Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Mount Aloysius College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/17/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to get help when they need it on assignments, students who enjoy socializing, and for students who want to go out and get a good job after college. I think that's every student isn't it?

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with any of the admissions counselors, and they will be more than happy to help with any questions you may have about this school. Don't hesitate to stay over and go to classes with a student that attends now. It's a great way to get a feel for college.

    Bang for the buck

    Mount Aloysius College really does a lot in helping you further one's education. They are a very reasonable price for being a private school, and they try to help you along the way.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy the small campus, and how tight-knit everyone is. There are so many resources, and places to go to find help, and it has been a wonderful experience. I enjoy getting to know people, and everyone is so friendly that it helps in dealing with all the stresses that college may bring.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot in just my first semester at Mount Aloysius. The teachers are highly qualified, and they are easy to go to if there are any questions. Just completing my first semester I have learned different crucial aspects of the business world that I will need to know for my job. I am happy to say that Mount Aloysius has great teachers that will help you learn a lot, even in your first semester!

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is considered highly on campus. Security is available 24/7 and answers your calls no matter what. Each student will receive securities number so they will have easy access to them. It is safe enough to walk around by yourself, male or female.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities have a wide range. Almost every interest can be found on campus. Whether it be sports, art, politics, religion, or majors, Mount Aloysius has a club for that!

    Great for these types of students

    If you like genuine people, professors who want to help you succeed, and a tight knit community of friends, I would say look into Mount Aloysius College!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mount Aloysius is a Catholic college, yet allows a diversity of people to attend.

    Bang for the buck

    Mount Aloysius is a private institution with some of the lowest tuition rates. Almost all students receive financial aid help. They offer a multitude of scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    Mount Aloysius College offers many clubs and sports. Getting involved with groups around campus allow for more activities. Intramural basketball is a favorite! Our campus is conveniently located 15 minutes from Altoona and Ebensburg. Altoona offers a large shopping mall, places to eat, movie theaters, and bowling. Ebensburg offers eating and small shops.

    Food and Dining

    A buffet style is served 3 meals a day Monday through Friday. The weekends offer 2 meals a day. In the mornings, made-to-order omelets can be ordered, there is a waffle maker, and a main entrees that switch daily. Fruit and ice cream are two things that can be taken from the cafeteria so you could snack later in your room.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Mount Aloysius College is better than most that I have seen. There are no community bathrooms in freshman, sophomore, junior, or senior dorms. Most are two people to one room with a bathroom that is shared by two others as well. With a dry campus, dorms are more quiet and allow for better living for all.

    Academic Rigor

    Mount Aloysius College will challenge you to strive to be the best. They are well known for successful students in nursing, business, and biological sciences.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for a school that wants you to succeed. I would recommend going to a small campus if you want to be known more than by a number or a face. It's at these small campuses where you can make great connections and friendships that last!

    In three sentences

    Mount Aloysius College is a school founded upon core values; mercy, service, justice, and hospitality. With such a small campus, the professors and staff are able to work with students to enhance their learning process. It is through their job enhancing my leadership skills that I would want to rate this college as one of the best!

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are numerous events on campus like dances and movie showings that are generally cheap. If nothing can be found on campus, the major city of Altoona, PA is less than 20 minutes away where a wide range of restaurant reside, movie theaters, bowling, shopping malls as well as other stores

    Food and Dining

    The on campus food in the cafeteria is not bad, the menu usually features a wide selection of foods so there is something for everyone. When the cafeteria is closed there is the snack shack where one can find basic snack foods until the cafeteria opens

    Dorm Life

    The majority of the dorms are very clean. The school recently built new dorms which are very nice. The older dorms are in some need of renovation but are still comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers take great concern for the learning of their students. If they feel a student is struggling they will find alternate sources of help to ensure the student gets a passing grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is great for students seeking a medical degree as well as social sciences. With the location of the school being in the mountains of Pennsylvania the likelihood of snow is very high so people not fans of snow should consider other schools.

    In three sentences

    A very clean college with a well rounded selection of majors. The teachers are very interested and concerned with the learning of the students. A very open minded school

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    TRY IT AND YOU WILL LOVE IT

    Tips for prospective students

    TRY IT AND YOU WILL LOVE IT

    Bang for the buck

    YES I THINK I'M GETTING A MODERATE BANG FOR MY BUCK ... I THINK THAT THEY CHARGE FOR THINGS THAT THEY SHOULD NOT CHARGE FOR BUT I GUESS THEY HAVE TO BE ABLE TO STAY IN BUSINESS TO FURTHER EDUCATION OTHER STUDENTS IN THE FUTURE

    Am enjoying being here

    OH YES I'M ENJOYING VERY MUCH BEING AT THE MOUNT BECAUSE OF HOW UNDERSTAND AND EAGER THEY ARE TO HELP YOU MAKE THE MOST OF YOUR EDUCATIONAL EXPERIENCE.

