Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Missouri Southern State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/27/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 out of 14 people found this review useful. 1 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who focus on academics. There really isn't alot of partying on campus because it is dry. Students who are used to small class sizes and a small town feel will feel at home here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit with the teachers and department heads. They will be more than happy to meet with you, and usually have great information and advice.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a small town university - few students, dry campus, small town values. I feel that I am getting a great education in a great atmosphere.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is beautiful. I have made lots of friends with similar interests; there is really something for everyone. The international focus is great with lots of activities.

    Am learning a lot

    My professors are all very respected in their fields and know what they are talking about. When I don't understand something, they take the time to explain it one on one.

  • 01/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 2 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    MSSU is great for students in the surrounding area — it's located in Joplin, MO — or those in Missouri without a lot of cash. One could even start at MSSU to get some general education classes done for a lower price before moving on to a different university if a community college is unappealing.

    Tips for prospective students

    MSSU isn't exactly tough, but it's best not to slack off either. Go to class, study however much you need to and you'll be fine.

    Bang for the buck

    MSSU is definitely a bargain compared to others in the state. Some classes are not amazing, but for the real academics one can be pretty confident in landing a competent teacher.

    Am enjoying being here

    I can't say MSSU was my first choice and I am planning on transferring. However, it has been nice staying home for an extra year. So far, my teachers have been pleasant and willing to help and the overall atmosphere is comfortable.

    Am learning a lot

    Being a freshman, some of my classes so far have been common sense type classes (e.g. Oral Communication and the freshman orientation class), but classes that had some real substance (e.g. Sociology, Newswriting, American Literature) were great classes and I did feel like I was learning.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not much crime goes on, on campus. The crime log in the newspaper usually includes fire alarms going off due to burnt popcorn.

    Greek Life

    I think there are only like 2 sororities on campus, and maybe 3 fraternities. No Greek houses that I know of. Again, this is not a party school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities constantly doing things on campus, but I'm not involved with any of them yet, therefore I'm not qualified to voice an opinion.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't wanna (or can't afford to) pay outrageous amounts, who are looking for a small, not-so-diverse university this is a place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The mascot is a lion named Roary.

    Bang for the buck

    You almost get a university experience with a community college price. Although, you're still getting the quality of the price you pay. The school lacks on technology - most class rooms still have black boards, but the rec center is really nice - all new fitness equipment.

    What to do for fun

    (This is not a party school; It's a dry campus). About once a week or so, CAB (Campus Activities Board) tries makes fun things to do: slip-N-Slides, zip lining, bingo, toga parties.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is garbage. Fries, burgers, and turkey sandwiches served daily. Your only other choice of on campus dining is the Lion's Den.. which is OK. They have Pizza Hut, and chicken tenders.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms pretty much suck. They're all outdated. If you don't want to feel imprisoned, your best bet is to pay the extra money and live in a suite. The only downside to a suite is you have to walk sorta far to do laundry, but the laundry is FREE.

    Academic Rigor

    For my first semester in college, only one of my four classes was challenging. The rest were a breeze.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're from a big city, Joplin might seem like the boring-est place on Earth; if you're from a small town, it might seem not-so-bad.

    In three sentences

    Education for a good price. The instructors seem knowledgeable and they're nice. There's always something to do on campus.

  • 05/09/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those that want a smaller college community but also want the diversity of an internationally associated university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a head start on everything. The sooner you get something done the more likely that it will go the way you want it to. Especially with dorms.

    Bang for the buck

    Much cheaper than any other 4 year college in the 4 states.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is a mid size campus. Perfect transition for those from smaller schools or those that just want that kind of community.

    Will learn a lot

    The professors are passionate about their subjects and want to impart that passion to their students. It is contagious.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional students are more than welcome here, and it's nice to have them around.

    Tips for prospective students

    From the classes I took my first semester, this is what I've learned: Online classes are what you make of them. If you don't want to take the time to learn the material and communicate with your instructors, then you're probably wasting your time. All of the teachers, in class and online, are really good about communicating with you IF you make the effort. College can be really enjoyable.

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    by far the safest campus in missouri. we have our own police force on campus!

    Greek Life

    we have three fraternities here on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are to many clubs to even list. i am currently in two on my campus. koinania and psych club.

    Great for these types of students

    this university is great for all kinds of people. mssu stresses about the importance of being a global citizen. that's probably why there is a lot of international students here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    one of the unusual traditions that is celebrated every year would be building castles out of cardboard. literally life size castles. when i first seen this i was a little puzzled on how this became a tradition.

    Bang for the buck

    this school when it comes to tuition is best. mssu has the lowest tuition rate compared to other 4-year universities. there is also a new book rental store where you can rent your books for ten dollars pure credit hour. for example: if there is a book that cost $120 dollars to buy you can rent it for $30 dollars. how cool is that!

    What to do for fun

    there seems to many things to do on campus. there is a movie theater on campus that shows movies every wednesday and friday night. there is laser tag on the oval once every three months or so and so much more.

    Food and Dining

    the food court just upgraded in 2012 by putting in a pizza hut express. overall the food is a little pricey.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life at mssu is amazing when it comes to space and maintenance.

    Academic Rigor

    mssu takes into consideration the importance of being a critical thinker and a global citizen.

    Tips for prospective students

    be sure to get your application in on time. mssu are very picky when it comes to deadlines.

