Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Missouri Western State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 out of 18 people found this review useful. 1 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Missouri Western State University is great for middle class students and students who enjoy living in middle size cities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always arrive to classes on time and miss as few as possible. When and if you do miss a class, talk to a classmate or the professor in order to see what you missed. A lot of times the professors at Missouri Western will make exceptions for certain absences and allow you to make up the work. Also, do not buy your books before classes start. The professors are required to post a book online for their class but sometimes the professors do not actually require a book for the class. Many students do not buy their books until after the first couple of days of classes. I would suggest that students who are unfamiliar with the classes should walk the campus a few days before classes start in order to figure out where all of the buildings are located. Missouri Western's campus is very spread out and can sometimes be confusing.

    Bang for the buck

    Missouri Western State University seems to cost about $5,000 a year (in tuition only) without any scholarships. While this may seem expensive to some, this is very little compared to the amount a year that it costs for many other colleges. Missouri Western is a great college for those who don't have a lot of money to spend on college but still want to gain a great education.

    Am enjoying being here

    Not only is the amount of college students here just about perfect, but Saint Joseph has grown a lot in the last few years. Granted, Saint Joseph is small compared to many cities but there are plenty of shopping centers and great places to eat. Saint Joseph is the happy medium between small and large city colleges.

    Am learning a lot

    When I started college in the fall of 2008 I was really unsure of what my major was going to be and what I wanted to do for the rest of my life. Taking the general studies classes at Missouri Western has really helps students figure out what they enjoy and want to pursue. At Missouri Western everyone learns so much due to the great professors. Granted, not all the professors are wonderful but the majority of them are and they truly care about teaching and making sure every student in the class receives all of the materials and resources needed in order for them to succeed.

  • 06/09/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those that want to be on their own but sometimes get home sick. Those that want to stay close to home for a few years.

    Tips for prospective students

    Not very far from Kansas City, metro area.

  • 05/23/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    From what I understand, they have a great criminal justice department as well as a great English and Philosophy department (which is more my realm of interest).

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your options open, but know when to see a good deal when it finally arises!

    Bang for the buck

    Considering the options in Missouri, Mo West is one of the most affordable colleges around. I've looked at the other options (within a few hundred miles), and Mo West seems to offer one of the better options in its price range.

    Will enjoy being here

    I've grown up around St. Joseph, so I'm very familiar with the town itself. I've also attended functions at Mo West, so I'm familiar with the campus as well. I think that this will be a great school to earn a bachelor's degree.

    Will learn a lot

    From what I've heard from other students (including my sister), this is a great school to attain a degree. I am currently prospecting all of my options, but Mo West seems to be the best option for me (and not merely for proximity's sake). I am excited about the smaller classrooms and (from what I hear) the excellent teachers.

  • 12/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Education majors as well as all other majors. Students who want college to be a home away from home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with an open mind, positive attitude and all your stuff! Go out and meet new friends, join clubs, and get a quality education. There's something here for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    Out of state students can get a scholarship to get in-state tuition! There's plenty of scholarships, and its not that expensive. And you get good stuff- newspapers, cable TV, wi-fi, yearbook, free concession item at home sporting events. Its so worth it!

    Am enjoying being here

    There a hundreds of clubs and organizations on campus. There's always fun activities going on somewhere on campus. You just have to attack the oppurtunites.

    Am learning a lot

    Professors really break down the material for you. They go into great detail on everything so everyone can understand. They put supplemental material and notes from class online too.

  • 06/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    MO West is great if you want smaller class sizes. The biggest classes are lecture and they are not that big.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should go to class regularly, on time and ask for help if needed.

    Bang for the buck

    There are many scholarships that help make it more affordable for most people. I feel like I get a lot out of the money I am paying to go here.

    Am enjoying being here

    I found a group of people that I fit in with here. There is also a lot to do in town for fun. There are many groups on campus so everyone can find something to be a part of.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are helpful and try to make it so everyone understands. Most are available to help if you need it. Even though I feel like some of what I have learned so far was a review from high school, I still learned a lot.

  • 07/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for anyone, it is open to just about everybody.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just make sure you attend the classes. They have a pretty strict attendance policy and it really will help you in the long run.

    Bang for the buck

    Missouri Western is a lot cheaper than most universities, so there is plenty of bang for your buck.

    Am learning a lot

    I feel like I am learning a lot at this school. Most of my professors have been great, and they really know what they are talking about.

  • 02/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are very few reported crimes on campus. missouri western's police academy students provide security as well as paid security officers. saint joseph, missouri in general has a low crime rate compared to neighboring kansas city, and farther out cities like columbia and maryville.

    Greek Life

    there are several fraternities and sororities on campus to chose from. some have special requirements for entry others just have the basic satisfactory academic standing requirement which most groups on campus have. this requires students to maintain grades for approval and entry and continued participation in these programs.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are way too many to list. if you enjoy doing something, i'm sure there's a club or organization on campus to join that also has member who enjoy it.

