Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Moody Bible Institute Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/16/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students passionate about the Word of God; Future Missionaries; Future Missionary Pilots (Spokane Campus); Future Pastors; Future Leaders; Future Ministry Leaders; Students who wish to know why they believe what they believe; Students called to study the Bible

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early if you are interested in the Chicago campus. Spots fill up very quickly. Spokane was considered the overflow campus the past few years but is now becoming the Moody boom-college with how much it is growing. So apply early, and don't be afraid to apply to Spokane (biased but really... it's an incredible campus even though you can't search too much for it).

    Bang for the buck

    Moody is fairly cheap in regards to other colleges and with the type of education offered here, a bang for the buck is an understatement. Of course, with all colleges you'll only get as much as you put in. That means... if you strive to learn, you are going to be able to learn so much.

    Am enjoying being here

    Again, I am currently at the Moody-Spokane campus and am completely in love with the atmosphere, the people, and the teaching. Expect to be challenged to grow when/if you come here. You're going to get beat up mentally in a benevolent way as a well-driven nail for the Word of God. The analogy of a well-driven nail is what one of Moody professors compares Moody's students to. If you look at the top of a well-driven nail... you'll realize that the nail is not... nice and polished. The nail has undergone a hammer smashing its head into a wooden plank. The nail is beat up. However, the nail isn't going to go anywhere either. That is what Moody does to you. It will help you be built on the solid foundation of Christ. Moody will challenge you in the classroom and outside of the classroom and help you grow into that well-driven nail. A man/woman of God.

    Academic Rigor

    Moody is renowned for its ability to teach the future generation solid, biblically based teaching and my experience so far has been just that. I came to MBI (the Spokane campus) with quite minimal knowledge of the Bible. In fact, I don't think I've even read THROUGH the Bible at that point. However, since then I've been learning from world-class teachers. Teachers who have been in Jerusalem excavating actual biblical sites and teachers who have studied AND taught at Oxford and are currently translating Eusebius' commentary on Isaiah from Greek to English for the first time. (Sounds like a big deal, huh). Yet all these teachers care about you. Personally. And are willing to go get a cup of coffee with you just to talk (if you pay of course! :) ) Needless to say, when you come to study at Moody, you tap into a world class arsenal of Biblical teaching and knowledge with Christ being at the very core.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Just as in any community you have to use your head. If you go looking for trouble it will join you, if you use your head you will be alright.

    Greek Life

    NO, unless you are in Greek Studies

    Clubs and Activities

    Still shaping it up, it's coming along

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a closer walk with God, a great education, mentored by some of the best theologically sound instructors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Still shaping up and forming itself. Hebrews always has a great special.

    Bang for the buck

    The world is literally your oyster here in Spokane. Big city life, small town feel. Gonzaga is right down the street so you have the NCAA basketball atmosphere right here. WSU and EWU also provide you with the NCAA football life. Arena football, farm system baseball and a local hockey team ... Green Bluff for the garden and orchard life.

    What to do for fun

    Everything from water rafting to tiddly winks.

    Food and Dining

    No dining facility, but plenty of places to eat in the area.

    Dorm Life

    Single students who qualify live in the neighborhood in a home with fellow students. It is a great atmosphere to live in. I, being married adn from the area have the privilege of staying home with my family.

    Academic Rigor

    You've got to be ready to study; due diligence.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with an open mind. Be ready to work but also enjoy the opportunities for minsitry in your neighborhood and throughout the community. Commune with God daily.

    In three sentences

    MBI-Spokane is a great theologically sound school. It provides great opportunities to strengthen your walk with God both personally and academically. You've got to attend.

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At night the area can be a little sketchy- just make sure you are not alone and you will be fine! By the way- Moody guys are very nice and there is always someone to walk you places!

    Greek Life

    Moody does not have Greek life. But it's kind of like fraternities and sororities because you live in big houses with lots of other same-gender students.

    Bang for the buck

    It is probably the cheapest (accredited) Bible school you are ever going to find! It is so worth it too. I work two jobs to pay off my bills; it's a lot of work but I'm making it...and I'm going to come out with no debt! woo hoo :)

    What to do for fun

    Spokane is a beautiful city! There are mountains everywhere and the weather is always so nice- and with four seasons :) There is a lot to do- skiing, cliff jumping, swimming in rivers/lakes, bridge jumping, camping; and they also have the normal stuff- movies, malls, bowling, restaurants, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Again, I attend the Spokane campus and food is on your own! I enjoy getting the complete independent experience though. I have to grocery shop and take care of food for myself.

