Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Mount St Mary's University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The college is great for those who want to dive into their studies without the distractions of the surrounding areas. The campus is in a quiet town of Emmitsburg, with the nearest Starbucks 30 minutes away. Same goes for the nearest mall and movie theater. The Catholic university is the second oldest of its kind in the nation, and has an immense catholic power over it; however, is not overbearing - this coming from a Lutheran.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. As part of the freshman ambassador team, we have seen a increase of 50% in applications. Since we can only take in so many students, an early application with average qualifications will get in while a late application with outstanding qualifications may be wait-listed as there are no more spots available. Also, apply to more than just MSMU, apply big and small, far and near. You never know what the future holds.

    Bang for the buck

    The total cost for tuition and on campus housing comes to a little over $40,000 per year, but it is well worth it. MSMU envelops the student, forcing them to become a part of the community and making sure that no penny is wasted. Dorm repairs are done within 24 hours, we have one of the best security systems in the country, and are renown for our business and education departments, with the sciences close behind. Once the solar farm is in place, the third largest in the United States, the entire campus will be run via solar and geothermal energy. Not bad at all.

    Am enjoying being here

    The Mount is an excellent place to live and go to school. The community is constantly referred to as a family due to everyone knowing each other on campus. The dorm rooms are currently being renovated, with two thirds of the campus done with modern rooms - no dorm horror stories here. The food is excellent at the food court as well as the cafe on campus. Plus, the lounges around campus are great for studying or just hanging around campus.

    Am learning a lot

    The core curriculum along with the specific courses tied to my majors are challenging yet the professors make sure the students comprehend the information with before and after class assistance. There are tutors on campus to assist on a one-on-one basis as well. Out of the eleven classes I was able to take for the first year, six were in my major and minor fields of study, which is high for freshman at a liberal arts college. I will be able to earn my degree in three years if I work for it. The workload is just right, even with two jobs on campus and getting involved in clubs.

  • 09/26/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is looking for a calm peaceful atmosphere and wants to make wonderful friends and receive the best education possible. While this school is a Catholic, faith-based university, the Mount believes in welcoming all religions; any students, regardless of religious beliefs, can attend this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely recommend applying here! However, I would recommend applying to a few other less expensive schools, just in case the Mount cannot meet your financial need. That being said, there are many scholarship opportunities at the Mount. Definitely put this on your college search list!

    Bang for the buck

    While Mount Saint Mary's is fairly expensive, I believe it is worth every penny. That is, if you can afford it. For me, I will need a significant amount of scholarship money and financial aid for my attendance at this school to be possible. I will just keep praying and hoping! I am therefore looking at other schools but honestly cannot imagine going anywhere else.

    Will enjoy being here

    The Mount has such a wonderful Catholic atmosphere. This is exactly what I'm looking for in a school.

    Will learn a lot

    I have heard so many things about the academics at Mount Saint Mary's. I am excited to pursue not only my major (biology/ biochemistry) but to continue my education in all fields of learning.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While there are a few issues, such as alcohol violations, the school feels safe, as public safety is always around, coupled with the location of camp David in close vicinity and it always seems very secure.

    Greek Life

    I don't have much knowledge on this aspect of the university.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a huge selection of clubs and activities, with the option to create one at any time, so long as it is approved, which it generally is. The clubs are very fun, and the activities well thought out.

    Great for these types of students

    This is great for all types of student, with the only exception being the strictly art majors, who wish to do nothing else.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a building (Purcell) that was built to be the meeting area for some activities, as well as the school's regular dance spot. There is also a large lounge with several arcade games and large TVs for entertainment. There is an anti-aircraft gun on the campus in front of the seminary.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is very much worth the money, with its only point of contention being the lack of a huge pool for culture blending, which can teach a person many important things for later life, as well as the slight repetition of food and activities.

    What to do for fun

    On campus there is always something going on, such as sports (Even at three in the morning, I have played a game of ultimate Frisbee in the dark several times) clubs, study groups, movies, games, and parties.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, as the offer a selection each day, and vegan meals as well, with desert bars and everything, and a cafe is open late at night for those who get a sudden urge. The drawback is the cycling of food, as it will steadily repeat for many specific meals, though those don't have to be chosen, as there is always something else to choose.

