Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Morris College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/17/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Morris college is an HBCU and because of that you are able to recieve lots of funds if you're willing to look

    Am enjoying being here

    it's located in a small city not much to do, small clubs if that's your type of thing. but with columbia and florence south carolina being just 30-45 mins away if you have transportation you'll be fine.

    Am learning a lot

    Morris college is a great school for learning your proffesors will help you to understand concepts, and if you're willing to go the extra mile so are they.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    eager and ministry minded students

    Tips for prospective students

    Start at an early age

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is very good. They check your campus id every time you come on and off the campus. They are always patroling around campus to make sure students, or staff are safe.

    Greek Life

    The greek life at morris is decent. They always stick together, and represent their organization, as the well as the school in a good manner.M

    What to do for fun

    To have fun at Morris college we usually play basketball on the outside court or in the gym. We have a student center where you can go hang out and play cards or socialize. If your in the student center and you get hungry you can grab a bite to eat from the pizza hut we have in there. We also have various activities that might go on during the week for students.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is ok. The staff that works in the cafe is a group of nice people. They have also made several changes to the cafe as well. For example they added a hibachi line, as what i like to call it.

    Dorm Life

    I must admit the dorm life could be better. Morris is showing signs of improving them. For example the constructing of a new dorm is in action now. Also you meet different people that you can relate to while staying in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic level here is pretty challanging. It depends on the amount of credit hours you have and the amount of work you get at a time. You just have to remain dedicated

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice is that as soon as you begin your educational career at Morris, jump on your work ASAP! Minimize being a procrastinator. Be sure to follow your student handbook as well building a teacher student relationship with your professors.

    In three sentences

    Morris is a good HBCU. They give each student an equal opportunity to get an education. Morris also has a dedicated teaching staff. a 7 on a scale to 10

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports, going out.

    Food and Dining

    Good.

    Dorm Life

    I am enjoying Dorm Life.

    Academic Rigor

    Political Science

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students would be to study hard and to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    Very motivating college

  • 05/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The locations we have on campus includes the cafeteria, science building,Academic Hall, Admissions building, a gym( Garrick-Boykin), student center, 2 girls dorms, 3 boys dorms,one co-ed dorm(construction), health and wealthness center, education building (H.H Butler), and more to come.

    What to do for fun

    At Morris college there is not too much to do unless you play basketball. Ive spent alot of weekends at Morris College bored entirely. I hope in the next couple of months, they expand on outdoor and indoor activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is acceptable in my opinion. However I feel that they could be more considerable to who they serve and some of the staff need to be aware of that. I feel that we as students should have a more positive experience dining at Morris College.

    Dorm Life

    I would have to say dorm life is acceptable. Morris College is expanding with a new co-ed dorm. These dorms are older so be careful with heavier electrical appliances such as microwaves and refrigerators, and bring shower shoes.

    Academic Rigor

    The work given can be hard and no that hard. It depends on how much effort you put into each .courses. In order to succeed I use my biology professor advice, put in at least two hours of study time for each class

    Tips for prospective students

    Major tips for prospective students, is to not expect to excel during your freshman, and not later in senior year. Its a small school so take pride in it and get all the academic assistance needed. Make sure and keep up with important documents and check daily with professors.

    In three sentences

    I believe Morris College is a great college. My institution promotes academics and sucess in the workforce. We go by the motto Enter to learn, depart to serve.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    A Lot of times we have various activities here on campus like Friday night socials on Saturdays we have little events like bingo, yoga, relay for life and other various events. Also during the week we have small events like poetry night and extravaganzas.

    Food and Dining

    The food here at Morris College sucks, we have chicken on Sundays, Mondays, and on Wednesdays. On every Fridays we have cold fish. At least we have a student center with a pizza hut inside, even that don't always be good and those prices are ridiculous.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Morris College is okay its not that much compelling it is what you make it. The experiences is wonderful at least you don't have to drive back and forth to school everyday and the exciting thing is to meet new people from different backgrounds and cultures.

