Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Monmouth University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/03/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 out of 25 people found this review useful. 1 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great if you want to go to a smaller school, where you recognize most of the other students that you see everyday. Great if you want to get involved and be known on campus. Not a big campus, so everything is close by if you don't like walking or getting lost. Great for those who love the beach and enjoy historic buildings (Wilson Hall).

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved is the best thing I've ever done. By getting involved at Monmouth University, more and more other students as well as the faculty get to know you. Because of that, it is easier to receive help when you need it and its the college experience is so much better in the long run by knowing more people and not just sitting in the dorm room.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is gorgeous. The beach is 5 minutes away and the surrounding area is really nice. Everything is pretty close, such as the Monmouth Mall or the shops and nightlife at Pier Village. The atmosphere is very relaxing which is a huge plus when attending college. The farthest academic building that a resident has to walk to class is 15 minutes away, and the residential halls are separated from the academic buildings which creates a nice balance.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes here are small. All of your classes will never reach 40, so forget about large lecture halls. I love the classes; because of the small class size, you get to learn much more and have a great relationship with your professor. Your professor knows who you are; you are not just a number, like you are at larger schools. The professors are very helpful and if you want to succeed, there is a lot of help and resources everywhere on campus.

  • 03/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 12 people found this review useful. 2 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing students, students willing to learn, and students who like to get involved.

    Tips for prospective students

    The advice I would give, to not only students who want to attend MU but to all prospective students, is that college is what you make of it. Get involved and take advantage of everything your school offers you! Understand that all first-year students go through difficult times, but you can do it!

    Bang for the buck

    Considering the location (a mile from the beach), the quality of the classes, the amount of extracurricular opportunities, and the safety of the campus, I would say the students are getting bang for their buck. Monmouth may seem expensive on paper, but it offers a scholarships to almost every student ranging in $1,000- $14,000.

    Am enjoying being here

    So far, I have gotten involved, made great friends, and learned a lot. Monmouth has something for everyone, and if you are willing to put yourself out there you will have an amazing time. Classes are good and the overall air of the campus (especially on nice days) is positive.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes at MU are really good, especially when you get into your major. Class sizes are really small, and the professors are always willing to meet with you and are also really understanding. MU has a lot of resources if you are not doing well, like the Writing Center, the Math Center, and the Tutoring Center, which can match you with a tutor for any class you are taking.

  • 01/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 3 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Honestly: Smokers, gay males, pot smokers, those from well-off families, and on certain weekends: partiers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what you want to do. If you are interested in pursuing a Master's Degree, and Monmouth is one of your top school options, the 5 year Master's Programs are pretty good, and not every school has them. It's also great for Liberal Arts studies, so look into them. Don't say you want to go to MU just because it's next to the beach.... You're not even at school during the summer. Don't get distracted by the parties and such, and everybody knows that most people are drinkers, but you have to be smart about it, because there are many freshman who currently have 2 of 3 alcohol violations- before their second semester. These violations require YOU to do more work, so if you're going to do something stupid, be smart about it, because honestly, you're at school to learn, so make sure you focus on your education.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are in a 5-year Master's program, it's a pretty good deal. But in general, I feel Monmouth's prices are far too high. total cost of attendance is approx. $40,000.... a little under for the 2010-2011 school year, and that price will only increase. I feel that much of the tuition is spent on unnecessary things, and that it's not used to enhance our academic experience. Monmouth spends the money earned from tuition on three things: landscaping, deserts in the dining hall that aren't even that good (they also make FAR too many deserts), and free shirts.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's very boring at MU a lot of the time. You really have to search for things to do. The school offers a lot of events, but they are often targeted at specific groups of people and are at awkward times/locations. There is rarely something to do at night, and many students do not feel like walking from the residential side of campus to the academic side for these events and programs. There's also a lot of cliques, and they develop very early on in your college experience, so unless you find one (or a few) that you belong to, it is less enjoyable. You have to make your own fun, however if you do like going to sporting events, while our teams may not be the ones you see on ESPN every day, going to the events is ALWAYS fun, even when the teams lose, especially because they are rarely blown out, its usually a very close game till the end, or they make a nice come back at the end, so the sporting events are great to go to.

    Am learning a lot

    Some classes you learn a lot, but out of the 5 I have completed, I feel as if I learned nothing, or extremely little, in three. MU needs to have better standards for their professors. Many new professors are completely oblivious as to how to teach, ecampus is a disaster in and of itself, and some of the older professors are just worn out and teaching things entirely irrelevant to the courses. The level of academic standards to get into the school are much superior in comparison to those of the college itself.

  • 03/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 4 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Relax and let your heart make the choice for you.

    Bang for the buck

    It isn't cheap going to school here but it's worth every penny. You are getting a top education while going to the beach!

    Am enjoying being here

    I wouldn't choose anywhere else to go to school. Monmouth makes it easy to make friends and have a lot of fun.

    Am learning a lot

    There is always something new to learn here. All the professors have something new to offer and you'll never get bored in class!

