Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Minot State University (MSU) Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Freshman, I was just you and leaned a lot. Do not go home in the first month of being there, unless there is a family emergency because the school has a way of introducing the freshman to all the sports and activities in the first couple weeks. If you have a roommate, don't spill their secrets, you guys have a bond that no one else will have with them. Also, eat in the downstairs cafe as much as you can..it's really good. :)

    Bang for the buck

    The cost is the same for anyone in the U.S. and any other country for admission that's one of the great things about it. It has a great environment to study, sleep, party (responsibly), or whatever a person wants to do. Great school that everyone should look into.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am having a blast at school. I love all the activities the school has which allowed me to meet so many different people from backgrounds and cultures all over the world.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers challenge their students to want to learn what they are teaching. I have learned so much that I never thought I would ever learn.

  • 08/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Their system is quite versatile, so anyone will feel right at home while pursuing his or her education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to explore all your options. There are classes offered not only on campus, but also online or at the Air Base twenty minutes away. Don't forget all the different clubs and activities you can join!

    Bang for the buck

    The colleges surrounding my current area cost more than $10k per year for undergraduates, and that's just tuition! They pale in comparison to MSU's tuition cost of about $5.6k per year.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have visited MSU on a couple tours. The grounds are spread out, so be sure to bring comfortable shoes to jet from one course to another if your classes are in separate halls. Although I will not able to attend in person, I am definitely looking forward to the courses offered online.

    Am learning a lot

    I have already taken a few Dual Credit classes sponsored through MSU, and I instantly loved the challenge of a class that had a college atmosphere. I can't wait to experience the real deal!

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    all buildings have key-card access and security guards are always nearby and checking up on you. the campus is also very well-lit and there are cameras around, which are watched by security.

    Great for these types of students

    athletes, musicians, writers, would-be-teachers, and nursings students. just to name a few.

    Bang for the buck

    msu charges in-state tuition for all students...which is incredibly cheap in the first place. like i said before, the professors genuinely care about the students so you definitely get bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    the campus always has something going on such as dances, concerts, hypnotists, etc. the city also has a lot to do in sports, music, art, dance, wow... really most everything.

    Food and Dining

    the food was so-so my freshman year (2008) but i think administration realized this and really did a lot to make the quality better. although i have my own apartment now (and therefore buy my own food) i've heard nothing but good things in the last few years.

    Dorm Life

    although dorm life is required for first-year students (excluding adults), each residence hall provides a great environment for newcomers. you meet others in your age group and major, which is great if you're from out-of-state like me.

    Academic Rigor

    there isn't a ton of pressure to be a crazy-stressed/successful student here. the emphasis is placed more on the quality of learning rather than getting a 4.0 and needing to move on to grad. school.

    Tips for prospective students

    my biggest tip for you would be to visit the campus/town/professors to get a good feel for the place. the teachers here really care, so you'll be spending a lot of time working with them and will want to make sure you get along.

    In three sentences

    although you wouldn't guess it by school size and location, minot state university is a fantastic place to study. you can find great professors who have gone out into the world to work in their field and, one day, decided they'd rather settle down and teach their skills in a friendly area of the country. if you're looking for an inexpensive university with international connections, this is definitely the place for you.

  • 08/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    MSU is great for international students, students who want to go to a school away from home but don't want to pay out your butt for out of state tuition; anyone interested in playing NCAA Div 2, Communication Disorders Students, people who want a big school with a small school feeling; and any one interested in living in a big city that's very focused on it's university. I

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to live on campus. Minot has a housing problem, and though the dorms aren't awesome, you very likely will not be able to find any thing affordable off campus. Also, buy a parking pass as soon as possible, as parking is the biggest down side to MSU. Even if you are living off campus, try to get a reserved parking, since the un reserved on the edge of campus and you might as well walk from home.

    Bang for the buck

    MSU was named one of the top 10 public colleges under $8,500 a year, and has a great tuition rate. All students, in state, out of state and international pay the same rate for tuition. There are a lot of things being built this year meant to go up for 2012/13, which is MSU's 100th year, including a new student wellness center, a new cafeteria, new stadium (which will be finished this year) and additional parking and buildings.

