Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Montana State University Billings Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/28/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Shy students, like myself. I don't like being in a large lecture hall like many colleges have. I prefer being in a class of no more than 30 people, which is exactly what MSU-B has. MSU-B also has one of the best education programs in the country so it is great for students interested in being teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. It is a great way to meet new people. There are a lot of clubs and organizations to join. Live in the dorms for the first year, because you also meet a lot of people that way, too. And take advantage of the flat spot. It's a free class.

    Bang for the buck

    They have what is called a flat spot where you pay for 12 credits but you can take up to 18 for the same price, which is another class or two that are essentially free.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is beautiful, I have a great view from my dorm room. It only takes about 10 minutes to get across campus so it's easy to get around. There is always something to do if you live on campus. The dorm rooms are fairly big and there's a sink in each one, which is very convenient.

    Am learning a lot

    The classrooms hold about 30 people each, so the classes are fairly small. You get to know your professor which is great if you want to apply for scholarships. I have learned so much in just my first semester at MSU-B.

  • 09/17/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Every type of student should apply here. It will challenge you scholastically. Also, you will face professors with different opinions than yours that force you to know where you stand and become grounded in your beliefs and opinions.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you don't know what to do, ask questions. People are willing to help you.

    Bang for the buck

    It's the least expensive school that I looked at. Also, when I compare my knowledge I've obtained here to my friends who attend other colleges, mine is usually greater, due to smaller classrooms.

    Am enjoying being here

    I hate the city of Billings but love the school. People there are willing to help you and get things worked out. There is a lot of stuff to do outside of classes, such as RHA or HEROES or SADD. There is also Service Saturday, where you can do community service with a group of people.

    Am learning a lot

    The classroom setting is small, so it's very easy to learn since you get a lot of attention from the professors.

  • 12/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 3 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for relaxed students of any age because people here are very open minded in general.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't listen to the advisers when they try to push you for more credits. I took sixteen credits because my advisor kept pushing me for it. I became very over loaded in my classes and in result have obtained a lower GPA than I had wished. DO WHAT YOU BELIEVE THAT YOU'RE CAPABLE OF DOING!

    Bang for the buck

    I didn't have much trouble with my fees until I looked at my fees for this next semester. I found out that I was being charged for health insurance that I didn't want out of loan money that I need. I have gotten everything resolved, but it would be easier if they just didn't add the health insurance until I actually want it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I personally enjoy the fact that there isn't the type or amount of drama at MSU-Billings like there is in high schools. Students are much more relaxed here than in high school.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are really nice but not very lenient on assignments. A lot of teachers figure that it's not their fault if a student fails. They don't mind here if students need help out side of class, they're always willing to help.

  • 11/22/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    pepper spray for the ladies and firearms for the men

    Greek Life

    yes, some of the males are of this persuasion, look out!

    Clubs and Activities

    bland activities with limited resources

    Great for these types of students

    poor students with poor grades who are seeking a false sense of accomplishment to be crushed after the reality sets in after graduation

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nothing unusual or original about this place

    Bang for the buck

    substandard coursework from underpaid instructors who don't give a s#@t but reasonably priced

    What to do for fun

    watch TV and pass gas

    Food and Dining

    don't get me started

    Dorm Life

    drinking, cursing, loud music, fights

    Academic Rigor

    anyone can get in and stay

    Tips for prospective students

    attend a stable, nationally accredited institution which this is not

    In three sentences

    MSU Billings has such a poor reputation for quality of education and qualification for accreditation. This sadly is the norm for their nursing RN program (off and on again with regard to accreditation). What's amazing yet sad is that MT natives who attend MSU don't know any better and think that they're above the fray. These students are predominantly just disillusioned, unmotivated and provincially brainwashed isolates that have little chance of ever finding success in any place that matters (outside of MT).

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Have fun in college. It is a great experience and you learn a lot about the outside world. College is supposed to be exciting and new, but it is also supposed to get your mind thinking and warming up for what you are about to endure in your future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some ideal tips I would give prospective students is always do your homework no matter how bad you want to go out with your friends, they will wait for you. Also, start on a good note. If you have good grades right off the bat of the semester, the year will go by a lot quicker and finals will be a lot easier. Do not skip class, period. No matter how easy you think your class is. Lastly, make good friends. Study buddies will help you pass your classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Money is always helpful, not matter what state of hopelessness one is in. College does not cost as much here as it does at other colleges. Also, you are getting the same education, if not a better one here at MSUB.

    Am enjoying being here

    MSUB has the perfect size campus. It is a larger college, but the campus is not too big and overwhelming. It really is a great area in Billings and the people here are great. I enjoy residing in Billings.

