Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Missouri State University-West Plains Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for fresh out of high school students, men and women just out of basic training for any of the armed forces, great for late in life adult learners. It's great for all, trust me!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a local thinking oh I don't want to stay in town, it's not a fancy college, or it will be boring, then you are dead wrong. It is a great campus, so many opportunities, and a global campus, I have met students from Turkey, Washington D.C., Russia, just all over!

    Bang for the buck

    This is a very economical college. I am going using my A+ and a scholarship I received, but there are others going here, middle aged people who are taking classes because it is so affordable. You get a lot for your money really!

    Am enjoying being here

    Being a grizzly is so much fun. There are so many opportunities for students on campus from getting into games and events for free, to all the computers on campus and all the welcome week activities really get you involved, you meet people, eat, play games, it's just fun!

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning so much in my online business class as well as my business math class, for the first time in my life I actually understand simple math. The teachers are great and really want to help you succeed.

  • 09/18/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Especially those who want to get a few credits...then move on.

    Bang for the buck

    This is one of the cheapest colleges I've looked at for me especially because I already live in West Plains...yay!

  • 03/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Attend every class. It is really important to be there and hear the lectures. Also, take good notes. At first it is difficult to catch everything but you learn how to shorten your notes down.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe they charge way too much for this institution. Especially with West Plains being such a small town. The library books are overly priced for sure. I would suggested to all new coming students to rent books or buy them from a previous student.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone is always friendly and makes you feel welcomed. Even from the first day of classes for me!

    Am learning a lot

    With the classes being so small the teachers are able to get to each of you and help you with your individual needs. I have had great tutoring here also! They're always available.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus ensures the safety of every student. By every door there is a list of numbers to call if you feel threatened or unsafe. For example, if you are taking a night class and become afraid to go outside by yourself, you can contact an authority to escort you to your car.

    Clubs and Activities

    This college has sports such as basketball and volleyball. But if you are not a sports person there is still something for you! Forensics, Chess, Anime... with hundreds of clubs there are many for you!

    Bang for the buck

    Missouri State has a way of working with you to help find scholarships. They are also one of the cheapest classes for an AMAZING quality! You will find that college is affordable and well worth it!

    What to do for fun

    The civics center right off the campus has a weights gym, basketball court, and indoor pool! There is also a student center on campus that has some similar things as well as many rec rooms with pool tables and video games.

    Food and Dining

    The school has a cafeteria that is cheap to eat at whether you buy a meal plan or pay meal by meal. They are cooked fresh everyday and SO delicious!

    Dorm Life

    I am not staying in a dorm but I have seen the insides and they are really nice. They are also located just off the library and cafeteria for convenience.

    Academic Rigor

    Like all schools, you have to keep up with homework and study. However, Missouri State gives you to tools to make studying a breeze. You will soon be amazed at how well you like your teachers and how they help you with the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Missouri State will give you an advisor to help with ANY college questions you have. Go to him or her as soon as possible to get acquainted because this person is your life line.

    In three sentences

    I could not imagine going to school anywhere other than Missouri State West Plains. They find way that make it easy to pay for college and EVERYTHING you need to complete your degree can easily be found on campus. Whether you need books and other school supplies (found at the Drago College Store) or you need a quiet place to study, take tests, and find information (at the campus library) they have it!

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life on this campus.

    What to do for fun

    There is not really anything to do here for fun. They have a bowling alley and a movie theater.

    Food and Dining

    At the shoe they cook for the community. It isn't the food that college kids really want. The kid food they make is generally made for dinner, when the kids are usually working.

    Dorm Life

    Do not live at the Shoe Factory Lofts. The cost to live here is $682 per month. The room I had leaked and I had to move rooms. You have to pay $3 to do each load of your laundry. The people are really nice but I've been told that you can rent a house for about $350 a month.

    Academic Rigor

    It isn't the hardest place in the world. Some of the classes here are challenging but that is just for me. Everyone is different so they probably need to figure it out for yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take Leigh Adams as your Writing teacher. She may be a hard grader but you will learn what you need to in there. Take your classes in the morning. I know that it is hard to wake up, but it means you have the rest of the day to do whatever you want to.

    In three sentences

    It is a very nice University. The people and teachers are very nice here. Trying to get into the grizzly house is really hard, they need to make it bigger.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food from the Sole Café (at The Shoe) is awesome!!!

    Dorm Life

    Off-Campus dorm, The Shoe Factory, is AWESOME

    In three sentences

    Seemed Great! The teachers were very friendly, and the classes were small. Best of all, they accept the A+ Scholarship!

  • 08/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never had any issues on campus. They've told us they have off-duty police officers that patrol. They also have campus security that you can call and will walk you to your car at night if you need. Also, the Rec Center is a FEMA shelter that can withstand a EF-5 tornado. Its nice because in this area there is always a threat of tornados. It's also open to anyone who lives within like a 5 mile radius.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots to do on campus. If you can't find a club for something you want it's really easy to start one. Theres lots of different organizations on campus already. TRiO, HOPE, SGA, Anime Readers, Paranormal, Republican, Democratic, and more.

