Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Moberly Area Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/27/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I need math online and have heard man wonderful things about Mo. Valley.

    Tips for prospective students

    Mo. Valley has a wonderful math program and many other great programs.

    Bang for the buck

    I have heard many wonderful things about this college and it's programs.

    Will enjoy being here

    I will enjoy being here because i believe this is the school where i need to be so I can get the best education in the area i need.

    Will learn a lot

    I need some math classes to get my Bachelors degree, and was told by many other previous students that Mo. Valley has an excellent math department.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus has good safety but not a lot on the Columbia campus, however the campus closes at a certain time so all students have to leave, which makes it safe.

    Greek Life

    Again, not sure about this but i think they have one.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have to say i see postings for the clubs all the time but never really pay that much attention to it because i dont have time to be in one so I cant say i know what they are all for, so that is why i gave it a 3 our to 5.

    Great for these types of students

    Moberly is great for all types of students. It has a big variety of students. There are parents, grandparents, freshmen right out of high school, transfer students from other schools, and international students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well, I have been going to the campus is Columbia, which is a great location because its right by downtown where most to the college students hang out at and its also close to the Mall and grocery stores and restaurants. So you get to save on gas money, which is great.

    Bang for the buck

    I give it a 4 out of 5 because it's a great school and very affordable but the only thing would be that not all of the credits will transfer to other schools and that it is not a 4 year college. I would love to stay there and not have to transfer to get a 4 year degree.

    What to do for fun

    Well, Moberly always has events going on, from art shows, participating in games, picnics, performances, sports games, and even the online students get to have online games that they can win something from the school. So they always have events going on for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    I do not know what the dining is like on the main campus but they do have a good selection of vending machines at the Columbia location.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms so I am not sure how they are. There is the main campus in Moberly that has only a couple of dorms but most of the students go to the school in Moberly or in Columbia. I have been going to the one in Columbia and love it. I have gone to my classes as well as took online classes, which were great.

    Academic Rigor

    I give the amount of work given at Moberly 3 stars because it is just enough amount of work that makes a student learn and understand the subject but also makes it fun and not a burden. Most students at Moberly are working full time jobs and have a family, so too much work will be a big stress. Moberly has just the right amount of work load a student of any type should have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up early when signing up for classes to get in before they are all filled up. Go up and ask for all the paper work ahead of time before signing up for classes. The waiting process is long, however it is worth it in the end. My teachers have been great with challenging me but not making it too hard to get through the class.

    In three sentences

    1)Moberly is a very affordable school that works with students to find scholarships and other ways to pay for school. 2)Moberly teachers are willing to work with students when it comes to getting help on school work and tests. 3)Moberly staff is very helpful when advising students about classes to take to how to make payments and find reasonable priced books.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Kirksville offers a library, bowling alley, dance clubs, restaurants and bars for all college kids. Truman State is located down the same road.

    Food and Dining

    Located in Kirksville, there are plenty of places to eat around. There are vending machines in the lobby as well as a fridge and microwave and soda machines.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus at home and it works just fine for me.

    Academic Rigor

    There are challenging subjects that require research and effort. Grafdes are not just handed out and there are high expectations of you.

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you put forth the effort, it will reflect in your grades. There is plenty to learn if you follow the curriculum and do what is expected of you.

    In three sentences

    An great higher education facility. Top of the line technology and knowledgeable professors provides a great learning environment. I rate it a 10 out of 10 for a junior college.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want to get your general educations courses out of the way for a cheap price.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to take a couple days or hours aside just to register for classes. I didn't find the staff very helpful with any academic guidance either.

    In three sentences

    They provide very basic courses. The schedules are flexible. The registering is kind of a pain.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The morning of a proctored exam, a shady person was in the parking lot and the local police were called. The person was asked to leave.

    Greek Life

    Not Attended

    Clubs and Activities

    Not attended

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have not attended any classes on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a lot of bang for your buck at MACC. Tuition is half of that at Columbia College in Missouri. Some classes require more money for books than credit hour fees.

    What to do for fun

    I take all online classes. MACC does have a Greyhounds Basketball team and many clubs to participate in though.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Did not stay in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I found the workload pretty heavy. I have earned 9 A's and 1 B and the only B was in College Orientation. I don't like the slow response from some instructors which makes it hard to learn the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start out slow if you are working as well as going to school. I work 40 hours a week and go to school full-time. Allow yourself a day for responses on internet classes.

    In three sentences

    Good teachers that interact well with the students. Heavy workload but manageable. Highly recommended for online program as it is very user friendly.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had any problems with campus safety. In my first semester, I took college orientations, which is recommended. This class taught us everything about campus safety. There is an office in each campus to talk to a safety adviser about any of your safety concerns.

