Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Moorpark College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I have many friends who have left their dream schools and came back to go to Moorpark College because they weren't prepared. Moorpark College WILL PREPARE YOU! Not to mention it one of the top community colleges in California. Also, UCs prefer students from community colleges because they are clear on what they want as well as having their GE completed. It is well worth your time.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are not sure what you want to do as a career, GO HERE. You can get all of your GE done before you transfer. Including most of the time people change their majors at UCs or Universities anyways, however it is much harder at those schools to do it.

    Bang for the buck

    Around 500 dollars a semester, who can beat that honestly? I am paying my way easily with a part time job. If you dont have a job, there is financial aid everywhere. Money is no comparison for the experience.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the atmosphere. Clean campus, great cafeteria food, and the counselors want you to get to whatever college you want to transfer to.

    Am learning a lot

    Great teachers! Most of whom have been in the professional world. There are tons of interesting classes as well!

  • 01/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great if you have little money or know you want to transfer to the UC/Cal State.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to save money, GO TO MOORPARK. However, if you plan on transferring to a private school, check their transfer agreements before signing up for classes. Also, know the CRN numbers before the sign-up dats. Do choir; Vail Keck is a wonderful professor. Take a philosophy class with Janic Daurio; brilliant woman.

    Bang for the buck

    15 Units? Less than $1000 dollars. Yes. Bang for the buck, indeed.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's in a beautiful area, but I personally don't like the feel of it. It's just a personal things. Nice professors though.

    Am learning a lot

    Most of the teachers are quiet knowledgeable and have a good grasp of their subject matter.

  • 07/07/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone just out of High School, not ready to decide what you want to do yet, but not ready to sit around doing nothing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't skip classes!

    Bang for the buck

    Community College. Obviously, it's not the expensive, especially if you qualify of the BOGG Waiver through your FAFSA.

    Did enjoy being here

    Smaller Community College, less people, aesthetically pleasing campus...what's not to like?

    Did learn a lot

    Great teachers, they know their stuff really well 99 percent of the time.

  • 10/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Always go to class. After all, you have to go here. Also, the library is your friend. It is possible to transfer in 2 years, you just have to be smart, and use the resources available to you. Talk to counselors about your academic goals to better plan out what classes to take each semester. You can do it, you just have to try!

    Bang for the buck

    The quality of education here is the same as that of a university, but for alot less. You can save so much money by finishing your general education requiremtns here, then transferring to a 4 year school.

    Am enjoying being here

    If you attended a nearby high school, it somewhat feels like you never left because you're surrounded by kids you just went to school with. However, it is a nice campus.

    Am learning a lot

    Most of the teacher really know their subject. Moorpark gets a bad reputation because its a community college, but its better than most think. Teachers here are required to have their bachelor's degree to be employed. The bad reputation is from the students who slack off and don't work hard. Moorpark has a high transfer rate to 4 year schools.

  • 11/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ANY students wanting a job in the animal career field. Anything from zoo employees, to dolphin trainers. Studio sets, to Disney World's Animal Kingdom or Animal Planet. Some even go to endangered animal research and conservation in other countries! Of course some have even gone on to become vets, however this program is more geared towards training and/or husbandry, thus it is not the most direct route to becoming a vet.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning on attending the EATM program, be sure to go to the website moorparkcollege.edu/zoo to ensure you complete the prerequisites for the program before applying. If you are ready to apply, good luck with the lottery-based admittance. Otherwise, to those who get in- congrats! Don't be late to anything, study hard especially for Gary Wilson tests, and above all, enjoy it! :)

    Bang for the buck

    I have a decent price, about $600/semester. However, it can get real pricey, real quick for non-residents! Be sure to try to move in-state a year in advance to try to avoid the high out-of-state costs while you are in the program (if your goal is the EATM program).

    Am enjoying being here

    Since I love animals and am in the program with animals, I enjoy every moment of my 13 hour days at the zoo.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently enrolled in a special part of Moorpark College- the Exotic Animal Training and Management program. There is a zoo on campus (yes and actual zoo, with 100+ animals), and students in the program run the zoo while maintaining their education. I have indeed learned so much about my future in an animal career, and am still expecting to learn so much more within the next year!

  • 12/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    It's a great place to explore career possibilities and get general education out of the way.

    Am learning a lot

    I am getting my general education out of the way.

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    it costs under $50 per unit. also some of the majors can give you an edge later on when employeers consider hiring you. you can interact more with elements of your future career here at moorpark college than you could if you only went to a four-year college.

    What to do for fun

    there is a really nice hill side near the music building that a lot of students love to sit on.

    Food and Dining

    i have never eaten at the cafe on campus, but i've never heard anything bad. there is a subway restaurant just down the street.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms. you can either live at home or find someone renting out rooms for students.

    Academic Rigor

    most professors expect you to do your best and to study. a few professors, however, provide so much extra credit or make things so easy that you could practically sleep through the semester and still get an a.

    Tips for prospective students

    sign up early for classes, and show up on the first day and consistently for the next two weeks for classes you are waitlisted for or want to get into. be careful of professors who use intimidation or anger to push their own ideologies on students. get there extra early the first two weeks of classes to find parking.

    In three sentences

    moorpark college is a relaxing campus with some friendly people. it's easy to forget about the city with all the wildlife on campus and the beautiful scenery. there are people from different religions, spiritualities, and ideologies here(some of them bizarre and weird); sometimes the professors are very open and vocal about their own philosophies, which can either be good or bad.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    police help you with car incidents, or if the teacher locked the kids out on accident. cameras were installed recently.

    Bang for the buck

    moorpark college is super cheap! its so worth going to a community college and then transferring. you save money doing your ge's at community colleges. thats a fact. you will do better in a 4 year.

    What to do for fun

    my friend always have events in los angles he has a group that dj's and promotes japanese culture. i go to those when i'm not studying.

    Food and Dining

    the food here is decent. i find myself packing my own lunches or driving down the street for subway. eat fresh

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    even though people say its a community college, the level of studying is the same as any other college. it boils down to the professor that takes the time and puts in the effort to teach to their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    when you start college be prepared to focus on your homework and do reading on your own.

    In three sentences

    moorpark college is a life changing experience. the professors teach with passion. a lot of friendly students and staff.

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a club!

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is pretty good for breakfast and lunch, but a little pricey.

    Dorm Life

    This is generally not applicable because it is a commuter school.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't expect an easy A in your Math and Sciences; you're truly tested on your performance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes early. They fill up early due to recent budget cuts

    In three sentences

    This institution provides the necessary resources to prepare college students for transfer or any other career path they wish to pursue. The faculty provides the necessary challenges to incite students' thinking. It is an invaluable stepping block to a four-year university.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    classes are hard to get at every school, you are no the only one. work hard and fight for what you believe in.

