Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Morton College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wanting to save money. Not sure what they want to mayor in. Want to transfer to a 4-year University. Those who want to better their education.

    Tips for prospective students

    I really recommend Morton College for it is a great Community College. Here you can take the basic courses you will need to transfer to most Universities. The counselors are great and very help full. I meet many individuals who share same interrrests. Going to a community college is a great way to prepare for a 4-year unversity. You save money and make great friends.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I will say that Morton College's safety is prioritized. You always see the school security around the school during class time. For more information on this college you can visit: www.morton.edu

    Clubs and Activities

    Morton College does offer many clubs and activities including basketball, soccer, choir, band, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    Morton College is definitley worth the pricetag!

    What to do for fun

    There are many things you can do for fun since the town of Cicero is close to other cities and suburbs. You can either go to one of the many public parks, movie theaters, clubs, bars, libraries, museums, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Since the school is placed within Cicero, there is an infinite number of restaurants located either in Cicero or closely surrounding cities and suburbs. It is a great way to experience the cultures from all different parts of the world.

    Dorm Life

    This college is perfect for people who plan to live in the Cicero community or surrounding cities because it provides no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The reason I give Morton College in rigor is not because it is hard nor because it is easy. What the staff at Morton College does is challenge each student in order to instill new skills and to broaden the students' knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be open to learning and growing. Study what YOU are PASSIONATE about, otherwise you will not enjoy your career and life to the fullest. Also, do not let anyone tell you that you can't do it.

    In three sentences

    I absolutly love Morton College. The staff here actually cares about each individual student and does not act like the education of people should be treated as just a business.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    This school has lots of clubs.

    What to do for fun

    I like to jog most of my time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Is studying well and becoming focused on your homework and finals.

    In three sentences

    Morton College is a great community college to attend,because they have great teachers there.And they have a lot of tutors to help students in need. And the teachers really do care about your education.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is usually some type of event every week. Including a talent show every semester as well as plays and helpful workshops. A variety of clubs are available from Automotive club to Art club (some of the best art I have ever seen is displayed).

    Food and Dining

    The is very wide spread of food choice and the cooks are always nice. Also in the library, there is a nice cafe where a variety of drinks and other food is served.

    Dorm Life

    Morton college does not offer on-campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses designated by their level live up to the rigor. One 201 Philosophy class was indeed at least 1 hour and a half of homework for each class.

    Tips for prospective students

    If one needs any additional administration help beside the rudimentary signing up or dropping a class, make sure that you take it upon yourself to get an answer. Leaving voice mails or even calling the school gets you no where. The staff never have an answer so one is usually sent to 3 different people to get one thing done. As far as the teaching staff, the selection is fair and I have had no complaints whatsoever. In my 5 semesters at Morton, my instructors have been extremely helpful and never made me feel like the course material was boring. I also still keep in contact with some of the instructors on a personal level because class was so fun and the instructors genuinely care about me and my future.

    In three sentences

    Morton College is affordable. Morton College is convenient. Half of Morton College's staff is incompetent.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The college helps many types of majors, but particularly holds a strong advantage in their Nursing Program.

    What to do for fun

    The student center located in the D-Building allows students to use computers, sit and chat, or play games.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers standard food which consists of pizza, fries, burgers, salads, soups, beverages, etc. In the back of the library, one can find a small cafe lounge where students are able to order things like coffee, tea, smoothies, and snacks.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is nonexistent.

    Tips for prospective students

    The first thing you should do is schedule an appointment with an academic adviser. There, you will be able to explain your career goals that will help them develop a plan for you. In the admissions building, there are office cabinets filled with free college information and choosing a career that are available to take whenever you please. Make use of them because they will be of great help to you.

    In three sentences

    Morton College offers an array of classes that will help one seek further knowledge into their career field of choice. The school community is fairly small which benefits the students being that they are more eligible for one-on-one attention with their professors. Morton College also provides students with organizations and clubs that help bring students closer together and help encourage them to strive for their future endeavors.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a library and a rec room which includes TVs, computers, and couches.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is not open during evening school hours. Kind of expensive for food but overall good.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm housing.

    In three sentences

    Morton has an exceptional faculty and staff. Someone is there to help at anytime whenever you need them, it's a small school but is very outstanding. I've had nothing but pleasant experiences at Morton I absolutely love this school.

  • 02/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    It has their own cafeteria serving hot and cold meals, and cafe shop inside the Library.

