Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Moore College of Art & Design Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/30/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for girls interested in art and who love the city.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you get everything in on time and be yourself when applying. For your portfolio put forward your best work and perhaps you'll get a scholarship. If you're not sure if you would like the school or not take the visit. The area is very nice and so is the school itself. Also for those who don't know, Moore College of Art and Design is an all girls school. At first I was a bit weary about it, but I've gotten use to it and don't even realize it a lot of the time. It's a great atmosphere in general and very close. You really get a chance to get to know everyone and your teachers very well.

    Bang for the buck

    As far as the meal plan goes, it definitely isn't really worth it. I'm a vegetarian and a picky eater, so there's a rare chance of me ever liking dinner or any of the meals. The food isn't the best and I usually end up just eating a cheese sandwich or a bowl of cereal. As far as my education I think that I'm getting my money's worth. The classes are teaching me a lot and my teachers are great. Room and board is worth the pay. It's located in the same building as my classes and the cafeteria. I only have one roommate which is also nice. There is also a separate dorm that is a few blocks away that has single rooms. It isn't really my preference but the girls I know who live over in that dorm love it and are glad they decided to get a single.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love my school. I love the area that I'm in also. Being in Philadelphia is a great location for school. There is so much to do and it's very easy to get around. I can definitely say that Philly is a very walkable city. Moore is located in a very nice area of the city where there isn't a lot of crime. We're located in the museum district so there's lots to see and do. Also we're in close vicinity to New York City and Washington DC so it is perfect for day trips into the nations capitol or to the big apple to get some fabric shopping done for class.

    Am learning a lot

    During my first semester I can say that each of them have taught me something. There were a few times in one of my classes where I asked myself if the teacher was sure they knew what they were talking about. Other than that, I know that I have really improved my skills as artist and as a student.

  • 12/31/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are really serious about a career in the arts and are positive that they want to go to an art school.

    Tips for prospective students

    When I went to the open house, I saw all these amazing pieces in the gallery and thought there is no way I could ever be that good! However, I did do those projects and I did great on them. So remember not to put yourself down. Keep telling yourself that you are good enough and if you have the dedication, the drive, and the talent, you can do it. Also, do not let the fact that it is an all girls school get you down. In some ways, it is actually a good thing; it is definitely one less distraction. If you truly love the school, do not let it turn you away. Also remember to always show up for class. Moore has a strict attendance policy and teachers will always remember if you are in class everyday. Although some teachers may not exactly follow Moore's policy, they still take your attendance and lateness into consideration. At the end of the semester, they will not cut you a break and assume that you are not trying and you do not want to be here. So even if you do not think the teacher is paying attention, trust me, they are. Most teachers are really difficult graders and also grade you on whether or not they feel that you are fully dedicating yourself to your work.

    Bang for the buck

    Honestly, Moore is very expensive. Maybe a little bit too expensive for what you are getting. Sometimes I do not know how I am going to afford it. But my teachers are amazing; I have never met such accomplished people. If it were not for them, I would not be at Moore. Since it is a small school, teachers always know you are name and they really do care about you as a person, not just as another student. The teachers are the greatest aspect of the school and the reason why I am still here. The location is amazing too. It is safe, beautiful and close to the Philadelphia Museum of Art, the Free Library, the Franklin Institute, the Muter Museum, and many more fantastic places. It is unfortunate that the school is so small and does not have a typical college campus. Moore always says that the city is our campus. I agree that center city is amazing but sometimes I feel like I am missing out on the usual college experiences. However, I do not regret it, especially since what is outside in the city could never be recreated in a college campus. Although there are a lot of things I wish would change, the pros outweigh the cons when it comes down to it. With Moore, you are paying for great teachers, great location, and a small school dedicated to educating women in the arts. Unfortunately, an expensive and unimpressive meal plan is also included.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love my fellow students at Moore and they really make me feel comfortable away from home. It is like a big family and it is nice to be constantly be surrounded by other artists who can learn from you and also teach you new things. I definitely do not regret going to an art school and I am grateful for all the wonderful experiences I have had at Moore. I am always enjoying the city location and the amazing opportunities available right outside Moore.

    Am learning a lot

    I cannot believe how much I have learned so far at Moore. I must say that the first year is absolutely critical. I saw the improvement within the first semester. The teachers are great. They are all accomplished artists themselves, therefore, they really know what they are talking about. Now that I am in my Sophomore year and my classes are catered to my major, I still love my classes and teachers. Be prepared for lots of homework and sleepless night though, especially the first year.