    Academic Rigor

    One thing I can say is that here at Morris the teachers and professors will take their time out to help you individually, and there is a minimum of thirty students in a class. At other colleges you have 50 to 100 students in class where you can barely hear the professor is saying.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you would like to succeed here at Morris the best things for you to do is to stay on top of everything that you do including your financial aid, and also your school work and not get caught up hanging around the wrong crowd.

  • 04/25/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    well, given i don't know why we even have security like why bother about people coming from outside when we live with real hood people. real thieves, real life jail birds.

    Greek Life

    yea probably what makes people relevant in the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    NONE WHAT SO EVER!!!

    Great for these types of students

    great for ratchet, country, up to no good, on probation kids, who just have a choice to pick between and Morris and chose Morris. Also desperate girls and disrespectful boys.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    ok so the school is unusual. the town it is in is unusual. the people are creepy and don't speak good english. I can count with my fingers the only civil in that school.

    Bang for the buck

    If all that I've said isn't enough for you then i HONESTLY do not know what else to tell you people.

    What to do for fun

    uh, be in everybody's business, fight, talk about people. GO HOME!! to actually have some fun.

    Food and Dining

    what food? you mean the unbalanced juvenile detention food they give us? Like we didn't pay for it. S/o to the guy at the hibachi stand though he does his thing.

    Dorm Life

    you practically live with all the pests. from the people to the rats, roaches and bed bugs that just wonder about. It is so disgusting. the only cool thing about the dorms are the big windows we can use to escape from the horror of sleeping in such a filthy environment.

    Academic Rigor

    I mean I gave it a single star, which I really regret. The library has no info. The bookshelf Safely mounted on my bedroom wall is more resourceful.

    Tips for prospective students

    yo don't even bother coming its a waste of time. People are always in your business because they have nothing better to do. They are all haters. All they do is fight and get their videos posted on worldstar. if you're an athlete please do not come here because it is not even a D-list school its a Z-list school. Everybody gets accepted. Trust me if you get an acceptance letter from them trash it ASAP

    In three sentences

    WORST SCHOOL EVER

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have no activities ,that are fun and exciting. If u came u would be ready to leave because the campus so boring. Its no motivations here to keep you wanting to stay and get your education and its sad.

    Food and Dining

    In the cafe they have the same thing every day. They are slack, mean and act if they don't like their jobs. personally i think they should quit if they don't because we the students did nothing to them.

    Dorm Life

    These dorms are pittiful, raggedly and everything else in the book. They clean once a week. The girls are nasty and the furniture is old. They are currently building a new dorm but it will be co-ed. But i really feel that they should fix the ones they have now. The freshman girls dorm has had boarded entrance doors since last semester, but yet in still they have visitors who come to the school.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here at Morris does not have enough education to be eligible to teach here. The teachers who does have it require you to give them respect as in calling them Dr. instead of Mrs, they would be very offended about that.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you would like to experience Morris College school do not have your hopes up about staying for a short period of time and then transferring. Most student i know who have did that have not had a lot of luck.

    In three sentences

    Morris College is not the school i thought it would be. Rating Morris College from 1-10 would be a disgrace to the school. With that being said Morris College retention rate is greater than its graduation rate.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is great

    What to do for fun

    you have to make your our fun, but you make friends that well stay if u for ever

    Food and Dining

    the cafe is good...

    Dorm Life

    the dorm are okay...

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are not hard but u have to try and you have to do the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    be ready to do work. Don't go to college thinking its like high school and teacher well pass you because they like you.

    In three sentences

    Morris is a great school to attend. the classes are small so teacher get to know you. The teacher help you in there class so that everybody has a chance to make a A.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many things on the campus to do for fun and many clubs and things you can get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok but if you have transportation you can go out to eat there are a lot of restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life could be a lot better but you can make the best out of anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for prospective students is to stay on top of you work and do not get distracted by your personal life.

    In three sentences

    Morris College is a good school. They work with the students one on one and staff takes time to help everyone who wants to be helped.They are always offering there support and other things to benefit the students.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Being a private institution there are security guards at the entrance of the college to enter you must have a current student I.D.

