Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Morningside College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Morningside is a liberal arts college, but it also has great nursing and biology programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Karen in the financial aid office is amazing. She knows all of the ins and outs, so talk to her if finanical aid is important to you. Also, do well in high school. The better grades you get, the more money Morningside will give you. And, if you do go to a Celebration of Excellence Weekend, stay the night on campus. It adds to the whole experience. And, don't be nervous during your scholarship interview; it's a very easy interview.

    Bang for the buck

    Morningside is really expensive, but they give out a lot of scholarships. And, the college provides a whole lot of on campus entertainment from dances to mentalists to magacians to midnight movies. If you take advantage of the free activities on campus, you're never bored.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are only 1500 full time students. I come from a town of 500, so Morningside is the perfect size for me. IA is A LOT different from KS, but I love Morningside. It's located in Sioux City which is large enough that it takes no time to get to a certain store, but not so large as to have that good and bad side of town feel.

    Am learning a lot

    Most of my classes are a good mix of challenging and easy material. I do spend about 3 hours a day studying, but even so I find my chemisty class especially difficult. There are times, though, in all of my classes when I feel like I've learned the same information consistently for the last three years.

  • 02/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Morningside is great for any type of student. It is a Liberal Arts college and Morningside has much to offer in the aspect of classes. I have not found any reason to be disappointed with them!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest really making sure you want to attend the college you are looking at. If Morningside is your number one, then make sure you come on campus visits and stay with a student who will tell you everything you want to know. Do not be afraid to asks questions and make sure you do because Morningside is very helpful in helping you make the best decisions. They care about your well-being here on campus and that was one of the reasons I decided to attend this school.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a private institution making it more expensive than state colleges/universities but the benefit of this includes not having to pay out-of-state tuition but having a flat fee. Morningside is a pretty expensive but financial aid and scholarships on campus are great ways to help get you through without having too much debt.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love campus and the life of Morningside. I am involved in the on-campus activity group, MAC, to help set up fun things for Morningsiders to do. I love my surroundings and campus is absolutely gorgeous. I couldn't think of being anywhere else! I also sing here at Morningside, and to be completely honest the choir here is amazing. They have become part of my family and I thoroughly enjoy being a part of this fantastic group!

    Am learning a lot

    The classes I am taking have started to prepare me for my Nursing major. I took 18 credit hours my first semester and I am doing the same now. I worked hard to achieve a 3.86 GPA and this shows that Morningside's professors work hard to help you achieve your goals.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24hr Security that is well trained and the city of Sioux City has a low crime rate and the local police are great as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are to many to list out side of the sports ones. If there is some you like to do you can find it at Morningside

    Great for these types of students

    Multicultural students welcome. Some classroom size with lots of one on one help. Student success center. Any sexual orientation welcome.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Morning-side college is located on the east side of town in Sioux City Iowa it has a smaller campus but meets lots of needs. It is on the Historic records granted by Governor Brands in the 1980's

    Bang for the buck

    There are many churches within walking or a short distance from school a Methodist one on campus. Mall close by. Many parks close to campus or within walking distance.

    What to do for fun

    Movies,Bowling,Mini golf,Roller skate, Ice Skate. GO to gym on campus. Swim on campus. have speakers and comedians and many clubs to join. Also may local organizations to volunteer at.

    Food and Dining

    You can eat in the cafeteria or in the new sports area being built down stairs from cafeteria. Coffee shop in library. Restaurants close to school are: Mc Donalds,China Star Dairy Queen Jerrys Pizza, Pizza Hut Dominos Pizza Sub-Way Burger King Wendys Taco Johns

    Dorm Life

    I personally don't live in the dorms. My friends that do enjoy it. The rooms are updated and clean. The maintenance guys are great. Security is wonderful even at 10pm when your lock your keys in the car. The dorms are right on campus and you can walk to all your class'. Public bus transportation on campus as well.

    Academic Rigor

    At Morningside you are taught to think outside the box. Work hard volunteer to do anything you enjoy to do. Take the time to try new things no matter what your age.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come for a visit bring a friend and make a day of it. Ask questions and when you leave and think of a question write it down and call the school they will answer it.

    In three sentences

    Awesome school for Educators and Nursing.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like to take advantage of many opportunities, Morningside is a great option for you. As a small school, there are many groups and many chances to join groups outside your primary interest area. The more involved you are, the more bang you'll get for your buck while developing additional skills!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to visit campus, because it really is a beautiful campus full of caring people.

