Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Misericordia University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for these types if: - you like small classes - individual attention - if you are going into a health professions major(PT,OT,SLP,and Nursing) or into Education....These are what our school is known for. If you are: -Friendly -Hardworking -Dedicated -Willing to help others in need

    Tips for prospective students

    GET INVOLOVED!!!! Not only is it a good way to make lifelong friends, it will also make an easier transition for you from High School to College, no matter where you end up. DON'T SPREAD YOURSELF TO THIN!!! When all of the clubs are at the club fair, don't go signing up for everything. Read the papers first , because some clubs have conflicting times. Only sign up for the clubs that you really want to be in. I know you have probably heard this a thousand times before but...TIME MANAGEMENT IS KEY... when you are at school you have your own schedule and all the time in the world. Use it wisely.

    Bang for the buck

    MU is really good at giving financial aid out, they are very generous. The better your GPA is in High School the more money you will receive. The also have a service based scholarship so the more community service that you do there is a chance that you could get money too.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it at MU but it can be slow on the weekends, so you have plenty of time to do homework, as well as hang with friends.

    Am learning a lot

    The Student/Faculty ratio is very good, if you like to have smaller classes. The Professors are always willing to help you inside as well as outside the classrooms or labs.

  • 01/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Go here if you want: -great faculty-student relationships; name not a number -good faculty-student ratio -small-town environment -a great Health Science or Education major Go here if you are: -friendly, optimistic, respectful, kind -studious/hard-working -LOVE community service (there's a lot to do; its a school passion)

    Tips for prospective students

    -Freshmen residents are not allowed cars on campus, beware; but there is a shuttle so USE IT! -Work hard in high school! If you can exempt from classes using AP credit it will make your life SO much easier. Also, the more community service and extracurricular activities the do, the more Merit Aid you're likely to receive. -Get involved!! Cheesy, but do it. Its how you meet people and fight off boredom. Coming from 3 hours away knowing no one...trust me.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes! MU provides a great education, and offers a lot of financial aid.

    Am enjoying being here

    I like it, but don't love it unconditionally. The campus is really friendly and beautiful, but can be VERY slow paced on the weekends (unless you are a party/bar-goer, just FYI).

    Am learning a lot

    MU is known for higher learning, specifically the Health Sciences (OT, PT, SLP, or Nursing), and Education.

  • 06/16/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Small campus but a lot to do, people are great, theres not much to do around it, dorms are nice w/ sinks

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus, but recently, there have been drug busts occurring. I'm not afraid to walk alone at 3am.

    Greek Life

    non-existent

    Clubs and Activities

    Football team is new, coming fall 2012....our campus is about to change...forever. Get involved in the club for your major, as well as campus ministry.

    Great for these types of students

    All kinds, willing to work hard, but not expecting a big college town. Misericordia is the social epicenter for the town of Dallas.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We are surrounded by graveyards, which may be a shock to some people. there is also Mercy center (elder care) and a preschool located on campus. We have meet Santa and an easter egg hunt for kids in the community.

    Bang for the buck

    Room and board is rather high for the lack in quality of food. dorms are nice though, furniture is pretty new in all the dorms currently.

    What to do for fun

    get involved in campus ministry and student activities, or you will be bored; this is a suitcase school, where most people go home on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    Not so great....the den is good, but the rules change every week, so it is confusing. The cafe is in need of expansion to accommodate the incoming freshman class of 500 students (usually only 300), and better food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are decent, the New Apartments are going to be FABULOUS. Parking, however, is shady.

    Academic Rigor

    If you break academic integrity, you will be kicked out, no second chances, so study hard, and do your own work. IT pays off in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for tutoring in the student success center for all your classes. The tutors are wonderful (and students) and give you tips for succeeding in that particular class.

    In three sentences

    Misericordia is a beautiful campus, undergoing construction. The classes are nice and small, but enrollment is heavily increasing. The students are very friendly and courteous.

  • 06/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Notoriety of school does not matter, major does not matter. All that does matter is if you actually like the campus enough to live there.

    Bang for the buck

    The school gives excellent aid and the quality of education is definitely worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is beautiful. The new Shakespeare Garden is wonderful is be in. Student activities always have some sort of show or event going on around campus.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are amazing and actually care to learn your name. They encourage students to ask for help and when you do, they truly appreciate it.

