Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Montgomery County Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're short on cash and willing to do a lot of out of school learning (since the classroom environment tends to be a bit lacking), this is a great school. Save your money, get your general education credits done here, then move on!

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in mind that most of the people that go to this school don't want to be there at all. Most of them are there because: a) It's cheap b) They didn't get into the college they wanted or c) They have parents who demand that they go SOMEWHERE, so they end up here. That's not to say that it is a bad school. I just mean to say that a lot of the people at this college are shockingly, abhorently uninterested and frankly, not very smart.

    Bang for the buck

    You can't find a better deal that this!

    Am learning a lot

    The teaching is really solid and the classes are interesting, but the quality of my fellow students is mediocre at times. It drags down the classroom environment.

  • 07/19/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    They live closeby, intend to study for 2 year degree or a certificate and enjoy friendly social environment.

    Will learn a lot

    Since I have not been to a college for long, this would be a big change and challenge for me.

  • 07/28/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All Types of students

    Tips for prospective students

    Definetely try to apply for scholarships and try to get your textbooks online. A lot of times you can find textbooks online for much lower prices.

    Bang for the buck

    OH YES! So inexpensive for college!

    Did enjoy being here

    There were times when it felt like 13th and 14th grade, but the school really was a great experience and a great time.

    Did learn a lot

    You will definetely learn a lot!

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any person who wants to expand their knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Best hint for online I have received is to purchase a large whiteboard to keep track of assignments. It keeps you up to date on what is due and helps eliminate missed assignments.

    Bang for the buck

    On line and out of state and tuition still reasonable.

    Am enjoying being here

    Instructors very helpful as are other students, many will take the time to aid and encourage others.

    Am learning a lot

    Full-time online student, challenging and very rewarding

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very nice

    Clubs and Activities

    Many options for different interests.

    Great for these types of students

    All!

    Bang for the buck

    Great place to save money.

    What to do for fun

    Nice campus to walk around.

    Food and Dining

    I wish the cafeteria was open later.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not as easy as people assume.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take classes that you think will transfer easily.

    In three sentences

    A great place to start college. Attending saved me a lot of money and made transferring easier. Very convenient for my life.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus has activities such as flag foot ball, sports events, and small festivals sometimes.

    Food and Dining

    The Montgomery Mall isn't far from the school and the schools cafeteria food is good but, a little expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are harder than others for college freshmen, so you should ask the students on campus about the teacher you're going to choose so you get their honest opinions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you check up on your financial aid often and study hard.

    In three sentences

    Montgomery County Community College-Central Campus is challenging. The college makes it's students work hard and earn their grades. The only thing this school needs improvement in is it's financial aid services.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Greek Life

    good

    Clubs and Activities

    good

    Great for these types of students

    study hard, want to get a goal

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    very peaceful

    Bang for the buck

    good

    What to do for fun

    work out, playing piano,

    Food and Dining

    good

    Dorm Life

    no good

    Academic Rigor

    good

    Tips for prospective students

    concentrate on lectures, do homework, study at least 12 hours a week. ask professor lots of questions!

    In three sentences

    I think MCCC is such a great college compare to other colleges. They have such a great professors, employees, staffs. They also got lots of programs for nursing and business too!!

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    montco is an awesome bang for its buck! it is very inexpensive and you obtain a great education and an associates degree!!

    What to do for fun

    montco has many awesome clubs and sports to play. when its warm outside they have a dj play music and once in a while they have spoken poetry or student rappers perform during the common break.

    Food and Dining

    the food at montco is awesome! i have not had the breakfast food but the lunch is great! they have fresh paninis daily as well as a pasta station, a grill, sandwich and salad bar, and lunch time favorites such as pizza and chicken tenders.

    Dorm Life

    well since montco is a commuter college my dorm is my bedroom at my house but i know people that have apartments near campus if you want that away at school feel.

    Academic Rigor

    i do not have anything to compare montco to of course but many people may say community college is not as hard as a four year college. that is not true. i have friends who go to four year colleges and we are taking the same classes and learning the same material.

    Tips for prospective students

    community college is a great idea if you don't mind staying at home. it is great financially and its an easy transition from high school to college. if you are thinking about staying close to home i recommend montco for the first two years in order to save money while still receiving a great education.

    In three sentences

    i enjoy the learning environment of montco, there are not a lot of distractions. i have had nothing but awesome teachers! the teachers here really go out there way to help students succeed.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    classes are very inexpensive. and the school has a very good reputation so they transfer well to four year institutions.