    Great for these types of students

    there is a non-traditional student annex which offers assistance to non-trad students, such as scholarships, book vouchers and tutoring as well as other services. there is a multicultural center on campus as well as a ymca accredited and state licensed child care center located on campus. there's several opportunities for student involvement and employment.

    Bang for the buck

    tuition is increasing at almost every school across the country. missouri western offers relatively low costs compared to other schools in missouri. the bookstore pricing is a little high, but across campus there is a place called pass port where you can buy cheaper books and they will pay more than the bookstore to buy back your used books at semesters end.

    What to do for fun

    they have an on campus fitness center that is included with enrollment to the university and is free for students and select family members. memberships can also be purchased by alumni prior to graduating to continue a healthy life style. the have an out door pool and a could of indoor ones. it's centrally located in saint joseph, missouri close to the belt highway and frederick ave. which is where most everything in saint joseph is located. the mall is located on frederick ave. as well as many restaurants such as red lobster, whiskey creek, denny's, and hazel's coffee house. there are many motels located near by so visiting family can be close when they can visit. ramada inn has a new indoor/outdoor water park.

    Food and Dining

    missouri western has an amazing student dining area. they offer a buffet style option which is what is included in the meal plans but you do not need to be on a meal plan to eat there. they also have a quiznos on campus in the same area as the buffet. they have a pizza shop, and various other choices on campus to give variety. also most classroom buildings on campus have a small area where you can order hot food. selection choices will vary by building. this is convenient since you will most likely just have a 10 minute break between classes and may need to walk to another building.

    Dorm Life

    i have never personally lived in dorm since i have an exemption i mentioned above. however, i have several good friends that live in dorm and they all enjoy it. the university has several greek sororities and fraternities with members from all backgrounds that you can chose to get involved in. two new buildings were completed in 2011 that accepted students for housing this semester spring 2012. another building was completed in 2010 for student housing.

    Academic Rigor

    missouri western is an accredited school so they have guidelines they have to follow regarding the content contained in the courses they offer, as well as how long each course can be attempted by you. however, the courses are not designed to be difficult and many of the freshman and sophomore (100-200 level courses) are not difficult at all if you can apply yourself 100 percent. i would have to say the rigor of these courses are about the same compared to comparable universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    as with any college, make sure to complete your application for admissions on time or early if possible. take advantage of the oportunity to take a campus tour. even if you think you may not qualify for federal financial aid (government grants you do not have to repay) make sure to fill out and complete your fafsa online. you may qualify for loans or parent plus loans that will enable you or your parents to help contibute to the raising tuition rates. make sure you select missouri western as a prospective school so that they will be notified of your financial aid status. complete all of your admissions requirements such as enrolling with housing, tb testing if you live on campus (required of all freshman unless you have a qualified exception; marriage, kids, etc.), setting up a meal plan, meeting with financial aid and the business office, and other various things. admissions will let you know what you need to do and inform you of all deadlines to meet.

    In three sentences

    comprehensive courses with a wide selection of majors, minors, and a few certificate (2-year) programs. admission isn't competitive and is mostly open with their acceptance policy. the instructors have always been fair to me and are willing to work with you should a hardship of some kind come up in life.

  • 03/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    concerts are held and sports event for fun.

    Food and Dining

    missouri western have a best dining center in blum union. the decoration and the setting makes the place looks attractive and the food is of high quality.

    Academic Rigor

    professor provide challenging questions for homework to improve the understanding of chapter.

    In three sentences

    missouri western have the best learning environment. faculty are friendly and are able to help students when needed. career advisors are also really helpful.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have great security with our own campus police. There are security phones everywhere so if something happens, you can easily contact them.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students who want the university experience but don't want to pay the high tuition costs that most universities have and they have some really great programs that are really growing. Its also great because it's big enough to have a lot of fun stuff to do around campus but small enough that you can get to know students and professors more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On our campus we have a clock tower that you can walk under. Beneath it is the schools old emblem set in the concrete and they say that if you step on it, then you will never graduate.

    Bang for the buck

    The great thing about it is that it is a university so it has a lot of options for majors but at the same time it is really cheap compared to a lot of other universities. It cost less to go here out-of-state than to go to some schools in-state.

    What to do for fun

    They have all sorts of activities through out the year. If going and seeing sports like football or basketball isn't your thing, they have a lot of other fun stuff to do such as the zombie game which is played throughout the whole campus. Other fun things to do is to go plays or art shows and students get a discount on theatre performances.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of great options around the campus. You can either dine in the cafeteria or their are places where you can get different types of food. My favorite is eating at the deli, it has good food for a decent price and it's easy to stop at on your way to class.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun. You get a lot of options on where to live and none of the dorms have a community shower so you only have to share with up to four people. Dorms also often have activities going on that you can do when your not busy. The only downside is that the older dorms can get to be pretty cold since the heaters don't work as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses can be hard at times but teachers are usually willing to help in whatever way they need to and it usually helps to buddy up with people to study or work on homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. There is so much to do and its a great way to meet people. And also, class sizes are decently small so don't be afraid to use that to your advantage. Teachers are usually willing to help and you can get to know more students that you can buddy up with on projects and studying.

