Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Mitchell College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/21/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Gifted and talented,students who learn in different ways, that want to obtain their cerficate, B.S,B.A,A.S,or Graduate degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider the campus were you not just a number...to get all your professors home number,play interamural Division III sports.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes you will get lots of guidance with a we wont let you fail attitude including your own desire to learn. However quality & state of the art has never been cheap. You get what you pay for.

    Will enjoy being here

    If you need or prefer the a cozy one on one atmosphere. Little distractions. Oh did I mention the college has it's own private beach.

    Will learn a lot

    The administrators are hands on. The grading system for the first year has a sub quarterly progress report prior to each marking period to track how well acedemic wise you are progressing.

  • 04/03/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Have a hard time getting into other colleges,Mitchell gives you a chance to succeed,.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have a car(at least),make sure you have good communication with your roomate(s)

    Bang for the buck

    This school is very expensive is is 39,039 a yr., If you have a learning disability you can add about 6,000 on top of that.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is pretty small, living on campus everyone goes home on the weekend,there is a free shuttle that takes you to certain places but it only runs two times a week and not on the weekends,there isnt really anything to do here,not really that much fun

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are amazing, you can discuss things if you have a question,teachers know what they are doing. Great support for students with learning difficulties. The first year was pretty easy.

  • 01/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to learn in a friendly enviornment and want to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    College looks like a scary place for anyone who starts off, but after the first few times going to classes it feel like routine. Don't think of it as work but as a place where you are trying to stimulate your mind.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel I am getting the education I am paying for.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people are fun to be around.

    Am learning a lot

    I have been learning something new everyday since attending classes. The environment definitely meant for learning.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is good for all types of student who enjoy learning and making friends. I am a more shy type of person but am able to make friends and get the education I need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you love the beach air and really want to learn and have fun.

    Bang for the buck

    No College is cheap but for a private College like Mitchell it's affordable. In scholarships and grants alone I get $15,000 because I got the assistants from the financial aid office.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being at Mitchell it's a relaxed environment. You make plenty of friends while getting a good education, tutors there to help whenever, and your own private beach to kick back and relax on in the summer time.

    Am learning a lot

    Because the classrooms has no more then 25 students in each it makes it easier to get the help needed by the professor and the independence to learn, work, and grow on your own.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very helpful, if you have an bad leg or anything they drive you to your class, if anything get stolen they also try to find out who did it i feel very protect it.

    Clubs and Activities

    They are a lot of different club in Mitchell College, Science, drama, dance, sports, so many clubs and activities and you never bored because they always have a lot of trips etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well it is in front of the beach and i love it everyday it a beautiful view.

    Bang for the buck

    To be honest i had never here that Bang.

    What to do for fun

    Campus tries to give a lot of activities to the students, so you never bored.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good, they try to change it up everyday.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms could be better.

    Academic Rigor

    I like it, very good programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never fall behind on your work, Mitchell is a great place to be with good teacher that help you in everything you need.

    In three sentences

    Good, Helpful, Expensive.

  • 07/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    great for students who want smaller classes and need extra support.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy your time at Mitchell! My freshman year went by so fast and it was great!

    Bang for the buck

    its expensive lol. The only thing i don't like is that there is a shuttle that only comes twice a week and its hard to get on there because its so small. So if you don't have a car its tough to go off campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here! Met my best friend here, very pretty campus.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot while being at Mitchell because the classes are so small and the professors are wonderful. They take the time to go over materials with the students. They really care about you.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is there.. Even when you may not want them to be.

    Clubs and Activities

    a Great number of clubs that continue to grow each year.

    Great for these types of students

    If your the type of student that likes to be interactive and likes small setting mitchell will be great for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Campus has woods which also has a small Creek.

    What to do for fun

    Join Groups and Organizations to stay active. or play intramural sports. there are constantly things to do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Exceptional Food, and Sandella's cafe that i highly recommend!

    Dorm Life

    Double rooms that are spacious enough if used the right way. Also many activities put on by Res life to keep students active in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    With every school there are good professors and not so good professors. But at Mitchell i would like to say that most of the professors know what they are doing and try their best to make sure you get what you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and get active asap to ensure a good experience.

    In three sentences

    Mitchell College is a very small but interactive school. In a quiet area of New London, CT. small class sizes make it easier to know your teachers and have a better understanding of learning.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety security guards are there for a own protection their friendly and approachable

    Greek Life

    There are no Greek life or fraternities/Sororities at Mitchell college

    Clubs and Activities

    I was elected as freshman class president Clubs and activities is what you make of it that all about having the right attitude

    Bang for the buck

    Mitchell is definitely on the pricey side but at the end of the day it's definitely worth it

    What to do for fun

    If you make the right friends will never truly be bored (by yourself anyway) you'll always be with them or someone, for one thing I've come to realize the relationships you have a college the matter how short you've really known them don't feel like you've known for years

    Food and Dining

    Nothing beats home cooked meals. But for college campus it's a eatable

    Dorm Life

    Dorm rooms are bigger than most colleges that I visited you learn a lot about yourself, it's an experience that everyone needs to go through as at least once in their life I've had a mixture of good times and bad living on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    The people you meet their are like no other, have your books than any other school supplies as soon as possible. Always keep your of the bigger picture.

