Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Monroe Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/28/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Art students: you get great hands-on work that helps build up your portfolio. The head professors are very firm and instructive, but can also be understanding, so you really have a great time with your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your work always and make sure you get your deadlines in on time, especially if you're living in the res halls. I got kicked out of my room over the weekend, thats five days without a place to sleep. It wasn't good. =).

    Bang for the buck

    Its a decent school to go to, and the education and credits you get, again depending on the major, is well transferred to other schools, especially if its in the area of Rochester.

    Am enjoying being here

    The students are generally very friendly and the professors very instructive, but as a college campus there isn't much going on. This is mainly because most people who go to Monroe don't actually live on campus, but at home. So they go to classes and then leave, which doesn't create that happening atmosphere that you find at other colleges.

    Am learning a lot

    There are definitely many teachers who make their classes worth while, however, the general student population, as well as atmosphere, are not too in tune to the learning aspect of college. Obviously this partly depends on which major is taken, but overall, there aren't many brilliant minds to push against to better yourself.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a great security team at the college and they are very strict in respect to the people they let into the collegebuildings.

    Clubs and Activities

    This college has a lot of clubs such as NABA, SIFE, a marketing, IT, minorityclub. It also has a lot of sporting activities where both male and female participate.

    Great for these types of students

    It caters to just about every need as they have a business school, an allied health care and a culinary school.

    Bang for the buck

    At Monroe there is a family atmosphere where everyone on the faculty looks out for the students and help them to adjust to the learning environs. This is particularly so for international students who left their country to study here. It is a welcoming feeling to walk int any of the offices on campus.

    What to do for fun

    It is situated in a community so there is shopping, theatre, a lot of dining options. There is also access to the Bronx zoo by taking the train or bus.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria which caters to individuals from boarders to non-boarders and even th faculty at large.

    Dorm Life

    They have a lot of dorming facilities which in my opinion are very well kept and safe. It is also accessible by those with challenges and all different types of students attend.

    Academic Rigor

    This college is aimed at preparing people for the world f work. They make sure that they give enough work so that you will be ready for the world. They have professors who take time in teaching you and makng sure you get it.

    Tips for prospective students

    A comfortable environment for learning and meeting new people.

    In three sentences

    This is a great institution of learning where everyone is treated equally. There are three physical campuses one in the Bronx, another in New Rochelle and one in St. Lucia. They also offer on line classes for the working class.

  • 06/08/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    its great for students lots of programs to choose from and can learn alot

    Tips for prospective students

    its a great college you can learn a lot they have of programs to offer

  • 10/18/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Trying save money Older and not looking for a real college experience Not sure about your major

    Tips for prospective students

    Always look up your professors on rate my professor.com BEFORE signing up for class, although some ratings are kinda harsh the average of the ratings are usually and accurate description of the professor.

    Bang for the buck

    If you live in NY and Monroe County the tuition is around half of what it is at a SUNY school, but there's not much to do when your not in class or studying. Also depending on your major you might be missing out on real world experience.

    Am enjoying being here

    MCC has a great Java's the people are great there and there is always a good song playing I have met all my friends in Java's, I think it has something to do with the soothing smell of coffee. Sepending on what classes you are taking the overall atmosphere may be lacking. I took a couple English class in which very few people would ever read the assignments and hardly anyone would have anything intelligent to add to the conversation. When they would talk it would be to make fun of something that was said, it was very discouraging. Although this blatant ignorance tends to fade in advanced classes

    Am learning a lot

    I am a Pre-Veterinarian major and while I'm learning a lot in class I am not getting the hands on experience that you would get if i went to a four year school. Also the counselors are not very helpful they had me signed up for a few classes that i just did not need.

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Worth the money to finish a 2 year degree.

    Am enjoying being here

    I like that I get to see many of my friends from high school and being able to meet alot of new people as well.

    Am learning a lot

    Honestly the classes I took during high school were harder than what I am taking here...

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    make sure you have your parking pass!!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    every friday at 9am me and 5 friends get a coffee and bagel at javas!

    What to do for fun

    there are so many clubs to join! and if you cannot find one you like, you can create one!

    Food and Dining

    food is amazing!

    Dorm Life

    i do not live in the dorms,so im guessing they are nice

    Academic Rigor

    you need to study!

    Tips for prospective students

    study. do not take classes you think are fluff classes because those are the ones you have to watch out for. do not procrastinate. have fun, and join clubs!

    In three sentences

    people say it is 13th grade, but i have had a wonderful experience. the people here are wonderful, and the professors make me think critically constantly. i love monroe community college

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The public safety there do their job. I had an iPod swiped and next thing I know they had it recovered. They are quick and efficient with their job and care about the safety of the students.

    What to do for fun

    There are multiple clubs and activities that the school provides to keep anybody busy. There is a club that anyone can find interest in and the great part is that people can make their own club if they have enough people interested.

    Food and Dining

    The food that is offered is very good. After eating in the marketplace multiple times, the food gets repetitive, however the food is delicious.

    Dorm Life

    The housing staff doesn't like people calling the housing there dorms, rather suites. They are 100% correct, these places are much nicer than just plain dorms. The suites are big, friendly, and setup just like apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here are very intelligent and provide great insight. There is such a range of courses and programs offered that anyone can find something that interests them.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best thing for new students to do is make themselves known with the professors. If you have free time and your professor has office hours, go see them and get help or just go and discuss current topics or upcoming topics.

    In three sentences

    Monroe Community College is a great engineering school. They are very advanced in the technological field when it comes to the courses offered, clubs, and professors. The professors there are very friendly, challenging, easy to discuss things with, and very intelligent.

  • 06/14/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    great programs to chooses from and good qualitys

    Tips for prospective students

    alot of great oppertunitys to chooses from

  • 01/10/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Social, fun, ambitious and ready to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Any student that looks forward to attending MCC should be prepared for challenging classes and great college atmosphere.

    Bang for the buck

    MCC has the best campus activities, dorm rooms and quality education for a community college. My classes were challenging, there were fun activities at least once a week, the marketplace cafeteria was the best place to hang out, the dorm rooms were comparable to apartments and the learning centers are open to all who seek help.

    Did enjoy being here

    MCC's campus is well laid out, full of helpful and friendly staff and students and the professors are fun and easy to talk to. There are so many different types of people that attend MCC classes that there is a great chance that anyone who attends will find a great group of people to hang out with.

    Did learn a lot

    At MCC I learned challenging material pertaining to my major and from electives that caught my interest. I learned so much from my challenging chemistry and biology classes and my online calculus class proved to be my most advanced class. Along with these academic additions, MCC taught me how college life can be more challenging than high school but also more enriching.

  • 07/16/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ENGINEERS!

    Tips for prospective students

    apply for everything early; housing, parking permits, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    definetly worth the money to come here.

    Will learn a lot

    No doubt, if you put forth effort in this school you will succeed.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    MCC has so many clubs

    Tips for prospective students

    Stick with it. I see so many of my fellow classmates drop out every semester I attend.

    In three sentences

    Even though there are many students, the teachers are still personable. The students in classrooms come and go. Since it is a community college, I feel they do not feel like they are over committing to anything.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    it's great for students who didn't do so well in high school, but still want to get away from their home town. they allow out of state residences to attend and live in the dorms.

