Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    My busiest day I am in class for 5 hours. Meaning there's at least another 10 hours of free time during the day. Learn to separate social time and homework. Set time apart for homework. Log off Facebook! Maybe plan frequent study dates with friends. Whatever needs to be done, it's just imperative to study or you'll get behind real quick. On a lighter note; WORK STUDY! Work = Money. Simple as that. Within the first or second week of July go to the Financial Aid office and ask for Work Study. PUT YOUR NAME ON THE LIST. They may or may not ask you to, YOU ask to if they don't. If you don't put your name on the list, you won't get work study.

    Bang for the buck

    There are SO many scholarships available that the school offers that it's almost foolish to not take advantage of any. Not to mention you'll be saving MEGA bucks by starting out at a Community College.

    Am enjoying being here

    Friends you make in the dorms or from involvement in different school groups such as band are going to be your friends for a lifetime. Perk has a very relaxed, social atmosphere. There are SO MANY opportunities to get involved on campus such as dance teams or religious organizations as well as opportunities in the community. The Events Coordinator in the Student Center always has an endless list of volunteer opportunities. One in particular is volunteering at Perk Elementary and reading to the students in the library or helping the PTA on Fridays for their Sale Day during the kids recess.

    Am learning a lot

    The class sizes are smaller so you can get a lot of one on one time with teacher. The atmosphere is more casual in the classroom than in high school, but the teachers still expect you to do your work, naturally. Most of the teachers have a dry sense of humor when they teach, which makes the class time very enjoyable.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are everywhere which definitely makes me feel safe and most importantly for my 3 year old son who also attends the campus daycare.

    Bang for the buck

    I am currently in my second semester of the surgical tech program and as a returning student I love this school!

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on on campus such as pep rallies, fashion shows, talent shows and extra curricular activities.

    Food and Dining

    Its terrific the cafeteria always looks very clean and the food smells and tastes terrific.

    Dorm Life

    Not sure I don't nor have I ever stayed on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Its very important to keep up and always study. Stay motivated!

    Tips for prospective students

    To make sure you are at least taking classes geared toward your goals so in case you change up your major you can always apply your classes.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful. The cafeteria has terrific food. The teachers are awesome.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is wonderful, no worries!

    Bang for the buck

    Everything on campus is reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    Football games and different events monthly.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    The tips for future students from my prospective would be to make sure you keep in touch with financial aid and with admissions.

    In three sentences

    MGCCC is a wonderful school to attend if you haven't already. The instructor's are very understanding and they really care about their students. The facility is also very nice and helpful.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe by keeping residence halls locked to those without access to a student id, by the amount of surveillance, and the commitment of campus police. There are many ways the school practices safe methods of operation.

    Greek Life

    Because MGCCC is a community college, there is no Greek Life offered.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a large variety of clubs and activities at Gulf Coast that offer involvement to all types of students. The clubs are very involved in community service and helping the college better itself. There are many fun activities to become involved with.

    Bang for the buck

    The curriculum at MGCCC is challenging that teaches students many helpful things. This level of education is very worth the price and the amount tuition costs is very reasonable for an average student.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things on MGCCC's campus to do for fun. The campus always has something going on to benefit its students. There are many complimentary fun services on campus such as cookouts and free giveaways hosted by the student activities staff. There are festivals that depend on holidays and many sporting events always going on.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at Gulf Coast is positive. It is clean and is staffed by hard-working individuals. The food is decent, especially for being a cafeteria. There are rules to help keep the cafeteria running smoothly. The dining area is well organized which helps to make meals more practical.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life on MGCCC Perkinston campus helps involve students with their campus. It is led by very professional adults who care about the students. There is always something going on offering things above the influence for students living in the dorms on campus. The dorms also provide a very safe environment for students by keeping the buildings locked without a student id of residents in the halls they are assigned to live in only. The residence staff are strict on cleanliness in the halls, noise level for studying and sleeping purposes, and keeping doors locked to prevent theft. The residence halls are a great way to get involved on campus, to meet new people, and to live in a safe, convenient area.

