Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Mount Ida College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for design, vet tech, funeral service and dental majors. This school offers the best education for these majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure this school is right for you,and leaving home isn't always as fun as you think it is, consider choosing a school closer to home just in case your not happy living here. Good Luck in your college search.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is more expensive than others but overall what you learn in the end is worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love my major but moving away from home is a big step, I would love if I could commute.

    Am learning a lot

    This school has amazing professors that work in the profession they are teaching. They offer great insight and I have learned so much so far.

  • 09/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    It's a really great school and they have a wide variety of majors.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a private college and it's pretty expensive.

    Am enjoying being here

    I'm really glad I came to Mount Ida, it's a small school but I have a lot of friends and I'm really involved.

    Am learning a lot

    I love it here at Mount Ida and being in the graphic design major is awesome!!

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    mount ida is located in a very safe area in newton. we have campus security that are always around and available for any students in need or with needs.

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life on campus here.

    Clubs and Activities

    i am part of student government, orientation leader, resident advisor program. there are many other activities and clubs that you can belong to.

    Great for these types of students

    mount ida is a great school for the quieter, followers and those with some learning issues. they have a great learning opportunity program that helps student with many of their learning needs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    mount ida is a small school and has many buildings that hold memories that are dear to many because they are part of the original college.

    Bang for the buck

    for me mount ida is a great deal for the money. i do try the best i can with my grades hoping that i can get more grants and scholarships to help out my mother with the financial part of my schooling.

    What to do for fun

    for fun here at mount ida there are many things to do. many group activities to participate in and also many leadership opportunites available.

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining program at mount ida is outstanding. my friends and family who visit rave about the food quality and variety.

    Dorm Life

    this year i am a resident adviser and have found it quite a challenge learning to deal with people and their different personalities and issues.

    Academic Rigor

    i believe that i am extremely challenged by the academic programs that mount ida has to offer. i have amazed myself and others with all of the different activities, group, programs and work that i have in my schedule and handle on a day to day basis

    Tips for prospective students

    mount ida has lots of different types of career opportunities. learning programs, sports and leadership challenges as well.

    In three sentences

    mount ida is a great school. i have made lots of friends and have learned many new things. i know have great leadership abilities that i did not have before.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Mount Ida is very safe! After 6 P.M and on weekends, public safety is right at the front gate making sure everyone who comes through is a student or staff there.

    Great for these types of students

    Who likes to not walk a mile to get to places around campus, and want to be recognized as a student and not just a person. The professors truly care about you.

    What to do for fun

    They have dances that students can go to almost every weekend. You also are allowed to bring guests at a low fee!

    Food and Dining

    The food at Mount Ida is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter, but I have heard people have a great experience

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at Mount Ida truly do care about you and teach you to the best of their abilities. Some courses are more challenging than others but overall, Mount Ida professors push you to do things they know you can do.

    Tips for prospective students

    As you move into your freshman year, don't slack off. Try your best because you're paying for a college degree, not to party!

    In three sentences

    I love going to Mount Ida. It is such a small campus that everyone cares about each other. I would definitely recommend Mount Ida to all prospective students!

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go into Boston

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to keep on top of all classes and bills there

    In three sentences

    Mount Ida is a very friendly and diverse campus. It is small but close to Boston.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our public safety department is good and has you check in guests at the gate of the campus. They have you sign up for an alert system that will contact you by phone or email if there is an emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    I play on a sports team here and the coaches are great about putting academics before sports. The activities here are great, like Bingo nights, dances, comedians, performances, talent shows, karaoke, etc.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities going on here like games, performances, and guest speakers or comedians. There are also sports events on campus to show your school spirit and to support your fellow students.

    Food and Dining

    I enjoy the food here. We have a cafeteria that is buffet style where we have a choice of 3 hot lunches, a sandwich station, soup and salad stations, and an ice cream machine. There are always a various amount of choices to choose from in the caf. There is also another food place that students can go when the caf is closed that serves more fried and grilled food.

    Dorm Life

    There are several dorms that students can live in. There is a freshman dorm, which is attached to the cafeteria. There are also different dorms that have a suite set up with two bathrooms for six rooms. There is also an upper classmen dorm which is a new building that has air conditioning. I enjoy living here very much because there is always something going on like activities and sports games.

    Academic Rigor

    Mount Ida College is a great school if you're looking for small class sizes and individualized attention. To succeed at Mount Ida, you simply just need to do your work, study, and go to class. The professors always have time to either talk with you after class or set up an appointment to speak with you if you're having any issues.

    Tips for prospective students

    Mount Ida should be the school for you if you are looking for majors such as Dental Hygiene, Vet Tech, Fashion Merchandizing, Interior Design, or Funeral Home Management. Those are the majors it is known for and graduates of Mount Ida college have one of the highest employment rates when they graduate from here.

