Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Monmouth College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/23/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The school is great and is inexpensive if you get grants and scholarships that you qualify for. Good price for a great education!

    Will enjoy being here

    The people here are great, easy to make friends, but the down side is there is not so much stuff to do in Monmouth, it is kind of small.

    Will learn a lot

    The classes sizes are small so you get more one on one interaction with the teachers.

  • 04/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Don't mind being in a small town (most of the stores shut down around 8-10) those who want to be involved those who want a close relationship with their professors (at least those in your major anyway)

    Tips for prospective students

    Get in touch with a professor or the department head for any majors you are interested in. Most of them will be glad to talk to you about the major. I know I was given contact information for both the art department and psychology department because I was debating which I wanted to major in or if I wanted to double major.

    Bang for the buck

    It is still pretty expensive to pay for school, but they do have scholarships to apply for. I suggest applying for as many as you can. I know I got a litttle lazy with my applications, and now I am quite literally paying for it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have made so many friends just by getting involved, and when you are involved you find so much to do you normally aren't bored at all.

    Am learning a lot

    The class size is normally less than 25, and I even have one class with only 4 other people. It's really close and fun, and makes learning really easy.

  • 05/19/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    I have spoken with one of my professor already!!!...and i just enrolled a week ago!

  • 09/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Learners, Intellectual,

    Tips for prospective students

    Join as many clubs as you can and participate in programs.

    Bang for the buck

    They provide good financial aid.

    Am enjoying being here

    Monmouth College is truly what college was meant to be.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are great and you learn a lot.

  • 01/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I go out with my friends and also go the gym.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are good and provide everything.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are sometimes hard and usually they are fun!

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a open mind.

    In three sentences

    Monmouth College is the best school I am attending. The reason why is because the other students are very friendly and the campus is small. The professor can actually help you out in one on one with any work I am having trouble with.

  • 06/10/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 4 people found this review useful. 6 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Keep grades high

    Tips for prospective students

    Awesome financial aid

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have never felt unsafe or concerned about my safety on campus. i am not usually on campus at night, but when i have been, i have felt safe.

    Greek Life

    i am not personally associated with any fraternities or sororities on campus. there are several options for anyone considering joining and the organizations seem to have strong ties between members.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are more clubs and activities than i can list on here. there is almost always something happening on campus each weekend. there are organizations for everyone; from sports and fitness clubs to honor societies and academic clubs.

    Bang for the buck

    monmouth college has financial aid for almost anyone wishing to attend. they are willing to help and work with students to ensure continual attendance at monmouth. monmouth college doesn't want the financial aspect of college to be the reason you don't attend.

    What to do for fun

    there are tons of campus activities each week on campus. there are also recreational sports, organizations and clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    i don't eat in the cafeteria daily, but they do have quite a variety of food options for most all types of diets. they have started up implementing locally grown, organic produce from the monmouth college educational garden. there is also an einstein brothers cafe locate on campus that has amazing bagels.

    Dorm Life

    i personally have not stayed on campus so cannot give an in depth opinion of the dorm life at monmouth college. i have seen the inside of several dormitories and they seem fairly spacious and kept clean and comfortably livable.

    Academic Rigor

    the curriculum is challenging but manageable if you stay on top and don't procrastinate.

    Tips for prospective students

    ask as many questions as possible! don't be afraid to ask and inquire about what matters most to you. it is your future and education and it is up to you to make it all count.

    In three sentences

    monmouth college is an intimate, private liberal arts college with a friendly and knowledgeable faculty. although it is located in a rural town, there are plenty of activities available on and off campus if you are willing to look and get involved. monmouth college is really what college was meant to be.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good

    Great for these types of students

    if coming from a small high school

    What to do for fun

    not alot to do make sure to get involved on campus town is real small

    Food and Dining

    average

    Dorm Life

    good

    Academic Rigor

    average

    Tips for prospective students

    ask questionsvery clean

    In three sentences

    small school and family oriented like to be able to walk the campus and feel safe.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus is very safe, and they even post the official police records on the college web site.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is for those who want a challenging college experience. Theyre geared toward academia and excellence.

    What to do for fun

    The athletics are excellent, theres almost any sport you can think of. The amount of student clubs is extensive, and if you dont find a club you like, you can get permission to make new one!

    Food and Dining

    The food is fresh, healthy, and for the major eaters, in quanity. The meal plans cater to most students needs.