    In three sentences

    i have actually enjoyed my time at this college. i am currently attending other colleges as well and despite all the budget cuts, moorpark college has more students still fighting and teachers as well for classes to be given back.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe, clean campus.

    Greek Life

    no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many different types of clubs and sports you can participate in here.

    Great for these types of students

    great for students who are just looking to complete their aa or those who want to transfer to a 4-year institution. moorpark has so many different programs to help transfer students. lots of guidance and help provided here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none.

    Bang for the buck

    very cheap. community college is the smartest financial decision you can make. same education you would get at an expensive university for the first two years and you can always transfer afterwards.

    What to do for fun

    not much of a social aspect to any community colleges, but there are still clubs, activities, and events you can participate in.

    Food and Dining

    cafeteria food is decent but expensive. luckily, there are plenty of other restaurants and fast food nearby to the campus that can be alternatives.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic rigor all depends on the amount of units you take, the teachers you get, and the type of classes you register for. based off my own experiences, some classes are extremely easy, while others are more challenging. however, it is all very manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    definitely register at midnight the day you need to register, and check out teachers on ratemyprofessor.com in order to help make decisions. use all the resources available to you: counselors, orientation, transfer center, et cetera.

    In three sentences

    as far as community colleges go, moorpark is a great choice. definitely not nearly as crowded as other local community colleges. provides a variety of different classes, interests, and guidance.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    That's not a fun question...(lol). Actually, going to school has been fun. Goin out with friends and family, spending time with our daughter and her mother, go to the beach, watch movies...

    Food and Dining

    Food is adequate. Pretty close to food and dining accomodations. Food and dining within 1/4 - 1/2 mile form school and more selections within 1-5 miles.

    Dorm Life

    Would not know. I live off campus with my daughter.

    Academic Rigor

    Pretty strong. There is a real focus on the student's success. A very nice change from previous experiences.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start early, stay persistent, do not be afraid to ask for help. Most staff are very friendly and accomodating.

    In three sentences

    So far my experience has been very rewarding. Good teachers, good courses, helpful staff and general all around feel good atmosphere. I would definitely recommend this community college as a 1st choice and solid option if you can find the courses approporiate for your career path.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the library and get work done between classes. Or drive home when you are done for the day. Is community college meant to be fun?

    Food and Dining

    Moorpark College is closing their cafeteria next semester, so this will not be an option.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Although it varies with subject, overall, the effort that Moorpark courses require is definitely more demanding than high school. As a science major, science lectures and labs can be very time consuming if you want to excel.

    Tips for prospective students

    As soon as you know what you want to major in, go straight to a counselor and figure out an educational plan. As a science major, I had an extensive list of courses to complete prior to transfer, so I have remained at Moorpark an additional year. The sooner you figure it out, the sooner you'll be able to transfer.

    In three sentences

    Moorpark College is a good college for people on a budget. It allows you to complete transferable courses that ease your way into a four-year university. Going to community college has prepared me better for a university rather than going straight out of high school.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students interested in animal behavior. Apply for the Exotic Animal Training and Management program.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent and the cafeteria staff are so friendly.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The subjects and instructs challenge us to think outside the box and to change our way at looking at the world. You will gain valuable critical thinking skills and learn ways to challenge yourself even after you leave school.

    Tips for prospective students

    To students who are currently looking into this school I would highly recommend it. Not only does it offer numerous degree and transfer opportunities but it makes college affordable in these rough economic times.

    In three sentences

    Moorpark College is an excellent school to in order to get a well rounded education. With so many course and learning styles to choose from you can get your degree at your own pace and in the manner that works best for you. Moorpark College is a home away from home.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Moorpark College has many different types of clubs and activities to join and participate in throughout the school year.

    What to do for fun

    Moorpark College has a zoo that everyone can visit and they carry many exotic animals.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has recently closed down although there is a shopping center close by with many wonderful places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    This does not apply although the city of Moorpark is a very beautiful and safe city.

    Tips for prospective students

    It may be hard to get into the classes you need, but if you are persistent and patient you will get what you need. I would make sure to take advantage of the free helpful resources that they offer at Moorpark College. Such as the writing center and the tutoring center.

    In three sentences

    Moorpark College is a great school with a great staff that is always willing to help. Although it is tough to get into classes you need when you are in a class the focus is on your success. I have enjoyed attending this school and believe that the staff here are the reason I am excelling in school.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    College is very Safe!

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Some good clubs, and also has a Gay, Straight Alliance

    Great for these types of students

    Exotic Animal Management

    Bang for the buck

    Counselling is sub par, Parking is tough.

    What to do for fun

    Visit the Moorpark College Zool

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria closed due to budget cuts.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are fair and vary knowledgeable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to register for classes early before they fill up!

    In three sentences

    Moorpark College is a decent school with a nice Campus. Parking can be tough and with budget cuts it limits the amount of Classes that are available. Counseling is not the best part of this school, it is hard to get an appointment and when you do there is little advice.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    How can you beat $46 a unit?

    What to do for fun

    What do you do at a community college? It's not like a university with the campus life, so I can't really say.

    Academic Rigor

    From the two classes I have taken, it's a good start towards college. Challenges you and prepares you for upper division classes.

    In three sentences

    Moorpark College is a good place to take a step towards advancing your education. The campus is nice and clean with facilities that students should find advantageous. Academics from what I have experienced, will challenge you for pursing your degree.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I don't eat at the cafeteria: I bring my own lunch. But from what I hear, they have a decent selection of food.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the professors are former University professors, so you can expect to have some university-level courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Parking is sometimes a challenge, make sure to arrive extra early!

    In three sentences

    Overall a great school. Has excellent professors and a wide range of subjects to choose from. The campus itself is very nice and pleasant.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    VERY SAFE. Ive always felt safe on campus. Even after my late classes that got out at 10pm

    Greek Life

    they do have one greek life group on campus that they advertise.

    Clubs and Activities

    they have so many different activities you can get involved in and help out with is nice. Especially for a community college.

    Great for these types of students

    dedicated and actrually trying to get your education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the starbuck right by campus is a great place for study groups. the library doesn't have good hours AT ALL! BUT fountain hall opens early like around 6 if your looking for a good place to study!

    Bang for the buck

    higher than other community colleges but worth it! I rather go here than go to pierce of any other valley college!

    What to do for fun

    go to the on campus ZOO or go to the theater. there are often performances.

    Food and Dining

    good food options.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    very good, challenging but not too much where you can't handle it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely would go recommend the school to other students. The library doesn't have good hours it opens at 8am and closes at 8pm and closed weekends and fridays. Kind of frustrating.

    In three sentences

    Moorpark is a very pretty school. The teachers are good and I feel like the educational standards are pretty high.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards and even police bungalows on campus. I see police cars patrolling on a daily basis, and have not heard of any events that would make me think that my safety at this school is compromised.

    Clubs and Activities

    I hear about clubs and other activities, however am unable to join them due to the everyday challenges of being a nursing student.

