    Each dorm hall has a recreation room that has a television, couches, fuss-ball table and pool table! There are board games you can check out and air hockey! The lounge in my hall even has a piano! That's just stuff on campus, besides the on campus activities, Fargo isn't that far away and the bus rides are free!

    Food and Dining

    Kise, the dining hall, offers a TON of options every week. They have certain foods that are served always like pizza and salad, but they are always switching it up throughout the weeks! One day we had an Indian styled dinner, and it's great that Kise offers lots of new foods!

    Dorm Life

    My dorm floor has at least one thing going on each week! It's great to have activities that our floor gets to plan out, you really get to know the people on your floor and you feel like a family. My room is bigger than I thought it would be, and as a clothes addict I love the closet space!

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are very well sized, not too small or too large. I came into college thinking my teachers would not care about me as a student, and already I can see the professors care a lot about their students! There is a lot of independence with work, but professors try hard to make sure you're understanding the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you look into clubs and organizations that are on campus, because there are always so many things going on and it's good to keep up with! The college has a program called D2L which has a lot of material on your classes, check it often!

    In three sentences

    Moorhead is a great college if you're looking for a college that has a medium sized campus. The classes are very nicely sized, and there are many available class options. Moorhead makes sure it offers lots of organizations, on campus activities, and also tutoring options!

  • 10/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Minnesota State University Moorhead provides each student free bus fare through MatBus. Your student ID allows you to travel anywhere MatBus goes for free.

    What to do for fun

    Unless your over 21, there is not much to do around here in Moorhead. However if you have a car driving to Fargo, ND is a very good options for fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be very sure when choosing your room and board options. Know that there are some dorms much nicer and newer than others. Choose classes at time you know you will attend. Go to college with an open mind, don't go with preconceived notions of what and how you think this new experience will be. Also be very prepared for the cold, because it gets VERY cold here!

    In three sentences

    The school is working on becoming more diverse. The professors here are some of the best in the state. The campus here is simply breathtaking!

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 51

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I love the campus! It's so nice and homey! Everyone is so friendly.

  • 03/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus securtiy that always drive around the parking lots during the day and especially at night. There is also people that will escort you to your car at night if you feel unsafe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something that is going on and a variety of things for all types of students. I really like that the events are free or really cheap and that there are all sorts of things and events for people to attend or do.

    Bang for the buck

    The books seem to be really expensive but that seems to be the case at every school. The events that are put on by the school are either really cheap or free for students and cheap for the rest of the community. That makes it nice and easy for us college students when we want to participate in things around campus.

    What to do for fun

    There is always things going on around campus such as movies, comedy shows, games etc. It gives students the chance to meet new people and mingle also gives us things to do on the weekends and also some things during the week.

    Food and Dining

    I also do not eat the food very often, as I do live off of campus; but when I do get the chance to eat the food it has always impressed me. There is a wide variety of food and the quality has always been great for me!

    Dorm Life

    I transferred here and have not lived in the dorms, but I have heard really good things about them. They seem to be very clean and pleasant to live in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get things done right away such as getting your class schedule and also meeting with your advisor. Everyone is willing to help out just as long as you are willing to keep on top of things and plan ahead.

    In three sentences

    I would give MSUM a 8/10. They have been great thus far and have been more than willing to help me out with whatever it is that I needed. MSUM also has great staff and the campus is also easy to get around.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are everywhere, its almost ridiculous.

    Greek Life

    Not too many options. There are more sororities than fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am only in a couple but I know that there are clubs for just about everything.

    Great for these types of students

    Interested in business, education, theater, music, math, passionate about learning, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not that I know of, but I might not of stumbled upon it yet.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is fairly inexpensive and there is such a wide, diverse selection of courses.

    What to do for fun

    There are always things going on such as dances, speakers, plays, tons of organizations to join, game room, etc.

    Food and Dining

    I enjoy the food. I also love that there are other food places to eat at.

    Dorm Life

    It wasn't for me. However, I know many that absolutely love it.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had an equal share of more simple classes as well as tougher ones.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a wide variety of classes. The professors truly care for the students and are willing to go beyond for everyone. Try the burgers!!

    In three sentences

    The student to professor ratio is great allowing for a more personal education. The campus is not too large and easy to navigate. The students are friendly and intelligent.

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everything locked. Public safety patrols campus regularly.

    Clubs and Activities

    Large variety.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone. Lots of international students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Steal caps off new Concordia freshmen.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap tuition and good education.

    What to do for fun

    Student organizations; get involved. Video games. Wellness center (gym).

    Food and Dining

    Good variety, but over priced and low quality.

    Dorm Life

    Everything is close to everything else. Awesome internet for the area. Expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    Core classes are easy. Computer science and math classes are challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join one or more student organizations. Cafeteria is a great place to socialize, but is very expensive.

