Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Missouri Valley College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Blonds without any brains, people who want to be one of a kind, gays, pretty much everyone. Not much on hard sciences though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't make any enemies. This school can be harsh. Some of it's students and faculty will remind you of high school. When you're not a shining star institute not everyone is perfect. But the people here are genuine and very alive.

    Bang for the buck

    School takes effort to see to it that every student gets work study. This means for a lot of students that they make money while going to school, not lose.

    Am enjoying being here

    The cafeteria program doesn't charge by the meal/item. It's a ticket plan that covers students for the whole year. Nearby YMCA, large library, very pleasant campus.

    Am learning a lot

    Some of the instructors at this school are among the most patient and intelligent people I've ever studied under.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is not the great to be honest. I wish it had different dining hours, so that it was open longer.

    Dorm Life

    Certain rules in the dorms are unnecessary and make things more difficult than they need to be.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be difficult, depending on the teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are ok with a smaller town. I came from a large city, so it was a big adjustment.

    In three sentences

    Overall, the small campus is very nice and I like that the teachers are willing to work so hard with you. They are very helpful and they get to know you.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Completely safe and campus police are always there when you need them.

    Greek Life

    ASA and Theta Phi Alpha are our sororities. TKE, Sigma Nu, and Alpha Sigma Phi are our fraternities. All are great and fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different sports and lots of other clubs.

    Bang for the buck

    Teacher to student ratio is great because you get lots of help however private schools are expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Drive to Colombia

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria could have healthier food.

    Dorm Life

    Quiet most of the time.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the major but it can difficult but fair.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take time to decide where you want to go to college. The small school atmosphere is great however not if you want the big school feeling.

    In three sentences

    Valley is a small school with a positive atmosphere. Great for students who like a quiet place to get work done and also has plenty of events for getting to know other students.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is friendly and does everything to keep the campus safe, by going through drills and meetings to ensure all students understand the rules and regulations.

    Greek Life

    I hear the Greek like at Missouri Valley is interesting, however, I can never afford to join as well as I am scared what the Greek Life Initiations are

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities you just got to know where to look and join for some. There are a couple that are not broad casted enough because their are some who do not get the funding to do so

    Great for these types of students

    Students who receive scholarships before attending and families who can literally afford it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year they set up white paper bags along the side walk on the campus. Inside the each bag is sand and a tea light candle. These event is support breast cancer awareness.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is amazing, however, it is not worth paying $24,000. They do not have a lot of scholarships that are given to students who are extremely struggling with financials as well as that if you a Criminal Justice major they do not have any work study available in that field

    What to do for fun

    Well besides the obvious driving to bars and party there are many fun activities to do at campus. You can watch the Rodeo, or any one of the many sports games such as: Football, Basketball, Baseball, Softball, Wrestling, Volleyball, and Soccer

    Food and Dining

    During the week the food can range from amazing to eh decent, there are so many choices of food to choose from. However, during the weekends the food they cook during that time period is mediocre at best. Also, depending on what time you come eat,mainly during lunch and dinner, the lines are terribly long and sometimes the hours the cafe stay open seem to short.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on which dorm and or apartment on campus you live in the experience varies. There is MacDonald Hall (Girls Dorm), Young Hall (Boys Dorm), and one of the other main living spaces Viking Village (on campus apartment) I have only lived in the MacDonald hall and my experience living in the hall has been good. However, sometimes it gets annoying when some of the girls in the hall can not follow some of the rules.

    Academic Rigor

    Well depending on what your major is will depend on what class you take. Each person is challenged differently in every course or not even challenged at all. It will also vary depending on who your professor is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get any outside scholarships and as many as possible. Also do work study if possible. Another tip is to do as many extra curricular activities as possible it will look better on your resume in the long run.

    In three sentences

    Even though Missouri Valley College is a relatively small college, it is a great place to be. The staff itself and many of the students that come here are friendly and make you feel welcomed. The only downside is the cost to attend and the fact that one of the requirements to graduate is taking a religious course.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very small so you feel pretty safe. There is always a security officer on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It is quite pricey because it's a private college, but if you have good grades you can get some good scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    There really isn't much to do for fun. Marshall is a small town with not much in it. So pretty much sit in your dorm and be bored.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is horrible. I have been to my colleges and loved the food at all of them but, Missouri Valley is the worst. Plus you have to stand in one line no matter what you want. One good thing is that you won't get your freshman 15 because the food isn't worth eating. I have already lost 10lbs.

