Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Mott Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Mott is best for students with not a lot of cash. Some students are fresh out of high school and do not want to leave home yet, while others are going to college for the first time after 10 or 20 years out of high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest just taking the basics and not going into the electives type classes, like Forensic Anthropology. Almost all of the basics transfer perfectly, but the electives are different at each college and your electives might not transfer to the next college.

    Bang for the buck

    A community college like Mott is definitely the best college to go to when you are short on cash. You get the classes for almost 70% or more off from the big time universities, and even better is that they transfer to almost every college. So you take the same classes for thousands less.

    Am enjoying being here

    Mott is a smaller college, so it has a small campus and small classes. To me, that equals less walking, and more one-on-one with the teachers. I like it that way, and I am glad that I had a chance to avoid the giant classes that have over 400 students. Mott also has a fancy restaurant in the main building, and it is like going to a high class restaurant, but costs less. They also have all different kinds of clubs for students to join, and I am very disappointed with myself for not joining any while I was here.

    Am learning a lot

    At Mott, most of the students are there to learn their basics and then move on to a bigger better four-year university. It makes Mott sound like a lame little stepping stone, but I love Mott. It has smaller class sizes, even for basics, and the teachers are awesome. You occasionally get the teacher that thinks they are the only class you have, but if you can manage the work, you can do it.

  • 06/02/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    1. get exp in what you major in 2. stay away form people trying to mess up your career 3. stay close to your family 4. major in some thing you love

    Tips for prospective students

    go out the state you live in but dont come michigan

    Am enjoying being here

    i just want to get my degree and then move on to much better.

    Am learning a lot

    ok but it can be better

  • 01/03/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 3 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People that are looking to transfer in state and are looking to save tons of money on pre requisite classes. Good luck!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Deadlines catch you off guard. Get in the school and get registered for classes A.S.A.P. If you delay, you'll have to wait long hours to register for classes and can easily get stressed out. Whatever you do, STICK WITH IT! I've seen so many people back out of this school because of the difficult processing.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is without doubt the best aspect of this school. I'm no wealthy person and I was able to pay everything off out of pocket. As stated previously, I saved myself roughly $20,000 on classes. I'd highly recommend starting at Mott if you are planning on transferring to another college in Michigan. Transferring credits gets difficult when trying to transfer out of state.

    Did enjoy being here

    The parking isn't the best and the process of enrollment into the school and the process of class registration is a rigorous one indeed. But it's definitely worth it considering I saved myself roughly $20,000 by getting my basics done here.

    Did learn a lot

    I was quite surprised on how much I learned here considering it's (generally speaking) a 2 year school. I only went here to get my basics done but overall I learned a lot to help get me through.

  • 05/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Mott is great for all students. Anyone can come here and have the right to recieve their college education. Its great for anyone that wants to start off here then go on to a larger university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just make sure to get registered for classes early, they will fill up quickly. Get up to the campus early and do all the required things that you need to do.

    Bang for the buck

    Mott is very affortable. That's the great part. Tution is not that much, so you will not have to worry about taking out a big loan like you would at a four year unuiversity. Its very good to start off here for two years then transfer to a four year university

    Will enjoy being here

    Get registered for classes early, especially if you are going for the fall 2011 semester. Classes fill up quick. The campus at Mott Community college is great, its a great environment. Also Mott now has dorms, they share dorms witht the U of M flint, Baker and Kettering. The dorms are called the River Front resident hall, the prices are great, for a single room it's only $3,000 a year.

    Academic Rigor

    Mott Community college is a great school. Its the top community college in the State of Michigan and on eof the top community colleges in the United States. For students who will start off at Mott for the first two years, that's a great choice. You will be learning alot about the major that who will want to persue. The good thing about Moot is that you will het all of your basic classea out of the way. And going to Mott for the first two years will get you ready for a four year university when you transfer. Overall you will learn many new things at Mott, and after Mott you will truly be prepared to transfer after completing two years.

  • 05/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 5 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    low income only going for a few years

    Tips for prospective students

    check out all your options speak with advisers/counselors/financial aid go to class if the class is on main campus show up early because parking isn't great

    Bang for the buck

    At universities tuition is so expensive but at Mott it's cheap and you get great education and professors. However books will be books and prices will be high and some low.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have found that Mott is very friendly not only the professors but the students to. A lot of the time someone will hold the door open for me or I'll see someone do it for another. There are classes at different buildings so you can schedule some classes to the best place of your convenience.

