Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Mohawk Valley Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/24/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    general studies, students who are undecided on what they want to pursue.

    Tips for prospective students

    The science classes at this college for me can be difficult. So just a heads up...STUDY lots.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have enjoyed being at the college. It is a nice school and I have been able to meet many new individuals.

    Am learning a lot

    For the most part my learning experience at MVCC has been adequate. It isn't the professors, I am just not a very good learner as it is in some departments.

  • 02/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Go here! Even if you want a bachelors degree. Going here will allow you to receive an associates and will allow for you to still continue on for a bachelors. P.S. Join clubs, join clubs, join clubs!

    Bang for the buck

    $1,700 per semester for full time?! Can't beat it. I don't understand why anyone would go and spend $40,000 a semester at the near by private college when I am getting an excellent education for a lot less!

    Am enjoying being here

    Great school!

    Am learning a lot

    Most of the professors really do care about how well the students do in the classroom as much as outside.

  • 04/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I'd say independent students will fare better here, since the way the main offices are run require you to do a lot of work on your own. It's frustrating at times, but in the end it certainly prepares you for the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because you're at a small, cheap school does not mean you should slack off! The work you put into these two years will aid you greatly for your final two should you decide to move on.

    Bang for the buck

    You won't beat the price, especially for your first two years! Classes transfer incredibly easily as well.

    Am enjoying being here

    People in general are open and nice, I've certainly felt I learned and improved a lot my two years here.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are great, I've yet to have one who wasn't interesting and knowledgeable in their field.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are nice and friendly and are always on the case at hand.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something to do and there's always something going on.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone is accepted here.

    What to do for fun

    I am always hanging out with my dorm mates.

    Food and Dining

    It could be better, but the food program works with the needs of the students.

    Dorm Life

    Fun and always entertaining. There is always something to do, and you get really close to others living with you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask questions, if you have one don't be afraid to ask, everyone is there to help and guide you.

    In three sentences

    My attendance here at MVCC has been quite the experience. The professors are wonderful and definitely the college faculty. MVCC was a great gateway for my extended college years as a student.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always around campus.

    Greek Life

    A couple clubs for anyone that enjoys that kind of stuff.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many things to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Unsure students who aren't completely comfortable with choosing a four year school yet.

    Bang for the buck

    Good education for the amount you pay.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and other activities. If you do not have a car, it will be hard for you to get anywhere unless you walk.

    Food and Dining

    The food is like any college. Your going to be happy to eat food from home and eating out at a restaurant.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your adviser right away and let them know your career goal. If you don't understand something, go straight to your teachers right away rather than email them. If you need to find a good teacher, use ratemyprofessor.com.

    In three sentences

    MVCC is a great school for those who want a good education for less money, also because you can figure out what you want to do before attending a four year school. Has very many classes and majors to choose from. It can be a bit confusing and difficult for people that don't understand how college works.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    An Associates Degree for this price? I can hit the ground running when I graduate from here, not being buried up to my eyeballs in debt!

    Food and Dining

    Looked good when we visited!

    Dorm Life

    Not so sure about the bathroom situation at the dorms, but I am spoiled with my own bathroom!

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that the Respiratory Care/Therapist degree could be challenging, but I feel that there is a large degree of assistance available for me to succeed.

    In three sentences

    I visited many colleges and found this one to be the most comfortable fit for me. A small (but not too small) college, where I feel that I will not get lost in the crowd academically. I am looking forward to coming to MVCC!

  • 01/10/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    I'm looking forward to coming to MVCC in fall 2011.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    DGV events on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Did not eat on campus but the coffee is good!

    Dorm Life

    Did not live on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    READ!!!!!

    In three sentences

    I believe this is a great school with professors that know what they are doing in the fields that they teach. They have been in the field for many years as professionals and most of them are continuing their education.

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always many multi cultural events, concrts, lectures, and movies every week!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you always keep attendance a top priority and keep on top of all your missed work if possible.