    Great for these types of students

    Moorpark College is great for students who are willing to put in the time for a excellent education on a budget.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a zoo for exotic animal training on the upper side of the campus. We went there once during a walk with our instructors. I believe we took a picture beside a giant tortoise.

    Bang for the buck

    I cannot speak anymore highly about Moorpark College and its instructors. They will do everything in their power to make sure that you understand the material. The financial aid/scholarship offices and its staff are a great resource in terms of applying for grants and scholarships. They are quick to help and will make sure you will have all the support that you need.

    What to do for fun

    During break, one of our instructors have walks around the campus. My friends and I as well as other students join this instructor on her walks and we would be able to talk freely about class material, clinical experiences, beautiful weather and life.

    Food and Dining

    Moorpark College has a large cafeteria. They offer food that is both healthy or not and cold or hot. There is a wide variety of snacks and beverages from vending machines and fridges.

    Academic Rigor

    Whether you are a straight A student or not, you will be challenged. On every level. All the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    I am currently a nursing major, and my cohorts and I are extremely lucky that Moorpark has received the funding needed to upgrade its Health Sciences buildings. If you are majoring in nursing, EMT or radiology, Moorpark College is the way to go. Instructors genuinely want you to succeed and with the most up to date equipment including breathing manikins, there is no reason not to.

    In three sentences

    Located in Ventura County, California, Moorpark College is a beautiful and pristine campus. Instructors are knowledgeable in their subjects and are willing to put the effort and time into making sure the students are well prepared in exams, making their path to success tangible. I love everything about this campus!

  • 08/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Cool teaching zoo on campus, you and your family can visit any weekend for only $5.

    Food and Dining

    cool cafe, with tons of food options from pizza to sushi and cappuccino.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms at this school

    Academic Rigor

    Great variey of professors, from laid back and alternative to strict and by the book.

    Tips for prospective students

    Many great classes and professors but you must register as soon as your registration date is, because the fill up so fast sometimes waiting a day or two and you can't get the class you want/need.

    In three sentences

    Great learning environment, with many new buildings and clean campus. Many great professors and counselors. excellent teaching zoo and nursing program.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    nothing really happens here besides a couple car accidents, mainly police just sitting behind signs causing them

    Clubs and Activities

    none in moorpark

    Bang for the buck

    el tapatio is a good mexican place to eat as well as kiku for sushi

    What to do for fun

    nothing

    Food and Dining

    some nice places near by off the freeway

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    its alright

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy your passes online to avoid hassle, make sure to come early to get parking, and make sure you leave your windows down a bit to avoid the heat here

    In three sentences

    Moorpark is okay, it has a nice environment, but to many police harassing students. It needs more parking spaces for students. Accessing the my.vcccd.edu needs to be worked on a lot as well as the financial aide processing

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The large number of campus police that are seen both walking and driving around, along with the emergency phones, make myself feel much more safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students.

    Bang for the buck

    Even with the prices of education continuously rising, moorpark does it's part with the book buy back programs.

    What to do for fun

    Moorpark offers a large array of clubs and organization to fill any free time.

    Food and Dining

    I doubted how good the food would taste as it is generally students working, but i was very surprised. I eat there more than I would like to. :)

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all the opportunities available for you. Such as the tutoring in the library and the counselor who make every effort to aid in improving your studies.

    In three sentences

    Moorpark College is a great environment with a beautiful campus. Moor importantly, it offers a large selection of classes with both knowledgeable and helpful professors. I came here unsure of how to move forward and with their help, I am looking forward to a brighter future.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has security. Parking-lots are well lit at night, except for the one near the observatory. Have never felt uneasy on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Animal Science Nursing Sports Therapy

    Bang for the buck

    Great classes and professors. Well worth the time and money.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten on campus but there are a number of places just off of the campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes transfer to top class universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register as early as you can, classes can be difficult to get into.

    In three sentences

    All the professors I have had have been great. The classes are challenging and interesting. The only college with am exotic animal training and management program.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great.

    Greek Life

    I do not think there is any greek life on this community college campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    What to do for fun

    Just a community college.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get all your classes cleared ASAP because registration gets hectic and crowded online, since so many people try to register at one time.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school. The campus is beautiful, the teachers are great, and the people are nice. I am very happy going to this community college, as it is one of the best.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safety is great, they have police on campus always, buttons you can push around campus if you need assistance

    Clubs and Activities

    many different types of clubs all over campus

    Bang for the buck

    it is fairly cheap and good education

    What to do for fun

    you can go on a computer in the library, sit in a grass field, play tennis, golf, go in the gym, work out.

    Food and Dining

    on campus there are vending machines only, right down the street there is a McDonalds and a few other restaurants

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    get there early to find parking, drive carefully, don't be afraid to talk to the girls most of them are friendly.

    In three sentences

    moorpark college is a great campus. parking is terrible here. very many attractive females for all the men!

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our own campus police, who patrol all the time. Plenty of night lighting for the campus and the parking lots, and cameras as well. Also, there are emergency phones in each parking lot.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many many clubs, and many campus activities(such as multi-cultural day, club rush, blood donations, etc.)

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any type of students, part time, full time, decided, undecided. It's a good college to start out in and get your feet wet with that first degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No, not really.

    Bang for the buck

    Moorpark college is VERY cheap, even for a community college. It's currently $36 a unit, not that bad. And most people not living with their parents can qualify for the BOG waiver. The campus is clean and safe, the teachers are top dollar, and the courses offered are relevant toward all majors.

    What to do for fun

    Moorpark is almost int he middle of Ventura County. One can got to the Simi Valley, Thousand Oaks, or Ventura malls. OR you can go to the beach, drive to Fillmore for dirt bike riding, visit the family farms with petting zoos, go to the movies(they have a $3 theater in Simi Valley), etc.

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria, just vending machines(due to budget cuts it was done away with) But there are many restaurants and fast food places in the surrounding area.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. Students either live with parents or off campus. However, the surrounding area is a great place to live.

    Academic Rigor

    Moorpark College is challenging, but the teachers are so helpful that you barely even notice. The classes are fun and usually engaging, and the faculty is passionate about what they do, and extremely knowledgeable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always check your teachers, you don't want to end up with that ONE TEACHER that most people don't connect with. Also, make a counselor appointment every semester to keep yourself on track with classes.

    In three sentences

    They have wonderful teachers and counselors, for the most part. Their classes are very diverse and they offer a wide variety. And their campus is very easy to navigate.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is will lit at night. Campus police are always available. Parking enforcement is also present.

    Greek Life

    None that I am aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different organizations on campus. Also the Associated Student Association is very great for the students. There are also sports teams on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    For students needing assistance with study skills, there is an ACCESS program. There are also accommodations for students with disabilities. Also a great campus for commuter students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    October is domestic violence awareness, so the Campus is having events all this month to promote awareness. The Red Cross Blood Mobile is on campus at least once a month. Most clubs and organizations give back to charities.