    Bang for the buck

    since i was out of state it cost me a little more. my first semester was about 3,500. i felt that was a little steep for community college but still it was a lot cheaper than what any of my friends paid. as long as you take the classes seriously you should be fine.

    Food and Dining

    the school had dining halls available at the brighton campus and the damon campus. they had healthy meal plans for students trying to stay fit and of course the regular college meal plan for us freshmen looking forward to our freshmen 15

    Dorm Life

    it's super hard to actually get dorms because of so many people wanting to live away from home. i was on a wait list for 9 months and still didn't receive housing. my deposit was given back to me on request.

    Academic Rigor

    i accidentally took junior classes my first semester. the mythology course was fun but intense. most of my other classes were fairly simple.

    Tips for prospective students

    since it is a community college you do not have to be the best to get in. i am from chicago and i did not do so well in high school. since the school had dorms even though it was a community college it allowed me to be able to leave like my friend, but be affordable and able to help me raise my gpa.

    In three sentences

    i took online courses at monroe community college. while i didn't get face time with any of the teachers i genuinely feel that they cared about me as a person and a student. i am sadden that i missed the chance to actually attend it.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    so many clubs. if i wasn't a club officer, i would join more clubs. there is something for everyone. if you don't see a club for you, you can start one.

    Great for these types of students

    it's awesome to see the diverse amount of people from all ages and cultures.

    Bang for the buck

    worth every penny! what people don't notice is the professors here are professors that also teach at u of r, rit, fisher...same education at a lower price!

    Tips for prospective students

    come visit and explore the school. talk to kids and professors in the major or in things you are interested in.

    In three sentences

    one of the best community colleges in western ny. lots to do on campus and everyone is friendly. so glad i chose to go here, i absolutely love my decision.

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had any problems or issues at MCC. I've taken night classes at the Brighton campus and Saturday classes at the Damon campus. There are a lot of emergency phones around Brighton campus which help you feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    MCC does offer clubs, sports and other activities. There are a lot of plays and guest speakers who come to the campus as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Any and all. There is a broad mix of students.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is great for the education you get.

    What to do for fun

    Rochester is a nice city. MCC has several locations around the city and suburbs. There are a lot of festivals in Rochester each year including the lilac festival and east end fests. A lot of bands also play here, and the eastman students put on a lot of shows as well.

    Food and Dining

    I commute so I do not eat on campus, however there are lots of little cafes around which is nice if you need a latte fix!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, but they do have them available.

    Academic Rigor

    MCC does a lot of research with other schools to ensure your credits will transfer, therefore, the curriculum is based on what other schools expect them to teach. It is not going to be a breeze simply because it is a community college, but it means your time and money are well spent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the website. You can do a lot with it, including register for classes.

    In three sentences

    MCC is a really good school. Most of the professors have taught at other more expensive schools, so you get the same education for a lot less money. They also offer a lot of night, weekend and online classes.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    you can join alot of clubs. you can attend sports event on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    know what you want to study and what you want to get out of mcc once starting.

    In three sentences

    i think monroe community college is the best college in the nation. it provides the students with the best resources for us to be successful . the teachers will go out of their way to help the student.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    you can do anything you want for fun, they have all kind of activities every week.

    Food and Dining

    99.9% well!!!!

    Dorm Life

    no experience yet, but to what i hear, it is great!

    Academic Rigor

    simply follow the curriculum that will prepare you to succeed in college or the world of work.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure what you want to study, or in what area you want to study. most important try to stay on top meaning study well and keep getting good grades.

    In three sentences

    monroe college cares for his students. they are the best in student service. lastly, they are an a type school environment to be in.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is safe and equipped with emergency light poles.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have been at the school for one semester and am not yet aware of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for student who want a large selection of opportunity.

    Bang for the buck

    The school book store has great rates on their textbooks.

    What to do for fun

    At Monroe Community College there are many clubs and sports offered. In between classes you can go to a gym, play basketball, workout, etc. You can also go down the road and there is a cultural area near the school known as the southwedge a sort of college town.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining provided is very great, there is a full cafeteria. In this cafe you can find a subway, dunkin donuts and much more. This is very convenient for the full-time student.

    Dorm Life

    I have not been to the dorms but i have seen pictures of them. The dorms seem very roomy and also modern. They were renovated about 3 years ago; they do seem very costly.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor provided at Monroe Community College is thorough and though provoking. I have learned much while attending this school that i never would have thought of. The professors really know how to push their students at MCC.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school may seem large to the prospective student but after a few days navigating around MCC will come easily. The bookstore also offers a large variety of new and well priced used books.

    In three sentences

    Monroe Community College has a vast quantity of degree options and programs to choose from. There is also a large diversity that attends MCC which is comforting to the community. The professors are helpful and there is much opportunity at Monroe Community College.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very good if there is a problem they will be there

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many to chose from and most are pretty fun

    Great for these types of students

    unsure of major, getting the gen-eds out of the way, getting ready for a carer

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    some of the buildings have ugly 70's wood paneling

    Bang for the buck

    good education for a low price

    What to do for fun

    for fun get involved in the clubs and if thats not your thing there is good coffee around every corner

    Food and Dining

    not much be prepared to make your own food unless you wana brake the bank (and your pants) eating their food

    Dorm Life

    good dorms they are clean and they are fairly new although there is not much to do around campus but that lets you get to know your roommates better.

    Academic Rigor

    its a good school for when you are starting out good basic classes that can both prepare you for another collage and the workplace

    Tips for prospective students

    be ready to do a lot on your own it may be more difficult but it prepares you for what the real world is like.

    In three sentences

    a wonderful place to begin your college carer. Learn what you need to know to be a successful person in furthering your education or in the work place. good teachers give you the attention you need to be successful

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security on staff at all times as well as an emergency alert system.

    Great for these types of students

    Confused about careers/degree, students wanting to transfer to a SUNY school, adult students, students looking to save money.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe MCC is the greatest college to start your higher education at. The tuition is very low and it is easy to explore your options as far as career fields. There are work-study programs and MCC scholarships to help make schooling even more affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of clubs at the school as well as an array of festivals and a big music scene in the Rochester area. Its a college town so there is always something going on and typically the local events are free or inexpensive.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide variety of food and dining at MCC, including local Rochester coffee shops as well as chain restaurants like Taco Bell, Subway and Dunkin Donuts.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are difficult to be accepted into and are limited. However they are very new and still in good condition.

    Academic Rigor

    If you want to succeed at MCC, you will. And professors will take note of focused students and help them with honors programs, recommendations, or anything you need if you apply yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make photo copies of the forms you hand in to financial aid to ensure they don't get lost. Go to orientation to learn about all the different aspects of the college and enhance your college experience.

    In three sentences

    Monroe Community College is a great school to explore your options. The tuition is affordable and there are a lot of majors to choose from. The also assist you in transferring schools through the SUNY 2+2 program.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus feels safe, in my personal experience. Public Safety Officers are usually out and about, but aren't in your face.

    Clubs and Activities

    The club offices are located in a rectangular almost cubicle-like area on campus, so they're close together and intermingle a lot. You can be involved in lots or devote time to one club exclusively. I've been involved in the Honors Council, Outdoor Activities Unlimited, Psychology Club, Campus Activities Board, and Cabbages and Kings (the literary magazine). I've held Officer Positions in both Honors Council and Cabbages and Kings. They're a great place to meet people with similar interests and find fun activities.