    Dorm Life

    Since I go to the Spokane campus it is smaller than Chicago and they do not have on-campus housing. However, they do have investor-owned homes that you can move in to. Personally, I think it is set up better than dorms would be- affordable, and roomy- I like it a lot :)

    Academic Rigor

    You will have to take a lot of Bible classes. I know it seems like, duh, it's a Bible school!. Just make sure you REALLY like studying the Bible, because you will do a lot of it!

    Tips for prospective students

    This is an awesome school. Be sure you want to go into ministry though. This school only offers degrees for those hoping to go into ministry-related fields.

    In three sentences

    The school is great! I attend the campus in Spokane and it is so beautiful! If you are considering Moody, I would say apply; if you don't get into Chicago, Spokane is amazing too :)

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    public safety is everywhere, they are always watching you.

    Greek Life

    greek town is not that far away

    Clubs and Activities

    men's choir

    Great for these types of students

    students looking for a great biblical foundation.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    buck buck...

    Bang for the buck

    $10,000-$12,000 per year

    What to do for fun

    chicago is a great city! so much to do!

    Food and Dining

    it's alright, not the best, but you can get by with it.

    Dorm Life

    culby 4!

    Academic Rigor

    academics are intense and demanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    work hard, study abroad.

    In three sentences

    great professors. great content. great opportunities.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In down town Chicago, but all in all generally safe

    Greek Life

    I LOVED GREEK!!!

    Clubs and Activities

    highly polished

    Great for these types of students

    Ministry oriented people wanting to grow closer to the likeness of Christ by being taught solid doctrine and encouraged by all those around you.

    Bang for the buck

    All of the expenses given totally do not add up to the quality education provided!

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, Serve God, go to school events for wonderful fellowship, go to coffee shops, donut shops or other outside sources just to chill.

    Food and Dining

    There are no gluten, nor lactose free options, but can opt out of typical dining options due to allergies. Other than this, the food is wonderful!

    Dorm Life

    WONDERFUL!!!

    Academic Rigor

    Solid doctrine is taught daily in classroom. Edification, encouragement and cultivation takes place everyday if you participate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study even when you do not feel up to the idea. Read the texts professors assign to receive the best and highest education achievable. Take every opportunity to get to know at least one professor, they actually care what is going on in your life!

    In three sentences

    Moody Bible Institute is the college to attend if looking into having any sort of ministry in the future, including being a missionary in an ordinary, everyday business job. Students are taught Truth from God's Word along with different view points and current controversial Biblical topics. To be better prepared for ministry and strengthened in Bible knowledge, Moody Bible Institute is the place to attend!

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As it is in the heart of downtown Chicago, Moody takes safety and security very seriously. No matter where a student or faculty member is on campus, they must always show their student or faculty ID, and those who are visiting must sign in at one of the desks to be given a special visitor ID.

    Clubs and Activities

    As a Moody student, there are so many clubs and activities to be a part of such as intramural sports, 4-5 different music groups, and many other clubs/groups.

    Great for these types of students

    Moody Bible Institute is an incredible school for students who are seeking a quality education in which they will be challenged academically. However, more importantly Moody is the perfect Bible college to prepare for a life of ministry.

    Bang for the buck

    Moody is a tuition-paid school. Furthermore, a student is only paying for room and board. Although a student does not pay tuition, that student may be getting an as good or better education that a 4-year school that charges tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Moody Bible Institute is in downtown Chicago, which means there are many activities an individual can do for fun whether eating at the many different restaurants in Chicago, going to the museums, or just going to a beach on Lake Michigan. Also, there are several different frozen yogurt and cupcake places. One of the cupcake shops even gives away free cupcakes to those who can say the secret word that can be found through Facebook or email.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Moody is like any other college cafeteria food. Honestly, there are great meals and not so great meals However, there is an amazing little coffee shop on campus and another place to get food called The Commons.

    Dorm Life

    The community in the dorms at Moody is incredible. In my first year at Moody, I was so thankful for each of the girls on my floor. Also, Moody has something called bro/sis, which means that each guys' floor has a sister floor and each girls' floor has a brother floor for the year.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at Moody strive to ensure a quality education. A student going into Moody must be prepared to be challenged in course work and an incredibly difficult grading scale.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Apply, apply, apply 2. Be prepared to be stretched and grown academically, spiritually, and emotionally. 3. Visit the campus during the school year on a visit day and a day that isn't a formal visit day to get a feel for the campus and community at Moody.

