Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Missouri Baptist University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/11/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    yes i will enjoy being here at Missouri Baptist University

    Will learn a lot

    yes i think i will learn alot

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is superb at my school. They are always on there job to keep the campus and the college students safe. They're around all night and day. Their office is even located on the campus, so you can go to them with any concerns or worries in matters of a second. Their awesome.

    Greek Life

    There isn't any sororities or fraternities at my school.

    Bang for the buck

    Missouri Baptist University is definitely worth spending your money on because the school go all out. You can workout any time you want to, eat anytime you want to, study where ever you want to, they offer great tutors, they have great events, and more. The college life at Missouri Baptist is one thing you will not regret spending your money on.

    What to do for fun

    Just for kicks, there are tons to do around campus. You can go to the perk to socialize and have coffee, or any drink you want, and you can eat there. Another thing you can do is go to Reverb and discuss about God or go to Prep U and talk about college life and the campus. There are several things to do. My school offer intramural sports, so those are available.

    Food and Dining

    I knew that going to college students, and myself, already knew that college food would not be like mom's cooking back home,yet Missouri Baptist's food and dining is so delicious. They have such a big variety of food that I cannot choose what I want to eat for the day. The cooks are super generous and are understanding, so they try their best to make us college students feel right at home.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are outstanding. You can recommend who you want to room with, but there is a fifty percent chance you will or will not end up with the person you requested, and that's where the fun begins. The dorms are set up so amazingly because it gives you a chance to meet someone your are most-likely not used to or would not talk to.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at my school is good. The professors are on top of their jobs every single day. The academic system is set up so every student could succeed, so all the students have to do is just learn and retain the knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students are to be open minded and social. Just because it's a baptist Christian school does not mean you will not enjoy it. They have countless of events going on every week that involves meeting new outgoing people and just welcoming you to a baptist college. The school is very live and you can learn about God at the same time.

    In three sentences

    On a scale from one through ten, Missouri Baptist University would absolutely be a ten. The school is just excellent,from sports to academics. The professors are actually kind and make time for you; that would be very rare at a larger school.

  • 10/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus cops are on campus 24/7 monitor the safety of the students

    What to do for fun

    Play games in the lobby Sing in chapel Play volleyball with friends Join small groups to learn more about God

    Food and Dining

    All you can eat buffet with a meal plan, just remember to exercise even if you're a none athlete, freshman 15 is true and real.

    Dorm Life

    It's fantastic i would recommend living on campus because you get evolve in alot of projects, plays, spiritual worship and chapel. Staying in dorm are fun, we have an RA that always there when you need her for personal, emotional, physical needs.

    Academic Rigor

    Mobap Isn't too big on academic, 90% of the school is sport's However they do take academic very serious on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yoursef because college can change you Remember to do your homework and study for test, if you don't that can affect your sport scholarship Wear anything you like, but just maki sure it's appropriate Open up and make new friends

  • 03/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    mattress sledding in the winter is awesome!!!!

    What to do for fun

    you can chill outside in the quad or go sit by the fire in the perk (coffee shop)! there are also many trips planned throughout the year to get out of st. louis and see some awesome places!

    Tips for prospective students

    mobap has scholarships for everyone. just speak with an adviser and see what scholarships you are eligible for! it's amazing how generous mobap can be!

    In three sentences

    this university is awesome! it is growing rapidly with the addition of a new fitness center/gym and on-campus apartments (soon to be new dorms too!). this makes campus life fun and exciting!

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and organizations that would interest you.

    Bang for the buck

    The quality for the price is very equal. You are paying a top dollar for this education and you will recieve top dollar teachers as well!

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do for fun on or off of campus. There are organizations that are asking involvement in, and there are plenty of sports activities to either attend or play yourself. You will never be board in St. Louis! The night-life is so fun!

    Food and Dining

    The food options are great, and if your still not satisfied, there is plenty to eat nearby.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great and the dorms are so comfortable. It almost feels like home!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very challenging but the teachers are wonderfully. They work with you if you are having troubles or difficulties.

    Tips for prospective students

    I definitely would recommend going here if you have a full-time job. It has great class hours and the staff is exceptional!

    In three sentences

    I love it! The staff and students are amazing! It works with my crazy schedule, too!