    Am learning a lot

    WHAT I'M LEARNING AT THIS COLLEGE IS VERY VALUABLE. TRIED SEVERAL ONLINE SCHOOL BUT WAS NOT ABLE TO FOCUS ON DOING MY SCHOOL WORK SO WHEN I LOST MY JOB I DECIDED TO GO BACK TO SCHOOL AND FURTHER MY EDUCATION ON A TRADITIONAL CAMPUS. FINDING IT EASIER TO BE ABLE TO UNDERSTAND THE MATERIAL ON A TRADITIONAL CAMPUS SO YES I'AM LEARING ALOT

  • 03/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    While, since I am only enrolled there and won't start until the fall, I really can't say much. But when I od start to go, I think I will hit up the gym on my down time.

    Food and Dining

    From what I have heard the food is really good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice. The freshmen dorms are a bit small, but they are still nice. The freshmen dorms are actually the oldest ones on the campus and they have a unique look to them.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very helpful and nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Mount Aloysius is always available whenever you need them. The adivors are great at giving advice and tips.

    In three sentences

    Mount Aloysius is a great college, because it's smaller and convenient for me.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    no not at all not worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    study and study and study.

    Food and Dining

    food is not to bad. always something knew.

    Dorm Life

    dorms are very nice. the one i am in is big and very comfy

    Academic Rigor

    yes.

    In three sentences

    nice college to be at. Most of the teachers in the medical imaging program are horrible teachers. they never answer questions or take the time to explain it. there are a few who are very good though.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security on campus at all times. There are emergency phones all over campus, you need your student id to gain access to a lot of places, and after hours almost everything gets locked up. I haven't heard of anyone getting hurt or violated by anyone else ever.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Almost every major has their own club. Nursing has the NSO, there is drama, chorus, soccer, cheerleading, basketball, peer tutoring, study groups, game night, there's even a dance team. There are so many and the school is even open to you starting a new one if they don't have it already (within reason).

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for hard working, motivated students. Someone who can get along easily with others and have fun to. This school is really supportive of non traditional students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They encourage everyone to help and volunteer with the community. Its a catholic school so there is mass and church bells ringing everyday but you are not forced to attend any of it. There is a little coffee area with dean bag seats in the basement of the library and many people like to hang out there.

    Bang for the buck

    I just love the environment of the campus. Everyone including the other students are so nice and helpful! I just love the feel of the campus of how calm it is.

    What to do for fun

    There are 2 different gym/work out rooms. They have movie's in the common room once a week, they have plays, there is even a dance room. The city is about 20 minutes away and you can go to the movies, out to eat, shopping, bowling, and plenty other things there.

    Food and Dining

    You can get a meal plan or pay out of pocket. If you live on campus you are required to have a meal plan. The food is good and the cooks will make you something different if you want them to.

    Dorm Life

    Most students live off campus but the ones who live on campus like it. They are safe and clean. You can choose to have a roommate or a single room.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm sure its harder for some more than others but as long as you are trying and putting effort into your education, the instructors will do all they can to help you through.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. Apply for a lot of scholarships. Get involved and find a group of friends in the same major. READ!! don't just forget about your textbooks. You have to make an effort to pass.

    In three sentences

    Mount Aloysius college has a beautiful campus. The instructors actually care about you and help you through the course. Also, the classes are small enough for the instructor to get to know you and take time to help in class.

  • 05/09/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is beautiful and i will enjoy being there.

    Will learn a lot

    The professors seem really nice and it is very welcoming there.

  • 11/10/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Small town.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is very nice and the town seems lovely as well.

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    friendly, athletic, from rural areas,

    Tips for prospective students

    small school atmosphere, small class size. Teachers and professors are friendly and helpful.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very good

    Clubs and Activities

    sports such as basketball, baseball, softball, volleyball, cheer leading, soccer, cross country many clubs and plays to join also a choir, and has a talent show and modeling shows.

    Great for these types of students

    small high school students, willing to work

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    catholic school, a few sisters will be around

    What to do for fun

    played softball. have many comedies, dances, and plays to go to. mall is not to far away.