    What to do for fun

    You can do some extra-curriculum activities such as: Basketball, cheer leading, dance team, join fraternities or sororities, join clubs. In the end college is what you make of it.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great. Now having a new line added where they grill your food right in front of you. A sandwich line, line for almost like home cook meals, Pizza , hot dogs, fries, burger line. We now have a pizza hut that is featured in our student center.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Morris is what you make of it just like any other school. By decorating your rooms to make it feel a lot at home. I enjoyed my stay here, it was descent.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here at Morris is all about how much you are willing to get out of it. Each division has their own requirements for instance having a minimum of a C average in all majors courses. So work hard to aim high.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to enter to learn depart to serve Morris College's motto.

    In three sentences

    Morris College really is a great school to attend. With professors who really care about your education. People whom will push you to the best of your abilities.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    It could use some remodeling. community restrooms suck.

    In three sentences

    I feel really limited, you have to have a car in order to go somewhere. It is a small school, the process for everything is slow. Academically its a great school to attend.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is great because there is only one way in and one way out and in order to get past the guard the proper local credentials must be shown.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life at Morris is good with many of the 9 NPHC organizations well represented on campus. The Greek wall is also one of the most well known parts of the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs on campus are always doing various community service events and allow students to meet people with similar interest and goals.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are easily distracted with what is going on around them and need to get away to focus on their future.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The homecoming week here at Morris is the biggest event of the year, alumni from all of the country annually travel to Morris College to take part in a week long celebration.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes for a private school the tuition is reasonable, with all the available resources that come included in the total package your getting the full value of your dollar.

    What to do for fun

    For fun the college sponsors many on campus events catering to the students who are not from the area. Intramural are big on campus with big rivalries between upper and lower class men. Off campus there are clubs who host college nights also great golf and fishing in the area.

    Food and Dining

    The southern style Cafe is great, giving a true taste of the culture that is strongly represented throughout the campus. The fried chicken is some of the best I've had and the salad bar always provides a large variety of toppings.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is average, I have met many people who share the same interest as me making it easy to make lifelong friends. The dorms are strict but allows us to focus more time on school and other productive activities.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not hard nor easy they require you to apply yourself but when you hit a bump in the road their is a great number of free resources available to help you along the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and join a family that is waiting for you with open arms. Research what type of system you believe will best work with you, if real people willing to sit down and work with you individually is what you like then check Morris College out.

    In three sentences

    Morris College is a great institution where one can solely focus on their education due to its relatively small population and secluded location. The educators and supporting staff have great interest in the student's goals and aspirations acting as a G.P.S. on our road to success. The school is one big family that works together to provide a quality education and teach us a more productive lifestyle.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is extremely safe

    Clubs and Activities

    Homework groups , fraternities

    Great for these types of students

    Morris is diverse when it comes to activities so it comes down to what the students wants to do.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the conziboo is where all students meet

    Bang for the buck

    When you come on campus you instantly see a level of respect and hospitality that everyone shows that makes you feel welcome.

    What to do for fun

    play xbox, cards,sports,social events

    Food and Dining

    the food isn't the best but we have a relatively cheap pizza hunt on campus

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are about average but the people you meet helps you forget about it.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are willing to do the work there are more classes that will challenge you

    Tips for prospective students

    First Month is rough don't stress it be yourself and focus

    In three sentences

    Morris college has the essentials to help you achieve your goal its up to the student to have that ambition to achieve

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    morris college is a good school

  • 08/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Morris has ping-pong contest and 3-on-3 basketball games as well as pep rallies and intramural sport.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Morris taste just like good old fashion cooking from home only its healthier, we also have a hibashi grill an pizza hut in the cafe as well.

    Dorm Life

    At Morris we have in dorm security as well as contest for the best designed room and it a clean establishment .

    Academic Rigor

    Morris offer a variety of tutoring programs and writing labs to make sure that you understand you work and excel.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come into Morris with an open mind and a will to succeed because they will do everything in there power to make sure that's what you do.

    In three sentences

    Morris College is a great college that not only wants you too succeed but, give you the tools necessary to do so. The campus is also very safe with 24/7 security and on campus active-duty police officers.Morris also has plenty of extracurricular activities for students to participate in.

  • 11/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The people at Morris College really make you feel right at home away from home in a safe environment.

    Clubs and Activities

    Morris College have many clubs and activities for students to get involved in. For me, I am part of the Morris College Ambassadors, President of the Ushers club, Treasurer of the Morris College Baptist Student Union, Vice-President of the senate dorm that I currently stay in.