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a very safe campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Variety of clubs for everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We are surrounded by 3 cemeteries and on Halloween we have a ghostly experience tour for us to encounter a ghost.

    What to do for fun

    Go into Wilkes Barre for the mall and big shopping center. There is bowling and an ice rink. You mainly come up with your own fun but they have comedians on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall food is okay but the den food is amazing!!

    Dorm Life

    Dorming is a lot of fun! You meet everyone and there is always something happening in the building. The rooms are big as are the closets. Tons of storage so don't under pack.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to study to succeed but the classes are fun if you have the right teachers and they want you to succeed. You will learn a lot and it will benefit you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, make your own fun, get involved!

    In three sentences

    It is a studious, fun school. The professors are super helpful and want you to succeed. Their is plenty of things to do with your friends and we are near kings college and Wilkes university. the campus is beautiful and we just got a football team!

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe no one feels scared walking around and everyone learns to know each other.

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking,focused students who want to meet people who are like them.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is expensive but they are extremely helpful in the financial aid process. They offer a ton of financial aid for good students and those who participate in community service. The faculty will answer any questions you have promptly. They are so helpful.

    What to do for fun

    Dallas is a small town that doesn't have a ton of stuff to do but I have heard Wilkes-Barre is fun. There is a good mall and different places to hang out. If you are good at finding ways to have fun, then you will do fine.

    Food and Dining

    I am skeptical about the food because I keep hearing it isn't that good. Every time I have visited the school the food has been fabulous and they have had a good variety. The faculty said that the food is good and they eat it, so I am assuming it can't be that bad.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms that I have seen so far are small but well kept. It is a major plus that sinks and counter space are found in all dorms. There is also air conditioning. So far these are the only dorms I have seen with a sink and decent storage.

    Academic Rigor

    Although I haven't started classes yet, I have heard they are challenging. I have heard that students are given plenty of time to complete major assignments and can also email/call professors anytime for help. This is especially helpful because students form a relationship and are able to be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early because space is limited in many of the programs. It is worth visiting the campus and keeping in touch with the school, they truly care about prospective students and will answer any questions you have.

    In three sentences

    Misericordia is a small school that is dedicated to the students who attend. Professors care about their students and want to have a good relationship with them. There seems to be many clubs and activities to get involved with.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus safety guys do a great job keeping us safe. Honestly, I have never had a problem with safety on campus and I feel really safe on Misericordia campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life does not exist on this campus. We are a catholic university.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of events and groups on campus and never a weekend without something going on. You really can't be bored.

    Food and Dining

    This part depends on where you go. I don't really care for the cafeteria food but we have a little den you can go to that has really good food all the time. The den is the place to go for great food.

    Dorm Life

    Compared to some dorms at other places, Misericordia dorms are really nice. The only problem is space. Misericordia is a small school and they seem to be accepting more and more students. It is getting tight, but they just built a brand new apartment style dorm, which is amazing. Hopefully they have more plans for building dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I am in the nursing program here at Misericordia. I think the academics definitely challenge you and without the amazing teachers, I wouldn't be where I am today. They are caring and concerned about the students and how they do in their schooling. The academics here definitely give me a basis of knowledge for when I soon enter the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely look into other colleges and compare your options as usual. Misericordia is certainly not a big school but the campus and community are great. There are things to do and always people to see. Misericordia is great for small classes and one on one time with professors. Oh! and we now have a football team so that helps a lot with making it feel like a college.

    In three sentences

    Misericordia is a great school to attend. It is small and pretty and has an amazing community of students. The classes are small and the teachers are always more than willing to help their students better themselves.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Being a Resident Assistant, I have seen first hand how campus safety is very active and aware of everything going on around campus. They arrive at an incidents in a timely manner and walk around campus routinely. Even at 3am at night, students who are awake see them come into the dorm buildings to make sure they are locked and everyone is safe. There are cameras at all entrances of buildings which they monitor.