  • 06/21/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Monmouth has some bright, devoted students who are a joy to be around. Be mindful of the jersey shore types. They conform to just about every stereotype you can think of: tan, dumb, and irresponsible. There are plenty of students here who are clearly attending on mommy and daddy's penny, not their wit, and it is an embarassment to the truly committed students. If you enjoy getting arrested at parties I recommend Monmouth, because security often catches you, believe it or not. If you don't really want to learn then please do not take up space at this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Save your money and apply for work study as soon as possible. Jobs are available, and if you enjoying tutoring the tutoring center always needs extra help. I had a great position as a tutor. Also be active on campus! The events are always fun but free classes such as yoga are offered in the dorms at night. You don't have to be extremely social to find friends here, you'll spot each other at events.

    Bang for the buck

    Be aware, this school is wonderful but by no means affordable. Monmouth offers handsome scholarships but they often do not cover the gargantuan tuition. The professors and students try to cope with money issues, but the president of the college, if you look him up, comes from big-oil industry money. He is absent on campus and does not care about students...and is very comfortable hiking up the tuition regularly. Prepare to pinch pennies.

    Did enjoy being here

    There is plenty to do at Monmouth. Campus activities and student organizations are abundant. From live performances from bands and comedians to visiting the beach, this school proivdes entertainment. The campus is goregous, compact, and secure. Campus security is vigilant and will never hesitate to escort you back to your dorm if you feel unsafe.

    Did learn a lot

    The majority of teachers at Monmouth know students by name, and class sizes rarely exceed 35 students. The average class is about 15 to 20 students, if I recall. The professors here are almost always supportive and listen to your needs in and outside of class. I enjoyed all of my classes. Overall, you can learn a lot in a very personable environment.

  • 03/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Beach lovers, honors students, business students, psychology students

    Am enjoying being here

    This is an absolutely beautiful campus with great faculty and staff.

    Am learning a lot

    I like the set up of the classes and class size is great, not too big and not too small.

  • 08/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to enjoy college AND get a good education. Not just one or the other.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Monmouth, get involved, and make friends. If you do that, you'll have a great college experience.

    Bang for the buck

    The campus is beautifully maintained and the facilities are always tip-top. If that's not enough to quantify the expenses, the amount of give-away's the campus has during events surely does.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is so much to do on campus and there is so much opportunity to hold new events that it is impossible to not enjoy it.

    Am learning a lot

    The faculty are extremely helpful and care about the students. They make the transition to college-level education simple and efficient. Most importantly though they are flexible and work with you to get you the help you need.

  • 08/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People serious about their schoolwork, open minded, beach lovers, laidback, etc... This school is perfect for the average student who is not looking for a party school but rather a place to make life long friends as well as great references

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be open minded and willing to try new things. There are plenty of clubs and activities on campus where you can meet tons of new friends! So get out there and see what they have to offer, I can promise you, it will truly be worth it!

    Bang for the buck

    Although I would recommend MU to anyone, the only complaint I have about it is the cost of attendance. Even though MU is extremely generous with scholarships and grants freshman year...the years following make it a tight time. Even though I would usually agree with the fact that the university is completely worth $40,000 a year....I must say that with these tough financial times lately it is not the best idea.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere is AMAZING! The campus feels completely safe, people roam around at all hours of the night without feeling as though something bad could happen. The scenery is gorgeous as well as the buildings. The students as well as the staff are completely comforting and are always willing to help a student out...It also helps that the school is within walking distance to the beach!

    Am learning a lot

    After High school I had thought that I had learned all there is to know about the world, but I was WAY off. The professors at MU have much more to share than your average high school class. The professors are always willing to share past experiences with the class making it much more interactive as well as interesting. A good amount of my professors have studied abroad in the past and they love to share those cultures with the class. Besides the professors the class sizes are extremely small compared to much larger universities, especially in the art departments. This allows students to have much more of a one-on-one session with the teachers.

  • 11/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking for a small school, a campus where everything is walking distance, and a location near the beach. The campus is beautiful and filled with history. There is a diverse student body here and anyone is welcome!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you come to Monmouth be sure to take full advantage of everything that is offered. Talk to professors during their office hours. Ask the writing center to review your papers. Attend campus events. Watch the MU Hawks fly to victory in sports. Walk through the beautiful campus on a nice day.

    Bang for the buck

    There are many benefits of being at a private university. Each student gets a much individualized attention as needed. Professors and other resources help us to feel as though there is always help available if needed. If you are looking for a small campus that is easy to get around, Monmouth would be a great choice. They offer scholarships for high grades and there are many jobs available on campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    If you love the beach, Monmouth is the place to be. A three minute drive makes it easy for the sand to be your place to study, work out, or just relax. Monmouth is a smaller school so tere is a great sense of community. The dorms are all nice and the walks to class are never too far. There are always activities going on on campus and we have had some great performers come. It is easy to make friends in classes and get to know your classmates since the class size averages to about 25 students.