    Academic Rigor

    MGCCC is a challenging college depending on your major of course. The curriculum is tough but is possible to understand and learn from. Also, overall the instructors are very inviting to students who seek extra effort and are extremely helpful in offering many ways to show the students better ways to comprehend the material. The students at Mississipppi Gulf Coast Community colleges are held at high standards set by the instructors and general staff.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important advice I have to offer to future students is to choose a major that challenges you. Picking a career just because it is easy will just be a preview of how unfulfilling your life after college will be, because chances are, the career will not be something that interests you. Community colleges are a great way to develop your higher level thinking. Use Gulf Coast as a positive experience that helps transition you from high school to the next level, whether it is a career immediately or a university college. This college can help you in so many ways as long as you let it. It is what you make it.

    In three sentences

    MGCCC is a great institution to begin someone's college career. It exemplifies great leadership among instructors and staff who care about the students. The classes are challenging yet possible to pass as a hard-working student and the school is just an all around great experience.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I'm a member of the conduct board, so I feel a little less secure than everyone else. haha

    Greek Life

    Nonexistent.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Government Association, Phi Theta Kappa, choir, show choir, religious groups, sports

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who aren't yet ready to attend a four-year university, especially if the university is far from home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well, there is a cemetery across the road from campus; does that count as unusual? Every year before winter break, we have Festival of Lights; it's a huge community and campus event where the college organizations put up booths and sell hot food or seasonal decorations.

    Bang for the buck

    I attended Perk on two scholarships, the Presidential Scholarship and the Honors Scholarship. You get the Presidential by having at least a 28 on your ACT and pays for housing, food, tuition, books, and fees. I got my Honors Scholarship for applying and being accepted into the Honors College on campus. This scholarship is worth about one or two thousand dollars. It helped me cover any of the costs that the Presidential didn't. Because of these two scholarships, Perk PAID me to go to school. I always received at least seven hundred dollars in refund money!

    What to do for fun

    Great places to hang out include: Blaylock Park in Downtown Wiggins, Over The Top ice cream parlor in Downtown Wiggins, and Walmart in Wiggins. Wiggins and Downtown Wiggins are both only about a five minute drive from campus. There's also Perk Beach- it's a creek located about two minutes from campus by car. If you're feeling adventurous, that word here meaning willing to drive thirty to forty-five minutes, than you should head down to Biloxi on the coast and go to Hookah Up Cafe. You should definitely try the hot Moroccan tea!

    Food and Dining

    Can I give this NO stars? I'm not a fan of the cafeteria at all. I've been on the Student Government Association for the past two years; we've been trying to get better product and such, but it won't go into effect until next year. Keep your fingers crossed!

    Dorm Life

    I'm not a big fan of the residence halls. The rooms are alright, but the bathrooms are ridiculously small. I've been in New Womens Hall both my freshman and sophomore years; the shower stalls are TINY! Also, depending on who is working the front desk of your dorm, it might get really loud despite quiet hours.

    Academic Rigor

    It really isn't as tough as my high school teachers said it was going to be. Just find out the different teaching styles of the professors and go with the ones that suit you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends with cars! Perk is in the middle of nowhere! Dr. Weekley's creative writing class will change your life. Mrs. Greene-Aguirre is an awesome history teacher as well as the head of honors and Phi Theta Kappa. Dr. Winter is a great literature teacher, but be prepared to write!

    In three sentences

    Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College's Perkinston Campus (Perk) has helped me to grow and learn independence. I've made great friends here, both from my peer group as well as the faculty. I truly feel that my experience at Perk has helped prepare me for a four-year university in ways that high school never had.

  • 07/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that loves being around smaller colleges, and would not mind meeting new people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard and study.

    Am enjoying being here

    The faculty and other students there are great. A lot of school related activities to join. The enviroment is very nice to be around.

    Am learning a lot

    Classes are fairly sized. Big enough classes for a teacher to help a student individually.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a very safe college. Campus police are very nice and helpful.