    Clubs and Activities

    Volunteer opportunities: AmeriCorps, Adopt a Grandparent, College Kids for Girls and Boy, BlueChip Farms, Habitat for Humanity, Spring Break Trips Clubs on campus: SOAR, Anima, theater, and clubs specific to your major such as MSOTA which is the Misericordia Occupational Therapy Association.

    Great for these types of students

    1. Want a small school 2. Enjoy volunteering or service 3. Want a challenge in school 4. Like outdoor activities (have a program called SOAR which facilitates in this hobby)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fun fact, our college is surrounded by the most cemeteries compared to any other school in the US. Because of this, they sometimes have ghost hunters that come for fun to make sure the place is not haunted.

    Bang for the buck

    You get your moneys worth for education. However, the cafeteria and Den rip you off when it comes to food. They are over priced as well as the book store there.

    What to do for fun

    On campus, resident assistant do a lot of programs with the students such as ping pong/volleyball tournaments, cooking, and movie nights. The school also has program in the cafe, also known as the Den, where there are game shows, magicians, and comedians. Besides that, there are occasional movies that play in the theater or talent shows.

    Food and Dining

    The food has improved over the past year but it still need work. Sometimes it is always the same such as pasta. Also, they do not provide a lot of healthy choices. However, they have expanded on their salad bar and made a vegetarian/vegan section. They are open to options and ways to improve students are not satisfied.

    Dorm Life

    I am a resident assistant on campus so I am very aware of dorm life on campus. Some people enjoy it but others do not. It depends what you make of it. I think the majority of people enjoy it since they make most of their friendships while living on campus. Alumnae is the schools oldest dorm building on campus but it has been renovated. McHale, the freshman dorm building, is expected to be renovated this new year. There is also a brand new dorm building on campus which is not even a year old. Overall, I think the rooms of all the buildings are of decent size, the majority has a sink, the furniture is movable, and they provide a bed, desk, and dresser to all the students.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is very demanding and the professors expect a lot out of the students. Especially in your particular major, they are rough on each student. For occupational therapy, there is at least one test a week and students have to maintain above a 3.0 GPA. For other majors such as speech pathology it is even harder. However, students do receive the best education compared to other institutions.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. If you are applying, make sure you are positive about a small school. Everyone does know one another even if you are the quiet type. 2. It is half and half, some people go home during the weekends but others stay. 3. Be prepared to speak in class since there there are no more than 30 students. 4. Know that it is a tough school and the professors expect a lot, but know you will get the best education out of it.

    In three sentences

    This school is one of the best in Northeastern, PA. It has some of the best professors who are willing to help students in anyway possible so they succeed. Although it is a small school, this atmosphere allows everyone to know one another so they can build lasting friendships and a better future.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is great. They are always seen either walking or driving around campus. If you have to walk across campus alone you can call them and they will escort you back to your building.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life on our campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are too many clubs to count here. Each major has at least one club, some have two. Anybody is free to join whatevrr club they would like to. Some of the clubs are Campus Ministry, Student Government, Theater, Psych, OT, PT, and Medical Imaging just to name a few.

    Great for these types of students

    Misericordia is great for any type of student.

    What to do for fun

    On the weekends, Student Activities brings in different types of entertainers. This year we have had magicians, jugglers, and psychics. Student Activities also puts on before dvd release movies on the weekeds in our theatre. Occasionally during the week there are random activities on the lawn outside.

    Food and Dining

    Even though it is dining hall food and it is not always the best, it has gotten much better over the past few years. The students sat down with Mets, our food supplier, and told them we would like better food and they listened. Along with the dining hall there is also the Cougar's Den which sells made to order food such as sandwiches, pizzas, and chicken fingers.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very clean and bigger than many other colleges. All rooms include cable and internet connection, and wifi is now avaliable all over campus including in the dorms. There are sinks in every room and you can control the heat and air in your room.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors will meet with students to talk about any problems they may be having in class and help them to succeed. With the small classes, it is easy for the professors to help a student or answer questions in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of campus or attend an open with family. Do not choose a school just because your friends from high school are going there. Don't be afraid to move away from home. Living on your own is a great feeling.

    In three sentences

    There are many different clubs and activities to be a part of, and there is always something to do around campus. Our class sizes are very small which enables the professors to be able to focus on a small group or an individual. Safety not a problem on campus, because it is a small community and campus can always be found driving around.

