Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Mississippi University for Women Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/18/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    My best friend attends school here and I have visited the campus and I love it.

  • 04/27/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you love to have fun, want a smaller campus, and love family closeness, this school is perfect! It is also hours away from many attractions (i.e. 45 minutes away from Tuscaloosa, AL).

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your counselor via email, phone, or in person! It will help them see what suits you most! Also, if you're unsure about your major, get your general courses out of the way until you find what interest you.

    Bang for the buck

    Because the tuition is so inexpensive, you don't have to do anything drastic like student loans! But if you have to, borrow only what you need because you WILL have to pay them back!

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is very beautiful! Especially in the spring and since it's a smaller school, everyone is like family! I love it!

    Am learning a lot

    The counselors and the professors get to know you personally and are not worried about a pay check and will help you if you need it! They don't stick to office hours and pretty much have an open door policy. All you have to do is get up and go talk to them!

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    MUW boasts of one of the best nursing schools around. If you have an interest in nursing, check out their program.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria on campus is a great place, you wouldn't need to leave campus to find a meal.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are full of other students that are there to be company and to make your college life even better.

    Academic Rigor

    MUW is known for its excellence in cirriculum. The university is just that- a university. It's not going to give you high-school level cirriculum. The professors expect you to work and it makes you all the better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to not be able to stay to yourself, the community is all about making friends and meeting other people. And be ready to study!

    In three sentences

    A close-knit community where people get to know each other in common fields of study. The professors know your name and call you by it when they see you in the hallway. Beautiful campus full of activities and things of interest.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The MUW campus has blue call poles all across the campus. If someone is in need of help, they can push the call button for assistance. The MUW police patrol the campus around the clock.

    Bang for the buck

    As I mentioned before the cost is that of a public university, but the quality of education is that of a private school.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on on campus. Students can see comedy shows or plays in the Rent Auditorium. Most shows are free or lesser charge for MUW students. The sororities and fratenities also put on fashion and talent shows.

    Food and Dining

    MUW serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner everyday. There are meal plans available for both on and off campus students. There is also the campus restaurant called the Goose that serves delicious cheeseburgers, chicken tenders, fries, etc.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. However everyone does not like living in dorms. If this is the case, you can always find affordable apartments all around the city of Columbus, MS. Many are within walking distance of the college.

    Academic Rigor

    MUW has a reputation for being tough. Therefore if you are looking for an accredited school to challenge you, then MUW is definitely the best choice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in an organization. There are many social clubs, sororities, and fraternities that students can become a part of. Try out for intramural sports in the spring and summer. Get to know your advisers and teachers outside the classroom. Let them know that you want to do your best. If you ever need them, they will be there for you.

    In three sentences

    MUW is a great school for anyone who likes small, personal, classes. Mississippi University for Women offers private education at public school cost. MUW provides an easy transition for new students coming from high schools or junior colleges.

  • 12/14/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great if you like a more personalized college experience. Small campus with tons of stuff to do.

    Will enjoy being here

    Visited the campus and loved it!

    Will learn a lot

    Here you really get to know you're professors. You're more than just a number.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    We only have three national fraternities and three sororities, but they are all great!

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a multitude of clubs and activities for you to get involved in. Anything you can think of!

    Great for these types of students

    EVERYONE!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have social clubs that are unique to our campus, which provide so many unusual traditions that I can't even list them all. We sing class songs in the caf, have a serenade where the freshman sing to the upper classmen, and much more! Unusual locations include Old Maid's Gate. If you walk through it forwards, you will never get married and you must kiss the kissing rock to break that curse. Also, our ginko tree: if you are sitting under it and a leaf falls on your head, and at the same time, a man at Mississippi State sits under there ginko tree and a leaf falls on his head, you are destined to wed. :)

    Bang for the buck

    The W has a private school education at a public school cost. It is much cheaper than many of the schools I looked at when applying for college, but you learn so much here, and you get tons of great opportunities when you get involved. I went to Scotland TWICE, met a famous author (Ian Rankin), met tons of authors actually (Welty Symposium), saw a ton of plays, presented original research, was asked to present said research at a conference, and went to Tampa, Florida for an honors conference!!

    What to do for fun

    Columbus isn't really a college town, so there isn't a multitude of things for students to do. But there are social clubs, sororities, fraternities, and intramural sports for you to get involved in. You'll always have a friend to call and hang out with.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is the only drawback to living on campus. It's not the best. BUT NOT ALWAYS! They do offer good food, and there is always a ton of choices. Also, the Goose (the restaurant-type food place on campus) is pretty good. So if you ever get tired of caf food, head to the Goose.