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security regularly patrols the grounds and four parking lots. Also, walkways are well lit. Since the school is smaller, it is likely that one will know or recognize most other students in passing.

    Greek Life

    Missouri Baptist University does not have a Greek community.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school is working on creating more clubs. Those already in existence cater mainly to academia, such as the science and math clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    This university is the perfect place for friendly, outgoing individuals that want to make the most of the college experience. It is also a great place to grow within the Christian faith, with weekly chapel sessions.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Perk: The Event is an annual celebration named for its original location in the campus coffee house. Since the school's growth, the event has been moved to the gymnasium. Those who attend the event are treated with giveaways, entertainment, food, and fellowship.

    Bang for the buck

    College is expensive. But at Missouri Baptist University, there are many opportunities to receive scholarships and financial aid. Additionally, you will be pleased with the education you will receive for the cost.

    What to do for fun

    The quad is always alive with activity: Frisbee, catch, music, barbecue, etc. Aside from that, Missouri Baptist offers talent shows, ice cream socials, trips, plays, intramural sports, and more!

    Food and Dining

    There is a decent selection of food to please almost anyone-unless you're vegan!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are the perfect place to make friends and to stay focused on schoolwork. There is always someone to help you with homework or to vent your frustrations to.

    Academic Rigor

    The science department is full of driven individuals, and the professors are passionate about their work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep close contact with your professors-they will be your best resource! Take the time to get to know your peers. Be proactive about your work and goals.

    In three sentences

    Missouri Baptist University is diverse, yet intimate. The professors are highly accessible and friendly. The location is an ideal compromise between the city and the suburbs.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    MBU is great for all students, but for a lot of students who can't live on campus and choose to drive to classes.

    Bang for the buck

    MBU is very affordable, and provides great payment options. I feel as though my cost is way less compared to other students I know. The cost is always a deciding factor, and I feel as though I would have paid more for the education and experience I have received thus far.

    Academic Rigor

    MBU is a university that I would consider to be challenging, which the reward is finishing your degree and gaining so much knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    MBU has required religion classes, which may be intimidating at first, but you not only learn more about the Bible, but yourself as well. Another piece of advice would be to really keep an open mind in regards to classes, because you never know if it will change your direction or make you more secure in your choices.

    In three sentences

    MBU offers several campuses to the area, which is beneficial to those who live at home. MBU also has great educators who are all very knowledgeable about their teachings. I would recommend MBU to anyone who is interested in attending a college, to not only educate themselves, but explore more about their self as well.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus Safety is really good here. Security out everyday roaming the campus and there are help buttons around campus you can push if there is an emergency or if you feel in safe. Over all the campus safety and security is pretty good.

    What to do for fun

    On campus there are a lot of activities that go on, and athletic events throughout the week. There are also clubs to join and since this college is in the city there are things to find to do. But if you don't like the city, like me, there isn't much to do.

    Food and Dining

    Not going to lie the food isn't the best here, but cafe food at any college isn't anything like home cooked meals.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice here, some students only have to room with 1 other person, while others have 2 other roommates. If you live far from campus I would advise to live in the dorms, it makes things easier. Also living in dorms gives you a better college experience and you meet new people and friends.

    Academic Rigor

    This college is challenging, especially for students who do not put effort forth in doing their work. Of-course you have to study a lot and there is quit a bit of homework. But if you keep up with assignments and studying you will do just fine!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would give advice to those looking at this college to be an athlete. It makes your college experience a lot more exciting. Also if you like the city, but like a smaller school, this is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    This is my second semester at Missouri Baptist University and I am actually transferring next fall to a different college. I thought this college was fit for me, but unfortunately it is not. Don't get me wrong the classes, professors, and campus is great here, but this school just isn't for me.

  • 03/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has never been a time when I have felt unsafe on campus. There are constantly professionals on foot patrol as well as car patrol. As far as I know, this campus is safe and secure.

    Bang for the buck

    I really couldn't ask for much better in this area. The education I've been given this far is worth every penny I've spent.

    What to do for fun

    I like to gather with classmates in the lounge areas and talk about assignments and go over class projects. The cafe is also a great place to meet peers and spend time studying while sipping coffee and enjoying a fresh treat.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is great and offers a lot of food choices. There are vending machines that offer healthy options and a coffee cafe in the center of campus that has proven to be a lifesaver!