    Dorm Life

    For women there isn't many choices for housing. You are pretty much stuck at Mac. The rooms are pretty small and when I moved in it was really dirty. It's never quit because all the idiots that live around you.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that Missouri Valley is very easy. However, I know some people that struggle in class but, the professors are more than willing to help you if you're having trouble.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you keep very thing documented for proof. I had trouble with them misplacing a couple of my outside scholarships.

    In three sentences

    If you want to go to a small school this the place for you. It's very nice because all of the professors know you by name. Everyone here really cares about you and wants you to succeed.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security patrols nightly,but very safe town.

    Greek Life

    2 sororities and 3 fraternities-Not too interested in Greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm in the Polynesian club and we had 1 event throughout the whole year. Mostly ran by the students.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletic Students. You will realize that almost anyone can get a scholarship for athletics. Some students aren't athletic at all while some are amazing. If you want cheap, everything is in walking distance so there is no need for a car.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year, freshman walk in the pillars and the seniors walk out. It symbolizes the entering of young children coming out as successful adults.

    Bang for the buck

    Great grocery store called Aldi where bread is only 95 cents.

    What to do for fun

    In the summer, you can go to the park and the small waterpark and in the winter, you can play in the snow. There's 2 feet of snow outside right now.

    Food and Dining

    Great salad bar with unhealthy entrees. Pizza, burger, grilled cheese, and fries everyday except on weekends. Some are very horrible so that's everyone's go to when all the entrees suck.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are disgusting, but if you have a 3.0 or above, you can dorm in Mens Honor which is the nicest hall with newly installed bathrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are rigorous, but others don't require homework

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't consider MVC if you wan't a Math degree. Very athletic school. If you like to party, highly consider that this is a small town with no malls. Nearest mall is an hour away.

    In three sentences

    This school focuses mainly on their sports

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Art Majors, English, Athletic Training Majors, Nursing Majors, Criminal Justice Majors

    Tips for prospective students

    Save money!!! Don't take American History 2 with Dr. King.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    small town students wanting to keep to their roots

    What to do for fun

    friends

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved as much as you can

    In three sentences

    it is a very small school. teachers are very attentive when it comes to their students. the college is very loving

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I am not interested in it.

    Clubs and Activities

    This is mostly an athletic college. If you're not an athletic then you probably won't feel comfortable here.

    Great for these types of students

    There are students from all over the world. That's what makes this college unique.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I've found.

    Bang for the buck

    Over all, it's a great school but honestly not worth the price. If they raise tuition any more, I will transfer out.

    What to do for fun

    There is nothing to do. I joined the cheerleading team for something to do. It was either become an athelete or join a club or do what every one else does - party.

    Food and Dining

    The only reason I will rate the cafertiera food three starts is because there is a decent amount of food; however, they recook a lot of old food and it's gross. Some times I go hungry because the food here is so horrible.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in Mac Hall. I lived on the community side. Don't like the womens dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I like this school because the classes are small. There are some difficult classes yet mostly easy classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Save money. There a lot of hidden fees

    In three sentences

    I love the campus life. Easy classes but if tution raises anymore I will transfer out.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the best!

    Greek Life

    small

    Clubs and Activities

    Varsity softball. Education leaders

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small settings without large class sizes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    All students are mixed into groups on the first day so students get to know each other!

    What to do for fun

    Watch other sports on campus!

    Tips for prospective students

    Work on grants and scholarship's before entering college!

    In three sentences

    Missouri Valley is a small private College based on learning. Missouri Valley has small class sizes that allow teachers to spend more time with students. Missouri Valley promotes students getting to know each other!

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can go to the games for sports or they have activities and clubs you can join.

    Food and Dining

    the cafe food is nasty. ya it puts food in your stomach but it is not healthy for you and you dont want to eat it all the time because your weight will sky rocket.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is good. you get in a building that is matched up with your sport and you have a dorm partner. you can get an apartment but you wiil not be on a meal plan which therefore you cannot eat in the cafe.