    Great for these types of students

    MCC is great if you just want an Associates, if you're financially challenged, or if you just want to get your GPA up before transferring.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Mercer Art Gallery is a really nice place to stop by if you have time. They do different student exhibits and shows periodically.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely definitely worth it! Let's face it, MCC is affordable. It's hard to find a lot of places that give you so many opportunities for so little money.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, but it can be expensive. The coffee shops like Java's and Starry Nites (which also has breakfast and lunch) are super good. There's also a Subway, Dunkin Donuts, Denny's Express, and a taco bar and pizza station. There is a student-run restaurant called Reflections, which is really good if you want sit-down food without going off-campus.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, but I've visited and stayed overnight numerous times. They're really gorgeous, but pricey. They're new, and they're huge. There's even an honors dorm and single rooms. Also, every year there's a festival held by the dorms around finals week, for students who want to take a break or celebrate the end of classes

    Academic Rigor

    To be honest, MCC classes are actually easier than my previous high school classes. Brighton High School was unusually academically challenging, so I applied to and enrolled in MCC's Honors Institute. I love the honors classes, they're smaller and super engaging, as well as interesting. They are not more academically challenging than normal classes, they're just more personal. They're not hard to get into as well, and it takes 5 minutes to apply online.

    Tips for prospective students

    Finding your niche at MCC can be somewhat of a challenge initially, but the problem is easily remedied. Joining in the campus life and participating in clubs and organizations can help you make the most of the college. MCC puts a lot of emphasis on independence. You are responsible for taking advantage of the opportunities. They won't hunt you down. That said, sign up for classes early, seek out professors if you have a question, visit the transfer center to discuss future plans, and just generally take initiative and advocate for yourself. Once you get the hang of things, it's smooth sailing. Look into your opportunities with MCC's 2+2 Programs. They're designed for students looking to attend a specific 4-year institution, but don't have the financial means. Once accepted, you are accepted to both MCC and the 4-year institution. It's one of those big opportunities MCC is known for.

    In three sentences

    Monroe Community College is diverse, full of opportunities, and an incredible place to put yourself on track for the future. The professors are knowledgeable and helpful, and classes are small and engaging. It's easy to make the most of MCC.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is very on hand, and you don't have to worry about someone you don't want to see just knocking on your door. They care about your safety a ton and you are in good hands! trust me.

    Greek Life

    Not so much at a community college but many universities have unbelievable Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    ALL KINDS! OVER 30! literally if you like it they have it and if not guess what? you can make it! all it takes is for three other people to be on board or for you to advertise and it all possible!

    Great for these types of students

    If you have the ability to adapt in different situations and can articulate the thoughts for others to understand. Take advantage of that and join something! Become a resident assistant and help your peers on campus while building your resume, learning life skills, meeting new people, getting paid, and DORMING FOR FREE! If you are a proud student at school become a peer leader and demonstrate to others how you school can benefit them while building your resume, learning life skills, and getting PAID!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a place called starry nights on campus and it look like a whole in the wall but they make the best food! You can get any cereal you want for really cheap! Along with plenty of healthy options such as salads and smoothies.

    Bang for the buck

    DO IT FOR YOUR SELF BECAUSE ONLY YOU ARE IN CHARGE OF WHAT TAKES PLACE IN YOUR FUTURE.

    What to do for fun

    Attend the many events they offer on campus, their are flyer's everywhere! Join a club of your interest, get involved in a leadership opportunity, join a sports team, attend little events. All of those things give you the opportunity to build your skills as a human being. There are people looking for a good time in all aspects all the time. Don't be afraid to introduce your self you never know who you are speaking to!

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is good although it is a lot of fast food. Remember you health is important so sometimes grab a water or salad because the fatty food are tempting.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! It is difficult living with other people is tough but be honest about what you are uncomfortable with and you should be fine. Take the time to become a Resident assistant, night desk assistant, community assistant. It is all employment opportunities right where you live, and it gives you the opportunity to meet important faculty on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors may or not be flexible when it comes to assignments but the best thing you can do is do all of your homework. Financial does not need to be taken for granted because they will take it away from you. Also it is not like high school, you fight and you are out!

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn time management, because it may become hard to manage when assignments and lilttle things are due. Take the time to get to know your professors because they could become a good mentor or reference for you in the future. Get involved in leadership positions on campus, it will help you enjoy your time in school a lot more and you will make plenty friends. Try and find a job on campus one huge benefit is that they work around your class schedule.

    In three sentences

    Monroe Community College is full of interesting, fun, life learning opportunities. It has a staff full of professors who really care about their students and will help you when you need it. This college is is highly recommended and I would advise anyone to pursue their college career here.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and extra activities to join

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose MCC its affordable and a great way to start your career.

    In three sentences

    MCC is a great campus with lots of opportunities for every student in every major. The campus is a great area to study and relax. The school has a variety of clubs and programs for every student.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always safety cars patrolling the parking lots and in the halls. They are keeping the school very safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Full- time workers. Only have evenings available to attend classes. Trade school programs (culinary, automotive, etc...)

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is very low per semester and the quality of education is so much more than someone would expect.

    What to do for fun

    Check out the athletic center inside the college. And there is a shopping mall within a five minute drive.

    Food and Dining

    Many local places right inside the college! Dunkin' Donuts and Subway are in the main cafe area while Java's cafe is located on the first floor. No more having to drive into the city!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are new. Some are suites and are very private. Clean, bright colors, close to the college.

    Academic Rigor

    This is still a college. And maybe even a bit harder. The professors can drop you out of their class if you do not keep up with the work given.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not lower your expectations. Community college is still a college. It is college- level material and work.

    In three sentences

    A more challenging high school. Very nice to not have any breaks between classes. There's no room for slacking off.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always walking around & willing to help you out if they can.

    Clubs and Activities

    A big variety of things to do and get involved with to meet more people.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone! there is not one type of student just people willing to learn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the game rooms to play pool or become that inner gamer you are.

    Bang for the buck

    Teachers are willing to help if you ask. They push you to get you above and beyond what you thought possible.

    What to do for fun

    haning out around campus. its close to the city so going downtown, and the mall is close. there is plenty of activites to do as in clubs. There is also the Gym & paths to go walking around campus.

    Food and Dining

    Has a selection of places in the marketplace & places to grab coffee all over campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Known all over NY, its one of the top community colleges in Rochester. Credits Accepted to colleges & universities all over the country.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do the work! You learn & understand; and are able to ask about something you don't understand.

    In three sentences

    Collective community of people wanting to learn. Diverse population. Great place to meet and make friends.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa and Honors Council

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working student who cannot afford college.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities going on in the atrium

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms, but I only heard good remarks about them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of every opportunity the school offers: the honors program, the leadership program, clubs, etc. Not only do these activities help you personally, it will also make you a better candidate.

    In three sentences

    MCC is one of the best community colleges. The teachers are wonderful and there are many opportunities for students.

  • 08/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Unfortunately, there is no greek life.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable!

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the lounge area, in one of the two fitness rooms, or by the pool!

    Food and Dining

    There are tons of options at the food court. Denny's, Dunkin' Donuts and tons of other good eats.

    Dorm Life

    From what i've heard, the dorms are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The challenge in classes are mediocre.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come in here thinking it will be a piece of cake because it's a community college. It isn't!