    Am learning a lot

    The programs here are great and definitely will prepare you for future careers. The small class sizes really help the learning process, and most professors are able to learn your names. There are a lot of options for scheduling classes to meet everyone's needs. Monmouth has a ton of student support services that can be easily accessed such as tutoring services and a writing center. Lastly, the library is huge and filled with sources and places to work.

  • 08/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students with adventurous spirits, a love for fun activities, including school-sponsored trips and on-campus events, students who prefer small class sizes (thanks but no thanks to the lecture halls), and are eager to put themselves out there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Stay busy and active, and know your limits. If you need to study more, study more. If you need to hang out with friends more, do so. Take care of yourself and learn about your resources. (And if you choose to attend Monmouth, don't hesitate to reach out to your peers (myself included) or your professors. They're there to help!)

    Bang for the buck

    Monmouth has a ton to offer in terms of socialization, but like I said before the education is lacking. Again, college is what YOU make it, so if you want more for your money, that's your responsibility. The resources are there-- they may just be hiding.

    Am enjoying being here

    ABSOLUTELY! It was a rough start at first, not gonna lie, but getting involved and getting to know people (and being comfortable with who you are as a person) is the way to go! Don't let yourself get bored, and you'll enjoy every second of your time at which ever school you choose.

    Am learning a lot

    Coming from an internationally geared educational background, Monmouth could offer more; but that doesn't mean that what they do offer isn't enough. Let me put it simply: education is what you make it. Monmouth's relatively easy curriculum has forced me to strive for my own stars and aspire to be the best that I can be, even when that means blowing teachers away. In terms of cultural learning, too, Monmouth has much to offer (especially to those from out of state, like me).

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    MUPD is always on the watch.

    Greek Life

    Very active sororities and fraternities. Wide range to choose from.

    Clubs and Activities

    The options are limitless!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is walking distance from the beach. By junior or senior year, apartments along the waterfront are available. The main building, Wilson Hall, was the summer home of President Woodrow Wilson during his presidency. It was also the elegant home of Daddy Warbucks in the movie The Little Orphan Annie.

    What to do for fun

    Go out onto the field with your friends, throw a football or frisbee, play volleyball, go to the gym, walk a few blocks down to the beach, go to the school diner for food at night, study at the beautiful library, attend one of the MANY events hosted every single night by the Students Activities Board.. pretty much anything!

    Food and Dining

    Everything is delicious and the managers are ALWAYS interested in hearing our feedback. We wanted mac-n-cheese; they gave us mac-n-cheese. The halls are very well kept and I love the staff.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are set up just like anyone would imagine. You live with people your age, share a common room and bathroom, and can basically live that college life you have been yearing for. In that sense I am referring to being able to judge your time yourself, figure out when it's time to study and when it's acceptable to just hang out and stay up all night with your friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Monmouth's academics are top in the nation, from what I have heard. Almost every single one of my professors have their doctorates. They are extremely bright and I have not encountered one professor I was unable to comply with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although the University is private, and quite expensive, it is worth every dime! Monmouth does it's best to act as a stepping stone for it's students. The tools the equip us with serve as the foundation we need in order to obtain that degree and begin our careers. If you are interested in the school, but the price isn't in your budget, check out what type of funding the school has to offer. My dream has been filled because of the funding the school and other grant donors were able to give me!

    In three sentences

    Monmouth University is a beautiful and very attractive campus. There are academic programs set up for the student's success, many of which I personally benefit from. Additionally, the campus is very diverse, filled with people from all over the state, country and the rest of the world!

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Monmouth University is one of the safest campuses I have ever experienced. The campus has a system called Blackboard-Connect where students receive notifications to their cell phones and emails if something is wrong on campus. Also, there are several emergency phones around campus, even outside that a student or staff member may use if necessary. Also, MUPD is our full-time, trained and armed police force here on campus who are very helpful in any situation.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different activities and clubs on campus to join. To make the college experience more amazing, look into joining some clubs!

    Great for these types of students

    Monmouth University is great for students who are looking for a relatively small campus with incredible people.

    What to do for fun

    There are many thing to do on campus. There is always something going on. From SGA activities, to your RA's programs, you should never be bored.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Monmouth University is pretty good. Aside from the occasional not so great meal, everything is pretty tasty. There are many options to choose from so you do not feel obligated to just one thing. Also, Java City, the on campus coffee shop, really comes in handy!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great. Everyone is friendly and respectful. The buildings are pretty much always clean and if everyone does their part around the building, dorm life goes very smoothly.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the professor, class workloads are not too heavy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Monmouth University expecting to learn. The professors jump right into the subject matter and it is a very steady pace.

    In three sentences

    Monmouth University is a beautiful school. All of the professors as well as the rest of the staff are always willing to help. You never feel alone when you are on campus because everyone around is so friendly.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24-hour surveillance and campus has it's own police department. Each dorm has a Night Hawk who monitors who is in the building. Night Hawks are on duty from 9pm - 2am and work closely with the RA on duty. It's a VERY safe campus.