  • 08/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Super great! Super helpful! Just make sure you get a parking pass or you'll end up with a wad of tickets!

    Greek Life

    Unsure

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of clubs, no equestrian club, although I really wanted to start one.

    Great for these types of students

    Studious.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every fall we have the welcome back slip n slide! They put a big tarp down the hill on campus and soap it up, everyone gets to run and slide down if they want!

    Bang for the buck

    Wayyyy expensive for what you get, but not bad.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of on campus activities, but I didn't stay on campus much, I found it was boring. Much more fun to just go to the club or movies in Wilkes-Barre. OR there is a ton of horse barns in the area! Learn to ride!

    Food and Dining

    The Den and the Intermetzo Cafe are amazing! The dinning hall actually has pretty decent dinners as well! Just don't go for breakfast!

    Dorm Life

    Good food, the only dorms I liked were the townhouses.

    Academic Rigor

    Science & nursing classes are hard.. but if you take a business class all you have to do is be nice to your professor and hand in your work on time and you'll be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    No matter how lame you think it is, always keep an umbrella with you! Wear a jacket (it can be a far walk across campus)... and book bags are a godsend! The library staff is incredibly helpful, and most of your professors will truly care about you, all you have to do is talk to them if you are having trouble in a class. And the Dean of Students, she'll be your biggest advocate if you ever need her!

    In three sentences

    Most of the professors are amazing and staff are incredibly helpful! The on campus activities are somewhat boring, make sure you get a bus pass to go into the city! We just got a football team!

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are activities on Friday's such as hypnotists or mentalists. They campus tries to host recreational activities for students on the weekends to keep them busy.

    Food and Dining

    Some of the food is very good, but sometimes it is terrible. There is always a variety of food everyday if you do not like something in that given day.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are semi decent if you like to party; however, starting in the 2010/13 school year, there is a new program being created for all substance free students.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are always available for help. The curriculum is difficult, but that is the fun part. It gives students the opportunity to strive for success to become a better person in all areas.

    Tips for prospective students

    This university has a small campus that keeps people in acquaintance with one another. Students are like a family and treat everybody with respect. I strongly recommend this school to anyone that has the perseverance to learn and to make friends that are more like them.

    In three sentences

    Misericordia University provides excellent one-on-one interaction with the students. Help is always offered and no student should feel alone. I would recommend this school to anybody that is serious about their education and want to learn. There is no excuse to fail and the University will make sure of that.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There when you need them.

    Greek Life

    Does not exist.

    Clubs and Activities

    There could be more but for the size of the student body, there is plenty to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Non party type, health science students, outdoor type people.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs/Activities, local bowling, local parks for hiking, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Food is ok, but it is provided by an outside company.

    Dorm Life

    Nice rooms and mostly modern. New building being completed this summer.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are difficult but this is college and these classes prepare you for either your career or graduate school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get highly involved and develop relationships with your professors.

    In three sentences

    Amazing school with great professors that truly care about you. Beautiful campus with plenty of clubs to become a part of.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    These guys are great they will do anything. One bad thing i hear is getting tickets but if you park where your suppose to then your fine

    Greek Life

    no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of clubs and activities and also trips to go help others.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for all types of students: shy ones, outgoing ones and also creative ones. The party people may want to rethink this school if partying is an important thing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the one classroom is a lecture hall but it is small but has glass windows around it so people from the hall can see the class. the weird thing that i found it is people call it the fishbowl because of those windows.

    Bang for the buck

    The school does give financial aid to those who need it. my family is not the poorest or the richest but i did get a good amount to help me pay for school. Also they offer a payment plan so you do not have to take out loans but simply pay monthly payment as you are attending school.

    What to do for fun

    The school offers many different types of activities and clubs so you could have things to do. Honestly this was the only school that i saw a lot of things to do, which is why i picked this school.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. The school recently redesigned the one lounge and it looks so nice and the wait for food isn't insane. They have many food options from salads for chicken to pizza. And the food staff are very kind.