    In three sentences

    MCC is a nice, well rounded school. The teachers are very helpful and actually care about their students. There are so many majors to choose from!

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you were to ever feel unsafe, public safety will walk the student to their car, they are visible on campus and friendly while maintaining a professional attitude. They are also trained as though they were Rochester Police, and most have actually retired from the police force.

    Greek Life

    None. The closest it gets to is Phi Theta Kappa, which is an honors program that is available to 2 year colleges.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 65 clubs and organizations to choose from, and if you do not find one you like they encourage starting a new group!

    Great for these types of students

    All types that are looking for a certificate program, to complete an Associates degree, or looking to transfer to a four year college or higher.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are two legitimate coffee shops on campus that you can also find in the city of Rochester. They offer a walking labyrinth for meditation along with Zumba on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday.

    Bang for the buck

    Hands down the best place in Up State NY to earn your Associates degree.

    What to do for fun

    There are constant campus events occurring throughout the semester, but if you are looking for local flavor, Rochester, NY will not let you down. Constant fairs, festivals, cook-offs, bars, clubs, and museums ensures that regardless of your interest Rochester has something to offer for you.

    Food and Dining

    You have options on this campus, from a student ran 4 star restaurant, to Denny's Express, Subway, and Dunkin' Donuts, to coffee shops that offer salads and sandwiches, and Sodexo dining. A meal plan is not required on this campus!

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorm, but I do know 6 Resident's Assistants. If you lived in the dorms you could expect weekly programming for entertainment, door decs, and calendars with fun things to do in and around Rochester.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at MCC care about the success of their student, and student aides are not allowed. As far as the rigor, it depends on which classes you take. Honors classes are offered!

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet the right people, make sure that their goals align with your goals. Keep the hour of noon to one open for a campus wide recognized college hour. It is college hour that allows involvement, and involvement is the key to success.

    In three sentences

    Monroe Community College (MCC) grants each student the ability to succeed through free resources that include: one on one tutors, learning centers for almost every specialized subject, and focusing on teaching versus research. MCC remains focused on enhancing the students natural abilities while keeping a diversified student population, staff, and faculty.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 28 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all ages

    Academic Rigor

    Every since I started college I have been on the Dean's list.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you haven't been in school in along time this is the school for you.

    In three sentences

    I love attending this college, I'm a older student who hasn't been in school for over 20 years, and this college has made it very comfortable and able to learn without feeling out of place.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 29 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out at the Cafeteria the campus also offers great lounges such as Gilman lounge which has a great view

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is great provides with variety in food and have some heatlhy options aswell. The campus also has Java and Reflections both are great places to hangout and grab coffe and lunch.

    Dorm Life

    Great place to live and great security system.

    Academic Rigor

    Extremely helpful and highly educated faculty members .

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to class and be on time. Have a great attitude and use the resources provided to the fullest. Get help from faculty because they are more then happy to do that and plan ahead if want to transfer.

    In three sentences

    Monroe Community Collage has great faculty who provides student the tool they need to be successful. The resources offered to student are extremely helpful such as free sessions with career and transfer advisors , study abroad opportunity's and free tutoring services.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 30 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are awesome too make sure you have a parking sticker on your vehicle or a visitor pass!

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of different clubs to choose from! Find one to your liking!

    Great for these types of students

    ALL TYPES of Students! Very diverse college!

    Bang for the buck

    The Tuition is very reasonable!

    What to do for fun

    Go to athletic events!! Participate with dorm activities to get to meet other people in the dorms, join a club and participate in on campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great! We have Subway, Denny's and Dunkin' Donuts in our cafeteria also food created by MCC Hospitality students which is also good!

    Dorm Life

    Check out the dorms if you can live on campus do its so much fun!!!

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are nice and classroom size are not too big so it's easy to speak with professors they are very approachable!

    Tips for prospective students

    For a community college, the campus is pretty big so you want to sign up for any tours and orientations early as they fill up fast!

    In three sentences

    This College is Awesome!

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    New Roc City is a 5 minute walk from campus that has various restaurants, a movie theater, and roller coasters for students to enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    The Monroe Cafe was opened in April of 2012 and it has new dishes everyday, a popular hangout spot and rather relaxing.

    Dorm Life

    There is always a new face on campus, and if you make good friends there is no limit to how much fun you can have on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Make sure to study and go to class everyday.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you have a planner and are willing to cut out partying in order to maintain a high gpa.

    In three sentences

    I would give Monroe College a 8 out of 10 based on the intimate classroom setting, the education I am receiving, and the student body diversity population. I feel as though Monroe College is helping me get prepared for the work force of tomorrow.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    residents have safety guidlines. there is also security that monitors the halls and parking lots.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs: Air Conditioning Contractors of America American Sign Language Club Anime Club Automotive Club Biology Club Black Student Union Campus Ambassadors Campus Crusade for Christ Capoeira Mandinga Club Chemistry Club Chinese Cultural Club Cinema Society Criminal Justice Club Comic Creators Club Computer & Gaming Technology Club Electronic Gaming Society Engineering Leadership Council Geosciences Association Global Union International Students Association Health Information Technology Club Hillel Club Honors Council Hospitality Club Human Services Club (DCC) Latin Pride Math Club MCC Pride Alliance MC Klub Men of Excellence Men of Excellence (DCC) Mini Baja Team Muslim Students Association National Society of Black Engineers Outdoors Activities Unlimited Paralegal Club Philosophy Club Physical Studies & Awareness Pool and Billiards Club Psychology Club Radiology Club SciFi Fantasy Club Spanish Club Student Art Association Student Association of Dental Hygienists Student Music Association Student Nurses Travel & Tourism Club Veterans' Club

    Great for these types of students

    This school is perfect for students who want to attend college but they arnt sure what career path they will choose. MCC will help them decide what fits them best and with support them all the way.

    Bang for the buck

    Monroe Community College is the best choice for students who will be attending college for a long time because they offer every class a University does, for half the cost. They get students ready for a University, helping them every step of the way to prepare.

    What to do for fun

    All sorts of clubs are offered, as well as sports. There is also an amazing gym that is free to students and a huge in door pool for students who want to practice for a swim team, get a good workout in, or hang out with friends. Also, there is a DJ room where students who want to pursue in some sort of music career, can.

    Food and Dining

    Monroe offers a very large variety of food! the Cafeteria is beautiful and offers everything you could think of along with a Dunken Donuts and Taco Bell. There are a couple cafe areas where students can relax and drink coffee as well as work.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very well maintained and all the students are there to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont be afraid to ask questions. Everyone who works for the college is very friendly and will love to help! Always make time for your homework as well!

    In three sentences

    Wants to see all students succeed. Offers many clubs and sports for students. Helps enrolled students get jobs that they are passionate about.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 64

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Monroe Community College is an amazing place and has met all my needs. The teachers there are well educated and have challenged me to become a better student. I feel like I have recived an outstanding education so far.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in contact with the staff, especially your advisors

    In three sentences

    Monroe is a intrigung and fun school. The professors are great and they want to see you strive. The environment is a great learning environment

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I go to the campus extra activities. We play kickball, watch movies have a spa day and etc. Its fun and i make a lot of new friends.

    Food and Dining

    I don't have a meal plan. I cook for myself and others.

    Dorm Life

    AWESOME! Meet new friends, share cooking and a great support team working there.