    In three sentences

    Moody Bible Institute is an incredible school. I have been challenged and grown in so many ways, and the community has been so awesome. Moody provides a quality education - both academically and spiritually.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Moody is so affordable and it's an amazing education!

    What to do for fun

    Spokane is a beautiful city. It's not to far to go to Riverfront Park or other places in downtown Spokane. There are also tons of good restaurants around to go to with friends. And of course, the most common thing to do is to just hang out with the people in your house or in your brother or sister house. There's also a couple of parks nearby with areas for playing Ultimate Frisbee, soccer, tennis, etc. There's a huge running community in Spokane and their are some nice trails for running or biking. And of course you could go see the waterfalls downtown.

    Food and Dining

    Food is on your own. There's no on campus food options (unless you consider coffee to be food). So, the quality of the food depends on how well you can cook. If you're coming to Moody Spokane, it might be a good idea to get some recipes.

    Dorm Life

    The off campus housing situation at Moody Spokane is amazing! It's great having an RA, but also being able to live in a house! It's really easy to get to know the people in your house and in your brother or sister house (opposite gender houses are paired).

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Moody are challenging, but often very rewarding. The subject matter will often be something you really care about--some aspect of your faith or the Bible. The general education classes seem to be the hardest in my opinion, because they can be the hardest to put your heart into the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    You may be more likely to get into Moody Spokane if you apply directly to the Spokane campus. Many students get accepted into Spokane, who had applied to Chicago. However, it's also possible to not be accepted into either. The 4 or 5 essays may seem intimidating, but just answer the questions as truthfully and fully as you can within the word count limit. God will take care of whether you get in or not--he has a place for you.

    In three sentences

    Many Moody Spokane students weren't accepted into the Chicago campus, but the Spokane campus is pretty awesome! It's really easy to get connected with people because of the unique off-campus (but Moody sponsored) housing situation. The professors here are really caring and (sometimes) quite challenging.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Urban ministry majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    flagpoling ... a tradition when a man proposes; he is tied to a lamppost by his floormates and put 'on trial', sprayed with shaving cream until his fiancee comes to rescue him.

    What to do for fun

    Anything in Chicago! We are in the heart of the city!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to ask questions in regards to financial aid if you need some!

    In three sentences

    Moody Bible Institute has been a challenge emotionally, spiritually, intellectually and physically from school work to personal growth and character development. The community is bound tight and has given many students the opportunity to thrive and grow. I have enjoyed my time at MBI thus far.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We're in Chicago, so there are risks, but our Public Safety staff is very adamant about keeping us safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of opportunities to get involved and explore your calling.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When a couple gets engaged, the guy's floor mates tie him to a flagpole for treason against the floor and his fiancee must rescue him by kissing him! We call it flag poling, and it's a really old, loved tradition.

    Bang for the buck

    Moody is heavily donor supported, so students have the unique opportunity of attending tuition-free! What an awesome thing.

    What to do for fun

    Explore Chicago! Take advantage of the opportunities in the city while you're here!

    Food and Dining

    Unfortunately, food service at Moody isn't great. But they did add a gluten-free serving line this year!

    Dorm Life

    Community is rich at Moody--most students are required to live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    People refer to us as the Harvard of Bible Colleges. It's tough, but professors are gracious and kind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be patient with the admissions department, the process can be slow and frustrating!

    In three sentences

    Moody Bible Institute offers a rich educational experience in the heart of Chicago. The academics are rigorous and rewarding, and the professors really care about the students. MBI is THE place for ministry training and experience!

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we live in the middle of Chicago downtown, so anything can happen anytime. Moody offers Public Safety in order to have more protection on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Moody offers many clubs, such as sports and drama

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    an unsual tradition is when people get engaged, they hang the guy on the pole on campus. And the lady has to come kiss him in order to set him free!

    What to do for fun

    Chicago is a great place to live, and Moody is situated in a very well located place. There are a lot of options to do for fun, go to the beach, shopping downtown, parks, the zoo, aquarium, etc

    Food and Dining

    they have a great diversity in the food. Salad, dely, glutten free, vegetarian, and hot food bar. In general, the good is great.

    Dorm Life

    That is one of the best parts about Moody. Its facilities are all renovated, and we can make close associations with other students that are currently attending the school

    Academic Rigor

    Moody is very stretching. Lots of reading, projects and other assignments in general.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live their lives pleasing to our God with an impeccable testimony and be interested in ministry; that's all Moody wants!