    In three sentences

    this college is great when it comes to benefits for students. every professor is always willing to help. on campus housing is one of the best in missouri.

  • 05/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    I love this school.... close to home, cheap, and I'm surrounded by friends, both new and old! Professors are generally excellent (especially the Biology Department!!) There are excellent opportunities for campus activities, scholarships, and such! If you're short on cash and want to have a cozy, close-to-home college experience, this is the place to be! :D

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is great! Always willing to help.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of Clubs to choose from..just pick.

    What to do for fun

    Join Clubs and Organizations

    Food and Dining

    Great Food!

    Dorm Life

    Fun dorms activities for those who choose to live in the dorm and you'll never feel lonely.

    Academic Rigor

    Live up to it's expectation, the professors are brilliant!

    Tips for prospective students

    There are plenty of help all around campus, just ASK!

    In three sentences

    Missouri Southern is family oriented. I feel comfortable to go ask any staff or employee for assistance. The professors help student to succeed to the best of their abilities.

  • 12/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our own small police department on campus. Every year they reach out in several ways to teach students how to respond in emergency situations. Furthermore, the JPD is approximately 10 minutes away from campus. I've never seen JPD or state troopers on campus, but I've seen both drive by periodically checking the area. There has never been a violent crime committed on Missouri Southern's campus.

    Greek Life

    Greeks do not have their own housing on campus, but no one seems to mind. I've never heard of any outrageous hazing. The Greeks are typically great role models in the Missouri Southern community, and they also become small families within themselves. Not everyone joins, I myself chose to abstain. But everyone who does join falls in love with in.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is most likely at least one club for anyone on campus, if not more. These are always great for gaining experience, finding volunteer work, building your resume, networking, or just socializing with people with similar interests.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Because Missouri Southern has an international mission, every Fall is themed based on a different country. During these themed semesters there are several events for students to attend and learn about that particular country. Guest speakers are invited to give presentations on movies, comics, government, music, food, etc. Themed movie nights and concerts are held. And there is usually at least one huge themed dinner during the semester.

    Bang for the buck

    Missouri Southern is the most affordable university in the area. The only cheaper place in the area to receive a college education is a local community college, where many students feel that their education is not as high-quality as Missouri Southern's.

    What to do for fun

    The Campus Activities Board hosts many, many activities during the semester - from movie nights to concerts. However, if you're looking for more, there is plenty to chose from. We have about thirty campus organizations students can join. The movie theater and the mall are both within walking distance. And if you have transportation, there are also other places to go in Joplin, such as museums, skating rinks, and bowling alleys.

    Food and Dining

    Many students, particularly dorm students, are less than satisfied with the food available in the dining hall. However, across campus the Lion's Den has a variety of choices, from healthy items to a Pizza Hut Express. We also have a wonderful little Starbucks on the 1st floor of the library.

    Dorm Life

    Currently, dorm life is a bit mediocre. But the entire administration is working towards improvements. The next big additions will be an entirely new apartment complex and a FEMA building for protection of the students in case of a tornado. There will be a small convenience store inside the building, and it will be used to host various activities. Students who live in the dorms often attend the numerous on-campus events or enjoy socializing at the sand-volleyball courts recently renovated by Student Senate.

    Academic Rigor

    The class sizes here are relatively small compared to many universities. It makes it easier to form relationships with professors and fellow students, making the material easier to learn if you put in a moderate amount of effort. Some might think that we must not learn as much if the material is not as difficult to learn, but I have heard many doctors say that when they went to medical school they were grateful that they chose Missouri Southern; they were competitive because they were well-prepared.

    Tips for prospective students

    The professors here are great - but every professor is different. Not only should you ask the professors tests about their classes, but you should also ask people who have previously taken their classes before each semester starts if you can. They often have the most insight as to the best resources for studying, testing strategies, and possible surprises that could come up throughout the semester.

    In three sentences

    Missouri Southern is a quality education at a fair price. The faculty are personally invested in the students' education and success. If you're open to it, the people here will become like your family.

  • 06/16/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    MSSU would probably be good for students that don't have a lot of money, want small classes, and the small hometown feel.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't like the idea of staying, this would probably be a good choice to get your first year of college out of the way, especially for local students.

    Bang for the buck

    You can't beat small class sizes and teachers that care. It's also lower cost.

    Will enjoy being here

    Joplin's really not a great place for attractions and entertainment, especially with the tornadoes that just went through. It's got the Boomtown Days festival in June, and nearby Carthage has it's Maple Leaf Festival in October, both of which are awesome to attend. Tulsa, Springfield, Branson, and Kansas City are only a few hours away, though.

    Will learn a lot

    The teachers are very enthusiastic about teaching at a small school. There are less than twenty students in nearly all classes. I met a professor that teaches Russian, and was very impressed with her attitude toward teaching, coming to America, and life in Joplin.

  • 01/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe attending MSSU, and feel the campus police do a great job.

    Bang for the buck

    I would say for a personal experience, it is the most bang for the buck! MSSU offers exactly what I want, and is local.

    What to do for fun

    It seems there are many acivities to attend for entertainment. I being a sports fan, is interested in attending some sporting events, but they also offer a movie night, once a week, with a featured movie, many theatre shows, many clubs to join, and I have noticed many free luncheons!

    Food and Dining

    I have only ate at the school once, but the food was good, and a variety was offered, so everybody should be able to find something to satisfy, at an affordable price.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, but anybody I have talked to that does live in the dorms hasn't had any complaints.