    Bang for the buck

    The education here is worth every penny spent.

    In three sentences

    The instructors are very nice and are always trying to help student reach their full potential. The classrooms are big and very clean. The students who attend here are very nice and friendly.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Their are crime reports e-mailed regularly to students and I have been shocked at the very low amount of criminal activity. The campus police are always available and wiling to help with ANY thing that you need. I have had them offer to walk me to the car after night classes.

    Bang for the buck

    I would recommend this college. The tuition is very reasonable and they have a great book rental program. A convenient campus book store has any supplies that you could possibly need for school.

    What to do for fun

    The school offers back-packing and canoeing trips. Each campus offers a full gym with olympic size swimming pool. The casinos are very close to campus which offer a variety of thing to do when you take a break from your studies.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good. They just keep the same stuff on the menu all of the time. It would be nice if they would offer new items from time to time.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus but have friends that love it. The rooms are very up to date and spacious. Some of the campuses have dorms over looking the water and offer a very serene atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    M.G.C.C.C. has excellent academics. There are an array of different programs available. I have found the staff is very supportive and willing to help any way possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest to have any financial aid request forms submitted in a timely fashion or your refund may be delayed. They sometimes run out of books too so its better to get in as quickly as possible otherwise you could go without books for a week or two. I would also suggest to take advantage of the different workshops that the school offers; These are most often free of charge and extremely helpful to the student.

    In three sentences

    This is an awesome school with outstanding ad-visors and professors. I would most definitely recommend this school for individuals seeking a college education. I am older so I like the diversity of the different age groups attending the school.

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have never once felt unsafe on campus!

    Clubs and Activities

    join phi theta kappa! it is a fantastic honors society and you will get so much out of it. our chapter is very active in our community - and, of course, scholarships are readily available for ptk members!

    Great for these types of students

    if you meet the requirements, the honors program is absolutely amazing! the classes are always fun, and you are guaranteed to make some amazing friends.

    Food and Dining

    i love the cafeteria at my campus. the food is always fresh and delicious, and i absolutely love the staff! they are so kind and funny, and they always put me in a good mood!

    Dorm Life

    i actually do not attend the perkinston campus, so i do not live in the dorms. however, i have heard very nice things about them!

    Academic Rigor

    as an honors student, i always feel myself being adequately challenged. all of the courses i have taken have been thoroughly interesting, and my teachers are all so helpful!

    Tips for prospective students

    enjoy your time here because time flies by! it is so amazing to have two years of community college experience before you move on to a university. just make sure your credits will transfer!

    In three sentences

    attending mississippi gulf coast community college is definitely something you should consider! it is a wonderful learning environment. there is always something to do on campus!

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 36

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The community college is a good starter school to prepare me for a univerisity I plan on attending in two years.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a gym to work out in and play basketball. And the beach is super close to the JD campus

    Food and Dining

    Kinda expensive. I don't eat there all the time but when I do it is very good.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you pick a field that you love and have an interest in. Also don't over load yourself with classes but take all that you can.

    In three sentences

    Mississippi gulf coast community college has a great faculty. The environment is very relaxing and easy to study at. It is also very easy to get involved

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police patrolled around campus frequently every night. If you felt uncomfortable walking the campus at night, you could call campus police to escort you to wherever you were headed. They help when you lock your keys in your car. You can report crimes to them and they will help solve the problem. Plus, the officers were generally nice people who just wanted to help the school and its students.

    Greek Life

    Not much to offer here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wesley foundation, phi theta kappa, honors college, gay straight alliance, student government association, and so much more offered at MGCCC. If you want to get involved in something, chances are you're going to find it at perk.

    Great for these types of students

    Any body who wants to come and meet new people while getting a higher education, MGCCC is your school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's really nothing too weird going on on the perkinston campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition was cheap, especially to take over 19 credit hours if need be. I'm really glad I went to a community college first and got my basics for cheap, rather than going to a big university and spend so much money before I even get to start on my professional courses.