  • 06/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Moore is great for students who are good at multitasking their time and enjoy a challenge. It is a very focus driven school, but it is very supportive. If you are driven and want a career in the arts, this is the school for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    One of the most important things about Moore is try and find out early if you like your teacher before the transfer date passes. Your first semester schedule is created for you, but you do have the option to transfer to another class if there are spots open. I have a few friends who did this and were a lot happier. Also, many teachers will automatically bump your grade up half a grade if you never miss a class, so attendance is really taken into consideration when your final grade comes around. If you are dorming try and become friends with your RA. My RA was incredibly helpful and was able to tell me pretty much anything I needed to know about the school. Also, there are many events that ResLife organizes in the school and outside in the city and if you do not know many people in the school it's nice to go on those trips and socialize.

    Bang for the buck

    It is understandable that because Moore is a private school the rates are high, but sometimes it does not seem like your money is going to the right places. It would be nice to know exactly where and to what all the tuition money is going towards.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Moore for what it has to offer educationally. The classrooms and teachers are all exactly what I wanted when I thought of my dream college. There is A LOT of breathing room in the building and I never felt crowded once while I was in the building. The only negative aspect to me was certain issues in my dorming situation with my suitemate that were not able to be resolved, but now that I am in my own apartment I am perfectly content!

    Am learning a lot

    Many of the teachers are highly qualified in their fields and try to get their students to see a different perspective of the norm. I was lucky and got mostly teachers that knew what they were doing and gave out compelling assignments.

  • 06/21/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want a small community with lots of support in the middle of a great city!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your finances in order ahead of time.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm not sure I can go because of the price, but I'm trying as hard as I can to find scholarships.

    Will enjoy being here

    I love the small community atmosphere and the upbeat encouragement of all the staff!

    Will learn a lot

    The classes seem so varied and the Professors have great credentials.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    every student. ( women college)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    in the center of the city:).

    What to do for fun

    alot of clubs thus lots of activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepare to work hard.

    In three sentences

    small college therefore help is readily availble. hardwork and dedication is appreciated. close to everything needed for supplies.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Artsy, hardworking, ambitious female students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of the school. Go there in person.

    In three sentences

    I fell in love with the school when I first toured it. Sweet people. Confident women who have a passion for art.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Moore has security all of the time, through all hours of the day. Approaching my college years in August, I would feel very safe there. Moore is a small school, and I believe it would be easier to be notified if something went wrong, opposed to a very large school, when a tragic event would be approached at a much later time, due to school size.

    Clubs and Activities

    Moore may not have sports, due to the type of school that is is. However, Moore has a gym membership, that all students can go to in order to stay in shape, or just enjoy the activity with their friends. Other activities would include, yearbook, or also student government. I myself, am considering each of these clubs, because I would love to contribute to the yearbook, that is a reflection of the success for each individual school year.

    Great for these types of students

    Moore is great for women that are hardworking, dedicated, and creative. You must work hard to make an idea come true, and must be dedicated to each piece so that you do not give up on it. The creativity you have of course, will make each piece of artwork special in its own way.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Moore has about 6 galleries, inside the building, for all students and visitors to see. I find that these galleries are very inspiring because it is other students work, and it gives you the ability to visualize the vision that the student had for their own artwork. It could be another goal that you have, in the hopes that your own artwork will be featured in the art galleries, for all students to see and be a part of.

    Bang for the buck

    Moore is expensive that is true. But I believe you must strive for what you want, and that is often the best education. Financial aid helps a lot, regarding the expenses, but Moore's positive message of women empowerment, really helps make the decision on what art college is the best. By the time I leave Moore, I know that I will be an even better artist, and my confidence for my own artwork will skyrocket. Moore has very expensive amounts for each specific thing, but it is possible to go, and scholarships and financial aid definitely help.

    What to do for fun

    Moore has a very good location, so you could do a number of things. You could go to the gym, although some people would not like working out, it becomes much more enjoyable when your going with your friends. Moore also has a library, with thousands of books, and the school also has access to other College libraries in the area. You could also go to the Franklin Institute, since it is relatively close to Moore. The most obvious choice, would be to go to Love park, because many people enjoy the sight of the very large love letters, with the waterfall. You would also see the clothes pin, dominoes, or the sorry pieces. The environment is very playful, and all of these inspirations would definitely contribute to progressed artwork.

    Food and Dining

    Moore has a lunch room, that has vending machines, and also the average type area where you would stand in line, and order your food. I think the setup was done very well, because students can also go outside, or to the penthouse, to eat their food. The location of Moore gives off beautiful scenery, so no matter what you choose to eat, the view would always be great. Also, if you are living in a dorm at Moore, I know there is a meal plan, so the food you get would be something you would get used to.

    Dorm Life

    I will be commuting to every day over my art classes, and when I attend college in August. However, I have seen the dorms in person, and I really like them. They seem like a small place at first, only because the room I have at home is very large. Also, Moore has suite dorms, in which you have one roommate, but two other people on the other side of the room, inside the other door. This was not a problem for me when I was considering the dorms, but after realizing the fact that guests would stay over, that could possibly create chaos for the people that are all living in the dorm as suite mates. However, each dorm is created differently, which makes each one special, for every individual living in one. There's also a beautiful kitchen, and study room, and penthouse for all of the girls to go to, and interact with one another. Moore's environment in general is fabulous, and I would certainly consider living there in my 3rd or 4th year.