    In three sentences

    Missouri Western is a fun environment with a lot of school spirit. They offer a lot of interesting programs and classes that will help you reach your goal. The best part is that the price is really cheap for a university.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of sporting events that are very popular.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of options for food around campus and I've never been disappointed.

    Dorm Life

    Never lived in the dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    I transferred from a private college after 2 years and I have found that Missouri Westerns Curriculum is more difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you explore the different majors and directors of those departments. You may find it more enjoyable if you are in a department who is more willing and able to assist you.

    In three sentences

    Teachers in Criminal Justice Department are very willing and helpful. Financial Aide department not able to provide assistance. Overall friendly environment.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can go work out or there is plenty of stuff to do off campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to sleep on time and do your work

    In three sentences

    There is a very good learning environment. The teachers are very nice and helpful. Its a nice size campus.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus has many clubs and events to attend.

    Food and Dining

    There is a nice cafeteria on campus plus many restaurants to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, but it appears clean.

    Academic Rigor

    I have only been here for one semester. So far the classes I have taken have been well developed and delivered.

    Tips for prospective students

    Patience. Getting all signed up for school is exciting, but there is a process and lots of waiting.

    In three sentences

    This is a clean quiet school with good instructors. The campus layout is convenient. It is easy to get from one building to another.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    St. Joseph is not a good town for college students. There isn't a lot to do, just a couple of movie theaters.

    Food and Dining

    Unknown.

    Dorm Life

    Unknown.

    Academic Rigor

    So far my classes haven't been too difficult. I've actually had classes where the teacher didn't really teach anything. Books are required for classes but never used.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are in the area and want a low price, start here but if you can move to another school, do that.

    In three sentences

    There are not enough opportunities for Non-Traditional students to attend classes other then the general ed, not a lot of night or weekend classes. A good starting point for those right out of high school. Good price.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    business administration

    Tips for prospective students

    I think more students should try missouri western its Great!

    In three sentences

    missouri western seems to be a great school that wants to help me with my career in life, they have and online goldlink that is really helpful it shows me my information and what needs to be completed.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get involve

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm is fun and have a lot of activity.

    Academic Rigor

    Stay on top of your game

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involve and do not buy your books early, just wait until they assign books. Stay on top of your game. Study hard.

    In three sentences

    it a fun college, you even can get to meet the Kansas City Chiefs. Get involve.

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our Campus is very safe we rarely have and problems besides stealing. To prevent that you can go to the security office and sign up you possessions for a sticker with your name and info and i think a bar code or something so if anyone steals it and it is found they will know it is yours. We have emergency phones all over campus. You can get the Griff alert on your phones in case of a natural disaster. If the campus gets too dark on campus you can call security and they will send you a free escort. So MWSU is a very safe school.

    Greek Life

    We have a very nice greek life, there are not that many but they are all really cool! Everyone is very friendly and hazing of any kind is never allowed.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of activities and clubs. We have free sports games for students and a special program for close friends and families. There are always parties or events going on.

    Great for these types of students

    If your a christian or catholic or any religion there are several churches and clubs you can join. If you like planning events join WAC.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a clock tower and when you walk under it there is a stone kind of thing and EVERYONE walks around it. It is bad luck to step on it. Instead of calling our rooms dorms the school likes to call them residence halls.

    Bang for the buck

    Don't waste money on toiletries and such. The RA has a lot of it for free at the desk in your residence hall.

    What to do for fun

    You can never be bored here. There is always something to do. We have over 80 organizations you can join. We have a gym to work out in, a library to study in, several places off campus to just chill. In each Residence hall there is a sort of living room that you can meet people, watch television or play video games. There are almost always parties or events going on during the day. Such as a foam party of BBQ.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining here is not the best quality but there is definitely quantity. In our cafeteria we have a buffet all day long every day. From a salad bar to a stir fry counter, pasta and pizza, dessert and unlimited soda machine. We also have little stores all around campus such as Quiznos or coffee shops, and even a mini grocery store. We also have vending machines in every building including residence halls. Even better there is a list of places that deliver!

    Dorm Life

    Residence life is pretty amazing! You can choose from different styles of rooms from suites to small bunk bed room. The RA's are really nice and fun. There are always people here if you get lonely, but everyone also respects everyone's privacy and quiet time.

