Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Monterey Peninsula College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus satfy is not that excellent. I have had a lot of stuff stolen from me, as well as friends. My recomendations are keep your prices and treasured belongings home and safe.

    What to do for fun

    At mpc we have many clubs. I perfer the sportsy clubs because i am very athletic. I do the surfing club, dance club and cooking club. we also have our beaches and tourist atractions right in town.

    Food and Dining

    The food at this campus is very reasonable. Not a big dinning room or anything fancy, but a great hang out place your groups friends.

    Dorm Life

    This college does not have dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The standards at Monterey peninsula college are very high, as at all collleges. Always be your best at being a good student. Grades are very competivie. Just because you have friends at your college, remember you are competing with them for education so give schooling your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students in the future be prepared to have to do a lot of paper work. Have all of you documentation in a place you can always find. When you get a paper of document make copies for your own proof.

    In three sentences

    I rate Monterey Peninsula College an 8.5. I rate them this because they are and excellent college but they could still use some work. This college has helped me come closer to my degree and career.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    natigate the internet and look for information.

    Food and Dining

    The school have great food I love their turkey sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    Its wonderful and peaceful.

    Academic Rigor

    Is just great to a MPC student

    Tips for prospective students

    inform your self on class requirements scheduled in appointment with a counselor they would take you step by step so you could succeed in your classes.

    In three sentences

    I rate my school a 10 is a great school. the staff go step by step with students on informations especially the financial ladies.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Socialize!

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    In three sentences

    I Love the MPC Atmosphere. All teachers I've had have been awesome. I can't wait to go back to school here.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Quite safe.

    Greek Life

    What greek life?

    Clubs and Activities

    Oh, there are PLENTY of clubs and activities for everyone. It seems like there is a new event or club activity going on everyday. I'm serious.It's great.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to save money and get their AA.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nope.

    Bang for the buck

    Parking Permit. 'Nuff said.

    What to do for fun

    What to do for fun? Walk around campus, get to know people, and join a club.

    Food and Dining

    Eh, food it expensive. But then again, it's also not half bad. It's just like any other over-priced campus.

    Dorm Life

    What dorm life? There aren't any dorms. Unless you consider sleeping under the bridge in the forest dorm life. But that's weird.

    Academic Rigor

    Let me be honest here, though this may be a junior college, it really is no picnic. Some teachers can be very . . .firm with their teaching methods while others pretty soft.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please. for your own sake, never forget to use a parking permit. For common courtesy's sake, please park nicely.

    In three sentences

    Monterery Peninsula College is both a very friendly and welcoming junior college. In fact, students tend to become a little too comfortable with what the college has to offer and seem to dwell longer than they really should. That is okay though, because frankly, the teachers are superb and beyond academically qualified to teach students so it is really no wonder why people like to stick around.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is easily accessible.

    Greek Life

    Not to sure about this area. I was not involved in this area.

    Great for these types of students

    Social people and those who want to be in a small town by the ocean.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the cafeteria there are flat screen televisions and the students bring in their own game systems to play video games.

    Bang for the buck

    I recieved a ton of help from counselors, financial aid advisors, and the instructors put a lot into their students.

    What to do for fun

    Join a committee, you get to know a lot of sudents and they are all very fun to be around.

    Food and Dining

    Small cafeteria and food choices are limited.

    Dorm Life

    Community college, they don't offer dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are taking science classed, please sign up with the tutor in the basement of the library. He is an incredible tutor, very smart, and he sends out practice tests to help you accele.

    In three sentences

    Monterey Peninsula College has incredible counselors who want to see you succeed. The school has made great upgrades to help students have a comfortable learning environment. The instructors challenge their students to help them accelerate in school and life.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the middle of the campus, between the parking lots and the larger half of the campus, is a beautiful walking trail. Students should take advantage of having a little slice of nature so close to them.

    Bang for the buck

    This school definitely saved me a whole lot of money over going straight to a four year school.

    What to do for fun

    The beach is not even ten minutes away, and while attending Monterey Peninsula College you have the whole central coast to explore.

    Food and Dining

    The food is over-priced, and is located at complete opposites of the campus. You're better off eating at home rather then eating here.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Monterey Peninsula College.