    Bang for the buck

    Even with the tuition cost going up an additional $10 per units, it is a great price for a great education. Parking permits are $2.00 per day, which is not bad. There are always other 4 year colleges coming to campus to talk to students.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, most students hand out at Fountain Hall or on the lawns on campus. There are restaurants and coffee shops close to campus. Also there is a Teaching Zoo on campus if you need a break from classes!

    Food and Dining

    No more full-service cafeteria since this semester (probably due to California's Budget Cuts) so now you can purchase pretty much anything from all of the new vending machines they installed.

    Academic Rigor

    I have learned so much from my classes, they were not easy, but that is the best way to learn. Most all of my classes make full use of current technology for example: access all class information, use overheads with their computer to give PowerPoint Presentations. All of the professors seem to be very available to their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    The first few weeks of each semester, parking is crowded, so get there early. The library & Fountain Hall are great places to study. On Fridays, there a few classes, and everything closes early.

    In three sentences

    I think this is a great campus with a lot of newer buildings. The Professors are availalbe, and willing to help their students. Wish they didn't close the cafeteria & go to all vending machines.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 63

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I have had an excellent experience at this college. I would recommend joining clubs and being active on campus. I love this college!

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Students can go visit the Zoo on campus on the weekends and see all of the amazing animals they have. There is a numerous about of clubs to join.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest you look up ratings for the teachers of the classes you are interested in can be very helpful if you like a specific teaching style.

    In three sentences

    This college has a great learning environment. There are so many great ways to get help or tutoring. The staff at Moorpark college are very kind and helpful.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No Greek life.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs and cool classes offered at Moorpark College! The art practicals are fun, because you get to sketch the school, and the variety of clubs has something for everyone's interests.

    Food and Dining

    This past year, the cafeteria was essentially removed.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    For those students considering attending Moorpark College, I would suggest knowing what general area of study you would lie to pursue to use your time at Moorpark efficiently. But even if you don't know going in, like me, I was able to find it by taking classes from the wide range of subjects offered.

    In three sentences

    Moorpark College is a great place to begin your college education. Even with all of the current economic troubles, getting classes has never been a problem. Moorpark offers a great variety of classes and wonderful professors.

  • 11/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police officers have an on campus office. The police officers are often seen patrolling the grounds on foot as well as in a squad car. Their presence provides safety assurance.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life on campus except for a couple of small fraternity groups that are specifically for students interested in a certain major like accounting for example.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus. Every new semester their is a club fair put on by each of the clubs to attract to members. There are clubs relating to different religions, educational majors, hobbies, and much more. They are all organized well having a chairman for each club and also a teacher advisor to each club. No matter how obscure your desire might be they have a club for it.

    Great for these types of students

    Art majors can enjoy a great ceramics department that includes a large ceramics room and fully operational kiln. Anybody looking to be in the animal training program should go to Moorpark for it's zoology program and for it's on campus zoo. There is a great radioloy program that hosts professional equipment that radiology majors should take advantage of. Moorpark has a child development center that is a great resource for students interested in child psychology or other professions that work with children.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One unique aspect of Moorpark College is that their is a lion on campus. The lion is in the on campus zoo where it is studied by students in the exotic animal training Moorpark, or EATM for short. In the early morning hours on campus, one can hear not a rooster welcoming the sunrise, but howler monkeys greeting the new day. Another fantastic location on campus is the library. The library is the heart of the campus and it sits on top of a hill. The library has three different floors, filled with books, computers and learning resources for students. The third floor of the library has a wall made out of windows so that as you study you can take a break and peer out to see the beautiful mountain landscape. It is an amazing view. As for traditions, the biggest one is having multicultural day once a year. This is a day when when the campus erupts with exotic culture and knowledge being spread throughout the grounds. Different speakers come to talk in classrooms about a wide range of fun and exciting topics like origami, beer, storytelling, religious studies, and many more. Musical performances are on going on the quad. The artists include choirs, steel drum players, and expert percussionists. The music is breathes life into the event that people can enjoy listening to while trying exotic foreign foods from the food vendors that come. This is a spectacular tradition.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is affordable for most students, but does in fact get a little bit higher each and every year. For students facing financial issues trying to go to school at Moorpark, help is provided through the financial aid office on campus. Students can go to the office for information and other types of help for paying for college.

    What to do for fun

    Movie nights are held on campus on a weekly basis, showing popular recently released movies along with classics as well. The movies are played in the Forum, an auditorium with many comfortable seats and a large screen. Moorpark has a great performing arts program that ranges from acting performances to choir performances. For each of these performances their is always a performance that is for students only to view that is for free.

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines are located all across campus containing popular snacks and beverages. The campuses cafeteria is not run by people but by machines. There are over eight large vending machines in the entrance to the cafeteria. These larger vending machines house artisan sandwiches, pastas, and salads that are tasty and good for the health conscious. getting food from these machines makes you feel like you have been sprung into the future. The entrance of the cafeteria leads to the dining area that consists of many movable tables and chairs. This area is indoors making it a popular spot on very hot days and on very cold days. Alternatives to the cafeteria include a plethora of different big name eateries. A Subway, Starbucks, McDonald's, Frozen Yogurt and many more are right next to the campus and become popular places to go in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for this community college. The college is in a residential area. If students are coming to the school from far distances then they have the option at staying at the close surrounding apartment complexes.

    Academic Rigor

    Students will receive an excellent education here, but one that they will have to work for. The work load varies from class to class. Overall the classes are not so difficult failure is inevitable, but at the same time A's for grades are not handed out to students who do not work for them. All teachers are willing to help students during class and almost all teachers have office hours in which students can come to them for help outside the classroom hours. If special needs for students are required then the ACCESS program is on campus to help with anything from taking notes for students to interpreting lectures to students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to Moorpark College as soon as you can. Find out online when you are able to start applying. Do this fast so that you will be able to find out your registration date for classes. Do not wait to the last minute to register for classes. The website will give you your registration date depending on certain aspects of your life. Special needs students, veterans, athletes and others will have more of a priority when first registering for classes, above new and other continuing students. Since new students have later registration date than other special case or continuing students by the time their registration date occurs, classes have already started to fill up. The registration date starts at midnight on the day you are able to register and many people already have the classes they want to take in mind so when midnight strikes they simply put in the CRN number of the class they wish to take. This gives the student the best opportunity to get the classes they wish to take.

    In three sentences

    If your looking for a beautiful campus that is home to countless fantastic teachers then Moorpark College is the place for you. The Professors are highly qualified and many of them are practicing members of what they teach. Navigating through the enrolling process for the school and registering for class is made easy by the exceptional office staff and user friendly online service.

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security always on the watch. I haven't heard of any horrific crimes.