    In three sentences

    Great class sizes. Attentive professors help great academic credentials. Many programs available for different careers and degrees.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent safety! There are blue boxes with telephones everywhere on campus and you can have officers escort you. There was a gang fight that was going to be happening the night of my birthday and they handed out fliers saying to stay in the dorms and had Utica Police there to escort you. They jumped on top of the alert and thankfully no one was hurt!

    Greek Life

    Not so much Greek life here- sorry :(

    Clubs and Activities

    Thousands of clubs to join! And you can make your own club too just by talking to the student life advisers!

    Great for these types of students

    Learning disabled, full time workers, parents, those who are paying for college on their own and for those who need the time to get to know how college works.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is very small, however the track is great for going for walks on!

    Bang for the buck

    Very worth the money you spend! Community College is a great way to save on the first two years of college!

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of events on campus- soccer is a big thing! Around town there is lots to do- there is 5 dollar movie tickets every Friday and there is the Munson Williams art institute you can go to if your an art person!

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay, but could be better. However for the amount you pay, food is food, right?

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are great if you are used to an atmosphere with other people. They were clean, and I got to know the cleaning lady very well!

    Academic Rigor

    The 100 level courses are very easy, however once you reach the 200 level courses, the course work and load become harder then before!

    Tips for prospective students

    Best way to get involved is to get to know your professors! Most likely they will be the ones who are leading the group or club, but they also can point you in the right direction to find who does.

    In three sentences

    This college is very geared toward learning disabilities. I found their financial aid to be great- I've been there for three years and I have been covered for everything including books. I am impressed with the staff, never have gotten into a tangle with them- ever!

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I don't think it's that bad. They have sandwiches, pizza hut, salads, ect.

    Dorm Life

    Honestly I could not answer this question because I don't live in the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to go to there open house. It really is helpful when you are first learning about the school. They show you where the main offices are, where your main classes will be, libary, ect. It was a big help. Also remember to sign up for clubs! It always looks good, and (like me) you might get offered to have lunch with the dean!

    In three sentences

    Mohawk Valley Community College is a wonderful collage. I am a returning adult going back to become a RN. I though it would be a challenging, yet I was accepted with open arms. From the staff, to the students, to the activities that they offer!

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a small campus and is a pretty safe place, but it can sometimes be sketchy-especially at night. If you have a night class, you're going to want to run in and out pretty quick.

    Great for these types of students

    Someone looking to get an affordable education before transferring. Or someone who doesn't know what they want to do yet, and is looking to get some sort of basic degree to transfer out when they decide on a major.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's a small campus, but when you're looking to kill time, the cafeteria usually has shows going on at around 12 in the afternoon. It's not every day, but they've had everything from musicians to a guy who blew up balloons. It's not always the greatest, but it's nice when you're bored to just head in there and at least have something to make fun of. They did have one really good group one of the days though, The VonShakes. Also, in AB there's a nice little place to get smoothies, wraps, coffee, etc. They also have some good concerts and movies, and it's free for students. This year they had a Gavin DeGraw concert for free, and also raffled off meet and greet passes.

    Bang for the buck

    You get more than what you're paying for. You can get an associate degree for practically nothing and then transfer to a 4 year school. Two years at MV usually is equal to less than 1 year at other universities and colleges.

    What to do for fun

    Around the area we have some shopping centers, a mall, and a few movie theaters. Of course, it all costs money; the Marquee is pretty expensive. Also, I'm not sure how easy it would be to get there if you live on campus. There are buses, so I know it's possible, it just might be a hassle.

    Food and Dining

    There's a few different options available. In the cafeteria, there's Pizza Hut, a place that has hamburgers, french fries, etc., and wraps. There's also little cups of veggies, fruits, pudding, etc that you can buy. It's pretty good, but the Pizza Hut breadsticks are addicting. Under $3 and they fill you up...I may have stayed home, but I definitely got a taste of the freshman 15. As for the other cafeteria, it looks nice in there and from what I've heard, people do like the food.

