Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Mohave Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any type of students are great here. They have opportunities for all types of people and they are really good about if you need some extra help due to disabilities or circumstances that need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitly start out here so you know what you are getting into with the whole college life. Many people start out at the college and then move on to a university. A lot of people like the small atmosphere and decide to stay at the college which is perfectly fine as well.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is great because it is a community college. Especially if you are a resident of Arizona. The tuition rates are about $59 which is a lot cheaper compared to a university.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a great place to start your college career. You can have the privilege of having the lake right in town to let go of your stresses that school can bring. Plus, everyone knows who you are because you aren't just a number and everyone feels more like family.

    Am learning a lot

    I am attending the campus in Lake Havasu City. It is a great campus because you have the small effects of the campus but some of the effects of a big university. I love the classes they have to offer and I am well on my way to becoming a Registered Nurse. You can even attend a small portion of NAU on the Lake Havasu campus.

  • 10/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Go as cheap as you can because school gets expensive. Take all the basics here and start while you are in high school. If you are planning to go to a university i definitely think you should start here.

    Bang for the buck

    It was not my first choice to attend MCC but I have to say it was the smartest decision I could have ever made. I have saved so much money by taking all my basic courses here on the Kingman campus. I will be able to transfer all of my credits to NAU where I can continue my education next semester. For those of you who are concerned for the cost of college my advice would be to attend MCC first.

    Am enjoying being here

    I do not like the campus per-say, I take a lot of the courses online but it is nice to be able to stay home and not have to pay rent or housing costs.

    Am learning a lot

    I feel that I am learning quite a lot. It does not matter if you start here or at a university. Essentially all of the courses are the same and all the basics do transfer.

  • 05/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for the student who doesn't want to be in a class the size of 300 students. Students who want to be able to contact their teachers and have ample opportunities for extra help. Teachers always list several numbers, including cell numbers, so that they are available for you when you need a little extra help. This is a great school for those who enjoy the one-on-one feel.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! There are great clubs around campus and it really helps you make contacts in the school. The administration staff is always looking for a ways to help students win scholarships or acceptance into schools by recommendation letters or just informing students of the opportunities.

    Bang for the buck

    Out of all the community colleges I was considering this college has a lower cost per credit hour, however I do not feel like I have been cheated of the college experience. The class options are limited however, having usually only one class time per course.

    Am enjoying being here

    This school has a wonderful atmosphere. I love going to class each day, everyone I meet is dedicated into their career path and is determined to get there with great scores. It is very refreshing to be surrounded with people everyday who want to learn.

    Am learning a lot

    This school has small class sizes that provide a more one-on-one feeling that allows professors to get to know the students and really provide insight into all of their courses.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 4 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    EVERYONE

    Bang for the buck

    QUITE AN EXPERIENCE!

    What to do for fun

    MEET OUTSTANDING PROFESSORS AND STUDENTS!

    Tips for prospective students

    get enrolled now and have the best experience and teaching possible!

    In three sentences

    It's a great experience there. i would recommend this college to anyone! they are also great staffed and very helpful in every way!

  • 07/30/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get your financial aid in quick and join clubs and study groups to help with your classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Good cost of attendance and the books aren't to much either.

    Will enjoy being here

    Great college layout and most classes are close together so its also convenient.

    Will learn a lot

    Great college plan that will help me help get my accounting degree quick.

  • 09/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Young, older, smart and average all enjoy the atmosphere here at MCC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not start off at a 4 year University when you can come to MCC and get the same education as an undergraduate without paying the huge prices of a University.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy the atmosphere and the staff at MCC. They make learn fun and enjoyable.

    Am learning a lot

    I have been attending MCC 4 years now and I have learned so much. The teacher to student is excellent and the cost is workable for my budget. At MCC you have the best teachers; they are helpful and really care about your education.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    every single student.

    Tips for prospective students

    sometimes, it doesnt even FEEL like you are at college. its so comfortable and its fun to learn.