    Food and Dining

    don't like it... usually go to the mac shack which is a on the go kind of food... the regular cafe has the same stuff most of the time, week after week.

    Dorm Life

    i lived in the freshman dorms they were not the nicest because so many upcoming freshman students don't take care of it. Thought it was small at first but its very livable. Sophomore, Jr and senior dorms are much nicer, apartment style

    Tips for prospective students

    most Professors are very understanding and kind

    In three sentences

    the students and staff are friendly. very pretty campus. don't like the food.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security guards take their job very seriously offering assistance any time needed. There is a curfew in the dorms for opposite sex visitors and you must have a key to enter any dorm building.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many sports such as soccer, baseball, basketball, softball and tennis. There are also many clubs to join such as child advocacy, astronomy, and biology.

    Great for these types of students

    students who are fully focused on thier education

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A majority of the student spend time outside.

    Bang for the buck

    It is kinda expensive but worth the one on one attention you will recieve.

    What to do for fun

    Since it is on a mountain there are opportunities to do winter sports and other outdoor activities all year round.

    Food and Dining

    There are not very mant choices but the food is good and not hard to find something

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very new and nice but for the most part it is very quiets and there are curfews.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to be willing to make sacrifices for your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your looking for a party school this is not it. Students fully focused on their education will prosper here. Dont be afraid to make friends everyone is friendly and willing to help

    In three sentences

    Mount Aloysuis is very small but easy to get one on one help. The professors know you by name and are willing to help with any need. Its like a winter wonderland when it snows.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. The security is excellent and the dorms are locked at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    The activities and clubs are numerous. There is definately something at Mount Aloysious for everyone! MAC is very involved in helping people overseas and sends groups of students on these trips every year.

    Great for these types of students

    Mount Aloysious is a great college for traditional students and non traditional students. Since MAC offers both Associates and Bacholer's degree options and full and part time class loads, it is easy for adult learners to return to the classroom while maintaining their lives outside of MAC.

    Bang for the buck

    MAC is a private college where i am challenged both acedemically as well as emotionally. I am here to learn to become the best nurse and well rounded adult that i possibly can become and I feel that MAC is giving me the chance to do that.

    What to do for fun

    The campus provides numerous activities for students from comedians , dances, exercise classes and fitness and game rooms. Nearby attractions include Altoona Pa, and many state parks and outdoor events.

    Food and Dining

    There are many options to choose from on campus. The cafeteria hours make it easy to be able to plan meals around my class schedule.

    Dorm Life

    My dorm feels like home! The rooms are spacious and I don't feel the least bit crowded. The dorms are modern and clean and extremely secured which makes me feel safe here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Mount Aloysious College offers numerous majors for both Associates and Bacholor's Degree programs. The class sizes are small and learning here is made personal because of this. The student body is friendly , extremely welcoming, and willing to help each other in any way that is needed.

    In three sentences

    I feel like I am at home at Mount Aloysious College. MAC is located in the small town of Cresson, Pa. where the beautiful mountains and small town feel made me feel welcome and at ease. MAC's campus is small and friendly alleviating many of the stresses of a larger campus.

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Don't speed on campus! 15mph means 15 MPH 24 hour security

    What to do for fun

    The Mount offers evening entertainment most week ends, a large amount of extra curricular activities, and it set in a historic region in the Laural mountains.

    Tips for prospective students

    Small classes Historically sound. Family atmosphere

    In three sentences

    Mount Aloysius is located in driving distance for me. The Nursing course offered is held in high regard. With being a small college I get a great personal and one on one education!

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They don't do much to ensure it.

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    Step team and CAB are amazing!

    What to do for fun

    Geton the internet. and hang with friends.

    Food and Dining

    It is okay. Should be a lot cheaper. Its hours are not long enough.

    Dorm Life

    It is boring. There is nothing to do. Needs more things to door transportation to things.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends.

    Tips for prospective students

    stay on top of your work and do it on time. Don't get behind you will never overcome it.

    In three sentences

    It is a great people working here. There are a few activities on campus. The programs are great.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security on campus 24 hours a day. You will find them patrolling the area and in their office!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs and activities on campus! If you can not find one you are interested in, but you know of one that you would be interested in you can make a club!

    What to do for fun

    There are always many things to do on campus. Every week there is a list of events going on. We have comedians, singers, artist, barn fires, ice cream socials, tye dying, cupcake making, plays, and so much more! there is never a dull moment on campus!