    Am enjoying being here

    MSU has an active campus, there's a lot of on campus things to do sanctioned by the university, as well as off campus things. If you are into the party scene, you'll find it easily. If you're not, then no worries, there are plenty of other things here! There are activities like movies, bands and speakers every week, and you won't be bored. The town also has stuff to offer, if you search it out.

    Am learning a lot

    Minot State has a wide range of really good classes depending on your major. The gen eds are ok, pretty standard, but they do have something called Diversity Requirement, which is a gen ed completely different from your major. It's a great way to learn something you've always wanted to take or learn about.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security guys on campus are always driving around, especially at night. If you are walking alone, they will offer you a ride, and have a station at the library specifically for those who like to study late. As a resident assistant, I know many of them personally and they are a great group of people.

    Greek Life

    We have one fraternity and (as of this spring) one sorority, so if you've been interested in the brother or sisterhood of Greek life, but were hesitant because of the intense picture that has been painted by movies and tv shows, know that that is not the case here. The fraternity fellows can be a little crazy, but they're nice guys. I am a member of the recently re-instated sorority and I am so excited to begin our first full year back on campus! We are looking to make a good name for ourselves at the school and in the town, and have already managed to raise over $500 for the Minot YWCA as a result of a spring fundraiser.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is so much to do here if you just look, there are always posters of events or activities to do, and once you have a major decided upon, there is likely a club having to do with your major filled with like-minded folks!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to get to know your professors, enjoy learning, and don't need much off-campus to satisfy their free-time.

    Bang for the buck

    The price cannot be denied for Minot State- especially if you are going into Communication Disorders and don't need a big city, Minot is an excellent place to be! I am going into my third year at Minot, and have been able to work my finances so far so that I have not had to take out a student loan, and have been able to pay for my schooling between summer jobs and a few scholarships. I feel that I am getting an incredible value for my money!

    What to do for fun

    Campus student groups are very on their toes making sure there is plenty to do! We have several intramural sports teams: bowling, volleyball, flag football, soccer, etc; our student activities group arranges to show us movies that are between the theater and coming out on DVD; and we have fun activity nights like a Penny Carnival (in which we raised money for leukemia research), tie blankets, and Create-a-Critter (like Build-a-Bear). In town, we have a bowling alley, a movie theater, and a decent-sized mall.

    Food and Dining

    I don't have many complaints about the food, but there aren't always options for individuals who have different food needs (soy milk must be requested and there is only occasionally a good vegetarian option outside of the salad bar).

    Dorm Life

    I really enjoyed living in the freshman hall, and so I went to work with the housing office as Resident Assistant! I spent another year working in the freshman girls' hall, and will be spending next year in the upperclassmen girls' hall. It is community-style living and most residents have a roommate. In the upperclassmen co-ed halls, rooms are divided into suites (two rooms of two residents each, sharing a bathroom and entryway). There are five halls on campus total.

    Academic Rigor

    I am in both the Communication Disorders and the Psychology programs at Minot State. I had most of my prerequisites done before I came to school, so I am not sure about the rigor in those classes. I know that the Communication Disorders program is incredibly competitive (it is the largest program on campus, and many of the students in the program are hoping to get into the graduate school at Minot, which has a limited number of slots) so the classes keep everyone on their toes to make sure we are all ready for graduate school and for the profession.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the faculty- you will definitely see them around, and if you're a hard worker in their classes, they'll remember you and will be more than willing to write letters of recommendation. It may be small- but don't think that means Minot can't surprise you.

    In three sentences

    Both the town and the school are big enough to meet new people and find opportunities, but small enough so you don't feel lost in the crush. Classes are sized to give you a great connection with your professor and peers. On-campus groups come up with lots of fun and interesting activities to fill your time out of class!

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Beaver Dam has awesome food and a great relaxed atmosphere, there's large screen TV's and a pool table. There are many campus clubs that are very welcoming. The library is a great place to work on homework and research.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a personalized college experience and want an opportunity to be involved and recognized, Minot State is for you!