    Dorm Life

    I am so glad that I lived in the dorm at the W. I met a lot of great people! I made friends for life because of the dorm community.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at the W are challenging, engaging, and worthwhile. Pay attention in class, and you will do well. Don't be afraid to ask for help, because it is there for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    GO HERE! This school is amazing. I have met some of my best friends there, and they weren't just students. The teachers at the W are amazing; get to know them! Get involved; the W has unique-to-our-campus social clubs and organizations. Don't stay in your room all the time; the campus is beautiful. In a few short words: GO TO THE W! :)

    In three sentences

    The W is known for it's small size, historic campus, caring teachers, and great academic programs. I chose to go there because of its small classrooms, many awards, and the multiple wonderful teachers I met before I made my decision. On the W's campus you never meet a stranger, and you will learn more than just information from books: you will learn about who you are.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Mess with one of us and you mess with all of us.

    Greek Life

    Lots of Frats and Sorors.

    Clubs and Activities

    Amazing selection of clubs or if your up to it, you can start your own club!

    Great for these types of students

    Its great for anyone. You will learn to open up for different opportunities. You will be a social butterfly by graduation.

    Bang for the buck

    It cant be very rewarding.

    What to do for fun

    There's always something going on at MUW. Many clubs to join and events to help out even volunteer.

    Food and Dining

    Great food and drinks. Incredible selection.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the best times happen in the dormitories. Movie nights, rockband battles even just dance and Glee!

    Academic Rigor

    Study, STudy, STUDY!! lol

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to be yourself, your peers will definitely respect you. Get involved but stay vigilant in all of your classes. Just enjoy life as a DUB.

    In three sentences

    Its a school that has everything your looking for. Great, inviting atmosphere and very social. The education that you receive is all apart of the experience here at MUW

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The recreation center.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a full time student and are a commuter, they will now be charging $100 for a meal plan whether you want one or not.

    In three sentences

    MUW is a ver small school. Classroom size is pretty small, which is nice because you are able to get more help from the professor. Beautiful campus.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It seems safe just like home

    Greek Life

    great experience

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs but not many activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that come from a small or medium size community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are several shopping centers around the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is great for the level of education.

    What to do for fun

    volleyball softball

    Food and Dining

    Great, we also just got a new subway built...delicious

    Dorm Life

    Looks good, but I have never stayed in one, so cant really say.

    Academic Rigor

    It is great

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay involved

    In three sentences

    I would give it a 10. The staff are very friendly and make you feel wanted and appreciated.

  • 02/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police do rounds almost all the time, and there are emergency phones all over campus.

    Greek Life

    Plenty of greek organizations.

    Clubs and Activities

    They claim to have over 65, but only 10 or 20 of those are promoted or easy to know about. They lack some important ones, such as a MUN.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who love women, haha.

    Bang for the buck

    Higher than other universities around the state.

    What to do for fun

    The Stark Recreation center is always a good choice. They have video game rentals, sports, machines, tv's, and such. The night life in town is not too wild, but there is a fair amount of bars.

    Food and Dining

    They have a big variety of food, that's for certain, and the cafeteria tries their best to spice it up from time to time. That being said, the quality sometimes drops.

    Dorm Life

    A lot of people keep top themselves, but the CA's do try to prepare bonding activities within dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It will fairly easy for those who have been challenged before, but you do need to manage your time pretty well of you take all the hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    Reach out, join groups, visit teachers. Make it your time to shine, since the size of the university facilitates it.

    In three sentences

    It's a great option for those who look for a private feeling and quality classes at affordable costs, specially compared to the other big universities around the state.

  • 07/25/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for a small school with small classes then this is the school for you. This school is listed in my top five choices.

    Tips for prospective students

    I encourage you to go and visit. The buildings are historical landmarks and the staff is very kind and helpful.

    Bang for the buck

    The small classes are great. The Instructors get to know their students.

    Will enjoy being here

    MUW is located in the small town of Columbus. The town's people are so friendly. There are many clubs and organizations to join.

    Will learn a lot

    The Professor's are well respected in their field.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    awesome

    Greek Life

    some and social clubs

    Clubs and Activities

    social clubs, community service

    Great for these types of students

    women interested in women's studies, nonsports people

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mag Chain, Old Maid's Gate

    Bang for the buck

    CHEAPEST IN STATE!

    What to do for fun

    Get involved on campus and community service.

    Food and Dining

    okay!

    Dorm Life

    okay!

    Academic Rigor

    GREAT!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors! They are amazing!

    In three sentences

    I LOVE MUW! It's co-ed, but it's small and the professors really care! It is its own community!

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    All fun activities schedule throughout the day for students to attend.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you do not know for sure if this school is right for you, schedule a tour of the campus first.