    Bang for the buck

    The biggest drawback of Morningside is the price. I got a great financial aid package as a freshman last year, but as tuition increases each year, the financial aid doesn't increase with it. Being charged over $1000 more than last year, I haven't noticed a $1000 value in my education.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the atmosphere here at Morningside. Professors really do get to know you and do all they can to help you succeed. I enjoy being able to stop by their offices throughout the day just to talk because they promote that.

    Am learning a lot

    I feel that my high school did a great job of preparing me for Morningside and I've been able to build off that foundation here. Most of the teachers and professors do a great job of relating course information to students, although there are always exceptions. Morningside is doing a fine job of preparing me for after college, in my opinion.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    people persons, athletes.

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of organizations on campus and an even larger amount of stuff to do around sioux city.

    Food and Dining

    our dining hall is awesome and provides a variety of choices everyday, it is also buffet style. you never go hungry!

    In three sentences

    morningside was my first choice in college because of the awesome people and it was perfect for my intended majors. easily 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus and city is very safe. security goes on checks day and night to make this college more safe. i think everyone can agree that they feel safe walking around campus late at night.

    Greek Life

    the greek life is not big on campus. few actually join.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are quite a few clubs and activities on campus. joining a club will increase the activity of you campus life. it's really encouraged so you have something to do.

    Bang for the buck

    about $32,000 annually. it's expensive to go here, but many are eligible for financial aid and scholarships and don't forget about the loans.

    What to do for fun

    like i said, it's not a big city. there is no night life, everything closes about 9 or even earlier. for fun you could go ice skating, bowling or go for a movie.

    Food and Dining

    the best chinese you can find here is king sea. the best mexican is la juas. this is not a big city so there aren't many options here.

    Dorm Life

    it's nice living in a community. however, the traditional dorm rooms need serious remodeling. you could move in to the nice remodeled apartments for some extra cash. this is not a commuter school.

    Academic Rigor

    i think it's about average, nothing to hard that you can't pass all your classes if you study. but definitely not a piece of cake. you need to attend all of your classes to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are from the country then morningside would be a fit. not big but not to small. if you are from a big city, i suggest you have a pros and con list.

    In three sentences

    morningside college is a small and quite methodist affiliated school. it is a private liberal arts college with white being the dominant race. teachers are great, and sports are a big thing around campus.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    don't invest in a major right away. explore.

    In three sentences

    it has beautiful scenery and the campus is not to far to walk across. the staff here for the most part is enjoyable. the food could be better.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i would say campus safety is covered. campus security is always willing to walk you to and from class if you feel unsafe. they will also give you rides if you need them. they send out regular emails regarding safety with the number in it for the students to call if they feel they need to.

    Greek Life

    i don't know much about greek life, except that it is on campus. i am not involved with these groups though.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a club for basically everyone on campus. there are also many different activities to do such as intramurals and random kickball and ultimate frisbee games that are initiated by students on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    students who will work better in a small classroom size and a campus with friendly people will do well at morningside.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a place on campus called the spoonholder bench. this bench has no real significance, other than for people to paint whenever they want to.

    Bang for the buck

    teachers are always willing to take the time to help you no matter what. you are given an individual advisor that will help you through your four years at school. there is a writing center to help when writing papers. also there are tutors for all the different subjects if you need them. there is also the librarian who is always willing to help you find research when you need his help.

    What to do for fun

    for fun we are able to walk to the park, because it is just down the street. hanging out with friends and having movie nights with your friends is also another way to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    the food is not as great as it is on scholarship weekends when seniors come for visits. the spoonholder cafe and buck's grill are good though.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are great, the only down fall you may have would be not having a good roommate, but even those situations are handled well by the residence life staff.

    Academic Rigor

    the teacher don't treat you like a number. you are graded on different things such as attendance and assignments. make sure to utilize helping facilities that are available on campus such as the writing center and tutors.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would recommend to make sure you know what you want in a college. also, don't go home every weekend because you need to build confidence in yourself and your abilities to make it on your own without your parents.

    In three sentences

    i would recommend morningside college because the teachers are excellent. also because it is a small campus with the big campus feel to it. it also has a great look to the campus.

  • 05/05/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of things to do in Sioux City like movies, disc golf, mini golf, bowling, shopping malls and centres, walking trails, and event centers with lots of events!

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy every second of college!

    In three sentences

    I think Morningside College is a great school for the college feel but still small enough to get to become a person instead of a number.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Very minimal.