    Academic Rigor

    We are very serious about our education here so if your going to college to goof off all of the time and not work this is not the place to be. The teacher really care about your success and they will try everything to make sure you succeed (if they know you are actually trying). There are people here for tutoring and time management and counseling, so whatever you need there is someone here for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely take a tour of the campus. They will show you anything you want to and they will answer all of your questions. They can even let you sample one of the classes. Talk to a lot of people and get their opinions and also try to find information about all of our clubs.

    In three sentences

    Missouri Western is a safe and friendly college. We are a dry college which means no alcohol. Everyone wants to make sure you are settling in great and doing your best with your education.

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Missouri Western has campus police patrolling campus 24-7. It's a safe campus in a good trusted area.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is great! If you are looking for a social sorority or fraternity, or a business, sorority or fraternity, then you came to the right campus! If you are interested in an all black sorority/fraternity then we have that too!

    Clubs and Activities

    From clubs for only girls to only boys, from athletic clubs to band clubs. There are clubs for anyone and anything. They have clubs for your major, so that you can meet people with the same interests and goals as you!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any type of student!

    Bang for the buck

    Missouri Western is a school that is reasonably priced, and that allows you to expand you educational goal. You are able to experience college at its best at Missouri Western. Its a fun school that is just the right size for anyone!

    What to do for fun

    On campus living is what MWSU is all about. The have activities going on thought the week, as well as student programs that allow you to get involved in and make easy friends. Its a smaller college so you are able to meet a lot of people wile going out and having a good time. Bowling, movies, bars for those of you who are 21 and up.

    Food and Dining

    All housing includes meal plans so that you can never go hungry. The food is my favorite part about the school . From our all you can rat cafertia, to out flex card food. Quiz-nos subs, burger studios, Eisenstein bagels, to our C-store that is like a min mart.

    Dorm Life

    This has to be the best part about Missouri Western State University. The dorms/halls are huge and new. They allow you to pick your roommate and or they can even room you with similar people that are interested in your major. You also have the option of on campus apartment living, it is new and beautiful.

    Academic Rigor

    Great school with several different programs. Its a smaller college, but it allows you to really do well in your classes and ask for help when needed. The best part of all. your teachers actually learn your name!

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a a fun school with lots to do. There are great educational activities and programs to get involved in at MWSU.

    In three sentences

    Amazing programs with a simple registration process that takes only minutes. The helpful administration, counselors, and teachers make Missouri Western State University a great school that allows you to expand your higher educational goals. I give MWSU A 10 out of 10!

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is very good but the camera's do not work half the time.

    Greek Life

    They just recently allowed Greek living here on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a broad assortment of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students.

    Bang for the buck

    Missouri Western is an expensive school there are not many scholarships for the less privileged students.

    What to do for fun

    St. Joseph is a fun town if you stay in the right side of it there are also good opportunities with the student government.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is good but there are not many options but the food is not that great on the weekends if stuck on campus.

    Dorm Life

    They recently added a new dorm it is a nice place to stay but a long walk, it is also only open to upperclassmen. The other dorms are alright but in need of some maintenance.

    Academic Rigor

    The teacher push the students and are available to help out of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to the professors they are more than willing to help anyone.

    In three sentences

    Missouri Western is a wonderful school with great opportunities. I am a Wildlife Conservation Major Missouri Western is one of the top schools for this major. I would recommend this school for anyone in the Biology field of study.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are into gaming, then you might want to look into the gamers guild. If you are into writing then you want to look into Writer's circle. If you are into anime like a lot of my friends are, then you want to look into Anime club.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are annual mini carnivals here.

    Bang for the buck

    Almost everything here is expensive.

    What to do for fun

    There are usually people to hang with here, so you usually can always find someone to talk to. There are a lot of a campus game nights, sport games, costume parties and dance parties. Not to mention there are some nice outdoor facilities to use around the dorms.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty expensive here unfortunately. Not to mention you don't get a menu letting you know what the foods being served will be, so you kind of have to expect random items. Finally they usually keep the foods being served the same, so you'll probably memorize and know what will be served on what days and what times.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, so I can't really say too much on this, but I can say there are usually people to hang with here, so you usually can always find someone to talk to. There are a lot of a campus game nights, sport games, costume parties and dance parties. Not to mention there are some nice outdoor facilities to use around the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of the teachers really take pride in their jobs, so it's hard to get your questions and concerns taken care of. The teachers are also good about responding to emails and keeping appointments with you. So overall if you are looking for a challenging atmosphere of learning with reliable teachers, then I would strongly recommend attending here for college.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say that as long you come in the right attitude you will enjoy attending Missouri Western State University. All you will need is dedication and be quick about getting work done. The last things students will need will be patience and to ask questions whenever they are confused or just sure about something. As you follow this basic tips, you will be fine (just remember to study and finish homework quickly).