    Greek Life

    I do not know about this because I am not on the Moberly campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I do not know about this because I am not on the Moberly campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Moberly Area Community College is great for someone who might not be exactly sure what their major is, or sure of their career aspirations. Moberly is cheaper, and much smaller than a typical university. For my classes, the class size is typically around 20 students, making it easy for instructor-student interaction.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are none that I know of, because I am not on the Moberly campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Moberly definitely offers the best bang for your buck. You can attain an associates of arts degree, with the credits under $100 on average for each credit hour. Universities across Missouri recognize MACC's Associates of Arts degree.

    What to do for fun

    Moberly Area Community College in Columbia does not really have any activities that are associated with the campus. You might have to attend the Moberly campus to be a part of activities.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not currently live in a dorm, so I am not qualified to answer this question.

    Academic Rigor

    Moberly Area Community College provides enough class work, homework, and tests that are adequate for my schedule. If you balance you work and school life, you will do fine at MACC.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to attend any college, stay on task. Many people come to Moberly thinking it will be an easy school, but it can only be easy if you put in the effort. I understand that most people work while in college, but you have to keep your grades up.

    In three sentences

    Moberly Area Community College is a community college in Missouri that has campuses all over mid Missouri. I attend the Columbia campus with the A+ scholarship program. If you are interested in attaining a college degree in Missouri, I think that MACC offers the best opportunity for an Associates of Arts Degree.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The teachers get to know their students so strangers have a hard time sneaking in, and there is also surveillance so it is pretty safe.

    Greek Life

    I am not sure by what this means.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs that works with your major.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student that learns hands on or auditory can learn easier here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a barbecue each semester and the food is amazing.

    Bang for the buck

    There are opportunities for jobs, and your major will help you get ahead start in your career.

    What to do for fun

    There is a library with a bunch of books, and you can get a discount at the YMCA.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good better than most places and there are some restaurants very close to the campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many different classes that someone can take and promising academic capabilities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use any program available and do not be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    The faculty and courses here are excellent. The instructors provide one on one help and there are tutor programs available. MACC is small for the classroom feel.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe at my campus and I know that I can have a guard walk me to my car if neccessary.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have none at my campus.

    Great for these types of students

    everyone is welcome, it's community college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nope.

    Bang for the buck

    It's free with A+ so I can't really complain.

    What to do for fun

    There are no clubs and extracurricular activites except for at the main campus. Again we are limited.

    Food and Dining

    Food is only offered at the main campus. All other campuses have vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are at the main campus only.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are what I need but anything beyond requires a trip to the main campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be watchful of the classes you need. Keep up on work.

    In three sentences

    It's a community college that I'm currently attending for free. There are limited on site resources and limited on site classes. Travel is neccessary.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's always a security guard on campus, and they'll gladly escort you to your car or immediately look into any suspicious activity.

    Greek Life

    MACC doesn't have much of a Greek life that I'm aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    I honestly don't know anything about MACC's clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    MACC is great for any student! Returning students, undecided students, students who just need to pick up a few odd credit hours, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know about the Main Campus, but in Columbia, MACC is located in the old mall, where you can find several restaurants, a church, and even some clothing stores and barber shops.

    Bang for the buck

    MACC isn't expensive, which is very nice, and you definitely get a quality education.

    What to do for fun

    MACC in Moberly has lots of clubs you can join and activities to participate in. The campus I attend in Columbia offers access to fewer extracurricular activities, but you're still welcome to join any of the activities in Moberly.

    Food and Dining

    Since I attend MACC through an adjunct facility, there isn't a school-operated dining area. However, there are plenty of vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    I've always lived off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    MACC isn't the most rigorous school, but the teachers still push you to do your best. I've had classes I passed with flying colors, and others I struggled in a little.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply and register for classes as soon as possible! Classes fill up fast and you don't want to miss out on the courses you need.

    In three sentences

    MACC is a very friendly school. Most of the teachers have a Master's degree, if not a PhD, and are great at their jobs. I've rarely been disappointed in MACC for any reason.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Classes are worth the money going into detail for each subject, but prices are low.

    Food and Dining

    No Cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    Students can travle from home or dorms are always availible for rent.

    Academic Rigor

    Deffinetly a good choice for any student.

    Tips for prospective students

    None. The students and staff are friendly and a huge help with any problem.

    In three sentences

    MACC is a small college. They focus on the student and classes for maximum retention. Extensive number of classes for a community college.