    Bang for the buck

    i think that the college should spent more money on the art programs.

    Am enjoying being here

    i look forward to going on campus everyday, even to my morning classes. i hate vacation now, i wish it would hurry up already.

    Am learning a lot

    ive learned so much, especially in my art classes. I mean yeah, im an art major, but i didnt think i would learn so much from my art classes. it makes me excited everytime i register.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    in my campus, the only thing you can do for fun is to study and talk to people. although there are plans to put a gym on the campus, it would be in the future. however, as i have said, the city is just so small that you can get to anywhere by twenty to thirty minutes.

    Food and Dining

    food sold in school is very expensive compared to the ones sold outside the school. i prefer you bring food to school or at eat food before you go to school. however, if you really need food, it is available in the cafeteria or in the bookstore.

    Dorm Life

    dorms are not available. you must find a place of your own if you want to go to school here. however, the city is just so small that you can get to anywhere within 20 to 30 mins.

    Academic Rigor

    i can say that being a student here is not too easy but not really hard. first you must get to know the teaching styles of the teacher and then you'll know where to attack. just do your best and you'll be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    first, take time to get used to the desert. secondly, take time to skim the book before you go to class. lastly, i you want to chill in the school go to the library; you will meet many people there.

    In three sentences

    people are very friendly here. they help you in almost all the things you need. the facilities are great too!

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they also have secituy here.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    great student counsil

    Great for these types of students

    firefighter,nurses ,dentists,teachers,cooks, and undecied people

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    they tell you exactly how much you have to have for tuition's and not a cent more

    What to do for fun

    the things to do for fun is to go to community events , casinos, and the libary

    Food and Dining

    has a great bookstore where they sell food and coffeee for very cheap.

    Dorm Life

    they dont have any dorms at mcc

    Academic Rigor

    its has a really great academic system .

    Tips for prospective students

    the tips i would telll them is not to be shy and if you need help ask for it.

    In three sentences

    its a really great school that had alot of different things classes for careers. its very friendly and anyone is ready to lend you a helping hand. mcc also has a great libary with wifi and a lot of books

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have never felt threatened even when walking out from late classes.

    Great for these types of students

    great for nontraditional students looking to improve or change careers in a relatively short time or a place to do some prereqs that would cost you more at a four year college.

    Food and Dining

    other than vending machines and the bookstore, there is nothing, better off bringing a lunch or going off campus

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    fairly challenging courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to do all that is required by financial aid in a timely manner. they are the main complaint with the school, so far i have had no problems but i try to get everything done asap.

    In three sentences

    pretty descent community college, the professors are really nice and helpful. would be nice if they offered more programs and had a more helpful financial aid center.

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see securitys, especially at night which makes me very comfortable to know I'm not alone.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who want to save money on their education.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Take art classes and go on the trails on campus!

    Food and Dining

    They sell snacks in the bookstore and there are vending machines everywhere.

    Dorm Life

    Doesn't exist.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll, register, do everything early! As soon as possible because it gets hectic!

    In three sentences

    Mohave Community College is growing. This school has a lot of variety and is very easy to get around. Going to school is pleasant here.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    They offer an exclusive membership to Phi Theta Kappa if students have a grade point average of 3.5 or above.

    What to do for fun

    They host all kinds of raffles, activities, talent shows, etc. On holidays they like to go all out and give the students a good time and provide either a food sack or snacks. They offer all kinds of fun classes (from art to acting to technology based classes).

    Food and Dining

    Since they do not provide dorm life there is no need to provide dining. However they do have a snack machine for students if they need a little something.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have college dorms because they don't have the funds to provide dorms for its students. Students have to travel from their region of living to attend.

    Academic Rigor

    If you strive to get good grades they provide you with memberships to all kinds of scholarship programs so that when you decide to continue your education then you will have the financial means to back you up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you take advantage of every opportunity this school provides because everything they give you really will provide a better college experience. Another suggestion, just have fun! Explore the classes you want to because this school is much more affordable then other schools.