    Academic Rigor

    I am not sure waht you mean

    Tips for prospective students

    When you come done be nervous like i was.. Your classes are real easy to find. Mostly everyone is soft hearted and generous. You just have to make sure to study and work hard

    In three sentences

    I think Missouri Valley college is a good school. It is my first year so i am just getting the swing of things. It is not to bad it could be worse

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. When I get back after dark from a weekend at home, I can always call Karen so she will walk me to my dorm if I ever feel unsafe about anything.

    Greek Life

    I am not a part of Greek life but I hear it is great. Some of my neighbors in my dorm talk about it and they all seem to enjoy themselves. The greeks are usually out on the quad or in the town doing something for everyone to enjoy.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over twenty clubs available to students. There are many things to keep you busy and entertained throughout the week. From sororities and fraternities to Criminal Justice Club to Biology Club, we've got it all!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for introverted, shy students. It's a small town and small campus. But a very close-knit community. Everyone knows just about everyone so it feels like a family rather than getting lost in the crowd.

    Bang for the buck

    The bookstore has great deals on lots of items. Even those snack foods you crave at random times. No trip to Wal*Mart necessary! The bookstore just changed management this year and everything is so much more convenient and personalized for you school spirit.

    What to do for fun

    On campus, there are many shows and games to see. Clubs meet weekly and the dorms even have a few activities in the lounges. It's a quiet atmosphere but you can always play frisbee on the quad! As for the town, we have a local small-town movie theatre which shows 2-3 movies at a time. We do have 3-D! There are also two golf courses in town.

    Food and Dining

    Each day, there is a different main dish and the usual chicken patties, hamburgers, etc. It can get repetitive but it's better than nothing. And every Friday is pasta bar day. My friends and I are always looking forward to that! It may not be what big campuses have but it is good and there's always the option of Grab & Go which have sandwiches and salads.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are older but they are nice. The girl's dorm recently got new bathrooms so it's very nice even on the community side. The only issue, is the people sometimes like to bring their business into the halls--which can be entertaining at times. The RA's try to make life fun and have many social events in the lounge when they can.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging but still simple enough to pass, especially if it is a course you are passionate about. Come with an open mind because, yes, there are core classes you must take that you may not enjoy but it is a worthwhile experience!

    Tips for prospective students

    I came from a small school so attending MVC was a perfect transition for me. I'm very comfortable with the number of students here. If you are introverted or need a small starter school, this is the place to be! The town of Marshall is small and doesn't have the most things to offer. There is a movie theatre and Wal-Mart is the closest things to shopping for at least 30 minutes. But everything you need is available within a reasonable distance. Just be prepared to have movie weekends in your room or plan to travel to Sedalia, Columbia, or Kansas City for more adventure.

    In three sentences

    Missouri Valley cares deeply about its athletes and many things can be rearranged for the student-athletes. There are many clubs, activities, and sporting events going on weekly. The campus is small but full of life and excitement.

  • 02/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt unsafe.

    Great for these types of students

    athletes

    Bang for the buck

    No way is this education worth $29,000.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do on campus. I go and watch Theatrical productions, Improv shows, Family Fued, Bingo nights, movies on the quad. If you like to drink there is a couple bars in town that many go to on Wednesday nights.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food here. The selection is huge and there is ALWAYS soemthing for anyone. I do think they should be open later in the evening, dining hours are from 4:45- 6:45. They also have a speciality bar during lunch everyday which has included cheesecake bar, sunday bar, and carnival goodies.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very old and ran down. There is no wifi in the dorms. They rely on ethernet. Boys are not to stay in the girls dorms after 1 and before 10 a.m. My RA is very nice and lets us be somewhat loud.

    Academic Rigor

    All teachers I've had in my year of attendance have been patient and more than willing to help me succeed. They want you to ask for help and go out of their way to do so. If you aren't understanding a topic they will reexplain.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're an athlete this school is a perfect tip. I'd advise you visit the campus before deciding. In the girls dorms the closets are big enough to bring lots of clothes with you. I feel safe walking on campus at any time of day or night alone.

    In three sentences

    Great school for athletes or theatre majors. Almost all students are there to play a sport so dining times and teachers typically plan or are lenient towards them.

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tution with living is around 25000.

    What to do for fun

    Sports Rodeo

    Food and Dining

    Eat before the football team shows up.

    Dorm Life

    Small areas, but you make great friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Alot to handle, but is all worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard. The football program is a tough one.

    In three sentences

    Small town and not alot to do. Great sports programs and talented athletes. Keeps a person motivated to achieve.