    In three sentences

    Minot State is very personable and welcoming. The staff is always helpful and supportive. I have enjoyed getting to know everyone.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 22

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I love this university! I'm extremely excited to attend here, and can't wait to begin my degree! The CONNECT MSU was amazing and I had a lot of fun! I even met several friends there.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Minot has a small crime rate, but the campus safety patrol are still a great plus. They will drive you around at night to and from the library and the dorms are protected with key card accesses only.

    Greek Life

    They only have one frat house, but are attempting to create more. I believe a sorority is coming this year.

    Clubs and Activities

    They offer a great number of clubs and host a club fair for freshmen.

    Great for these types of students

    - Poor students. - Students who need hand on and one-on-one help - Students who need to work

    Bang for the buck

    It's super affordable, and still offers a great education.

    What to do for fun

    They always have events and everyone is super nice and willing to make friends. Other than that, it's a small town so you have to make your own fun.

    Food and Dining

    The meal plans are affordable( like everything else here) and the food is actually really yummy. The freshman 15 does exist.

    Dorm Life

    Cook hall does not have AC, but other than that my experience has been nothing but the best.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors don't screw around, but they are always willing to help a student in need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, then right away fill out the Housing Application form. Try getting an early orientation so you can get classes earlier, because they fill up fast.

    In three sentences

    Minot State is a great school for those who want a smaller school, but to still have the large events. The housing and food options are great and the professors are the best.

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are safety patrols all the time in little buggies. You can usually see these go by several times while on your way to class. I have yet to hear or see anything happen on campus and most people here feel safe. I know I feel safe! The school as a whole has very few reported issues from the past and they're generally petty things, so no worries!

    Greek Life

    The Greek system here has returned after being buried for about 25 years. The only catch is that you have to be a sophomore or higher to join, otherwise you just have to ask about it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Like I said, they have a club fair right at the start of the school year, usually on the same week as the first day of classes. There are MANY clubs to choose from, from gaming to politics, to science, to religion, to just about anything else. And hey, if you want, you can even make your own club. You just need to ask about it.

    Great for these types of students

    Really any kind of student. This place caters to all sorts of people regardless of age, nationality, sex, gender, sexual orientation, religion, political stance, whatever you may be. There are many clubs that you can participate in if you feel like the only one of your kind, and they hold a club fair soon after the fall semester begins. Everyone has a place here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Beaver Dam, which is a student lounge, is where a lot of people make their hangout during the open hours. They offer sandwiches, wraps, and other food as well as music and occasional venues when available. It has a nice atmosphere and it's not too loud, so people even go there to study.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is very inexpensive and affordable, even for those who have the worst finances. For the cost it's definitely worth it and more. You'll like being here.

    What to do for fun

    When you first get here you will give a magnet that gives you the dates of all the upcoming events for that semester. There are various acts as well as movie rentals, books to check out, computer labs, and other places around town like restaurants, theaters, and the zoo. There's always something to do, you just have to look.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is great! There are many options to choose from including the pizza line, the grill, the classics, and the saut�© line. There is also a salad bar with salad (obviously) ingredients and two kinds of soup every day, along with a dessert buffet with pastries and an ice cream freezer. I will say to get there early, usually at about 12pm for lunch and 5-5:30pm for dinner to get the best they have available.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fun and lively, and most people get along fine with others no matter how atypical you are from the norm. If you don't get along with your roommate, tell your RA or RHD and they'll help you to find a new room is possible. I had to do this and I don't regret it at all.

    Academic Rigor

    They'll start you off fairly slow so you know what you're doing and to ensure you have a good grasp on the material. It's rigorous, yes, but they don't give you more than you can handle. They space out the due dates of assignments to give you enough time to not only do the assignments, but to ask questions. Remember to ask for help if you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring comfortable shoes! The campus is sprawling and it's a good idea to wear something comfortable to make a quick dash to your classes, especially as a freshman and if you happen to have any science or art/English classes like I do. Also, don't be afraid to talk to people and socialize as the people are pretty nice. Remember to know your RA's in case something happens in housing or between your roommate.