    Am learning a lot

    I have only been going here for half a year however it has been really great. I have learned a lot in my classes and my professors are very involved and understanding. They teach in a way I can understand and in a fun way. One of my professors brought in visual aids, an apple, and my whole class got to enjoy a fresh apple.

  • 08/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 people found it offensive. 6 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Find a different college. Mott sux.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find another college b/c MOTT is HORRIBLE for sooooo many reasons.

    Bang for the buck

    Overpriced per credit hr for comm college, also hidden fees. The staff are horrible people.

    Am enjoying being here

    Flint MI, I hope you dont take any night classes b/c when the sun goes down is when the rapists and killer appear in the shadows. Flint is not a good environment. The staff are lazy.

    Am learning a lot

    Mott Comm College. Not worth any money spent. The staff are complete idiots (Flint/Main Campus). It took 4 hrs to register for my classes. The staff give you run around b/c not one of them knows anything. They dont care either. they just say go over there or I dont know. Wait 20 mins in one line then they give you some b.s and send you back to the where you came from for another 20 min wait. FOUR HOURS of stupidity and hassle. I gave up and walked out. Not taking another class at MOTT ever again. MCC gets an F- Mott fails every test. Again, the staff is HORRIBLE and are bothered by having to any work.

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    get into the sports, or theater, choir... make some friends! :)

    Food and Dining

    the food is yummy!

    Dorm Life

    i don't live in the dorms so i have no idea!

    Academic Rigor

    work as hard as you can. there is no reason you don't get an a!!

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you register early for classes. get all of your fafsa and grants/scholarships in order and make sure the advisors and counselors do things right. (don't just expect them to make sure its right-- you have to make sure!) its okay to ask for help! make sure you work as hard as you can to earn your grades-- no slacking!

    In three sentences

    i love the small school feeling. i wish that they would give more scholarships--i'm paying for school on my own and don't want to have loans, so not getting scholarships really brings me down. i like the small campus.

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a security presence to be found, and disciplinary issues are a non-issue.

    Clubs and Activities

    A decent amount of things going on around campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Absolutely perfect for students looking to transfer with some General Education requirements knocked out.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is phenomenal especially for the quality of education you receive. Not to mention the college works tirelessly with you to make it as least expensive as possible.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of groups and activities on campus that are willing to show you a great time.

    Food and Dining

    The Bear Bistro does a good job of servicing the students that stop and it has enough pop and snacks to last you through class.

    Dorm Life

    It does not have any dorms available for students.

    Academic Rigor

    It varies from professor to professor, but on average it is not incredibly tough but does not reward laziness.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what you want from Mott, it will only give you as much as you put in.

    In three sentences

    Mott is great at recognizing that it is either acting as a stepping stone or minimum requirement. It helps student get what they need to transfer in a quick, efficient, and helpful manner. Also the classes are on par with some state institution and does not suffer from the Only a Community College mentality.

  • 05/31/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent.

    Food and Dining

    Alright food. They have two dining areas. One is more expensive because it sells only gourmet food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Great courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Declare a major. Get involved in the programs that's offered.

    In three sentences

    I loved my time at Mott Community College

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have campus security, supported by local law enforcement, always on duty.

    Greek Life

    phi theta kappa, for students with a 3.5 g.p.a. great way to get more scholarships!

    Clubs and Activities

    too many to list!

    Great for these types of students

    anyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    student life in the prahl building- hang out, or do homework. the newly remodeled library is quiet and spacious for studying.

    Bang for the buck

    mott community college is very affordable per credit hour compared to 4 year schools, and you may be able to take macrao classes, which transfer to 4 yr schools!

    What to do for fun

    lots of clubs to join!

    Food and Dining

    the bear bistro is the main place for food. applewood cafe is fine dining for a little more money.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    moderate to strong, depending on the class and course study.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply for fafsa first. go to admissions and apply early in the season. look for scholarships; ask an advisor for help.

    In three sentences

    user-friendly to non-traditional students. financial aid is very helpful. scholarships for honor students are great!

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is great security available at each campus. there is always a police officer around.