    In three sentences

    A great solid Christian Institution that enables its students to go for ministry or work in the areas they are studying .

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Moody employs ONLY security officers that have experience in Law Enforcement. I am a scaredy-cat, yet I feel EXTREMELY safe on campus. However, if you are ever in need any time of day or night one phone call will get a Brother, or Public Safety Officer to you in minutes to walk home with you from the El-trains, or bus. They will also take you to and from areas in the city you may be transportation to, as well as help with flat tires or minor car repairs if you have a car on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Missions focused clubs, Student developments, Language clubs, Athletics, Intramurals, Specific Ministry and Major focused clubs, etc. Mission trips in ABUNDANCE during all times of the year including winter, spring, and summer breaks.

    Great for these types of students

    Christian. Every other type of person that fits under the umbrella as Christian would find something they love and FALL IN LOVE with Moody. I promise!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hmm....well we are lovingly referred to as Moody Bridal Institute; but the festivities when someone is engaged involves flagpoles, video footage, lots of noise and boisterous FUN!

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition-PAID SCHOOL!!! Enough said! :) Look it up, I SWEAR it's true, Tuition is FREE-you only pay Room and Board. (Maximum of $2900 a semester)

    What to do for fun

    We are in the HEART of Downtown Chicago, two blocks from Magnificent Mile, and minutes from Millenium Park. Basically, we have anything you could ever dream of, and things you've never thought of, at your fingertips. AND, if you need a break, Lake Michigan is a 5-minute walk to silence, and the beautiful splendor of the beach and water.

    Food and Dining

    The SDR (Student Dining Room) is loud, fun, and a place of community and friends. There are many great and tasty meal options, and if you don't like them than you can choose a meal replacement from The Commons. This is similar to the Ala-carte options of pizza, subs, grilled foods, etc

    Dorm Life

    The community aspect of Moody is part of what makes life spectacular here. There are separate Men and Women dorms, but we operate on what's called a Bro-Sis (Brother floor-Sister Floor) so there is as much, or as little opportunity to commune with both sexes as you wish.

    Academic Rigor

    Lets face it, Moody is KNOWN for its Academic Rigor that produces a Man or Woman that is HIGH DEMAND by both professional and missional organizations. You will study hard, grow leaps and bounds in your learning and understanding of God and his word, and be truly transformed into the who you have been destined to become.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be willing to be open to what God is showing you, and keep him your constant focus.

    In three sentences

    When you enter the campus of Moody, you will walk out four years later a completely different person. Armored with the knowledge of God, and of the world and its cultures, you will be fully equipped to carry out every good work. AND, have an AMAZING experience along the way!

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel extremely safe here

    Greek Life

    there is none

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    flag poling is when a dating couple gets engaged. It is so great to watch.

    What to do for fun

    Everything! we are located right down town

    Food and Dining

    The cooks really care about how we eat.

    Dorm Life

    The community is not as strong because of a school in the city

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are held high

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared for a school of complete diversity

    In three sentences

    absolutely amazing school

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I cannot attest to this.

    Greek Life

    None that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not active in them.

    Great for these types of students

    Christian, mission minded, Biblically curious folks of all shapes, sizes, and age.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I can speak of.

    Bang for the buck

    The online credit hours are cheap compared to other colleges of Moody's caliber.

    What to do for fun

    Moody is in the middle of Chicago. I'm sure there is plenty to do but I have not been there to enjoy it.

    Food and Dining

    Again, I have not partook of the dining.

    Dorm Life

    Strictly as an online student, I have not experience dorm life at Moody.

    Academic Rigor

    The grading scale and rubric is higher than expected. I take lighter class loads in order to do better in each class.

    Tips for prospective students

    As an online student, open communication with admissions and financial aid offices are key. Affirmation of the step by step process will keep down the frustration and worry of correct procedures.