    In three sentences

    So far, so good! The staff is very helpful and there are many programs to help student adjust to life here on-campus. There are also peer review programs for classes if they're needed.

  • 06/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel really safe on Campus. If you are ever in a building tell really late. You can call security and they will escort you to your dorms or cars.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is not good at this school! If you are trying to go somewhere with a big Greek life I would not attend this school for that.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities going on at this school. Being a freshman this year I don't even know all of the clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're a shy and quite person some great things to get involved with would be attending some of the events the school puts on there is always something going on and it's a great way to meet people. Also if you're living on campus just go through the dorms and meet new people its so easy meeting new people on this campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know of anything.

    Bang for the buck

    What really sold me on attending the school was the affordable tuition costs.

    What to do for fun

    On campus there are always things going on every week! Every month they have movie nights you can go to. Then some of the big things that happen through out the year are goldfish night, where you get a pet goldfish. Also tie-blanket nights, tie-dye shirts, and many more things.

    Food and Dining

    Being a freshaman this year the food was a adjustment from having home cooked meals, and I didn't like it to much. But then 2nd semester they started changing things up and it has became alot better and more enjoyable.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus makes the college experience much more enjoyable its lets you meet new people while you get to live with your friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes have pretty reasonable expectations and there are some that you need to study a little more for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid of attending college if you're looking to attend Minot State University the student and faculty are very friendly and are willing to help with anything.

    In three sentences

    Minot State University has very talented professor's, they work well with the students needs. The atmosphere among campus is very friendly. The Sports teams did very well this year for competing in their first year of NCAA division 2 sports, 2 teams won their conference tournaments and the hockey team won the whole Divsion.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security are the best!always on the lookout for intruders. Patrolling in their vehicles and in foot.nthey are available to keep you company on a walk back from the library or anywhere late at night as long as you give them a call.

    Greek Life

    Sororities and fraternities are the great for making new friends you can call family while siding the community through fund raisers etc

    Clubs and Activities

    So many globs and activities you might have trouble choosing.so there is a club fair to get you acquainted with all the clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to fey the best our of college in both academics and experiences.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of

    Bang for the buck

    This school is a close knit community of school families and relationships coming together as one.

    What to do for fun

    School activities such as movie screenings and acts from all over the world for free...eg home free came to Msu and they win the sing off.

    Food and Dining

    The variety of areas and foods to choose from is excellent. A meal and ambience for every occasion whether a quiet coffee break or a get together grilled lunch.

    Dorm Life

    Perfect place to meet new people from all nations and people pursuing different majors fir insight into other field. Especially the amazing RAs who develop fun gatherings for residents.

    Academic Rigor

    People of all academic standing would be very comfortable. All below average currently will be motivated,encouraged and groomed to get better while also keeping the exceptional students challenged and engaged

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready for the weather and come prepared for cold and long winters. Apply early and develop a relationship sigh your professors.

    In three sentences

    It feels like home at Msu. The faculty are more than ready to help you sail through all tour difficulties. You will fain life experiences that you will never forget life as a beaver.

  • 02/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i like to go out hunting and fishing. i hangout with my friends and family.

    Food and Dining

    the food is alright but the prices are high.

    Academic Rigor

    i find that professors say put two hours in for every credit the class is worth more and more true as you excel in your studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    come in with an open mind don't think its just going to be like high school because people say college is easier but in all reality it takes more application. you have to put work in to succeed.

    In three sentences

    i think minot state is a great school if you are coming for a school where the average graduating class is twenty to twenty-five students. i found the transition a little rough but that is because i was working my first semester. this year is going easier now that i am not working and focusing on my degree.

  • 03/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    They have many different clubs on campus. I currently am apart of one which is how i made most of my friends. Its called Chi Alpha which is a christian club that is attached to many different churches in the city.

    Food and Dining

    When living on campus you can have are required to purchase a meal plan. They try to have a variety of choices. I have no tried to these meals yet so i only here its hit or miss on some days.

    Dorm Life

    I currently don't live on campus but as from what I've heard from other students that is do able. It is cheaper to live on campus than to rent, but they also have restrictions on what you can have in your room. Such as no alcohol (very acceptable) which most school do, and nothing that causes heat like microwaves.

