Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Mississippi Valley State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the gym to play basketball. Hang out with friends and meet different peoples.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is kind of good but not that bad. I can get use to eating the cafeteria food when I don't have nothing in my room to eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is good if you like being on your own. The dorm will teach you how to survive without the help of your parents. The dorm life is a great experience for any student.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is great. We have the highest rate in graduation every year. Students attend class to keep their academic on track.

    Tips for prospective students

    I encourage all students to attend MVSU.

    In three sentences

    Mississippi Valley State is a great institution. I love being on this campus. I love the faculty and staff on this campus.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police will make sure they are there in the time of need.

    Clubs and Activities

    They are great to be apart of and you will get to travel depending on which ones you become apart of.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who come to work hard and still desire fun but can balance to two will be great for this environment.

    What to do for fun

    I participate in different clubs and organizations and attend conferences to keep me upbeat and focus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good most of the time.

    Dorm Life

    The residents hall are great living environments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go the college with your mind focus and ready to learn

    In three sentences

    Mississippi Valley State University has a valuable education quality. They are willing to help get you what you need to make it through and earn your degree. They are the right choice for wanting to further your education at a place where you can receive the one on one help that you may need.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There were a lot of student envents on the yard.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life was good. Bathrooms were clean and people were friendly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions when you dont know something and take advantage of tutorial

    In three sentences

    Mississippi Valley State is a great school. My first year everyone one was very helpful and supprtive. I had an awesome first year experience.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Parties Game room Going to games Hanging with friends

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty decent. 3 meals a day.

    Dorm Life

    My roommate is pretty cool. We're always having fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Average as any other D1 school.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice is to make sure you take care of your financial aid and get your classes properly registered.

    In three sentences

    Valley overall is a pretty decent school. There is a lot of friendly people here. Most of the time you'll always have something to do, depending on if your in any clubs or sports.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The one I do not like is the campus safety. People have been robbed, raped, and everything else. I do not feel safe here.

    Greek Life

    I am not a part of any greek organization.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities are pretty good.

    Great for these types of students

    People around the area.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Learning about the school history, shutting everything down during convocations, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    In my opinion, if I had known the school was this aweful, I would have chosen a different school with a safer environment.

    What to do for fun

    I hang out with friends sometimes, but I am by myself most of the time. I watch movies, listen to music, help others, or write poetry.

    Food and Dining

    The food is horrible here. MVSU only have two places where a person can eat: Checkers and the cafeteria. Students mostly choose Checkers. This school needs more varieties.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is also ok, but it could be better. Most of the people in the dorms are very loud, rude, and nonchalant about residents that stay in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is not so bad. One should have his or her priorities in order, and it should not be difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please make sure to do research before coming to this school. Check for other promising universities before making a final decision.

    In three sentences

    MVSU is an okay school, but it needs improvement. The atmosphere is not welcoming or friendly. People, including faculty/staff, have vile attitudes.

  • 06/24/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Always try to find a school that you will enjoy being at and think that is a very good learning environment.

  • 06/24/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students should always try their best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always try to find a school that you will enjoy being at and think that is a very good learning environment.

  • 05/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is great for students you like the small town environment and a school that is not to big and where everybody knows everybody

    Tips for prospective students

    When you get accepted into the university make sure you get to know all of your professors because it will benefit you a lot.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to campus games, concerts,and other university funded events.

    Academic Rigor

    getting to class on time. 10

    Tips for prospective students

    go to class everyday.

    In three sentences

    mississippi valley state is a very vibrant school. the instructors are always willing to helpthe students. the campus is growing and easy to learn.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has a fully police department.

    Greek Life

    Alpha Kappa Alpha, Alpha Phi Alpha, Phi Beta Sigma, Zeta Phi Beta, Kappa Alpha Psi, Omega Phi Psi, Delta Sigma Theta, and Iota Phi Theta.

    Great for these types of students

    The Africans, Canadians, Mexicans, and Europeans.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Greek trees are the place to be and there's always someone BBQ and enjoying themselves with other friends.

    Bang for the buck

    The school's tuition is only $2700 and if you love to fish, hunt and the country this is the place to be.

    What to do for fun

    The school has softball, basketball, bowling, and game room.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great on Wednesday and Friday. The soul food is on Wednesday with fried chicken, bake chicken, greens, yams, corn bread, mac & cheese. Friday lunch includes fried catfish, baked fish, and green beans.

    Dorm Life

    The girls to boy ratio is 7 to 1. With only four boys dorms and three girls dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Top majors are social worker, criminal justice, early childhood education, music, computer science, mathematics, and mass communication.

    Tips for prospective students

    Must be prepared for the heat, good catfish, and the love of blues music. This campus has a huge influx of these qualities.

    In three sentences

    I love it here at the VALLEY the professors are very helpful and the people from this area are very kind. The campus is filled with great outdoors from the trees to the grass that always smell like spring is here.

  • 12/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Chilling at the Union.

    Food and Dining

    Well its not like grandma cooking but it will do. Pizza is very good.

    Dorm Life

    I stay in Magnolia Hall to me i feel that's the best dorm on campus they have plenty more nice dorm to view also.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come ready and not slacking.

    In three sentences

    Well I am freshman currently enroll at Mississippi Valley State University. My major is Accounting and I really enjoy my school. My first year here have been a really great year.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Dont be afraid to walk anywhere, their are campus lights everywhere. Make sure you have an extra flashlight though in case its an emergency. The police are strict who comes in and out of the university and if you have any concerns or questions, they will be sure to help you.

    Greek Life

    All fun and games but it is a time to be serious.

    Clubs and Activities

    Fraternities Parties on campus Social networking with friends.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students from all over the world.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are also fraternities you can sign into.

    Bang for the buck

    Just overall, MVSU is not a bad school at all, it is just how you make of it.

    What to do for fun

    Besides all the work, there are parties that student can attend too. Fun activities on campus like for example; three legged race, potatoe sack run, food contests and much more. On weekends, certain celebrities come to our campus to make our school more fun and interesting.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is awesome. There are different varieties of food and drinks you can choose from. It is also bar full of different fruits and salads if you want to stay on the diet side.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is awesome You have friendly people all around the world at MVSU. Dont hesitate to make friends, its easy.

    Academic Rigor

    For all students, do not hesitate to ask for help if you need it. There are all kinds of people that attend MVSU if you have questions. Make sure to apply yourself wisely.

    In three sentences

    Mississippi Valley State University is a diversity school. MVSU is improving and I am learning new things everyday. As a student, I have tutors to help me on different work studies if i need help.

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I'm glad I chose this school. I love it here. It feels like a family here.

  • 12/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police around are very strict.

    What to do for fun

    Go out on the yard, Chill and find new people to kick it with.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good.

    Dorm Life

    It's alright. Depending on what dorm your in.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers don't play!

    In three sentences

    This school is very cool. The people are nice and so are the teachers. They help you whenever its needed. You just have to show them you actually care about school.

  • 04/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    police don't do much

    Greek Life

    That's all that this institution is based off of

    Clubs and Activities

    none really

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do besides chill in the game room

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay. It could be better

    Dorm Life

    Not all that good

    Academic Rigor

    You must remain focused and not get distracted

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention Prioritize Study

    In three sentences

    MVSU is a good school to attend, but you must be mentally ready to attend here. Most know it as a party school. It somewhat is, but you have to know how to put academics first.