    What to do for fun

    There were bonfires, movie nights in the quad, haunted houses, dances, talent shows, cookouts, plays, concerts, the list goes on and on. If you want to be involved with something, you don't have to look very far or wait very long to find something to do on this campus. There were always things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food was edible, but most of the time was not tasty. Breakfast was the best, and lunches were okay, but dinners sometimes really suffered. Especially near the end of the year. Most workers were also irritable. Select workers were very nice and genuine, though.

    Dorm Life

    The RA's have tons of different activities scheduled to make sure you have a fun time at their dorm. It really all depends on your roommate, but I had a wonderful experience at the dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses were not too challenging, other than Organic Chemistry I and II. Every now and then, there was a challenge, but I never felt overwhelmed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, go to class, and don't give up. In a lot of ways, this is different than high school. Your success depends on you and you alone. You can do this. It is possible. Earn your degree at Gulf Coast!

    In three sentences

    The teachers were a hit or a miss, but most of mine were great. Some issues in how the financial aid office handled things. Overall, I'm glad I went there and got my degree.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great. There are campus police that are on duty 24/7.

    Greek Life

    There are many different clubs and organizations as well. From Aplha Beta Gamma, Sigma Phi Sigma Chi Omicron Delta Chapter, Rho Lambda Sigma & Xi Mu Theta (Step Team) and mnay more.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs ranging from the dogpound to the yearbook club and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone majoring in anything from Business to Mortuary Science are welcomed. They have many degree programs and also have articulation agreements with different universities in the state and out of state.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is located in a small community. Outside of the campus there is nothing there. So if you plan on doing things off campus you will need to have a car or no someone that does.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition and fee are relatively inexpensive, That's why I choose this college. I could of went to any other school with my major. But the small class sizes and inexpensive tuition had me sold. Then the fact the there were dorms was another plus.

    What to do for fun

    The are many things to do. Sports whether it's going to the many different sporting events or even attending the crab crack or the many events held on campus all year round.

    Food and Dining

    There are two types of meal plans. A five day and seven day, You also can eat at the grill if the cafeteria is closed. You will also find different restaurants in the nearby towns. Just minutes down or up the road.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm at update and some residence halls come with micro-fridges and microwaves. All rooms are double occupancy and you must select a meal plan if your living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are sub-par to none. You will be taught what you should know so you can transfer to a four year institution.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure if your thinking about living on campus to apply early. Also make sure that you get all your transcripts in on time because it will hold up your financial aid.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school that is located in a small community. The college has everything from sports, to residence housing. You will have a great experience here and the instructors and personnel are always looking out for your best interest.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play cards in the cafeteria. Hang out at the BSU. Go swimming and excerising.

    Food and Dining

    The food there is okay but the salad bar does not look safe to eat.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    They have great academic and technical programs. They have great tutors and learning tools at the learning lab. They have great counsels and advisors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work before the deadline. Do not procasted. Come to class early or on time. Create a study group if tutors are not available. Turn work in on time. Have open communication with teacher whether it via email ,phone, or in-person.

    In three sentences

    Its a fun place to be at but its gets dull in the afternoon. You meet great people there. Its have cozy furnitures.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police keep a watchful eye on what happens around campus. I feel safer here than home sometimes. Dorms are only accessable if you are registered to live in that dorm.

    Greek Life

    Not very sure about this. I may get more into it my sophomore year.

    Clubs and Activities

    Basketball, step team, marching band, football, soccer, baseball, intermural sports, theatre, choir, jazz band, indoor drumline

    Great for these types of students

    Perkinston has many clubs, classes and programs that almost the whole college takes part in. It's great to see so many people active.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In band, they hold a milk drinking contest every year and the winner gets a prize.

    Bang for the buck

    Gulf Coast football games are the best to be at. Great players and amazing fans. The football players love the band and can't get enough of us when we play in the stands and march during half time.