    Academic Rigor

    It is an alcoholic free campus which deals with many problems in itself. You must have a 2.0 in order to be accepted in the school. You must keep a 2.0 to stay in the school.

    In three sentences

    As far as i know they have a great place to work out and many sports available. The student body is active on creating a fun environment as far as small events go. If you need help in any classes there are tutors and other resources readily available when you need them.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security guards that work around the clock and walk any one to cars at night if you wish.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life has just made a reappearance at MSU.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs available at MSU. The hardest part is to pick one to join off the list of so many fun clubs!

    Bang for the buck

    The education you get from MSU is great. The tuition is also great because it is pretty inexpensive for all the great classes that are offered.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of plays to attend on campus. There is also Beaver Idol which the broadcasting department holds every semester and you can win free products like iPads etc.

    Food and Dining

    The new dining program has delicious food.

    Dorm Life

    MSU has beautiful dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to have fun when you go to school. Take those few classes that you are interested just for fun. You meet new people in these classes.

    In three sentences

    There is a great student/teacher ratio. The professors really care about your education. There are a lot of great on campus events that help you meet new people.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Excellent facilities

    Tips for prospective students

    Find housing in advance.

    In three sentences

    Minot State provides the small classrooms and individual attention my learning style is geared towards. They offer some diverse classes yet are lacking in some areas due to funding and staff. Minot State is an excellent school but has much to do in the wake of various influences in the city.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    10k a year to talk with all your teachers whenever you want. Also, every place is hiring in town and there are excellent internships/research possibilities.

    What to do for fun

    Beaver Dam, Karaoke,

    Dorm Life

    McCulloch hall, enough said lol....super loud and crazy 24/7

    Academic Rigor

    College is what you make of it, take it serious and pursue higher level courses and it is guaranteed to be a challenge!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are first generation talk with the POWER program, very helpful! Otherwise, be sure to go on the tour and meet with your potential adviser, they'd love to meet you and help you out and seem to always have time for students.

    In three sentences

    With the low teacher-student ration I can talk with my professors daily! This communication has led me to multiple travel and research opportunites and obviously better grades/understanding!

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Every week there is always something going on for campus life. They usually send the students an email telling us of a lot of the activities going on.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Minot State is actually really good. Most people think of school food as being bad, but they have many choices and they have reasonable prices.

    Dorm Life

    I can't say anything bad about the dorms because I haven't stayed in them. The only thing I do know is that the residents like to stay up pretty late.

    Academic Rigor

    Well so far the work load isn't so bad considering its the start of the semester. According to the curriculum the professors do expect a lot of you. The best bet in order to succeed is to stay organized.

    Tips for prospective students

    One of the best things for new students would be to get involved in a club or some kind of activity. Once you get involved you meet a lot more people. Also it would be very beneficial to get to know your professors.

    In three sentences

    Minot State University is a great place to meet new people. My professors are very understanding. Getting involved in the school is very easy to do, there are so many things for various people.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security on campus 24/7. If you ever feel that you need assistance with something, or want someone to walk with you late at night from one place to another. They are there to help. I always feel very safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    There are Frat houses and organizations as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs offered at this school. There is a club for everyone. If you don't find the club you are looking for, then you can create your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is perfect for students who want, or need a small student to professor ratio. The professors here on campus are realistic people who genuinely care about their students. They are very understanding and are willing to work with you in most circumstances.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On campus there is a wellness center. In this wellness center there is a gym, 2,000sq/ft surface area rock climbing wall, and many other amenities.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap tuition! Everyone receives in state tuition, no matter where you are from, rather it be, in state, out of state, or international. This is a huge selling point for this school, that puts it above a lot of other schools.

    What to do for fun

    The school offers enjoyable activities just for students, to get their mind off of school, such as movies, comedian shows, ventriloquist shows, free food events and more. They also hold dances, dodge ball, paint ball, fairs, sports events and plenty more.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not like you would expect it to be. It is actually very good. There are three different cafes to get food at. They all offer a different variety of foods at each cafe. There are plenty of options for food choice. There is something that everyone will enjoy.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really nice. They are big and spacious, and not overcrowded. They are very clean. They have kitchens, individual room A/C controls, pool tables, washers and dryers and a lot of other accessories.

