Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Montreat College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/06/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Montreat is nestled in the mountains, surrounded by bohemia. It is great for the artistic hippie sorts, along with people who are interested in the worship arts, outdoor education, or communucation studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    I am not yet attending, but the entire application and waiting process was very pleasing. It very fast (I was notified within 2 weeks). The communications between counselors and the admissions office was always very polite and immediate. I always received a response to my questions the same day. It is a very nice small college, smaller than most high schools. The professor reviews are great, and I think it will be an altogether amazing experience.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is high, but within normal range for a private institute. Also, remember that when you apply to a private college, FAFSA typically is more generous with grants/awards.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is beautiful, if you are a nature enthusiast or have artistic tendencies, this will be sure to fuel it. The people are so kind, and very welcoming.

    Will learn a lot

    The professors are all very academically revered.

  • 10/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to go to college. Even though this college is Christ centered, anyone is welcomed even if they have different religious beliefs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for lots of papers and a lot of learning! Do not procrastinate, trust me, I know this all too well. When the professors tell you do something advance, do it! It will help you succeed and get a good grade.

    Bang for the buck

    The price of this college is very intimidating because it is so much. However; when all the bills are paid off and everything looks in the right direction, it was well worth the expense.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone is very nice here. All the students try to get to know each other. Montreat acts as a community so everyone is family. There are many activities to do when you are finished with homework and you jusy want to hang out!

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are very helpful and knowledgeable. They are kind and will help you with anything that you have problems with. Even though it may seem like you are busy everyday, it's well worth the work!

  • 02/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for all types of students; that is part of the charm of the campus. International students from Korea and Jamaica have called it home; goths, emos, jocks, geeks and hippies all co-exist happily. Students get what they earn: if they want to learn and get a good education, they will. If they're just here for a good time, they'll get that, too. It is what you make it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're allergic to mold, you probably want to stay off-campus. Bring extra toilet paper (the dorms DO run out). Bring your own printer (the ones here never work). Be cheerful, flexible and eager to learn!

    Bang for the buck

    Montreat is a fairly expensive school (~$30,00) but it may be worth it depending on what you want. The cons are that the campus has a ton of mold in both the dormitories and some of the other buildings (McLeod, for instance) and that it is in need of some repairs (Anderson Dorm needs to be knocked out and rebuilt). The pros, for me, outweigh the cons: the professors are great, the staff is incredibly helpful, the campus itself is small enough to be a real community and, to top it all off, it is nestled right in the mountains. Some of the most breathtaking sights I've seen have been of the black mountains around here.

    Am enjoying being here

    Montreat is my home. I couldn't be happier. Although it has its issue (every campus does) the students, staff and faculty all do their best to contribute to a happy environment. I love Montreat!

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at Montreat College are devoted to the students' personal and academic progression and achievements. They are encouraging and offer tons of resources to their students, making it easy to learn. Although I have had one or two bad experiences (a class in which I didn't learn as much as I'd hoped) the professors, for the most part, know their stuff and are more than willing to share.

  • 07/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    [For girls] If you have mold allergies, you'll want to stay away from the first and second floors of Anderson dorm. Also, I've heard that toilets on the second floor of McGregor overflow once in a while and cause leaks. The view from the upper floors is amazing though, especially from 510. The cafeteria food takes about a week for your body to... um, adjust to. You're not getting food poisoning, you just need time. You'll have a stomach of steel before you know it. When you're signing up for classes, ask the registrar's office about different professors. Most of the employees are former students and can give you great tips about professor's styles and on who to take depending on your own learning style. Each dorm room has it's own AC/Heating unit and there's free laundry. Awesome!

    Bang for the buck

    I'll admit, I have some questions about where the money from our ever-higher tuition costs goes. New napkin dispensers? Paving Appalachian Way three times in a year? What about the leaky ceiling in the dorms, or the mold problems, or a new gym? Then again, I really don't know what goes on with finances. It's going to look sketchy from any outsider's point of view, I'm sure. I transfered from Houghton College (NY), and they cost roughly the same, but Houghton is way nicer as far as facilities go. So I don't know.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being at Montreat. I'm from New York so it was definitely a new experience. The campus is beautiful, and the winter weather is laughable. Schools close for mere inches of snow (thanks to the un-plowable mountain roads maybe). I play volleyball, and my teammates have made the experience amazing. Conference champs baby! If you're willing to invest in your environment, I think anyone could enjoy this place. You get out of it what you put in, so if you go in thinking you're going to hate it, you probably will.