    Academic Rigor

    MSSU has expectations, but they also emphasis that it is your choice to be a college student, and that you are paying to be a student, so their job is to help you have success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to go to college, no matter what age you are. Do not ever feel too stupid! The instructors are very kind, and their job is to help you be a successful student. Make sure to be attentive, and DO YOUR HOMEWORK!

    In three sentences

    As a non traditional student, MSSU made my first semester very easy to overcome my anxiety of starting school. The staff at MSSU has been excellent, so far. The UE classes I was advised to take, were extremely helpful, and I feel they helped me prepare for my future college years.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i know that in joplin, mo there are several things to do for fun. there is a shopping mall, as well as sports activities.

    Food and Dining

    i am a distant site student so i cannot rate this

    Dorm Life

    i can't rate this because i don't live in the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    stay on top of your teachers

    In three sentences

    this school has it's times of disorganization, but other than that, the employees are friendly.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is a woman's safety class offered, and i think it's free. i have only heard of one incident happening at southern that made me question the safety of the campus.

    Greek Life

    not very many people are interested in the greek life at southern because they don't do much, they don't have many traditions, and they don't have greek housing.

    Clubs and Activities

    missouri southern has a lot of clubs that cover just about an area of interest one could think of. however, there are only 4 greek organizations and they aren't very typical. they don't have a lot of traditions and they can't have houses fraternity or sorority houses.

    Great for these types of students

    missouri southern is great for students who just want to get in and get out with their degree and not be paying off a lot of loans when they're done. it's also good for students who have to work part time. most of southern's classes are in the morning because such a large number of the students work afternoons and evenings.

    Bang for the buck

    missouri southern is pretty cheap, which is very nice, but i think that reflects in the quality of school it is. it's not a very pretty campus, it's not that challenging, and it's not much fun. however, one nice thing about southern is their book rental program. books can be really expensive, so being able to rent them helps a lot. all in all, i think you get less bang for your buck at missouri southern.

    What to do for fun

    missouri southern has a very nice recreational facility and a fairly active intramural program that's always fun. they also have a movie theater on campus that shows one free movie a week. sometimes the campus activities board puts on fun events. outside of campus though, there is a mall, movie theater, mini golf, lazer tag, hiking trails, and clubs and bars for the 21 and up crowd

    Food and Dining

    the student cafeteria in the dorms is gross, but the lions den on the main campus has really great foods and a variety of choices.

    Dorm Life

    i didn't live in the dorms, but i haven't heard anyone say they loved their experience in them.

    Academic Rigor

    in three years, i've had less than five classes that i felt challenged in. at this point, i'm getting kind of bored.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would recommend to prospective students to stay in the dorms so that they can get the most out of their four year experience. i would also advise them to get involved in clubs to help them show leadership and community volunteer work. most importantly, i would tell them to research any and all information regarding their future. you can't always be sure your adviser knows everything or that they have your best interests in mind.

    In three sentences

    on a scale of 1 to 10, i would give missouri southern state university a 5. there isn't much tradition and there are a lot of non-traditional students. i don't feel like i've gotten much of a college experience or that i will have any great memories to look back on someday.

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they do have really good campus security.

    Greek Life

    a joke.

    Clubs and Activities

    they have many clubs not sure if they ever do anything or not.

    Great for these types of students

    people who want to go to school online.

    Bang for the buck

    personally i am not sure if they have more than 10 intelligent professors or not. i have only 3 teachers that knew more than i do. one english professor does not even know how to spell. so, this college is great if you just want to fly through and get a masters degree and not really do anything. i recommend the online classes.

    What to do for fun

    they have something crazy to do every month. i am always getting e-mails about something they are doing.

    Food and Dining

    i am an online student so i do not know how the food is or what is offered.

    Academic Rigor

    i have not learned a thing and will have my masters in 1 more year.

    Tips for prospective students

    this college has a lot of students that are middle aged.

    In three sentences

    the school is cheap but for online students the price is much higher.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    MSSU is dedicated to the safety of its students and visitors. They maintain a 24/7 security department.

    Greek Life

    Many different options available.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different scholarly clubs available for high achievers, drama, speech, debate, choir, and others to this effect.

    Great for these types of students

    Online students, non-traditional students, foreign and international students, and traditional students alike.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Great education for a great price. Professors are highly experienced and helpful. Academic advisers at MSSU genuinely have the student's best interests in mind.

    What to do for fun

    Located near the mall, in Joplin. The campus offers many different amenities and regular events for students to attend.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good. Nice sized cafeteria area and a decent menu to offer students.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot rate this aspect fairly. I am an off-campus student.

    Academic Rigor

    Missouri Southern State University encourages students to achieve to their highest standards.

    Tips for prospective students

    MSSU is a great school. Just dig in and study hard. They offer plenty of help with financial aid, transfers, and online schedules if a student needs it.

    In three sentences

    MSSU is a friendly, helpful university with a small time college feel. The staff and professors are top-notch. This University also has a great study abroad program.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus security is on call 24/7 and always monitoring campus in their mobile vehicles. They are even able to help with cars that won't start or people who lock themselves out of their vehicles. They are a little slow after a call is made and the need is not urgent but for the most part they are quick to respond.