    What to do for fun

    In my spare time at Perkinston, I take band. I am on drumline and we are very dedicated at what we do.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria always has delicious food and the drink fountains are the best.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great at Perkinston so far. I can't wait for my second year there.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are some of the most dedicated and hard-working teachers I've ever met. It's pretty inspiring to myself to see how much they love their jobs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Community college is a great way to make the switch from high school to college. And it ends up being cheaper to complete 2-3 years in community college then go to the college of your choice. You'll save lots of money, yet still having a great time earning your education.

    In three sentences

    Mississippi Gulf Coast is one of the best community colleges in the country. School spirit, amazing band, superb athletics department and dedicated teachers. Definitely a great way to follow up after High school.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always riding around making sure nothing is wrong. They also have phone numbers to call to maybe walk with you if you get scared right after a late class.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different Clubs and Activities. They are endless.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that enjoy many different activities and events, that the college plans. Students that might be a little nervous about college or would just like to find a good place to start.

    What to do for fun

    Join in on events or small actvities, that go on almost everyday. Go to the Football game it is free for students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. There is somewhat of a differnt variety eveyday. There is dessert to.

    Dorm Life

    Amazing, the dorm mother is really cool and is always there to lend a hleping hand. Most of the students are very welcoming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do homework, study for test, but remember to have fun.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    athletic games, student center, art shows, talent shows

    Food and Dining

    i don't eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    i don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    excellent acedemics.

    Tips for prospective students

    ask any questions you have, somebody will have the answer! this is a great school to be interested in.

    In three sentences

    mgccc is a great school. there are lots of people willing to help. the campus is gorgeous.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All students, especially adult students.

    Bang for the buck

    I think it is very reasonable for the education you receive.

    What to do for fun

    I am an adult student so my fun is at home with my kids and husband.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I find all the classes to be challenging but if you put in the work you will do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Weekend classes are the best if available. They are intense but because they are so compact it helps during testing and all of instructors are very helpful!

    In three sentences

    It has been a wonderful experience thus far. The instructors have been professional and helped in any way they could. MGCCC has a wide variety of class and schedules to meet everyone's needs.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always on the lookout, and there close at all times so nothing major goes on without them knowing.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not in any clubs but im involved in plenty of othere stuff. As in refereeing intermural, videoing the football games, and yearbook work-study.

    Bang for the buck

    Perk offers SO many scholarships to cover expences. Paying for school here hasent been an issue for me.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of sporting events and clubs doing things at all times. The weekends can get boring but thats only because there isnt as many people satying on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    They could have a wider variety of food, but its pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I live in Hayden Hall which is the most accesible so of course its great. I absolutly love living in my dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get all of your financial stuff figured out as early as possible and get a room reserved fast. Spots go quick.

    In three sentences

    Perk is a really laid back school. If you're looking for somewhere to go for fairly easy classes and lots of friendly people, this is the place for you. For a community college, perk completly exceded my expectations.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is very friendly

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    The theatre group is amazing!

    Great for these types of students

    Those who like smaller classes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the Gulfport campus, there is a trail behind the math building that leads to a lake.

    Bang for the buck

    Most of my credits were transferable to the university I will be going to

    Food and Dining

    I wouldn't know

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are small and teachers help you

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit financial aid early!

    In three sentences

    The teachers are very helpful and will speak with you whenever you need it. The learning lab is the best place to study and do homework. I have Ms. Kopp as an advisor and she is amazing!

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    exercise...

    Tips for prospective students

    study study study...

    In three sentences

    The school is academically stimulating. The teacher's perspectives have been broadened by their experiences, giving their view points more validity. A must for the scholar not interested in the social aspect of higher learning.

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to Gulfport or Biloxi. There are many things to do there. Events are also held in the student center from time to time.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school. Teachers and administration are helpful. Campus life is enjoyable.

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I see campus police around a lot. The school has many cameras. The office police watch the cameras in they're office. Lighting is sufficient at night. I have never felt unsafe at the JD campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is an organization called reflections. If you get a chance to join, half of your tuition is paid for! They're are a lot of other fun clubs and organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    A lot of video gamers hang out in the cyber cafe at the JD campus. Some people even bring big flat screen tvs and and they're hand systems. So if you're a video gamer, you might meet a lot of neat people there.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an organization at the JD campus that provides yummy free food on Tuesdays. Last Tuesday was jambalaya!