    Dorm Life

    The Mood is pretty normal, and respectful. No rowdy frat parties, or crazy events of destructiveness.

    Academic Rigor

    The main mission of Monmouth is Academic excellence. Everything else is a perk, but youre there to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, and make sure the staff knows you by name. The more you put out, the more you receive.

    In three sentences

    An amazing and extrodinarily friendly college. The atmosphere is no-nonsense, and everyone is there to learn. The staff is extremely supportive, and will work miracles for you to attend!

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Since it is such a small campus and in a small town, the campus is pretty safe. Each student is given the campus security number just in case the students need them for anything.

    Greek Life

    There are three sororities and five fraternities. I am in a sorority, Alpha Xi Delta, and I love it!! I think anyone who is up for trying greed life should go out and rush!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a good chunk of clubs and activities on campus. If Monmouth does not have one the student is looking for then the said student can try and create the new club/activity.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well, there is Scots Eve and Scots Day. Scots Eve is where everybody on campus goes out and hangs with their friends. Scots Day, classes are canceled, the Bagpipe Band goes in each dorm starting at 7AM and plays throughout the halls, then there are festivities all day long.

    Bang for the buck

    I would say I guess so. I mean, it is a private college and that will make it a little more expensive, but, I don't know.

    What to do for fun

    I hang out with my new friends, go around the town, go around the bigger town, visit Western Illinois, swim, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food was ok, but it's expected of college food, so expect to buy lots of food that is already made that you can already eat or make in the microwave.

    Dorm Life

    The freshmen dorms are nice but they are the older dorms. Dorm life is great and I loved my first experience and I'm gonna love the rest of my experiences in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are stepping up from the high school level, so it will be a little bit more intense, so take it seriously.

    Tips for prospective students

    You can still have fun, but remember to study hard and put forth your best.

    In three sentences

    Good school, with beautiful buildings and grounds. Love the classes, they are both fun and educational. Great professors to help the students learn.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never really feel insecure while I'm on campus, which says a lot. I'm a girl, and we've been taught since we were young to always be on alert, but I never feel threatened by anyone here.

    Greek Life

    The Greeks on campus are so different from what I expected. I thought they would be like the Hollywood version: snobby and preppy. But everyone is really so nice and welcoming!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and organizations. There's literally always something going on!

    Great for these types of students

    Monmouth College is perfect for students who like to get one-on-one time with their instructors and are serious about actually learning the material, not just memorizing it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a tradition called Scots Day where the bagpipers for our college run through all the dorm hallways, waking people up with their instruments. It sounds terrible but is actually a ton of fun!

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like you are definitely getting your money's worth when you come to Monmouth College. You are getting such a broad education that will give you skills that will help you in any future job you choose. But you are also able to focus on your major and specialize in that through courses you choose throughout your 4 years here.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many organizations and clubs around campus that you literally have no reason to be bored EVER. We have everything from a Disney Club, to Relay for Life, to a Garden Club. There's something for everyone, and if you want to start a new club it's so easy!

    Food and Dining

    The food in the caf is actually really delicioius, which I found surprising. There's different options every day so we don't get bored, and there's always healthy/vegetarian foods for those of us who don't really feel like a burger or an enchilada or whatever else they have that particular day.

    Dorm Life

    I absolutely love the dorm life at college! I've become so close to my hall mates and I really feel like we're all a big family already! We do lots of things together, like ice cream night, tie-dye parties and we have a bowling trip planned. It's like a sleepover all the time!

    Academic Rigor

    The workload at Monmouth College is about the same as it is at other colleges, from what I've compared with my friends. Most students take 4 or 5 classes a semester, which is awesome because it allows us to focus on those classes without being overwhelmed. We do get a substantial amount of homework, but if you buckle down and get rid of distractions it's completely doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    You definitely shouldn't overlook Monmouth College, like a lot of people do, just because it's a small school. Since it's a private liberal arts college I promise you will get just as good of an education as you would in a larger urban college. In fact you might get a better one since you're able to talk to your professors and get to know them one on one!

    In three sentences

    Monmouth College is one of the most welcoming colleges I know of. There are so many clubs and organizations you can join, and since there's a relatively small student body you can become very close to your classmates quickly. Also, the professors are all very friendly and personable and I've never been afraid to email them and ask them questions about a class.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our own police-it is a small friendly college.

    Greek Life

    They have a great selection--that are tops in their community service activities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons.