    Academic Rigor

    I took mainly general education classes, and was fortunate to have some generally great professors. There is no guarantee on not landing the occasional unfair/hard/etc professor, but it definitely provides one with a great learning experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a community college, which means what you will get from it depends on how much you're willing to put in. The college is a great place to head to if you also feel unsure on your major. Give yourself the needed time to develop, and you'll transfer to the best school for you.

    In three sentences

    A nice place to get general education requirements out of the way without having to deal with the hoards of people at other community colleges. The campus is beautiful, and the faculty is extremely helpful.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The beach is really close and there is a really nice park across the street.

    Food and Dining

    I did not eat here because I lived so close but they did have a cafeteria with lots of options.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is community it has its challenging classes but most classes are pretty easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even if the class is full go to the first week is you really need it usually someone will drop during this first week.

    In three sentences

    It has a really nice campus. The teachers are very friendly. There are many opportunities if you know where to look.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    everyone trying to save a lil by going to a community college first

    What to do for fun

    Your on the coast so lots of outdoor sports/ activities!

    Dorm Life

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    Get help even if you think you don't need it there are lots of people who can help you on your path.

    In three sentences

    Great Nursing program- wait list though. Great school environment, and people are nice!

  • 09/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like to escape from studying and go to the beach.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly I'm usually consumed with my classes and then head home but the campus is close to downtown Monterey which has numerous shops and a weekly farmer's market. School is also walking distance to beach and wharf.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria and cafe food is fairly good but priced high for convience. However, the school is close to downtown Monterey and the Del Monte mall which both have good selections of yummy better priced food.

    Academic Rigor

    Really depends on the type of classes you are taking. Some of the lower level classes can have some terrible teachers. Personally I in upper level medical and biology classes and all of my teachers are amazing and push you academically. Definitely no easy A's given out.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Take advantage of all tutoring and academic help offered. 2. Get involved with the many clubs and programs. 3. Frequently (starting before your first semester) see a counselor to go over your educational plan.

    In three sentences

    MPC is refreshingly diverse. There is a great staff of well-educated professors, many of whom come for teaching at top Universities. The resources and academic help available is astonishing.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of things to do fun. One thing is to work out. There are usually some people that work out and stay focused to what they do. One other thing is to join a club. There lots of clubs like the Asian, videogame, BSU and many more.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips would be to use all the resources at this school because there is a lot. One in particular is the ESSC, which has mentors that help you write essays for class and how to be a good writer.

    In three sentences

    I give MPC an 8. this school is a great school that prepares you for a 4 year college and the real world. this school has great programs that help student learn about different things.

  • 09/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food and dining is great. you can go to the cafeteria and eat all this food. not to mention you can go and do your homework there with your friends and hangout and eat.

    Dorm Life

    i don't live in the dorms but I'm pretty sure they are really nice and fun to live in. People can go to each others rooms and help each other out with their studies. Also you can meet new people in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic rigor is really good at this school. you can choose from many classes. these classes can help you for when you want to transfer

    Tips for prospective students

    i would say to do good in their classes so they wont fall behind. Also to use the library to finish any work you need to do. And if you need any extra help you can ask your teachers to explain a homework more if you didn't get it the first time.

    In three sentences

    this is a really great college. i really do enjoy coming here and learning. i feel like this college will help me with my career goals.

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Average.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many.

    Great for these types of students

    science majors.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap schooling if you can get your bog fee waiver.

    What to do for fun

    Not much.

    Food and Dining

    Gross.

    Dorm Life

    none.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for classes as early as possible.

    In three sentences

    Very good science program while math program is lacking. Very accomplished teachers. Low school spirit.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    no greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    a lot of clubs

    Great for these types of students

    hipster

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    art festival

    What to do for fun

    go home

    Food and Dining

    expensive food

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    not really hard

    Tips for prospective students

    do your best in school and don't be lazy and study

    In three sentences

    Monterey is a good school but it seems like everyone is not going to be successful

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always giving people tickets if do not follow the rules of parking. They will not help people if you lock yourself out of car. Their are updated security reports online. Crime has gone down.

    Clubs and Activities

    Culture club and student body, but do not know about them. They do not have many events.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are just starting off in college and serious about their studies.