    Am learning a lot

    MSUB has provided a great learning environment for every student. I have really filled my brain with not only information including my major, but also study habits and actions that will help me to pursue my career.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    outdoorsy, fun, outgoing, loves small school

    What to do for fun

    hiking, biking, camping, fishing, tons of rha game nights, movie nights, shopping, horseback riding, yellowstone national park

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you want to be in a more rural area, plus just know this college is super chill and everyone is really relaxed.

    In three sentences

    i absolutely love it here!

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    The choices are endless. There are activities for anyone who wishes to be active.

    Great for these types of students

    Any!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    Along with a good food plan, MSUB offers extra money to you to spend in their store for clothes, books, etc. or in the coffee/food shops around campus.

    What to do for fun

    The sky is the limit for activities on campus. There are religious groups, organizations, volunteer groups, dances, intramural sports, gathering for capture the flag or tag, and much more. Also, there is the mall, movie theaters, and great dining places as well.

    Food and Dining

    Amazing! MSUB has such a variety of foods in the cafeteria and they are currently remodeling to add more choices.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a great feature in this university. The resident directors on every floor are very helpful, and it's such a great way to meet new friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are great! They make sure you understand the material he or she teaches, and they will work with you if you don't.

    Tips for prospective students

    When going into college, take the time to sign up for scholarships.. even if it's time consuming!

    In three sentences

    Montana State University-Billings is an awesome school! The campus, professors, location, and classes are all ideal for anyone who wants to better his or her education. I definitely recommend this school!

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is not a very high crime rate.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a lot of great student clubs and organizations to get involved in. Anybody can find something within their interests.

    Great for these types of students

    Older Students returning to college are perfect for this school. Also Montana and Billings residents will likely not find a cheaper education with their positive reputation.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is super cheep, and very pleasant.

    What to do for fun

    The college has lots of events for students like dances, disk golf, inter mural sports, etc. Entertainment off Campus consists of bars, a bowling alley, and the movie theatres.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is a little pricey, but it's good food, and even better, it's all you can eat!

    Dorm Life

    I opted out of Dormitories because they are over priced and tiny. However they do have fun activities for students on campus, and many students really enjoy it.

    Academic Rigor

    There are a lot of resources for students to get help with difficult subjects. Their Academic Support Center offers free tutoring from teachers and upper class students and it can be very helpful. Additionally, in my experience, many of the teachers are laid back and generally easy going.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should fill out as many scholarships as possible to make your college experience even more affordable. Also, buy your books online, even used if possible, for like most colleges, the bookstore is very over priced. Lastly, the school offers free tutoring, make use of it!

    In three sentences

    Montana State University Is a decent school for a low price. It is very diverse with students of different ages, cultures and backgrounds, and it offers a large list of classes and degrees. Its one fallback is its location in Billings Montana is not very entertaining to young adults.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security on campus is outstanding. Night classes are widely popular, and the parking garages, and walking areas are well lit, and well traveled by local security/police officers.

    Bang for the buck

    I personally am enrolled in the International Studies program as my minor. Through this program I have learned of international study exchange programs which offer the students the opportunity to study abroad at a participating sister school. Programs are available in several countries, offering exceptional opportunities for students who are willing to accept the challenge of learning abroad.

    What to do for fun

    For those individuals who participate in sports or other healthy activities, the campus has a beautiful sports complex, complete with pool, gym, weight room and other options with classes in aerobics, yoga, pilates, etc. There are numerous clubs and student associations which always have a wide variety of events occurring which really support the college financial lifestyle, and offer a healthy atmosphere,

    Food and Dining

    I was very impressed by the student cafe on campus, which had an outstanding variety of foods available for an exceptionally reasonable price. There are coffee shops throughout campus as well, which offer sandwiches, fresh fruit, cheese and a variety of other items for snacks.

    Dorm Life

    I did not reside in the dorms and therefore am unable to comment on the subject.

    Academic Rigor

    I certainly placed a great deal of effort into my studies, particularly because I had not been in school for 30 years and felt the need to really apply myself to get back into the routine of hard studying. Again, for those students who are willing to look, the university has many programs in place to fully support and encourage the success of all their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    The resources really are an amazing tool provided for all students. Take the time to inquire on what is available, visit the resource/academic support centers, and really investigate the many opportunities that are available.

    In three sentences

    As a non-traditional student, returning to college after 30 years, I found the staff at MSU-Billings to be exceptionallly courteous and helpful. There are unlimited resources available for students who are willing to take the time and make the effort to utilize those resources. The degree programs are very competitive and provide a wide range of opportunities for traditional and non-traditional students alike.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 10 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get involved in the school activities.

    Academic Rigor

    Great College with many opportunites.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure all of your paperwork is in on time. Attend all your classes and get connected with your professors/advisor.

    In three sentences

    It is small yet growing. A great place to start college. The staff every where on campus are great to work with and want to see you succeed.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt safe at the COT

    Clubs and Activities

    Have not participated in any clubs or activities.

