Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Monroe County Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who prefer smaller classes. School provides a quiet learning environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    - The professors here have made themselves available to aid students, don't be afraid to ask for help. - Classes are challenging. Study, make use of the resources available to you, and - most importantly - attend class.

    Bang for the buck

    This is personal, of course, but I definitely feel like I'm getting my money's worth or more. Classes are affordable and I feel like the quality of the classroom environment is better than what I could get for more money.

    Am enjoying being here

    The environment of the school is refreshing and I am satisfied with the way I am being taught.

    Am learning a lot

    As is to be expected with college, I have learned more here in under a year than I did in four years of high school. Over all, I'm thrilled with the school! These classes have been challenging, but nothing too far out of my league and I feel that I am getting a good education here.

  • 04/28/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    - Students with an undecided major. - Students who are financially strapped. - Students who prefer smaller class sizes. - Adults returning to school.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Study and attend class. You'll get out of it what you put into it. - Don't be afraid to ask for help because it's easy to get. Nearly all of my professors tell you their office hours on the first day of class, just in case you need some extra help outside the classroom. There's also a learning lab full of student tutors, and some classes even have a study group that meets shortly before the class period.

    Bang for the buck

    If you're unsure of your major or just have financial issues, this is a great place to go for the first year or two of college. You can get a solid, well-rounded educational base at a fairly low cost. Additionally, I knew several older adult students who returned to school to get degrees. The general consensus among them was that MCCC's low cost and class times from early morning to later in the evening made it easier for them to balance work and family with school.

    Did enjoy being here

    Honestly, I wasn't too keen on going here at first. I only went here because I wasn't sure what I wanted to major in, and it was cheaper to take a variety of classes and find out what I wanted to do here, as opposed to a more expensive university. I did end up enjoying several classes, and I ultimately don't regret my decision to go here first.

    Did learn a lot

    Overall I had good teachers who were excellent on explaining the material and making it interesting. Teachers are a huge factor, but another factor is you, the student. If you're interested in the topic and make a strong effort to study and learn, you're probably going to get something out of it.

  • 06/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions. Everyone at the college is so helpful, any help you need will be given.

    Bang for the buck

    Simply the best price in the area, very nice for someone who depends on scholarships or out of pocket.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere at both campuses is so relaxed. I even find myself enjoying staying after class to study in the common area.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are great, always so helpful. My CIS prof even helped my when I had problems with my laptop.

  • 08/23/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you're trying to work and go to school full time, consider taking some of the online classes that MCCC has available. Online classes are really convenient if you have the self-discipline to do the course work!

    Bang for the buck

    I was surprised by the low cost of tuition for this school. Community colleges where I grew up were at least twice as expensive.

    Will enjoy being here

    This school is close to my home, so I'll be attending with people from my area. The close commute will make it much more enjoyable than other schools as well.

    Will learn a lot

    Based on the description of classes that I've seen on the school website, I would say that they have a solid program for my major.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard working and intelligent students

    Bang for the buck

    I believe the MCCC provides an excellent education

    What to do for fun

    N / A

    Food and Dining

    Never eaten at the cafe'

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    MCCC is not for slackers. The instructors expect excellence

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend all the class lectures. This is where you get the information to help you attain your goals at school and after graduation

    In three sentences

    I love attending MCCC. They have wonderful instructors whom are very knowledgeable. Best of all the instructors are willing to help me understand the information they are teaching.

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    all of the campus is patrolled by security and they are all ex-police officers.

    Greek Life

    almost none existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    student government, the agora (newspaper), etc...

    Great for these types of students

    self motivated, working students or people who are coming back to school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the cellar is a hang out or club, in the basement in the admissions building for students to hang out. they also sometimes have movie nights.

    Bang for the buck

    always a good idea to begin at a community college and get the basics out of the way and save yourself a lot of money.

    What to do for fun

    hang out in the library, or the cellar.

    Food and Dining

    the food available at the cafeteria is often good and always convenient and priced right.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms at this school, it is for commuters only. located close to the city of monroe and easy to access.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are well rounded and most of the professors are people who have been out in the working world. they bring real world experience to the table.

    Tips for prospective students

    must commute to this college, and try to avoid classes at the whitman center, they are quite a drive from the main campus and much more difficult to get to, depending on where you're coming from.