    Dorm Life

    I was a commuter so I don't know much about the dorms. However, it's a community college in Utica, NY. I think it's safe to say they aren't known for they're awesome dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The main thing for your classes is just to show up. There's a lot that you miss when you don't go to the classes. A teacher usually mentions something not in your book or notes that ends up being extremely important. Classes are really only difficult when you're not there. And if you're having trouble, there is free help available in Payne Hall and you can talk to your teachers about meeting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Realize that you're going to a community college in Utica, NY. It's not going to be some amazing college experience. Keep in mind that you're attending MVCC to save money, not to go to awesome parties and live on a nice campus. If you don't make sure you realize this, you're going to be let down. Big time.

    In three sentences

    Over all, MVCC isn't the worst school to go to. If you're from the area and not sure what you want to do yet, or are looking to save some money, MV is a great choice. It's inexpensive to begin with, and offers financial aid on top of it.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a public campus with a solid security force.

    Greek Life

    None that I am aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    If we don't already have it then the college will help it become part of our Student Activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing strange that I know of but the dorm students probably have a plethora of them.

    Bang for the buck

    Solid education for a dirt cheap price.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and organizations what ever your fancy is there are others who share that dream.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good food, solid selection, a little overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    I don't personally live on the dorms but reports from friends are generally positive. Furthermore, the college has recently put several policies in place to insure that only good people are allowed in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the professor. Several high level classes such as Calculus 2 are considered the equivalent of Calculus 2 and 3 at almost every four year college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, stray from you usual social groups, never assume the door is locked or that you are not welcome on the other side.

    In three sentences

    MVCC is plain on the outside, but if you become part of the college then the college will become part of you. If you want to make a difference then the college has an amazing level of student involvement on every level of administration. Lastly, while not universally true some the staff is overall some of the best I have ever worked with.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always be sure to know your campus safety numbers, you never know when you will need them. At MVCC we have campus safety on duty all day and night.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports, and clubs are good to join they can take you on fun trips and give you a chance to learn and meet other people at the college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I like the library. It is big and peaceful with windows looking over the campus. I love it.

    Bang for the buck

    MVCC is cheap, but it really has alot to offer for being small. A new dorm building is built. It is very nice. We have a snack bar with pizza hut in it. Classes are cheap so be sure to sign up for ones you will enjoy taking.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club, or a fitness class to meet new people. Attend movie nights, and comedian nights.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining could be better, but its what you make of it.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun, dont be afraid to meet the people on your floor, or partake in any fun dorm activities. You are paying for them.

    Academic Rigor

    Find a major that interests you, that you will enjoy studying and learning about. I love my major, and the classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the learning and tutor centers, they are there for you. Also join clubs to make friends and attend events they will make the college experience even better . Strive to be on honor society to earn scholarhips and a better diploma.

    In three sentences

    MVCC Is a very small college, but has alot to offer to the students through clubs and events once you get involved and partake in the opportunities.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Beginning college life.

    Bang for the buck

    Good take out food.

    What to do for fun

    Hit the movies, play video games, go to concerts.

    Food and Dining

    Typical campus food.

    Dorm Life

    Small rooms but ok to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes will be demanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a change from home.

    In three sentences

    This college has a lot to offer with its small campus and classes. If you are an athlete, sports can be defined for you at a college level here. It is definitely a place to start your college carreer.

  • 01/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I guess it is safe, but you always feel like some crazy is going to let loose on the school. Government assisted housing/ the projects reside in MVs backyard, and there is constant racial/homophobic slurs on campus.

    Greek Life

    Non existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not to many people join the clubs, and the Black student union is the largest club on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    It's very diverse, everyone can fit it, and everyone can hate it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Constant hate, and cold shoulders.

    Bang for the buck

    If Mom and dad are paying for it then yes, and if youre

    What to do for fun

    Go to class, period.

    Food and Dining

    Terrible, rude and expensive. But the girl at the Sodexo shop with the candy neckless always lightens my mood with her sarcastic humor.