    In three sentences

    Lots of on campus student organizations. Smart, friendly, and helpful professors. Some of the worst winters I've experienced.

  • 04/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus even at night. Moorhead is a pretty safe area. You can have an escort if you do feel the need.

    Greek Life

    Not too much greek life here due to an accident a few years ago, however there is a sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    MSUM offers many clubs and activities through out the year. If you want to be involved you can be!

    Great for these types of students

    Art and music students anyone looking for that happy medium sized school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A dragon statue on campus breathes fire during homecoming.

    What to do for fun

    Check out the local area, tons of thrift shops!

    Food and Dining

    Kise commons really isn't bad. They always have at least three main options and theres a salad bar and toaster area. So your never out of options also theres often a desert or ice cream.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are being renovated so they're nice if you don't mind sharing a room.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes your taking, but I haven't been expected to what I would consider too much work yet.

    In three sentences

    Small but not too small. Has a staff that cares for its students. A lot of cool people attend MSUM.

  • 04/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Wellness Center offers a good way to relieve stress! The CMU also has events every week for people with a variety of interests.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice is to have fun and try new things on campus while you are in school! You will have the rest of your life to work!

    In three sentences

    MSUM is a great school for many majors! I really enjoy the atmostphere the campus offers, as well as the variety of experiences. I enjoy going to school every day!

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are two sororities and one fraternity.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of on campus activities especially the Dragons After Dark ones that are fun.

    Food and Dining

    Kise is not so good. It is very hit an miss. But the other places to get food such as the Dragon Cafe, Subs and Sweets, and Union City are very good.

    Dorm Life

    I love living on campus. I have for 3 years. The RA' s at always wonderful.

    Academic Rigor

    I have taken many classes from professors that push you academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Lib on campus for at least 2 years. You will meet many people an make friends easier.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe on this campus and as an art major who runs across campus at all hours of the night trying to get work done safety is always a big concern.

    Greek Life

    A bit stuck up but don't most people join Greek Life have a bit of a superiority complex?

    Clubs and Activities

    Everyone is so nice and friendly. They are very welcoming and accepting of those from all walks of life.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone! A very welcoming envrionment with friendly faces wherever you turn. (or tired ones if it's near finals)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Weld hall as well as the Center for the Arts are wonderful buildings on campus with much history and life to them. McLean hall is also nice as it has a wonderful little cafe where students stop between classes to chat and relax. Comstock Memorial Union is the man dining hall and meeting place for those on campus. It's a great place to play pool, talk with friends, work on homework and relax. In the CMU there is also our Rainbow Dragon Center which is a great safe zone for those of the LGBTQA just to sit around and get to know one another.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the money I'm taking classes that would be 3 times the price at other schools with far better professors.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do on and off campus that it still leaves me surprised.

    Food and Dining

    Kise isn't really that great as far as quality goes, I learned that cooking myself was much more rewarding and healthier for me in the long run.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice, but having girls screaming and running down the halls at 2 am isn't my forte, nor is having the boys on the floor above having their loud lady friends over for the night. But it's a dorm so what can you expect? I sleep there and do my work else where as it helps me concentrate.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are more difficult than those you face in high school that's for sure, however the professors are friendly and help those who are in their classes to grow. They are hard on you because they want you to learn. As long as you have the drive it is easy to succeed with such support systems.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't over pack. I've learned my lesson.

    In three sentences

    Wonderful. Safe. Supportive.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Since the town in general is so strict, there's nothing to do for fun which may be the reason not many students stay after their first year.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining can definitely use some improvement.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is not all that great compared to other schools I've seen.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, MSUM is by far the most helpful.

    In three sentences

    MSUM is a great school if you are an international student because they already have so many attending now. The staff and overall student body are very helpful at all times. They really do care about your education.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    All the on campus activities are a blast!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all the wonderful opportunities MSUM offers regularly .

    In three sentences

    MSUM is a great institution.

  • 04/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have excellent campus security, any time of day you can find an officer.

    Greek Life

    There are a number of fraternities and sororities here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Numerous

    Great for these types of students

    All students would enjoy it here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They do a Native American pow-wow every year.

    Bang for the buck

    I think the best part is the professors. They care about your progress and help in any way they can if you ask.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on in the area and at the university. Has a wide range of activities and events to include all cultures.

    Food and Dining

    Wide variety of different foods to choose from..delicious!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    courses are explained before you take them so you know exactly what you will be doing during the semester

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to MSUM--its a great place to get your degree and the professors are THE best! It is a smaller school so class size is not too overwhelming!

    In three sentences

    MSUM has many wonderful opportunities for everyone! It is very friendly and student orientated. The professors are AWESOME!