    In three sentences

    I am a returning student to Mitchell college I went there the fall of 2010 I'd transfer the following year and I realize there's no place like Mitchell the staff the individual help the small class sizes it's all very conducive to my learning style

  • 12/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a beautiful beach near campus and it is very clean. Nice place to hang out with your friends on quietly study if many other people aren't there. A quick walk up the street is also a Michael's Dairy where you can have ice cream and socialize with other students from campus. There is plenty to do if you want to just get out and get to know other students!

    Dorm Life

    I have seen the dorms and they are quite clean and look very comfortable. I will not be living in one only because I live so close to the school, but if I didn't I definitely wouldn't mind living on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    A few tips for prospective students, make sure you visit the campus. It will give you a feel of how it is or will be. It also gives you an opportunity to meet with current students at the school so you can ask any questions you have about the environment or anything.

    In three sentences

    The school campus is beautiful! It's not too big or too small, it's perfect. The staff and students are all so friendly and are more than willing to help you with anything you may be needing assistance with. I would rate this school a perfect ten!

  • 09/21/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I am a high school student in my senior year starting to look at colleges. I was wondering if there is a way to get some essay questions Mitchell have to offer so I know what I have to include in an application.

  • 06/30/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe for all students especially during the night time. During orientation on of the student stated that if you have a job off campus or you were at the library late and it appears darker than before there's a special number to contact where an security can walk you to your location. Its safe area.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have multiple activity anyone can do on campus. You could volunteer if you'll like and there are clubs and sports one can participate in. They just started Lacrosse which personal I am interested in, the great part is that you can train to be good at a sport you never tried before the coaches are great help. One of the activity a student can do is be an assistance to the coaches.

    What to do for fun

    Their are activities on campus that helps you meet other people and travel everywhere else. They have student discount where gives the student less to pay for afield trip like watching the Yankees game or going to Six Flags, or even heading to New York on a shopping spree. Its a wonderful experiences and anyone can attend.

    Food and Dining

    Mitchell College provide a lot of varieties on campus. You have a minimum of money on your student card for food and its a great deal when it comes to breakfast, lunch and dinner.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life, I visit the college for orientation and staying there its makes me feel like an adult. I have to take care of anything and I have never had the experience of sharing a room with someone I have no idea of their potential. It was interesting its a great way to meet new people and it makes you face life earlier on how it will be meeting new people and working with them.

    Tips for prospective students

    College has multiple students around the world going to a college you are attending to, if you have a slight fear of classroom size, Mitchell gives you the amount of students in a classroom that. Its too small but not too big you can feel comfortable working in a classroom where there's more than a hundred kids in a class your taking.

    In three sentences

    I feel Mitchell College has a great environment for any student around the world to come and participate in their community. They are very activity in their community by using emails to keep all students aware of anything on campus and any activity happening off campus.

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    they have dance team, rugby, basketball, lacrosse, soccer, baseball, softball and many more

    What to do for fun

    there is the beach and lots of night clubs around. also if you find the right group of friends you will always have something fun to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food options could be better. they dont vary much but there are many cheap restaurants around campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small unless you live in the suites. and they do get very strict about what you can have and can not have in the dorms other than that they are nice and always clean.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically the classes are perfect for everyone and the teachers are always there to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    For future students i would defiantly suggest that you have a car on campus if possible. also i would try to meet as many friends as possible. the more people you know and the ones you feel more comfortable with the more fun you will have.

    In three sentences

    Mitchell College is a very well rounded school. They have multiple cultures and many learning opportunities. The teachers and staff at the school are very helpful and know exactly what they are talking about unlike other schools.

  • 06/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is multiple things to do around campus for fun. There is the Yarnell center, where the gym can be found. There is a place to play basketball with friends or even workout. There is a student center on campus, where students can play games and be involved with numerous activities around campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dinning at the school is pretty good. The meals are changed everyday and their is a wide variety to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are pretty big and well organized for students.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at this school really do challenge students and do their best to help students succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not get caught up in bad company or activities. Always be on top of your school work. Study! Study! and Study!

    In three sentences

    It is a very small school and I find it to be amazing. It is very easy to get work done due to the fact that it is a small school, common college interruptions are limited here. It is very good school, all the professors here do their best to help a student excel not only academically but also personally.