    Dorm Life

    I drive to school as a freshman from home and it was ok. Dorm life i hear was average basically if you commute your not missing much. Then again it depends on who you hang out with.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging especially if it is your first year because the style of teaching is different and its a big adjustment. It is not impossible to get all A's you do have to work for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to check out the school they are more than happy to arrange something like sitting in on a class or staying the night at the dorms so you could get a feel for school. This is not a party school so if your looking for huge parties you will be disappointed here.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school with open areas outside nice buildings and amazing teachers that will go to the ends of the world to try and help you. The university offers great services that vary from a writing center that helps with papers to a counseling service in case your having a tough time with anything.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the school offers many things like movies, trips, and shows

    Food and Dining

    pretty good

    Dorm Life

    did not stay in dorm but took the tour the are nice and they just build new ones.

    In three sentences

    This is small school with small classes. I loved the way the teachers really work with you. This is where you want to go!!

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This school's campus safety is excellent. There is very little to no crime or violence here. If there is any, you don't ever hear about it.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have pretty much anything you can think of! Get involved!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone that's willing to broaden their horizons and be more accepting of others while maintaining a good academic standard.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This school is a catholic school, so you will be introduced to a lot of religious activities around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I don't quite understand what this means, but this school is pretty expensive to attend. Look for scholarships and try to find loans that won't leave you in debt forever.

    What to do for fun

    Most people find it difficult to find things to do. It's all about what kind of effort you put into finding something to do. If you don't make the effort, you'll end up sitting in your dorm all night! Get out and meet new people, you won't regret it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for an exciting and challenging experience that you'll never forget!

    In three sentences

    Misericordia is a great school if you are looking for one on one attention from your instructors. They have an excellent set of standards for all of their courses. You can expect great things from here!

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Some days the food is great and others not so much. It all depends on what you like.

    Dorm Life

    With such a small school, you get to know pretty much everyone and you are able to pick where you want to live with a room lottery.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on what you are majoring in. Most of the health care courses such as physical therapy or occupational therapy can be challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved at Misericordia University Attend events on campus

    In three sentences

    Misericordia University is a privately funded institution located in Dallas, Pennsylvania. It is founded upon service to the community and mercy. Because it is a small university, you are able to have a personal connection with friends and professors.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    From poetry club to psychology club to student government, Misericordia has just about any club you could think of.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like smaller classes with more attention to detail, Misericordia professors do just that. It's a small campus, which allows you to get to know a lot of people. Everyone is very friendly and welcoming.

    What to do for fun

    There is a shuttle to take you outside of the campus for shopping, food, etc. Also, the staff plans movies, game nights, comedians, dances, and so much more.

    Food and Dining

    There are so many options that it is impossible not to find something you like.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers challenge you, but not in an impossible-to-manage way.

    Tips for prospective students

    It may be a small campus with plenty of one-on-one attention, but don't take advantage of that. Make sure to study in addition to having fun with friends.

    In three sentences

    Misericordia University is an excellent school. It is a friendly and welcoming place. The teachers truly care about your success and every staff member goes out of their way to help you with just about any possible problem.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus safety is fantastic! They are helpfull and always keeping a close eye on things making this campus very safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everything! Every major has a club and they support that major and do a lot of great community service projects. The school activities committee plans dances and fun outdoors activities in the spring and really tries to make sure we are getting out and having some fun!

    Great for these types of students

    This school is for students that like small class sizes and more individual attention from the professor. This school is highly recomended for our physical therepy program and nursing and really any science majors. Here you are not just a number you are a studen with a name and that is extremely important.

    Bang for the buck

    It is pricy, this school is big on acedemics and does offer great scholarships to good students. While you are in there are also scholarship options for those who make deans list.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of resturants near by for dining and hanging out. There is a bowling alley in Dallas about 5 minutes from campus. The school provides a shuttle to go to the mall in Wilkes Barre and any shopping areas there, also the movie theater.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of options I am told again I do commute so this is from other students.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm but others tell me it is pretty good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors it will help you in the long run with your grades and even recommendation letters. All of the professors are very nice and really helpfull! Also apply for tutoring early in the semester if you have the slightest doubt about a class, it is a huge help! Get involved definately!! Making friends is important and it does make college life more enjoyable!