    Academic Rigor

    I have great teachers who put you first and make sure your on point and understand different topics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't fall into peer pressure and choose your friends wisely.

    In three sentences

    Monroe Community College is a great college. I had my doubts about it but it totally changed my mind. I give it a rate of a nine out of ten :)

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Personally, public safety and campus safety has been a life saver, attending MCC you are in good hands.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for ALL types of students.

    Bang for the buck

    Monroe Community College offers so much and cost so little compared to other colleges.

    What to do for fun

    Like many colleges there are social events, such as parties, hanging out. and MCC is close to nearly everything. The mall is about ten minutes away and close to tons of restaurants and downtown Rochester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should definitely register for classes as soon as possible because classes tend to fill up quickly.

    In three sentences

    Monroe Community College is a great institution for people ready to get an education at any age level. There are so many opportunities and programs offered at many different levels to get one where they need to be and what they need to know. It is also good for student who are unsure and undecided.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    From what i have seen they have well equipped security.

    Clubs and Activities

    As mentioned above they have a variety of sporting clubs among students activities.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great as it facilitates learning around your time they seek to make your experience easy and they are reliable.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Being online i haven't experience the campus in person

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities to make your life fun, such as basketball, soccer volley ball among many others. Being a sports person if i was on campus i would enjoy these.

    Food and Dining

    Looking on from an online perspective i want to have some of the lunches. lol

    Dorm Life

    I haven't lived on dorm as i am online but i feel just as involved as i get updates on happenings such as sports activities or career sessions.

    Academic Rigor

    The College prides itself in achieving high grades to benefit both the college but especially you the individual. The lecturers i have found to be well equipped and fair in their marking.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you intend to apply to Monroe, its easy you can call and tghey will assist you or you can do so online. Don't be afraid to ask questions as the lecturers are willing to assist, they really go all out to make it work for you.

    In three sentences

    Monroe College shows great interest in its students, they call and ensure that your process is going smooth and you are able to access all the necessary information. On a regular emails are sent with updates and procedures to make your life easier. The lecturers respond fast to my issues and seems to be always online by their quick response. Its only my first semester but i hope to continue in this lovely institution.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    they have a lot of clubs

    Food and Dining

    food is over priced

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    Get help if needed Take it seriously

    In three sentences

    I like the school so far. The waitling list for the nursing school is too long. The teahcers are fair

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports, Zumba, Clubs

    Food and Dining

    They're not the best but their food is pretty good and satisfying. It's also affordable.

    Dorm Life

    Never experienced it but they have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is only hard if you're lazy and you never study. They have tutors so use them even if you don't think you need them, they're free and it's a part of your tuition so why not?

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved and take advantage of their tutors.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is fully secured, including the dorms.

    Greek Life

    No sororities or fraternities at MCC

    Clubs and Activities

    Hundreds of options.

    Great for these types of students

    All student types attend. With 19,000 students anyone can fit in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    A fabulous education at an unbeatable price. Plus lots of transfer and 2+2 opportunities available.

    What to do for fun

    Rochester is a vibrant city with lots of activities. Never a dull moment.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of options.

    Dorm Life

    Love it.

    Academic Rigor

    Don;t assume all community colleges are easy. MCC teaches tough classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider living in on-campus housing. It is beautiful and makes college much more enjoyable.

    In three sentences

    MCC has excellent teachers who really care about the students. It is a large college but has a small college atmosphere where people are friendly and helpful. Class options are plentiful.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Monroe has the most dedicated and amazing security officers. They make sure that no trespassers get onto college grounds. They walk the campus at night and early mornings to make sure all students are safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Being in the City of New York within itself is an activity

    Great for these types of students

    All Types from all over the world. Monroe is a melting pot of diverse cultures.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You have To Register and You'll Find Out! Its a Monroe College Secret:D

    What to do for fun

    New York City!!! The City that never sleeps!! Fun is an understatement! The staff at Res-Life hosts fun events mostly every weekend! If you like to shop, there are great little boutiques around the area, and if you're looking for more of a variety , there's also malls that's just a bus ride away! Manhattan is only a train ride away! New Rochelle also has a game center and movie theaters right across the street from the college. There's gyms, parks, restaurants etc. So much to do..It's endless!

    Food and Dining

    Monroe College has a Cafe, with a variety of great food choices; and New Rochelle has so many food choices to offer if you prefer a different kind of meal.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is good. So many students from different countries around the world, you get to interact with. You learn so much diversity, its fun and interesting. If there's a problem with your roommates and you cant seem to get along, resident life is always willing to assists you.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are a learning experience and sometimes it does challenge you to push harder, but if there is a problem or subject you lack confidence in, there's an academic center open all day with dedicated staff to assist you one-on-one with anything. There's no need to fail!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid, Don't second guess! Just Register! Monroe is a Great School! You Won't regret it.

    In three sentences

    1. Very Diverse School with a melting pot of different cultures and backgrounds. 2. Amazing Staff, that's always willing to assist in any matter! (even if their off or about to go to lunch) they'll stop and assist you. 3. Dedicated and considerate professors. Willing to teach and willing to learn from the students also.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is always fully protected.

    Greek Life

    I have not encountered Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many, many different clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for dedicated, ready to learn students.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price MCC is definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    You can join clubs, or play sports, or play video games in free time in the room specified for it.

    Food and Dining

    The food at MCC is very good. I do feel the service could be better though.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, but I hear everything is well taken care of.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at this school are amazing. I never liked math, but I am enjoying a 5 hour math class that I am currently taking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are prepared to do what you have to to get your degree. Don't treat college like high school.

    In three sentences

    MCC is the best school I have ever attended. They actually make things work for you. The teachers really want to help you!

  • 03/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Monroe Community College has an excellent Public Safety team. Both the Brighton and the Damon City Campuses have a very safe environment.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs and activities on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Monroe Community College is great for students looking to save money. It is also a smooth transition from High School.

    Bang for the buck

    Monroe Community College's tuition is excellent for such valuable education.

    What to do for fun

    Students can get involved with several activities on campus such as intramurals, campus clubs, and campus-wide activities.

    Food and Dining

    There is great food! Monroe Community College has Subway, Dunkin' Donuts, Chef's World, Denny's, Reflections (student run cafe), Starry Nights, and Java's. However, not all of the food is of best quality.

    Dorm Life

    I commute, however I know of a few friends who love the dorms and some who don't care for them.

    Academic Rigor

    Monroe Community College's professors challenge their students and provide students with feedback to improve.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you talk with your academic adviser, as this will be helpful in the transferring process.

    In three sentences

    Monroe Community College is an excellent two year college. There are several excellent professors who really care about the future of their students and worked their hardest to make sure their students succeed. Monroe Community College also has an outstanding campus with great dorm rooms.

  • 04/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Its cheap and affordable with great payoff

    What to do for fun

    There's a massive campus center that hosts all sorts of campus activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work and don't slack off, for sometimes it feels like high school again, it isn't.

    In three sentences

    MCC is a great stepping stone to 4-year universities and graduate programs. MCC offers small class sizes and individualized attention from teachers.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    brighton campus is safe while damon not so much

    Greek Life

    none whatsoever

    Great for these types of students

    liberal arts

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nothing

    Bang for the buck

    too expensive for what its worth

    What to do for fun

    not much

    Food and Dining

    expensive

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn how to do things for yourself because not many people here know what they are doing

    In three sentences

    the college is okay.