    Bang for the buck

    It's a really good school! My tuition is usually somewhere around 1300 dollars each semester.

    What to do for fun

    There are beaches, clubs, good seafood restaurants on the coast. If you are 21, there are casinos on the coast you could go to for fun. the casinos have restaurants and clubs as well. Most of party goers at the Perkinston campus drive to Hattiesburg on the weekends to go to a club called the Frat which is near Southern MS's campus.

    Food and Dining

    You can get meal plans on all campuses. The food is pretty good! Not they typical cafeteria food!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are only on the Perkinston Campus. They dorms are decent. I've only been in a few. The ones that I did go in we're very small. There were two rooms connected by a small bathroom. Each room had 2 bunk beds. If you are uncomfortable with people in your personal space, the dorms that I looked at wouldn't be the ideal living situation.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on what type of course your taking and the professor. My chemistry and calculus have been very rigorous courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in mind that financial aid (anything you receive from doing the FAFSA) will not be accepted in the summer semesters. Preregister for your classes online for every semester! Get your books early. A girl in my chemisrty class waited too long to get her books and didn't get them until a little over a week after classes had started.

    In three sentences

    I'm currently attending Mississippi Gulf Cost Community College, MGCCC. I've been there for two years. MGCCC has three campuses. The Perkinston Campus is the main campus. This campus is the only campus with dorms so a person like an athelete would live on the Perkinston campus. Despite having gulf coast in the name of the school, the Perkinston campus is a good distance away from the actual beaches of Mississippi. The other campuses are Jackson County campus and the Jefferson Davis campus. These campuses are not far from the beach. There are many different clubs on each campus. All campuses have a learning lab. If your struggling in a class, there are people who specialize in algebra, calculus, chemistry, biology, and writing. I've been to to the learning lab many times for help in Calculus and Chemistry. It is a great tool that MGCCC provides as a benefit to the student and it is of no extra charge. MGCCC recently became a smoke free zone. The average age of students at MGCCC is 25. They're are a lot of non traditional students especially on the JC and JD campuses. There's usually at least a couple of students who are 50 to 60 years old in my classes. There are many military students at the JD campus. Keesler Air Force base and the navy base are just minutes away from the JD campus. MGCCC does not take financial aid during the summer semester. They only take financial aid in the Spring and Fall semesters. Books are rented through the school. The cost is added to your tuition. It's not very expensive.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    explore the area

    Tips for prospective students

    take a tour first

    In three sentences

    MGCCC is a great school to go to for your two year. I've had no problems so far. It is really affordable.

  • 06/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is 100% safe, campus police is always on the move making there rounds around campus

    What to do for fun

    ANY AND EVERTHING LONG AS IT CLEAN FUN

    Food and Dining

    THE BEST THEIR IS .BUT CAN CAN BETTER AT TIMES

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is amazing the dorms are up to date. they have all types of activities that be going on

    Academic Rigor

    REALLY IS PREPARING YOU FOR THE NEXT LEVEL OF COLLEGE

    Tips for prospective students

    be ready to have fun and learn new thing about life and people

    In three sentences

    Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College is one of the best community colleges in Mississippi you can come to. The teacher ,faculty and the student body will always open their hearts to you about any thing. I chosen Gulf coast for a reason and I'm happy I chosen them

  • 07/03/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    26 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    None

    In three sentences

    None

  • 09/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police station right on the campus. The great police officer patrol the campus making sure that every student is enjoying college life without the worry of danger.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities on the campus for every kind of person. There are also numerous of clubs to join to meet new people and be involve in.

    Food and Dining

    The food at MGCCC is amazing. There is always different types of food so you can try something new or stick to what you know.