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus has a very big variety! They serve dessert and have ice cream every day. There is always soups and salads. They even have a special bar will they will be putting together special plates of your choice. There is something there for everyone in the cafeteria!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is so much fun! Everyone is so friendly and the Resident Advisors and Resident Life Coordinators really try to make sure that we feel at home and are having fun!

    Academic Rigor

    The professors love to challenge students and really like you to get involved in class, but they do not want your brains overloaded! Sometimes the professors will just do a catch up day or study day to let everyone cool off and make sure all the students are on track.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to look at different varieties of schools. When you know what size of a school you like, you can then narrow your list down to five schools that you are really interested in. Make sure to go and visit ALL of the schools! That is so important to go and actually see if you are a fit with that school. My final advice is fill out a lot of scholarships and make sure to look at your financial aid! You can never have too much help.

    In three sentences

    The students and faculty on campus are the most welcoming and friendly people you will meet. Any one can get involved with campus activities or clubs and there is always plenty to do! The professors are very kind and have an open door policy with all students!

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The one club will arrange for different activities to come in on friday.

    Food and Dining

    The food is the same every week. I am not a fan of the food and wish that there was more variety.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not that big but you learn to make it work. I wish the rules for the weekends could be changed though.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of my classes had professors that are willing to help with any questions you might have.

    In three sentences

    Everyone is very helpful when you are trying to get started with all the paperwork. I have had a positive experience with most of my classes and getting prepared for next year. I would recommend this school to the next generate.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is great. They are very friendly and give out warnings. Follow the rules and you will never have a problem.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of clubs. I personally am involved in crim club and bowling. If there isn't one for you, create it.

    Great for these types of students

    nursing, criminology, small class sizes, psychology, personal

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We do have both a chapel and a cemetery on campus. We have dances every couple weekends, which are a lot of fun.

    Bang for the buck

    I have scholarships, many students get them too, and that greatly reduced the cost. For me the price is well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    I hang out with friends, watch movies, go on field trips. Many students frequently go to Pittsburgh, Altoona, or University Park. Of course IUP is not that far either.

    Food and Dining

    While a lot of the food looks good, it does not all come back so good.... that being said they are greatly improving the food. I have been told that food is much better than last year and I can say for a fact it is better than it was in the beginning!!!

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are not as nice, but you meet lots of people. As you go up though the dorms get a lot nicer!!

    Academic Rigor

    If you are going for Nursing it is very hard, but it is one of the best in PA. Everything else is hard, but if you put in the time you will have great success. A ton of students make Deans list.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try for the Mercy Presidential Scholarship. It is well worth the effort put into it. Also do work study it gives you some extra cash.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy MAC! It is a small school and the teachers really try to help you. Many job resources.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is 100% safe. If you don't see a security guard around, they're only a phone call away. Security is always there to help and keep you safe at all times, even if it's just to let you in your dorm at night because you forgot your keys.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at the Mount. Sorority's and Fraternity's are not present. The only kind of groupings are usually between majors because that is where you meet your friends.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different groups and clubs that meet on campus weekly. From bullying clubs to an arts and crafts club, the horizon truly is your starting line when it comes to clubs and activities. Mount Aloysius also has an athletics department if one is interested in sports. Academic clubs exist as well, especially tutoring which is something that I recommend a student takes advantage of.

    Great for these types of students

    Mount Aloysius is great for all kinds of students. This college offers so many different degrees and great teachers in all of them. There wasn't a single teacher I didn't like my first semester because they all help you along the way while you help yourself and others as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mount Aloysius is a Catholic college, but by no means do you have to be Catholic to attend. I am not and I'm fitting in just fine. They do hold church services every Sunday and Wednesday night by tradition and if you need something to do or feel like you need some time in church, they're an awesome thing to attend.

    Bang for the buck

    Mount Aloysius is a small and dry campus, but if you're coming to college to learn, have fun, make new friends, and fit in, this is the college that you want to attend. It's also nice only being 15 minutes away from shopping s=centers and places to eat with your friends if you ever just need a nice night out to watch a movie or grab a bite to eat.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities to attend on campus like sporting events and study groups. The college also has many convocations and study groups to attend for your own benefit. There are also clubs and different groups that you can attend and if you don't like any that are already out there, create a new one because it's something they encourage you to do at Mount Aloysius.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Mount Aloysius isn't anything to complain about. They have a big variety and the cooks are nice. There are always different things to choose from and new things to try.

    Dorm Life

    I live in Saint Joseph's Hall and I love it! Meeting new people in the dorms and making new friends was one of my favorite parts of college. The dorms are nice and it's cool feeling to finally be living by yourself in a sense; it helps teach responsibility.