    Great for these types of students

    Student-Athletes, Catholics (even though the college is associated with the Methodist church, most of the student body are Catholic), people looking for the small town feel, people looking to make friends with the professors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are lots of squirrels

    What to do for fun

    There is the Tyson event center in Sioux City. There is also 4th Street if you are looking to drink. Other than that, you have to make your own fun.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria stinks. You get sick of the food really fast, but Bucks and the Spoonholder (a mini-cafe) are pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are old unless you get into Roadman South or the Apartments. Those are more expensive though. The RA are very variable. Some good some bad.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the major obviously. There are some party crazy people at the college, but they are not the majority.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to as many scholarships that you can when they send you a packet, usually you can get them. The president of the college will meet with any freshman student, do that. Get to know the professors right away.

    In three sentences

    It has a solid staff with good professors, but it is small. Most students are involved in sports or music. It is expensive but I think it is a really good college for students looking for personal relationships with the professors.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security works 24hours, 7 days a week. it's a safe environment out here.

    Greek Life

    There aren't many greek fraternity because of the small campus but it's still pretty fun to see the fraternity competing each year during greek week.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are alot, from sports teams to student government to the dance team to the college choir, there are a wide variety of clubs and activities and this gives students an opportunity to be a part of something great

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do for fun here, whether it's going to sporting events, enjoying events that were put on by the activities council, or going to the movie theater to see a free movie. You can also explore the sioux city area.

    Food and Dining

    i had the opportunity to work for sodexo, and the chefs and cooks are by far the best group of people i have ever worked with. The greeters in the morning are always have a smile on their faces and are excited to see you.

    Dorm Life

    Loving the dorm life, i'm either meeting new people each day or having fun with my hall.

    Academic Rigor

    I love the fact that Morningside places a good emphasis on education. Classes are might be challenging but one can get through it if you have the right mind set.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a fun environment or whether you're looking for a college where class sizes are small and teacher are available whenever you need them or either looking to meet great people, Morningside is for you.

    In three sentences

    A great place to learn, incredibly amazing people who are nice. The teachers/staff are wonderful.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety wise campus security is good, except on spring break some stuff got stolen from students.

    Greek Life

    Not to good.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs and activities to join at Morningside.

    Bang for the buck

    ITs expensive because its a private college.

    What to do for fun

    Go out for a sport so you have something to do. Once a month we have a midnight movie where you can see a new movie from the theatre. We also bring fun things through MAC to do often.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining starts off well during the beginning of the year and when prospective students are arriving, otherwise its usually the same thing every week. The Spoonholder and Bucks are awesome places to get coffee or a meal.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms do not have air conditioning so the first few months are awful and HOT.

    Academic Rigor

    Due to Morningside being a private college some classes are hard, but this usually depends on the class and your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be scared about starting college. Its a time in your life where you find yourself, get your degree, and meet some amazing people.

    In three sentences

    Morningside is a great college for students wanting to have the small college feel. If you want to play sports Morningside is the place to be. Everyone is friendly and its easy to make new friends.

  • 10/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    2 fraternities and one sororities. i have heard they are all really good

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many clubs MAC, Student Gov. CHACHA, SERVE, campus ministry, spanish club, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the spoon holder is a giant bench that random groups of people are constantly changing the color of it

    Bang for the buck

    its expensive but they do everything they can to help with financial aid

    What to do for fun

    MAC which stands for morningside academic committee they always plan events to go to and keep you busy and your RA's plan hall functions all the time

    Food and Dining

    i love their variety

    Dorm Life

    it is the best it can be.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved!!! meet everyone you can

    In three sentences

    i love morningside for three reasons. first the location is great small school in a bigger city. second i love the class size makes the student professor relationship better. third reason the campus is beautiful and there is always something to do.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    no idea... yet

    Dorm Life

    no idea... yet

    Academic Rigor

    no idea... yet

    Tips for prospective students

    um... score good on the ACT and have a good GPA and you can be eligible for a $10,000 scholarship... just like I did!

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Best decision of my life! It is worth the amount that you pay.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities going on on-campus so just get out there and participate in the activities. You can always find something fun to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is all made on campus. It isn't like Mom's homemade cooking, but it is much better then high school food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! We get to experience different things all the time. As a hall or a building, we always are doing some sort of activity or get food to just sit around and talk. You really get to know the people around you really well.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the teachers that you have. Some teachers can be hard. However, no teacher gives you work that you can't accomplish. You just have to be ready to work hard and do your best while staying organized.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you know what you want to go into, then you will have a lot easier time at school. However, if you don't know what you want then your professors will help you find what you want to do. Also, you should get involved. There are so many activities and they all make you feel like you are apart of the group.