    Greek Life

    I was not involved in Greek Life, however, it is a HUGE part of Monmouth. You WILL make friends with frat bros, or soror sisters. You WILL go to a frat house party.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is an abundance of activities and clubs to get involved with. Monmouth's campus is excellent for Athletes and Communication Majors as their facilities are the newest and most innovative. Monmouth offers several ways to get involved as campus tour guides, orientation leaders, lab assistants, and resident assistants,

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, Involved in extra-curricular activities, Athletes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wilson Hall is byfar the strangest landmark on MU campus. The summer home of President Woodrow Wilson, it's a majestic mansion where Annie's dance on the grand staircase with Daddy Warbucks was filmed. Classes take place in the building and several departments are housed here as well. The higher you go, the smaller the rooms get. It's really intriguing. Winter balls and fundraising events take place on the first floor and the basement, where President Wilson had a bowling alley and swimming pool, is rumored to be haunted. The Gugenheim Library is also another strange building. Once the home of a Gugenheim decendent who's wife went down with the Titanic, the University keeps all of it's academic resources here. Gugenheim's wife has been spotted on the red velvet staircase in the mansion library. A third strange place is the Music & Theatre building, which was Woodrow Wilsons horse stables during his stay. This building is also rumored to be haunted.

    Bang for the buck

    Monmouth is expensive, but all colleges are. It's hard to put a price on such an experience, though. The campus is beautiful, offers several activities, as well as opportunities to make spending a little easier on the wallet. Work study and Resident Assistant opportunities help cut costs of attending. Even though regular Fall/Spring semesters are expensive, I had no worries in applying for more aid to do Study Abroad in Spain one summer, which I highly recommend!

    What to do for fun

    Join campus organizations. The radio and TV studios are comparable to professional studios. The Plangere building, where they are housed, was given by the found of the Asbury Park Times in 2001-2002. Also, the indoor athletic facilities are the newest to campus, so if you can join a sports team - DO IT! Monmouth hosts several athletic events at this venue and it's so stellar, it almost justifies your tuition price! Off campus, the beach is about 1/2 mile away. In warm weather, take advantage of it. There are plenty of restaurants, especially late night Nelly's, for those underage and, when of age, there are great bars and clubs. Jacks and Stingrays are a staple among Monmouth students. There's great shopping at the Promenade on Ocean Drive and the new Outlets, Monmouth Mall and Freehold Mall are close by as well. Monmouth U is in a perfect location as Asbury's Stone Pony is only 20 minutes away and NYC is just a train ride away. Six flags is also an option. That can be reached in under 30 minutes.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is AMAZING. We call it Club Magill because, during dinner, girls and guys dress up like they're going to the club. Not everyone, but enough for it to get that name. Either way, the food is delicious and there's several stations ranging from sandwiches to salads, grilled food to quick and easy. There's even a waffle station! You will never be able to eat the way you do at Monmouth unless you are on a cruise - it's that serious. The Student Center also provides great food, but that will come off of your declining balance that is small and fleeting, but comes with your food plan. Every on-campus resident must have a food plan. The Student Center and Dining Hall are on the Academic side of campus, while The Underground Cafe is on the Dorm-side. This also takes the declining balance and has less healthy, but delicious, options. You can find this in Elmwood Hall.

    Dorm Life

    Monmouth is intersected by a road, but there's an underground tunnel. It's strange at first, but you get used to it. Campus life is on one side, Academic on the other - makes sense. Monmouth can be considered a back pack school, especially in the Fall semester. Students are from the general area, for the most part, so go home on the weekends for the beginning of the year. Other than that, the facilities are great. Freshman are housed in traditional dorms - long hallways, rooms of 2 or 3. Each floor is equipped with a Resident Assistant who can be your best friend, or your enemy, so tread lightly. Sophomores get suite style housing - 4 rooms, 3 are double and 1 is a triple. Each floor has an RA as well. Juniors have suite-style housing or apartment style and Seniors get apartment style. The apartments are fancy and EVERYONE tries to get them. There's a lottery system and though sophomores and juniors slip into amazing apartments here and there, your chances of getting into an apartment are best when you are a Senior.

    Academic Rigor

    Having anywhere from 35-42 professors during my time at Monmouth, I can only think of two that I really didn't care for. The professors care about the students' progress and are truly leaders and experts in their field. Monmouth focuses on writing intensive courses and public speaking - two things I do, fortunately, enjoy; so be prepared! The facilities are amazing, especially for Communication majors and athletes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out your FAFSA as early as possible and gain a rapport with the Bursar and Financial Aid offices. Wilson Hall will be your friend. Also, take advantage of the career counseling so as not to become a super senior, which is a notorious title on MU campus. Also, get involved in the surrounding community. Once you integrate, definitely look into becoming a Resident Assistant to help with housing costs and be a leader on campus.

