Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Mitchell Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/17/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Researching this school

    Will enjoy being here

    Researching this schoool

    Will learn a lot

    Researching this school

  • 11/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who doesn't want to feel like a number. It's also great for students who like a comfortable laid back atmosphere.

    Am enjoying being here

    The college atmosphere here is great! The small classes let me feel like I'm not just a number at the school and that I am an individual that that will be remembered by my professors. There is a comfortable atmosphere and everyone is nice and the professors are just as comfortable.

    Am learning a lot

    My first semester here and I already love it. The professors know what they're talking about and I am, for sure, learning a lot.

  • 01/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    mitchell is great for students that are unconventional, i.e. those who are single parents, furthering their education, or even still in high school.

    What to do for fun

    statesville is a quaint town with a gorgeous main street and yummy food.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    you do not have to buy the books for your course at the bookstore on campus, feel free to find the books cheaper online though you risk having an out of date version.

    In three sentences

    all staff here is very friendly; they made it easy to transition from highschool. i appreciate the nonchalance of the professors. they create a stress-free environment which encourages us to repay them with our intellectual fervor.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are campus security guards who make regular rounds around campus and the parking lot.

    Greek Life

    no greek

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of clubs to choose from depending on the activities that you like to participate in either as a hobby or as a career.

    What to do for fun

    they do have some fun activities presented by the clubs on campus.

    Food and Dining

    no food available.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    it really depends on the class you take.

    Tips for prospective students

    sign up early. buy books online. attend all of classes. ask other students who is the best teacher for what class.

    In three sentences

    mitchell is good place to get started or to continue your education. it prepares you for college. also you can save money on a four year college by attending a two year community college.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great safety

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs to Join.

    Bang for the buck

    A great outdoors with beautiful flowers and cazeboos on every corner. Great place to meet individuals and make new friends.

    What to do for fun

    club/organization involvement. pinball, student union center, large televison, bookstore.

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines, truck with out food and low prices. Food rating a 75 becuase there needs to be a cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Off campus, but there are apartments that are available for on campus students.

    Academic Rigor

    I would give this college a 100

    Tips for prospective students

    I would reccomend this college if you are planning to attend for a diploma,certificate or an associates degree.

    In three sentences

    Good community college with great opportunities and good avisors.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    walking and the games in the union

    Food and Dining

    lacking but you are in down town so you can always find lunch

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    do your homework and check all deadlines

    In three sentences

    i give them a B

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Mitchell offers many clubs on campus shepherded by a very active Student Government Association (SGA). Clubs on campus include the human services club, the international club, Phi Beta Lambda, Phi Theta Kappa, learning transitions club, and many more.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of restaurants in walking distance with bars and nightlife. The art scene is also appreciating in Statesville. Moreover, there are open-mic nights, poetry slams, and a smattering of social events throughout the year.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a student at Mitchell Community College, I have found the more involved I am on the campus and in the neighborhood that I have become more invested in my education. Get to know those around you. Mitchell is a hidden gem of learning with benevolent people behind the scenes.

    In three sentences

    Mitchell Community College is the perfect environment for learning. With a small town atmosphere and progressive attitude, Statesville fosters education with Mitchell being its benchmark. Mitchell is an excellent college with a long and storied history.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I'm surprised at how safe the campus is. I can leave my laptop on a table, be gone for 10 minutes, and still find it where I left it when I return. While I don't usually just leave my laptop lying around, MCC doesn't have a reputation of violence or dangerous behavior. I feel I can devote all my time to learning instead of wondering if I'm even safe, and I like that feeling.

    Greek Life

    No greek life here, but MCC makes up for it with Science, Art, and Government clubs!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs students can participate in. There are also special events MCC hosts, such as the Annual 5K, Breast Cancer Awareness fundraisers, famous artists and authors come for a public speaking, and various bake-sales. There is always something going on!

    Great for these types of students

    There isn't a specific type of student that MCC accommodates best. I'm truthful when I say that there are every type of student, from the sports- lover (although we don't have a sports team), bookworm, the anime-lovers, moms and dads, and everyone in between.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As mentioned earlier, Tom's Dogs is personally owned and a favorite lunch choice. Many students will bring their string instruments and sit in the grass, playing music and creating magic. The Wilson House is where many art shows are presented. Since it's an older building with much character, it's the perfect place for the spirit of art to come alive!

    Bang for the buck

    Coming from a low-income family, my gratitude to the Financial Aid office is inexpressible. I am able to take whatever class I need and not have to worry about how I'm going to afford it. I know this isn't the case with everyone, but compared to universities, MCC is definitely much less expensive. You're also getting quality education, so the only thing you're missing out on is the student debt!

    What to do for fun

    There are parks and music shops students go to to relax. It's an older town, so there isn't really tons to do.

    Food and Dining

    Tom's Dogs is a small hot dog, hamburger, and fry stand that sits right outside the college. All the students love to go to for lunch. There are also deli's and Asian restaurants in the area, not to mention many fast food choices a few miles from the school.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms; everyone commutes. But the Student Union is always lively and full of excitement.