    Dorm Life

    The resident hall will very fast start to feel like home. Every RA go out there way to make sure that you and your suit mates are in a safe and fun environment.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many train staff member at the ready waiting to help you on number of problem.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who are looking at MGCCC should know that the campus is a very safe.

    In three sentences

    Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College is amazing. There are many interactive activities where you can meet new people and feel very welcome. The teacher and staff are always just an email away if you need any help but if you need extra help there are many places on the campus to go.

  • 11/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We do have a kick-ass football team.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are just looking for good grades and a degree that you can't back up with knowledge this is the place for you.

    What to do for fun

    I go to Alabama or Louisiana.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, I don't even attend on the campus where the dorms are located.

    Academic Rigor

    I am not the person to ask. I don't see anyone trying really hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework. Make sure you chose a major that you are interested in and that you can actually earn a living at after you graduate.

    In three sentences

    Very Disappointed. One of my instructors speaks such poor English nobody can understand him. He does lecture however and is a wonderful teacher for online courses. Another instructor comes to a 4 hour class does NOT lecture we were out of class in less than an hour. About the 4th week into a 9 week class we were given labs, but no lecture. Still most classes lasted less than 2 hours. Very disappointing. I pay tuition for an instructor, otherwise I could have just bought a book.

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    29 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great 2-year education while meeting wonderful people.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful, clean campus. Great gym facilities, and wonderful teachers.

  • 11/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You could always go to the student center to play board games with some friends or even go to the barn and listen to people's testimony and you also could get free food :)

    Food and Dining

    Food in the cafe is delicious.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. We have really good Resident Assistances that are always on duty when you need help with anything. Also, the dorms come equipped with a microwave, refridgerators, and there is FREE WI-FI.

    Academic Rigor

    We have an excellent staff on the Perkinston campus. We also offer a Learning Lab that is there as an Aid to help you with any work.

    Tips for prospective students

    GET INVOLVED! The Perkinston Campus is filled with tons of activities to involved in. For Example, We have a club called The Campus Activities Board (CAB), that does cool activities each week.

    In three sentences

    Mississippi Gulf Coast Community is a great college to attend. We have tons of activities to get involved into on campus. Overall, it's a excellent school with an excellent staff to match, and you would have a great college experience coming here.

  • 12/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have official Gautier police officers who keep watch at our campus 24/7. We are able to keep their number on speed dial and call them for pretty much any need. For example, I have a night class and don't get out till 9 or 9:30, if I did not feel safe walking to my car alone I could call them and they would escort me to my vehicle.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities at MGCCC.

    Clubs and Activities

    I completely recommend being as involved as you can. I am a part of the Baptist Student Union and I absolutely love it. They have free lunch on Tuesdays and Wednesdays and Bible studies on Mondays. It is a very good group to get involved in.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities to get involved with on campus. I am a part of the Baptist Student Union, and they usually plan their own events as well. Every so often an email will be received in your student email giving you a heads up on campus activities to get involved in. We normally have marathons, cook outs, and holiday events.

    Food and Dining

    I honestly have not tried the food in our cafeteria, but I have heard great things. Even though I have not gone to the cafeteria, I have gone to the BSU for their free lunch on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. I love it there! Great food and great people.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus. Perk campus is the only campus with dorms and I don't really recommend them.

    Academic Rigor

    There is always a helping hand when it comes to your academics. MGCCC provides a learning lab full of helpful tutors. I also love my teachers, they do as much as they can to help you when needed, but you have to be sure to ask the questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best in all of your classes and use the learning lab as much as you possibly can. There are plenty of tutors there to help you or give you advice on anything you need.

    In three sentences

    I actually don't go to the Perk campus. I go to the Jackson County campus. This campus by far is the best campus out of the campuses offered by MGCCC.

  • 12/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Yeah, I think this applies for the main campus only...

    Food and Dining

    Can't complain.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm...

    Academic Rigor

    I cannot complain, its all great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Financial aid is not a fun place.

    In three sentences

    MGCCC has great classes and top notch teachers. The campuses are modestly sized and easy to navigate through. The cafeteria food is not half bad either.