    Great for these types of students

    mott is a great opportunity available for anyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none that i am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    i feel there is great opportunities available at mott college.

    What to do for fun

    there are opportunities available to attend many functions and activities on campus.

    Food and Dining

    there is a cafeteria at the main campus. at the lapeer campus there is a food cart that is there in the summer time. at every campus there is food machines available.

    Dorm Life

    i'm not staying at a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    the college level classes require a fair amount of study time. they also may require to go to a study group. many of the instructors are giving a study guide which is very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    take a class on getting to know your college. like college survival skill, or study skills. this will help with getting to know the services available at your school.

    In three sentences

    i enjoy mott college, there are many campuses and many opportunities. the staff is very helpful and enjoyable to be around. the secretaries are also helpful and easy to talk to.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it is very safe, there are security officers everywhere. if your taking night classes the security guards don't hesitate to offer you an escort to the safety of your car if you feel uneasy too.

    Clubs and Activities

    they are very well known for their successful sports teams as well as the clubs individual students can start that match whatever your interested in.

    Bang for the buck

    their bookstore has every bit of supplies you could need as well as plenty of helpful extras to ensure your success in each class you take. then you can sell back your books for a reasonable price and now their is the option of just renting your books. mott community college has very pleasing rates that really makes going to school here a good choice for someone looking for a first rate education but unable to dish out thousands of dollars per semester.

    What to do for fun

    mott community college has many fun activities for the entire student body to participate in, as well as very helpful but fun job fairs and fundraisers.

    Food and Dining

    the cuisine offered is first rate and very affordable. it makes staying for a full day of classes completely worry free not to mention delicious. there's a quaint little cafe you can go have dinner in that's absolutely amazing.

    Dorm Life

    mott community college at this time does not offer dormitories.

    Academic Rigor

    mott community college may be a secondary school but the classes are challenging without pushing you beyond your capabilities. they offer an a variety of ways to take classes as well such as online classes and open entry classes. you will learn everything you need to know in order to effectively complete your degree and pursue your degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are a prospective student the best tip i can give you is to apply early. the classes get filled up fairly quickly so having a jump start on your financial aid and other payment options is a must. definitely don't wait until the last moment to buy your books from the bookstore either because it gets packed full of students right before classes begin.

    In three sentences

    mott community college offers a wide variety of programs with a very hands-on staff committed to each students individual success. their newly refurbished center for financial aid is very helpful and orderly, making payment a breeze. the helpful, free services at each students disposal, such as the learning center, makes going to school here fun and easy.

  • 03/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students trying to get a degree without going into endless debt.

    Bang for the buck

    Going to community college is a great way to get your basics out of the way at a a reasonable price. They also have programs available that enable you to begin your career after completion.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes early so you can get in to the classes you need at the time/day that you want.

    In three sentences

    Mott Community College is reasonably priced. They have many programs of study available. Classes are available at convenient times.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security in walking around all the time to make sure that the students are safe.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things going on around campus to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    They have very nice prepared food that you can eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a descent size.

    Academic Rigor

    Overall, it is a great college to get a degree from. Great academics!

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard! There are many events that happen at Mott that you should participate in.

    In three sentences

    It is a very nice college. I have had very nice teachers that made it easy to understand what I was learning. The campus is beautiful too!

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to the plays and take some classes just for fun. Like photography or art or even ASL.

    Food and Dining

    Awesome food!

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the Tutoring, its free and helpful. Always check the rate your teacher dot com, it shows the teachers you don't want.

    In three sentences

    I have had a great experience at Mott. The Professors are great and the tutoring for free helps. I appreciate Mr. Cunningham for all his help with Math.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Socialize and get involved with the student activities

    Food and Dining

    its alright

    Academic Rigor

    STAY FOCUSED

    Tips for prospective students

    Do the work and take care of business

    In three sentences

    They have awesome professors and a great curriculum. I love it here and I love working here.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    People think this campus isn't safe, just choose the right crowds and you will be fine. You aren't in any danger, you just have to be mindful that there are different walks of life and to accept the walks of life. Not everyone is just like you.

    Greek Life

    Party scene isn't big here, no dorm and lots of campus monitors.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of sports offered here at MOTT. National Champions in Basketball for men's, the athletes here are very competitive and are driven o make it to the PRO's.