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers and staff are great. Plus we have a health center to go to if sick and see a doctor.

    What to do for fun

    There are events on campus. There are English study skills labs on writing techniques.

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines do not always work, and take students money. The food is expensive in cafeteria.*

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    Demanding,

    Tips for prospective students

    Before signing up for classes, see a counselor and apply for financial aid.

    In three sentences

    Supportive, Resourceful, Family

  • 11/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great area and security is always around. Also class are at all hours so you're usually not walking the campus alone.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of student activities and information available all over campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Working Adults and recent high school graduates. Everyone gets along in class.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of student activities and information available all over campus.

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria. Also has a program for low income parents, through CalWorks, attending for $150 month in free food.

    Academic Rigor

    Not too intensive, but keeps you working. The instructors want to make sure to understand the information.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember your counselor is your best friend regarding class selection, academic and financial needs. Also the library has a wide selection of financial aid information regarding grants and scholarships. Books are still valuable.

    In three sentences

    I have attended Monterey Peninsula College twice; once years ago while in high school and now. It remain a quaint college atmosphere with pleasant down to earth instructors. It is a great college for those returning with classes in evening and on weekends. I love the fact the gym is open on Sundays to workout.

  • 05/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun, the beach is a 10 minute walk away. There's also clubs and sometimes lectures from interesting people who come to the college.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has good food, but it closes at 2:00pm. There's a cafe if you want an easy snack or coffee.

    Dorm Life

    There's no dorm life because it's a community college. Most people commute.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on what path you're taking. Some people just might be taking classes for fun, but if you are a serious student, classes are challenging, but not unbearable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make an appointment to see a counselor so you can map out your education plan. Use the resources on campus like the English and Math Learning Center to get really good help.

    In three sentences

    MPC is a great all-around college, whether you are looking to get an associate's degree or a certificate, or taking general ed classes in order to transfer like me. It's in a really beautiful location. There's not much as far as social life/activities, but it's a community college so that's to be expected. Great professors and a nice library.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe, and there are always campus monitors around.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Really small amounts of clubs and hard to come by on a regular basis.

    Great for these types of students

    Individuals trying to transfer to a 4-year college

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No, many people come and go, few people stay to do special events.

    Bang for the buck

    Honestly, it's a hit or miss. My 4 unit math class seemed like a waste of time because the teacher just lectured for 3 hours and 2/3's of the class dropped by the end of the year. My Philosophy class on the other hand was wonderful. Mr. Provost was awesome, and i feel like I got a lot out of that class.

    What to do for fun

    Not very many people hang out on campus. Many people just come for their required classes and then leave because they have jobs.

    Food and Dining

    Food can be expensive and not very healthy. Students are better off sticking to buying coffee on campus, and bringing lunch from home.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at MPC

    Academic Rigor

    I really depends upon the teacher. Some teachers hardly give any homework and the tests are made so each student can pass, other classes can be really difficult because of the teacher's teaching style. (Like the higher math classes)

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask around about teachers. Some teachers are really good at their job and make classes more enjoyable. Others aren't as good and can make the semesters seem longer than they really are. Asking around usually gives you a good idea of which teachers to pick for classes, and who is going to give you a quality education for what you payed.

    In three sentences

    MPC is great for your GE credits. MPC is affordable. MPC has a great library.

  • 07/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus is located near the mall and downtown Monterey.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria serves very good food

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    MPC has a good science department

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships!

    In three sentences

    The EOPS program is awesome! All of my professors have been great. MPC has a beautiful campus.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is surprisingly quiet and I feel very safe.

    Greek Life

    I don't know what that is.

    Great for these types of students

    I'd say this school would be great for students who are still in high school or who are about to transfer into a 4 year college.

    Bang for the buck

    Parking permits and the classes.

    What to do for fun

    I've heard there are a few clubs around so be sure to join whatever interests you.

    Food and Dining

    The food's okay but kind of expensive. Still, they have vending machines so that's convenient when you just want a snack.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here so there's nothing to rate.

    Academic Rigor

    I've been at this community college for less than a year but so far the teachers have been very helpful when I ask them questions. The homework's not bad but be prepared for the tests. Study your textbooks and notes!