  • 04/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Who are looking to save money and finish up requirements before transferring. Or who are looking for 2 year degree programs. Such as nursing and dental hygiene.

    What to do for fun

    There are always campus events going on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not take this college workload lightly just because it is a community college. It is just as hard as any SUNY school. The classes are equivalent. Thus the credits transfer everywhere.

    In three sentences

    Although it is a community college, you do not feel that it is. You think that you're attending an average sized SUNY college. MCC is perfect for a 2 year degree or for pre-requisites for transferring.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are always available and always respond quickly to all calls received.

    Clubs and Activities

    Here are just a few.... CAB, Phi Theta Kappa, ASL club and many more

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any who wants to continue their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a video game room where most of the guys and girls who enjoy video games hang out in.

    Bang for the buck

    For a community college it offers a lot, more then many other community colleges. Its a great place to start your college experience. Taking the general education classes here is definitely the way to go because it is cheaper and will save you money in the long run.

    What to do for fun

    There are different sporting event, Campus Events, community event that can be participated in

    Food and Dining

    There is no formal dinning hall here at MCC. They have a 2 coffee shops located in the main buildings and they have a Market place. The Market place is where you can find a Subway, Denny's express, Dunkin Donuts, and regular Cafeteria food. Each location you pay for the prices they have set up. There is a meal plan, where you put money on an account but it isn't a meal plan like you would at a 4 year school

    Dorm Life

    Its a great experience to live right here on campus. You get to meet new people and participate in different programs that the residence halls provide. You will have 4 to 5 roommates depending on the suite style you get. You are missing out if you don't live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    This really depends on the professor and their personal class standards. Many professors in the 100 levels don't expect as much of you as the 200+ level professors. But again it depends on the professor there can be 100 level professors that treat it like a 200+ level class.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should take advantage of all the different learning centers on campus.Get involved in the different clubs, be proactive and it makes coming to school more fun. Most importantly talk with the professors they want to help you succeed and they can only do that if you talk to them or go to their office hours.

    In three sentences

    MCC is a wonderful school there is always so much going on. You always feel comfortable and welcomed no matter where you are on campus.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's very safe here, there is an availability of public safety officers should you ever need them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 70 clubs and organizations here at MCC for students to choose from.

    What to do for fun

    There are dozens of events each month, so much so that it is sometimes difficult to be involved in every event.

    Food and Dining

    There is a lot of variety but after your first semester, you'll grow tired of the same food. Fortunately, MCC is not far from a strip of restaurants and supermarkets.

    Dorm Life

    The residence halls are amazing and does not compare to the dorms at traditional universities.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what class you take and what teacher you pick, you can get the most out of your money or not.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved on campus as much as you can!

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very inexpensive with an amazing teaching staff.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, spend time in the gym, go outside to the pond... etc.

    Food and Dining

    Convenient cafeteria yet slightly pricey.

    Dorm Life

    Full kitchen, mostly two bathroom dorms. Decent.

    Academic Rigor

    If you take the honors courses you will notice that these classes compare very well to university classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Memorize your student account number, you need it for everything, also put as much effort into studying for finals.

    In three sentences

    Monroe Community college consists of a diverse atmosphere of students and professors who are determined for success. This college symbolizes a stepping stone for many student, yet becomes more of the cornerstone of your college experience. There is long term dedication readily available from all professors and a great honors program, so overall if a student is willing to put forth the effort they can achieve an education of the highest order.

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    50 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are not only MCC security, but Rochester PD as well. They make frequent visits in the evening to ensure campus safety.

    Great for these types of students

    There is a private library, a music library, extra quiet time, and extra computers for the students that prefer to study in absolute quiet or need a computer for research. The libraries vary in size and the rooms can be signed out at any time.

    Bang for the buck

    Being that it is a 2 year school, financial aid pays for more than the year so you will take the same classes at you would from a 4 year institution for half the cost with extra money for books and parking.

    What to do for fun

    There are restaurants and bars (for those 21 and over) surrounding the campus. Music events and local concert flyers hung on almost every bulletin board. There are 3 local parks within walking and driving distance!

    Food and Dining

    I will be making my own food, but if I were to buy any of the food it looks tasty and smells divine. The cafeteria is small, but there is a lounge above it with computers and desks. The food is cooked fresh and made daily.

    Dorm Life

    I will be living at home. The dorms are small with few floors. Lots and lots of parking is available.

    Academic Rigor

    A student must maintain a 2.0 or higher GPA. If not, he/she will be placed on academic probation. To avoid this, there are tutors available most days and evenings for free.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always do a campus tour! Check out the dorm(s) and visit some of the local hot spots. Always apply for scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Monroe community college is small and cozy. It has all the amenities I would expect from a larger campus. I will most definitely succeed.

  • 07/01/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    51 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are college cops and security guards that patrol on campus. They are real friendly!

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap and very educational! You will learn here as much as you could at any other college.

    What to do for fun

    What I did for fun was walking around campus on a sunny day and meet new people. There is also a carnival for a day each semester.

    Food and Dining

    The food that is availible to you is delicious and they have student run restaurants right inside the campus. You get the bang for your buck.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics cover all types of fields. There is a program for everyone. The professors are great and they want to see you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you arrive a little early, during the start of each semester the parking lots are full.

    In three sentences

    MCC is one of the highest rated community colleges in the whole country. It has great professors that truely care for you. There is a wide range of courses that you may take.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    52 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Theres the occasional event or two but it's hard to hear about many things some clubs seem very basic.

    Food and Dining

    For the broke college student there's many stores(including a Mall) around the college. Dunkin Donuts in the school. Cafes are a plenty due to MCC being not to far from RIT and U of R.

    Dorm Life

    Although I never dormed I like how close the dorms were to the classrooms. They're literally less than 5 minutes. Although the school is pretty strict and a little ridiculous when it comes to pricing of dorms which can easily be more expensive than the schools.

    Academic Rigor

    Some class options are very unique and almost unexpected that there classes. You'll find yourself being practically absorbed in classes and almost rallying along with it. Its hard to find something you don't enjoy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your focus on a goal it is EASY to end up at that school for more time than you have to. It is almost expected for some. Think what would be required for the major and why? It would help to get through certain classes better.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are great and they really do care for the students. Although the schools programs are not organized well and advisers actually put you in wrong classes. The school is ideal to transfer out from.

  • 08/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Overrated

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs and activities. The clubs go HAM trying to get students excited about MCC. The radio station was a fun place to hang out and do a radio show playing all of your favorites. The newspaper is also a great place to gain experience in the print communications industry. All of these extracurricular activities could make the difference on your resume

    What to do for fun

    Lots of art and music out in the community. Open mics at coffee shops, Festivals, and cheap concerts. Get out there, read a CITY Newspaper for ideas.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of options and a meal plan your parents can buy.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in the dorms my first semester. It's a nice campus with the RA offering a lot of activities to kill time, but I had a bad experience with my roommates, one of which was an RA and was not given any sort of compensation or even sympathy from the head of the dorms. Financially, it makes more sense to get an apartment anyway. Even a studio would be cheaper than the 4-room dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    All of my classes have been really challenging, from writing intensive, to spending hours on art and photography projects. It's no cake walk.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ignore the nicknames (McCollege) and the negative Nancy's, especially if you are an art, media, music, nursing, or sports student. I know from experience that the entire art wing is full of people who are passionate and open minded and inspiring. I know from hear-say that the nursing and sports related areas are also very strong academically. Monroe Community College is a great school, you get out of MORE than what you put in with a little bit of effort and a willingness to work hard. College is not easy, no one hands out good grades willy nilly like in highschool. Start here, figure out what you want to do, and really focus.