    Great for these types of students

    Don't want to go to school, don't know what you really want to do for your career. Have hardships or financial issues, regarding parents or loss of a loved one, great place to start financial aid packets and get your credits going.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A popular location is hanging out right in between MOTT's headquarters, there are always tons of people outside!

    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely great money for what I'm getting. All my credits transfer to any school of my choice. Its cheap VERY affordable and the teachers truly care. They really do.

    What to do for fun

    Socialize, people are up and ready to have fun doing, whatever, wherever, whenever. There isn't much to do in Flint so you have to use your imagination. Lots of food around.

    Food and Dining

    Great food on campus. Fast efficient!

    Dorm Life

    No, dorm life experience for me.

    Academic Rigor

    This school, has some hard teachers but the teachers are willing to walk you through the class to bring you to the successful grade you want to achieve.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have any doubt of going to college, take the first step and MOTT will help you with the rest of the staircase. They are fulling willing to bring people into school to help them succeed in anything and everything. Follow your dreams, don't let anything bring you down.

    In three sentences

    Mott, Is a college that gives full opportunity to people in need of an answer. They bring students with hardships and make them into a success story. They were the only school in the country willing to help me get into school.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I ride horses.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the main campus to talk to an adviser.

    In three sentences

    Great community college. Helpful staff, several locations. Free tutoring available.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    100%

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Government

    Great for these types of students

    Most Definite;y

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lapeer, north tier center

    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely

    What to do for fun

    Basketball, leadership, etc...

    Food and Dining

    Absolutely Wondeful

    Dorm Life

    Community college #1

    Tips for prospective students

    Good Luck!

    In three sentences

    Mott Community college is an epithet of education. It has numerous class schedules and sizes. Which comes with this fabulous community college.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is very important, and they are very serious about having security around to help students, especially at night.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone would love Mott.

    Bang for the buck

    As far as cost, Mott is very well priced especially compared to other community colleges and universitys.

    What to do for fun

    Study, and do homework! That's the most fun you should be having.

    Food and Dining

    Mott in Lapeer doesn't have any food options and that is where I am at most of the time so that can be a little difficult. Main campus has a cafateria that has very good food.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your financial aid is filled out ahead of starting a semester. The sooner they recieve your information the more money you will recieve. Also, make sure you register for the class's sooner than later, they fill up quickly.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Mott Community College at a 8 out of 10. There faculty, and staff are very helpful. Although finacial aid can be a little messy there, they help figure everything out for you.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always where you need them

    Greek Life

    No greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    Multiple clubs and organizations based off of your major or just for fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not really

    Bang for the buck

    Extremely affordable

    What to do for fun

    There is a basketball gym but there isn't that much

    Food and Dining

    They have on Campus food but its not a wide variety.

    Dorm Life

    They have no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are simple but you learn a lot

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a great place to start off to get yourself in the college mindset.

    In three sentences

    It is an extremely good community college. It provides a wide variety of classes for all types of majors. The opportunities and connections to multiple larger universities and jobs is great.

  • 09/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are number of security guards here. You can see them driving black and yellow cars in the parking lot. One guard is stationed in the parking garage. There is even one sometimes stationed on the libraries second floor.

    Greek Life

    Not much of this is here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Mott does have a great men's basketball team. I have also heard about a history club here, which is an interesting idea, but i do not know much about it yet.

    Great for these types of students

    This is great for students who want to stay close to home for a while before transferring to a normal four-year college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are none that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Mott does not have much extra, except for the Gorman building's exhibits. This is understandable since no one actually lives here.

    What to do for fun

    The Gorman Science Building's first is also part museum, and you can see artifacts relating to paleontology. You can also find an interesting book in the library.

    Food and Dining

    The only food available is in the vending machines in the Prahl College Center.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm at Mott Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    My english and history professors are clearly passionate about their subjects. All my professors know what they are talking about. If the professor has an opinion on the his subject, or sometimes another subject, he or she will tell you about it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you do not plan on keeping your text books forever, you can rent them, rather than buy them, from the Mott Book Store. Do not bring cigarettes, because smoking is banned on the campus. You will definitely need a computer at home for much of the schoolwork.