    In three sentences

    Moody has been a blessing to me in that they offer relatively inexpensive online classes that help me stay on task, learn the course material, and complete the education that I desire while maintaining full time employment and providing for a family. The blackboard program is convenient, loads in various web browsers easily, and has been the core connection between me, the class, and the professors. The grading scale pushes me to do better than what I think I need to do and drives me to be active in my work and grades so that I am not a victim of my own slothfulness and procrastination.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    IDK I dont live on campus

    Dorm Life

    IDK I dont live on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    I am a senior at Moody and I am in good standing with a good GPA. I have been in the distance learning program for 3 years. I will be ashamed to say a graduated from MBI because it is becoming more liberal every day. The doctrine of years past is being set aside for post-modernism masked as christian virtues. The school is teaching contrary to the Moody Handbook of Theology in many ways. Catholicism is now the oldest Christian denomination. It does not matter what you believe about creation as long as we agree God did it. These are just some of the apostate ideas that are being passed off as christian doctrine at Moody. In addition, I came to Moody to learn the Bible so I might know God better and be able to better communicate Him to people in this lost and hurting world. Instead what I am learning is how to critically interact with liberal biblical scholarship, how to be Politically Correct, and Psychology. I actually learned the sexual stages of children as taught by Feud for my Education class. In my Genesis class not one of my textbooks was written by a person that professed faith in Christ. In my Romans Class after 6 weeks of an eight week class one of my classmates said he did not know what they wanted him to believe. Now, for my Capstone class I am reading a book that is praised for its ecumenicalism and my classmates are eating it up. That is right the last thing moody wants to impart to its students before they graduate is ecumenicalism. I used to wonder why the evangelical church was dieing and how could evangelical schools produce someone like Rob Bell. Now I know. With training like this for future church leaders it is no wonder we are such a post-modern mess and MBI is thought of as conservative. If you are reading this and thinking about going to MBI, please reconsider, SBTS and TMS both have undergrad programs, I know if I could do it over again that is where I would go. You can look me up on facebook if you don't believe that I am actually a student. Oh, one more thing. Distance learning though MBI is a bureaucratic nightmare. Especially if you are a VA student. I was told that if i did not want to get locked out of blackboard and receive letters and emails that my account was bad for every class I was enrolled in, that is was my responsibility to get in touch with every department every term and inform them that I am a VA student.

    In three sentences

    Don't make the same mistake I did. Go somewhere else like SBTS or TMS if you want to learn the Bible.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Moody's Public saftey is top of the line. They are really strict about who enters buildings, all students and facialty must have ID on them at all times. Also, students under 21 have curfew ate 11pm on weekdays and 1am on weekends to insure saftey in the city.

    Greek Life

    -None-

    Clubs and Activities

    The school provides a lot of different activities for the students. You have intermural sports and events for students to participate in. You also have the Bro Sis program. Each girl floor is paired with a guy floor, and you get together and have parties and go out in the city and do different things. You gain great relationships and have a ton of fun.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are spiritually passionate about the Lord. Moody is a great place to cultivate spiritual gifts and learn how to serve the Lord in ways you never would have dreamed of.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Moody is downtown Chicago, a couple blocks from Michigan Ave. Moody gives you a CTA (public transportation) pass for free, so you can take the bus/subway/or the train anywhere for free. This opens up a ton of possibilities for food options, coffee shops, shopping, parks, zoos, museums, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    Moody was the only practical school choice for me because of the lack of finacial burden. You are basically paying about as much as a community college, but get a coveted, top of the line education. Moody has donors from Chicago pay for every students tuition, which means that you are really only paying for residential life, food, and other minor fees and expenses. Compared to a state university, Moody is as cheap as it gets.

    What to do for fun

    The school provides a lot of different activities for the students. You have intermural sports and events for students to participate in. You also have the Bro Sis program. Each girl floor is paired with a guy floor, and you get together and have parties and go out in the city and do different things. You gain great relationships and have a ton of fun. Also, Chicago has a million different things to do for fun, the city keeps you on your toes.

    Food and Dining

    The food is cafiteria food. So, don't go expecting anything super special. But they do have lots of options and you have lots of other places to eat outside of campus that are really close. Downtown Chicago has a lot of options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small, but have reasonable space for everyday life. Considering the fact that your tuition is paid for by the school, and you only need to pay for residential life, food, and other minor expenses; most students don't mind living in the small dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Moody has a tough academic program and will challenge you on many levels.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is easy to make your own plans when it comes to your future, but open your heart to where the lord wants you to go and what he wants you to do with your life.

    In three sentences

    I believe that Moody is a place where I am developing my relationship with God and becoming a refined, spiritually knowledgeable Christian and leader for the future. Moody students learn to share the gospel effectively, so we can cater to people�s needs in the church and ultimately lead them to Christ. If your looking for a place to properly prepare yourself for ministry, this is the school for you.

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christian, wanting to dedicate their lives to the service of Christ.

    Bang for the buck

    Moody is known for having free or cheaper tuition because of the nature of the school. Their aim is to put as many graduates into the field of Christian ministry as possible, especially without school debt.