    Dorm Life

    This is something I haven't personally experienced so it's hard for me to make this type of determination.

    Academic Rigor

    The programs are difficult, but I feel the reason for this is to test the students and shape them into the professionals they wish to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you apply for financial aid in a timely manner and accept all of your rewards by the required times. Sign up for classes as soon as possible for the next semester; most classes are popular and fill up fast! Bring your computer to class if you can, the information in which you are provided will need to be noted as often as possible.

    In three sentences

    Missouri Baptist provides a safe and enjoyable learning environment for it's students. Professors are not only knowledgeable, but also interactive in helping their students learn. This is a great college to build lasting relationships!

  • 09/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always the city (saint louis) for fun but other than that, not much to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good and a wide variety. The sandwiches taste just as good as subway.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is good in the aspect that the dorms are very big but they are also super strict.

    Academic Rigor

    Very high for academics. The teachers can help you with whatever you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research before you pick a school and make sure this school has your degree. Also make sure this is the right size for you.

    In three sentences

    This is a very good school for student athletes. Campus size is small and good amount is commuter students. Overall, a very neat, small school.

  • 10/15/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very good cant say anything about that then there very good.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    amp

    Great for these types of students

    criminal justice majors and exercise science majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition sucks especially since it just went up but otherwise the school can be better.

    What to do for fun

    I go out with my friends to the zoo, ball park, mall and dinner

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay but they could have healthier food since most of the students here are athlete's.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms life is good everyone knows everyone but gets kinda loud

    Academic Rigor

    Good but they can have more to offer

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy a warm jacket for the Winter and get ready to go to a lot of games, everyone is really nice.

    In three sentences

    MBU is a small campus. But it has a lot to offer to students meaning small classes more attention from professors. Everyone is very friendly.

  • 01/25/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I felt perfectly safe on campus. You have to swipe a key to get into the dorms. But I didn't see any cops patrolling...and for St. Louis being such a dangerous city, I did find that odd. However, the location its in seems like a good location and away from the city.

    Greek Life

    None that I'm aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Didn't seem like there was much going on. There are mission trips if you're into it, though!

    Great for these types of students

    Who enjoy going to chapel and are Baptist or raised in a music-loving way, who maybe are B students but still want to get a better education than community college, who don't care too much for the social scene on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't think there is a curfew for campus, and the opposite sex are allowed in your bedroom with limitations.

    Bang for the buck

    MOBAP gives a good amount of financial aid. If you made a 27 on your ACT, or close to it, you can get $11,000 off your tuition. There are great ways to get aid, and if you happen to live out of state that's an extra $2,000 off a year. Christian Studies minor will get you $1,500 off tuition, and if you are Baptist you can get an additional $1,000...all of these just in scholarships!!! That is already over half of everything you would have to pay for eliminated. There are also church matching grants and if you can live off campus that will save you a bundle because its around $8,000 for the dorms per year. I highly recommend looking into departmental scholarships, and everything else. I think if you are majoring in the education or social science departments, it is a great buy overall--not expensive compared to most Baptist schools.

    What to do for fun

    St Louis is a great town--travel just a little into the city and there are endless possibilities. Doesn't seem like MOBAP has a big community going on, but you can guarantee the city does.

    Food and Dining

    I cannot accurately rate this seeing as I did not eat on campus!

    Dorm Life

    Honestly, these are the biggest dorms I've ever seen. The freshman dorms are suite-style and the bathrooms are as big as what a small dorm at a competitive school would resemble. There are also a little bit more expensive and newly built freshman dorms that are a mix between the apartments and the dorms. Highly worth it!

    Academic Rigor

    It is a second rate school academically. Especially when compared to other local schools such as SLU and Washington University. However, the education and social science departments seem to have it together. For the money you'd be paying, I believe you get a fairly good academic shot. They do have research opportunities and internships that can land you a good shot at a job or entrance to graduate school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus...it's very important. MOBAP isn't for everyone. The campus is really small, and they do have quite a bit of racial diversity. A lot of guys just come there on athletic scholarships and are not Christians when they get there. I didn't feel very welcomed by the student body when I was there like I have at other Christian universities I've visited. The people seemed to be the only downside--that and the hilly campus.

    In three sentences

    The education and social sciences departments are excellent. The chapels are contemporary. The dorms are very spacious.