Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Morrisville State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are great.

    Great for these types of students

    It is a great college for students who prefer to be in a rural setting rather than an urban setting. It also has a great nursing program and equine program.

    Bang for the buck

    It is truely a good institution for the cost. You can receive a great education for a little amount of money.

    What to do for fun

    You can watch movies when they come out in the theater on campus. You can also walk around the town since it is in a country more than a city. There are some good places to eat as well.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat at Morrisville.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on coming to Morrisville, if you study you normally can get really good grades.

    In three sentences

    I think that it is a wonderful college. It offers many different degrees and programs. They also have professors that really understand the students and are very helpful as well.

  • 12/05/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Local students. Students with cars (and gas money, considering most of the fun things to do are a solid 20 minute drive from campus). Students who don't invest as much interest in the so-called die-hard college experience. It's a school where people don't care about the sports, or spirit, or anything like that. Students looking to boost that GPA and maybe get into a better school. Students looking for an associates degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    I obviously can't speak for everyone. Try to find a way to stay overnight with one of the students during a school week. Find an honest one who is in your major and ask their opinions about the school. Take in the atmosphere and make sure it is somewhere you really want to go. I jumped the gun when i got accepted here and I ended up not liking the school so just make sure you choose wisely. That goes for any school though, not just MSC.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, it's a fairly cheap tuition in comparison to private colleges. But unless they have a very specific major you can't find ANYWHERE else, I'd look at a different school. Any SUNY school will give you the same price for a better experience and possibly a better education. One of those rare places where the cheap tuition might not be worth it. It wasn't for me.

    Did enjoy being here

    If you want to get your diploma over with, then go. However, if you're looking for a real college experience, look somewhere else. No sense of unity on the campus, dis-interested students and staff, and a dead town. It certainly doesn't help that it's a dry campus either. Nothing to do on the weekends, not even drink (Yes, even if you're 21). I had to drive 20 minutes to get to a walmart. Most people on the campus are not friendly. I witnessed more fights in my 2 semesters there than I did in 4 years of HS. You'll meet some great people, but a lot more who have no interest in giving you the time of day. I'm writing this review becasue I feel I need to tell people what everyone on that campus is thinking. The kind of things they won't tell you on the tour.

    Did learn a lot

    It is evident that the students are not top priority there for MOST teachers (though not all). The classes are so watered down, I found that my high school classes were harder. The people who actually take their jobs seriously and teach higher level classes are great. But the ones teaching lower level classes and core classes are clearly there for the paycheck and nothing else.

  • 04/20/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Techology and nursing

    Tips for prospective students

    Looking at Morrisville for a new start.

    Bang for the buck

    It was not stated to be a lot of money.

    Will enjoy being here

    I heard that its great and has freedom for there student but is also strict.

    Will learn a lot

    I'm looking for technology majors with engineering and will hope to learn a a lot

  • 10/08/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want to do, it's easier that way.

    Bang for the buck

    Great campus. Nice people. Co-ed Floors. Persistent teachers, if you're willing. Like a family feeling to it.

    Will enjoy being here

    Great Campus!! Not for someone that can't stand being in the country though. Otherwise, it's a gorgeous campus with incredibly polite and nice people.

    Will learn a lot

    Great teachers, as long as you pay attention, you can follow what they are saying pretty well. Unlike a lot of other colleges....

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    dairy club and riding teams are very nice and do a lot. anyone can be a member of either, you dont have to necessarily be in those majors.

    Great for these types of students

    equine, dairy, agriculture business, automotive

    Bang for the buck

    equine wise, it is the best school around. you get a really hands on education and learn from some of the best in the industry.

    What to do for fun

    everything is a drive away, so be sure to have a car, or make friends with people who do! there are sometimes organized trips to the turning stone and carousel mall, as well as the occasional dance or to.

    Food and Dining

    there really isnt much variety on campus, but the coffee shop is pretty nice, and the school owned restaurant, the copper turret, is really good

    Dorm Life

    i am a commuter, so i really cant rate an overall experience. but, the dorms are typical suny campus dorms, with the exception of the commons, they are apartment style living and pretty decent.

    Academic Rigor

    the school has some low points in liberal arts. it really isnt that challenging, but the more specialized classes are interesting, challenging, and you learn a great deal from them.

    Tips for prospective students

    stay on campus for a night, and be sure to visit more than one dorm and building. it is a typical suny campus, but does have some nicer elements. if you are in equine, defiantly venture to all the barns and look around, we are always welcome to give tours!

    In three sentences

    as a commuter, i think morrisville was a perfect fit. they really do have a lot to offer, and is really convenient. it is also the agriculture school to go to.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is on point. I feel 100% safe on campus

    Great for these types of students

    Students who can handle being away from home and are able to be independent. This school is great for students who are interested in going on to higher education. Morrisville is a great foundation and experience

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition at Morrisville is reasonable and offers many resources for students. I love the country atmosphere and location to other state and community colleges in the surrounding area

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good with meal plans being very reasonable. The dining hall is accessable and clean.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a lot of fun, everyone is friendly and get along. It's like at home with many brothers and sisters with the exception that these college brothers and sisters respect each others space and privacy. There are times when there is a hustle and bustle atmosphere and there are times ( such as midterms and finals) where it is quiet enough to concentrate and study

    Academic Rigor

    Morrisville offers a great academic environment. Classroom work and assignments are very serious but without stressed, if you pace yourself and allow appropriate study time it doesn't overwhelm you

    Tips for prospective students

    Involve yourself in all areas of your education, from making your schedule, study time and even financial aid. Become a little more independent. Pick your friends wisely and if anytime you feel pressured or overwhelmed seek out seek out your dorm managers or counselors

    In three sentences

    You are given the opportunity to communicate with your roommate before school year tarts, take advantage of this option this way you will know if you re compatible bore hand. Explore all the resources that at available to you to ensure an easy transition. Familiarize yourself with financial aid, don't just let your parents handle everything, participate in your education beyond h classroom

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are very responsive and caring. Not a whole ton of blue lights though.