    What to do for fun

    there are some activities and clubs that meet on campus. right in the area there are a lot of restaurants and three shopping malls, one being king of prussia mall (about 20 minutes down the road).

    Food and Dining

    the food at montco is expensive but worth the price you pay. everything in the cafeteria is made with local foods, mostly organics. the head chef is very nice and will take any suggestions you have to offer. there is a pasta bar, a comfort food station, a panini press, sushi, soup, gluten free and vegetarian options, etc. they do not offer meal plans.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms at montco

    Academic Rigor

    the academics are pretty rigorous especially in the honors program. most professors understand that students have other responsibilities outside of class and will limit the homework to meaningful and educational assignments rather than busy work.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply for the honors program if you qualify. it gives a full scholarship if you get in and the professors are fantastic. they also run trips that are covered by your scholarship.

    In three sentences

    a lot of the professors are only part time at montco at teach at very respectable universities such as villanova, philadelphia, and temple. the campus is very beautiful and the school is very well taken care of. for a community college there are a lot of opportunities available.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is everywhere and are a huge help for any situation.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and events to choose from. The drama, spanish, bowling, french, are some of the many fun clubs to choose from.

    Bang for the buck

    Students services have a lot of information, and options for your success.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs and sports.

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria and food with buffet and good variety of food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life. Only commuter college.

    Academic Rigor

    Very, very time consuming. It all pays off in the long run.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors, advisors and other students. Keep up with all studies and get involved with student clubs.

    In three sentences

    Montco is very diverse and unique with many advantages. It has great professors who care about your success. In addition to, many campus events with plays, broadway, open houses, and college/job fairs.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's 100 %-you will feel safe at all times.

    Greek Life

    If your GPA is overf 3.50 I urge you to join the honor society-it's a great opportunity.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club or activity for everyone. Think about Scholars in Service-make a change in the world.

    Great for these types of students

    Any and all students-young or old.

    Bang for the buck

    Being an adult student returning to school after 30 years would seem to present many challenges but it was one of the easiest transitions I ever made. Who knew I would grow up and become a good student, make the Dean's list and join the honor society.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, music, movies, fund raisers-you name it and it's here to do.

    Food and Dining

    The dinning hall is alright but the coffee shop is great. Go there to get a great wrap and a latte. If you go on Wednesday during lunch you can see students perform in the lobby of the ATC building.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging and if regular classes are too tame for you there are always honor classes to hallenge you. It's all what you make it.

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise going to Act 101 and registering. The staff there is great and can't help you enough. They are there to advise students and help them through the ups and downs. Believe me they will be there for you, organizing study-a-thons at midterm and finals time.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Montgomery County Community College as a fantastic school. It doesn't matter if you just graduated from high school or have been out of school for 25 years you will feel right at home here. The teacher, and all the staff, are great and take a real pleasure in seeing students learn. I would recommend this school to anyone-and I have.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is an honors society you can be invited to. Join it if you can.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton. Join what interests you if you have time.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who can't afford university right away

    Bang for the buck

    very good cost if you live in county.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing.

    Food and Dining

    Very good coffee cafe in the ATC lobby. PH has great sandwiches.

    Academic Rigor

    I found regular classes to be more work than honors classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join the honors program if you can.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoyed my time here. All the professors are very nice. The students are decent.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    13 of 44

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Not a bad school 2 year school. Some of the professor are very helpful.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    good

    Great for these types of students

    This institution is great for all types of students such as traditional, non-tradittional, international, and adult students.

    What to do for fun

    Student involvement programs are available to let the students in lot of different activities and involvment they may desire.

    Dorm Life

    No Dormitory

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging.

    In three sentences

    This is one of the best community colleges in Pennsylvania. The tution cost is cheaper than other universities. There are lots of students clubs and programs to let the students get involved.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    15 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sit in the courtyard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go in there with a positive attitude and an open mind.

    In three sentences

    It is a very quite and quaint college campus. The people there were pretty close knit and it made me feel like I was home. I enjoyed being there for two semesters.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    POOL!! Just recently they have renovated the buildings and they have added a recreation room at the bottom of the College Hall, and in the room is a pool table. During my free time i tend to go over there and relieve some stress, it is a great place in general because its a fun environment and its a neat way to meet new people and everyone is welcoming and open with each other.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not all that good, except the deli bar. On a daily basis they serve pizza, Stromboli, sandwiches, burgers, cheesesteaks, sushi, soup, salad, and a daily special which they change on a daily basis.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on your professor, some classes are fairly easy with minimal effort to get a good grade, while other classes require alot of notes and studying to get a decent grade

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do your homework before applying for any college, make sure that yes this is the college that you want to go to and if you are transferring out of this college, will the university you are going accept their credits. I would highly recommend that you have every thing planned out before enrolling into the college, because i see many students who have been studying at the college for years and they still are not sure what they are even majoring in. I would recommend find a major, decide on a transfer school if you are transferring, and make sure you do your work.