    In three sentences

    Mount Ida College is a very diverse college that welcomes students seeking various majors. It is a beautiful, small campus where you tend to know of most of the majority of the staff and students. I would give Mount Ida a great rating because in these small class settings, your professors know who you are and you get individualized attention.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You have to show a student ID to get onto the campus. All of the doors into the dorms are locked and you must swipe to get in.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs for all different interest.

    Great for these types of students

    Students athletes take up a large portion of the school population.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A new turf field is being installed this year!!!

    Bang for the buck

    This is a private school and the teacher to student ratio is great for people who are looking for extra help. If you work well in small classrooms this school is awesome.

    What to do for fun

    Very easy to get into Boston. The attendance at sporting events is great There are school dances

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining and constantly improving. Also, they usually grant wishes that are dropped into the comment box.

    Dorm Life

    The RA on campus are always willing to help settle an issue if you are having one.

    Academic Rigor

    the professors on this campus are great! They are always willing to help. There is a free writing center and tutoring for students who reach out for the extra help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Mount Ida is a small college and everyone knows each other.

    In three sentences

    At Mount Ida College you are just not a number to faculty and staff. Mount Ida is always trying to improve the campus activities. It is very easy to become involved on this campus.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Yes, it's expensive, but the scholastic rewards are worth it.

    Food and Dining

    If you ahve food allergies, be wary of the food in Wingate Hall. If yo can, go to Carlson Hall, or cook your own food in the dorms.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a commuter student, so I'm not sure what the dorms are like.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors expect your best. Start off strong and don't give up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared. The professors here won't hold your hands, nor will bursar/registrar/financial aid. Stay on top of your stuff and you'll turn out all right.

    In three sentences

    THis is a great school to come to if you work hard and don't mind a challenge.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very dependable and reliable and will assist you whenever they are called upon.

    Greek Life

    We do not have greek life at Mount Ida College

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus that can cater to almost anyone. If there isn't anything that interests you, you can start your own club!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking to further their education but doesn't want to attend a big school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a morgue on campus because we have a funeral services major.

    Bang for the buck

    Mount Ida is a very expensive school to go to and I sometimes believe that the price is too high for the services provided.

    What to do for fun

    Mount Ida college is located in Newton, Ma which is about 10 minutes from the T, which is how you get to Boston. Many students go into Boston on the weekends and there is always stuff to do. On campus, there are athletic games, movie nights, game nights, and clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food at Mount Ida has long been complained about. However, there have been talks about renovating the cafeteria for the fall 2013 school year.

    Dorm Life

    Life in the dorm is all what you make of it. The Freshman dorms are very small and all the residence halls are very old with the exception of the new Upperclassmen building named New Hall.

    Academic Rigor

    This depends on your major. The Vet tech, Dental hygiene, and funeral services majors have very rigorous class schedules. The other majors aren't as rigorous, but still are very good majors that can lead to good jobs.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tip would be to keep an open mind and don't be afraid to get involved. If you are not involved in a club, sport, or organization, you will most likely be very bored.

    In three sentences

    Mount Ida College is a very small college with a beautiful campus. It is an older college that needs a little bit of work but has tremendous opportunity to be great. Small class sizes and knowledgable professors make it a great learning experience.

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can go into Boston or you can just hang out in the many clubs that the school has

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome. There is even a secondary cafe if you don't like your lunch

    Dorm Life

    The dorms look great and you can add so many things to your room. you can also request a single bed room for some extra money and as you earn credits you can upgrade to the better dorm

    Academic Rigor

    my cousin shows me her work all the time and from what i see its decently hard but if you focus and put some effort into it you can do it

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't give up just because of the price look for scholarships

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Fun!?!?!?!? I know nothing about that...

    Food and Dining

    Not bad... I favor the steak and cheese wrap

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuting student, but from what I hear it is theULTIMATE college experience

    Academic Rigor

    I am in the Dental Hygiene program and it is HARD to say the least. I have not had much experience here outside of the courses for my major.

    Tips for prospective students

    BE SURE! It is a private institution and it is VERY expensive. Be sure before investing your time and money.

    In three sentences

    Mount Ida has a beautiful campus. I dont get to see much of it because of my demanding major

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    a lot of cool clubs

    What to do for fun

    clubs, sports ,hang out with friends

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be nervous but it's okay to be nervous because everyone is.

    In three sentences

    I love the campus and it's amazing. The people there are really nice. I love how it is a small school.

  • 02/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Being a privet school Mount Ida is slightly more expensive that some other public schools but the classes are small and the professors care about their students.

    What to do for fun

    There is always an activity planned on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Brand new buffet style dinning hall and a cafe on the first floor. You can always find something to eat. They are always asking what the students want to eat as well. Very accommodating to different diets and needs.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The vet tech program is very challenging, but some days I feel like I can conquer anything they throw at me and others I do not know how I am going to make it through. I believe this will make me better suited for the work force after I graduate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and do not be afraid of being your self this is a small school and we care about each other.

    In three sentences

    The Vet tech program is amazing. we get to mix our general course work with our major classes through out the three years, and this keeps the work load a bit lighter and keeps you engaged because you are spending time right from the beginning on courses that really matter to your career.