    Dorm Life

    I personally love the dorm life, as it is an excellent way to meet new people, and many friends, as well as to learn new things and cultures from the newly met people. The only issue is how living with others creates more mess than what the cleaning crew can handle sometimes, but it is not too bad at all.

    Academic Rigor

    There is not so much a push on the work handed out, but rather in what is expected from the student, as the teachers expect that the student will do their best, and follow the assignments and study the notes, which is enough to pass. In addition there is always help available for the subjects, mitigated only by the amount of people seeking the same for themselves.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always keep your keys and ID on your person, no matter where you are going. Lock your door, and keep it that way, not for fear of the students, but out of the guests that may visit. Constant, minor, upkeep is easier than one huge, labor intensive burst of cleaning. Always keep checking on the status of any food brought into the room, you don't want it going bad!

    In three sentences

    A Fantastic blend of excellent scenery, community, faith, facilities, and discovery. This college holds exploration of the self, and studies very highly while mixing in a deep seated, faith guided studies with moral and thorough self examination. The Facilities are top notch, with much available, and most of it being new or updated, but it does have some issues such as the upkeep time.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Mount is a really safe and secure environment, and the public safety do routine checks all over campus throughout the day and night.

    Greek Life

    There aren't any sororities or fraternities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs on campus, most of which are academic (language clubs, the Honors program, philosophical club, etc.), sports-related (intramural and club sports happen year-round), outdoors-y, community service-based, or faith-based. The Office of Social Justice is very active and has several local day trips throughout the week that only take a few hours, and they go to a variety of places such as soup kitchens, homes for teen mothers, and elderly homes. Additionally, they lead weekend trips and fall/spring break trips to places like Philadelphia, West Virginia, Cincinnati and Jacksonville. The Campus Ministry has a lot of different groups, including prayer groups, Pro-Life groups that go to the March for Life in DC and advocate against the death penalty, bible study, and fellowship opportunities. If you're not Catholic, you're still definitely welcome to these activities, and there are non-denominational groups as well that host bible studies and prayer groups.

    Great for these types of students

    The Mount is great if you want a small, intimate school where you know a lot of people. It's also great if you're interested in outdoor activities, community service and social justice, student diversity (the Mount is not very diverse, but the Student Diversity office is really good), and getting involved with your faith.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Mount is over 200 years old and associated with the Civil War, so of course there are plenty of ghost stories. The Terrace, which is the oldest building on campus and has three separate dorms in it, is apparently haunted. Most people who live there have said they've never seen or experienced anything, but there was a room that stayed boarded up until the renovations in 2009. Several people, including priests when it was still an all-guys school, tried living in the room and couldn't deal with the weirdness. However, the room is now a bathroom, and I haven't heard any more ghost stories. If that stuff freaks you out (like it freaks me out), you don't have to live in Terrace! The Mount is also very unique in that it is also a Catholic seminary, which is a place men go to school to become priests. The seminarians for the most part do their own thing and live and go to class in their own building, but some of the younger guys have to take random classes with the undergrads, like math or history. They're all really nice, funny guys, and even though it's weird to see 170ish guys with collars on, they're all pretty normal.

    Bang for the buck

    The Mount is pretty expensive as far as tuition goes, but the education is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot to do both on and off campus. Comedians and musicians come to campus almost every weekend, and students can participate in an acoustic battle for a cash prize. There are lots of sports games to go to, and the basketball games in particular are really fun. There are semi-formal dances at different parts of the year. New movies are also shown before they come out on DVD. The Mount is actually on a small mountain, so if you like hiking, you'll love the Mount. If you want to get off campus, you can visit the Elizabeth Anne Seton shrine in Emmitsburg or go to the Ott House for lunch or dinner (or drinks if you're over 21). Emmitsburg is pretty small, so there's not much to do there, but thankfully the Mount is 15-20 minutes from two bigger towns. Gettysburg, PA is a really cute town, the battlefields are huge and really beautiful, there are lots of restaurants, a movie theater, an outlets strip with good stores, and tons of Civil War reenactors and and ghost hunters. Frederick, MD is twenty minutes to the south, and downtown is also really nice. They have a lot of good restaurants and really good shops. The campus activities board also provides shuttles to DC, Philadelphia or New York a few times every semester. There are tons of other hiking spots, and several trips throughout the semester to do different outdoor activities, like hiking, rock climbing, and caving.