    In three sentences

    On a scale from 1 to 10, I will rate Mississippi University for Women a 10. This school is all about education. There is help when ever you need it.

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe.

    Greek Life

    We have two fraternities and two sororities, but mainly people are in social clubs.

    Clubs and Activities

    Social clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The ghost of Callaway.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Social clubs, and inter mural sports.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria sucks, but we have a subway on campus we can use our meal plan there.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are small for the most part, but I'm hardly in there because I'm so busy.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are very challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Rain boots are needed.

    In three sentences

    MUW is challenging. It is a very small, yet still fun, college to attend. I enjoy my time at the W.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sororities, social clubs and student organizations are a great way to meet new friends and begin professional relationships.

    Food and Dining

    With a newly added Subway restaurant, the dining on campus has become more appealing. The cafeteria has a great buffet style arrangement with various cuisines to offer as well.

    Dorm Life

    Although I've never lived in a dorm, most dorms on the campus of MUW are beautiful both inside and out.

    Academic Rigor

    MUW has great course requirements that ensure you are ready for the professional field after graduation.

    Tips for prospective students

    In order to be a successful student at any college, you must be organized and determined to do your best. Ensure that all financial aid, transcripts and registration information is completed in advanced time.

    In three sentences

    Mississippi University for Women has a great campus, with everything close together and no confusing traffic. I love the course requirements for my department, and the administration is helpful and always available.

  • 08/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The greek life is great! They members are very nice.

    Great for these types of students

    International

    What to do for fun

    Organizations hold different events throughout the school year so that students can have fun. They are also different places around the city that students can go to enjoy themselves.

    Food and Dining

    It has one of the best culinary programs in the state, so the food is expected to be great!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking a school who care more about the students than the popularity of the school, this is the school for you.

    In three sentences

    I've been in college since 2005 when I graduated from high school & applying for this college was one of the best decisions I ever made. The faculty & staff are very helping & extremely professional. They are highly accredited

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although some can get uneasy given some areas in Columbus, MS, security on campus and outside of campus is wonderful. The entire campus is gated, and all gates close at 7pm aside from the front gate. We have actual Columbus police on duty 24-hours at the front gate and patrolling inside and outside of campus. They ensure our safety and are always very sweet.

    Great for these types of students

    Those interested in nursing, culinary, music therapy, kinesiology, education, and theater will definitely benefit most from this university.

    Bang for the buck

    This university is one of the cheapest in comparison to others. -On campus: roughly $6,000 per semester. Whereas Mississippi State University (25 minutes away) charges -On campus: roughly $7,600 per semester. And The University of Mississippi (Ole Miss) charges -On campus: roughly $8,000 per semester.

    What to do for fun

    As I said earlier, there are numerous clubs to get involved in. These clubs are always hosting events such as late night breakfasts, movie nights, and other social events. The university will sometimes pay to bring in local bands or comedians for free shows for students. Also, the W has social clubs, sororities, and fraternities. Although there aren't any sports teams, intramural sports is always fun to get involved in. There is always a sports event going on. They host mud volleyball tournaments, softball tournaments, racquetball tournaments, dodgeball tournaments, even tournaments in pool, xbox, and kickball.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the dining hall is delicious. Fried chicken Tuesday is the best. There is also a Subway on campus and Parkinson To-Go where the culinary students make fresh sandwiches and wraps daily.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small and cramped as a freshman student, but that's typically anywhere you go. However, the social club dorms and honors dorms are much more spacious. There are no community showers. In most dorms it is 4 to a bathroom. Because the campus is fairly small, everything is in walking distance.

    Academic Rigor

    As far as academics go, Mississippi University for Women is challenging. Professors push you to do your best, therefore; students who graduate from this university typically find a job fairly easily. However, although the material requires studying and a little extra work, professors are always willing to take extra time to work with their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Bring rain boots; when it rains, it pours. -Get involved. We have Wesley, BSU, Intramural, SGA, Social Clubs and tons of other clubs and things to do. The best way to succeed is taking advantage of the sense of community and meeting people. -This university isn't just for women. Many men attend this university and are obviously not women. With one of the best nursing programs in the Southeast, one of the only culinary programs in Mississippi, and one of the best programs for students majoring in the arts, they just couldn't pass up the wonderful opportunity. -Apply for scholarships. The W is very generous with their scholarship funds.

    In three sentences

    Full of history and beauty, Mississippi University for Women is a wonderful university to attend. Here, students are able to experience a sense of community and be a name rather than just a number. The price is very reasonable, and they have wonderful programs in culinary arts, nursing, education, theater, music therapy, kinesiology and many more.