    In three sentences

    It is a great school and very welcoming. It is small and easy to meet people. You do not have to worry about fitting in because everyone here accepts you.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    pretty much anything

    Food and Dining

    go to a place called Metro, and a restaurant called CK's

    Dorm Life

    never lived in the dorms but it looks fun

    Academic Rigor

    not impossible and can be a cake walk at times.

    Tips for prospective students

    If partying is not your top priority I would go here, especially if you want to do something in health care.

    In three sentences

    A small scenic campus. Brand new facilities although it can get crowded at the gym at times. Not much of a nightlife but a short drive to Wilkes can change that.

  • 07/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is cool about unlocking doors and classrooms late at night or early in the morning. They are understanding with parking tickets. They are helpful with information. Plus, most students feel safe on campus but it's good to have them there anyway.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at Misericordia.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of the clubs on campus are designed to either keep you busy with fun outdoor activities and what not or stand up for a cause in various ways. They are so diverse that I believe that anyone could find a few they are interested in.

    Great for these types of students

    The students looking for a small town atmosphere where everyone knows your name and the classes are very personal and the teachers really go out of their way to help you will feel right at home at Misericordia University.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Misericordia is in the book of world records for being surrounded by the most cemeteries. However, after a while, you forget they're there.

    Bang for the buck

    Misericordia's tuition is reasonable (for today's crazy world) and they have a lot of scholarships and loans to help those who need it. The meal plans are a little overpriced and you shouldn't go to the bookstore because they will rip you off on everything from gum to textbooks. However, overall money spent is money well used at Misericordia. You will be satisfied with your classes and the resources used in them.

    What to do for fun

    Join one of the many clubs Misericordia has on campus! Volunteer locally or abroad and make a difference in your time at school! Go to the Den for various acts with friends! Go shopping down the road at the mall and more! Join or support a sports team!

    Food and Dining

    Misericordia does not have a huge selection, but they do make up for it in different ways. First, it's always all you can eat. Second, meal points keep it easy to plan how much you will spend on food in a semester. Third, if you have any dietary issues that need to be addressed, they will work with you on them. Last, the staff is always friendly.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm on campus for as long as possible. This is where you will make connections with friends that will become your family and life long support system. You are guaranteed a lot of laughs and you can't beat waking up and walking to class or brunch within 5 minutes.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor provided to you at Misericordia University depends on what classes you take when and what your major is. Whatever you sign up for, keep calm and go to the tutoring center, they do help!

    Tips for prospective students

    College is what you make it! Study hard not because you want an A, but because these courses should be the basis to your passion, your career. However, make time for fun as well!

    In three sentences

    Misericordia has felt like home since my freshman year. I've grown up there and met the people who will continue to grow with me after college. I feel prepared for the real world having had so many culturally diverse experiences inside and out of the classroom.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student who desires a prominent and strong student-professor relationship will not be let down here. A determined, prudent, spiritual student would be right at home.

    Bang for the buck

    Misericordia keeps its students driven, encouraged and safe. This school does more for its students than for its patrons!

    What to do for fun

    There are 300+ clubs and organizations that always keep the student body busy. Also, there are several places to study and socialize. The gym is great, too! NOt to mention, there is some sort of activity going on at the school almost every day!

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome and there are several places to find something to eat!

    Dorm Life

    Honestly, I never lived in the dorms here, but I know there are little to no parties. The Catholic background and environment seems to attract very well-behaved and kind students.

    Academic Rigor

    The university does all it can to uphold high standards, but its size is limiting.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest making an appointment with a counselor and discussing the options available. Since the school is small, not everything is available; however, the programs that are well built are VERY well built.

    In three sentences

    Being the small, private school it is, Misericordia does not have the most up-to-date technology or the most challenging courses. Although, the classroom setting is very intimate, so the professors are extremely good about making themselves available, helping a student in need and keeping up with all their work. The student atmosphere cannot be beat, either!

  • 07/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is open 24 hours, seven days a week. The officers are always friendly. If you need help with something related to any problems on campus, the officers are always helpful.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many Clubs and Activities on campus. In the beginning of the school semesters, club leaders recruit students into joining them. If student have an club or activity idea, they can pitch the idea to Student Government Associates, and they will let students know about a new club that with happen. They do what they can to get students involved.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is available on campus seven days a week. There are menus in from of the cafeteria and other dining areas. It's available for purchase with meal plans.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are set up nicely. Upperclassman can live with groups of friends on the on campus dorms, which many students are excited for.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm studying Communications so a lot of my classes are hands-on. I want to do something with film and media. I was taught by my professors many ways to use the camera and ways to shoot and lighting. These things were very useful.