    In three sentences

    I think that Mohave Community College is a really great school because its more affordable, the staff is excellent at helping students with needs and concerns, and its up to date with technology. Its a great school to start out with (getting your associates). They have all kinds of benefits for students to improve their transcript and provide the best college experience!

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everyone's on duty, plus a few officers.

    Greek Life

    ? Not that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Growing all the time.

    Great for these types of students

    Energetic hopefuls with LOTS of hope. And those whom are interested in anything to do with advancement in the life of a fairly new state. Cause if you ask, someone will get it for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing much unusual here that I've seen so far....

    Bang for the buck

    It's in a small type of community with lots of open spaces and fresh air. Save for the summer heats, being in the desert, it's one of the nicest and more appealing places I've known. Casinos, golf, river, ... lots of nice people.

    What to do for fun

    There are many, many club type groups to get to know. Lots of diverse athletic competitions. Ask and usually you can find.

    Food and Dining

    Not really that many classes to not bring something. But the culinary classes are usually donating. And we have vending machines, of coarse.

    Dorm Life

    Somewhere you can find a roommate, if needed. But no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The same is expected here as anyplace else. Just that you try. And doing your best is the best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a FASFA and get started. No problems coming within or going out. Feel free to see the advisors. They know how to assist. And the whole campus is just....nice. Plus know that there are quite few great 4 year colleges and Universities looking at us for after the 2 years - or more - here. Since there are ways of getting more than just - Aw, check it out....

    In three sentences

    Great teachers who are relaxed an qualified. Atmosphere of what life should and could be like. Easy to get to with friendliness to be felt secure.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    They have a good amount of clubs but can use some more activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They care a lot about diversity and it seems like they try to help any prospective students as best as they can to start college.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the money you pay.

    What to do for fun

    Always check up with SAC and the other clubs because they do host some fun events.

    Food and Dining

    They could use a cafeteria rather then just a bookstore and vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    There were no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always call if you feel a little worried about something the call center is great at answering these questions.

    In three sentences

    The teachers were helpful. The staff could use a little more training in some areas. The cost was low and affordable.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I am completely happy with the instruction and support I have recieved a mohave community college in Lake Havasu City

    What to do for fun

    The College is in the process of building a gym

    Academic Rigor

    The stress of each class is rewarded tenfold when you pass with an A. It is all worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start slow, study hard, and don't forget to sleep. Many of us push ourselves so hard we forget to do well we need to eat and sleep. I also suggest taking a vitamin.

    In three sentences

    The instructors really go the extra mile to help you accomplish your goals. I was not confident when I started college, two years later I am now a 4.0 student and on a board for a club. The professors have given me the encouragement to not only succeed, but also excel.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Superior!

    Greek Life

    I did not participate.

    Clubs and Activities

    Academic clubs are great!

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are serious about achieving their goals.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I did not go on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Coupon shop!

    What to do for fun

    Fun, sit back and study!

    Food and Dining

    I cooked my own meals.

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Mohave Community College always pushes to assure academic success, and strife.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work to achieve the goals you have for your life.

    In three sentences

    The faculty is extremely helpful. Some classes are difficult because of the curriculum.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have security guards that wonder the campus and Lake Havasu is a safe city to be in.

    Bang for the buck

    Great price for the effort and intelligence of the teachers. they really care that you succeed as long as they see you care.

    What to do for fun

    There is sports and social gathering occasionally. Great church functions throughout the city!

    Food and Dining

    We have plenty of great food destinations that surround the college. also the breakfast and lunch shop by the office is run by a sweet woman that knows what shes doing. all good from her!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some who really have the Spirit of the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study long hours and get involved with others who care about passing. Also keep in contact with you teacher. Set a grade goal and go for it.

    In three sentences

    MCC is full of people who take the time to have a relationship with you as well as aid you in your future. The teachers go above and beyond to help you to succeed. Students of all ages and back-rounds come together to support one another as we all move forward in our studies.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would say this is a safe campus. I haven't ever heard of trouble on campus.