    Food and Dining

    Patriot Hall is the dining hall on campus, and while there are some iffy foods, for the most part, Patriot serves really good food. The staff is all really nice and friendly. Patriot is open from 7 AM-7:30 PM. Additionally, there is a cafe, which is open weekdays 7 AM-midnight and weekends 7:30 PM-2 AM.

    Dorm Life

    There are 9 dorms on campus. Some are older and look more run-down (which typically go to freshmen), but most are either new or just renovated. All of the dorms have lounges and study areas. Rooms can be doubles, triples, quads, suite-style (4 single rooms connected to one common room), apartment-style, and 8-person (there's only one 8-person room on campus). Apartments can either be two-person (two singles--there's only one on campus), three-person (one double and one single), or five-person (two doubles and a single). Apartments come with a bathroom, living/dining room area, full kitchen, a full-sized fridge, sink, and electric stove. The other dorms come with a mini-fridge/microwave.

    Academic Rigor

    There are certainly some classes that are easy and take little effort, but for the most part, most classes require work. As you get into the upper levels, the course work will definitely get harder, and you won't do well if you don't put the effort in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't apply to the Mount if you want a big school or if you can't be in a rural environment. There are plenty of ways to have fun on campus, but you have to take advantage of campus activities and be willing to be creative and make your own fun. If you can't do this, you'll be bored!

    In three sentences

    Mount St. Mary's (otherwise known as the Mount) is located in a rural setting, 15 minutes south of Gettysburg, PA. Due to its small population and rural nature, the Mount is a very close-knit community, and many students there consider it home. There are tons of campus activities, and the campus activities board works really hard to ensure there is plenty to do, both on and off campus.

  • 10/15/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The Mount is great for all types of students. There always is something for everyone to get into. Whether that be on a D1 or club sports team, to any sort of club you want to join. Being a liberal arts college, almost anyone can fit it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. The Mount is a great school and very popular is all areas. Just make sure you're a pretty well-rounded student, cause everyone here seems pretty open to various types of activities.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Mount St. Mary's is about 40,000 per year, you receive a lot for your money. The classes are rigorous and beneficial and the professors really push their students. You also get a great meal plan and housing options. MSMU also provides many extracurricular activities both during the week and on the weekends that everyone can participate in.

    Am enjoying being here

    The Mount is a fantastic place to go to college. Whether you live on campus or are a commuter, everyone is involved in everything. They just finished renovating a new housing building, which is quite nice. The overall atmosphere here is wonderful, we have such a great sense of family and community.

    Am learning a lot

    The Mount has a certain core curriculum for every particular major. The curriculum for my major challenges me to think outside the box and pull in knowledge from the other classes I am taking. Each of my classes seem to have at least one aspect they share. My professors are very good at their job and push everyone, including myself to do their best.

  • 01/15/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The Mount is great for someone who posesses all 3 of these qualities. 1- Seeks a good, but not too challenging, Catholic education. 2- Is involved on a sports team, club, service project, or work study. 3- Wants a relaxed social life where you only see the same group of people every day, night, and weekend.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not come here if you are expecting the typical work hard-play hard expensive 4 year college. The social life is very relaxed and is centered on your involvement on a sports team, club, or dorm/apartment. The academics are pretty easy if you go to class and put forth a decent effort.

    Bang for the buck

    Most, if not all, students get at least 10-15k per year in scholarships or financial aid. Once this is shaved off the 38k sticker price, your all said and done price is pretty reasonabe.

    Did enjoy being here

    You really do not get the campus feel or college town here. Weekends and downtime can be quite boring. However, I did enjoy getting to know my professors and classmates.

    Did learn a lot

    The class sizes are small and the professors do give you a lot of personal attention. The downside is that they do not expect a whole lot of creativity or latitute out of you.

  • 06/09/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 4 people found this review useful. 7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    it's very affordable for the education given, which is quite up to par, as i should say.