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 42 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am off Compus completely on-line

    Greek Life

    I am off Compus completely on-line

    Clubs and Activities

    I am off Compus completely on-line

    Great for these types of students

    I am off Compus completely on-line

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am off Campu

    Bang for the buck

    I am off Compus completely on-line

    What to do for fun

    My hobby farm

    Food and Dining

    I am off Compus completely on-line

    Dorm Life

    I am off Compus completely on-line

    Academic Rigor

    It can be as Rigor as you want it to be. Take 3 credits at a time or 15. Its what you put in your work that determines the vigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    If in doubt ask questions. No question is dumb.

    In three sentences

    It has been nice to do my degree on line so that I can still be at home with our son.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    43 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Visit every chance you get! You fall more in love each time!

    In three sentences

    The staff at MSUM have been very helpful with the admission, financial aid, and course selection processes. Every time I visit, they make me feel welcome and part of the family!

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    44 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are over 150 clubs and student-led activities to engage in. There is always room to start a new club, there is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of places around the campus to eat whenever one wants something else to eat. The cafeteria lunch is also enjoyable.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm residence is also assigned by preference. You can choose to live with people who have things in common with you as well. There are activities to engage in within the dorm and also assistance when someone has questions about anything.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but engaging. The learning environments are encouraging and if help is needed it's provided. 5 Stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join extra-curricular activities and stay involved. Networking is important to a successful career and making friends is always a great thing. Especially friends that have things in common with you.

    In three sentences

    It's a great, supportive environment for undergraduate students. Previous students recommend the the school to the incoming freshman. The staff is amazing.

  • 05/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a safe campus around here thanks to the help of Public Safety here at MSUM!

    Greek Life

    I'm not involved in Greek life however judging from what I've seen around campus about Greek life, the sororities and fraternity groups are friendly and inviting.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities are offered here ranging from Glee Club, STLF (Students Today Leaders Forever) a club that volunteers around the Fargo/Moorhead community, Korea Club, ASL (American Sign Language) Club, Film Loop, and the list goes on.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students looking for a medium size campus and a city that boasts a friendly college atmosphere!

    Bang for the buck

    A great college atmosphere with friendly students, faculty, and community members. Students can ride the bus for transportation and the MATBUS system takes you around Moorhead, MN, Dilworth, MN, Fargo, ND, and West Fargo, ND. Moorhead State University Moorhead is a medium size campus so it's not too big of a school where you can get lost nor is it too small of a school that it reminds you of high school. The city itself is a nice, friendly, and quiet city - great college city, really!

    What to do for fun

    There are activities and programs held on Friday nights known as Dragons After Dark or Friday Nights. These events vary from bingo nights, open mic, cultural events, indoor ice skating events, pool events, etc. Besides the events thrown on Friday nights, there are others things to do for fun such as playing a game of pool down in the Recreational and Outing Center located in the CMU and many more options available in the Recreational and Outing Center. You can rent out camping equipment, bikes, sporting equipment, etc. at the Recreational and Outing Center!

    Food and Dining

    It's your average college food. There are many dining options to choose from which is always a good thing and never makes eating boring!

    Dorm Life

    Wonderful! Just wonderful! I love living in the dorms here! The RA's are very helpful and friendly! There are also dormitory programs that gets students involved to get to know each other or just a specific floor program.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the professor, the academic rigor can vary. Some classes are hard while others come easier. All in all, it's average across the board.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join as many clubs as you can! It's a great way to mingle and get to know people!

    In three sentences

    It's a great campus with a friendly atmosphere! There's a great big space of green lawn with trees and sitting areas right in the middle of campus for students, faculty, and community members to sit, walk, and just hang out in. MSUM also offers what's known as the Tri-College Program where they are joined with Concordia College and North Dakota State University and offer courses through these schools if MSUM does not have the classes offered at their college.

  • 10/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For all the new students, check out Dragon's After Dark, or the list of activities. There are dozens upon dozens of groups ranging from a Japanese Yosakoi club, to ASL clubs, and they are all looking for members.

    Food and Dining

    I love Kise! The variety is amazing. On any given day, around dinner, you can have a hamburger, sandwich, pizza, salads, the choice for dinner, or cereal. The drinks vary from juices to Pepsi and Coke. There really is nothing more you could ask for at Kise. The only downside is the choice meet is often a slab of either beef or pork, which is starting to get old.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms is nothing like I would have expected it to be. At first it's terrifying, and you don't know how to react to the small room presented to you, that you also have to share with another person. After a few days, you get to know your neighbors. I for one, am getting along great with all of the members in my hallway, and the RA's have been very kind.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others. Try taking a lengthy History course and see how much you remember. For a freshman like myself, the classes have treated me well so far. The diversity of classes combined with the challenges between them are at a good level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan for a new life! This isn't high school any more. You can't just expect to get all A's for just doing the homework. Find some friends to study with, or ask your teacher for help. It's okay, everyone is new at this. Don't be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    Minnesota State University Moorhead is an excellent place for people to become friends in a small community setting. Moorhead's small campus of only 8,000 students is the perfect size for an incoming freshman like myself. The faculty have been fantastic, I look forward to another three years!