    Dorm Life

    It's is close to my house only 6 minutes drive.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip for prospective students is to apply as soon as possible for financial aid. If you know what university to transfer after you should meet with them to see what classes you need to take at Morton College that are transferable. And apply for the scholarships that Morton College offers.

    In three sentences

    Morton College is a great community college for prospective students. They have the best available time for those students that work during the day, they also offer online courses, has it's free parking lot, and advisors help our a lot.It's tuition is not high, and has payment plans for those that don't qualify for Financial Aid.

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This school is a very safe school, we have a whole security department which includes police officers from the town of Cicero who are always monitoring the school and parking lot.

    What to do for fun

    Be active in student counsel, and several competitions, like poetry night.

    Food and Dining

    There is a decent cafeteria/ during special events student also receive free hot dogs or free pizza.

    Dorm Life

    This is a Community College, no dorms are available but, there are lots of local apartments for rent at a good reasonable price.

    Academic Rigor

    Good flexible schedule, lots of spots, music, art, science and a workout gym.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have an idea of what you would like to study, if not at least an interest. Know what kind of schedule you are able to attend, always ask lots of questions if you don't understand something!

    In three sentences

    Morton College has a family oriented environment. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. Most importantly, the teachers are always committed to help every student succeed.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The dining at Morton College is fair but I would rather spend my money on foods that are made at a local restaurant. They do give you healthy choices like sandwiches and salads, but they are a too pricey for my taste.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available at Morton College. This community college requires students to commute from their homes.

    Academic Rigor

    By far, the Academics at Morton College are generally standard and not extremely challenging in my opinion. Morton does give you the gist of a college experience and gives you multiple chances to complete courses that you might have failed.

    In three sentences

    Morton College is a community college that provides excellent opportunities to educate yourself if you are a high school graduate who wishes to complete the general college level classes, or a person who wishes to continue their education. The rating that I would give Morton College would definitely be 8 out of 10 stars!

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus security walking around making sure everything is as it should. The security officers are also very nice and willing to help in anything.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities that students can join. It is very fun if you want to be an active student.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for all types of students. It works good for everyone no matter of age, race, sex, and career choice.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Morton College has its own museum. It is one of the places I liked to go see in my free time.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events going on at Morton College. There are gaming competitions, radio stations visiting, and all sorts of things to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend the prospective students study here and get all the help they can get from the staff. All the staff is willing to help with the questions.

    In three sentences

    I like Morton College. It made me feel welcome and all the teachers were very nice ever since I walked in. Also, ever since I started to when I transferred out, the staff made the process simple.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cop patrolling every day on every hour. always make their presence known.

    Clubs and Activities

    all types at least 100 and counting.

    Great for these types of students

    minorities and first generation students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Great up and coming music program headed by Professor John Warren.

    Bang for the buck

    got my Associate in arts all by myself no loans needed.

    What to do for fun

    Tons and tons of clubs and athletic activities.

    Food and Dining

    Have a lunch and breakfast room available everyday school is in session. Also have a cafe in the library.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms have to commute.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers help you as much as needed as long if you're willing to do the work. transition from high school to college is integrated well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to school early for parking is hard to find during school hours, especially during winter. Be focused, and get to work. Best way to start off if you're not a school person.

    In three sentences

    The perfect place to start on your academic life in higher education, as it prepares you for an four year university workload. Great for first generation college students

  • 11/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There are always patrolling the area and the campus is very clean.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many great clubs you can part take in and they are always doing activities in the commons area. we also have a talent show.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who don't like a smaller classroom setting and really need that transition before moving to a 4 year college.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is not so expensive especially if you have to pay out of pocket.

    What to do for fun

    There is always some type of fair going on in the commons area, i.e. resource fair, job fair, college fair. Sometimes they give free snacks or they have movie nights.

    Food and Dining

    The caffeteria is nice but limited. There is not a lot of food to choose from but the food is good.

    Dorm Life

    You cannot dorm there as it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not that difficult depending on the professor you have for each class. It has that high school feel to it.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to take speech 101, take Mr. Ginley. He is awesome.

    In three sentences

    Classroom ratio is 30:1. The campus is not too big so you can find your way around easily. It has the choice to follow an Associates Degree or a Certification.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    No housing.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms/housing

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers that I got the chance to meet were all very nice and helpful.

    In three sentences

    I had an alright experience at Morton College. Morton College was just like high school, everyone I went to high school with was there. Morton College was not my first choice.