    Will enjoy being here

    the campus if beautiful and is very home-y(:

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is always watching and prepare for anything. The safety is all over the campus and if you ever need help their there.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are very good to be in at the Mount Saint Mary because that how you get involve and meet other people.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone and every students fits in a college environment you just have to enjoy your surroundings and help others learn more about the school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On campus they have different clubs for people to be part of culture and different traditions. Most of the Hispanic/ Latino have people to teach other non Hispanic how to dances and learn more about different cultures.

    Bang for the buck

    It's been hard since my dad left my mom, so the person who's paying a lot of the money is my mother which its a lot. I am one of the second people going to a college in my family and also my mother is also attending school. I wish in away i had a second parent to help my mother pay college because for real their is not a lot of my money in my household. In a way my mother is doing the best she can to get me through college. The college gave me money but that is not enough. But I am going to keep my head up and try to find a way to get through college.

    What to do for fun

    The things that I do for fun is like play basketball with my friends, dances, exercise and spend a lot of time with my friends. Helping my friends with homework and other things.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dinning is great it has a lots of choices to eat. The student are the one who decides whether they should keep a certain food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a great experiences for all student and its very save.

    Academic Rigor

    It very hard but if you keep your head in the game then you'll be fine. I understand their students who need help in academic wise but their are people who care as much as your should but you should always allow that help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Mount Saint Mary is a community university but it really prepares the students in academic and knowledge way. If any student is prepare to become an adult this is the college to start at.

    In three sentences

    Mount Saint Mary is a great school that really prepares students and always helps students stay on top on their things. This school has a great opportunity for all students. Mount Saint Mary actually works in with the students to enjoy, love and fully live the truth of the world.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel pretty safe here, but Public Safety is kind of like the gestapo. They will watch (out for) you. There is little violence, theft, or unsafe things going on here.

    Bang for the buck

    If you want a Blue Mountain State type college experience, do not go here. If you are going to slack, do not go here. If you want to be overly intellectually stimulated, do not go here. If you want to major in Art or Theater, do not go here.

    What to do for fun

    AMP is awesome, they have club nights a few times a month. There are a lot of activities, trips into Philly or DC. They have a good CRUX team for those that like outdoor activities. There is not a lot outside of the campus, however.

    Food and Dining

    Decent food, many healthy choices. Not a lot of vegetarian options. You get sick of the food after a few months in.

    Dorm Life

    Strict rules about visiting hours, public safety and residence life is extremely strict. Most people are friendly, but it is rather clique-y here.

    Academic Rigor

    If you apply yourself you can do well here. If you slack off, but do some work, expect a 2.5 or lower. If you do nothing, you will do poorly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the core curriculum before you choose to go here, sometimes it's not a good fit for students. Don't think about transferring, many of your credits will not come with you. And remember-- don't slack off freshman year because you have other things occupying you (socializing, etc) because doing well is what your going to college for.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus, but not what they present themselves to be--they go for an Ivy League, classy image however they are far from it. Msmary has good student life and decent academics. Bloated administration, some extremely intelligent and vibrant teachers, and as clique-y as your high school probably was.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Mount St. Mary's University is great for the type of student who wants to be able to maintain focus on their academics but can also find exciting things to pursue if they wanted as well. Mount St. Mary's is great for the type of student that likes to know that everyone is focused on their work and will be able to get help whenever it is needed as well. The Mount is also great for students who have a strong background in their faith and want that to only continue as they go on into their college years! Go Mount!

    Tips for prospective students

    A great tip for prospective students is to focus on academics before all other things. You're in college for an education above all else so make sure and always know in your mind that it is your work that comes first no matter what.

    Bang for the buck

    As a small, liberal arts college set in a quaint area of Maryland, Mount St. Mary's University is well worth the money. As a student here, I'm glad I made the decision to attend Mount St. Mary's University as I am gaining a great education that was more than worth what is being paid in tuition. An aspiring college student should not look anywhere else but to Mount St. Mary's for their higher education!

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy the atmosphere at Mount St. Mary's University. Set against a backdrop of the Catoctin Mountains, the Mount is a great campus full of rich history dating back to 1808. With many of the buildings in the style of Gothic architecture it is quite beautiful to walk amongst as one goes from class to class. It is excellent being in attendance here at the Mount and well worth the while.