    Bang for the buck

    I think MSU is really affordable. My tuition for 16 credit hours (in state) is about $2000. Add on another $250-$400 for books. Lots of scholarships you can apply for. Some clubs on campus also have scholarships. The classrooms are nice, and the campus is not that bad looking. They've also got a free tutoring lab in Melton 114 with tutors available for almost any subject. You just walk in and ask if they've got anyone to tutor you in whatever class you need help in and if one is there they will help you.

    What to do for fun

    You get access to the gym at the civic center (part of your activities fee) and the Rec Center. You can play basketball or Raquet Ball at the Rec Center (also an out door court too.) Students get free admission to any event put on by MSU that's held at the civic center (plays, games, illusionist). This area is very outdoorsy. Lots of hunting, and fishing. One walking park in town, another right out of city limits. You're within a 30-40 minute drive of the river. About an hour from Lake Norfolk. Some shopping. Maurices, Rue21, JCPenny, Walmart, Walgreens. 2 Hour drive to springfield that has tons of shops and a mall. WP has two movie theatres ($8 regular admission) and one of them has rock climbing. Definitely fun! It's a quiet town that doesn't have a ton of fun things for people our age but make some friends and go explore the ozarks. That's a lot more fun than most other things I can think of.

    Food and Dining

    There are two places to eat on campus. The Sole Cafe at the Shoe. $5 for buffet style. Lots of foods, amazing chef, and they always have a new menu. Or you could eat at Putnam Student Center. Not sure about the prices at Putnam though.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms but I've heard great things about both the Grizzly house and the Shoe Factory.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes are challenging without being over the top. Most of the instructors are there to HELP you get the most out of your time at MSU-WP. Some of the teachers are a little wacky, but I think that just adds to the experience. Gotta have something to tell the grandkids right? I personally hate taking online classes. Much prefer being in an actual classroom. Most class sizes are small. There are a few exceptions for degree specific classes (like Education classes. Only one BIO 100 and EDU 150 class usually in a semester) or with a Honors class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to check into TRiO if you are eligible! It's become a lifeline for me! Free gym membership and zumba classes! The Sole Cafe at the Shoe is amazing and cheap! The bookstore is pricey. I reserved books my first semester but payed at least $150 more than I should've. Check online to see if you can get a better deal before reserving or buying from Drago.

    In three sentences

    Missouri State University-West Plains is the perfect school for getting your Associates Degree. The Campus is expanding and now houses 4-year degree opportunities. It's local, friendly, and most of all inviting.

  • 08/12/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus has many activities and centers available for fun.

    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten on campus. They do offer many varieties and there are several places in town.

    Dorm Life

    I am not in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    It seems as if Missouri State offers several interesting courses for one's major. Most of the classes required for a Bachelor's degree can be found here. It seems as if they are trying to help students succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    When choosing a school make sure it is right for you. One needs to find out everything it offers one. Also it is important to talk to other students and find out what they think of the school.

    In three sentences

    Missouri State University-West Plains is a great school. The staff is helpful and if your advisor is not available, then someone will help you with anything you need. Professors are always available to give you one on one help.

  • 10/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    People who can't get to their dream college because of GPA, and need a little boost.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't think they have any.

    Bang for the buck

    Great if you have A+!

    What to do for fun

    In West Plains? Walk around.

    Food and Dining

    Putnam student center is laughable.

    Dorm Life

    I live in the Shoe factory lofts, not the grizzly house. But I have heard that they are cramped. Only a 60 person occupancy.

    Academic Rigor

    Eh. That's up to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Not much! Open admissions, nothing to prepare for. This is the school you go to go somewhere else or stay in West Plains forever.

    In three sentences

    Very small and affordable. Only go here if you need to get your GPA up to get to another school.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a small town college and has the safety of the small town. If you have night classes a student can call campus security and be walked to their car.

    Clubs and Activities

    MSU-WP has several clubs and organizations to choose from.

    Bang for the buck

    MSU-WP is a cheaper option. You get a good education for less money.

    What to do for fun

    MSU-WP has a recreational center which has a basketball court and other game court.

    Food and Dining

    MSU-WP has Putnam Student Center which is a sort of dinning hall. It has computers with internet, pool table, game room etc. Also the university has the Shoe Café which is a student café attached to one of the dorms. Then there are several restaurants near by.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the Dorms but they do look very nice. They have the Grizzly House which is the normal dorm rooms. Then they have the Shoe Factory Lofts which are a larger different type of dorms, they have a attached restaurant and WiFi with another restaurant across the street.

    Academic Rigor

    MSU-WP is a very dedicated university but is not highly pressured. You make the choices in your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into the financial aid office and speak with them about your financial aid. Also, visit the SASS or advising office. They will help you with any questions and concerns you might have.

    In three sentences

    MSU-WP is a very honest university. Professors and staff are very helpful and kind. Its a small school with a small down to earth campus.