    In three sentences

    Montgomery County Community College is great for kicking things off for transfer students and also very good for those interested in getting an associates degree here. The college offers fairly low cost options for a very good education. Only thing i did not like is that the counselors are not very helpful, they are not very knowledgeable as they should be.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a club

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard

    In three sentences

    I things the campus is beautiful. I love the student success center and the teachers are awesome

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well the are many Intramural and Extra curricular sports to pay. Clubs and Organizations to join.

    Food and Dining

    They have a large dining area and have heard that they are introducing Culinary arts.

    Dorm Life

    It is a 2yr commuter school. No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    When attending Montco, you need to come here ready for success. The faculty work hard to make every student ready to go on to 4 yr schools.

    In three sentences

    Its a very intensely academic school. They strive to put you in the best place once you move forward with schooling. Its always looking to update and strive for the best.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    MCCC has its own branch of security guards who are always patroling around campus and make students feel safe.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is a society of honor students that is very recognized by other colleges. Students who maintain a GPA of 3.5 or higher are offered admission.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are hundreds of clubs at MCCC . Some include: ultimate frisby, ACE Community Service, Honors Club, Asian Club, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    MCCC is a great college for all types of students. There are so many clubs and even courses that fit different types of people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A personal favorite part of campus would be the center quad. Everyone seems to linger there during down-time and lunch break. Some kids play games such as volley ball or ultimate frisby, and others just hang out.

    Bang for the buck

    Montgomery County Community College offers plenty of useful resources such as: open computers in every building, free printing, and places to eat lunch or socialize. It is a very comfortable campus and study friendly.

    What to do for fun

    MCCC has tons of clubs to get involved in. There is everything from ultimate frisby to community service.

    Food and Dining

    MCCC has one main cafeteria on the dowstairs level of College Hall that has a wide variety of different foods, that are delicious. However, there are also small side stands in each hall that offer beverages and snack as well as the book store which sells chips and such.

    Dorm Life

    MCCC is a community college and therefor does not have residential living. However, there is plenty of room to get involved on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    MCCC classes are not extremely difficult to the point where you'd stress out, but they are just enough of a challange that you have to put forth an effort. I definately would not classify them as easy. However, professors are very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    MCCC can help you to bring up your GPA and make your records look so much better if you did not do so well in high school. This gives students a better opportunity to get into better universities as well as saves you thousands of dollars.

    In three sentences

    Montgomery County Community College is a very social environment where it is very easy to meet new people. It saves college students, like myself, a ton of money (as opposed to your average university). The professors at MCCC are very friendly and helpful.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Art majors and Science majors

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are not only inexpensive, they're actually good too! The teachers engage with their students one on one to make sure you're on the right track.

    What to do for fun

    There are a countless amount of clubs to get involved in for all kind of different interests. There are also many lounge areas to sit and study or just relax with friends in a creative environment.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    If searching for a good art program, this would be the place to look. They take a lot of pride in their art students.

    In three sentences

    I find this college to be very in tune with their art program. It is very engaging and hands on. Not to mention the activities that take place through out the campus

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    So far I haven't had any issues with theft or property damage, the campus so far is very valiant with patrolling the parking lots to ensure that there aren't any break ins.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't been able to find the time to look for any social clubs that are active on the campus; most of the activities seem to lie within sports teams and a few music clubs. Most of the clubs I asked for information about function during most of my afternoon classes; so if you have any interest in joining these clubs, plan ahead.

    Great for these types of students

    I recommend it to people who feel pressured too early in their lives to decide the course of events for the rest of their life on a little piece of paper with check-boxes for what majors interest you. Get your remedial BS out of the way and give yourself some space to breath and think.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school is unusually hard-wired for a local community college, they have an abundance of hardware both running Windows and OS X. This isn't the case at the 2nd campus location in Pottstown.

    Bang for the buck

    Six grand isn't chump change, but when you're at a dealer that sells only porsche and mercedes models, you want to be able to have some more financially affordable options.