    Academic Rigor

    I have attended several community colleges; Moody stepped up my academic expectations for myself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out Moody's Distance Learning Program. I think it's an easier way to earn credits, and it's cheaper, too.

    In three sentences

    Moody Bible Institute is all I have ever looked for in a college. Their philosophies of education are in line with mine (to the point, for the purpose of effective career placement), and the tuition rate fits the bill. Their staff is also incredibly helpful; I never hesitate to call when I have a question.

  • 03/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    When you're at the Spokane Campus, you're on your own. That means you go to the grocery store and buy whatever it is that you want to eat. This usually means that the freshman fifteen is reversed -students who come to Spokane usually lose weight the first year because they realize how expensive food is and don't eat as much as they would at home. The nearby grocery stores are Yokes and Safeway, both of which can be somewhat pricey depending on what you are buying. The best grocery store to go to, however, is Winco -they sell many foods in bulk and have excellent prices! There are also many restaurants in Spokane to try -but there aren't too many within walking distance. One of my favorites is Best China Buffet.

    Dorm Life

    Moody's Spokane Campus doesn't have on-campus dorms. However, we have a large number of off-campus investor-own homes that all have a Resident Assistant. Many houses are close-knit groups of people and often spend time together watching movies, cooking together, hosting parties, or having worship nights.

    Academic Rigor

    Moody's grading scale is harder than many schools -getting around a 75% means that you failed. However, from my experiences in Spokane, many professors who teach more difficult classes curve the grades. Moody only requires a handful of typical general education classes, which tend to be more difficult (mostly because students aren't as interested in these classes). Each class really varies regarding it's difficulty, however. I really depends on the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    It will probably be easier to be accepted to Moody-Spokane than to the main campus, Chicago, because there are more people who apply directly to Chicago, while many of the students in Spokane were deferred from Chicago. It's possible that if you applied to Chicago, you may be accepted to Spokane instead. Don't freak out! Spokane is a wonderful place to study at Moody if you don't have a very specific major in mind that only Moody-Chicago has.

    In three sentences

    Moody's Spokane, Washington Campus has wonderful community among the students because of the unique off-campus investor-owned housing. We also are continually gaining more faculty and a larger student body. Moody-Spokane is a great place to figure out who you are as a Christian and what ministry really means.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Bike rides in Riverfront Park Climbing at Bowl and Pitcher Eating at Casper Fry

    Tips for prospective students

    Soak up all of your time! Immerse yourself in rigorous study, flourishing relationships, and opportunities to personally know professors.

    In three sentences

    Moody is an incredibly dynamic and challenging institution. It has grown me intellectually, spiritually, and socially more than any other experience in my life. My only point of improvement would be the need to raise academic standards, as one can never be pushed too hard in their studies. Besides this small point, Moody Bible Institute comes heartily recommended from this soon-to-be graduate.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety at Moody Bible Institute is definitely top-notch! There is a student or public safety officer at every desk through every building you enter. You always have to have your student ID with you and almost all of the doors and elevators require keys or FOBs. Also, public safety patrols the streets around the college very often in their vehicle. There are security cameras in some of the buildings and outside the dorms to further help Public Safety keep an eye out for suspicious activity. I have never felt unsafe when I have been on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different things to be a part of around campus. If you're an athlete, Moody Bible Institute has men's soccer, volleyball, and basketball and women's volleyball, basketball, and cross country. You can be a part of class council, RACO (student activities), or SMF (student missions fellowship), just to name a few!

    Great for these types of students

    Moody Bible Institute is great for: those who enjoy challenging classes where you learn a lot of theology and those who want to grow in their walk with the Lord.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One unusual tradition that happens very often once the warm weather hits is something known as flagpoling. This is where a recently engaged man is dragged by the other men on his floor to the plaza and duct taped to a pole. He is then put on mock trial, covered with shaving cream, and is not released until his fiance frees him with a kiss.

    Bang for the buck

    Since Moody Bible Institute is tuition free, you will definitely get a lot of bang for your buck. The classes are challenging, the location is perfect, and the dorm life is a lot of fun.

    What to do for fun

    Since Moody Bible Institute is in Chicago, there are plenty of places close by that you can go to have fun! If you're an outdoors person, the beach and Lincoln Park are both a 20 minute walk or 10 minute bus ride. If you like beverages or desserts, Starbucks is a block away and Forever Yogurt is about 3 blocks away. If you're the shopping type, Michigan Avenue is also just a few blocks away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Spend a lot of time on the essays you write when applying, as those are the most important part of the application process. This school can seem a little legalistic at first, depending on your background, but the rules are not all that hard to follow. Moody Bible Institute is very academically challenging, so make sure you don't fill up all your spare time with activities and instead leave enough time set apart to work on homework.