    Great for these types of students

    All types- that are serious about their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They celebrate St Patrick's day- they even have a green Monmouth shirt- among other school colors.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is high- but they have tons of scholarships. They even have a Bag-Pipe, scholarship.

    What to do for fun

    They have tons of activities, sports, and groups to join.

    Food and Dining

    Love the food and dining area- they even have an organic menu- for those who eat healthier.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorm life, we have many dorm buildings to fit any-one's preference.

    Academic Rigor

    I like my schedule--there are tutors to help you if you need them, they also have all kind of work groups--for support.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus, If you are a hard working student- Monmouth have scholarships for you.

    In three sentences

    I love the price. I love the campus, because it is small and beautiful. I enjoy my teachers and class-mates.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hours and very friendly!

    Greek Life

    Greek life is prominent. I have many friends in sororities and fraternities. Monmouth College was actually the birthplace of 2 Greek sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs and activities for any interests at all from Big Brothers Big Sisters, to Anime Club, to clubs for political science students/those interested. No shortage of things to get involved in!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have founders day, Homecoming is usual a big one for alumni and football game attendance.

    Bang for the buck

    Your money is well spent. You get the college experience and the education is phenomenal.

    What to do for fun

    Monmouth is a small rural town surrounded by smaller rural towns but there is not shortage of things to do on and off campus and in surrounding towns such as Galesburg and Macomb.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a variety of options in buffet style. Times are decent. There are also a number of other places to eat on campus such as a sub shop, chinese, pasta, etc - though it is not generally very healthy, but they are taking measures to ensure that there are healthier options.

    Dorm Life

    You have to opportunity to move up in living as your progress through college. The dorms are generally well kept and provide for a nice atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are touch and challenging. They 100% value liberal arts and it shows through their curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to take a visit, or two - that was how I ultimately fell in love with Monmouth.

    In three sentences

    Monmouth is a prestigious liberal arts college in the MidWest. Many graduates go on to have jobs in competitive and well-paying fields.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You're fine. It takes five minutes to get anywhere.

    Greek Life

    Home to Kappa Kappa Gamma and Pi Beta Phi sororities, Monmouth College is nationally recognized as a breeding ground for successful greek life chapters. With five fraternities and three sororities, this small town college's Greek Life booms with excitement, activity, and action.

    Clubs and Activities

    One only has to get out and get involved. Staying in the room is the only way to be removed from the activities available.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes are the main draw to this small-town college. Football and track stars are attracted to the glamourous sports histories of Monmouth College. But anybody from anywhere can get something of Monmouth if they are willing to look.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Underground is the only venue for activity. Einstein's Brother's Bagels is a hotspot for an afternoon meeting. Traditions are more or less organization based.

    Bang for the buck

    If it wasn't for the professor's approachability and personalities, Monmouth College would have little bang for its buck. The room and board is overpriced and rising tuition costs coupled with less governmental aid puts a noose on many potential students. However, if you want to have deep conversations with intellectual people--Monmouth College has professors with PhDs ranging from Princeton to Rutgers to Notre Dame--Monmouth is a nice fit.

    What to do for fun

    From scheduling comedians to bringing Van's Warped tour headliners, Forever the Sickest Kids, the Association for Student Activity Programming always brings fun to campus.If that's not your clique, then feel free to start your own; its easy, simple, and fast. The town doesn't provide much entertainment past the bars or an occasional acoustic show at Olivia's. Monmouth College loves its football and the female basketball team is always an exciting watch. Intramural sports are frequently in season and the table-top gaming club will trade cards all night.

    Food and Dining

    The only downfall to the jolly Kim's cafeteria is his unwillingness to diversify. All-too-often the same foods appear and one leaves the cafeteria feeling full but unfulfilled. The around-the-clock cereal bar is a nice treat and nobody complains when the omelet bar is open. The always tasty Monty's Sub is a nice retreat when you don't want the cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    With the administration's attack on campus night-life with the installation of security cameras, many students are packed into tight spaces. While the upper-classmen dorms are on par with four star hotels, the freshman dorms--save for one--resemble a grungy motel on the outskirts of town. Overall, you don't really get the bang for your buck, but you have no choice: single students who don't commute must live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor varies depending on major. Monmouth College prides itself on its ability to send the scientific-types to graduate school and recently cut the ribbon on a multi-million Science and Business building. The Humanities departments, while entrenched in classical and traditional understandings, host personable and perceptive professors. Sadly, the backbone of the curriculum--the interdisciplinary studies courses--lack in intellectual stimulation.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is flows with a small-town current. The microscopic campus breeds boredom. But boredom only means time to do things. Starting an organization is easy and student run: you can be yourself and be a leader at the same time.