    Am learning a lot

    Mount St. Mary's University does an excellent job of educating their students as, having just finished my first semester of college as a freshman at this institution, I can honestly say I have gained great insight from my various professors through the courses I was taking this past semester. They are excellent in not only educating us as their students, but fully enjoying every bit of what they are teaching. If one is in pursuit of a great education it is to Mount St. Mary's University that one should look!

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the public safety officers definitely do their job (sometimes taking it a little too seriously). most of the officers are very nice and easy to talk to; however, there are a couple of officers that believe they are superior to all of the students, which causes them to speak very condescendingly towards the students.

    Greek Life

    there are no fraternities or sororities.

    What to do for fun

    if you like playing sports, i strongly recommend that you get involved with the division i athletics. if you do not think you will make any of the teams, then there are plenty of opportunities to play an intramural or a club sport. there is always something to do on the weekend, whether it is go hiking, go to a movie, go ice-skating, etc. they plan a lot of stuff to prevent the students from drinking/partying.

    Food and Dining

    the food is not the greatest, but it still tastes good. i have heard that they use food additives, but i am not completely sure. it is just a rumor. the desserts are awesome and they have plenty of choices to choose from, depending on what you're craving that day.

    Dorm Life

    as a freshman, you can either live in a nice dorm or a not-so-nice dorm. if you get placed in terrace, you will have a/c and a decent-sized room. if you get placed in pangborn or sheridan, you will have a relativelty smaller room without a/c compared to the terrace.

    Academic Rigor

    the core curriculum is rigorous, yet easy to follow. the classes you take your freshman year can be fun or be boring, depending on the professor. you will be given a lot of work, including things like worksheets, weekly papers, journal entries, etc. i recommend that, if you come here, you study very hard and keep on track with work. don't let yourself get behind!

    In three sentences

    this is a very good school with strong academics. however, if you want to be surrounded with things to do, then this school is not for you. there is a very tightly close-knit community.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Meet up with friends and explore our new home. I'm excited to try some new things. I understand there is skiing nearby, I can't hardly wait!

    Food and Dining

    During my visits to the campus, I have thoroughly enjoyed my meals. They have a wide variety of choices for all meals. The menu has encouraged me to try new things.

    Dorm Life

    I'm enrolled to begin in the fall; therefore, I have not experienced the 'dorm life' except when I visited last spring. It gave me a sense of responsibility, yet a little overwhelming as to reality outside of my own home. It's an experience I'm looking forward to.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't started classes yet, I only have the knowledge of upper classmates.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend the orientation to get a head start on meeting classmates and making new friends. Join a club and/or organization to get involve with those people who are going to be part of your family over the next few years.

    In three sentences

    The curriculum is challenging and allows each student to push themselves to excel throughout the year. Everyone there is extremely nice and compassionate. The campus is beautiful, it's truely picturesque.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can walk around and feel safe at any time of the day

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    They have every club you can think of and the activities to do on campus go on forever

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, serious student, shy, students with learning disabilities, religious, non-religious, athletes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sledding with food trays in the winter

    Bang for the buck

    They offer work study and tons of scholarship money!

    What to do for fun

    Parties, Movies, Outdoor trips, shopping trips, dances the list goes on!

    Food and Dining

    Food is good.

    Dorm Life

    After Freshman year the dorms are awesome!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do an overnight visit or a day at the mount to get a feel for the school.

    In three sentences

    Academics are great but prepare to work hard. It has a community feel! They have a great selection of clubs and club sports

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety was really great. I never felt like I was in danger. The campus is really safe!

    Greek Life

    no greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    so many clubs on campus and all of them are really involved on campus and in the surrounding community.

    Great for these types of students

    Just be open to having a good time and you'll have the time of your life at the Mount

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Grotto is beautiful!

    Bang for the buck

    It was worth it

    What to do for fun

    Skiing, shopping, DC, Frederick, bowling, and much more. AMP the campus activities program puts on some great events every weekend. I was never bored unless I was studying.

    Food and Dining

    Patriot is good, I actually really miss it.

    Dorm Life

    The RAs are great. They are really willing to do anything for you.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your major. The sciences are tough, just work hard and you'll go far.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is small and there does seem like there is a lot to do but if you give a chance and a tank of gas you will find millions of activities to do. You just have to get creative. The Mount is amazing.