    Academic Rigor

    Mount Aloysius has a difficult and rigorous nursing program. This is just to see who is willing to study hard and earn their right to have their nursing degree. The clinicals and ways the Mount teachers are only a few of the tough, but rewarding steps to earning your degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Going to college is a stressful thing, s always take notes and keep ahead of our work at the Mount. There are people to help, but they won't do it for you. You have to put as much effort into college as what you hope to receive back from it in the future.

    In three sentences

    Mount Aloysius has been a great choice for me so far. The staff and faculty are so helpful and always strive to help each and every student. The school is small and I love it because I can receive one on one time with my teachers which helps me to better understand the information I am learning.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Mount Aloysius College has excellent security and safety. The security officers are always there to lend a helping hand, and make sure you make it across campus safely.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a large variety of clubs and activities on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Mount Aloysius is great for those students who wish to further their education and be serious about their future. All the staff here are willing to help if the student is willing to receive help.

    Bang for the buck

    Mount Aloysius is a great college. I am very glad that I chose to attend here. It feels amazing to walk across campus and have your professor call you by your first name. It is hard to have that kinda of relationship with a professor at any other university.

    What to do for fun

    Although Cresson is a small town, Mount Aloysius is always finding a comedian, magician, band, or speaker to come here and perform. There have been a number of outstanding performances and speakers. The Mount also hosts dances every now and then. Take advantage of the activies on campus!

    Food and Dining

    The food here is delicious. They have a salad bar every day, and a sandwhich bar. There are many options of food every day to meet the needs of everybody here on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is a huge help. It is much easier to walk to your classes rather than driving. It also helps you to meet new people and get involved with your school activities.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are by far the best I have seen yet. The professors care about you and your grades, and will do anything in their power to help you earn your high grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely apply for scholarships while you are in high school, and study hard. Always respect your teachers, and partcipate in campus events. Take advantage of the free tutoring offered here at the Mount.

    In three sentences

    Mount Aloysius is a great school dedicated to Mercy, Service, Hospitality, and Justice. It is a small campus filled with small classes and professors who know you by your first name. My experience here has been amazing, and I hope to continue my education here.

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security is always so nice and easy to get along with, they keep an eye on everyone meanwhile always waving to say hello.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on up at school to do in your free time, fundraisers to participate in, basketball and volleyball games, Vox Nova concerts and an array of other things that the clubs have going on.

    Food and Dining

    The Mac Shack has the best chicken salads and soups hands down. The ladies who work in there are all so nice and make sure that you don't starve even on a minimum wage budget.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, but have many friends who do I commute because I am fortunate enough to live 5 to 7 minutes away from the campus. Whenever I visited friends they always seem content with their roommates and have no problems with their rooms or RA's.

    Academic Rigor

    Its challenging, I'm a Pre Law student and I find myself struggling at times but with the proffessors work with you, and will honestly do everything they can to help you achieve the grades you want.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the wonderful tutors, develop a good relationship with your advisor, and use the resources available because everyone at the Mount really wants to see you succeed.

    In three sentences

    The Mount has so much to offer for any type of student whether they be non traditional or right out of highschool. They work around you, the proffessors know you by name and the class size is just big enough to where you feel like you are getting a variance in everyones opinions yet you are comfortable enough to voice your opinion.

  • 09/27/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I do not ever remember thinking about safety issues nor hearing of any. But there is campus safety service and patrol 24 hrs. and the college is in a very safe area.

    Greek Life

    It has plenty of tech and between the math and the chess what more do you need. But there is more if you do.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to choose from often one associated with your major. Sports too!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who does not want the big city and does not mind snow sometimes in the winter.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent education and the cost is a bonus. The diverse teaching styles and high standards prepare students for the challenges they will take next.

    What to do for fun

    The college has a great atmosphere and there is always something to do with friends in the community areas. Also Johnstown and Altoona are nearby to explore and lake Galitzen and Raystown for day trips for hiking or a picnic. There is always a friendly local to share the sights with.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on campus but heard good things about it. It is located In a safe area.

    Academic Rigor

    Mount Aloysius has high standards of learning and the work will be challenging, but you will be prepared for the challenges you are being prepared for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Your goals are in you reach and help is always there for you. Utilize the resources available and never give up on yourself when you feel those challenges overwhelming you. The learning is worth the work and the rewards to follow.