    Tips for prospective students

    Know your education plans and where you want to transfer. What's more important is that you compete your general education courses before starting on courses that have to do with your major. Also, get help from the tutors even if you don't think you need help.

    In three sentences

    MPC is a good community college. Most of the counselors are very bright and can help anyone with their education plans and their future careers. The campus is very neat and also, the teachers are available to help you out during their office. However, parking's hit or miss so try to find an empty spot in any of the lots (A-F).

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    A Cafeteria, and a couple snack shacks are conveniently lovated throughout the campus. No need to worey about cooking breakfast if you have a early class or a lunch if your there all day. Its all there for you and you may buy a meal ticket if this is an annual thing for you.

    Dorm Life

    There are apartments for rent conveniently behind the school. 1 or 2 bedroom apartments; and people have listed throughout the campus if they need roomates. Keep a lookout!

    Academic Rigor

    As far as knowing what you need to take for your career path, the student pamphlit and councelors are very helpful and put you on task. The teachers are very specific on what they expect from you. This is college, it isn't easy but with the right attitude and dicipline, you will go far.

    In three sentences

    Monterey Peninsula College has been more than pacient with me in guiding me to the right career path. Both teachers and faculty members go above and beyond their job description to help the sudents out in their current studies. I will recommend MPC to anyone comming out of highschool to get their General Ed done with, and to start figuring out their career path.

  • 09/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I play soccer

    Food and Dining

    I eat at my house.

    Dorm Life

    I commute to the school from my house.

    Academic Rigor

    If you put effort in school to do your work and study, you will be just fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take as many classes as you can since they are cheap and have great teachers to learn from.

    In three sentences

    Monterey Peninsula College is a small community college with great teachers. Due to the fact that MPC has no dorm life, there are no activities in campus to do. This creates an environment in MPC to make one focus on his or her studies.

  • 10/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are multiple clubs and games on campus for a fun filled student life.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus, so this is NA.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to any orientations or tutor sessions for the classes because help is there and should be taken advantage of. If you don't put the effort in, the professors can't make you.

    In three sentences

    Small school and class sizes giving every student an opportunity to succeed. Nice buildings, especially the library, that give students the best resources. Friendly staff that show a genuine interest in their jobs and the success of the students they teach.

  • 12/18/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Make sure to lock your car and keep valuables with you, especially during the night. A section of the parking lot is separated from the campus by a grove of old growth oak trees.

    Clubs and Activities

    Monterey Peninsula Colleges has active student clubs and sports.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students wanting a slower paced and less hectic environment, students who appreciate a school in a scenic area, students who's focus is on Ocean related sciences and student, art students as well as transfer students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is surrounded by old growth oak trees and has geologic features that are incorporate into the Geology class instruction.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a non profit community college with great tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Monterey is a beautiful town with many ocean related activities. It lacks the fast paced lifestyle and nightlife of the big cities, but is a great local for science and art majors.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining experience around the campus is excellent, but the campus does not have a cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    This college does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This school has professors who care about their students and care about teaching. Expect to take exams of a fairly high rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remain active in the learning process, show the instructors that you are there to learn, take your classes seriously, and you should do well.

    In three sentences

    A small community college in a nice setting, this school is a walk away from the beach and a place of quiet study. You wont find the hassle of urban community colleges here. With a wide range of degrees and programs, from Ocean Science to Fashion Design, this is a gem in scenic Monterey County.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is constantly making rounds throughout parking lots and campus. Great especially for those taking night classes!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who enjoy privacy and enjoy a very peaceful atmosphere will benefit a great deal by choosing MPC. Buildings are scattered in a way that allows you to run into different faces every day as opposed to smaller campuses that have you bumping into friends or acquaintances at each turn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    MPC is a gorgeous campus with lots and lots of trees, short cuts to different parts of campus include two bridges where many students like to find a seat on a bench and enjoy the scenery as they wait for their next class to start or for more privacy there is also the option of traveling down the steps and through the trails within the trees to get to the opposite side of campus. For the gamers, the cafeteria always has a group of friendly xbox users killing time between classes.

    What to do for fun

    Because MPC is located so close to the beach, often times students take their studying outdoors. Also, clubs are constantly putting on events with music, food, and entertainment around campus (I've even seen jump houses a few times).