    In three sentences

    I would say that as long you come in the right attitude you will enjoy attending Missouri Western State University. All you will need is dedication and be quick about getting work done. The last things students will need will be patience and to ask questions whenever they are confused or just sure about something.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A lot of campuses only have a campus security, at MWSU , we have an actual police force. Not only are there police patrolling the parking lots 24/7 there are emergency stands throughout the campus that have emergency call buttons and alarms in case of danger, the police will be there in seconds.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life at MWSU is something to see. All of the Greeks are really nice even if you're not involved directly, you still get invited to things. If you are even slightly interested, RUSH! It's not something you wanna pass up.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone at MWSU. We have everything from Greek Life to a talented theater program!

    Great for these types of students

    This college has an instant acceptance policy. If you have a high school diploma, you can go to college here. It's a great place for second chances, new beginnings or just to keep on keepin' on.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you step on the University seal under the clock tower, you will flunk out of college! Don't do it! The night before the big homecoming game, we burn the mascot of the opposite school!

    Bang for the buck

    Not only is MWSU a wonderful environment, it's also affordable. It is under half the price of a lot of school in the same area. MWSU also offers a ton of scholarships and even accepts A plus. Why break the bank when you can put it in the bank?

    What to do for fun

    MWSU offers intramurals everything from volleyball to football. There are multiple beautiful lakes on campus and trails, you are welcome to explore. MWSU has too many organizations to list. Get involved there is something for everyone!

    Food and Dining

    MWSU is all about good food to eat. Visit the cafeteria it's an all-you-can-eat buffet! You'll find everything pizza, pasta, even Mongolian Barbeque! The food doesn't stop there. You don't have to eat there. You can go to the burger shop, subway, Einsteins bagels, we even have our own little convenience store that has college student hours. Open until 3a.m!!

    Dorm Life

    All of the dorms at MWSU are pretty nice. Living at a dorm is like having a second family. Everyone is friends with everyone else. It's always a party.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes at MWSU will keep you thinking, but nothing you can't handle. All professors have specified office hours, so you can go ask them anything. There is even a Student Center that offers free tutoring and supplies for projects and studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't step on the seal under the clock tower! There are free to use printers in every academic building! Get involved MWSU is so inviting.

    In three sentences

    Missouri Western State University has a beautiful campus. MWSU is very diverse and welcomes students from all walks of life. Everyone comes together as a griffon.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You're more likely to get a parking ticket than to run into safety issues.

    Greek Life

    Sororities on campus are rude. I've watched girls cheat on tests and walk out of the class in the middle of lecture. When the teacher asked where they were going they rudely said, Chipotle, like it was acceptable to get up and disrupt class.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs, but the contact information on the website is hard to find, if it's updated or listed at all. It's also very hard and time-consuming to start a club. You have to jump through a ton of hoops. My club opted to just be a department sponsored group,

    Great for these types of students

    Those who are looking for an easy ride through college. If you're serious about college, I would go somewhere where your degree will be worth more. I am in the process of trying to transfer universities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't step on the seal under the clock tower until you graduate. The clock tower plays a different song (tune) every fifteen minutes.

    What to do for fun

    St Joseph is very into food. If you like going out to eat or to the bars, that's about the only thing St Joseph has to offer. 2 bowling alleys, both are smoking. 1 mini golf course that's only open when the weather's good.

    Food and Dining

    Only a few to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    New dorms look nice, but they are way too far away from everything. The campus used to be a walking campus because everything was close. The advertisement says the new dorm is just over the hill from the sports complex, when really students ride bikes, scooters, and skateboards to get there. It would probably take you a good ten to fifteen minutes to walk.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of professors are too easy. It makes college a joke when everyone gets accepted and you're stuck in a class with ten people who really shouldn't be there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at all options before considering Missouri Western. The administration won't work with you on anything. It's like pulling teeth to get anything.

    In three sentences

    I originally planned to go to Missouri Western because it was more affordable to pay out-of-state tuition there than to pay in-state tuition where I was. After I got there, Missouri Western broke the law by raising tuition on it's student's higher than the consumer price index during a tuition freeze mandated by the governor. After receiving punishment in the form of a budget cut, Missouri Western's fees skyrocketed (because that's technically not raising tuition) and instead of admitted fault, Missouri Western tried to turn the governor into a bad person when he was looking out for the student's and Missouri Western is the one who broke the law.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Missouri Western is great for any type of student. Take me for example, I moved from St. Louis, MO to St. Joesph, MO. I went from big to small and I have adjusted and to my surprise i actually like it. It is a great school once you give it a chance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Your should always be on time for class even if it's an early class remember the early bird gets the worm. You should also take full advantage of the library. You may not think it's cool to sit in a library all day, but trust me you can get a lot done in there especially if you put on your headphones and work as if no one is around you. Also, do not procrastinate. Always do your work on time! You don't want to have to stay up all night just to finish a project you have known about for two weeks. That's not good because all you do is not go to class the next day or sleep in that class, which leads to you missing important assignments. Also, never cram for a final set up a schedule ahead of time, so you'll be prepared and well rested.