    In three sentences

    Morningside College is a great college with its small classes, friendly people, and over-all very inviting. You can expect to become very close with your professors, who will always help you find your way. It is an excellent college to get an even better education.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe, though there is one area of campus that could be better lit.

    Greek Life

    We have greeks but they are not a very big part of campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I believe there is something for everyone, and if there is not you can start the club yourself pretty easily.

    Great for these types of students

    Committed, want to become involved and are self-motivated.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have the Spoonholder, which is a bench that gets painted by various organizations on campus every so often to advertise events or the club itself.

    Bang for the buck

    Decent. It's definitely pricy if you do not get a lot of financial aid, but if you get involved you can have some amazing experiences!

    What to do for fun

    there are school sponsored events most weekend and Sioux City does have a few things to offer in terms of entertainment downtown.

    Food and Dining

    Food has improved greatly over the four years I have been here. Still leaves some things to be desired on the weekends, though.

    Dorm Life

    Themed housing is available and there is Res Life staff in all halls to program and assist students.

    Academic Rigor

    This varies by department, but like with most things in life it is what you make of it. if you want to challenge yourself, take an independent study or research.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the help your offered and ask the questions you have.

    In three sentences

    Morningside has a very close knit community with an open door for students everywhere. Academically departments vary in their rigor, but there is definitely a challenging course to be had everywhere. I truly enjoyed my four years here, and did not regret coming all the way out to Iowa.

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a few on campus events that I enjoyed doing for fun. I love the midnight movies and some of the other activities that MAC puts on for us.

    Food and Dining

    I can count on my hands the amount of times that I have ate in the cafeteria in two years. I found Buck's and the Spoonholder far more convenient for me, however you end up running out of points for them.

    Dorm Life

    I found dorm life to be very over rated. I did not really talk to anyone on my hall and the hall functions were more like punishment for me. In my opinion, it is a better use of money to live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are far more rigorous than others. I am going to be a math teacher and I sometimes get overwhelmed with everything that I have to, but it is usually manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure this college is the right fit for you. College is a very expensive necessary thing in life. Make sure you are going to enjoy it.

    In three sentences

    Visiting Morningside college as a prospective student was a lot better experience than it has been actually being a student there. I have found that they often tell me one thing and then change their mind and do something else.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    La Juanita. Best authentic Hispanic food you'll ever find, in Sioux City of course.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is great. Though on some days it can be dull, and it also can get repetitive. Be wise with meal plans, don't leave any meals unspent, because it does not roll over.

    Dorm Life

    There are three dorm buildings here on campus. There is also apartment like buildings for upperclassmen(women). Dorm life can vary depend on which building you live in. I suggest with one with the less people. From my experience here, there is a chance of having a two person room ALL to yourself. And of course if you don't want to miss out on the social life, you can make friends from other dorms and go to their buildings. AND still have the room all to yourself.

    Academic Rigor

    The faculties here are very helpful. Since it is a smaller campus, faculties can pay well attention to your needs as a student. But, of course, it is college. So, you still have to do your own work.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for an academic college, Morningside is a very good place to start. If you're going to be a freshmen, this school is a great place to help you transition from high school to college. If you're looking for a college to have fun, well, there's a lot of fun.

    In three sentences

    It is one of the best choice I have taken for college. The people here are great, as well as the faculty members. Sioux City is a bigger place than you thinking, so there is a lot to do when times are dull.

  • 03/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We play a lot of ping-pong and pool. We also go to different sporting events and clubs.

    Food and Dining

    The food is normal cafeteria food, some of it is really good, some is bad, but normally it is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice and everyone inside them are social. We have pool and ping-pong tables that get used constantly.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a pretty tough college, and you will learn what you need to learn for the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that when you pick your schedule that you plan enough time to study and do homework. Also, make sure that you plan time for fun such as varsity games and clubs.

    In three sentences

    Morningside College is an excellent, small, private school affiliated with the United Methodist Church. The class sizes are small and the student to faculty ratio is small, so we get great opportunities to get closer to our wonderful staff. The dorms are nice and close to the classes, and everything is pretty convenient at Morningside.