    Greek Life

    I don't know personally about the Greek Life but I do know their are academic programs at Moorpark.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many great clubs and things students can get involved with.

    Great for these types of students

    Responsible students that are willing to learn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The zoo is very unnusual but adds character to our school.

    Bang for the buck

    You will save a lot of money going to Moorpark college and then transferring to a four year university.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of clubs to join and the zoo program is amazing!

    Food and Dining

    Small cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This depends on the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is not like highschool. Your teachers and parents wont be on top of you to get work done. You have to be prepared to do it on your own.

    In three sentences

    Moorpark college is a great school. The professors are all helpfull and kind. The students attending moorpark are there to learn.

  • 12/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus seems to be pretty safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    The college needs more.

    Bang for the buck

    Community colleges are much cheaper than universities.

    What to do for fun

    The college has many class opportunities for exercising.

    Food and Dining

    Food is limited to vending machines and microwaves. There are some local restaurants in town, though.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the class, the curriculum may or may not be difficult. Professors do encourage reading from the textbook which is always a benefit for studious integrity. While the professors encourage hard work, they are also focused on your general comprehension of the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find ways to get involved and improve the college life. College life is not just about academics, it is about fulfilling your potential and placing your mark in the world while you are at your peak. Start clubs, volunteer, and finds ways to help the community.

    In three sentences

    The college is nice and homely. The professors care very much about their students. There are some student activities available, but there should be more.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cops all over the place.

    Clubs and Activities

    None worth mentioning.

    Great for these types of students

    Pretty much anyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Check out the stairwell of the drama building.

    Bang for the buck

    Can't beat community college.

    What to do for fun

    Smoke

    Food and Dining

    vending machines

    Academic Rigor

    see previous

    Tips for prospective students

    Be less stoned than everyone else, you'll do alright.

    In three sentences

    It's crowded. Everyone is stoned. Talk to the iphone.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    HAHA good luck, not much to do for college students. Find a local club or hang out at strabucks.

    Food and Dining

    Typical fast food and local dining. Travel a little south and be close to higher end dining if thats what you want

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, but surrounding areas are great

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are on par with classes offered at a four-year university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up early as classes fill quickly. And leave yourself plenty of time to get to class, the parking situation is tight.

    In three sentences

    My interactions with faculty have been out-standing. The professors are there for the students who want to take advantage of extra help. Beautiful campus as well

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have only ever seen Campus patrol in the parking lots, and in the streets surrounding the school. Mostly, they are in place to give out tickets, so be careful about your driving and parking when you're around the campus. I have heard the common complaint of campus theft, but this is a problem that ails every college campus, I believe, and if you take care of your possessions, you will not have a problem.

    Greek Life

    Moorpark College does not offer Greek life.

    Great for these types of students

    For students who are hoping to transfer to a top-notch school and are looking for a quality, affordable place to get their general education out of the way, Moorpark College is the go-to college. For me personally, Moorpark was a great place for me to figure out what I wanted to do with the rest of my college career, in terms of what major I would pursue, and has had a huge impact on my future.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a junior college, Moorpark is affordable, and I have never felt as though I have wasted any money here. Parking permits are a relatively cheap $50, individual classes do not require exorbitant extra expenses, and classes are worth it.

    What to do for fun

    I know that many student organizations have been created here to attract like-minded people, and that some of them offer group activities. Moorpark College is not in the most bustling of cities, so it is hard to say whether or not there really is anything fun to do at Moorpark College itself.

    Food and Dining

    I, personally, cannot testify to the quality of the dining at Moorpark. All I can say is that there is a Subway, a McDonald's, and a Starbucks down the street, and that during finals, free coffee is available at the student center, and that's all been enough to get me through my time here.

    Dorm Life

    Moorpark College does not offer housing to its students.

    Academic Rigor

    This varies from professor to professor, but I have found that, at Moorpark, I am most definitely challenged, but not pushed to the brink of sanity, by my classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Moorpark with an open mind. This is your time to take classes that have nothing to do with your major, and learn about things that you may not get a chance to learn later in your college career.

    In three sentences

    Moorpark College is underrated by a lot of the locals in my community, if only because it is a junior college, and not UCLA. I came to Moorpark from a four-year college with low expectations, and in my first semester, I learned more than I had ever dreamed I could. My professors have been passionate, the courses have been rigorous and intellectually stimulating, and the overall experience has made me reevaluate my academic goals.

  • 01/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The Honors Program looks great on apps and keeps you active.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're a good student, but just can't afford a university yet. Go to MC, and transfer.

    Bang for the buck

    Save a couple thousand dollars on lower division classes and general ed? Yes, please.

    Food and Dining

    No real cafeteria, but there are many places to grab a bite to eat in the vicinity.

    Academic Rigor

    Just because it isn't a university, doesn't mean there aren't hard classes that will get you thinking and studying hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Map out your plan for what classes you will be taking during your stay at MC, even if you're not 100% sure what you want to do with your future. AND USE ASSIST.ORG!

    In three sentences

    Great college for students with UC grades, but CC money.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The one downside. No real cafeteria just vending machines.

    Academic Rigor

    Such a wide variety of classes that they will challenge you if needed or assist you if desired.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make an appointment right away with a counselor they are an awesome resource.

    In three sentences

    This is a great community college! The support services for students is outstanding. Great variety of classes.

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police station on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the library, quad, out dining area of the student center..

    Food and Dining

    Swapped out cafeteria with vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    No residence halls

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty ranges depending on the classes you take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to transfer within 2 years max

    In three sentences

    Like high school. Not very helpful. Needs to renovate the campus.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    There's helpful teachers in the library who give free math and writing tutoring to any student. The school is clean and organized.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small kitchen on campus, but almost everyone leaves campus to drive somewhere local for lunch.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip that I have is to relax, because there is nothing to be scared of when attending this school. The students are laid back and nice. This school will help you develop into a university student.

    In three sentences

    This college has a very nice atmosphere because the school sits on a hill that overlooks the surrounding landscape. The teachers are there to help you and will stop what they're doing to listen. The school is very clean and is easy to get around in.

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are campus police patrol cars all over the entire school and a lot of stop signs.

    Greek Life

    minority

    Clubs and Activities

    sports teams available

    Great for these types of students

    low income, hectic schedules

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    you can park on the grass field when you cannot find any other spots.

    Bang for the buck

    this school is definetly affordable.

    What to do for fun

    the excecise classes are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    register as soon as you can for classes, do not procrastinate

    In three sentences

    It is a great starting point for students from low income families. The campus is well kept. There are options provided to accomidate students with all different schedules.

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There are cameras everywhere and campus police patrols very often.

    Greek Life

    I am not apart of the Greek Life and I don't believe there is any sort of greek life at the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of different clubs and lots of different activities going on constantly. There are things for every type of person.