    Am learning a lot

    It's a small school, so classes are small and it's easy to be engaged in class. Your professors will really make an effort to invest in you, and I'm sure you'll glance many of them outside the classroom. Most professors have great office hours and are willing to meet you at other times if necessary. Since it is so small, it is kind of a bubble, but Asheville isn't that far away and there are plenty of opportunities to go out and get cultured, ha... If you want the experience of a close community, you'll love the atmosphere at Montreat.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Well the campus police are never to be found, but nothing ever happens here due to the sleepy nature of the Montreat community so I must say it is fairly safe. Just watch out for bears.

    Greek Life

    This is a joke right?

    Clubs and Activities

    The only clubs offered are Student Government (which is almost ineffectual) and the Fellowship of Christian Athletes. If there are any others, I have never heard of them.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students of the Christian religion or Republican ideology.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pan Day- Peter Pan Cosplay where participants reenact the final battle dressed as characters from Peter Pan. Ugly Dress Party- Girls dress in ugly thrift store dresses and dance around the dorms.

    Bang for the buck

    Very few majors. Few amenities. Almost unsatisfactory food. Outdated dorms. Terrible communication from administration. Nurse has unreasonable hours. Nurse and Counselors break HIPAA law. Administration runs on speculation and unstable business practices. Staff are hired not on skill or merit, but based on who they are related to or married to that already works at Montreat College.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, one could enjoy a hike or a walk around Montreat's scenic campus. The Belk building offers 24-hour computer usage, a pool table, foosball table, and theatre-looking lounge area for movies and games. Asheville is a short drive away too for many more options.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't completely horrendous. However, Ramen noodles are a must-have here.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are outdated and offer little amenities compared to other institutions of similar cost.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some professors that work the students much harder than others, but most of the professors are fairly laid-back.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare financially well in advance if you want to go here.

    In three sentences

    Montreat College is a close-knit community. Montreat's campus gives the feel of a comfortable fairytale get-a-way. Montreat College costs TOO MUCH.

  • 09/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe campus. Its small enough that everyone knows each other and we respect one another so there is ALOT less issues. We do have Campus security if needed. Be careful of bears at night, they love the trash cans!!!

    Greek Life

    We are working on it !!!!!

    Clubs and Activities

    A few of my friends and I are currently trying to start a fraternity. but there are lots of other clubs and activities to join, some I mentioned above like the Tricycle races and bonfires.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is interested in learning on a personal level and wants the professors to care about them as individuals and be success in the future.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    All I can say is the Manor House and we will leave it at that. Current or past students know what I'm talking about!!!

    Bang for the buck

    Montreat is a bit expensive but the experience is great!!! It is private so its a little to expensive. (34,000 a year)

    What to do for fun

    We have lots of activities on campus such as bonfires, gaming nights and tricycle races! We go into Black Mountain and eat at THE MILL our favorite pizza joint. Sometimes we go into Asheville to the mall or out to eat, catch a movie or find a new adventure. I have visited my friends at Appalachian University and WCU each are about an hour and a half away.

    Food and Dining

    I EAT ALOT AND OFTEN. I am a basketball player so they ability to eat at the cafeteria or to go to the Huckleberry caf�© has been nice. You are able to use your meal card at both so it is good food with convenience.

    Dorm Life

    I have meet lots of people that are international students who have totally different backgrounds than I do so it is nice to learn about different eating habits and ways of life in other countries. on our floor we have set up one room with a gaming area and another person's room with a TV area so based on what you want to do it's there!!!

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors here at Montreat are exceptional!!! They care about you and how you are doing in the classroom and outside the classroom. They are willing to work with you at anytime. They REALLY make a huge difference in the level of success and by bringing the bible into the classroom they really show you how you can apply this in everyday life. Coming from a public school I had never been exposed to this type of teaching so for me the learning has increased dramatically on a daily basis.

    Tips for prospective students

    VISIT the campus. Remember bigger is not always better. Meet the people that you will see everyday instructors, students and staff.