    What to do for fun

    Share a cigarette with the stressed out young adults on the the edge of the parking lot.

    Food and Dining

    I've yet to actually eat at the cafeteria, I have too much of a dependence on cheap Wawa hoagies to actually go and find out wether or not the food is any decent.

    Dorm Life

    Virtually non-existant.

    Academic Rigor

    Even in my first year of college, the levels of discipline between academics vary on solely on your major. In my first semester I took a remedial English class as a required credit for advancing to higher classes, taught by a professor who had the best of intentions but was too polite to reign in the rudeness that students enumerated during lecture. In another, I had a teacher who didn't mince his words; obviously a veteran of snotty teenagers. The class wasn't necessarily difficult, it's only issue was with how much time was given to us, I feel slightly burned out after these longer classes and lose the volition to continue, hands caked in charcoal and conte. Regardless of what field your entering, learning discipline is a critical ingredient to growing up. This doesn't negate the quality of the education, it depends on how willing you are to participate in the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    People have their various reasons for skipping over applying to colleges out of state/away from home to sit it out for a year or two at community college. The simple way of wording this is that high-school didn't prepare them enough for the application process or their credentials didn't add up. For whatever reasons you may have, they vary exponentially. I'm attending MC3 for the primary purpose of being able to study and prepare my art portfolio for out-of-state colleges in an environment where critical assessment has the opportunity to gauge my readiness. Parking is a notorious issue, however this can be easily placated if you schedule your classes in the mid afternoon when the rush of students dies down.

    In three sentences

    MC3 to me personally feels more like the 13th year of high-school more than it does as an institution for higher learning; but this isn't necessarily a bad thing. For me, I applied to MC3 with the sole purpose of being able to get my general education requirements out of the way and have some time to prepare my art portfolio for prospective schools and be able to receive critical feedback that's not limited to national portfolio day. MC3's Arts Center to me personally isn't equipped with the necessary tools to graduate out of the program, as most students transfer out to the larger art colleges around the greater Philadelphia region. The benefit of the courses I'm taking now is that they are able to transfer credits to some of the schools I have looked at in the past, so I'm paying less for the same classes that are offered at some of the more expensive art schools that cost quadruple the amount it costs to attend.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe, but nothing extraordinary happens for me to say how good the security actually is.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is worth every penny, and then some.

    What to do for fun

    Crosswords are my idea of fun. I love how the college has free newspapers from two different sources all around campus. Although, I wish the campus was not so liberal.

    Food and Dining

    I do not generally eat at this college. The cafeteria provides great food, but it is a bit expensive. The cafes have sub-par food, which is also expensive. If you are hungry, you might as well drive a mile down the road to Subway, Burger King, or Wawa.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life. You have to work harder at this college to have a social life. If you want the dorm life, this college may not be the one for you.

    Academic Rigor

    You absolutely need to keep a positive mindset in this college. Do not procrastinate, which is easy to do when you don't live on campus. Try to find students that you can study with so that you don't lose your focus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of what this school has to offer. This is a great school to transfer out of, so use this school to get your general education out of the way. Buy text books online if you must purchase them.

    In three sentences

    This college has a great selection of professors, many of which apply what they teach to other aspect of their life. This college offers a great education that is quite affordable to most students. I have found that this college is good for students who are unsure as to where they want to continue their education and what field of study they wish to pursue.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is no doubt that you could not not be any safer on campus. From security to the clean air campus, MCCC really is the best!

    Bang for the buck

    The price is great! I honestly think MCCC is worth so much more.

    What to do for fun

    For fun i like to go to the game room and play pool with my friends. Also i like to listen to who ever is playing piano at the time in the music room.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria and all cafe's provide heathy foods and favorites.

    Dorm Life

    ...if there were dorms im sure they would be amazing!

    Academic Rigor

    I think that all of the courses provided are taught by amazing professors to their greatest potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    MCCC is a great school! The campus is so clean and everyone is so nice. In just one visit you will fall in love with MCCC.

    In three sentences

    It was a no brainer that I would be attending MCCC before I went to North Carolina. The campus is so clean and welcoming. Also every single person that works there helps students out the best way they can. I am so thankful to have had people help me that really care about my future. Thank you MCCC!! ITS A 10!!