    In three sentences

    Moody Bible Institute is a great school that really cares about the students. This is evidenced by the fact that they are tuition free and are very careful on who they accept. The professors and other faculty are very learned and make it their goal that all students learn and pass the class material.

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They take safety seriously here.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is ideal for students who want to go into ministry.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Flag polling. When a guy gets engaged on campus, the guys on his floor tie him up to a flagpole, give him a 'trial' which the guy ends up losing and gets covered with shaving cream. The only way to free him is for his fiance to kiss him.

    Bang for the buck

    $10,000-12,000 a year!!

    What to do for fun

    Moody is walking distance from the Magnificent Mile, you can go to Lake Michigan, Navy Pier and so much more!

    Food and Dining

    I'm not a fan of the cafeteria food, but since Moody is in Chicago, there are several food choices available.

    Dorm Life

    From the time I visited, the girls on the dorm seem to have a very good relationship. Also, Moody has something called Bro-Sis floors, where a girl dorm floor is hangs out with a guy dorm floor and go out to do different things, which is a good way to make friends without pressures of dating.

    Academic Rigor

    Very academically challenging... a 93% is a B+.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Apply early 2) Pray about what ministry to go into 3) If you get accepted into the Spokane Campus, it's okay. If you're given the opportunity to wait until the spring semester to go to Chicago, take that as well. 4) Get ministry experience. Not just one time trips but multiple activities.

    In three sentences

    Excellent for ministry-oriented students. Easy on the wallet. Great for getting to know solid Christian friends.

  • 06/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent!!

    Great for these types of students

    Those who are intentional about serving someday; either in specialized ministry, music, teaching, counselors, etc.

    What to do for fun

    Our super Gym is a world class style; plus a lot of outdoor space to hang out as you like!

    Food and Dining

    Decent and hygienic.

    Dorm Life

    It's a community I love!

    Academic Rigor

    The academic programs here are excellent in their individual settings, and they are well diversified.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to serve the Church and the world someday, then consider Moody!

    In three sentences

    It is a Carrier/Mission specific college that tries to empower its students with all that is necessary for their learning and graduation. My school provides a safe environment that enables students to be less burdened with issues of safety while studying. In my opinion, it is one of the most prestigious educational institution within the American borders.

  • 09/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is a very safe place. Our security officers are awesome, but they can get a little crazy when asking for your ID.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at Moody.

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't tons of clubs around, but there are quite a few. There are clubs that are for minority groups, for events, for ministries, for music, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Moody is a great place for students wanting to learn more about the bible. It also is a fantastic place for music students. Moody has a high standing with many churches, companies, and other various employers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every spring, there is a flag pole-ing. If a guy gets engaged, he gets duck taped to the pole and then gets a trial. He then gets shaving cream dumped all over him and his fiance has to come kiss him to get him released.

    Bang for the buck

    Moody is tuition paid. Basically, you only have to pay for room and board and the random fees they slap you with. But its honestly a blessing.

    What to do for fun

    Moody is located in downtown Chicago. There is always something to do in Chicago! Free concerts, the bean, coffee, walmart runs, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The SDR is not a great place to eat. Health wise, you have to be extremely aware of what you eat. The atmosphere is loud and it is hard to find someone to sit with other than your bro-sis table.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty active. We have tons of events like football, parties, get together's, and we always spend time with each other in the lounge.

    Academic Rigor

    Moody has great profs. Some are easier than others. You just have to test the waters or hear what other students have to say.

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly recommend a day one experience. We have them a few times a semester!

    In three sentences

    Moody is a fantastic place for learning, stretching, growing, and finding life long friends. It does have a few down falls like no drinking or dancing. But the perks of the school like being tuition paid is so worth it!

  • 09/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great. They can get a little annoying, always asking us to show our ID, but they really do keep the campus safe.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at Moody

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs on campus and activities going on, but sometimes they can be a little exclusive. You just have to explore and find the right fit.

    Great for these types of students

    Moody is great for students wanting to further their relationship with God and find life long friends. It is also a great place for those with a heart for missions.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the spring, those who have gotten engaged are flag poled. The men get duck taped to a pole and go through a trial. At the end of the trial, the man poled gets shaving cream all over him. Then his fiance must kiss him for the duck tape to be cut off.