    Academic Rigor

    Some are more challenging than others, depending on the classes. Every class ought to be appreciated in the same manner, though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best and get involved! It will benefit you in many ways further down the road.

    In three sentences

    At first, I was hesitant about attending a community college. However, Mitchell Community College has been a wonderful experience! The staff is friendly, the education is more than affordable, and you can sense the unity of the student body.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Art Club: Increases awareness and importance of fine arts to students and community. (Advisor: Mark Flake) Club ENERGY: Examines Nutrition, Exercise, and Renewal Goals for Yourself. This is a club that participates on Blackboard. (Advisor: DeShaun Williams) Cosmetic Arts Society: Serves to unite a bond with the students enrolled in cosmetology classes, provide a channel of information and activities, and promote development of leadership abilities through participation in educational, vocational, civic, recreational and social activities. (Advisor: Catherine LeRoy) Criminal Justice Association: Allows students to explore the field of criminal justice. (Advisor: Arthur Piervincenti) Diverse Expression: Enhances and encourages written and spoken artistic expression through spoken word, lyrics, short stories, poetry, etc. in order to facilitate growth and help make dreams a reality. (Advisor: Tony Ricciardelli) Early Childhood Association: Serves as a forum of student opinion dedicated to resolving and discussing early childhood issues. (Advisor: Donna Hogue) Human Services Club: Encourages and promotes advancement in the human services field addressing mental health and community service issues. (Advisors: Sally Dellinger) International Club: Explores a variety of cultural backgrounds for those who are interested in learning more about other cultures. (Advisor - Sydia Gayle-Fenner) Learning Transitions Club: Supports the needs of adult students who are confronting the challenges of change in their lives. (Advisor: Libby Richardson) Math Club: Stimulates an interest in mathematics and related subjects with competitions and discussions. (Advisor: Tessa Townsend) Minority Male Mentoring Initiative: Provides one-on-one and group mentoring, field trip opportunities, as well as various workshops including train-the-trainer workshops, substance and drug abuse prevention seminars, study skills, time management. (Advisor: Randall Willie) Mitchell Technological Society: Educates and trains members regarding computer use and programs using hands on activities and projects. (Advisor: Garrick Whitehead) National Society of Leadership and Success: Helps students discover and achieve their goals with life-changing lectures and leadership training. (Advisor: Anita McGill) Phi Beta Lambda: Participates in state, regional, and national competitions. This is an award winning national organization for business students. (Advisor: Susan Stinson) Phi Theta Kappa: Recognizes and encourages the academic achievement of two-year college students and provides opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service and fellowship programming. (Advisor: Amanda Patterson) Projectile Society: Designs and creates objects that produce projectiles. Click here to visit their website. (Advisor: TBD) S.A.F.E.: Student Alliance for Equality (S.A.F.E.), formerly known as the Gay Straight Alliance, provides a supportive environment for all students (gay and straight) and is open to anyone who wishes to be involved in its mission of assuring that all Mitchell Community College students are valued and respected. (Advisor: Michael Brooks) Student Nurses Association: Promotes the professional standards of nursing and emphasizes the importance of involvement in professional organizations past graduation. This club is open to students who are currently enrolled in the nursing program. (Advisors: Linda Wiersch) Underground Fellowship: Helps students understand and develop God's purpose for them. (Advisor: Joshua Young) Veterans Club: Allows veterans at Mitchell to connect with other veterans, get access to critical resources, and play a role in tackling issues that impact our community. (Advisors: Amy Naylor and Tracy Rapp) Women's Inc: Encourages women, personally and professionally, and helps them make a successful transition from college to work. (Advisor: Randall Willie)

    What to do for fun

    Fun? Who has time for fun when you in college? EVERYONE! At Mitchell the SGA sponsors many great events at the school and even helps bring everyone together in the ones they don't. There are many clubs at Mitchell that do great and exciting things to not only teach you, but to make sure you enjoy what your doing. If you love rockets there is a rocket club, if you love hair, well guess what there is one of them too, and just to seal the deal if you can't find a club its quite simple to start your own to ensure you have the best time you can while you are still in Community College!

    Food and Dining

    In down-town Statesville there are many great restaurants of all different kind. There is: the Colombian Bakery that offers amazing Hispanic and Latino food, Peking an all you can eat Chinese food restaurant at affordable prices, there is even Sub-Express where they put Subway to shame with there quality sandwiches, don't think this is everything tho, trust me there is A LOT more places to get your grub on right down the street!

    Dorm Life

    There isn't any dorms, but hey there's a lot of great food down the street!