    In three sentences

    Mott Community College's library is excellent, with a number of good titles. The professors are experts who know what they are doing. The buildings on campus are kept nice and clean.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If you are bored, you go to the library and read, or get on the computers. Or you could sit in the halls with people you know and have amazing conversations.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining here, is amazing. There are places everywhere, to get food, or snacks so if you are hungry, you can eat.

    Dorm Life

    I don't really know anything about dorm life, I live off campus with a friend.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to register for your classes early in the year. Do not wait til the very last minute to sign up or you will have classes that have nothing to do towards your major. If you want elective classes, don't stray to far away from your major.

    In three sentences

    Mott Community College in my perspective is a great college. In the few weeks I have been attending this school, i have made many friends, and have the best teachers. I learn what I have come here to learn and I am very happy going here.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been crime reports at Mott, but the most serious case I have heard of was a man being mauled by a dog at the park.

    Greek Life

    I have not witnessed it yet.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a whole room dedicated to signing up for clubs and activities. they even travel to places.

    Great for these types of students

    People interested in; business, nursing, music, general education, etc Mott has a vast variety of classes to choose from.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every few weeks, my friends and I meet up at the Mott Memorial parking lot to dance on the side walk. We also preform raps and socialize with old Mott Middle College students.

    Bang for the buck

    For a community college, Mott is way more impressive than what I originally thought.

    What to do for fun

    There are many social activities at Mott. The musical diversity is what got me interested in Mott to begin with.

    Food and Dining

    The bear bistro is great! I often visit for meals in my spare time. They also have another place in the Phrall building, I believe it is called the apple cafe.

    Dorm Life

    I do not believe Mott has dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging enough so that i am not bored, but not so over-whelming that I can't keep up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider the expenses of a college education before you pick your major.

    In three sentences

    Mott is great. The staff and Students are friendly. The work is not too difficult.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have their own police force and they are always willing to walk you to the car, this is super great for when it rains ;)

    Greek Life

    none that I know of

    Clubs and Activities

    The sporting events rock! all of our teams play great and win!! There are also cubs for everything, from nursing to traveling.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to save money and learn, its not a party school but you should go to school because you want to learn anyways. Smart students go here to save a large amount of cash and get a great education along the way.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Student life! I work there as a student assistant ( my $7.40 job- they also work with you class schedule!!) This is a great place to study and meet people, the majority of the campus clubs meet here. There are also many free food events taken place in here weekly. I would tell anyone to stop on in!

    Bang for the buck

    The whole reason I decided to go here was because I paid for three semesters here in intervals of 12, 12, and 9 credits all out of pocket. I make $7.40 an hour and have 50 hour paychecks. I have no debt and even had spending cash because the school offers a payment plan. Best financial decision ever. Although I do live at home I will graduate knowing I paid for my schooling all on my own.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and our sports teams are very talented. People are easy to get along with here and events are always going on around campus.

    Food and Dining

    The Bear Bistro food is great, the prices just need to be lowered.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I give it a four because it is a community college and you do miss out on the big party college experience, but if you are truly here to learn it is perfect.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make the effort to pass because you professors will notice and they will help you out. Get to know your professors they are very nice and helpful people. Get involved in your school because it may help you in the future.

    In three sentences

    This school is very cheap. The classes are smaller which makes learning easier. I have not had a bad professor yet.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    For general studies, I chose Mott because it is more economical and still excellent.

    What to do for fun

    The people are fun!!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan early. Visit early. Attend all orientation opportunities.

    In three sentences

    I like the college. The prof. are very helpful. The classes are challenging.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The sporting events are always fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early to ensure that you get the classes you need or want

    In three sentences

    Mott has a comfortable atmosphere and the professors are always willing to help.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even located in a poverty stricken area i have never felt threatened and there are friendly security officers everywhere.

    Greek Life

    Nonexistent.

    Clubs and Activities

    A few clubs, not too many.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any students that are frugal or are attracted to street life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a statue of a bear.

    Bang for the buck

    Least expensive college you could possibly attend and you get a respected associates in two short years.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club, not much to do.

    Food and Dining

    The bear bistro is delicious and the cooks are friendly and charismatic.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the teacher and course you have taken. Most classes are still high-school level, however.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can afford to go to a different college, go to a different college. There's not much student life here.