    Great for these types of students

    COT is great for all types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not aware of any.

    Bang for the buck

    As a non-traditional student, I feel at ease being in class with the other students. There are more than just the 'fresh out of high school' students. There are many non-traditional students along with me.

    What to do for fun

    I see fliers on the bulletin boards with comedians in town, live music and other things available to college students. I don't go to them as I have two children at home and two jobs as well as homework.

    Food and Dining

    The food available in the main quad at the COT is pretty good & the prices aren't too outrageous. There are hot & cold sandwiches available as well as a 'special'. There is always a homemade soup available which are some of the best soups I've ever had.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the programs offered at the COT are very competitive. So you are competing against fellow students and yourself for the available slots in those programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to get an education. You get out of each class what you are willing to put into it.

    In three sentences

    Montana State University COT is a great place to go to school. The schedule has flexible times for busy non-traditional students, even offering on-line classes. The academic support center offers knowledgeable tutors versed in many subjects.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Montana State University Billings Police Department has seven sworn police officers who are certified by the State of Montana. The department handles police and criminal matters on University property and provides other public safety services. The Department of Student Affairs and Department of Facility Services help ensure a safe learning environment through secure entrance to residence, emergency phones and fire sprinkler equipped residence classrooms and residence halls.

    Greek Life

    Religious traditions and personal experiences as part of a search for the meaning of life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Academic Department, Campus Media/Literary, Cultural, Government/ Campus programming, Honorary, Performing and Visual Arts, Religious Organizations, Service and special interests

    Bang for the buck

    make the most out of your money. I know sometimes it's hard but there are several ways you can save like going to the local food markets or buying used books

    What to do for fun

    We have local food markets, walking and bike trials, skiing, Yellowstone Park is an hour away, local venues and lots of fun stuff to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining are great on and off campus

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus but, from what I have heard and seen it is a very safe and well maintained dorm

    Academic Rigor

    It's only as hard as you make it otherwise, it's pretty flexible and professors will go out of their way to make sure you understand

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Be serious about your education but have fun to 2) Know your personal limits 3) Get to know your community because there are tremendous opportunities

    In three sentences

    I would highly recommend anyone to attend Montana State University Billings because of their nurturing environment they provide and the excellent longstanding teaching and support the school provides. Montana State University Billings is located in an area with an incredible supportive community. Who wouldn't pass up an opportunity to get a great education as well as enjoying Big Sky Country!

  • 09/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is very important on this university campus, There is always a campus police available.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different types of clubs and activities going on. There is always something going on everyday. Clubs are very fun and get places to make new friends or get to know new people.

    What to do for fun

    There is so many different types of clubs and events that are constently going on. There is something for everyone at this university. There is also different types of places around the college to go and see and have some fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining is very Delicious and has a variety of different places to get some grub.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't got to experience the dorm life, don't really have the money to stay in the dorm. I drive back and forth from home to school.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic at this university at the right standards. It isn't too hard nor too easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep good study habits, have fun but don't get behind in the course work, be positive and respect yourself.

    In three sentences

    University is full of positive and joyful atmosphere. Motivation and professional Instructors. Joining of all different ethics brings peace.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always readily available

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On the City College campus is a 8ft piece of twisted metal from the twin towers.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a wonderful school and does not cost much

    What to do for fun

    Rock climbing. Nature walks. Running. Skiing about an hour away. Churchs usually have things going on. Soccer games. There is so much to do and it's always posted on the wall somewhere or on the website.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent cafe and food even though it is Sodexho

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the course it gets very difficult

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on track Make lots of new friends Never forget your value

    In three sentences

    I really like the Billings area. The staff and students are all helpful and encouraging. It is easy to get a job on or off campus.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Choose your major wisely and focus until your goals are reached.

    In three sentences

    Small enough for the professors to know your name and care about your education. Everyone is helpful and willing to push you further.

  • 03/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We've had a few break-ins and thefts but almost all of these were into unlocked dorm rooms or unlocked vehicles.

    Greek Life

    There isn't any.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of options from math to volunteering to religious to international interests.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a small, inviting college where not everyone knows everybody but you still receive individual assistance.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Student Union Building is an inviting place to hang out with a coffee shop, couches, study areas, and a gaming room all centrally located.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is not high and the programs have good accreditation.

    What to do for fun

    Hanging out with friends is a big aspect of campus life. The city is not college-oriented, although Billings does have a movie theater, a bowling alley, a mall, and restaurants. The campus itself occassionally has events but not consistently.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look ahead and plan for yourself. The people are helpful and caring but only you know what you want regardless what others tell you.

    In three sentences

    Overall, the atmosphere is small-town friendly where each student matters. The courses for the most part are well-organized and applicable to the assigned major. The advising office isn't the best, but does eventually get you where you need to be.