    Bang for the buck

    Moody is tuition paid. Basically donors pay for your schooling and you have to pay for room and board and other random fees that come up.

    What to do for fun

    Moody is located in downtown. We are a block away from the brown line that can take you to any other line, and from there you can travel all around the city. There are free concerts, China town, little India, and other touristy attractions.

    Food and Dining

    The SDR is not the best. It is extremely difficult to make healthy choices, but they are doing a better job of making choices available.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't a whole lot that goes on in dorm life. We have events and such but its mostly a relaxed feel.

    Academic Rigor

    Almost all professors challenge you in some way. Academically, it isn't difficult, just time consuming.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would highly recommend going to Day One, a day for prospective students to attend classes and chapel all day. It really gives you a feel for what Moody is all about and it's super fun!

    In three sentences

    Moody is a fantastic place for biblical knowledge, life long friends, and a cultured life. It is located in downtown Chicago, close to anything you want to go to, and easy travelling. Moody is also a fabulous place for academics and clubs.

  • 09/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a big city so safety is always a concern (not as big as with Chicago, I imagine). Be smart. Never walk alone places and girls: never walk home alone at night. The guys in your brother house are required to walk you home, sometimes you get a whole entourage. I bought pepper spray just to be on the safe side, but honestly, put your safety in God's hands. He'll take care of you.

    Greek Life

    I hear that the Greek classes are really hard. Good luck with that.

    Great for these types of students

    People Who are ready to move out! It's perfect for those kinds of students.

    Bang for the buck

    It costs about the same as it would to go to the Chicago campus, but the experience is better. I know a few people who switched from the Chicago campus to come out here and prefer this.

    What to do for fun

    Go meet your brother and sister houses! Everyone here is so relaxed and welcoming and, for about a month before classes start, people are hosting swing dances, bonfires, game nights, movie nights, ultimate frisbee championships, or going cliff jumping in Coeur d'Alene. There is so much to do! I haven't even been downtown yet.

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria here, but it's kind of nice that way because you buy your own food and make what you want when you want it. You live on your own!

    Dorm Life

    You don't live in a dorm but you live in an investor owned house close to the campus (my house is a five minute walk away). There is also a Safeway right behind my house so I don't have to go far for groceries.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are amazing and I love my professors! Michael Orr is my favorite so far because, though his class is challenging, he absolutely cares that you are growing into everything God wants you to be. Though your grades are of significant importance your relationship with God is even more. Also, watch out for syllabus shock, it's a doozy.

    In three sentences

    *Disclaimer!* I do not attend the Chicago campus, but the Spokane one. Though I applied to the Chicago campus and was deferred here, I would highly suggest anyone to take this route. It is the best decision I ever made!

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Spokane has quite a bit of theft but overall, everyone's safe.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other Christian colleges, I truly believe you get a great education for very little money. I am so grateful that I attend Moody because I can't afford other Christian colleges.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many state parks nearby and if you're into coffee, there are many different coffee shops to try. If you're not into either, everyone lives close by and it's not uncommon to spend a whole day with just friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to understand where God wants you before enrolling.

    In three sentences

    Moody Bible Institute is a fantastic place to become more familiar with the bible. The Spokane campus is small, so everyone gets to know everyone and it feels much like family. I thoroughly enjoy going to this school.

  • 04/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Despite being in Chicago, the school's excellent city ministry and service record shows Chicago everyday, the caliber of the students, and the school has an excellent record.

    Great for these types of students

    Creative Ready to Serve Mission-minded Hard Workers

    Bang for the buck

    If accepted to the Chicago campus, tuition is paid for!

    What to do for fun

    Be yourself. Explore the world. Read. Eat a new food once a week. Care for someone without a single motive but their betterment. Sing. Meet new wonderful souls. Bundle up!

    Food and Dining

    Chicago darling, speaks for itself. Be as adventurous with your dining as you are with your mission.

    Dorm Life

    I actually live off campus, but being in downtown Chicago, the vibe is terrific.

    Academic Rigor

    A curious mind is a must.

    Tips for prospective students

    Seek out your gifts. Have a heart for people. Desire adventure. Love God.

    In three sentences

    Serving the world in creative yet wonderfully unorthodox ways will become your passion. Hard work does produce fruit, in your life and the lives you seek to impact. Moody is exceptional in its environment, its impact, and it's service.