    Greek Life

    There are no frats or sororities for the school. There are some that are not hosted by the school though.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of varieties.

    Great for these types of students

    Visual, hands on types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not really any.

    Bang for the buck

    Really good experience for how much you pay.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much because it is pretty much off in the middle of nowhere. they do provide some activities and transportation to places off campus.

    Food and Dining

    good food but limited times to get it.

    Dorm Life

    This is kind of hit or miss. If you live in one of the newer dorms it is nicer, the old ones not so much. There is a lot of noise almost everywhere however. ( except quiet halls)

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like hands on this is a good school for you getting your work done as soon as you can will allow you to have more time to do what you want to and keep the stress level low.

    In three sentences

    Very hands on

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are always on patrol I feel very safe.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs and activities you will find one perfect for you.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to get away from the fast pace living in there town and city to a place thats calm and cool.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is in a very small village so there is not much around us. A lot of the students like to drive off road it is called 'mudding' as well as long-boarding that is tons of fun I have been introduced to both at Morrisville and I love it.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are looking for a small school away from a busy city life this is perfect for you.

    What to do for fun

    I am part of the criminal justice club. There are plenty of intramural sports to stay active. Also halls hold activities such as video game tournaments and pool tournaments. There are two ice skating rinks available to students it is tons of fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food gets a 7 out of 10 not so bad there are also all you can eat dinning halls that hold seasonal events and student activities that are a lot of fun.

    Dorm Life

    You can look forward to clean bathrooms every morning the dorms are very clean. The RA's are understanding and reasonable.

    Academic Rigor

    The weather is very unpredictable, it is freezing cold when you wake up to get ready for classes by the time you are leaving your first class the hot sun is beaming down on you and is very uncomfortable. The professors are very hard graders if you are looking for an 'A' in a class you are going to have to work very hard for it. I will say professors do show there interest in students academic success I did feel like they really care.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students take advantage of the resources around you such as study hall and tutors. Do not just wait until you are having difficulty in a course to sign up for academic help. If you know a certain topic is not your strong point I would advise at the beginning of classes to sign up for extra help to ensure you will succeed in that course.

    In three sentences

    Morrisville is warm and welcoming, but dont be fooled by the warmth. This school is a serious institution that will not tollerate many things, so I would say for a college it is is on the strict side. A very small school only 3000 students you get to become very familiar with professors and they will remember your name.

  • 02/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    University Police patrol daily and on an regular bases and at night, it can become annoying on the weekends if you playing with your friends over quite hours and you're loud.

    Greek Life

    Its is fair and there is one male and female greek organization.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are organizations for every degree program offered on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are in to automotive programs, journalism programs, agriculture, computer science, nursing, and equine Morrisville is a really good fit for you; especially you have fair to excellent grades.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing is unsual

    Bang for the buck

    Shop-24 is basically your grocery store it is stock daily and you can get anything you need from there.

    What to do for fun

    Go to an on-campus party, go to Syracuse or Hamilton with some friends on the weekend.

    Food and Dining

    Food is very good, Mustang Alley provides a good variety of fast-food or dinner style food. Then Seneca is more of an homely place to eat and also diverse with it special events it does.

    Dorm Life

    In some of the residence halls you'll meet a wide variety of students, some are nice some aren't, some are clean some aren't but overall they respect there homes.

    Academic Rigor

    It is quite difficult in the english and mathematics department but they have excellent tutors who can assist you if you find trouble.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focus, Morrisville social scene is very diverse and has tons of activities going on. Do not get so involved in the activities that you forget about your school work.

    In three sentences

    Morrisville State College, is a school that cares for its students. Its objective is to guide you into your perspective career field. It also has a soft spot for minority students who evenetually find jobs when the graduate.

  • 07/25/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Tons of clubs and different activity we introduced to me upon my tour of the college. Morrisville seems to be a very fun and interesting school just because of all the different activity they offer.

    Food and Dining

    I only got the chance to eat there once and that was on Accepted Student Day that was probably the reason the food was good. The Kitchen looked like it was well maintained and very clean . They also had lots of varieties of foods and beverages.

    Dorm Life

    I personally didn't get to see the dorms myself . I also wouldn't take someone else opinion on the Dorm Life just because everyone's has different experiences .

    Academic Rigor

    Seems to be a good learning institution judging from student to teacher ratio, and also from short conversations with students and staff.

    Tips for prospective students

    I'm a transfer student but if your a prospective student do your research before applying visit the campus. Also ask other students on their opinion about the school .

    In three sentences

    Looks to be a very resourceful and diverse campus. Good student to teacher ratio also a very rural setting. Morrisville seems to be very entertain with all the different activity and groups around campus.

  • 10/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is pretty safe so far.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs to join, I recommended joining them for entertainment.

    Bang for the buck

    Not worth taking out loans for this school unless your major has to do with horses.

    What to do for fun

    Mostly hangout with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Menu doesn't change much and food needs more seasoning.

    Dorm Life

    You have to pay a lot for a good room and the bathrooms are always messy or have no hot water.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are okay, could be better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't apply most students transfer out any way.

    In three sentences

    Its pretty boring. Lots of farmers. Weather conditions change frequently.

  • 05/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    food is okay.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun. you get to meet new people and do fun activities

    Academic Rigor

    they are really good programs at morrisville

    In three sentences

    Morrisville is a good school for all majors. it may be a small school but when you look around you have good professors and good students.