  • 03/24/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Good for students that have been out of school for a few years and deiced to go to college.

    In three sentences

    I give it a 10 for their admission for people out of high school 3 years or more. I give them a 7 for single dorm room second semester at the same rate as a double, if you keep a 3.7 GPA. I give them them an 8 for programs.

  • 03/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is campus police there i feel safe

    Clubs and Activities

    im not in any clubs

    Bang for the buck

    remember to order your books online otherwise your going to pay a fortune at the university book store

    What to do for fun

    I do homework, and raise a daughter.

    Food and Dining

    they have a good cafe called stingers:)

    Dorm Life

    i dont live in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    i have homework everynite but it will be worth it

    Tips for prospective students

    enjoy the grounds its a beautiful campus

    In three sentences

    I love the university the teachers are good the students are nice and the SOS has been a great help

  • 04/14/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Attend any of the many sport functions.

    Food and Dining

    Good coffee hard to get anything in time in between classes. They need to open more registers.

    Dorm Life

    Have never lived in the dorms however I hear the campus police are very aware of anything happening on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the professor. Some tend to care a lot about their students and offer the help and resources needed for one to succeed if willing to spend extra time. However some professors really don't care how hard a student tries. Some are just there for a pay check and seem not to care whether one passes or fails.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask around and be aware of all of the help available.

    In three sentences

    Should be head of the nursing program in MT instead of Bozeman. Has a lot of available tutors and help if you take advantage of the help it makes it easier to pass classes. However MSU-Billings is not easy to go to when you work at the hospital.

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Adults looking to go back to school or start later on in life.

    Bang for the buck

    They are very reasonably priced school, that is definitely why I am attending.

    What to do for fun

    Like I stated before, there is not much of a student life on campus. If anything, I would just suggest going to sporting events.

    Food and Dining

    They have the best sub sandwiches and a great coffee shop right next to the library.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in the dorms but I heard they're pretty great!

    Academic Rigor

    It's fairly good. There is nothing to complain about but they certainly don't exceed any of my expectations

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you love Billings as well as the school because like i said before there isn't much of a student life on campus so you'll be spending much of your time in other areas of the city.

    In three sentences

    MSUB is a great school for older adults looking to go back to school. They are very Friendly as well. My biggest problem with them would be that there isn't much of a student life, especially if you do not live on campus.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Billings is a fun town in general! For Montana, Billings has a city feel without the scariness often associated with cities! The student center has a coffee shop and a pool table!

    Food and Dining

    The food is yummy!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers seem to care how you are doing and want to help you.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere of the school is very welcoming and the student center is fabulous! The trees and plants spread around inside makes the environment extremely comfortable and interesting to look at. The birds chirping outside on the campus makes the environment even more settling to be in!

  • 11/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on, no matter what your interests are.

    In three sentences

    Montana State University is a good school for anyone. MSUB has the city and country life in one setting. The staff and students alike greet everyone and anyone with open arms.

  • 06/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    University Connections: 50 bucks a credit!

    Food and Dining

    I love the food here!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are alright

    Academic Rigor

    The classes provide a challenge, but not too intense.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your studies.

    In three sentences

    I am enjoying MSUB! The University Connections program that I am currently enrolled in superb and a huge bargain! I recommend any high achool kid to seize the opportunity!

  • 10/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel pretty safe on campus. There is campus police here to keep us safe. Also, MSU Billings has a text message alert for any fire drills or real fires or anything else that might happen. They just send you a text and let you know if any dangerous is going on which is pretty cool because everybody checks their text messages regularly.

    Clubs and Activities

    I joined the Native American Club, because I am Native American. I guess it's not really a popular club but they are really trying to get people involved. So, I am pretty proud to help the Indian Club get people more involved and experience some traditional Native ceremonies.

    What to do for fun

    I like to go work out or just walk around the main campus. It's real pretty especially with all the fall colors.

    Food and Dining

    I like the food. If I could afford to eat the campus food everyday, I would. It's not that the food here is expensive but I am not a dorm student so I don't have a meal plan. I usually bring my own food or buy something cheap when I have the money.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms. I actually live with my mom, but I like to make a trip to the dorms every now and then. Every time I go I always have some sort of fun, whether its just to work out or get a coffee.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a diesel technology student. I am learning a lot already. It's a little difficult trying to remember all the information that's just thrown at you all at once, but that's what studying is for right?

    Tips for prospective students

    I would totally recommend attending MSU Billings. I like the school and facilities. I like how everyone is real kind.

    In three sentences

    I didn't know what to expect of college and now that I am in college I feel like I've made a good choice to attend MSU Billings. MSU Billings is awesome. I really like how the teachers are kind and helping.