    In three sentences

    Monmouth was the best experience of my life. I received a very well-rounded education and was involved in several organizations. I made long-lasting friendships and often reminisce about many experiences had on and off campus during my time there.

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is a top priority at MU and you definitely feel safe even walking back to your room from the 24 hour computer lab at 4 am by yourself. MUPD is its own separate police department from that of Long Branch and West Long Branch, but they are there for whatever student safety needs.

    Greek Life

    Without a doubt the staple of social life on campus. The Greek community hosts plenty of events/activities that are enjoyed by everyone and they do a multitude of good for the surrounding area.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Debate Team is a recent big team on campus that really scooped up some attention this past year with their winnings. Most clubs and organizations so well on their own and have many successful events.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The fountains are a quiet place that students like to sit around by and study, but many students don't go through the sculpture garden, which is equally as wonderful. It's a quaint little garden filled with flowers, quirky benches, and a small fish pond. It provides a relaxing atmosphere to do some work or be inspired for artwork.

    Bang for the buck

    The University is always adding things to campus or fixing up what is already there. The programs offered and everything that the advisers do for each student makes the money you're paying well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    The beach is about 1 mile down the road, so many students go down to the sand to study, surf, swim, or get some sun when the weather permits. Pier Village and Monmouth Mall also offer plenty of awesome shops to enjoy an afternoon of shopping. Many students take joy in running down to the beach or going to some of the cafes around the area. There is also a movie theater about 10 minutes from campus for those students that enjoy watching movies frequently.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is generally not too crowded, unless it's towards the night. The food is decent and the staff are very friendly. The student center is also packed at any given hour with students, as is Java CIty with students going for their caffeine fill.

    Dorm Life

    Dorming is great. Throughout the week each building is busy with students passing back and forth through the entrances and exits. On the weekends, it is quiet during the day, but at night the students all come out. The RAs in each building are welcoming and make the dorms feel like home, even if you are visiting a friend's dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes require hours of studying and work to do well. Each professor has their own way of teaching, grading, etc, however they will all challenge you to push you past your potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    Small campus so it's difficult to keep your personal life hidden if you do something regrettable publicly. Make sure to frequently speak with your professors if you need help or advise, they are extremely helpful and most of the time, understanding of your situation.

    In three sentences

    It is an incredibly beautiful campus surrounded by a quiet residential area. The professors and classes are stimulating and there are an abundance of opportunities to help you find the right career path. Greek life is big on campus, so it offers students a great chance to join something that will be a part of their lives even post-grad.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    monmouth is a great school but its crazy expensive. they do offer scholarships but its a good idea to be completely invested if considering mu because you'll need to definitely save your money.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are nice and the buildings are away from the academic side of campus which gives students a good balance between school and dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are great and the teachers really know what they're talking about. the small class sizes make it easy to stand out and get personal attention. no lecture halls, which is awesome. lots of hands on learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    be ready to have fun and meet new people. get involved.

    In three sentences

    very beautiful campus that has a very warm, welcoming atmosphere. they take academics very seriously so it's no secret that you're getting a top quality education. there is no better place to go to school.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    very high in tuition, but i enjoyed visiting at staying there.

    What to do for fun

    beach is less then 2 miles away! close to boardwalks and nightlife

    Food and Dining

    dining hall is small, but very clean! has good food!!

    Dorm Life

    even though some halls don't have a.c, you really can't complain.

    In three sentences

    to start, its in new jersey being known for its outgoing personalities! you'll end up with a smile after visiting. go hawks!

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i always feel safe on campus and since we have our own police force you always see mupd cars driving around at night.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    wilson hall is amazing. the main staircase is actually where the movie annie filmed annie coming down the stairs in daddy warbucks house.

    Bang for the buck

    monmouth is extremely expensive and although the campus is beautiful, i feel like a lot of our tuition goes purely towards lawn keeping.

    What to do for fun

    there are usually frats and sororities that have parties. thursday nights are really big at monmouth. most ras are really cool and as long as you aren't doing stuff in your room when they're on duty, they don't care. there are a lot of clubs and inter mural sports you can join too.

    Food and Dining

    the dining hall food gets boring fast and the student center, which has delicious food, doesn't let you use your meal plan. shadows is good but the food is really greasy and fattening so it's not something you should want to eat every night, plus it can get expensive. there are a lot of good pizzerias and chinese places that will deliver to the school though.

    Dorm Life

    suite style dorms are the best! i room with 7 other girls and we share a common room and a bathroom with 2 sinks and 2 stalls and 1 shower. showering issues are never a problem though. it's nice to live with so many others because then if you don't get along with your roommate you have 6 other people to hang out with. also, the washing machine and dryer are literally 10 feet from my suite, not all the way in the basement.

    Academic Rigor

    i am in the honors school so i have to maintain a 3.3 gpa or higher. i have found that my honors classes are typically easier in the fact that the teachers do not have to put up with kids who joke around and are lazy so they tend to grade easier and base classes solely on discussions.