    Great for these types of students

    Since the campus is not overly big it is good for students who don't like crowded places or intimate learning environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are these booths that are set up on Wednesdays that I know of. The booths sell many different types of things, jewelry, glasses, and bags sometimes.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is very average, it is not that expensive at all. Definitely getting what you need for a good cost.

    What to do for fun

    There are lot of nice accomodations at the school like a huge library, and fountain hall is very nice to relax in. There are big fields of grass to do many different things on.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good. They have vending machines with hot and cold foods and they are delicious. The food is also not very pricey.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay at a dorm, and I don;t believe there is a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the professor some give quite a bit of work while others just have classwork. Overall, it is not overly strenuous but you are not always just sitting around.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you check all the dates when applying for classes. I suggest you stay up until the midnight opening of the adding classes because they fill quickly.

    In three sentences

    It is a small beautiful campus. There are a lot of great courses available. The professors are good and very helpful.

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security 24/7

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports and leadership and fun clubs like creating value for others by providing our service to them.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to obtain there zoology degree, or wants to get the general education classes out of the way

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a Zoo on campus, due to our high rankings world wide of our zoology majors.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are VERY GOOD priced.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, study abroad, or join a sports team.

    Food and Dining

    Food on campus is accessible, cheap, fast, tasty, and easy to get in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    Apartments near by are very reasonable priced and clean.

    Tips for prospective students

    Moorpark has a very easy and accessible campus, I would recommend joining a club or sports activity, and I would also recommend diving into your classes so you can get the full Moorpark experience.

    In three sentences

    The classes are very inspirational, informative, and the teachers are very willing to help and take time out of their day to assist the students. The campus is beautiful and clean and is smoke free. Lastly, extra curricular activities are abundant and healthy socialization time for students attending Moorpark College.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police and security guards on campus. Besides, the area is low in crime.

    Greek Life

    Not much of a Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many opportunies for any preference. You can even create your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students wanting to learn and better themselves.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many people like to gather in the library to study. This may not be considered unusual but it is a very popular location.

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap to attend Moorpark College and you recieve a 5 star education.

    What to do for fun

    Hangout with friends, clubs and activities, and anything you can think of in the Los Angeles area.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria was recently removed from the campus and replaced with vending machines. This is the only downside about Moorpark College. There is a subway, McDonalds, and a gas station nearby.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms but there are housing opportunities nearby. The student body is great.

    Academic Rigor

    It is very possible to obtain your most wanted dreams but how much do you want them is the question. How much are you willing to sacrifice in order to obtain your desires? Good luck!

    Tips for prospective students

    Try hard in your classes and don't give up. The more work you input into your studies, the more learning will take place. Don't pay attention to those around you. Know your own goals and do whatever it takes to obtain them.

    In three sentences

    Moorpark is a great community college and a great place for opportunity. You will learn a lot here but only if you put in the effort. The staff is excellent and the student body is full of generally nice people.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    47 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is perfect for those who want to get there general education out of the way and transfer. Don't expect to make friends, everyone comes to class and leaves. Perfect for people who work full time because the schedule of classes is convenient.

    What to do for fun

    Join every activity you can to be involved :)

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is all vending machines :(

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Parking is never easy, Get there early for your classes. Talk to a counselor about your path to success. Make sure you have every semester planned out so you know exactly what your taking when you register.

    In three sentences

    Moorpark has given me an amazing opportunity to learn from the best teachers out there. All of the classes for my major were extremely interesting and made all the difference in where I am today. I have chosen to further a career I never dreamed I would have liked.

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always see police, love to ticket for no parking permit

    Clubs and Activities

    not too sure

    Bang for the buck

    good value for the quality of education

    What to do for fun

    not very much, offer few clubs/ performances during the year

    Food and Dining

    closed cafeteria, have vending machines

    Academic Rigor

    very challenging and informative

    Tips for prospective students

    ask questions! do not try to do things yourself it is confusing but they will love to help you!

    In three sentences

    the campus is very clean and growing quickly. the teachers and students are involved and help each other grow. i would recommend this college to anyone interested in a world class education!

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Constant patrol

    What to do for fun

    Zoo on campus. Plays, music and dance recitals are all great. Nearby mall and plenty of shopping, dining, etc.

    Food and Dining

    No real cafeteria ... only upscale vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    This campus is JC and there are no dorms. Apartments and houses are nearby (walking distance) so check into renting or leasing.

    Academic Rigor

    Plenty of offerings for gen. ed.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a little hard to get the classes you need or want .... large population! The parking lots are always packed, except on weekends!

    In three sentences

    Where else do you go to school that has a real zoo? The campus is beautiful and the professors are great! I have made some sweet new friends.

  • 10/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had a problem with anything safety related when it comes to this campus. *Knock on wood*

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a small swap meet that meets in the middle of campus about once a month. It is sort of odd but it does gather all the students and grab attention as well.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is awesome. The teachers are absolutely great. The students are happy to be in school and are very motivated. I absolutely love my campus!

    What to do for fun

    Walk around, the entire area is beautiful. Get involved with school clubs and activities.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is awesome, there is plenty of food choices and coffee.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, therefore I can't review this.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are great, knowledgable and helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on track, focus and don't be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    Moorpark college is wonderful. The campus is beautiful, the teachers are very knowledgable and the students are all motivated. It really feels like I'm going to a University when I am here.

  • 11/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is extremely safe and well taken care of.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    well the sports are really fun to go check out and it a great thing to do to get to know people.

    Great for these types of students

    students who want to get a felling of college in and who aren't to sure of what to expect at a four year.

    What to do for fun

    go to one of the games of the variety of sports that the school has.

    Food and Dining

    everything is within 5 driving minutes its so cool.

    Dorm Life

    well there isn't any dorms

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are great and the instructors really put a lot into their lessons to make them interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    get out and meet everyone its a great campus with a diverse community/

    In three sentences

    Moorpark is a great campus with a wonderful atmosphere. its very diverse and everyone seems like they really want to be there. the instructors are extremely helpful and pleasant to be around.

  • 11/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have several vending machines, drink machine, coffee machines, and microwaves available to all students

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here

    Academic Rigor

    There are tons of majors available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research on what you want to major in and TALK TO A COUNSELOR! Going in straight from high school, you're not going know what you are doing. Talk to someone who does.

    In three sentences

    I think Moorpark is a great community college with a beautiful campus. They have a broad curriculum and a ton of major choices. The transfer program is actually very effective and great for students who plan to continue to a university.

  • 12/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types. Extroverts will be rewarded, great diverse group of individuals.

    Bang for the buck

    Very good school, provides an atmosphere to flourish.

    What to do for fun

    Labs, study sessions, watching other engineering classes perform experiments.

    Food and Dining

    Tasty, and slightly lacking in calories.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms that I know of

    Academic Rigor

    Rigor is dependent on the subject material. For example my computer science class is very hard and requires alot of work, so it is up to the individual stdent whether or not they want to learn more, if so the instructors will gladly guide you above and beyond.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do what you love love what you do, the community college is THE best place to find it before you transfer.

