Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Great Falls College Montana State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any type of student. There are so many different kinds of people at the school. You will see parents going back to school, or kids right out of high school, people going for a health field or going for wind technology. They have a lot of programs that will fit any person that wants to pursue a college that is just right for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always stay on top of things. You can not be a procrastinator when you enroll in college. There is just not enough time to be able to do all your homework the night before. Always try and work ahead if your professor will let you.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for. You expect the best and you will get it here.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the campus. Everyone that is there is nice and very easy to work with. If your not sure where to go there will always be someone to help you to your destination. I love to study here as well because it is a quite place to be and there are so many resources available to you.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot due to the size of classes. They are small enough for you to have one-on-one time with the professor but still have enough students some you can interact with each other.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never seen campus police but I've also never felt any type of a physical threat on campus from other students or staff. Feels very laid back and safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for fresh high school graduates looking to stay in the Great Falls area for a bit and wanting their Associate's Degree at a decent price. It's incredibly easy to transfer to MSU-Bozeman and University of Montana whenever you desire to. Also great for working parents looking to expand their education and searching for a better profession.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cottage Bookstore is a pretty cool little area. MSUCOT recently opened a daycare center for students' children.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth every penny. The best 2 year education locally available and for the price, it practically seems like a steal.

    What to do for fun

    Because the campus is a community college and doesn't offer dorms, there's not a lot of recreational options. Most of the students that attend school as well as work or take care of families so it's not a location heavily invested in clubs though there are a few as well as student offices.

    Food and Dining

    MSU-COT has a coffee shop operating inside of The Cottage Bookstore as well as meals served in the commons area yet I've never actually eaten there so I can't speak to the quality.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    MSU-COT is a community college so it doesn't attract a large variety of professors and classes available are in some instances limited. Courses online are far more in depth and extensive than classes in the school but it all depends on what sort of education you're looking to gain (Associate Degrees or other two year programs). In comparison to my high school educational experience, I do believe that the academic rigor at MSU-COT is at a respectable post secondary level.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend that prospective students set aside the time for classes in order to stay on top of schoolwork. Professors are good about working with students' work schedules and such but falling behind happens all too easily. It's also incredibly useful being on top of Financial Aid by applying early. The quicker you get paperwork in the more money you may get back and the sooner the Financial Aid office will give you notice.

    In three sentences

    MSU-COT is affordable, quality education. It's the perfect option for students in the Great Falls area to achieve their Associate of Arts or Science Degree (among other programs) without breaking the bank. The professors work with students willingly and the online classes are not only convenient but in depth.

  • 09/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone with a desire to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, study, study! You are paying to be here, AND even though you may wonder why you are learning something, remember that it IS relevant to your chosen field of study.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm getting a great price for my education. Plus, as part of the MSU system, I can transfer with no problems!

    Am enjoying being here

    I've found that a lot of students are very friendly, and are very willing to answer any questions you may have, or even just sit down and chat.

    Am learning a lot

    All the teachers are very knowledgeable and are willing to work with you until you get it right. Plus, the options for tutors can help when it comes to understanding concepts.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All ages and all educations. Worldly knowledge.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth every penny.

    Academic Rigor

    They push you as hard as you push yourself to attain your goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    All your dreams are possible. All you have to do is ask.

    In three sentences

    Small town college that helps acheive your dreams. All the support and encouragement one needs to complete their educational goals. Small town welcome with world knowledge.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Just get involved in student government. There is a lot going on, you just have to ask around.

    Food and Dining

    The food is cafeteria food. What can I say? But I love the staff in the kitchen, and some of it is decent.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Any of the medical programs at the school are fantastic! I would highly recommend them!

    In three sentences

    I love the college and would recommend it to anyone if you are motivated and driven to do your best. The instructors push you and encourage you to reach your highest potential. I have a lot of MSUGF pride.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It is a very welcoming school. Any questions I have always get answered by the wonderful staff. Ths school is very friendly and I dont feel like a stranger.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional students make up a large number of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Campus life has a lot to offer outside traditional education opportunities.