    In three sentences

    Set in the beautiful mountains of WNC. You are surrounded by wonderful hiking trails, Asheville is 15 min. away with endless opportunities of things to do and Montreat is tucked back in a cove of Black Mountain where you feel at home. It creates a feeling of safety and peacefulness just being here.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Small campus, the biggest threat are bears. I left my doors unlocked always and never had anything stolen. Granted, people were afraid of me.

    Greek Life

    Non-existant, not the school for you if you want this. However, there is a Fratastic Friday where people dressed up in prep gear and do a photo shoot in front of the fake frat house.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many clubs, but FCA alone owns 3 stars.

    Great for these types of students

    Hippies, Christians, Athletes, Outdoor people,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pan Day. A LARP of Peter Pan and Captain Hook with a battle. Basketball freshmen get their head shaved before the alumni game. Naked hike up Lookout and swim in Lake Susan (at night). No Pants Wednesday.

    Bang for the buck

    Really expensive, but I wouldn't trade it for anything.

    What to do for fun

    You have to be creative and open minded. This isn't a bar hopping/club scene, although there's Asheville if you want that. If you like the outdoors, Christian activity, and just become accepting of random activities you will love it.

    Food and Dining

    Pickings are slim, although they are expanding. The caf is good, especially for the price. There's also a coffee shop called the Huck which doubles as a grill that you can use on your Student account.

    Dorm Life

    I was an RA for three years and made some of my best friends through the dorm life. We try to schedule socials, events, etc and a lot of people don't show up because they're usually out with friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your major. I was a Biology major, so it pushes you and it's very tough but doable. Other majors kind of coast through, they freak out because they procrastinate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try living on campus for at least a year, it will help you make friends, experience different cultures, and grow you. Also, living on campus will help you find roommates for off campus living.

    In three sentences

    Eclectic mountain escape that is very intentional with community and growing in Christ.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On campus, hiking is big, also running and mountain biking

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of people in finical aid, they are not very helpful...

    In three sentences

    The SPAS Program is great for working adults. I like having classes once a week, just keep up with the homework.

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is safe. I have never had any issues.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not involved in any clubs at this time.

    Great for these types of students

    Christians, outdoor lovers.

    Bang for the buck

    A little over priced.

    What to do for fun

    Climb lookout mountain, hiking, canoeing, and Asheville is only about 25 minutes away, which is a big town.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright.

    Dorm Life

    I love the Anderson Hall cause you have your own personal bathrooms inside your dorm so no hall sharing bathrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Small class sizes so all your professors know you by name. They come if support their student athletes at games too.

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to love and enjoy the outdoors cause they is not much around the college.

    In three sentences

    I love Montreat. All the students are so friendly, so you feel like you are part of a family here. All the staff approch you by name so you are not just a number at Montreat.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I attend church and I am involved in Children Ministries.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the door yet but im sure it will be an amazing experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    I havent been there yet so I do not have any tips.

    In three sentences

    I have no visited the campus yet, but from researching online I really enjoy the college.

  • 08/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is an alert system that sends out text messages to students whenever there is a safety issue, such as a bear on campus. There is also campus police.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who love the outdoors and want to go to a Christian college.

    Bang for the buck

    Montreat is a private college, so their tuition is higher than state schools. However, they offer scholarships to over 90% of incoming freshman, so that adds a little incentive!

    What to do for fun

    There are so many fun things to do at Montreat! There are many hiking trails. There's an indoor climbing wall in Davis Hall. There's a lake to go fishing in. If you want to go off campus, it's only about a 20 to 30 minute drive to downtown Asheville, where there is plenty to do.

    Food and Dining

    Sometimes the food is great, sometimes the food is meh. But what do you expect from a cafeteria? However, there is a secondary food choice, the Huckleberry, which has good food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are old and Davis Hall has community bathrooms, but despite those negative aspects, the rooms are fairly large and considering the small population, you will be able to know everyone in the dormitory.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a good-sized workload, but the teachers are always there to answer questions and to help through any problems that may arise

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a small christian college in the mountains, Montreat college should be your first choice. Apply early, because there are only about 450 students in the entire school.

    In three sentences

    Montreat College is literally the most close-knit and beautiful school I have ever seen. The mountain views and the rustic, stone buildings all come together to make a scenic campus that any student should die for! Not only is the campus awesome, but the faculty is so personable and they act like they truly want you in their classrooms and are willing to help any student with any problems that may arise.