    In three sentences

    Teachers are very friendly. Tuition is not very expensive. A very good environment.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is excellent

    Greek Life

    Mott do not have a Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many club like the Gay Straight Alliance club, Music Club, Theater Club and much more.

    Great for these types of students

    Yes Mott Community would be great for an freshman to attend.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mott has the Same traditions as a normal campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes Mott is a bang for the buck. I am enjoying attending here and at a very low cost rate.

    What to do for fun

    I work out, play basketball, and i also play video games .

    Food and Dining

    Food is good, and they can cook what you want to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Mott do not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good for the last two years i been at Mott Community College.

    Tips for prospective students

    if i was a prospective student i would attend Mott Community College. The reason why because you can complete a two year degree and then transfer.

    In three sentences

    Mott is a good community college. Mott staff is very good. Mott is the cheapest community college in town.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe never have an issue and always pubic safety is around

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are much cheaper then anywhere else.

    What to do for fun

    Depending on what campus your at many places are near campuses. On Campus always something going on/

    Food and Dining

    GREAT options at the Flint campus. We have the Bear Bistro and many vendors

    Dorm Life

    NONE

    Tips for prospective students

    GET on your FASFA! Forget about going to the bookstore you can order online which is fast and easy. Great teachers.

    In three sentences

    This college is a 10! Love the flexible classes. Class always work around my work schedule. You have many campuses to choose from which is great for me.

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security patrols often. Though there are a few reported acts of violence every semester, it is an overall safe environment.

    Clubs and Activities

    Mott offers many clubs and activities. There is essentially something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Mott Community College is great for students who are on a limited budget and want a low-key transition into college life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mott Community College has a September 11th memorial with a beam from one of the Twin Towers, honoring the fallen victims.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, I like to craft in various ways. I also enjoy writing and learning.

    Food and Dining

    Plenty of options are offered for food, including healthy options, and dining is plentiful.

    Academic Rigor

    While a variety of classes are offered, it's proving difficult to find classes that imitate or exceed the academic rigor of other colleges. My college-age peers are learning more in a shorter period at competing colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your surroundings. There are many opportunities and services offered through Mott. Attend workshops and seminars, and don't give up.

    In three sentences

    Attending Mott Community College has been, altogether, a positive experience. The majority of the teachers have been efficient, kind, and helpful. The campus is easy to navigate and clean.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Mott community college is very safe.

    Greek Life

    I haven't noticed any Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great clubs and alot of day to day activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any type of student who's looking to better their life through education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The ballenger field house looks more like a high school gym.

    Bang for the buck

    You get alot of great classes at a low price.

    What to do for fun

    Fun things to do on Mott college campus are play basketball,attend basketball games and many other sporting events,surf web, watch tv, chat and so much more.

    Food and Dining

    Great new cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Great

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise you as a nee student to stay positive, focus. Study hard and respect campus and peers.

    In three sentences

    Mott community is a great low cost college. It has alot of great professors who care and will go over and beyond to help you. Information is readily available.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security guards walking and parked around campus. There number is posted all around school and will even escort you to your car if you are feeling uneasy or need help.

    What to do for fun

    They have activities planned.

    Food and Dining

    The Bistro is awesome! There's a salad bars. They always have two different types of soup. They also have an order menu. Along with snacks and pop for a quick snack between classes.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes range from teacher, but none are to difficult as long as you stick to your work and get it turned in on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes early and check ratemyprofessor.com when choosing a professor. I also suggest getting to class an hour before hand because parking can be difficult to find especially the first few weeks of class.

    In three sentences

    Mott is a good college to start at. Make sure to sign up for classes as soon as possible because classes fill up quickly. Parking is also difficult to find the first few weeks of class.

  • 03/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Totally worth the money!!

    What to do for fun

    They are always activities at Mott, they are posted in your email account Mot gives you.

    Food and Dining

    They have a bistro in the CM building and it's pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    Don't live in a dorm, so I wouldn't know.

    Academic Rigor

    Keep on your work. My teacher's in my first semester told me if you spend 1 hour in class you double the time studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study as much as possible. Get to know your colleagues, it helps if you don't understand, and ask questions to completely understand.