    In three sentences

    My four years at the Mount were magical. Everyone at the Mount is so wonderful and welcoming that it is impossible to not make friends and feel special at the Mount. The Mount was my home for four years and I miss it terribly.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always around. This campus is very very very safe. I can express that enough. If anything is going on that might be dangerous on campus or in the surrounding communities campus safety will always send out an email letting students know. If the weather may be dangerous be sure to get a text, a phone call, you parents might get a phone call, and both of you will get an email. So you can always feel comfortable knowing that they will have you informed.

    Greek Life

    I am sorry to say but because we are a Catholic institution there is no Greek life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Something maybe new to many students, is the fact that laundry is FREE! So don't worry about having to save up a bag of quarters.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, get involved! If you are the type to just sit in your room and maybe attend an event here or there you won�t have fun here. There are so many clubs and organizations here and someone is always throwing an event. So don't be afraid to get involved because you make friends that way. But we have an Outdoors activity office that always has something going on. They will do white water rafting, rock climbing, caving, camping, etc. I personally did the zip line and that was beyond fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is pretty good. It�s not like in high school where there is only a line and you have 2 choices. Nor is it like some colleges that have fast food contracts serving their students because that can be unhealthy. At the Mount there us a section for almost anything. A full salad bar so you can make your own fresh salad. A sandwich and wraps area, made to order just the way you want it. A home food section, were they will have good meals like mash potatoes, chicken, etc. Pizza area, some nights they let you make your own pizza. The grill of course with burgers fries, the usual. And the desert section with all sorts of things going on from cakes and pies, to fresh baked cookies. Another thing to note is separate from the cafeteria is the cafe. It has a lot of the similar foods and they are open till 12 and sometimes 2am.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice and comfortable. I personally live in one of the apartments here and they are amazing. Residence life has a unique system in matching you up to someone to be your room mate. So you don't have to worry about being roomed with someone you won�t like. 9 times out of 10, anyone who is a roommate I have seen them become best friends.

    Academic Rigor

    This is my second institution and by far the education I have received here is the best. The professors are all top of the line. Because the class sizes are usually no bigger than 25,you can always find a few minutes after or before class to talk to your teacher. Also, you can be sure to build up a close relationship with professors because they want to know how you are doing not only in their class but your others classes. The course work is challenging, but in a good way. It challenges you not to only think about the course you are in, but to think outside of the box and into the future. Our 4 pillars are Community, Faith, Leadership, and Discovery. You can be sure that you will experience that here and then some.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit the campus and take a tour. The students give the tours, so you can get a firsthand account on everything. Because if you are interested in going here, making a visit is the best thing you could do. Also, don't be afraid to email the Admissions office or Registrars and ask questions if you are not sure about something. They are all friendly and willing to answer anything.

    In three sentences

    This institution is beautiful first of all. The students are very nice and open to new students. The class sizes are small, so it is easy to obtain that close relationship with your professors.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe and there are blue light phones evenly placed throughout. The department of public safety does a great job updating campus on safety concerns and keeping the students and faculty safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for absolutely every area that anyone could imagine.

    Great for these types of students

    Mount St. Mary's is the second oldest Catholic University in the country, which makes it very appealing for Catholic students.

    Bang for the buck

    It is an expensive school, but scholarships are almost always granted. The money is worth it because students get an extremely well-rounded education. They will have classes required for their major but also required classed from the Veritas program. These classes include philosophy, theology, foreign language, and different types of history classes.

    What to do for fun

    Frederick, MD is a very cute town with lots of little restaurants and shops. Additionally, Gettysburg, PA is about 15 minutes north of campus and has the same sort of environment.

    Food and Dining

    The food is definitely dining hall food, but is much better than other schools I have been to. Dining hall services does their best to provide for the students a variety of options.

    Dorm Life

    The Mount has several recently renovated dorms which makes dorm living relatively good. There are several opportunities to advance in housing options through specialty housing options including Leadership, Women in Science, Faith development and Honors.

    Academic Rigor

    The honors program provides a great opportunity to be in a higher level classes that engage in thoughtful class discussions. Depending on the major, classes range in academic rigor. They are definitely challenging, but nothing that isn't bearable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should definitely evaluate the person that they want to be after college and realize that the Mount has so many opportunities to help them achieve those goals. Also, having a general idea of a major or areas of interest are really helpful.