    Dorm Life

    I did not dorm here, but it is the first SUNY school that did infact have dorms. One building is better than the other three.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes do make you think, but not too many. MV academics are good, but alot of the teachers are not.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get in and get out; do not get too involeved because they just do not care that much. It is a good real world college, if you can understand by what I mean by that. Have a plan, and dont rely on the college's plan, they want you here as long as possible.

    In three sentences

    Mohawk Valley Community College is the oldest community college in New York State, and is part of the SUNY college system. Mohawk Valley is a good way to get used to college before spending the big bucks elsewhere. MVCC gets a 5 out of 10, 10 being the best.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Many campus officers and UPD around campus. They will walk you to your car if you want them to.

    Greek Life

    A few are offered. Don't know a lot about them.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many programs have their own clubs. Join one! They look great on a resume and you meet a lot of new people.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who want to save money or not sure what they want to do after college.

    Bang for the buck

    You save a lot of money by going here. Don't by or sell your books from the bookstore, buy them online. MUCH CHEAPER

    What to do for fun

    Go to concerts and DGV events that MV offers.

    Food and Dining

    The wraps are really good. Some food isn't that great.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are very hard while others are easy. It depends on what major your taking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, study hard, use the learning center and make friends in your classes.

    In three sentences

    It's a great college to start out at. You save a lot of money by going here. They have several reputable programs that are offered here.

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Just out of High School looking to transfer.

    What to do for fun

    This area is what you make of it. Surround yourself with people who enjoy trying new things. There is a lot to do around here, just have to look for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect much out of MVCC, since it is open enrollment there are a lot of students who don't really seem to care.

    In three sentences

    Good transition school. Prepares you for transferring.

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Some old guy drives around in a beat up old Pontiac.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent

    Clubs and Activities

    Walmart shopping, dining at Burger King, Bowling.

    Great for these types of students

    Local residents only. Favored by staff because they are family friends. Everyone knows each other in this small town.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fighting with local residents who despise college.

    Bang for the buck

    NONE

    What to do for fun

    Try to avoid the hillbillies that live in the area.

    Food and Dining

    Disgusting. Food is served at area prison and then served here.

    Dorm Life

    Small rooms. Make you pay for damaged items that were already damaged when you entered. Once again, only looking for money.

    Academic Rigor

    Ridiculous

    Tips for prospective students

    DO NOT GO HERE. IT IS A TOILET. TOTAL WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY.

    In three sentences

    Not worth the time or effort. Very low graduation rate - 28%. Lie to get you to go to this toilet of a school.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety are there all the time in uniform.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to choose from there are some based on culture or major.

    Great for these types of students

    The building would be great for someone who likes to work out or someone who wants to be a physical trainer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a new fitness building located all the way in the back of the college with new equipment. The building is called the jorgensen center.

    Bang for the buck

    The food is kind of expensive but its worth it you can watch your sandwich be made in front of you.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can visit the pool or sit in the cafeteria with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is great, sometimes in the summer they will have a bbq as you're going to class you can smell the food cooking.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorms, i have visited though.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are any normal classes you would take. They come with there easy and hard tasks.

    Tips for prospective students

    Smile and keep an open mind.

    In three sentences

    My college is diverse. The people there are really friendly. The profesors are fantastic.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security everywhere. The Utica Police Department is on the campus almost every day to act as a deterrent as well.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who haven't decided what they want to do yet. The great diversity of programs as well as the General Studies program can allow students to take variety of classes that will hopefully help them make a decision about what they want to do in life.

    Bang for the buck

    MVCC is very cheap and is a great place to start off your college career. The tuition is very low compared to many other schools and this allows students to start off their education at a relatively low cost.

    Food and Dining

    For people with a food plan there is a buffet that offers many different kinds of meals. The buffet is very good, but for people without a food plan it is $7.75 to get in. For commuters there is a Pizza Hut express, Grill 155, and a Wrap station.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are relatively small and crowded. There are only three buildings with dorms as most of the students at MVCC are commuters. Most dorm students spend their time in other buildings on campus as the dorms are small and uneventful.