  • 12/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    planning to join the basketball team

    Tips for prospective students

    This is the college to attend.They are very supportive both academically and financially

    In three sentences

    I like the college very much.The teachers are so helpful and the students are cooperative.The environment is very conducive for learning purposes.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can hang at the library and pick up movies to watch there or take home. Also the designated study area are great if you looking for quiet time. The physical fitness center is top notch. The various clubs and organizations are great also.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe's around campus are great and the cafeteria is also amazing.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are tough but fair, in the sense that you could get a lot work or homework to do, but you have so many outlets for help in any field that you are studying from teachers and students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't walk in thinking that since it's a community college it is lesser in any way to an four-year university. This college is designed to educate you the same way as a four-year, but it is better because it is cheaper and smaller, so you won't be overlooked by any teacher in your classes. I'm sure you won't be on half the personal level with your teachers at an university.

    In three sentences

    MCCC is a great college to attend. Every teacher is willing to work with you, if you need the help and they actually want to help. The student body is great also, it's such a great place to make friends because of the awesome diversity at the school.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you need to be walked to your car at night they are always willing to walk you.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are too many to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that want to achieve academic success.

    Bang for the buck

    It is the best way to spend your money for the first two years. It gave me a chance to save up some money for when I transfer and the courses challenged me. The teachers focus on critical thinking a lot in order to make sure you get your mind out of the box. They do not just want you to learn the material, but they want you apply it to your life.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and get involved on campus. If you are bored then you go to the Student Leadership and Involvement Office. They always have stuff going on and will be happy to tell you what you can attend are where you can volunteer.

    Food and Dining

    The food is always really good. A little expensive because that is how it always is on a campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. It is a commuter campus because it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is not afraid to challenge me academically and I always have a good time. The classes do not usually bore me and if I take a class I am not very good in, the teacher is always happy to help me succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember to read the school policies. If you have any questions then don't be afraid to ask a teacher, they are always happy to help. Do not just take classes that you must take in order to graduate but be sure to take ones that you would enjoy. All work and no play is no fun and makes you a unhappy student.

    In three sentences

    It is very easy to get involved on campus and make a difference. The teachers and the rest of the faculty are ready to help you when you need it. There are so many clubs to choose from that you wish you could join them all.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No crimes have been committed.

    Clubs and Activities

    Adventure Club is a lot of fun!

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student, if you wish to get a good education and not spend a fortune (Average per semester for me, a full time student, was $2,000) then this is a great school for you.

    What to do for fun

    Montgomery County Community College is in Blue Bell, Pennsylvania. Down the street from the school is a Wawa, a CVS, a Rita's Water Ice, and a little further down, there is a Giant grocery store.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has fairly good food, they sell delicious sushi!

    Dorm Life

    No on campus living

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely read your syllabuses and schedule your classes to the time that fits you best. Don't try and schedule 8 AM classes if you are NOT a morning person.

    In three sentences

    There are definitely a lot of friendly people, and the professors are top notch. I was told by one of my professors that the testing for becoming a teacher at Montgomery County Community College was more strenuous and much more difficult than testing to become a teacher at Yale. This assures you that your education you are receiving from

  • 03/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a team or club on campus and be apart of all the extras things they offer for free. Get involved there is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pricey but well worth it.

    Dorm Life

    There's really no dorms here, but there are programs and people that can help you find housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Most might call the curriculum here extreme, but I'd like to think of it as challenging. The teachers make you work for your grades here which enables you to become more of an independent thinker.

    Tips for prospective students

    Community colleges aren't so bad when you don't quite make it to a four year college. You may find that they are actually good at preparing you for taking on a full school schedule. And you learn how to plan your life around your studies creating a very keen time management skill to use future endeavors.

    In three sentences

    The education here is excellent. The teachers really care and the staff provides everything you need to help you succeed in your studies. This is a grade A school.

  • 04/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Its a very affordably college and flexes on payments, and its one of the best community colleges you can go to. Plus the nursing program is one of the best in the country

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs you can join ad tournaments you can get involved in

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms you have to commute everyday

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you use your advisers when you need help with classes and don't take it for granted it can be over whelming at times.

    In three sentences

    Its a great school to start off with, and really helps get you prepared for the next step in college when transferring to a four year school.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They get to a call box in a great amount of time.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who are unsure about going to a four year college.

    Bang for the buck

    As long as you get a teacher who cares then you will get a good amount out of a class.

    What to do for fun

    Have some events and sports.

    Food and Dining

    Decent food with decent prices.

    Academic Rigor

    It's easy to find a great teacher who cares and pushes you. It's also easy to find one who doesn't put as much into their students. Read the reviews.