    Greek Life

    The only Greek association we have here is the international honor society Phi Theta Kappa.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities at this school. There are clubs for all types of people.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to earn a degree without having to pay it off for the rest of their life.

    Bang for the buck

    At this school you get what you pay for for the most part. The same education as a university at a lower cost.

    What to do for fun

    Sports such as softball and basketball have recently been added to this school.

    Food and Dining

    We mostly have vending machines due to the fact that there is no on-campus housing and therefore no cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on-campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Though this school is academically sound, I have experienced instructors that I feel were not the type I signed up to be taught by.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider MCC as a future institution. This school works with you to get you where you want to go.

    In three sentences

    Mohave Community College is a very decent college due to its affordability, flexible scheduling, and amazing online program. I have not had many problems with this school and have almost completed a degree there. This school works with your schedule.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it is very safe

    Clubs and Activities

    they are asome

    Great for these types of students

    its great for anybody

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there bulding are huge and there classrooms are amazing

    Bang for the buck

    idk what this means

    What to do for fun

    join clubs

    Food and Dining

    the food is excellent :]

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is pretty much a campus so you have to live in a house or a apartment in Arizona or here in laughlin

    Academic Rigor

    there academic is very unique and very good they are making new sports for the school that way we have the opportunity to try out and join clubs

    Tips for prospective students

    come join the college is small but you meet tons of new people and become new friends with them,.

    In three sentences

    There campus its clean and neat. the people are very helpful. and th students have great opportunists to study there.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    MCC campus is well lit, safe, and patrolled. Gives me a secure feeling when I am there either day or night.

    Great for these types of students

    MCC has an excellent Distant Education program making college affordable and a dream come true. You are never short changed by taking an online class, in fact I know I have learned more. The time I could have used traveling hours to class have been used as studied time and researching topics related to class assignments.

    Bang for the buck

    As an older student returning to school after 40 years, MCC counselors h ave helped guide me in what classes to take to reach my goals. My future has been in their hands, along with my hard work, and I am almost there. It is a great deal, affordable, and I am proud to be an MCC student.

    What to do for fun

    Group study and tutoring are part of the education and fun. Learning with others especially when challenged makes my day.

    Food and Dining

    The bookstore always has a snack and good Starbucks coffee.

    Academic Rigor

    MCC has spirit!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to go for that tough class. Once you get there it is not so scary. Spend your time wisely so your studies are not shortchanged.

    In three sentences

    Mohave Community College has offered a learning experience I could never imagined. As an older student I am impressed. Staff and instructors have been helpful the whole way.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I don't participate in any.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't participate in any.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    I get the education I seek.

    What to do for fun

    Not much, however Kingman is in a central location. Many surrounding cities.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten there.

    Dorm Life

    MCC dones't offer dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Avoid financail aid office.

    In three sentences

    It is disorganized. RN program is wonderful. I get the education I seek.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is pretty decent on campus, the only good thing that exists.

    Greek Life

    None exsist.

    Clubs and Activities

    Three clubs in which hardly anyone shows up.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are too lazy to take online classes or head to the next town.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None i know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Not worth the way of money.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing, there is no passion for the clubs on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Most teacher know what they are teaching and know what they are talking about.

    Tips for prospective students

    I do not recommend this school.

    In three sentences

    This school is a terrible school. It is problem after problem with this school. I requested financial aid last year, and still have not gotten anything from them.

  • 09/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As for campus safety they do have the parking lots and walkways well lit and there is always at least one security officer on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    As far as I can see any type of student would fit in on campus. There is a wide variety there already. :) If a student is just starting out this would be a good place to start then move on to a larger school. Or stay here and get degree. The smaller classes are really nice.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not really unusual, but there are many locations on campus that are nice and quiet for studying.