    Bang for the buck

    Missouri Western has the totally package including a perfect cost for attendence. The tution cost is about 6,000 give or take a semster. You may think this is a lot, but that's because you haven't looked at a lot of other schools yet. This is fairly cheap especially in my opinion because if you know your school is paid for that eliminates stress and puts more focus on your school work.

    Am enjoying being here

    Arriving at Missouri Western located in St. Joseph, Mo in Fall 2011 I didn't know what to expect. I had never been on a tour and I missed registration. I didn't even know what the town looked like. I was moving four and a half hours away from home and I was sure I would hate it, but to my surprise I am actually enjoying Missouri Western. The quiet and small town is a great environment and a perfect place to put a school. The small town helps you focus on why you are there to begin with and everyone needs a little reminder from time to time.

    Am learning a lot

    Missouri Western is a small university everyone knows everyone. Some may think that's a bad thing, but surprisingly it's great. When I say everyone knows everyone that includes professors. The classes vary. Some are small and some are medium, but the classes aren't too large where the professor doesn't know who you are. They know your name and face and this makes college a lot easier. It's good to know that you can ask your professor a question and they actually want to help you. This makes learning better.

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i have joined a sorority. my sisters are wonderful and very supportive.

    Food and Dining

    a buffet style cafeteria is available.

    Dorm Life

    i only lived in the dorms my freshman year. however, i still have friends that i met while living there.

    Academic Rigor

    the professors will work with you if you are having difficulty in their course. free tutoring is also available. i find the coursework challenging but not overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved and meet people - this will be you home away from home. stay focused on what is important - your classes.

    In three sentences

    missouri western state university is just the right size. the professors and advisers spend time with you when needed. the students are friendly and outgoing. i recommend this university to everybody

  • 02/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the local mall and movie theater are local hot spots. there are also many nice walking trails.

    Dorm Life

    i am off campus.

    In three sentences

    missouri western is a very nice, clean, and professional college. it is small enough to offer you one on one attention, but also large enough to help you meet people and have many experiences. finally, missouri western is a great place to be because it offers reasonable tuition and up to date facilities.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    join greek life, a business fraternity, play collegiate sports

    Food and Dining

    the food is limited and after being here four years it will probably get old but for now it isn't too bad.

    Dorm Life

    i love living in the dorms especially since my walk to class is very short.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are hard but i have heard some teachers are a little harder when you have 300+ students in the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    living on campus is a lot easier because the parking is limited for off-campus students.

    In three sentences

    missouri western is a great school with an awesome community. the campus is beautiful and it is very easy to get around. also, the teachers and students are always there for you.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Missouri Western hosts all types of events on and off campus. Along with the University, St. Joseph is a great place to spend your college career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just like every college it is important to get involved. Western offers many diverse organization, many sporting teams, student government, and greek life. If your looking for personal attention this is the university for you. All professors are ready and willing to help you with homework, deciding a major, and after college plans. Professors are understanding of the busy college life so don't be afraid confide in professors and build a relationship with them.

    In three sentences

    Describing the greatness of Missouri Western in just three sentences in nearly impossible. Western offers everything a big university will at half the price and conveys a family atmosphere. Joining the Western family was the greatest decision I ever made.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great, if at any time you feel out of ease walking from class the have spots set up that call security and they will walk you back to your dorm.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is great Phi Delta Theta is the way to go but they are all great.

    What to do for fun

    Join greek life, attend sporting events and attend parties.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't bad the only problem is its the same thing everyday.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really nice and feels like your own with the space you get,

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are top notch.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get Involved.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful and everything is fairly close. All the teachers are extremely helpful. Plenty of things to do to get involved.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have a few friends that work for campus security and they have many benefits to our campus such as: escorting services and curtsy patrols. The officers on campus are really helpful and easy to talk to.

    Greek Life

    I am not apart of Greek Life but I am involved in other things on campus such as Western Activities Council and a new organization on campus that I started myself: Colleges Against Cancer.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a director to Western Activities Council, where I am in charge of Educational events.

    Great for these types of students

    We have non-traditional, part time, full time and international students all on our campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Western Activities Campus started a tradition to have a black light party at the beginning of the school year.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that our student fees are a little excessive for campus.

    What to do for fun

    I am apart of Western Activities Council and we put on all activities and events that are on campus. I also have started a new organization on campus, a chapter from American Cancer Society, Colleges Against Cancer.

    Food and Dining

    Aramark is our catering for our campus dinning. The food is decent but is limited.