    Academic Rigor

    I've decided on 4 stars. Although I have not started taking my classes yet at Moore, I know the challenge will not be easy. With this type of school, you must be prepared to brighten your horizons, and never give up. Limiting yourself to your own abilities, will never get you far with any field you plan to peruse. Over the summer, I will attend art classes at Moore, and I also know that this will be difficult. 5 stars would insist that it is absolutely difficult, but not possible. Anything is possible, so I've chosen 4 stars. I know that I will be challenged this summer, and over the course of the 4 years,

    Tips for prospective students

    All college's are expensive, but you have to travel far to reach your dreams, and accomplish your goals. I've always loved art, and only imagined myself as an art student. Art is a huge part of my personality, and when you feel as though you are not meant to do anything else, you end up at the right spot. Moore College of Art & Design, is the right path for me, and it is where I'm headed in August 2012.

    In three sentences

    Moore is special to me because of the environment, location, and positive message. The environment is very joyful, while the location is well-relaxed, and inspiring. The positive message on women empowerment is by far, my favorite thing about Moore's existence.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I pack my lunch .

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out all the Financial Aid you can before enrolling .

    In three sentences

    The school is 5 star

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    To get in most of the areas of the school you would need your Moore student ID to scan. If you live in out of Moore and it's late you can get a security officer of Moore to walk with you about 5 blocks away from Moore.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anime Club Pokemon Club African American Student Association...etc

    What to do for fun

    There are lots to do for fun! Especially since it's in the downtown area and it's an ART school. You can go to the Art museum, the science museum.. (there are a lot of museums to explore). You can make a trip to the Philadelphia Public Library which is like 10 minutes away, or just walk 3-4 blocks from Moore to enter the shopping district. There are also a lot of restaurants (as mentioned before) and parks to visit with a friend (such as Love Park or Logan Square). It's just so many things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is pretty good. The cooks give a variety of choices to pick from when it comes to Breakfast, lunch and Dinner and almost everyday they have different selections of foods to try. You can tell the cooks take their time to cook their Moore students good meals. They also sit out a nice selection of desserts and organized self-service food areas (such as the salad bar, ice cream area, and sandwich area). Plus, if you don't find anything you like in the school to eat, you can always order out (since Moore is after all in the downtown area where lots of restaurants and stores are) or go to Fridays which is right down the street from Moore.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is great! There are two sections of Dorm Life: Stahl Hall and Sartain Hall. Stahl is located inside of the Moore building and the suites accommodate four women who share two double rooms and an adjoining bathroom. There are like 5 floors, and a penthouse in which you'd have to use the stairway to get to (on the last floor). Sartain Hall is located on 20th and Cherry street. There are single rooms with a community bathroom on each floor and each floor has a lounge. Also Sartain Hall is also has a commuter hotel on the very first floor for their Moore commuters ( and they also have a lounge and kitchen of course).

    Academic Rigor

    Moore is not too strict. They just want what almost every College (or art college) should want, a student with good/acceptable grades, visible passion for the area of study and a pleasing portfolio.

    Tips for prospective students

    It would be best if you've taken an AP studio or drawing class (or already attend an art school) to make sure your portfolio work is at an acceptable level. (If you do not know the area or your way around the Business Office is a big help, they have bus routes, and even have the schedule for their shuttle bus, and of course be open to making new friends who know the area and can assist you) Also do keep in mine that this is an all girls/women private school.

    In three sentences

    It's in a wonderful area (nice landscape). The architecture of the building is eye-pleasing. There's lots of diversity and people from different parts of the world/states.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For students that are out of state and international it is a safe school. This is comforting for parents that are letting their daughters attend an all-womens college.There are guards at every entrance and ID scanners that students have to do before entering the building. If a student is working late in the studio buildings and they live in Sartain there are guards that will walk you from the school building to Sartain hall. Moore is a comfortable environment for every woman.

    Greek Life

    Moore College of Art and Design does not have a greek life, its an art school with a focus on academics, if Moore had a greek life it would be pretty ironic.

    Clubs and Activities

    Activities on campus are pretty chill and artsy, some of them are: Knitting and Crocheting, Crafts, Museums Visits, Movie Nights. The activities are fun but you have to show up!

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are highly focused and self-motivated, and know what they want. Students that are interested in a small, close knit community, are leaders and have strong personalities. Students that want a strong education in the arts.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus consists of two main studio buildings with LOTS of studio space! Students hang out together on weeknights in the dorms and the studios

    Bang for the buck

    Moore is a lot of money, but it is one of the more affordable art schools out there. Moore provides 85% of students with scholarships, so they really do try to help out with the tuition. There is also the iPad initiative, which provides every new freshman student with an iPad. Moore focuses highly on academics and it is evident that the money is put mostly into academics.