    Tips for prospective students

    you should definitely look into getting a car on campus. it's expensive but it's worth it. the dining hall food isn't bad but i would definitely stock up on snacks from home. if you plan to stay on the weekends, make sure you have stuff to occupy your time with because over half the campus goes home.

    In three sentences

    it's small so you get to know your classmates and teachers well. the campus is absolutely gorgeous and extremely well-kept. the class sizes are very small, usually 35 students at the most.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although there have been times that people have got onto campus that don't belong, the campus is very safe. There are call boxes all over campus and the police go around campus constantly.

    Greek Life

    When walking around campus, it seems as if everyone is in a fraternity or sorority. However, that's not true. Monmouth does not provide greek housing.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everyone. If there is one that is not available a Monmouth, you can create your own!

    Bang for the buck

    I think that for the amount of money that students pay to attend Monmouth, it could be better.

    What to do for fun

    The beach is right around the corner. Also, there many shops and towns to go in and shop or eat.

    Food and Dining

    The food is average. It is like regular college food. However, it is very expensive.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, but I have seen them. They are like typical college dorms and moderate. However, there is a freshmen dorm building that is new and really great.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is very strong. The professors are strict and challenge students, but only because they want you to succeed. Academics are very important at Monmouth.

    In three sentences

    Monmouth is the perfect school for me. The professors are fabulous. The school is beautiful.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent, clean and safe. We have our own police force on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Beautiful Long Branch beach is one mile down the road, and many students walk there. Convenient shopping on famous New Jersey boardwalks, nightlife/clubs on weekends, etc.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter, but I do know that dorm life is very well liked here, with modern, clean, and beautiful new dorm buildings. Also, is safe.

    In three sentences

    Monmouth U. has actually been the only college I wanted to attend since sophomore year in high school. It has been everything I had hoped and more. It is very well known as a top Business college, and I am and Business/Economics major. My department is excellent, as well as many other majors that are top tier, in my opinion.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe

    Greek Life

    Yes there are about 10 Fraternities and Sororities on campus, but Monmouth does not have houses on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Monmouth is great for students, who are serious about their education, but still want to have some fun.

    Bang for the buck

    The better you do in HS and on your S.A.T's the better financial reward you will have.

    What to do for fun

    I'm an athlete so there isn't much free time, but we go to the beach, the mall, bowling etc. The train station is close by to go to NYC.

    Food and Dining

    Dining hall is better than most schools, there is something for everyone.

    Dorm Life

    Great experience, lived there my first 2 years!

    Academic Rigor

    There is an honors program at Monmouth.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll early, freshman class fills up quickly. Go for a few visits and speak to your tour guides!

    In three sentences

    Monmouth University is a great school! It has kind staff and is in a fantastic location. The classes are small and you personal.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are so many MU police officers roaming around all of the time; giving tickets especially, but always watching out for wrong-doers.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you are thinking of a business major; if you do very well and work hard it is noticed. Beta Gamma Sigma is a fabulous honor to receive ;if your welling to do what it takes.

    What to do for fun

    The beach is like 10 minutes away; so after a summer class it's a great place to chill.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat at the dining hall but all of the other, smaller food locations are good.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm; but from what I heard from friends dorming is fun if you have the right roommate. It is just not for me.

    Academic Rigor

    It does depend on how hard you are willing to challenge yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you would like to do your Freshmen to Sophomore year because the sooner you take the required classes the faster you will get out and on to better things!

    In three sentences

    There is an overwhelming sense to do well. Most professors and advisors want you to do well; but I won't lie there are some professors that are just there for the paycheck.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Often, there are activities going on outside on the quad almost every weekend. Other than that, there are various clubs for every type of interest. If there is not one out there that you like, there is opportunity to create one.

    Food and Dining

    There is a variety of different foods/choices at the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorm is one of the best experiences one can have at Monmouth University. It can be a place to bond and live with fellow students and really create a connection with others.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, a student has to work hard to earn top grades. However, there is a lot of opportunity for hands on work outside the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    In order to become a true member of the Monmouth University community, one must engage in numerous activities on campus as well as keep their dorm room doors open often to meet new people.

    In three sentences

    Monmouth University is my home away from home. The University provides students with a great community of diverse people. There is also a strong connection between students and staff members.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are bars, clubs and tons of event and clubs and games to attend on and off campus.

    Food and Dining

    I have not really eaten too much on campus because I have been a commuter but I hear that there are many options for students to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I am currently commuting but plan on moving on campus as a junior in the fall but I hear that the dorms are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on your major, but as a biology major, I spent about 30 hours a week studying so i would say that there is a lot of work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be intimidated by other students because everyone is super nice. Study as much as you can and go to all of your professor's office hours.