    Dorm Life

    I lived on campus my first year, in Scanlon Hall. Most of the freshman lived in Scanlon so it was easier to meet freshman my age. My second year I moved off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The library is a really helpful place to have study time and focus on your academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips I would give would to rely on the library and those who are in the Student Academic Center who are really there to help you. Talk with you professors because most of them are really willing to meet with you on their office hours.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy Missouri Western State University's helpful study rooms, and encouraging professors to come in during their office hours for help. All the buildings are relatively close to one another and in walking distance. I really enjoy the library when there is multiple study rooms and quite places for isolation.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is top notch, for at Missouri Western the campus safety are actual Police Officers. The city of Saint Joesph lends the University a squad of their finest officers to patrol the campus throughout the day.

    Great for these types of students

    Based on what your major is, Missouri Western has a lot of clubs many of which relate to the majors allowing you to earn a little bit more education and it's free.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition at Missouri Western is the lowest in the state of Missouri for Division 2 schools. Also if you are a Missouri high school student then you are eligible for the A+ program which grants you all your tuition paid for, for the first couple semesters.

    What to do for fun

    At Missouri Western you can take part in fraternities/sororities, clubs, and flag football, which is a personal favorite of mine.

    Food and Dining

    I've only eaten the food from the cafeteria area once but I can say it was good, but it seemed a lot like high school food to me. Just you have a wider variety of food.

    Dorm Life

    Life in the dorms is nice. I personally don't live in the dorms, but I do have many friends that do. Every time I go to hang out at their dorms, the halls are filled with students who are enjoying their time at Missouri Western.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Missouri Western are truly amazing the teachers are relaxed and down to earth and are always there to help when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus size there is not to big so classes are near by, so you won't have to run all the way to class. Be sure to always have your books, having a backpack to carry all of them is quite handy.

    In three sentences

    Missouri Western State University is a top notch quality school. Full of rich tradition and passionate students, looking to further their education. Not to mention the Football there is spectacular with an atmosphere full of Black and Gold.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    its very safe and you don't have to worry about anything happening.

    Greek Life

    I am apart of Alpha Omega which is a Christian organization its not Greek but its a sorority!

    Clubs and Activities

    they have on campus christian bible studies that i attend when i have time, its on Thursdays daily.

    Food and Dining

    they give you a very good options of food to choose from, from a buffet in the cafeteria or other restaurants on campus

    Dorm Life

    its very home feeling, if you have a roommate/suite mate you will eventually become like family.

    Academic Rigor

    they our very strict but its very helpful, makes students strive for excellence!

    In three sentences

    When i first came to visit this school i fell in love with everything they had to offer. It have this home feeling and everyone become family on campus. They have the best programs in Missouri and willing to help you with anything!

  • 03/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared and take your classes seriously. The teachers here generally want to see you succeed but do not take that for granted. They work hard and expect you to do the same. Use the CAS center. It is there to help you with your studies and it is free to use! Take advantage of that!

    In three sentences

    Missouri Western State University is overall a good school. The teachers that I have had for my previous classes were very helpful and caring. The campus is beautiful and the students are friendly.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    32 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Dorms require pass key to get into

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Symbol under the bell tower that supposedly keeps you from graduating on time.

    Food and Dining

    Very Nice Cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorms are Very small.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't really know much about this one

    In three sentences

    Nice Campus. Alot of new Places. Somehwhat small dorms

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    33 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe and they have campus security but you can never be too carfeul.

    Greek Life

    They have sororities and fratornities but I don't know tha much about them.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a bunch of clubs and activities to do year round so take advantage of this to make new friends and to explore your interests.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a small campus feel with a more intimate class setting. Don't slack off. Take advantage of this to do homework, study, and ask for help if you need it. College is only as hard as you make it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I dont know of any traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    I live in Florida and Missouri Western is extremely cheap for out-of-state students like myself. Going to school in Florida can be real expensive.

    What to do for fun

    They have a ton a clubs and activities to do so you should complain about being bored.

    Food and Dining

    Since I have not been to the campus I can not give you a real review of the campus dining. I just hope to God that it is digestible.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't visited the campus yet so I have no idea how dorm life is. I have peers who tell me that it is clean and isn't cramped.

    Academic Rigor

    I've heard that the teachers at Missouri Western are fairly easy. Don't jump for joy at this comment. You want a college that has professors that will challenge your views and the way you think inordr to be a top contendant for graduate level. But I've also heard that they do have some that will not let you just get by.

    Tips for prospective students

    You can never be certain about any college, come with an open mind.

    In three sentences

    Missouri Western seems to have a very earthy feel to it. You will have teachers that really care but it's up to you to to make it worthwhile.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has police security 24 hours a day

    Greek Life

    I'm not into Greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many activities and clubs to take part in

    Bang for the buck

    My advise is to exhaust all your options on campus

    What to do for fun

    there's many different clubs that you can join if you want.