    Bang for the buck

    Kingman is a small town, but it's close to larger ones if one wants to go there. It is much cheaper to go here per credit, and even cheaper still if you are a resident of Arizona.

    What to do for fun

    The college does have a co-ed football team! There is also a movie theater in town as well as parks. There is a skate park in Kingman, and they have leagues for sports. Through the parks and rec program you can sign up and take trips. The other towns that the campuses are located in have a variety of other things, but having never lived there, I'm not sure that they have.

    Food and Dining

    The only food on campus is what is in vending machines and the bookstore snacks. But I have yet to run into a teacher that hasn't allowed food in class, so you could just stop and get something on the way in.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for MCC students, but a lot of apartments for rent around town, and I always see ads for people seeking roomates at the beginning of each semester.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here are good. Most of them will go out of their way to help you if needed. On the syllabus it usually has more than one number to reach them as well as more than one email, and they actually answer the phone or the email right away. They are really there to help you succeed. Most of them don't expect any more from you than normal.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get your financial aid applied for and your classes registered early to beat the rush. It's a madhouse last minute and you don't want your financial aid being a late disbursement.

    In three sentences

    The office personnel on the Kingman campus are very friendly and informative. The new call center sux. Very comfortable, laid back atmosphere.

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is always security but be careful at night

    Greek Life

    Yes there is greek life here!

    Clubs and Activities

    too many to name!

    Great for these types of students

    living at home students, working and want to start college

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are very nice people here

    Bang for the buck

    Its a comminty college, pretty self explanitory.

    What to do for fun

    Sit outside and enjoy the weather!

    Food and Dining

    There is a starbucks close by.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms here

    Academic Rigor

    Some Teachers are hard, most are not.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know where you want to transfer after your Associates degree, and stay on top of your studys!

    In three sentences

    I think MCC is a good college if you want to get your general education courses. It is easy to transfer to ASU, NAU or U of A at MCC. It is also very cheap here.

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    ... river

    Food and Dining

    Not much just vending machines

    Dorm Life

    Do not stay in the dorm not sure if there is one.

    Academic Rigor

    Unsure

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to read through everything required and have it all together ahead of time. Go online and do the admissions form and fafsa before you meet. Also, try to have your classes chosen early the fill up quickly.

    In three sentences

    This college seems to be very organized. I love the down to earth and friendly atmosphere of the faculty. This is going to be an awesome ride!

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Out of all the schools I looked in to this was the best money for the courses.

    Food and Dining

    Unsure

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The school work is challenging yet understandable and facilities at equal if not better the what is in the community.

    In three sentences

    Application and registration is made easy by the schools employees. The dental programs are top notch and the instructors are friendly yet strict. I am attending the bullhead campus but it is not listed here.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    MCC Lake Havasu offers cute, homey snack-stations that allow personal relationships with the cooks.

    Dorm Life

    It is not required for students to live on-campus. Living in Lake Havasu or one of the cities with other MCC branches makes it EXTREMELY convenient to attend MCC.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the classes I have taken have challenged me somehow, some in different ways than others.

    In three sentences

    Mohave Community College is a very promising community college. As a high school student, I have taken several Dual-Enrollment classes and online classes through MCC. Fortunately enough, I am able to graduate high school with an Associate's Degree in Liberal Arts with the help of MCC.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it's all right

    Clubs and Activities

    not much

    Great for these types of students

    able to say no to those not qualified teachers, financially.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    not much

    Bang for the buck

    you get what you paid.

    What to do for fun

    holiday celebrations, but not for everyone

    Food and Dining

    only snacks, no dining

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    over strict to the students but not the teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    beware the summer here is really hot. do some research about your ideal major. don't over depend on the advisors about your pace of class taking, you are the one to make the decisions.