    In three sentences

    Monmouth University is the most welcoming school. The students are kind and the teachers really do care about the students. Also the atmosphere is very relaxed.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are Monmouth University Police and Safety officers everywhere. There has never been a moment I did not feel safe walking alone or with friends through campus or even off campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a major part of Monmouth. It seems as though every other person walking is walking proudly in letters. While it is not necessary to join, it is a very easy and helpful way to meet new people and to experience new opportunities in terms of community service and involvement with a philanthropy.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of ways to be involved in things such as Student Government or the Student Activities Board. Both organizations are open to all students and there are plenty more clubs to be involved in.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, this school is pricey, but it is also a private University. For what we have, it's worth it. The campus is small enough to not have to worry about busses or ever really being late for class and the dorms really nice for a college dorm.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things to do for fun around Monmouth. There are tons of clubs for everyone. Also, Greek life is a major part of Monmouth and offers plenty of opportunities for everyone to be involved.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is an acquired taste. It's no fine dining but its either the meal plan or fast food every night.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are dorms. They're no stay in the Hilton but they're definitely livable and enjoyable.

    Academic Rigor

    Studying and actually showing up for class is key. This is a school that requires attendance not only for the professors but to ensure you are learning as much as you can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be confident in yourself and try your best. Study hard and always remember that work comes before play.

    In three sentences

    Monmouth is extremely helpful in and outside of the classroom. They offer plenty of clubs to be involved in for all sorts of interests. Monmouth is overall a great university to excel in every aspect.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Monmouth is located less than a mile fro the beach, so during warmer days that's a popular destination. MU is also a short drive from the Monmouth Mall and Red Bank for all your shopping needs.

    Food and Dining

    It's the typical college dining hall at Monmouth, buffet style always offered along with sandwich stations and desserts. Also on campus is a pricey little coffee shop, a late night snack stop, and a bagel shop.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are kept exceptionally clean. There is always security to make everyone feel safe while living on campus. The RA's are great and its easy to meet new people.

    Academic Rigor

    The small class sizes is what makes it easy to improve your grade. Professors are always willing to help and will often extend office hours if needed. As long as you ask for help it's not hard to do well at MU.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to get involved. Monmouth is all about school spirit and student run clubs and organizations. The best way to meet people at such a small school is to find something you enjoy and join a club.

    In three sentences

    Monmouth University is truly a beautiful school. The campus is always blooming with beautiful flowers and landscaping. In addition to that, the staff as well as the students make Monmouth University a great school to attend.

  • 08/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Monmouth has an extremely safe campus, it has a 21 person police force ON CAMPUS. Then there is still the Blue Light system all around campus.

    Greek Life

    Sororities: Alpha Kappa Alpha, Alpha Sigma Tau, Alpha Xi Delta, Delta Phi Epsilon, Lambda Theta Alpha, Phi Sigma Sigma, and Zeta Tau Alpha. Fraternities: Phi Kappa Psi, Sigma Pi, Sigma tau Gamma, Tau Kappa Epsilon, Theta Xi, and Alpha Kappa Psi Business Fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities around Monmouth are great. There is almost 80 clubs, and 13 Frats and Sororities! The clubs range from The Accounting Society to the Yoga club! The Student Activities Board is in charge of planning most of the social events during the school year and they do a great job!

    Great for these types of students

    MU is great for any and all students!

    Bang for the buck

    All colleges and universities are expensive these days, but Monmouth does offer a big load for the amount you are paying. First and most important, a great education, 24/7 academic help, 24/7 activities and fun, great campus. Then there is the beautiful weather, a giant mall less than a mile away, the beach less than a mile away, the horse race track, and easy access to Philly and New York!

    What to do for fun

    There is an endless list of fun at Monmouth, there is over 60 clubs and activities. Intramural and club sports all year long, a great quad for doing whatever you may please. THE BEACH is 3/4 of a mile away! A couple concerts a year, Taylor Swift might come this year! Stuff like Barstool Blackout, movie nights, athletic events, etc. Anything you can imagine, Monmouth can probably provide it!

    Food and Dining

    One way to describe Monmouth's dining is that they keep it to the basics. But they are extremely good at what they make, you'll get your usual pizza, fries, chicken, etc. The food is very good, there is the choice of the salad bar, too. Also, every Sunday, the weekend workers put a Cajun mix on some classics!

    Dorm Life

    I believe that most all dorms are the same all around the country. The newer dorms, like Mullaney, are nicer than older ones, I.E. Elmwood, Pinewood. But all the dorms do their jobs, the RA's are great; living in dorms with a completely new person is an experience you'll never get at any other point in life!

    Academic Rigor

    The Monmouth University never aims for their students to just be bored in class because they want to challenge their students. The classes are small enough so that the teacher will know you by your name and be able to talk to you if you need any help.

    Tips for prospective students

    When looking at Monmouth University, make sure that you just come in with an open mind. Monmouth has the clubs and events so that every single student can find their nitch. Safe fun every weekend and great people all around. Then there is also the academic side, there are so many possibilities for majors and minors, and a great study abroad program!