    Greek Life

    We have a small but very active Greek life. There are three fraternities and two sororities and we have make up a close knit family together. With all five of our organizations there is constant activities and events going on and we even hang out outside of campus as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a wide variety of clubs that represent the diversity of the students that attend our school. From honor societies to student senate to coffee club, religious organizations, gaming clubs, inter-mural groups...there is always something to do at our campus!

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for commuter students to drive in, go to class, and then participate in all the fun without having to stay on campus!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I personally love our campus library. It has five floors full of books, computer labs, and a coffee shop. It is one of the crowning jewels of our campus. Another great addition is our Recreation Center which has two levels full of basketball courts, cardio and weight equipment, a movie theater, and ton of free fitness classes.

    Bang for the buck

    MSSU is a lot cheaper than most 4 year universities and I would say that you are getting just as good of an education here as you would get anywhere else. Plus it isn't putting you into debt trying to improve the quality of your life!

    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of clubs to get involved in, plus our Campus Activities Board constantly has fun events planned during the semester so we can meet up with friends and have a good time.

    Food and Dining

    We have a good selection of food on campus that we can choose from thought not all of it is necessarily good. I have a few select favorites that I always get and I generally avoid everything else.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The General Education classes can range from pointless to unnecessarily hard for something that is not major related. Major specific classes are intense and aid in the acquiring of knowledge for your future career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be your own advocate. MSSU is devoted to helping you succeed but you must do put in your part of the effort.

    In three sentences

    MSSU has small class sizes which makes it easier to get a personalized education. The staff and faculty are very personable and devoted to individual student success. There are tons of opportunities to get involved on campus and network yourself with new friends.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good but strict

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    I have never got to involved in clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Appeals to a broad range of students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no qualities about MSSU that make an impression

    Bang for the buck

    Not much to say here

    What to do for fun

    Play basketball

    Food and Dining

    Never eat at the school

    Dorm Life

    Live at home

    Academic Rigor

    Tough but understandable professors

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at all ur options Grades should always be Priorty #1 Learn that to pay first then play later is tough to do but always more gratifying.

    In three sentences

    Boring. Good professors Average college atmosphere

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Campus Activities Board (CAB) sponsors many entertaining events. In the past year, they have had events such as laser tag on the main campus and fun movie nights. They have even had a small Build-A-Bear workshop.

    Food and Dining

    I would have to give the food a mild rating. I have not had the university's cafeteria food, but I have heard it is not always the best. But there is a spot called The Lion's Den, which has a wide range of food options, which I have found satisfying.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms. I have seen the dorm rooms and they are decent. I have heard that if there is a problem with roommates, those who oversee the dorms are willing to help in any way that they can.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, I would give their general education courses a mild rating. The professors can be either challenging or easy. It depends on the expectations of the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should be be aware that there are many activities that go on during the year at Missouri Southern State University. There are seminars from professional speakers and fun college student activities, such as movie nights.

    In three sentences

    Missouri Southern is a great college to attend. It is a campus that cares about excellent academic performance, and has professors that are willing to help a student succeed. The campus also has several services that can help with tutoring and/or other problems that a student is having.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    not bad

    Greek Life

    lame

    Bang for the buck

    its one of the cheapest colleges!

    What to do for fun

    nothing.

    Food and Dining

    its not the greatest.

    Dorm Life

    im not sure. im off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    its average

    Tips for prospective students

    its a small town so there is nothing to do. campus life isnt huge. meeting ppl can be hard if off campus.

    In three sentences

    its not bad. classes are easy but challenging. professors work with u.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent they are always on patrol and willing to assist any way that they can.

    Greek Life

    I have no interest in pledging but if that is what you are into the school has greek organizations for you learn and explore your options

    Clubs and Activities

    its there it just depends on what you are into. Debate clubs, psychology clubs, Political science and etc.

    Great for these types of students

    If you a person that is bound and determined then this school and any school is right for you. All in all if you are not focused in your work you will not succeed and fail

    Bang for the buck

    If your taking online course you need to be sure that you are staying on top of your school work. Because with online course material you receive more assignments, and also more responsible for teaching yourself the course material

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends on the weekends and socialize at any of the local bars. Such as 502, and The Juke Box

    Food and Dining

    Joplin has several different types of restaurants to soothe your taste buds. Most of the restaurants are located on Rangeline Rd and the rest of them are located on Maiden lane

    Dorm Life

    I currently taking online courses and I don't stay on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    There places such as tutoring labs available for you if assistance is needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused and determined in everything that you do.

    In three sentences

    MSSU is a accredited university located in SW Missouri. You can enjoy, shopping that is within two miles from the university, attending clubs for night life to get a break from your school work. Everything that you made need or want is located on the same street as the school located at.

  • 08/26/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 41

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I love the fact that you can co-op at Ozark Christian College. I am planning on getting my advanced associates in bi-vocational ministry as well as my bachelors in human resources management. Great flexibility!

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is tons of activities and clubs for each program division. Figure out what sparks your interest and you can probably find something to do.

    Food and Dining

    There is plenty of food option from the cafeteria's buffet options to the Lions Den and pizza hut.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a good way to meet new people. If you don't get along with a room mate the RHA works hard to find good compatibility.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are appropriately tough. They are not designed to make you fail but they are designed to make you think.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should make connections with each other outside of class to provide a support system. Be sure and join at least one extracurricular activity.

    In three sentences

    Southern has a great atmosphere. The professors are interested in helping you succeed and over all great extra curricular opportunities.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I sleep, thats the fun I have, but there are multiple places to shop, or eat. There is even a bowling ally close by.