    What to do for fun

    Going to an all-womens schools allows you to build strong connections and friendships with a variety of people. There are some on-campus events that the Student Services provides however, if you want to experience Philadelphia I would suggest to look for events off campus. There are many festivals, places you can eat, galleries in Old City, concerts, and museums you can go to. Go to the website Meetup.com- Here you can find out about Book Clubs and a variety of free events that you can attend. Moore has connections with the Institute of Contemporary Art as well, so students are welcome to visit different events there. University City is a cool place to meet college kids and find diners/cafes to go to. Moore also provides students with a newsletter of events off-campus, it might take a bit of looking of where people go but its worth it!

    Food and Dining

    The the cafeteria is mandatory for all students that are living on campus. The food is average at Moore, however the chiefs and workers listen to comments and suggestions that people make about the food. Some days the food is real great however other days sometimes there is not too much choice. Dinner hours range from 5-7pm on school days and on weekends 5-6pm, if a student wants more choice for meals it is smart to come right when the cafeteria opens. There is a long line of students however it is worth it because the food is fresh

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Moore is fun and exciting. The students at Moore have to apply for housing, however if you are new to the school there is no need to work about roommates. The head of student services selects which students should room with each other, however they match people based on personalities and interests. There are two dorm buildings Stahl and Sartain. Stahl is a double dorm-style and Sartian is single dorm-style. If you want to get to know people and make new friends, Stahl is preferable. Student Services provides each floor with an RA (Residence Assistant) and there are many RDs (Residence Directores) that also live in the buildings. These people are student at Moore and are their to create a sense of community on each floor.It is really enjoyable because each floor is like a family and majority of the people that live on campus are friendly. The RAs also do cool, artsy events which is fun for students to meet people

    Academic Rigor

    Moore College of Art and Design is highly focused on academics. That is the number one most important part of Moore. At Moore a student has options to choose from a variety of Majors and minors in Liberal and Studio concentrations. Moore has a strong Fine Arts major, and this major allows student to choose which focus they want to have in their work. It is a flexible major with a variety of electives to choose from. It is a major that is self-directed. This school will suit individuals who are women with strong personalities and highly focused and interested in pursuing a career in the arts. It is important for students to be self-motivated and driven.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to National Portfolio Day and listen carefully to what your advisor has to say about your artwork. Write the suggestions down and follow through with them. Apply for the Women Visionary Scholarship and the Emerging Leaders in the Arts Scholarship, apply for both of them because you could receive both of them. Try your best to visit the school and take a tour, even if you are an international student. Spend time in your AP art class and talk to your professor about which artworks should be included in your application and how you can push some of your works. Write a strong Statement of Purpose for your application

    In three sentences

    Moore College of Art and Design is a small, focused, driven college in Philadelphia, PA. Perfect for women that want a college that is highly focused on art academics and leadership. Great for students that are interested in building their art skills in personal environment.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Besides the cafeteria, which has a great selection, there's a lot of restaraunts and food carts in the area you can choose from.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely make sure you get everything in on time. Making the deadline is crucial.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school for girls interested in a career for the arts! They've helped me a lot with my application process and everyone is very open to help you there.

  • 06/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    artsy

    What to do for fun

    rave, party, and netflix

    Food and Dining

    save up money to eat else where.

    Dorm Life

    Lets just say i got luck with my roommate, but the RAs try to be as active and fun as possible.

    Academic Rigor

    Right on task with their academic programing

    Tips for prospective students

    time management is very important. make time for studies and fun, but never one more than the other.

    In three sentences

    Its a great school. Very resourceful. Love the artistic flow.

  • 06/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Moore is an expensive school, however, I think it is worth the price. The professors are all incredibly well versed in their respective fields. Those that teach studio classes are very talented and are practicing artists.

    Food and Dining

    For the most part, I've found the food at Moore to be pretty decent. Because it is a small school, the dining hall staff make a lot of the food fresh every day. They also try to incorporate new or less common choices. For example, sometimes they make Indian food! They always have a vegetarian option at every meal, however, the vegetarian meals can get repetitive sometimes.

    Dorm Life

    I actually haven't lived in the dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Moore are challenging. The professors constantly encourage the students to learn more and to work hard. Work loads from the majority of courses can be pretty high, however, you always have the support of your teachers and fellow students to help you pull through. In the end, the hard work is always worth it!

    In three sentences

    Moore is a tight-knit community of faculty, staff, and students. It is a great place to expand your artistic abilities and discover new talents. The small size of the school helps each student feel like an individual, rather than a number.