    In three sentences

    Passionate and knowledgeable teachers that want to see you succeed. Diverse student body with many extracurricular activities and clubs to get you out of your shell. Many credits transfer easily and there are many advisers available to help with any issues within the school system as well as the career world.

  • 08/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Wouldn't know

    Tips for prospective students

    It can feel like your in the 13th grade, but only if you let it.

    In three sentences

    A great way to save money. Many diverse and interesting people. Always willing to work with you and help your situation.

  • 08/30/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    55 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very good

    What to do for fun

    outside and enjoy the landscape

    Food and Dining

    not many choices

    Dorm Life

    i love my dorm time. it policy are very strict but you make so many friends!

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers are always willing to help you with any thing you need as long with the learning centers

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are on time and ready to go. get involved

    In three sentences

    i love the experience i had at mcc. i really enjoy my time there. The teachers and students are amazing.

  • 10/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    MCC has about 5 or 6 restaurants inside the campus, Subway, Dunkin Donuts, and quite a few other options.

    Dorm Life

    Can't really comment on this, I'm an off-campus student.

    Academic Rigor

    All the classes I have taken are far superior in quality then previous community college experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try emailing the teacher's you're interested in, and talking with them.

    In three sentences

    Monroe Community College is a great entry level college. The teachers I've encountered are very committed to their student's education, and go above and beyond the minimum effort. This is a great way to cut down on your student debt, and still get an education.

  • 01/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If you like to work out, the weight rooms are open for all students. There are afternoon recreational activities such as Zumba that you can go to. If you live on campus, your Residency Assistants always have some sort of activities each night that you can join.

    Food and Dining

    On campus dining is pretty basic

    Dorm Life

    Sadly, you do not get to choose your 2 or 4 other roomates,as it is with many colleges. On the complete plus side, the dorms are set up more as suites rather than 4 bed in one room. There is a functional refridgerator, oven, sink, dishwasher, and microwave. There are two storage spaces, one for everyone's own nonperishable food items, and for coats and things as such. There are two full bathrooms to be shared for 3-5 people. There are a total of 3 rooms in each suite. If you choose to share a room, there will be two people to one room, for two of the rooms and one single room. Very spacious!

    Academic Rigor

    You get what you give. If you do not want to go to class, study, do your homework, etc., than you are going to feel as though you are learning nothing. Of course that doesn't fall on the rigor of the academics but more of you not pushing yourself hard enough/

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not try to over stess yourself by taking too many classes at once just to lessen the amount of time you will have to go to the school.

    In three sentences

    Although people who generally live in the Rochester area like to look down on Monroe Community College as a downgrade, it is more of the better option. The cost is unbelievably a much less burden to endure. All the while you also receive a great education that can be used in any University.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good job of keeping things safe and clean

    Greek Life

    unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    Good variety of clubs and the college does well to provide sufficient funding for them to flourish

    Great for these types of students

    Technology and science students looking for cheap assosiates education

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tai Chi in the morning out by the lake.

    Bang for the buck

    MCC is a great value for the standard of education and the cost. It is efficient for a student to live on campus if they need to, with the assistance of financial aid. MCC makes it possible, and does it well

    What to do for fun

    There are always unique clubs at MCC. Sometimes there will be open classes in the afternoon such as yoga.

    Food and Dining

    Small Cafeteria, there are restaurants near the college.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are clean and well lit.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, but not overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk with the advising department for your major. They will help you get the tools you need to get on top of the work.

    In three sentences

    Monroe Community college does well to provide the average college student the resources needed to advance their educational opportunities. The campus and surrounding areas are clean. The Professors are dedicated to inspiring new students.

  • 01/25/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    59 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety department gives directions and tickets. In terms of actual safety, it's an a very open, safe area. Henrietta isn't the safest town in America, but it's up there. I wouldn't worry about safety at all at MCC.

    Greek Life

    The clubs exist, but I haven't seen them really doing anything.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 80 clubs at MCC to choose from, which is really cool, but nothing compared to RIT's several hundred. Clubs for religion, chess, sports, and language are readily available, but don't look for anything more than that. In terms of school sponsored activities, there are none. None.

    Great for these types of students

    There are really two types of MCC students. There are the 2 year students, who intend to go on to another college and complete a four year degree, and there are the kids that never got out of the high school phase. If you intend to complete your education on a budget, don't mind missing out on the college experience for a couple of years, and want to take advantage of some great opportunities, then MCC is the perfect school for you. If you really have no idea what you want to do with your life, but want to try some things to attempt to find a direction, MCC is also a good place for that. Any 4 year degree typically requires at least one year of general credits, and you may end up finding something that you really have a passion for in that year. If a college with a frat house, a sports team, a full gym, and great college atmosphere is your style, you're looking at the wrong option.

    Bang for the buck

    You simply won't find a cheaper school for what you get out of it. NY resident tuition is a little over $3,000, and MCC has been ranked one of the top community colleges in the United States.

    What to do for fun

    MCC isn't exactly the host of raging fun events. They do hold small events in the campus center from time to time. These include an Irish festival, 98 PXY events, job fairs, Holocaust memorials, and club recruitment days. Not exactly your wild party school, and these events aren't extremely popular. There's an ice rink on campus, and sporting events take place there. Otherwise, it's a pretty quiet campus. Within short driving distance, you can get to Marketplace Mall, Wegmans, and all of the shopping that you could need. There's a small arcade, a bowling alley, and a movie nearby. The iHOP a few miles away is always a great place to hit after a long day of school.

    Food and Dining

    MCC offers one large cafeteria. Inside, you can choose between sushi, pizza, chicken, Subway, Denny's, and Dunkin' Donuts. The food doesn't change a lot from day to day, and it can be pretty expensive for what it is. It's pretty terrible for vegetarians, but there are a couple of gems. The pizza is actually pretty delicious, there's an Amy's veggie burger at Denny's, and the sushi is always an option. Overall, it's a nice cafeteria, but it's very small compared to other colleges. Outside of the cafeteria, there are a few restaurants. Reflections, the student run restaurant offers an excellent buffet, and some great options. It's kind of expensive, but the atmosphere is quite nice, and very peaceful. There is also a Starry Nites cafe, which specializes in assorted breakfast food, but mostly charges very high prices for a bowl of cereal. It can very hard to find a nice place to enjoy your food, unless you eat in one of the restaurants. The cafeteria and surrounding areas are always extremely packed, and usually loud, crammed, and filled with obnoxious people. Downstairs, underneath the cafeteria is your best shot at a quiet meal. The food eating areas