    Academic Rigor

    The college offers a great variety of classes that are intriguing and motivating. The professors are knowledgeable and are also very helpful. Most classes are challenging however, and will require a great amount of work.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking into MVCC, I recommend you act quickly in making your decision and start scheduling classes. If you want a good schedule you will need to register for you classes quickly because they will fill up very fast. Also parking can be a pain. If you are a commuter, allow yourself enough time to be able to find a parking spot and walk to your class.

    In three sentences

    Mohawk Valley Community College offers a great variety of academic programs that can appeal to almost any student. It is cheap, and a great place to start out your college career.

  • 12/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is very good and they manage who goes in and out of the dorms.

    Greek Life

    Get a car and some gas, and travel to utica college or Cuse.

    Great for these types of students

    commuters and people who come from small graduating classes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Gym everyday for everyone

    Bang for the buck

    Fair prices if commuting, not if you live in dorms.

    What to do for fun

    We play pool, hangout in the lounge and workout everyday...that basically it. Awesome people to hangout with but literally nothing to do and no night life. I drive to Syracuse every weekend to get involved in the party scene.

    Food and Dining

    Dining hall is basically a cafeteria with very poor quality food. I am not picky but the general consensus of the food is poor. Pizza everyday for the most part and it gets old...real quick.

    Dorm Life

    Amazing people and life long friends in the dorms, but absolutely nothing to do. We find ourselves bored 95% of the time. The dorms are amazingly clean and bathrooms are awesome, but I would sacrifice this for more to do. Also everyone knows everyone, which drama tends to become abundant. THIS IS A COMMUTER SCHOOL!!! A good portion of the hot girls are all commuters. maybe 10% actually dorm, very deceiving.

    Academic Rigor

    Programs are great, I will be transferring after a year and basically all of my credits transfer without a degree needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider everything you are interested in, such as nightlife, amount of students, dining hall, and programs.

    In three sentences

    Good programs, great people in dorms. But nothing to do and zero night life. 13th grade, not college.

  • 02/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Most people go to the fitness center to exercise or play a sport for fun on their leisure time. There are many competitive sport teams that students can join suh as track or tennis. Students also hang around the dorms for fun. Some students party on the weekends, however this also becomes repetitive as there are few places you can go without a car.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Mohawk Valey Community College is actually pretty good. It can however get boring eating some of thee same foods everyday (pizza, burgers, fries). But it is not uncommon to see different themes and recipes in the cafe, especially during holidays o special events. The cafe is also a nice place to eat aswell as a social place to meet new people.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorm Life in MVCC is one of the safest environments I have ever lived in. For the most part only students are allowed and are allowed guest but this is limited to one per student. The dorm life is also a very social environment and students are friendly and willing to help others. The bedrooms come in multiple sizes ranging from single to triple rooms and there is also on campus wifi as well as laundry machines. However the schools tuition fees does not cover laundry.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics in this school vary depending on your major, however for the most part it is both managable and challenging. Some clases will be easier then others, typically the harder classes are the ones that require various essays which is not uncommon in any college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Important tips for incoming students would be to stay focused on their academic goals that lie ahead while maintaing a social life that doesn't get in the way. Like any other college it is the individual's responsibility to have work in on time and to seek help when needed; this could mean going to the learning center for tuturing which is very helpful, especially in math classes. Another underated tip that is very important is class attendance, you would be surprised at how your attendance impacts your grade. It is so important to attend class everyday because one absence could be the diference in an A or a B, especially if you miss a huge test.

    In three sentences

    Mohawk Valley Community College is a great shool for students looking to improve they're academics and transfer to a larger university. They provide alot of support for students and do a good job in giving students the resources they need to succeed. Mohawk Valley Community College also provides alot of financial oppurtunity and support such as their work study program which allows students to become employed on campus.