    In three sentences

    the tuition rate is pretty low for in state residents. some instructors really knowledgable and good at presenting the classes, some are not. you should always keep in tones with the teachers to get the most out of the experiences.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security walking all over campus.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa, you need to have 3.5 or higher to be part of it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Council and sports that students can participate. There is the Voices of the River Community Choir that anyone can join.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    They should be able to fund more money in programs like Phramacy, Nursing, and Radiology. The college should be able to bring more scholarships for students because there is something that they would want, but they should be behind students to make sure they are using it wisely.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to places with friends and classmates like the river (when it is not cold), the parks, the casinos, community events, and near cities like Phoneix and Las Vegas. Other than that, there is not much to do when it comes to places to hang out.

    Food and Dining

    There is a bookstore that sells some snacks but its expensive and the only places that you can get food are a bit far from the college. For example: McDonald's, Subway, Pizza Hut, etc. You can go and hang out with classmates during break or afterwards.

    Dorm Life

    Even though, there are no official dorms in the college, since it is a community college, the city does have many apartments that students might want to check out.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many things that seem to be hard for many students, especially when it comes to the environment. A student must know that teachers have different teaching styles. Therefore, one as a student, has to know what learning styles can help them out. To be a master student is to try new ways to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Make sure to have all your financial aid ready and good to go. 2) Register for the classes that you need and if necessary talk with an advisor to make sure you're going where you want to go. 3) Attend your classes and there you will be able to meet new people and teachers, thus building the college experience. 4) Doing your best at everything when it comes to classes because that is how you are going to learn new things.

    In three sentences

    The faculty are really friendly and helpful for students. They help you in anyway they can and they can walk with you when it comes to academic success. The school environment is really good for all students who are new to college experience.

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everyone here is generally nice and trustworthy. Low crime rate is awesome!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Usually, around 11am-3pm, you can catch some crazy old folks wandering around the main courtyard-type area, talking to themselves. I caught one drinking coffee, whistling, and singing 40's hits earlier.

    Bang for the buck

    The education quality and credit transferability makes it all worth it, especially for how cheap tuition is!

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do on campus. All the fun is down the highway just south a little bit, then you can run and jump in the river!

    Food and Dining

    Not really any food/dining here, just some snacks in the bookstore that give you just enough energy not to pass out in lectures.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. Just some benches outside, if you're into that sort of thing.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are awesome, they only start to kick your butt when you procrastinate. Just don't fall behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for financial aid, try to avoid loans, and make sure you accept the work-study! It's an extra $4,000 in your pocket.

    In three sentences

    MCC is great because of the low cost to pay for classes and for the value of the education. The credits transfer well and that's excellent for students transferring out of state!

  • 04/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    the workload is heavy but manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    you are on your own as far as the curriculum unless you sign up for tutoring.

    In three sentences

    the teachers are inexperienced and unknowledgeable. the staff is friendly and sometimes helpful. the cost is inexpensive.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Start taking classes for your college education in high school! Stay on top of everything and apply for as many scholarships as possible.

    In three sentences

    This is a wonderful school with amazing opportunities! They offer very good programs such as the Dental Hygiene program. I was very happy to be able to take credits in high school that transfer to Mohave Community College.

  • 05/05/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    33 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus you will always be safe from harm!

    Greek Life

    Unsure what that means.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are too many to count!

    Great for these types of students

    Every single one.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many different traditions on campus that you should research yourself!

    Bang for the buck

    Schooling here is very cheap for the wonderful teachers the college has to offer.

    What to do for fun

    There are trails that are made for students to run. There are also many groups and sports.

    Food and Dining

    Dining is great here at the college!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is quiet and peaceful. Each problem is taken care of in a short time.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are wonderful!

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Ask questions. Don't be afraid! 2. Research each opportunity this college has to offer. 3. Choose your courses wisely

    In three sentences

    Mohave Community College is a community college full of wonderful opportunities. Each staff member is helpful understanding with each student, applicant, or future applicant. Each professor is trained well and uses his or her knowledge to the best of his or her abilities to teach each student what they are required to know.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never run into any safety issues there. I believe it is perfectly safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is determined, hardworking, friendly, and willing to laugh at themselves. Also if you enjoy small communities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is somewhat diverse. There are multiple religious groups around the area so you can meet a lot of interesting people. But they are all great :)

    Bang for the buck

    I have attended there before and have really liked the atmosphere. I definitely intend on going back for more.