    In three sentences

    great atmosphere with an easy-to-access campus. the staff is friendly and very helpful. this school is for people who like to get in, get out , and get their careers moving.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In two years of attendance, I have never noticed any type of dispute or problems on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Very few clubs to activities on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who are either undecided on which university to attend or what major to pursue, or for older adults who wish to go back and further explore education.

    Bang for the buck

    I am definitely glad that I took my time and chose to attend Monroe Community, as it gave me plenty of time to decide my major and take classes that would benefit me to transfer to a larger university to pursue my degree.

    What to do for fun

    Most people do not hang around campus, as most students live in the surrounding community.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is fairly small and limited, but adequate for what it is.

    Dorm Life

    Being a small community college, there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Very few classes are easy or not as rigorous as those at another university. Many friends who have transferred to other compare the classes difficulty as even with those at larger universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know why you're coming to school here. If you know you are coming here only to get basic credits done and transfer, do your research to make sure you are not wasting your time and money and to set yourself up for success.

    In three sentences

    I feel as if Monroe Community is very effective for what it is, a 2-year college intended for associate degree programs and for students wishing to transfer. The counselors are extremely helpful and for being a community college, most of the staff seems upstanding. Due to it's small size, the college is very personal and helpful.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. Everyone is friendly and kind.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that do not know what field they want to go into or do not have much money for college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Cellar is a place for students to relax and socialize.

    Bang for the buck

    It is much cheaper than going to a University; however, the classes are not as challenging.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and other activities. Also, there is a nice recreation center to work out at or play basketball or other sports.

    Food and Dining

    The food is expensive so I suggest you bring your own lunch.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life. It is a commuter school.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not all that difficult, but you learn a lot more than you think. There are also many resources that can help if you are having trouble with classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take an art class with Gary Wilson even if you are not good at art. He is a great professor, and will teach you skills you never thought you would have. Also, try your best in all your classes; as long as you study and pay attention in class you will be fine.

    In three sentences

    Monroe County Community College is a wonderful place to get a start on your college education when you are not sure what you want to do yet. There are many great and helpful professors. MCCC has a variety of classes and programs for its small size.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any students that want a relatively small campus

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There isn't anything unusual about the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    MCCC is one of the cheapest community colleges around!

    What to do for fun

    Join a club and get involved.

    Food and Dining

    If you don't have to, try not to eat at the school. The food is not that good.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on-campus housing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for Prospective students: Explore your options and do research on your possible professors.

    In three sentences

    Monroe County Community College is a small relatively small college. They offer many different classes and you can also be apart of many different clubs. I would rate them a 7 out of 10 for Community Colleges.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never had a problem or safety concern.

    Clubs and Activities

    Multiple clubs and activities that are nicely ran. This includes but is not limited to some intarmural sports, choir, and student government.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for hardworking students who are looking for handson instruction with smaller class sizes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Cellar a place for downtime where you can eat, do homework, watch tv, play pool or foosball, and hangout with friends.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities and concerts held by the college.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria in A building, also vending machines with healthy choices.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    You are expected to work hard and put in the time needed to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard, show up on time, and have fun.

    In three sentences

    Monroe County Community College is a great school. They have many incredible proffesors who all work hard to help you succeed. This is a college anyone would be lucky to attend.

  • 03/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is a very safe environment. Personally, I have never had a problem while being on MCCC campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    The college offers many clubs and activities for students to participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    MCCC is great for students taking prerequisites and students unsure of the field of study they want to go into.

    What to do for fun

    At Monroe County Community College, there is a weight room that students can use for free. There are many programs that MCCC offers, such as International Studies Club and Intermural Basketball and Volleyball teams.

    Food and Dining

    MCCC contains a cafeteria which provides meals for breakfast, lunch, and dinner for affordable prices. They also have snacks for in between classes. It's very convenient because it's practically in the middle of all the buildings.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't dorms on this campus. Considering it is a community college, there are open apartments around the community, but nothing on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Monroe County Community College has very helpful staff. The staff here don't over load students with work like people have told college horror stories. They also give you a fair timely manner to complete the work they assign students.

    In three sentences

    Monroe County Community College is a great place to start your education, especially if you're unsure of your field of study. It's rather affordable and there are many scholarships in the community that are given to MCCC students. The majority of the staff I have had are very helpful and go above their requirements to make sure their students understand the material they cover.