    Food and Dining

    Its usually the same things all the time.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms themselfs are fine, its the people in them that make them less lovable.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say the only tip I can give you would be to get to know your roommate before you move in.

    In three sentences

    I like the college a great deal. The people are mostly friendly and the professors care. Im haveing a great time.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I got texts everytime the weather was bad or there was something that was questionable in security!

    What to do for fun

    Southern is big in athletics. Attend games and other campus activities!

    Food and Dining

    I lived 2 hours away and did all my classes online.

    Dorm Life

    I lived 2 hours away and did all my classes online.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start early on enrollment! Plan to attend classes....not the online way!

    In three sentences

    Southern is a great college for students attending classes, but it is difficult to complete an entire degree on-line here. Cost is very reasonable. I have been challenged to grow academically here!

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you need help all you have to do is call the campus police and they will be there. The campus is lit up good at night, especially for those evening classes that get out after dark.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is almost always something that is happening on campus. You will most likely find a club that is something you enjoy. I am a member of the Spanish Club and it is a good time.

    Bang for the buck

    You get an great education with fantastic professors for a low price.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun. I just spend most of my time between my classes hanging out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    I am a vegan and there are not many options for food, at least not in the Lions Den. I have not been to the dining hall though. There are drinks that are reasonably priced.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of your professors will help you outside of class if you ask for it. Some courses are challenging but as long as you show up for class everyday and pay attention you should be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus is small and therefore easy to get around. However, you do not want to take classes back to back at opposite ends of campus; you will always end up late.

    In three sentences

    Most of the professors are amazing and willing to help you outside of class. It is not overly expensive. It has amazing programs.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always activities going on around campus!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is great and always has something that everyone likes.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing. The cafeteria is right next to the dorms and there is a variety of dorm types to choose from: private room, two person room, apartment (4 people).

    Academic Rigor

    Has a high standard for academic progress.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is a broad range of majors/programs to choose from. There is great tutoring services, financial aid help and just about any other service that is need in college. MSSU has great campus activities and the campus dorms are great.

    In three sentences

    MSSU is an amazing university that gives an opportunity for students to study a broad range of different majors/minors. It is a well balanced campus with just about everything a college student could need for college life. MSSU is a great university to attend due to all of its activities, services, and overall atmospere.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I live in an apartment, but as far as I know the campus is extermely safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and actiivites to get involved in.

    Bang for the buck

    I think this college is worth all the tuition that we pay. This has been one of the best colleges that I have been to.

    What to do for fun

    There is a movie theater around here, a mall, bowling, lazer tag, etc.

    Food and Dining

    I live in an apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are very good. I like this college a lot better than the last college I went to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class on time and take adequate notes.

    In three sentences

    Missouri Southern State University is a nice studying college that has a lot of potential. It is not known for partying but for studying.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always had great work with the Campus Security. They answer quickly!

    What to do for fun

    Being located in Joplin, you have many choices from food restaurants to spending time at the mall or catching a movie. With the location, you are just a short drive away from other major cities such as Springfield, Tulsa, KC, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would look into MSSU for it's location and cost.

    In three sentences

    MSSU is a great school! It is decently small which allows for one on one between students and professors. It is close to home for many in the area.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get your classes early so you can get the ones you want. It wont be as hard as an upperclassman, but with the amount of low level classes, it will.

    In three sentences

    It is a very down to earth school with the right class size. I started at MSSU as a Freshman last semester and it has been great. I love going here and will attend until I graduate with my bachelor's.

  • 04/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Yes! Constant patrols of buildings, grounds and parking areas.

    Greek Life

    Sororitys and Faternitys for those that are on-campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Large Variety.

    Great for these types of students

    Southern is a commuter campus and many students do not live on campus, it is also an inexpensive alternative to big universitys.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not on campus, so I cannot speak on this.

    Bang for the buck

    An inexpensive alternative to big universitys that are more costly.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs,sporting events, musicial and threatical productions, sororitys and faternitys, work out center.

    Food and Dining

    Not something I have ever made use of. But there are also a lot of off campus choices as well.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging and provide a student with ample opportunity for growth and learning skills that will be needed in our competative world.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you take online classes you need to be organized and stay on top of things as some classes are very demanding.

    In three sentences

    An excellent university with Professors and staff that are supportive and that aid the student in achieving their goals. Even online classes are designed with the students needs in mind. I would give Southern 4 stars. My only complaint is that more upper level classes need to be offered online.

  • 04/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security available by phones located in various spots on campus. Walk in groups, let someone know know where you are most of the time. Track team has a phone tree for accountability. Keep the cell phone charged. Don't venture out to unknown areas. 10/10

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    not involved. 0/10

    Great for these types of students

    Christian sorority/fraternity groups.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Halloween night bonfire and hayride in the middle of nowhere and the lights go out, supposed to see a ghost or something. Nothing appears but all the guys are looking really scared!

    Bang for the buck

    Best table busser at Old Spaghetti Factory! Known as the Dominator. Have a 15 year old poodle with no teeth, blind in 1 eye and a cataract in the other and hes my baby. (Don't let the guys know) 10/10

    What to do for fun

    Skatboarding and listening to videos. Not much of a dancer.