    Academic Rigor

    The Teacher's at Mitchell are a Community themselves. They all want what is best for their students. They are very well educated and a lot of them have their Doctorates in what they teach. With this in mind and the small class sizes available they are more willing and able to give you the attention needed to ensure your success.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Do you work, College isn't high-school people it's the beginning of your new career so DONT get 'Fired! -Listen and respect your teachers they all have something to teach you even if you think you already know what they are teaching. -Have fun, don't lose you in the end. Most businesses want you to be you and enjoy your life to further not only their business, but also to make sure you are happy. -Lastly, check out the clubs at Mitchell you never know who or what your might run into, it can possibly change your life

    In three sentences

    Mitchell CC is truly a Community College. The people at Mitchell all have the same goal to further their dreams, because of this the people at Mitchell do not create any situations of High-school drama creating a better educational playing field foreveryone. Another great aspect of Mitchell is the fact that the teachers here are very well educated and deserve to be at a 4-year college, but they would rather teach a student they learn to love than a student they never meet.

  • 06/26/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Anyone can walk on this campus, so it may not be the safest.

    Clubs and Activities

    -MANY clubs & many ways to get involved on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    -Afforadable.

    What to do for fun

    -Hang out with friends, go down town for lunch. -They also have dances/socials to be apart of. -Special events.

    Food and Dining

    -The book store & Tom's Big Dogs are the only food options since it is a community college.

    Dorm Life

    -No dorm life offered.

    Academic Rigor

    -They are VERY focused on academics & giving you the best college experience, even though it is a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Use RateMyProfessor.com or other sources to see how well the professors are. -Sign up for classes early, they get filled fast!

    In three sentences

    MCC overall was a great school. I thought there were several class choices and that the school really did care about you academically. The professors were not always the best though, I had many good professors, but I also had many bad ones.

  • 09/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is very inexpensive and a smart way to get the first two years of basic classes out of the way even if you don't know for sure what you want to major in yet.

    Food and Dining

    Meals are offered to students for a certain price. There are also a number of restaurants around the school allowing students to take a break and get lunch in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this community college.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the classes you take. I wouldn't say the classes are intense, they are just more work than anything else. Stay on top of your work and you will be fine.

  • 12/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security at all times, you and your possessions are protected.

    Greek Life

    Very little

    Clubs and Activities

    Underground Fellowship, more than a club it's like family! God-driven!

    Great for these types of students

    Starting students that need to save money and time to answer the calling in their lives.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The circle may seem like wasted space, but when the students are given the opportunity it easily transforms!

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap credit hours with amazingly good quality.

    What to do for fun

    Concerts, Clubs, Open mic nights, you name it!

    Food and Dining

    It's community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are down to earth, and they offer many chances for improvement in your weak spots.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't under estimate the professors. They may be community college professors, but they are the real deal.

    In three sentences

    Just the right size to get a good quality college experience. The teachers are down to earth, but still have high expectations for their students. The campus is student friendly and offers a lot of opportunities for a student to stay involved.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While attending college, safety should be one of the top priorities for students, faculty, and parents. At Mitchell Community College the safety is superb. The college has Mitchell Campus Security as well as the Statesville police officers on active duty around the clock. Mitchell Community College certainly takes everyone's safety seriously and takes all possible measures to ensure this. This safety bubble that is created then allows a healthy learning environment for everyone.

    Greek Life

    None that I am aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many extracurricular activities and clubs are offered. From Math Club to the Student Government Association. I guarantee students will find a club that is tailored for them.

    Great for these types of students

    Any prospective student considering college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    Quality education for an affordable price.

    What to do for fun

    The student body at Mitchell Community College is extremely accepting and social. From playing billiards, ping pong, watching television, reading, to socializing the fun possibilities are infinite. The trivial component lies on the individual to formulate what to do for fun as long as it is legal and justifiable.

    Food and Dining

    By being located in historic downtown Statesville, Mitchell Community College is located within walking distance of many diners such as but not limited to, Grouchos, Uncle C's BBQ, Subexpress, and Hebrews. Mitchell Community College also is partnered with Tom's Big Dogs who offers a variety of food relatively cheap. Even cheaper are the snacks located in The Montgomery Union. If one is dissatisfied with available options, one can always bring food from home to enjoy.

    Dorm Life

    Mitchell Community College has no dorms. Everyone commutes to and from school; therefore, no dorms are needed. However, this greatly reduces the overall price of college by a substantial amount with no room and board fees.

    Academic Rigor

    Mitchell Community College offers a wide array of classes. With such a vast scope, Mitchell Community Colleges pushes for excellence within every student. The rigor is apparent is some of the classes while in others the challenging component is inexistent. However, if one is struggling in any class, Mitchell Community College offers free tutoring services that builds a schedule around one's available times. The professors at Mitchell Community College also make every attempt inside and outside of the classroom that the students are learning and are on a pathway to success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Mitchell Community College has all the essentials that one will need to succeed in any educational realm. I recommend any high school graduate considering to start a university to reevaluate the decision. Mitchell Community College offers all the needed general education classes at fraction of the cost that he or she would be taking at the university anyway. As student loan debt surpasses one trillion dollars, going to college, in my opinion, should be completed as cheaply and effectively as possible.

    In three sentences

    Mitchell Community College offers convenience, affordability, and piece of mind. With such a wonderful atmosphere, it potentially allows for anyone to jumpstart into whatever career he or she may wish. Overall, I would recommend Mitchell Community College to anyone.