    In three sentences

    University-like in size of campus and scope of disciplines. Great staff. Hard working students and friends.

  • 12/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Moorpark is the seventh safest city in California and that goes to show you how safe Moorpark College is. There are campus police working around the clock to ensure the safety of the students. There are very watchful counselors, students, and police to ensure the students feel safe and protected at all times.

    Greek Life

    The greek life is unusual and well developed. I enjoy sharing open ideas with other students. Moorpark is the perfect place for any aspiring student.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is the math club as well as the chess club. For the more athletic students there are many sports clubs such as baseball,soccer, and football. Clubs are open year round and enable those at the school to continuously participate in activities they enjoy.

    Great for these types of students

    For the energetic , determined, and outgoing students. Moorpark is a good place for all students and allows anyone to thrive. I am sure all characters will enjoy Moorpark.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The library is surprisingly the best location to meet friends and like minded peers. The math center is also a good place to make friends. The cafeteria is always flooded with energetic people that have bright stories to tell.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap and affordable Moorpark is one of the most economical affordable schools in California. There is an abundance of finical aid for students who are in need of help. The interactive classes give the school a university like feel allowing many students to excel in there preferred major.

    What to do for fun

    At Moorpark there is a fun and interactive zoo whose staff are local students. Also there a wide array of clubs and programs that are year round. Golf ,soccer, and baseball are just a few of the many sports Moorpark offers for a fun change of pace.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at Moorpark is out of this world. The food is excellent and the staff is friendly as can be. The wide verity of food keeps me as a student excited and always wanted more.

    Dorm Life

    There are no on campus dorms at Moorpark. It is a commuter school enabling the students that attend it to transfer to the school of your choice. Once at the university level there will be dorms that enable you to live out your full college experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are tough and teach you a lot but they are manageable. With hard work you can easily achieve high marks in all of your classes. The courses are designed to test and challenge students preparing them for the rigorous composition that is at the university level.

    Tips for prospective students

    For all future students the only advise I have is that transferring is a journey. It will take dedication, hard work, and passion. You can achieve anything you dream of you just have to put your mind to it.

    In three sentences

    Moorpark is an ideal school for any transfer student with a verity of majors to choose from. The faculty that elegantly aids the students is amongst the finest I have witness. If you have dreamt of successfully transferring to the university of your choice, Moorpark may be the best place to start.

  • 01/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    nothing

    Food and Dining

    they have some pretty good food just down the road

    Dorm Life

    they don't have dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The Classes are pretty difficult but if you create good study habits the classes are manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Create good study habits

    In three sentences

    This school is fantastic and many of the professors here truly want to see you succeed. All of my classes have been very interesting and helpful with my degree. they have a wide variety of classes and are pretty easy to get into as well.

  • 02/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is constantly patrolling and there are emergency stations all over campus that will call for help if someone is in trouble. My only complaint is my Math teacher recently informed our class that a couple of students were caught smoking crack on campus.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Moopark has plenty of clubs and activities, but many have disappeared due to recent budget cuts.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who put their academic success above their social life, students who can't afford an expensive university, and students who want to specialize in Exotic Animal Training and Management.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My favorite place to eat near campus is Custom Melt. It is a great little sandwich diner and the owner is such a nice man.

    Bang for the buck

    Moorpark College costs less than 50 dollars per unit. This college is a great way to prepare for transferring to a four year university for students who can't afford to go straight to do so.

    What to do for fun

    Some students attending Moorpark college make friends through sporting teams, academic programs, and other extracurricular activities, but most students live at home and have their own circle of friends and things to stay busy.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has been shut down due to budget cuts in California.

    Dorm Life

    This is a junior college. No on campus housing is available, but students from out of state can easily find off campus housing near by.

    Academic Rigor

    Many professors make it very easy for you to pass their class, especially if it is an intro class for GE requirements, but most lower division major prep professors take their work very seriously and challenge their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with sports and other campus activities in order to make new friends, Come early to school to get parking, and be sure to get a student id for discounts around town.

    In three sentences

    Moopark College is a wonderful college with nationally recognized programs such as their Exotic Animal Training and Management program, their nursing school, and their mathematics department. Attending Moorpark college is a great way to get a great general education on a budget, earn an associates degree, and prepare for a bachelor degree. I would recommend attending Moorpark College to anyone living in the Ventura County who are looking to better themselves academically.

  • 02/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a campus police station, and they seem really good at patrolling the whole campus, so I feel pretty safe.

    What to do for fun

    There are a few bowling places, and some movie theaters (even a discount theater in Santa Maria). There are also some really great hiking trails in multiple locations, that are really awesome. LA is not too far, and Malibu beach is about 30-45 min away.

    Food and Dining

    There is a great place right at the bottom of the hill of campus that has a Subway, McDonalds, Starbucks, Donut and bagel place, Burger express and some pizza/sandwich places. The actual cafeteria at school is all vending machines now, so the bottom of the hill can actually get you more food, fresher food, and at a cheaper price.

    Dorm Life

    There is no housing on campus, it is all off campus. There is a lot of housing right next to campus though, and I know quite a few people that will just walk or ride their bike to class. Moorpark in general has a lot of housing and apartments, and Simi Valley is 6 miles away and also has a lot of housing. It is a little expensive though, so get used to having roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    I am in the EATM program at Moorpark, so the academic rigor is very tough. I'm not sure what the classes are like outside of my particular program though, so I don't want to say all the classes are incredibly hard. It might just be the particular program that I'm enrolled in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely go to the Financial Aid office to see if you are eligible, and if a California Resident, try to see if you qualify for BOG. Also, the bookstore gets swamped as classes start, so pre-order your books early, it saves a lot of hassle. Be familiar with the layout of the campus, some classes are in weird buildings and areas, not on the main part of campus. Also, make sure you get your parking permit early, the lots are patrolled daily and tickets are not fun. Also be sure to get to the campus in enough time to get parking, and sometimes that will take a while.

    In three sentences

    It is a pretty decent community college. The teachers are pretty good, and they have lots of great sports areas like a nice track, tennis courts, baseball fields, field hockey, golf, etc. The only real negatives so far have been no swimming pool, and the parking is a mess unless you get there by 8:00 am.

  • 02/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Only vending machines. Cafeteria closed down. But there are plenty of places right near campus to grub!!!

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter so I cannot say definitely.

    In three sentences

    Moorpark is a decent sized campus, clean, and easy to navigate. I would recommend going here for commuters and to transfer after 2 years just to get your general education classes done.

  • 02/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus PD on campus at all times.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are lot of clubs on campus just got to find what your into.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working, want to learn students welcome.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheapest community colleges around with an outstanding staff.

    What to do for fun

    On campus clubs or activities.