    Food and Dining

    Foods not that great, but I enjoy eating and spending time with my friends. 5/10

    Dorm Life

    I love it, I room with the track team!!! 10/10

    Academic Rigor

    Become familiar with students who share the same goals. Don't procrastinate. Seek help from advisors before trouble arises. I rate it 10/10.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focued, seek information from every avenue, time management is key to success.

    In three sentences

    MoSo has been helpful in my diversity training/education. MoSo has encouraged my individuality and boosted my confidence. Moso has allowed me to travel to places that I have never traveled to.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    High tech new security system through out campus.

    Greek Life

    Not a lot of options here. If you are willing to pay the dues they will accept you. No one gets turned away.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are only two sororities and three fraternities. Really the honor societies tend to do more on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to take on a leadership role or may want to learn as much as they can as fast as they can.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school isn't quite big enough or old enough to have traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    This is the cheapest university in Missouri. You may not have the on campus social life you would get at a D1 school but your options for academics are stellar.

    What to do for fun

    There is not a large selection of groups on campus, so find people like you and form your own. My friends and I go bowling and have Nintendo 64 competitions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Begin major courses immediately because it is a small university and not all classes for your major are offered every year.

    In three sentences

    MSSU is a great school if you thrive well in a hands on learning environment. It is easy to build lasting relationships with your professors and department heads. The faculty really cares about their students

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many different clubs and organizations which offer activities weekly. Many campus associations try to plan events for every day of the week. If you don't want to get involved on campus, the town provides many fun outdoor activities such as golf/mini-golf, tennis, hiking trails, waterfalls, parks, and so on.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is decent. Many different options are provided, but the same food tend to be served monthly if not weekly. The Lion's Den is great for a quick meal on campus-side.

    Dorm Life

    Don't expect to interact with your neighbors very often. Unless you're in the apartments or suites, there's no way to escape from rude or nasty roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    General classes were fairly easy. Once you got more focused in your major, classes began getting much more difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have a vehicle or bike to experience the Joplin-area. Attend a play or musical in the Black Box Theater. Go join clubs or greek-life.

    In three sentences

    MSSU is a great institution to attend. The faculty and staff are very caring and generally do their best to help you succeed. The school is doing a good job at trying to increase attendance.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Going just for the education.

    Bang for the buck

    For what I'm paying for a university it's well worth it!

    What to do for fun

    They always have something going on at the campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    My number one tip would definitely would be to scope out where you're classes are located.

    In three sentences

    Missouri Southern is a small University. The classes sizes are small. The teachers are also very friendly!

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe because every night there are campus police or county sheriffs over at the dorms making sure nothing crazy goes on.

    Greek Life

    Greek life isn't big here but they are cool. Everyone says they would join if they had greek houses but I personally think those who say that are in it for the wrong reasons then. You do have to pay dues to join and that's why I didn't join because I don't have a job so I couldn't pay the dues.

    Clubs and Activities

    There a lot of clubs and activities to do just make sure you will be able to balance your school work out and your social life.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, go bowling or mini golf. They have a gym and a place where there is pool table and ping pong tables that are really fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is better on some days and not so good on the other days. But beggars cant be choosers as my parents always used to say. There is a snack type shop where they sell pizza hut or make burgers or chicken, sandwiches coffee, tea and lots of other stuff to that you can buy with money or use your card to charge it.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not bad. There are traditional, private, suites and apartment style dorms. although the suite and apartment sound nice you will be sharing that living area with three other people so I hope you can get along with people easily. I like my traditional room and my roommate is cool.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not hard aslong as you show up get the notes and do the assignments. You need to learn how to balance your school work with your social life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to southern with an open mind. By open mind I mean get involved with school activities and don't think your to cool to not talk to some people. Get to know everyone and just be yourself and in no time you will have a lot of friends.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am in a sorority and love it. Always fun to hang out with my sisters on the weekends. We also have many parks you can go to.

    Food and Dining

    There is food in almost every building. The food is good.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms, but I have heard they are pretty nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academics at Southern are very good. There is a reasonable amount of school work that needs to be done outside the classroom, but it is not too bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on a college tour! Get involved in a club or greek life freshman year if not in a sport.

    In three sentences

    Missouri Southern is a wonderful D2 university. It has small class sizes and the professors are a great help! MSSU is also located in a wonderful town with very nice people.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Missouri Southern is very cheap being one of the cheapest four year universities in the nation. A degree from here isn't going to leave you 20 years in debt. Southern is a wonderful place to get a degree at a cheap price.

    What to do for fun

    Joplin is a huge town with a variety of things to do. Southern always has student activities to participate in as well as our sports teams that you can watch. Tailgating is a great time always before the football games. The Joplin Mall is also somewhere you can hang out and pass time. They have all the name brand stores you would need. They also have an arcade and huge food court. Joplin is never a boring place and you can always find some way to pass time.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is rather disappointing at times but they have their days. There is always something to find, it just seems that the cafe is repetitive sometimes.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Southern is awesome. This is where you can meet a majority of people and make a bulk of your friends. Freshman year this is definitely the place to be. The convenience of being right next to the cafe and campus mixed with the great floor layout is excellent. We have 3 different style of dorms. The suite style, East Hall, is where you need to be. East Hall is a co-ed dorm with no curfew and everyone has their very own bathrooms as apposed to community bathrooms. East dorm rooms come with 2 bathrooms, a living room, and 2 bedrooms. You live with 3 other people and the resident advisers do a great job with matching you to someone with your interests.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic side to the school is one that I would say varies on the department. Each department will prepare you however for whatever job you are trying to get involved in. If you are someone who hasn't quite decided what type of job or even major yet then they really are good about pointing you in the right direction.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get active on all the events that are held around campus. Everyone who goes to Southern are extremely nice and it can become an easy way to make some friends along the way. Don't be shy either. It's college and a time to reinvent yourself. You can be anyone or anything you want from this point on. Remember to have fun along the way too. Don't get stuck studying all the time. Treat yourself to a night out once in a while and enjoy college.