    In three sentences

    MSU Great Falls has been wonderful for me! Having graduated high school more than 20 years ago, they made the transition to a college student very easy for me. The helpful staff, administration, and instructors help me realize I made the right choice in going back to school.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a very low crime rate at our school and have supervision and surveillance to make sure everything is safe.

    What to do for fun

    In Montana it is snowy for most of the year so mostly snowboarding, skiing, sledding, ice-skating, and family dinners. Also popular are hunting , fishing, camping, and always shopping.

    Food and Dining

    There is a great Cafe at the school. And many tasty restaurants nearby the school.

    Dorm Life

    Sadly there are no dorms for MSU GF COT. Coming from high school I did really want to have that experience, sad one thing I had to miss out on.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic's at MSU GF COT are challenging but make you think outside the box. In many of my classes we write papers on strong economical views and life changing experiences. This also gives critical thinking in a career field and on the job experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Many people think college is expensive but if you know what career field is right for you, you should go. There are many opportunities out there and even if your broke you can complete your goals to.

    In three sentences

    Great School Opportunities. At MSU GF they have great teachers that work with you. Have great free tutoring that helps many students and is very helpful tool to have.

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this time.

    In three sentences

    MSU Great Falls College of Technology is a wonderful option for someone like me, returning to school during my middle-age years. I thought I would feel out of place, but I fit right in with students from all walks of life. It is fast paced, affordable, well laid out and there is help available in any area you may need it.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its a very safe community and I think this college is no different.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    If you are an outdoors person you will find a lot fun in the area, just have to get out and go find it.

    Food and Dining

    The area where you can dine is great and they have a great selection.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    very great school, you will go beyond if you attend here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask for help. All of the professors here are more than willing to help you succeed.

    In three sentences

    The professors seems to really care about your success. Great atmosphere, great place to be able to study. You will succeed if you attend this school.

  • 04/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of clubs and with so few students, it's easy to find a friend.

    Food and Dining

    The bookstore/cafeteria is good. A little pricey for what you get so you might want to pack a lunch. Or purchase a meal card for a discounted price.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms but there are nearby apartments.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is something for everybody at this school.

    In three sentences

    Great Falls College is a great place to start your Bachelor's Degree. The class sizes are fairly small so there is more interaction with the instructor. There are also a lot of resources to help students.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Haven't heard of any campus safety issues.

    Great for these types of students

    Someone looking for a career degree or certificate, or someone looking to get a jump start on general education.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is great, but the bookstore books are a little pricey compared to other sources

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    In three sentences

    Easy to find your way around. Friendly staff. Very friendly and quiet atmosphere.

  • 10/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    No dorms

  • 11/11/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is great for students looking for online educaton.

    Bang for the buck

    This was by far one of the more reasonable colleges I looked at and it offered the classes I needed.

    What to do for fun

    I am sure there are lots of GREAT places to kick up your heels in Montana!!!

    Food and Dining

    I will be cooking and eating at home I have no idea about the food and dining experien e

    Dorm Life

    I have no idea about the dorm life as I will be taking online classes

    Academic Rigor

    Great courses offered and for your benefit you can even take online classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at all of your options and choose carefully. Make sure the college you attend has the courses you are looking for and that they are accredited.

    In three sentences

    This is a very friendly and caring college. There is always some one there to answer your questions. When speaking or emailing with this college they are not pushy and they make you feel important.

  • 05/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Small town and small college, but there is stills security. Very friendly people.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who learn better in smaller classes.

    Food and Dining

    There are many different food chains near the college, but most of them close early. Not all night food places.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms provided by the college, so you have to find your own apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what classes and what degree you are hoping to achieve. Generals are not very difficult, one-on-one with teachers make it a lot easier.

    In three sentences

    The classrooms are very intimate and promotes great learning environment. Mostly non-traditional students, perfect for people who are thinking about going back to college. Also, very inexpensive and has many different programs for people pursuing a career in the medical field.