    Dorm Life

    Not a lot of students live in the dorms. Almost all of us are commuters, and I haven't heard a lot of great things about the dorms. They are fairly inexpensive, though.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a little bit like high school, only you have more choice. The toughness of the courses really depends on what courses you take. Intro courses are typically very easy, as they cover a lot of new students. Specialized courses can be a little tougher, such as PSY 101, or Chemistry and Physics courses. MCC does offer Honors courses, which you should look into right away. They're more rigorous, but you learn so much more. The environment is completely different, and you have to take much more responsibility for your own education. Some easy credit courses include: Introduction to the Internet, Personal Investing, Kayaking, Literature 101, Spanish 101, and Public Speaking. Harder courses include Chemistry, Biology courses, and micro/macro economics. Professors are usually extremely helpful, so always ask questions or get tutored.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Register early. I know that it's a pain, and that sometimes things can be rushed, but if you wait until the last couple of days, you'll end with an extremely odd schedule. - If you have the GPA for it, get involved with honors societies, and language clubs. The members are extremely friendly. -If you plan to transfer to a 4 year school in the area, consider the 2+2 program. You can take classes at MCC directed towards your major, and MCC even covers the tuition to attend some classes at your college of choice. -Don't mess around with parking. It's extremely tempting not to buy a parking permit, especially when parking patrol never seems to give tickets. Without fail, when the weather gets a little nicer (typically towards the end of the spring semester), you will get nailed with at least four tickets, usually one after another. Trust me, I played that game every year.

    In three sentences

    MCC is an extremely well priced school for the education that you receive. The services, extracurricular activities and clubs are not as fantastic as traditional four year schools, but they are excellent for a community college. Classes are very easy to schedule, and the 2+2 program offered is a great choice.

  • 02/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campuses are overall very safe. You constantly see campus officers and the safety poles with blue lights that you can go to if there is ever a problem. It is a city campus so there are minor issues occasionally but nothing too disturbing and it is always immediately and throughly taken care of.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life on campus. However there is a club that admits you if your GPA is a 3.7 or above after your first semester called the Theta Kappa I believe.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am currently involved in the Criminal Justice Club and plan to get involved with the student radio. From personal experience I can say that these are both very organized and helpful organizations that are continuously interesting to say the least. There is a variety of clubs that suits every students need and social desires.

    Great for these types of students

    It a great place for anyone willing to apply themselves and discover what it is they are interested in academically. It also benefits those who do know what they want to do with distinguished programs and faculty.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a large open area off the Brighton campus cafeteria that is outside. It has picnic tables and on a warm spring day it is the perfect place to hang out with friends, study, or eat lunch.

    Bang for the buck

    Monroe Community College is a great place to start. It allows you to get a college experience both academically and socially without completely robbing your bank account. It is a smart move to make especially if you aren't entirely sure about what you want to do or where you want to end up.

    What to do for fun

    There are a variety of sporting events always taking place on campus. I personally enjoy the intramural clubs such as yoga and ballet. You can try out for the school musicals or get involved in a large variety of clubs. There are constantly study abroad opportunities and trips that every student is invited to be a part of.

    Food and Dining

    There is both a cafeteria at the Damon city campus and the Brighton campus. The food prepared at Damon is good and there is a large variety to choose from at the Brighton campus. Anything from sushi to chicken fingers is available along with easy to grab snacks in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    I am currently staying off of campus in an apartment building not associated with the college so I can not speak for the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The course load at MCC is flexible. You are required to take a minimum of 12 credit hours to be considered a full-time student. You can take up to 18 credit hours a semester without additional cost. The academic rigor of your course load is completely dependent on the classes you choose. If you are dedicated and want to challenge yourself there are plenty of opportunities to do so.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before attending Monroe Community College I would encourage students to get to know the city of Rochester as a whole. The most off putting aspect of attending this college as an out of state student was that I wasn't familiar or comfortable with the city. Rochester has a lot to offer and MCC involves the city in a lot of events. For example the clubs take field trips to places in the city and if you don't know your way around it makes it intimidating to be a part of these things. To reign in the anxiety that comes hand in hand with being a new student it would be in your best interest to get to know the area and all it has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Monroe Community College is a encouraging environment that plays an active role in students success. The overall college experience is enjoyable and easy to adjust to. The most encouraging aspect is the faculty and their constant availability for both personal and academic assistance.

  • 02/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    61 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are tons of clubs and activities here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Hang in there past the first year. Don't slack off in the science classes. They are tough!

    In three sentences

    I would say that MCC is a good school. There are a lot of people that come here and treat it like extended high school but once you get into the second semester classes that trickles away. There are great opportunities here.

  • 03/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, there are safety officers found all throughout campus and they respond almost instantly to any problems.

    Greek Life

    There are no Frats/Sororities associated with MCC.

    Clubs and Activities

    Pretty amazing variety of clubs to join for a community college.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students interested in transferring to a 4-year institute.

    Bang for the buck

    Get a great education for very little money at all! Really prepares you for whatever you goals are after graduation.

    Food and Dining

    Really great food! There's a Subway and Dunkin Donuts on campus plus some really great pizza, chinese food, fresh sushi, and dozens of other options available.

    Dorm Life

    There's only 700 beds for the 18,000+ students enrolled. This is a commuter college so assume that you won't get housing if you apply and make appropriate accommodations..

    Academic Rigor

    The upper level classes are just as difficult as the ones you would find at any private institution.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you really want to go to a 4-year school but don't want the price tag, MCC is perfect for you. You get the same, quality education but won't be buried by student loans. MCC isn't just an average community college, in fact it's ranked one of the highest in the nation!

    In three sentences

    Awesome school that sets you up for success at whichever 4-year institute you want to transfer to.

  • 03/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    63 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    *money savers *anyone

    Bang for the buck

    Great teachers here, the education is worth more than they are charging when compared to to other colleges.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs I cannot keep track. I also know of many intermurals you could join. I am not currently part of any of these because of my course load and other obligations but I always hear good things about them.

    Food and Dining

    Personally I think the service in the dining area is awful. the food tastes great, especially the pizza. When I was the only one in line one day I waited for a group of three employees to finish their conversation until one noticed me and asked yes? then I had to wait ten minutes for food. The Restaurant Reflections is amazing. The food was superb and with it being the classroom for students going into the food business they did a great job.

    Dorm Life

    I commute so I cannot rate this.

    Academic Rigor

    I rank it this high because I am taking all the fun classes like Chemistry and Calculus. Not all the work is hard but usually requires a bunch of your time. It still helps you with getting to know everything for the tests.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take all you pre-requisite courses at a community college, it will save you thousands. MCC works with other schools to make sure you are taking the right classes, but make sure you talk to advisers from colleges you are looking at to double check.

    In three sentences

    1. All the Faculty will help you 2. Great coffee at Java's 3. Affordable

  • 05/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    64 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Has many clubs and activities plus many events going On All the time

    What to do for fun

    Mcc is located very close to many Area in hennrettia there's go karting, mini golf, a hookah lounge plenty of places to eat and shop it's also close to the city of Rochester and the town of Brighton there are parks and tons of sports leagues

    Food and Dining

    Lots of places to eat and they have a dining plan cheap soda to

    Dorm Life

    Hard to get a dorm room

    Academic Rigor

    Has many classes from many levels and for every interest

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be shy because opening up at mcc will help you learn so much. The classes are very easy to pass as long as your there and pay attention. Do your financial aid as soon as humanly possible somtimes it takes forever to go through.

    In three sentences

    Monroe community college is a great place. It has a wonderful environment and teachers that care . My first year at mcc was wonderful and I would highly recommend it to a friend.