    Tips for prospective students

    Easy to maintain a good gpa if you do your work and a good environment.

    In three sentences

    Great way to begin a college experience and see how ready you are to move on.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Perfect for students that are working and need flexible schedules or desire an affordable and highly accredited associates degree.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent degree programs and excellent assistance for transfer to four year universities if necessary.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs, sports, and extracurricular activities that you may directly or indirectly participate in.

    Food and Dining

    There is a broad spectrum of food. The new cafeteria and snack bars are excellent in different cultures foods, but the pricing is a bit too expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on-campus housing yet.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are difficult but careful and meticulous that the student may learn what is necessary for success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to learn and have instructors that only care as much as you do about passing.

    In three sentences

    It is a wonderful and beautiful campus. Smoke-free and clean-air is the school's motto. The staff are amazing and helpful.

  • 07/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Hands on, there's hardly if ever any dispute or crime on campus. Great place to feel safe and learn.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very supportive, educational and serves as a great learning experience.

    Clubs and Activities

    a host, as mentioned above.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all degree or certificates seeking students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none, everything is normal and diverse.

    What to do for fun

    Montgomery County College offers a host of clubs such as music, Spanish, chess, Junior Rotc, science,math are just to name a few. The Dean of students is very hands on with the students, and is easy going when asked to start a club if one isn't offered. Offers intramural within a host of sports,and has a outstanding list collegiate sports teams. Host concerts for many artist known locally within the state,and for the students; as a great way to get their name out there.

    Food and Dining

    Some of the best food and dining you will ever receive at any institution. Offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The college offers a balanced nutrition, offering a variety of fruits and vegetables to your strong protein such as steak, and beef.The dining area is very large and sanitized, and contain ares of large networking or peace and quiet. (in the morning, the french toast is to die for).

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms due to the fact that this a community college

    Academic Rigor

    The overall Academic Rigor isn't harsh, but it is challenging. The work and learning experience prepares you not only for the four year institutions, but for the working economy as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come ready and prepared, the work load is flexible but there's no room for slacking. The effort you put forth equals the outcome you shall receive.

    In three sentences

    Montgomery County College has endless opportunities, with great staff, and in a outstanding facility. The College doesn't give you the hassle that most registration offices gives you, and all of there registration counselors take time out to know you personally. The college really helps and prepare you for the outstanding four year institutions in Pennsylvania, while having a curriculum that is accepted in most out of state institutions.

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have campus security around at all times. They have recently installed help booths where you push a button and security runs right to you to help immediately instead of trying to find them.

    Greek Life

    No greek life at this school, and 90% of the students are very friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are far too many to list here since I know i will miss a few. But just know that there is a good chance you will find a club you like.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for most students and really good for students trying out college since it has so much to offer and the teachers are willing to help. Plus the cost of classes is lower than any 4 year college since it is a community college. It is also an accredited college so it is easy to transfer any credits you get there to another one if you want a more in depth education somewhere.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is one building that is out of the way from the rest of the campus and even past the parking lot. It is called Cathcart Building and named such since it is on Cathcart Road. It is a modular type of building that only has about 6-8 classrooms in it.

    Bang for the buck

    I enjoyed my time there since it was easy to find people that had the same interests as me and always found one person in every class that I got along great with. There is always something going on there like speeches from officials such as the Clintons, Obama's wife, and other high ranked people. They also have concerts and amateur movie nights and film festivals. Not to mention all the clubs again, but they have a good number for a small community college, the even have an improvisation troop that holds plays and such.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs to join to find people with the same interests as you. Plus the even have a gym and and a small game room where you can play video games and pool.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe is large and has lots to offer. The even have some vegetarian food for those who need it. There is also a mini cafe in another building for those who need some coffee to get through the day.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available, sorry.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very willing to help if you do not understand and some of them are also tutors outside of the classroom if you need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    The hard part is finding the classrooms you need, show up a day or two before and locate them so you have an idea where to go.

    In three sentences

    The campus is open and the buildings are easy to find. The book store is easy to find and has a lot available to the students. Also the buildings are renovated and have a lot of the current tech to make work easy to transfer and send wherever you need.

  • 08/25/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    34 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Being that Montco has a small campus the security is fairly well. You'll see the occasional campus officer walking around or riding in golf carts. There are also poles stationed throughout the campus with emergency buttons in case of any emergency.

    Greek Life

    I was unaware of any Greek life, if there was any at all Don't let that stop you! There are plenty of other great clubs to join!