    Academic Rigor

    Great professors! They offer a wide varriety of majors. Awesome people!

    Tips for prospective students

    This school may be in a cold location, but it is well worth it. It is not surrounded by a big city, so it is easy to focus on school with limited distractions. The school offers enjoyable activities just for students, to get their mind off of school, such as movies, comedian shows, ventriloquist shows, free food events and more. The school is like a community of its own. This school makes college a great experience.

    In three sentences

    Minot State University is a great school, with great professors. The professors are really here to help you to be a successful student and person. This school has a lot more to offer its students than the average school, It is outstanding!

  • 03/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is kind of overpriced for a State University.

    What to do for fun

    Many clubs and activities.

    Dorm Life

    unknown

    Tips for prospective students

    Study.

    In three sentences

    Minot is a great small university. The size allows for personal attention from the professors. Most of these professors also cater to military members needs.

  • 04/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's always something going on on campus, from hypnotists, to movie showings, to concerts.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty decent, and there's plenty of variety.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm, but my friends who have tell me that there has been many issues, from at least 14 fire alarm incidents, to power going out, to the air conditioner failing in August.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are interesting but not too difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to keep up with classes and you'll be fine. There's always something going on on campus so meeting new people and being involved is easy.

    In three sentences

    Minot state has a lot of entertainment. The classes are interesting and not too difficult. There's also a special emphasis on giving back to the community.

  • 04/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing major has happened on campus, we are looking into getting Blue lights but we do have a night security team going around campus.

    Greek Life

    Both local Fraternity and Sorority, very community oriented and lots of great people, lots of great fun!

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of Various clubs to join! And always activities happening, from movies to giant game night, tie blankets, cupcake wars, bands, hypnotists and more!

    Great for these types of students

    For students that want to be more than just a number, get to know your professors more personally and you are definitely heard on campus!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Quad is a great place to hang out during the warmer months, there is beautiful landscape and when it is nice they have bands and singers playing out there as well with free food!

    What to do for fun

    I am very involved on campus. There is student government, a sorority an a fraternity and lots of events that happen on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Not always the best but we have a new head food and dining director and he is revamping everything up! Can't wait to see what is to come in the following fall.

    Dorm Life

    On campus living is great. It is a great way to meet people and get involved, some of the hall policies aren't the greatest but the new staff is looking at updating some of those rules.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you put in the work you will get the reward. Some professors are harder graders than some, also depends on the program you go into. Communication Disorders is an intense program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn the lay of the land right away, makes for your first day on campus a lot easier when you know where you are going. There are always events happening on campus which makes it easy to meet people.

    In three sentences

    Small class sizes make interaction with the professors beneficial. Low tuition rates. Love the people.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, 24 hour security and there are cameras all though campus, security also provides escorts.

    Greek Life

    There is one Fraternity Mu Sigma Tau, and one sorority Beta Theta. We expect to see more greek life on campus eventually.

    Bang for the buck

    $12,000 yearly for room and board is not that bad. But they are raising tuition it will still be a good deal, just not as good.

    What to do for fun

    Cruising, Dakota Square mall, fishing, hunting, parties, campus activities (they hire magicians, karaoke, illusionists and other guests from out of town) galleries, and arcades.

    Food and Dining

    The campus provides food through Soldexo, who are really hit or miss when it come to quality of food. If you live on campus you are required to have a meal plan, but if you live off of campus, save your money.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are great if you are an upperclassman. Freshman dorms are large but are worn down and need renovation.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't become a geology major, it is the hardest thing you can do at this university, pick something else. Do not order anything from residence hall linens.

    In three sentences

    Minot State University is an inexpensive, diverse, and supporting university. It's professors are aimed towards helping students succeed and provide one on one support for students that are struggling. It is truly a wonderful place to go if you are interested in meeting new people and becoming successful as a student.