  • 12/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Lots of different classes available between the many campuses.

    What to do for fun

    I'm a big nerd so studying is pretty fun to me. The cafe often has folks playing MTG and the mall isn't too far from campus. There are casinos and lots of clubs for that kind of person. Beaches a few blocks away as well.

    Food and Dining

    Food is alright for the price but there is plenty to chose from around the area.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on your class load. I'm a science major so I take a lot of hard classes. I enjoy it though. Just keep your nose to the grindstone and remember that you're paying to learn!

    Tips for prospective students

    The financial aide office needs a light under their bums at all times, be vigilant.

    In three sentences

    Eclectic group of people from a small world setting. Wonderful island from conservative oppression. Great teachers, wonderful community, and great location.

  • 02/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is ALWAYS something going on from parties and cookouts to theater performances and games. The clubs usually have at least one event scheduled for each month of the regular school year and are very welcoming to newcomers. The only way not to have something fun to do is by staying locked in your room when not in class and even then your roommate will usually find a way for you to have fun with them.

    Food and Dining

    The food is normally very good. The staff is nice and polite. They expect a person to pick up after themselves and be polite and nice back to them while in the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are clean but crowded... There are usually two people to a room and share a microwave and fridge that is brought by them. There is no hot plates, ovens, or animals allowed.

    Academic Rigor

    The campus classes are easy and usually small enough for everyone to get to know one another. The teachers are usually very good at explaining things out if you ask them and normally do not assign a lot of outside-of-class work, if they do, the deadlines are usually very reasonable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask around about the different teachers before signing up for a class with them. Remember your ID card and WEPA card. Don't disrespect, gossip, or be mean to anyone else because the teachers and other students frown upon it and will not want to be around you for it.

    In three sentences

    MGCCC is very fun and interactive among the students. There are study groups in the lobbies where kids from a class will get together to figure out a lesson or problem and most times the teacher of the class will be there as well. The campus classes are very easy with minimum homework or out of class work.

  • 05/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a campus police force located on campus that continuously patrols the campus. They also send out emails about the campus security statistics.

    What to do for fun

    There are many groups and clubs to join. The student government association usually puts on an event every few months that has food and games.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria had good food, and it is very affordable. The grill line tends to take longer. The dinner-type meals are filling and well worth the money.

    Dorm Life

    I am not sure about the dorms, because I never lived in them.

    Academic Rigor

    The inductors expect you to do your work and to complete it in a timely manner. There are a few who have a more easy-going attitude, but most have pretty high expectations.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a procrastinator, Do Not take online classes your first semester! Listen to what people tell you about the instructors. If you haven't heard anything about them, look them up on ratemyprofessor.com. Most teachers are very strict about the attendance policy, so don't miss class unless you have to. The cafeteria food is really good and not very pricy.

    In three sentences

    This school is a great option for students fresh out of high school. The classes are small, so you can have one-on-one help from the teachers if you need it. Also, the tuition is very affordable, and book fees are included in tuition for the most part.

  • 05/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The parking lots are lit up nicely, and the cops are friendly. I feel very safe at MGCCC.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who have busy schedules that involves home and work, and need to take classes quickly. The night classes are very nice as well.

    Bang for the buck

    You can get the same education you would at a university for much less.

    Food and Dining

    No dining facilities at my campus. Students eat out.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at my campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very strict with their teachings, but they make it simple to understand, if you take the time to study. The teacher to student ratio helps with being able to ask questions you may be having since there are fewer students then compared to universities. Overall, the academics here can either be challenging or easy, depending on you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid of it being a community college. You get the same skills as you would from any 4 year university for a fraction of the cost. Also, the student to teachers ratio really helps when you need help since the classes are smaller. There is a large variety of online classes, night classes, and regular classes to choose from to fit your degree and interests.

    In three sentences

    The classes are fun and teachers try to help you as much as they can. The students and faculty are very friendly. The schools are very nice overall.