  • 10/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They care about your safety here.

    Greek Life

    3 types, are good.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot

    Great for these types of students

    Those who are good hard working students but not the 4.0. Most of the stuff here is geared towards the normal students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The burning of the M, at homecoming.

    Bang for the buck

    Take more classes, you pay the same price as fewer.

    What to do for fun

    Frolf, there are many courses near by or pool.

    Food and Dining

    Not the best, but its college.

    Dorm Life

    Very good, I love it.

    Academic Rigor

    They expect a lot, but this is how you learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find what there is here, there is a lot to help you.

    In three sentences

    They have great programs here, but need to better communicate with student on how to access these. The professors are really good, I have been to another college and it did not compare. It is a good price for college.

  • 10/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The public safety is always driving and walking around campus, I always feel very safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are from a small to medium sized city, the atmosphere is very welcoming.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the middle of campus we have a metal dragon statue. During homecoming week it breathes fire all day, everyday!

    Bang for the buck

    Personally I think that MSU-Moorhead is a very well priced school. It averages about $15,000 a year, including everything but books and supplies. But $15,000 for tuition, a meal plan, housing, and student fees? For a State University? That's a steal! MSU-Moorhead is a great school, with great credentials.

    What to do for fun

    I was disappointed that the homecoming events, which are usually very fun, call cost quite a bit of money. The dance was $10, and for a college student that is a days worth of food. But MSU-Moorhead has a lot of clubs and Intermural sport teams that you can join. Their Wellness Center is always super clean, not too packed, and has fun exercise classes you can take for free. The Wellness Center also has its very own rock climbing wall!

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining variety is very good. I like how MSU-Moorhead has little shops and restaurants you can buy food at. It's very convenient for on-the-go students! The reason I only gave food and dining three stars is because of Kise, the main dining facility. I only gave it three stars because they don't always cook the food right... In example the vegetables are usually undercooked, and the rice is always overcooked. Kise has a lot of differnet food options, but they need to work on their cooking times.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life has been a very good experience for me. I wanted to switch rooms, and the school got me a different room assignment in less than 3 minutes! The school has great RA's and they are very helpful with transitioning into the college life. You have certain quiet hours, study rooms, a lounge, and a mini kitchen. It is like you are living in a tight knit apartment! The bathrooms are cleaned everyday, and I have never had to wait for a shower. Overall the dorm life is a great experience at MSU-Moorhead.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at MSU-Moorhead is a very good pace, at least for me as a freshman in college. The professors are very helpful, and they all have office hours you can visit them and get help. It is a fast enough pace to keep me interested but not fast enough that I can't keep up; I still have more free time than I thought I would.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tip I have to perspective students is enroll early on. Make sure you take some fun classes, along with your core classes. It will help keep you interested, so you don't burn out right away.

    In three sentences

    Minnesota State University of Moorhead is a great school for students who are from a small to medium sized town. Almost all of the class sizes are 20 or under; which gives the professors time to interact with every student. MSU-Moorhead has many tutoring options which make the transition from high school to college much easier.

  • 11/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Kise is newly remodeld with a bunch of health fresh options.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great to meet new people.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor all depends on what major you are pursuing.

  • 02/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Anything you want. Your an adult now, and all your experiences in college are what you make them.

    Food and Dining

    The dining area gets repetitive after the first few weeks.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at MSUM was okay. It isn't the stories that everyone tells you about. All dorms are close so its easy to make friends.

    Academic Rigor

    School is hard. You have to be committed no matter where you go. MSUM is no different.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on the city as well as the college. After you are out of the dorms you won't spend as much time on campus. Find somewhere that is fun for you to live.

    In three sentences

    Minnesota State University Moorhead, is a smaller public school where you can get a great education. It is cheaper than lots of other Universities and in a nice location.

  • 05/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    A joke.

    Great for these types of students

    Art students

    Bang for the buck

    It's pretty cheap for international students and in-state students.

    What to do for fun

    The house parties are usually busted and full of hillbillies. There is nothing to do except during summer. There are no goods parks, or outdoors.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall on the weekends is terrible. On the weekdays is bearable but still expensive.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are mostly old, and there is nothing going on.

    Academic Rigor

    It's easy if you try a bit. The school doesn't actually help you do what is better for you.

    In three sentences

    The weather is terrible. Food and housing are bad for the price they charge. Mostly art students in this school