    Clubs and Activities

    They have many clubs and activities! Some that involve the majors provided at Montco and some are just for fun. They usually have a day that they set up tents and pass out flyers for all of the different clubs and activities. It is a great way to make friends so don't pass it up!

    Great for these types of students

    Montco is a great school for students who like to have a good start in their college career. It is not nearly as expensive as a regular university and you get your general ed. classes out of the way.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other universities, Montco provides your basic classes for a decent tuition cost. For in county students the tuition is about $1,600. Along with the great classes you get so many resources that can really help you succeed. They have many programs to help you get into another school after you graduate from Montco.

    What to do for fun

    When it's nice outside a lot of students play Frisbee or football at the center of campus. When you make friends it becomes fun to walk around in between classes or hangout in the cafeteria. A lot of students mingle in the cafeteria because there is a piano room and some TV's with couches right around the cafeteria. They also have a room that has a pool table and bean bag chairs and you can play video games in there as well.

    Food and Dining

    There is one cafeteria and little cafe like shops within the other buildings. Many students enjoy the coffees and snacks provided by the shops. The cafeteria serves breakfast and lunch. The food isn't five star restaurant material, but it will get you thought the day. Most of the food is cooked by the culinary students. They have a good variety of food options, from pizza to paninis. There are no meal plans so you will be paying with your own money.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus since it is a community college, but it is located near many suburban areas. There are also busses that run right on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It really all depends on the classes you choose to take. Some classes can present you with a lot of difficulty while others can be a piece of cake. For the most part, the classes have a typical amount of difficulty. The professors are there to help you, but they are also there to make sure you are learning something. You see what each class entails on Montco's website and many professors post their class syllabus online so students can see what they will be doing for the semester. So choose a class that provides you with the amount of challenges you need to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    *Don't underestimate it! While it may be a community college some classes can be very vigorous. A lot of the professors teach or have taught at other universities. Do not assume that because they teach at a community college they are providing you with less of an education. *Pick your classes ASAP! Just like any other college, classes fill up fast. *They have a daycare service. For any students who have children, there is a cute little daycare right on campus. They also use it for students who have a childcare major, some students get to teach at the daycare. *Plan your time wisely. The parking spots fill up really early in the morning so make sure you get there with enough time to walk to class. *Use all of your resources! Montco provides their students with many helpful resources that your paying for in your tuition. So make sure to use them. They have computer labs, tutors for almost everything, writing help, and much more.

    In three sentences

    Montco has a great set of professors and faculty. It has a beautiful campus that is full of life along with a wonderful set of students. All together, Montco is a great school for students who want to save money and live close to home as well as have a college experience.

  • 10/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For a large suburban campus you never really hear about things happening, though I guess the school not being open really late may have an effect on that. Sometimes things are stolen, but that's pretty standard; just keep an eye on your stuff and don't leave it unattended. If you ride a bike to school, make sure it's locked up well!

    Food and Dining

    Pretty run of the mill cafeteria food -- which is to say, some of it's all right, most of it isn't. The small cafes in the ATC and library have the best coffee drinks (lattes etc.) but they're expensive; Park Place in Parkhouse is cheaper but more bare bones.

    Dorm Life

    What dorm life? They're thinking of putting dorms in at the west campus, or they were, but I haven't heard anything about it in a long time.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major and the teacher you get, the classes are likely going to be incredibly easy. Getting As isn't really hard, but you do still learn a lot, especially in the art program.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school keeps a Montco Omnialert which sends mass texts to all students that have signed up for it to tell if there is delays or school. There are many security officers in campus that keep us safe.

    What to do for fun

    There is endless amounts of events and flyers posted as well as emails that are sent out that suggest current events that are happening on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is very delicious and there is a wide variety of food. There is also a cafe in Parkhouse Hall, The Advanced Technology Center, and in the library.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very helpful and there are no more than 30 students in each class.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't know what you want to do in life or lack the money to go to a popular college, this us your type of school. There are so many choices and events that happen on campus and you are bound to find an interesting topic.

    In three sentences

    The central campus is absolutely beautiful. The buildings are kept nice, clean, and organized. This is a great college choice.

  • 01/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Game room and a piano room. Montco also has an Art Barn

    Clubs and Activities

    Blue Bell has alot, but they meet on Wednesdays alot.

    Great for these types of students

    Its a school for kids with either a bad GPA, low income, no idea for the future or all of the above.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a community College, i'm spending about 3,500 a semester. alot of its out of pocket but at least i can afford that.