    In three sentences

    I graduated with an Associates in Science in Medical Laboratory Technology in 1996. When i returned to college I was 29 raising small children and managed to graduate with a 3.13 grade average. What is amazing for me when I tell my story about my experience was the fact that when I took my test for my A.S.C.P. certification I passed on the first try, what a great education.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Security Team is top notch. They are always on campus, and they are willing to do a number of things for all students, whether it is walking them to their car late at night that is parked in the farthest lot, commonly known as B.F.E. They are always there for the students, and I think they are under-appreciated.

    What to do for fun

    The numerous clubs on campus try to have multiple activities and entertainment available for the residents. The Campus Activity Board hosts many comedians, magicians, hypnotists, dances, almost anything imaginable. Homecoming is a very big deal for them, and they try their best with their funds to give everyone something fun to commemorate the day. There is many things available to do, but you have to be willing to participate and attend the events.

    Food and Dining

    The food can be good on some days, but it can also be the worst food. Some days they have a wide selection and you do not know what to choose, whereas, other days, the selection is slim, and you end up getting the pizza. The Cafeteria is trying to upgrade and suit everyone's appetite, but not everyone can be happy. The MAC Shack is a very good option, and you can basically get anything there, ranging from a pre-made salad to a delcious sub. They try their best, and I commend them on their attempt. I wish I could say that the food was top notch from a college, but I refuse to lie.

    Dorm Life

    Your first year of housing will more than likely be the worst year of our life. Once you become a Sophomore, etc., you can live in better dorms that actually have air-conditioning and are very nice. St Joe's and St Gert's are very nice as well, and St Joe's has recently become a co-ed dorm due to more males being accepted. Overall, the school is trying to give the students decent housing, but being a private school, money is an issue, and they are trying to upgrade some of the dorms as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are very professional and teach to the best of their ability for your understanding. They try to be available multiple times during the day to help you when you have a problem. They are there to help you out, and they do want you to succeed. Many of the professors I have had within the past year and a half have been the best professors/teachers I have had.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know exactly what you want to do, and try your hardest to focus on that goal. Try to find friends that you could possibly end up living with, and do not try to spend all of your time with them or your roommate, because you will probably grow to hate them. College can seem intimidating, but MAC has many resources available to help you with your studies. You can have fun, but you have to have some limitations when doing so.

    In three sentences

    Mount Aloysius is extremely devoted on helping its students succeed. The entire campus is very nice and friendly and willing to help you in any way. MAC is honestly one of the mot comforting schools I visited when searching for the best college.

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is really good on certain days or what time of day it is. The staff is extremely nice and they makes sure everything is stocked or they see how your day is going.

    Dorm Life

    Depending which dorm building you pick, you could get a community shower/bathroom or have your own with your roommate. The Mount is a dry campus, so no parties.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are tough depending on your major. But they have tutoring on campus. They give you extra tools to use while studying. They have IS sessions which are like group studying sessions and they are so helpful.

    In three sentences

    Mount Aloysius is small school on the top of the mountain. The school is small enough that you know everyone. Also, the class sizes are small.

  • 02/07/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Mount is a small campus and there is approximately three to four security guards on duty. There are call boxes all around campus and in parking lots in case of emergencies, and if you ever have car problems you can call security and they will help you out. All the officers are very nice and helpful.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are always posters and signs for different activities and clubs that are starting up or continuing.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a student who likes a small town, one on one attention, and a staff and other students who treat you like family then this is the college for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mount Aloysius is a catholic college, therefore they are very religion based. All facilities are newer and updated with special study areas that are comfy and quiet. Every student is required to take a Cultural Literacy Seminar (CLS) class that requires students to go to convocations and meet new people, like a field trip.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of open space at the Mount to go outside and have a catch with your friends or play pick up games at the different athletic complexes. Also the city of Altoona is about fifteen minutes away and has a lot more entertainment as far as restaurants, ice skating rink, bowling alleys, and much more.

    Food and Dining

    The food was very good and there was a big variety. There was also a snack shack that you could use your meal plan at.

    Dorm Life

    There are four dorms at the Mount and two of them are very new and updated. The other two dorms are older and show their age.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors made sure you knew what you where learning about and strive to make you learn as much as possible. Classes where not necessarily hard just a lot of work and required a lot of knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    The Mount is a small college where you can find a lot of one on one attention. The closest city with a lot of restaurants and entertainment is Altoona and it takes approximately fifteen minutes to get there.

    In three sentences

    Mount Aloysius College had a great cafeteria with good food and a wide variety. Most instructor at the Mount were always very nice and helpful. They have a beautiful campus that is small and homey