    In three sentences

    Monmouth is determined to getting its students graduated with employment, as quickly as possibly. But the experience of Monmouth University is amazing, the campus, clubs, sports, and events are always happening to fill your time. Monmouth wants all students to love their experience and have happiness when looking back on the memories.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everything is definitely extremely safe, it is in a great community, with lots to do.

    In three sentences

    Nice campus, I used to do camps here, the cafeteria and the food was awesome!

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 34

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It is a great school and campus with excellent professors.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Enjoy the beach

    In three sentences

    Monmouth University is excellent in supporting and motivating their students academically. Their strong sense of collectivism builds a strong community not only within the athletes but between the students and faculty as well. This school is the perfect University to make your dreams into reality.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    having a club

    Food and Dining

    it is good and has night restaurant. a

    Dorm Life

    there are three different style

    Academic Rigor

    good

    Tips for prospective students

    be aware of little option for classes

    In three sentences

    a small class which make connection with faculty.

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The MUPD is always around and they can always be reached.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is great, there are different sororities and fraternities to chose from and find one that is good fit for you.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a variety of clubs and activities that meet during club meeting times on Wednesday when there are no classes being held.

    What to do for fun

    You can always go to the beach, the Monmouth mall, the movies, ice skating rink near by, bars and clubs close to campus and off campus housing for those over 21 years old.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is okay there is a lot of variation but it gets old fast. There is also the student center which is pretty good. They are opening a jersey mikes sub restaurant in there this fall.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are okay, the best ones are in mullany hall but service is not good at all inside the buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    Great academics. I love my professors and they all know what they are talking about.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you use rate my professor, it really helps when picking your classes.

    In three sentences

    Monmouth is a great university and has a beautiful campus. The class sizes are perfect and the professors are there to help you. Finding a parking spot is hard, but you eventually find a spot.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are a good number of fraternities and sororities on campus. It makes up a huge part of the student body but if Greek Life isn't your thing it's perfectly fine and you'll still fit in! They also have parties that many people go to each night.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have their own theme song which I thought was kind of odd.

    Bang for the buck

    Monmouth's tuition is around the same price as a lot of other schools and it's probably just as good education-wise. However, here they try to squeeze out as much money from you as they can possibly get. When ordering books definitely go through Amazon or Chegg!

    What to do for fun

    There are usually fun things to do on-campus most days or nights but most people choose to go out to parties instead. If you don't drink or aren't into partying you probably won't have much of a social life. However, if that's the kind of scene you're looking for then come here! As for things to do on campus there are move screenings for free every Saturday night. They also have comedians and music performers come to the school. Monmouth also advertises being close to the beach and NYC however this is very misleading. Although the beach is only 2 miles away, it's very difficult to get there if you don't have a car. Also it ends up being $30 round trip to get into NYC by train so if you have that money great! But if not you can't really do that.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall and student center are the two places for food on campus. The food itself is pretty good overall but eventually you get sick of it especially if you are a picky eater. They also have a late night snack place open that is amazing for midnight cravings! Just watch out for that Freshman 15!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life completely depends on the people in your dorm. I have had a great dorm experience so far and most of my friends are from the dorm! I would also highly recommend getting to know your RA's cause they are actually really cool people most of the time! I do know people who are not huge fans of where they are just because no one is social apparently. I would definitely suggest living in dorms instead of suites your first year here!

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are pretty average to me. Some classes are harder than others but overall if you do the work you should be fine! However I have heard that Monmouth is in the top 20 of the easiest colleges in the nation so if you're looking for a real challenge I'd look somewhere else.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are sick find someone to bring you to a minute-clinic somewhere because the health center is horrible! Definitely live in a dorm Freshman year! If you have a meal plan don't use all you declining dollars in the first week. get involved on campus as much as you can! Trust me it makes for a better experience otherwise you're bored out of your mind!!

    In three sentences

    Monmouth is a beautiful campus with great professors and classes to take. Coming here can get a little pricey after tuition, room and board, books, meal plans, ect, but it is cheaper than a lot of other places. When you come here try to get involved on campus doing anything you find interesting so you are not bored out of your mind, and don't be deceived by the location being close to the beach and NYC.

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Beach Mall Sporting events Parties Travel to NY (very close)

    Food and Dining

    Love the dining hall. Very accomodatin. Student Center is a little pricey, but still tasty.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice and in great conditions. A new building is even being built. Ilove living with all my peers.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not too difficult and you can always find help from professors, tutors, or different services.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have a car on campus. It'll make you lots of friends, and guarantee you are never bored! It's also hard to rely on others for rides if you need something from the grocery store or mall.

    In three sentences

    Monmouth is an awesome beach school. you can walk there. Lots of younger students live on campus along with mostly athletes. Most everyone else commutes.

  • 03/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safety is strong

    What to do for fun

    area is loaded

    Food and Dining

    pleanty to choose from

    Academic Rigor

    tough

    Tips for prospective students

    All you need is a tour. You will be hooked.

    In three sentences

    All what I expected it would be. My dream college in one sentence. It makes me want to learn.