    In three sentences

    I like the school because it's giving me a good education. Not only I'm getting a good education, but my professors are very helpful and give me a lot of motivation. The school is very beautiful looking.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is just a phone call away whether you'd like an escort to your room (which is unlikely due to the seclusion of Misericordia making it a very are school), or if you need them to quiet down a neighbor.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities, but there are honor societies.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something to do on caps. Aside from the 30+ clubs on campus, every weekend there is entertainment from musicians, to comedians, to hypnotists. There are hiking expeditions, ski trips, Broadway trips and more!

    Great for these types of students

    Misericordia is great for students looking to focus on their academics and future career, for students that are looking for a small school, and students looking for a private location. It is also great for those of Catholic faith.

    Bang for the buck

    Though Misericordia is an expensive school to attend, the academics are top notch with professors and students to match!

    What to do for fun

    While there are many events that take place on campus to entertain, there is also the opportunity to travel into town to go to the movies, go shopping, or more!

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is open only certain hours, but there is a great variety. Of course there are days when the cafeteria is a flop, but there are other locations around campus that allow for a variety of food at different hours.

    Dorm Life

    Due to the small population of students that attend Misericordia, there isn't a large social aspect. News spreads fast. On the other-hand, Misericordia's small environment provides the ability to create a small group of close-knt friends that become family. The dorms themselves are a nice size and just what you need and expect for the college life.

    Academic Rigor

    Misericordia provides an academically greuling curriculum that really pushes your learning. The teachers are very helpful in not only providing a challenge, but also by being there to provide help and support. There are also many opportunities provided for real-world learning experiences to put your knowledge to the test and prepare for life after college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take part in all that you are able to. It will be worth it in the long-run because it opens opportunities to meet new people and to also amp up your resume.

    In three sentences

    Misericordia is a small school where the people become family. The teachers are very helpful and truly care about your education. Misericordia is not just a school, but a home.

  • 03/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clubs, work study, hang out with friends. (the usual).

    Food and Dining

    Metz dining hall doesn't offer the most delicious or healthiest of options. You just have to adjust and see what you like and go from there. The possibilities are endless!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms can be a little boring on the weekends so make lots of friends to keep busy.

    Academic Rigor

    These classes are challenging but not too difficult. Just enough to make you work for your GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Volunteer, do intermural sports, go on retreats, join a sport, join clubs!

    In three sentences

    This school is so friendly and welcoming and really provides a great learning environment. The classes challenge your thinking and shape you into future adults. This school is the best- that's why I chose it!

  • 05/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe close-knit campus

    Greek Life

    No Greek life :/

    Great for these types of students

    Friendly. Service-Oriented. Comfortable. Social. People who like to talk to anyone. People who like to get involved. People who don't want to sit around.

    Bang for the buck

    Particularly for health sciences majors, like myself, Misericordia is very well known through Pennsylvania and beyond for these majors. OT has had pass rates in the 90s the past few years.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not bad. I would definitely suggest to get a lot of Cougar Points because that is a nice alternative to the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I loved the dorms! People are usually respectful. The bathrooms and showers in particular are nice compared to other schools I visited, but I would still suggest shower shoes. All the dorms are pretty close, so you can walk everywhere. I loved livig at school and I would suggest that to anyone at any school!

    Academic Rigor

    So far I have only taken cores, which are not terribly impossible, but major courses I know will be more difficult. I f you manage your time, you will be perfectly fine. i am in the Honors Program which is great for students who would prefer an essay over a test. But, be aware that some teachers are harsh graders.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is no party school, but if you want that you can find it. That is probably the main reason why people transfer. I have met some of the best people I could imagine here and it is one of the friendliest environments I could imagine living in.

    In three sentences

    Misericordia is a great school for those who wish to continue their high school sports or health science students. This school is financially feasible due to the aid given out. The small close-knit community is great for those who favor that type of school.