    Food and Dining

    There's several different place you can choose from or you can eat in the cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is tedious

    Tips for prospective students

    You should have a plan on what way your heading in on your career path. If you think you're having problem in a class you should immediately go to the CAS for free tutoring.

    In three sentences

    Missouri Western is a place to attend school. They are willing to help you with financial, admissions, advisement. You actually have a personal advisory that will help you with any questions

  • 08/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 38

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    MWSU was awesome for getting credits while still in high school. I really enjoyed everything they had to offer and what I was able to take out of the classes.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Walter Kronkite was born in St. Joseph and MWSU just made an interesting memorial to him.

    Bang for the buck

    I am really glad to be a student here. I think that the experience is definitely worth the money. I would recommend this school to anyone, young or old (like me) who is looking to start college.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many student organizations, you should never be bored. This school is always putting on movie nights, they have a theatre department that has wonderful plays that are available for students and public. There is no shortage of fun at MWSU.

    Food and Dining

    Not only does MWSU have a regular cafeteria, there are several small restaurants on campus. Also St. Joseph has a myriad of restaurants all nearby.

    Dorm Life

    I really don't know because I live off campus, but I often wish that I could live on campus. This school has MANY amenities for students who live on campus. I sometimes feel like I miss out on a lot of things because I don't live on campus. If you have the opportunity to do this, take it.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging coursework, but not so difficult you are set up to fail. Teachers are very willing to help if you are willing to work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class!! How can you learn if you are not in class? I think a lot of students, especially those coming straight out of high school, don't realize the importance of attendance. You are paying for this education, get the most out of it you can!

    In three sentences

    Very fun and student oriented! Love this school! Everyone is willing to help!

  • 02/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Missouri Western may be a pretty penny to some, but the opportunities are there for a person to reduce the price of college if they apply and are willing to work hard.

    What to do for fun

    St. Joseph has many attractions from parks, museums, walking trails, movies, and other various events. The campus always has something on the calender to do somewhere on campus whether it be Res. Life., Student Affairs, one of the hundreds of campus clubs, or University staff.

    Food and Dining

    Missouri Western has it's own dining services which caters all of the events on campus, including the cafeteria. The cafateria has tons of options and is all-you-can-eat. Missouri Western also has the food court in the union which changes restaurants on a bi-year basis, and has an Einstein Bros. Bagels, two coffee shops, and a deli on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Residential life is a great aspect to look at when looking at college. Missouri Western has done a great job with the lay out of their Res. Life buildings and the staff is awesome. There are programs going on weekly which allow residents to relax, learn something new, and meet other residents. It truly becomes a home away from home.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses are strenuous and push a person, others are a walk in the park. But that is life, right? I know all of my teachers fairly well and they are always willing to help. Some material is hard to understand, but read the book and talk to people and the puzzle pieces come together. I give Missouri Western a thumbs up in the curriculum the professors work with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask questions, make friends, and become familiar with campus. As a freshman I moved in early for orientation and took the day before classes to just walk around and become familiar with the sidewalks and how the buildings were laid out. The first couple times for supper I sat with people I didn't know, and I talked to my suite mates and room mate on facebook to get to know them. It helped a lot especially because no one from my high school came to the college I went to.

    In three sentences

    Missouri Western gives everyone an opportunity to excel in whatever major they choose. The campus has has a great atmosphere for college life, especially in the resident halls. The professors are always willing to help, no matter the problem or question, and want to see young individuals excel and become knowledgable in their major.

  • 06/30/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    38 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    too many cops honestly but it's nice to know they're always around.

    Greek Life

    Greeks are everywhere but the actual greek life is shotty. There are no actual houses just designated dorms for the specified greeks and the numbers are small. They are involved or in charge of EVERYTHING though, the greeks basically run all events and they do a pretty good job.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are TONS of clubs and such and if you get involved it might not be so bad but if you're just trying to focus on school and a job this is not the place for you.

    Bang for the buck

    you definitely get your moneys worth here, its cheap and you can tell.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing. This isn't really a college town at all. This town is for like retired people who enjoy moseying around. The cops will bust a party, there is only one mall and it's big with barely any stores in it, downtown is a joke because it's really just old buildings with a seedy hookah bar and museums.

    Food and Dining

    The food is bland. There is little to no variety and sometimes the meals are just strange. One night they served refried beans and eggs... that was it.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms smell terribly. Scanlon is the newest and the fire alarms are going on constantly for septic floods or some kids smoking in their room. The projects or the apartment style buildings are also infested with bugs and the hot water rarely works there. I've had friends come to my room (at scanlon) to shower just because there was no hot water anymore.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are a joke, I was able to not have any books and still pass my classes with an A. The hardest part is the amount of work assigned rather than the level of difficulty. These are also for entry level classes since I won't be going back.

    In three sentences

    More like in three words: Dirty, Slow, and Ghetto.