    In three sentences

    Mott Community College is a great school, it's a little like high school but in a good way. The teachers help out tremendously. I'm taking my pre-requisites as of right now and the teachers are making it seem very easy for future classes which might be more difficult.

  • 05/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sit around on campus while you're waiting for your next class.

    Food and Dining

    Never tried em yet. Unless you count the vending machines.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the students there don't try as hard as you'd think they should. You'll have students who work they're butts off and then you'll have someone who shows up half the time. They'll tend to get the same grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to find somewhere else first. But if you are strapped for cash and/or just want a quick education, this place will be fine.

    In three sentences

    Not a bad place to go if you want to get in and out fast. Most of the employees are fairly incompetent. Some of the systems they have set up for the faculty are no where in the student's favor.

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    36 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Mott has actually rated really high on there security systems. There is always a security guard around where you can easily access them when your in need of anything

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of them!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who may need one on one help there are tutors and the teachers are more than willing to give you extra help. And on the flip side its great for students who are high achievers there is an honors program at Mott and there are a lot of high level class. My brother has taken Calculus 1-4 at Mott!

    What to do for fun

    Believe it or not there are a ton of student clubs and groups there is always something to do and get involved in. There are also a lot of guest speakers and artist that stop by Mott.

    Food and Dining

    On Campus there is a prestigious restaurant where you are served by the best culinary students at Mott. There is also a cafe that is delicious and has a variety of food on the menu.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make the most of being at Mott. Its so affordable that you can experiment with different fields and see where you fit. Don't capitalize on the fact that Mott is not a big university, stay positive, and look on the bright side your saving money and time!

    In three sentences

    Mott Community College is affordable and going there is a very smart choice. I get the chance to knock out my general classes at Mott for a small cost while still getting the same education I would receive at a big university. I look forward to joining the Mott community!

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    37 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The Bear Cafe usually cooks pretty good food but the college bear cafe store doesn't have that many healthy options and they are kind of expensive.

    In three sentences

    Good school, some of the best tuition prices, but usually a very long wait to see counselors or fafsa and cashiers and the cashiers are not friendly. Other than that, the professors are usually pretty helpful if you ask questions and grading is usually fair as well.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is great. If you feel unsafe there's security guards that will walk or drive you to your car

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs available. From asl to dental assistants

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a sculpture of medal from the twin towers.

    What to do for fun

    There's nice work out room and pool. Different section with art ,saltwater fish, mammoth skull and fossils

    Food and Dining

    The restaurant on campus is nice. The student shop has food at good prices

    Dorm Life

    Not living on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    When dealing with financial aid and picking classes be sure to get In there as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    The staff was very helpful with financial aid. Advisors were understanding of my timing. Offices are very organized.

  • 09/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent group of campus safety

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of choices

    Bang for the buck

    cheap as hell !

    What to do for fun

    Library their are rallys and lots of fun stuff to do !

    Food and Dining

    Lots of options !

    Dorm Life

    their are no dorms here

    Academic Rigor

    Good !

    Tips for prospective students

    Have initiative and you will do well

    In three sentences

    This is a great community college with tons of opprutunities for whatever you are interested in. This school can cater to any interest. This school has great instructors and very fun work and lots of resources to help with whatever you need help with.

  • 10/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are at least three campus or county police around in areas of the campus at all times.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everyone is usually in the Bistro ether eating or doing school work.

    What to do for fun

    There is clubs to join from photography to Tennis. Also open gym certain days out the week.

    Food and Dining

    There is great food to eat from the Bistro which offers chips, juice, soda, and Special orders from nachos, omelettes, burgers, and french fries. Also we have a Cafe that is more restaurant like called the Apple Cafe.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't any dorms within or for Mott Community College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to school and be on time to class. Always ask the teachers questions in class if you do not understand something. Also talk to your fellow classmates from asking questions, general conversation, or work study.

    In three sentences

    It is what I would call a gigantic high school without the drama and cliques. Always something positive going on, whether it be a fair or the various clubs. Also everything is mellow and calm on campus.

  • 11/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional Student-Single Moms

    In three sentences

    Very good place to start a journey with higher education. Dedicated teachers and excellent tutoring and special programs for those in need of assistance. Very knowledgeable staff. A self-sufficient campus. Very good place to start and many transfer opportunities.

  • 11/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are a lot of police around campus and emergancy buttons every where.