    What to do for fun

    Students can go to plays we have on campus. go out into the community.

    Food and Dining

    Student have the choice to eat different food from the Cafe.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great we have people who take the time to look after the students who live far away from home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come expected to learn new things, be positive, work hard at what you do and stay focus.

    In three sentences

    Morris College is a very good school for me because the teachers really take the time focus on our academic performance. Student will get one on one time with their students. The classrooms are short and it makes it a whole lot easy for teachers to make time for their student if they need that extra help.

  • 01/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safely of the campus overrall I'll give Morris college 10 out of 10 , security desk for the well

    Greek Life

    Greek has to be by far the best thing about this school . Something I really looked forward to.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many many clubs And organizations for anyone to join. They also have clubs for freshman to join.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a very sociable school , very small campus you it's easy to make friends and get to know people

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The student center is a very popular hang out spot also the area in front of amma hall which is the freshmen female dorm resident hall

    Bang for the buck

    I will honestly say for this school to only be 16,000 a year you get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Movies , games nights , hanging out in the student center

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is pretty good food but eventually you will get tired if eating the same thing every week. There is also a Pizza Hut in the student center

    Dorm Life

    Form life for freshman females is that exciting. Showers and bathrooms could be cleaner. Although our the room are a nice you still have to share it with 1 other person .

    Academic Rigor

    It's very easy to get off track at this school and it's very easy to succeed. Do your best and you will get your best

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself , don't give into peer pressure .

    In three sentences

    Morris is a good school based off academics and preparing educating majors. One of the most popular HBCU of South Carolina & fits your budget well .

  • 01/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I live on campus

    Greek Life

    Zeta phi beta

    Clubs and Activities

    Health science club Dance club

    Great for these types of students

    The great thing is the care the teachers give to the students and as well as tutor during office hours.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The student center has a game day for a chance to be crowned as champ.

    Bang for the buck

    Every year we have a big christmas parade including horses, bands and dance team.

    What to do for fun

    Attend weekend socials in the gym. Hangout with friends in the student center. Attend church with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food us prepared everyday. Every friday is fried fish. We have four different bars to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Their are quiet hours between the time of 7-10. Computers are located on each floor. They are printers on each floor as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers take the time to break down the lesson. We do class interactions with the lesson. We review our homework before leaving to make sure everyone has a clear understanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Understand your rights and responsibilities. Make sure you follow all rules and guidelines. Bring on time for class is being ten minutes early.

    In three sentences

    Morris college is devoted to the students Morris college teaches their students to adapt to rough situations and create a solution. The teachers are hands on and care about the students

  • 04/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Their are about 4 security guards. They sit in the booth all day long or ride around in a van. Ranging from 50 years of age and up. They will not protect you or help if you seriously needed it. The off campus police is fairly decent.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is pretty cool.

    Great for these types of students

    Ignorant, or if you like to smoke or drink. If you don't care about college and just want a easy degree.

    Bang for the buck

    No. There is nothing on this campus worth paying for. The tuition money you pay literally goes nowhere.

    What to do for fun

    If you do not party then their is nothing to do for fun on campus. There are a few activities sometimes. You wont know about most of them until the day of it or after it has happened. The weight room is the best building and most state of the art on campus with a great trainer.

    Food and Dining

    It is the same french fries, hot dogs burgers and mysterious items EVERYDAY. Seriously EVERYDAY. There is a hibachi line that is OK every now and then, you have a choice of chicken steak or sausage.

    Dorm Life

    Mold, pee and even feces are everywhere. Including the showers. Highly unsanitary, most of the showers and toilets are broken. I have not had air or heat in my room for a full semester now along with about 20 other students. There is two to a room, fridges are not allowed. The halls smell of smoke and marijuana everyday.

    Academic Rigor

    You can literally skip class, do no work, fail your classes and still get accepted next semester. The teachers teach on a middle school level and the only academic thing that is really taking serious are the Capstones.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you care about school, your education and being in a serious, fun and educational school, this is not it.

    In three sentences

    Do not apply. Apply somewhere else. Seriously do not apply!