    In three sentences

    Missouri Southern is an awesome school. Teachers are very personable and they are really interested in the students academic success. Missouri Southern's institution is an exceptional place to get a degree from.

  • 10/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel that MSSU is a safe campus on which to study. There are many on site police and a team of paramedics ready to respond to a situation of disaster.

    Clubs and Activities

    It seems like the clubs are constantly having activities. They all advertise fairly well, so I think they keep themselves going.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a good combination of affordable, energetic, and diverse. There are many majors to choose from.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and after school activities going on. I do not actively participate in any of them, but I'm always seeing new signs and receiving emails of each weeks events.

    Food and Dining

    I've heard the students make complaints about the cafeteria food, but I don't eat at school. So I'm guessing that the food at mssu could use a revamp.

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know because I do not stay on campus. From what I have seen and heard, I think they deserve 3 stars.

    Academic Rigor

    I think the proffessors do a great job relaying the subjects to the students and helping them understand new ideas. Classes are never dull or lifeless, the professors are always making jokes or presenting the days subject with energy.

    Tips for prospective students

    MSSU is a great school if you are looking for somewhere affordable and with plenty of options. Honestly, if you are thinking about foreign exchange, this doesn't seem like the college to attend.

    In three sentences

    MSSU has plenty of courses suited for people willing to further their education. I think the faculty/staff are friendly and helpful. It has many foreign exchange students, which makes classes more diverse.

  • 10/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The college has a student activities board who take the time to plan out activities so that way you can have fun. The the international group hosts an international semester where they pick a country and they host events and dinners to let you experience that country.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, if you eat in the dining hall then it is an all you can eat buffet. If you eat in the Lion's Den then you pay for each and every little thing that you want to eat and it is not a good price.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers assign a fair amount of homework, not anything you can't handle unless you don't try.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try and schedule your classes all within the same building because if you don't then you will be making a huge hike and be wore out.

    In three sentences

    MSSU is a great school to go to, my first semester I had five great teachers who actually cared about the subjects they had to teach. The only problem that I have with this school is that some classes are hard to get because they are some only ever offered in the fall or in the spring. This college has a great international program that allows you to study other cultures and also allows for you to meet people from other countries and to socialize with them and you get to go school with them.

  • 11/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Due to the fact that the campus is small it is a lot safer than most. You can call the campus police and they will walk you to your car from class at night, or to your dorm if you felt the need. There are a number of help buttons stationed throughout the campus for anyone. There is a large number of police officers on campus who are active in all ways. They will give parking tickets like candy but also try and find the thieves if there are any. I never really hear of any crime with this school. I have only heard of a couple of burglaries since my enrollment.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is small but active. I use to be involved with ZTA so I can give you a personal insight to this wonderful group of women. My fiance was also a part of the KA Greek group on campus. Both of these chapters have recieved a number of awards from their national chapter and are always growing. There are three other Greek groups on campus, one more sorority and two more fraternities. Each group has its plus and minus, but overall they are great groups. The Greek life is very active on campus, but is also very exclusive. If you are not a member with the chapter then it is unlikely you will be invited to join unless it is a fundraising event like ZTA's pink week, which raises breast cancer awareness or KA's MDA week. Each group has a main philanthropy they lead to help and each semester they host a week that is dedicated to that. I personally loved my time with ZTA and I have met some of my long life friends in this group. The bonuses to the Greek life at MSSU is that it is cheaper, no required housing, and more personal. There are not Greek housing options available at the moment but could be in the future. The price of Greek life is almost a 3rd of what it would cost at a larger campus. If you are interested in Greek life experiences but don't want that hefty price tag that can come with it, then MSSU's Greek life may be for you.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is an always growing amount of groups and clubs on campus. The campus is always trying to reach out to all students to get them involved. They have clubs involving majors as well as just for fun clubs. It is hard to describe all that is offered but do know that there is a variety and if you can't find the right fit for you, then you can always speak to campus activities and try to get that club or group formed and official on campus so that you find where you want to go.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for those students who want to go to a smaller school and still get a great education. The school is smaller and isn't a party school so if that is what you are looking for then this is the school for you. It does have a Greek system and even though it is smaller than most schools, it is personal and feels like family. The students on campus generally keep to themselves so you won't have to worry about anyone being in your face. The school has a number of clubs to join so if that is what you are wanting then you should be able to find something.

    Bang for the buck

    Personally I feel that I have used my money in the best way possible. I get the higher education that I truly wanted, with a smaller town feel, and I'm berried in mountains of debt. The school has a great teaching system, some extracurricular activities, a large number of clubs and much more. The school itself is slowly developing into something wonderful and as a student it is great to watch happen.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is slowly developing more and more things to do on campus. The intramural on campus are becoming more popular and the school will host events. Sports are a big thing at this school to whether it is basketball or football then there is usually a sport event over the weekend. The school does have an on campus movie theater which is free for students. They do play a lot of new movies so those are always exciting to do. The theater department is always hosting shows, so if you enjoy that type of thing you will have lots of choices throughout the year. They even host what are called Vagina Monologues which any student can be a part of.