    Food and Dining

    The cafe located in the library is perfect for a light snack or cup of coffee when you need that extra energy while studying. For a bigger appetite, the cafeteria serves a variety of larger meals. Campus is also located near many restaurants and fast food spots.

    Dorm Life

    MPC doesn't have dorms; however, the area in which it is located is beautiful and located near smaller cities in which many students live.

    Academic Rigor

    Great quality professors!

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early! Although most teachers are great about handing out add codes it is always best to have a reserved seat especially for subjects such as sciences, math, and English! Also, do not let the frustration of looking for parking within the first two weeks of the semester scare you away, it gets easier as students settle into their set schedules; however, you should always plan for extra time for finding parking as well as the walk to class.

    In three sentences

    Great community college to attend straight out of high school; friendly teachers, peers, and counselors played a huge role in helping someone as indecisive as myself choose a major perfect for my personality and qualities. MPC offers endless support to its students with library, English, and math centers that focus on extra help for students outside of class. I have taken courses at each community college in Monterey County and would rate MPC the best overall.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Never had the food.

    Dorm Life

    I am a local student.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are very good.

    In three sentences

    Their teachers are very knowledgeable and helpful. Their library is amazing and helpful. The placement of classes is very far.

  • 06/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security workers buzzing around so I think the campus safety is decent. I've never felt unsafe walking around the campus or walking to my car from my evening classes. However, the security does seem to place too much of an emphasis on parking regulations a lot of the time. So make sure you have your placard in the car or else you risk getting a heavy ticket. Another thing to note is that there are thefts here. I've never had things stolen from me, but I've heard plenty of complaints from other students. In the library there are also signs plastered everywhere to keep your belongings safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't seen many clubs on campus, but there are plenty of school events.

    Great for these types of students

    MPC is great for students who want to get their feet wet before going off to a four year college. Most of the professors are nice and the school is much cheaper than going straight off to a four year college.

    Bang for the buck

    To me, MPC is a better alternative to going straight to a four year college. There's no dorms and if you live locally with your family, it means no housing costs for you! Although if you're looking to buy a house in Pacific Grove, I do warn you that the houses are pretty expensive here. However, the services outside of classes (such as use of the student union) are inexpensive and you'll spend most of your money here on classes and the materials required for them. The textbooks are expensive. There's no joke about that. However, the bookstore offers a rental policy for many books, which will help lighten the financial burden a little bit. MPC also offers plenty of scholarships, which can help ease any money troubles if you can snag some.

    What to do for fun

    MPC has a bunch of clubs, but there doesn't seem to be any club festival where you can see all of the clubs or anything. So if you want to see the clubs, you'll have to dig for them. However, there are loads of school events to socialize at. I've seen a job fair (where you can get interviewed on the spot!), a Native American cultural festival, an Earth day festival, and a number of stress buster events right around finals week. Off campus, there is also Del Monte shopping center, though this small settlement can get old if you go to it too much.

    Food and Dining

    We have a cafeteria, vending machines, and a cafe by the library. I have never seen the cafeteria open, so I can't vouch for their food. However, I don't use the vending machines because they will eat your money most of the time. The cafe has decent food, but the prices are a little high. Even if there's nothing that suits your tastes at MPC, there are a bunch of fast food places like Wendy's and Taco Bell that are decently close by.

    Dorm Life

    There's no dorms at MPC from what I can see. Many of the students just seem to live around the area.

    Academic Rigor

    I think the academics here are wonderful, but there are a few hiccups. In most of the departments there's a large variety of classes to choose from (although the science department is a little scarce on choices). Another gripe I have about the class choices is that a lot of the photography classes don't transfer to a UC, but that's personal preference. Many of the professors are helpful as well. In my year at the school so far, I have only really had one bad professor. The other professors I've had work with their students and make sure that they succeed and pass. However, you have to meet them half way. You have to show them you're willing to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the extra opportunities the school offers. MPC will often have a lot of scholarships that you can apply for and there's always outside help like tutors. Make sure to keep in touch with a counselor too to make sure you're meeting your requirements.

    In three sentences

    Monterey Peninsula College is an excellent school. For the most part, the professors here are amazing and it's a great, cheaper alternative for going off to a four year college.