    Food and Dining

    They recently took out the cafeteria and filled it with vending machines to cut back costs.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life really.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a great school, better than most Universities and A LOT CHEAPER!

    In three sentences

    Moorpark Community College is a great school and overall campus. I have been attending the school for the last 3 years and havenâ??t had one issue with the administration or campus at any point in time. Teachers are there for you and want you to learn, it is a great bridge school from H.S to University.

  • 03/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are little to no incidents of any sort of violence or crime on campus, and it's completely safe at night as well as day. Campus police are readily available and respond quickly to anything you could need them for.

    Clubs and Activities

    Something for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    Perfect for anyone who have not yet decided on a major or further academic goals, or anyone who struggles financially but still wants to continue their education.

    Bang for the buck

    the amount that students receive from Moorpark is much more than the small amount they pay for it!

    What to do for fun

    There's always something fun going on at Moorpark, most notably is probably the on campus teaching zoo, which is open to the public on weekends. On weekdays, clubs and activities are available on campus, and private vendors often set up booths near the student center for shopping breaks between classes.

    Food and Dining

    Unfortunately, the on campus cafeteria was closed last year due to budget constraints. Currently, food and drink is available from several vending machines around campus, offering such things as snacks, sandwiches, and instant meals.

    Dorm Life

    There are no on campus dorms at Moorpark, but plenty of housing offered in the surrounding communities.

    Academic Rigor

    The college academic policies and rules are designed to encourage the most productive learning for all students. Academic dishonesty of any kind is strictly forbidden, and deadlines and standards are reinforced as necessary to keep students on track and focused in all classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important thing a prospective student should know is how important it is to build personal relationships with your instructors. They are there to do everything that they can to assist you, and their guidance and advice will be invaluable.

    In three sentences

    Moorpark College is the perfect community school for anyone, whether you are preparing to transfer to a 4-year university, seeking an Associates degree from Moorpark, or are just looking to take some classes for self improvement. It would be very difficult to find another school with staff as dedicated to student achievement and facilities so well adjusted to do so, for such a manageable out of pocket cost. Any resources or information you could ever need or want in your college career are readily available at Moorpark for anyone committed to self excellence.

  • 04/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    61 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even better now, with the new police station opened on campus.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The zoo! I've mentioned it already, of course, but you won't find a zoo on most college campuses, and there's nothing quite like walking to class with monkeys hooting in the background.

    Bang for the buck

    The courses are cheap, as are the supplies, and the financial aid office is very helpful. There are plenty of scholarships available, and help in earning them, and with FAFSA's help, you can certainly afford to attend.

    What to do for fun

    The zoo, open on weekends, is wonderful, but there is little else on campus solely for entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    There is quite a bit nearby, but the campus itself possesses only vending machines and a student store with snacks.

    Dorm Life

    Commuter college.

    Academic Rigor

    There are honors classes offered, and even the regular courses are approached with the same rigor as would be found at a non-community college. Many professors are also employed in state schools or universities, and their teaching does not vary.

    Tips for prospective students

    Set up an appointment with the counselor at least once a semester, get an ID and take advantage of offered discounts, and sign up for college visits or appointments whenever available, if you're interested in transferring. Take Honors classes, look into Phi Theta Kappa, and be sure to stay on track of your requirements- it's important to get that degree within two years.

    In three sentences

    A wonderful school with a huge variety of classes, taught mostly by professors from state universities, only at a far more affordable cost to the student. Anyone with an interest in animals will find themselves drawn to the zoo, whether to study or sight-see. For students with disabilities, ACCESS provides great opportunities, and for those looking to transfer, the Career Transfer Center will connect you with representatives from all over the country.

  • 07/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lock down drills are in place to ensure safety, and there is a campus police station on campus. Parking lots are well-lit and equipped with emergency buttons that will alert the police immediately. I have never had an issue with safety at Moorpark College.

    Greek Life

    None, unfortunately. However, the clubs and social events on campus do try to make up for it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Moorpark offers a variety of clubs from science clubs, to debate teams, even to on-campus obstacle courses. There truly is something for everyone- and if there isn't, you have the ability to make it happen. Student life is driven by students!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to take control of their academic careers will thrive at Moorpark College. The laid back atmosphere on campus is perfect for those who have a hectic work schedule and personal life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every so often there are small boutiques set up around campus filled with jewelry, handmade bags, art posters, etc. I've always loved these because even if I weren't a potential buyer, it's always fun to peruse on the way to class. Another awesome thing that happens is after finals week, the ceramics students display and sell the work they created that semester. It's a fun way to feel part of the life on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Community college is so often the right choice for high school graduates to make. With fees included, each class costs just about $150 to take. The professors have been some of the most influential people of my life, and it's hard to believe they work at a junior college. But that's what makes Moorpark so great: the education level is exactly what you would receive at a four-year institute, but at a fraction of a cost. Moorpark college keeps my brain and wallet equally satisfied!

    What to do for fun

    With a wide selection of sports teams, clubs, and multicultural activity days, Moorpark provides each student with their own way to enjoy college life. One of the best parts of the school is their infamous Speech and Debate team. Each year, the team puts on a Night Before Nationals performance in the theater- Don't miss it! You will soon be doubled over with laughter at the comedic skill these students possess.

    Food and Dining

    There used to be a full cafeteria on campus with pretty great food, but due to budget cuts Moorpark is now refined to a wide selection of vending machine snacks. Pro Tip: Bring a lunch and enjoy it sitting on one of the beautiful grassy knolls that Moorpark has to offer.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life since it is a community college. However, the atmosphere you get on campus still has that comrade-esque vibe.

    Academic Rigor

    If you want laid back classes with easy going teachers, Moorpark can offer that. However, if you're ready to work those brain muscles and be challenged by some of the most renown professors that community colleges have to offer, Moorpark is still the school for you. Your schedule is in your own hands; find out which teachers will work best for you and make sure you are taking the right classes that will stimulate your learning goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research the classes before you sign up- the descriptions can be vague. Make a counseling appointment early so they can help you trim the fat from your schedule. It's best to go into Moorpark College having a major in mind, although be prepared to discover a different choice after taking some of the fantastic teachers.

    In three sentences

    A laid back campus with knowledgable staff that want to see you succeed. Moorpark College is the perfect campus to get started on your degree without the high-stress feelings of a four-year university. From the scenery to the classes offered, it's the right choice down your degree career path.

  • 10/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    63 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No issues

    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    everyone

    Bang for the buck

    Really nice campus.

    What to do for fun

    Sit and enjoy the campus.

    Food and Dining

    Great vending machine options.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm. I commute and it isn't the best.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a great school. I am learning a lot. Not overwhelmingly difficult, which is good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Create a schedule that works for you. Research professors so you know who's class to take.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful and quiet campus. Teachers are great and make learning fun and interesting. Best community college in the San Fernando Valley.