    What to do for fun

    Hiking, ATVing, amateur theatre and projects done by the school.

    Food and Dining

    There are not a lot of options, but I have nothing to complain about for the few that there are.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus

    Academic Rigor

    There are definitely so tough classes, but that doesn't mean they can't also be fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Everyone there is friendly and helpful so I suggest returning the favor by being equally as friendly and helpful.

    In three sentences

    The campus I am going to- North Mohave- is small, but it is clean and friendly. I have seen and heard only good of this place. It is an honor to go there.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a solid education for the price of tuition.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers and the curriculum are designed to give you an in the work place education so that when you begin working in the field of study you are very prepared to transition from student to career person.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard!

    In three sentences

    They are excellent in teaching the maximum amount of information with minimum class time. The staff is dedicated to help you succeed. When you succeed everyone succeeds!

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    36 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can go to the library and read a book or maybe do your homework.

    Food and Dining

    The food is more better than the one that your own grandma makes, maybe your own grandma would give a 100% to the food.

    Dorm Life

    Everything is like you were in home, is just that not with your teddy bear and the monster under the bed.

    Academic Rigor

    Mohave Community College is a very attentive to the academic of their students. A lot of teachers do really care for their students and try to explain good to their students so they can do good in the tests.

    Tips for prospective students

    They should not fool around and should really pay attention in class and should get good grades. Try to not pass the due dates of assignments because they won't count after the time, not even 30 seconds after the due date. Take college classes seriously.

    In three sentences

    Mohave Community College is one of the college that can and will help my future. I have checked on all the courses that Mohave Community College has and I have seen that they do really give out good courses and have really good teachers too. I've heard many good things about Mohave Community College, about how good the classes are, how well the teacher treat their students, that Mohave Community College is a pretty good college based on financial problems and they may help good, because the classes are cheap and helpful at the same time.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    37 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    100% Safe in my opinion! Due to the college being small, everyone knows everyone! :) It made me feel a whole lot safer around people I at least sort of knew rather than around people I'll probably see once around campus because it is so big.

    Bang for the buck

    LEAST EXPENSIVE SCHOOL I'VE SEEN! I love how cheap it is there! One great thing about them is their Duel Enrollment program! This is where, if the High School teacher is certified on a college level, you can take a class in High School and get High School AND College credit for it. I graduated High School with half my Associates degree, and I DIDN'T PAY A DIME! :)

    What to do for fun

    Not much, really. The art program is really great! I would suggest to take that class if you are looking for a fun class that gives you college credits :) I am more of the Nerd/Geek side, so what I personally would do for fun is do anything I can with Chemistry! ;D I spend my mornings with one of the Duel Enrollment teachers at our High School creating lab demonstrations for his classes. Now that is fun! :P

    Food and Dining

    They took care of us during events and the first/last week of school. It doesn't have a cafeteria, but it did bring out some good food when needed :)

    Dorm Life

    It's hard to rate this just because they don't have dorms. Again, I went to the North Mohave Campus, and it is very small. My house was 5 minutes away, so I was just fine with it all :)

    Academic Rigor

    They have some great courses, but for such a small college (I went to the North Campus), it is hard to get all the resources they need for higher level courses. They don't even have a higher-level Chemistry course above the one required for you Associates Degree. Being a Chem major myself, that was disappointing.

    Tips for prospective students

    ASK FOR HELP! :) Do not be afraid to ask for help. The employees there understand the life of a student; they understand how confusing getting into college can be; and they are there to help! Everyone is friendly! There's not a soul there I wish would be fired.

    In three sentences

    MCC was a very Friendly school. Everyone was willing to help, and everything was done very smoothly. I enjoyed my time there.