    Food and Dining

    The dining on campus is slowly getting better. The recently added a pizza hut in what is referred to as the lion's den, which is the food court pretty much. As great as this may sound, I have had a number of friends, as well as myself, become sick after eating there. We no longer eat at the lions den. The food options are limited to greasy food or old salads. Across campus at the dorms there is a cafeteria. The bad thing is that it is so far away you would almost rather starve than walk all the way over there. Unless you have a meal plan you will have to pay for the food buffet which is an average of $10. The food is sub par and typically over picked. There is hardly enough seating or utensils to use when eating here. If you don't mind sacrificing your parking spot then there is dining not far from campus. There is a Japanese steak house not far away or a number of fast food restaurants. Though if you don't feel like possibly getting sick, walking across campus, or losing your parking spot, then the bookstore offers a variety of tasty snacks.

    Dorm Life

    I personally have not lived in the dorms but I have friends who do/did. Most of them didn't enjoy the dorms for a number of reasons. The biggest reason was that they felt they were spending too much for the dorms. The dorms are small, dark, and old. The school appears to be trying to make improvements to draw more students to the dorm life but so far have had no luck in doing so. The campus is a dry campus so don't expect to be having any crazy dorm parties. The campus police is very strict on the dorm life in not being out late at night on campus, or having alcoholic beverages. Even though I would feel safe having such strict campus police, they also are kind of a party pooper. Surrounding the dorms are volleyball courts and tennis courts. These are hardly used except for a couple of times during the year which mostly involve the fraternities or sororities trying to recruit members.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what major you are taking depends on the difficulty level of the course work. I am currently a triple business major, and most of my classes are difficult. Though it is always possible to find the professor who offers the easier class, but my suggestion is to not do that. If you are considering furthering your education past an associates degree or bachelors degree then it is smart to push yourself. Missouri Southern requires that in all of the upper level classes for your major you have a letter grade of a B or higher in order to pass. The school offers a number of tutoring services and professors are easy to get a hold of when you have questions. In my past majors of biology and sociology, I have noticed that those majors take up a lot of your time. If you are a student who works, you may struggle unless you have good time management skills. The course work started out at about average and progressively got more difficult. Don't expect to be able to study at the last second, you will need to keep up on your work and always attend class.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a student who is interested in this school I assure you that there is more than meets the eye. The professors are all really helpful and their distance learning program is also great. Though if you are a student who is going to require financial aid, I highly suggest you get everything good and ready to go well before the due date. Missouri Southern State University's financial aid department is one of the worsts I have ever dealt with. The department is likely to fall behind or lose your papers so it is important you constantly stay on them even if you feel like it is too much, it's not, I promise. Missouri Southern also has mandatory rental books costing an average $35 per book. If you are wanting a personal copy or believe you could find a purchase book for cheaper be sure you are investigating early. If you are searching for a local gym to attend while you are living in the dorms, there is no reason to do so. The schools rec center is amazing. Lots of equipment to use as well as classes to take and gyms to use. The school has a number of on campus jobs but if you are applying then be sure to do it as soon as possible because it is very competitive. The only downside to having a job on campus is that you get paid once a month and only receive 20 hours per week. If you are in need of something more, the local town offers a number of options and the campus can help you find them.

    In three sentences

    Missouri Southern State University is a great university to attend if you are searching for a smaller community to be a part of. The cost of the school its self is on the lower end so your pockets won't be hurting as badly. The school is currently going through a lot of improvements, so I'm expecting some great things from the school.

  • 09/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The whole area is a very quiet and safe area. I moved to Joplin from Kansas City and I haven't locked my doors since moving here. Walking through the parking lots I was shocked to see how many people leave their cars unlocked even, but apparently it's really not an issue! There is campus security and local law enforcement that drive by regularly, but crime really isn't an issue here.

    Greek Life

    There are a couple sororities and fraternities but it's not a big deal here at all.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are quite a few, from various religious clubs to a club for ghost hunting, with new ones being made every year.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for local students or someone who just wants a cheap but decent education.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the price.

    What to do for fun

    There are always decent things to do on campus. The activities board is always coming up with interesting things for students. If you're from a larger city, it's not super unique or exciting, but it is definitely decent. You shouldn't ever be bored here if you don't want to be.

    Food and Dining

    Definitely sub-par. Stock up on yoghurt and veggies in your room, or be prepared for a lot of junk.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, so I'm not qualified to answer.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes really aren't hard if you put the time into it. Plus, the professors are very helpful if you have a question either in class or outside, so you never really have to figure things out if you don't want to. The tutors are usually not busy (except near finals) and can also help anytime. Overall, it's really not difficult so long as you aren't being ridiculous about things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do take your professors up on the offer to get help outside class; it'll establish a good relationship with them, and they're knowledgeable about what they teach. Learn how to fix meals at home or in the dorm, because the food available really isn't good at all. Explore the campus, because there are all sorts of weird places you never knew about.

    In three sentences

    It's definitely a good education for what you pay, but you'll only get out what you make of it. The professors are very helpful; they'll encourage you to come see them during office hours/outside class and are more than willing to help you with any questions you have. Good for transfer students or someone wanting a decent education and degree without leaving the area.