    What to do for fun

    Blue bell has a music and game room and ALOT of clubs

    Food and Dining

    surprisingly theyre sushi is amazing. but food depends on the site your at. prices are reasonable.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    Financial Aid needs help. Its very stressful, unhelpful, and they seem more confused then i was.

    Tips for prospective students

    ask for theyre higher up or a meeting with a director.

    In three sentences

    Teachers as for any college are a hit or miss. I'v had all great teachers except in the Art Major classes. but what really bothered me about Montco was that the financial aid and career services really dont care for you. They have had me run in circles and i know other people too and iv had to pay out of pocket for every semester so far and i dont have the money. ive asked help but they dont help.

  • 02/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great they really do their best at keeping students and staff safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Any and every type of student.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot things that you can do for fun especially if you go into the city and look at some of the historical sites. Tons of great restaurants and fun places to hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is great everything is fresh and delicious.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here, so I don;t know what dorm life is like.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes can be rigorous but they provide you the necessary tools to make sure that you have a full understanding on the materials and assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work on two degrees if you can because the cost is reasonable and that way you have two directions you can go. Never take a science course in the summer unless you like cramming a lot of information in a short period of time.

    In three sentences

    A great place to attend. The teachers especially online professors go above and beyond to make sure that you understand the material, it is also very well put together that if you missed a day you know exactly what the class went over. I love the advisors! Very helpful.

  • 02/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 44

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This is a great college. I would recommend attending Montgomery County Community College, to receive a quality education at a fraction of the cost as if you attended a University.

  • 02/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus security at MCCC, but with a friendly environment and focus students security is not highly needed.

    What to do for fun

    At MCCC there are plenty intermural actives to do. (Football, basketball, book clubs, study clubs, etc.) There's always something to do at MCCC.

    Food and Dining

    With different choices of well prepared food daily you will quickly understand the difference between high school food and college dining.

    Academic Rigor

    With different types of study groups any question, not understanding, and just guidance makes preparation for any test a little easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    Working closely with the guidance councilors helps better path the students who are undecided majors.

    In three sentences

    Montgomery county community college is a great college for students who are looking to continue their education. At MCCC they are great staff, knowledgeable teachers, and peers who are striving for more. MCCC is a great step towards your two year degree or even higher.

  • 02/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always safety walking around the school both inside and out.

    Bang for the buck

    I pay double what an in county person pays, because I'm out of county.

    Food and Dining

    Food is terrible and over priced at Blue Bell.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm an art strident I have a lot of work to do.

    In three sentences

    Great Blue Bell campus. Awesome art program. Friendly people.

  • 03/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    not that well lit at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    have not participated but I have seen many mentioned online

    Great for these types of students

    minorities

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    5k runs

    What to do for fun

    They have some clubs and activities available for interested paticipants.

    Food and Dining

    Haven't eaten here.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your credits done as quickly as possible!

    In three sentences

    Montco is an affordable way to obtain college credits. The campus has been improved in many ways after a revamping. Students aren't the friendliest but it is a more convenient way to get through school at a cheaper price.

  • 03/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs to join and the sports are also well organized and easy to join.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is not that bad, plus they have some wawa products!!

    Dorm Life

    Its a commuter school soo no dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the teachers teach at other colleges in the area like Temple, Drexel, and Villanova. Smaller classroom sizes also a huge plus

    Tips for prospective students

    I was short on money to pay for tuition to a four year school straight out of High School. I decided to go to Montgomery County Community College for a semester. After realizing what a great school it was i decided it was best, financially and academically, to graduate with my Associate's Degree. This college has many great transfer options to schools nearby and all around the nation.

    In three sentences

    Great school, friendly and knowledgeable teachers. I was surprised for the academic level that is maintained at Montgomery County Community College. Known Nation wide as one of the best Community Colleges.

  • 04/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Looking for a cheap 2 year school Something close to home Flexible schedules

    Bang for the buck

    cheaper than university, but other colleges are a little cheaper

    What to do for fun

    There are some clubs and sports available. A lot of information about these goes around in the beginning of each semester and through email.

    Food and Dining

    Food and drinks are good and decently priced

    Dorm Life

    Campus is very clean

    Academic Rigor

    Majority of teachers are caring and actually care if you understand the information they are teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    Good 2-year college, nice teachers and students. Clean campus and inexpensive.

    In three sentences

    Good college to get your prerequisites out of the way and it cheaper than going to university. Good teachers and multiple class times. The school could improve on their advisors because they lack communication skills.