    What to do for fun

    There are some clubs and sports.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you go to ratemyprofessor.com before signing up for classes.

    In three sentences

    Mott is a very good school to start out in. It is a cheap way to get your general credits. The professors are pretty helpful.

  • 12/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Mott is obviously in Flint and while Flint doesn't have the greatest reputation I think Mott is just as safe as U of M if not more. Mott is a small campus and is compact. It's not spread off and everything is on campus. Just stick around and nothing should ever happen. There is a large security building on the main road, they have guards in the parking ramps and parking lots. They are usually patrolling the campus when it gets dark and they are available on speed dial!

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    I always hear about clubs, a lot of clubs, but learning about them is up to you because I don't know much other than they have them.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for nursing students, business and transfer students. Art is still growing at Mott but is great for transferring. They offer a few other majors (quite a few) but for the most part I seem to always hear about nursing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During the fall semesters a man comes in with hundreds of posters and sets them up for purchase. It's really neat and he has a wide variety! There were posters of all sizes and some I don't think i'd find in stores. He's done this both fall semesters I've been there and I hear he does it every year.

    Bang for the buck

    YES so much cheaper than anything I could have hoped for. U of M and Kettering are so expensive. My friends who go to both schools have had so much money already put in and here I am with a quarter of their debts. Sometimes my pell grant completely pays for my entire semester.

    What to do for fun

    Mott has a vast variety of clubs and regularly send emails about events and speakers. If you have a determined major, like photography and art, get to know you're professors! I've had friends and been in situations where teachers let me just come in and get involved in the higher classes work.

    Food and Dining

    They do have a bistro and a small restaurant that the culinary students make food at. They also have a small shop which sells easy made foods like burgers, pizza. They usually have other things like quiche and bosco sticks. My only complaint is I sometimes go from the time the school opens until it closes for classes and all of the food vendors close before 3 pm.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms. =(

    Academic Rigor

    My first few semesters I flew through because it was so easy. Now i'm getting into harder classes and realizing how I was doing things won't go. However, I am always concerned when a 2.0 is passing and at U of M a 3.0 is basically failing. The better the teacher you get usually the more they expect from you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you're on-top of the financial aid game. If they give you loans make sure you know what you're getting from your pell grant first. Mott tends to give you loans and let you use them if you don't pay attention. Advisors can sign you up for classes you don't need. After 4 semesters I finally found an Advisor who knew what she was talking about with my degree and I was shocked to find out two of my classes didn't even go towards my degree.

    In three sentences

    It's not the hardest college out there but it still makes you work. Definitely cheaper than U of M but the books can be just as ridiculous in cost. Great teachers and they have so many opportunities if you go looking for them.

  • 09/28/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    44 of 45

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    In my Automotive class, I recently went on a shop tour here. I was already considering Mott because it's a great school with my majors and I can dual enroll here. I have a full scholarship to U of M Flint, bur since they don't have my majors I found out that I can technically be a student here (go to rec, go to their events, live in the dorms) but actually attend Mott and pay their tuition. So basically, I'm getting 14k to go to school every year!! Mott is defiantly that choice for me :)

  • 10/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is very good. I took a night class once and our teachers said that Public Safety would walk us out if we wanted, they patrol the area constantly, and are very nice.

    Bang for the buck

    The price of tuition is great!!

    What to do for fun

    I like to read and watch TV, I don't do a lot for fun- I have two jobs and go to school. My night of fun is relaxing watching my favorite TV show.

    Food and Dining

    The food at MCC is so amazing. They have a fried PB&J that is to die for, I recommend trying all the bistros.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm or in the college cultural neighborhood, but I have heard it is very nice and safe.

    Academic Rigor

    After getting through the first prerequisites the students get more serious- thats not saying that all students are like that, but some are and sometimes it was discouraging, but once you get passed that everyone gets more serious.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your books because at the end of the semester Mott will, sometimes, buy them back. Also, visit the Bear Bistro, they have great food. There are a lot of great classes, that if you are not sure what you want to do you can have a bit of fun.

    In three sentences

    Mott Community College is a great school and I have been attending for about three years now and I have not had any bad experiences. The teachers work well with you and help you more than I was used to. Mott is very student accommodating and wants their students to succeed.