    In three sentences

    The small-town feel of this intimate campus is at once claustrophobic and oceanic. Any academic qualms are satisfied by personable and readily available professors. Regardless of where you're from, Monmouth will allow you to see yourself and your life differently, even if you don't like it.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    intramural sports

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 21

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It is a great campus. It has lots of things I am interested in. It seems like an exciting place to be.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Monmouth is by far the safest place you can go out whenever and where ever and feel at home and secure.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs on campus to join and you can even create your own club given you get enough people who surely share the same interest as you do.

    What to do for fun

    There's a ton of places of places to have fun you have the Huff where you can go and workout or play some basketball or even flag football when it's too cold. When the summer starts to roll in you can run the 800 meter track or just toss the pig skin around with the friends. There's also intramural sports that happens year round so you have something to do at any given moment.

    Food and Dining

    The food there is ok given the lack of choices, but if you are not as much of an eater or as picky with your food choice you should be fine. There's also a sandwich place in the lower level of the complex. With a store on the same level where you can get what ever you may need if you become hungry during the night.

    Dorm Life

    I am currently in Graham residence Hall life in Graham is comfortable enough space for both you and you roommate. the lodge is open to all who want to meet new people and just have fun or just study.

    Academic Rigor

    Throughout the first semester it may be hard for some students given if you do not budget the time given to complete the assignments that have due dates.

    Tips for prospective students

    take advantage of the help given to you the help given our from both student of upper classed and those pro

    In three sentences

    Monmouth College has pushed to help students to do more than what most students when switching from high school to College. the school has a wide range of ways in giving help to the attending students. Attending Monmouth College would be a great choice for those who enjoy a small but comfortable places, but with many places to study and explore new things, such as meeting new people and also getting to know your professor. The small class size ranging from 15 to 20 students allows you the one-on-one time with professors.

  • 06/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe and there is security around to help if you need someone to walk you back to the dorms at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs and activities to do to keep you busy outside of your studies. There are even activities designed to help you with your coursework. Everything from fundraising to women's rights meetings.

    Great for these types of students

    Monmouth is great for people who do not want to get lost in a large classroom setting. A person would go to Monmouth if they like small classes and professors who take an interest in your education.

    Bang for the buck

    Monmouth is a costly private school but when I am done with my education it will be a solid education where I know I have learned from the best.

    What to do for fun

    I am in a sorority and we do a lot of fun activities through the sorority. The college also has a lot of activities throughout the year for meeting people and getting involved. There are of course fraternity and sorority parties and other parties.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food was lacking here. Not a lot of healthy choices to choose from. The freshman fifteen came even faster than just from the partying.

    Dorm Life

    I loved living in a dorm. The college works hard to match you up with a person who is close to who you are and what you like to do.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are demanding but Monmouth expects a lot from their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to take the time to study. The classes are demanding and you can easily choose to do other things.

    In three sentences

    This college is fantastic! I have the small class sizes that I wanted and professors that care about their students. I love going here!

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Whatever you want to do you can.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a tour guide of the campus I'd say the campus is really what you make it to be.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy the beautiful campus. I feel as if I am home. Here all is welcomed and the professors are really here to help if you allow them to.

  • 12/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security constantly walking around campus. Security also offers a driving service if you feel unsafe walking around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Majority of the student body is involvent in a club or an organization.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do on the weekends. Also student life brings in guest entertainment and guest speakers.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of food options. Monmouth college has the best food options that I have had over all colleges that I have visited.

    Dorm Life

    I love dorm life. All the dorm buildings are cleaned almost every day. You also form a bond with your neighbors.

    Academic Rigor

    Students in class are willing to help and there is a lot of hands on homework and labs. Instead of listening to lecture all day, professors try to get all students involved in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Monmouth is what college is meant to be. It is an amazing learning environment.

    In three sentences

    I give Monmouth College a perfect score. The professors are willing to help you in any way they can. Everyone on campus has an amazing attitude.

  • 03/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hanging out with friends or catching a show on the quad are very common things on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. Try new things.

    In three sentences

    Monmouth College is a wonderful place to go to school. Everyone at Monmouth is friendly, and it feels like a family. I would highly recommend Monmouth College.