    In three sentences

    The Mount is close-knit community that promotes student achievement and involvement. It is a place where students can really learn about themselves and grow as young adults. The school not only produces academically successful students, but very well-rounded individuals.

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety goes above and beyond.

    Greek Life

    No greek life at all.

    Clubs and Activities

    A huge selection of clubs and activities to fit any interest you have.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students looking for small class sizes. Also good for catholic students interested in church activities and keeping up with mass.

    What to do for fun

    We have Amp, which organizes off campus activities all the time for little to no cost. We also have Crux that organized more active activities like rock climbing. canoeing etc...

    Food and Dining

    Always clean. The people who serve the food are always friendly and there is a variety of food options everyday.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very outdated, but liveable.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are very important at the mount. Even if you are not the top of your class you are encouraged and the teachers are more than willing to give helpful advice to keep you on track.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask questions if you are unsure about something, whether it is in class or outside of class.

    In three sentences

    Mount Saint Mary's has a beautiful campus. The staff is really helpful. Easy access to all of the facilities it offers at anytime.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to strengths their Catholic identity in a rural setting

    Bang for the buck

    The Mount offers thousands of dollars in scholarships based on your GPA and test scores, so the actual cost will probably be well below the sticker price. Love the scholarship aspect of the college especially during the application process.

    What to do for fun

    The area surrounding the Mount is pretty sleepy, but the college itself offers activities and clubs.

    Academic Rigor

    I wish the classes were a bit more challenging, although the Mount does offer an honors program.

    Tips for prospective students

    The Mount is located in a rural area, so be aware if you intend to visit.

    In three sentences

    The Mount staff is a wonderful group of people. The campus is beautiful but rural. Great scholarships available.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is very involved in happenings around campus, and is quick to act on any complaints or issues.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wide variety of clubs and activities, and the opportunity to create your own!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small class sizes, individual one-on-one time with professors, and a small rural campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the beginning of the school year is the annual Opening Convocation; which is mass, including faculty and students, followed by a picnic.

    Bang for the buck

    Lots of scholarships and financial aid available!

    What to do for fun

    AMP, the activities management program, sets up activities to do on weekends. Like a trip to Baltimore's Inner Harbor, or a day trip to NYC, or going to Liberty Mountain and going inner tubing during the winter. There's also a good amount of dances throughout the year. The Social Justice office also has activities and trips. One of the favorite things to do around campus is going to 1808 for club night. And of course, there is always plenty of sports and games to go watch.

    Food and Dining

    The food can get somewhat monotonous. But, I have to say, the Mount has pretty good food. We have one dining hall: Patriot. Then we have the Mount Caf�©. So between Patriot and the Caf�©, along with food from the bookstore and convenience store, you'll be set.

    Dorm Life

    You are placed in designated dorms for freshman your first year. This is great because everyone is in the same boat of not knowing many people. Be sure to leave your door open and get to know people! Other options for housing include: Terrace, which has A/C and you have roommates; Apartments, which you have your own kitchen and share the room with roommates, and Bicentennial which also has A/C, and you share a suite and have your own bathroom.

    Academic Rigor

    The Honors Program certainly challenges me to the best of my ability.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're ever in doubt about an assignment/project don't hesitate to email your professor! Also, invest in a good pair of rain boots or rain jacket- you're going to need them!

    In three sentences

    Definitely a tight-knit community, you get to know everyone. Professors are always willing to help you. The campus is beautiful and has a friendly atmosphere.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Mount has a hiking trail called Indian Lookout that has become a Mount Tradition to climb. This trail was discovered by a few young men who wanted to see what was happening in Gettysburg, during the Civil War. Indian Lookout provides a breathtaking view of the Maryland and Pennsylvania country-side - a must for every student's to-do list! Another interesting fact is that the Mount is on the opposite side of the mountain from Camp David. Also, for all of the Harry Potter fans on campus, the Mount hosts a Quidditch tournament. It has become a tradition on campus and is very popular with the students.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many fun activities that the Mount has planned for its students. When the school year kicks off, we have a huge campus-wide picnic (the President of the University closes all of campus for this huge community event), a Summer Tiki dance, and summer festival of games, rides on the Mount's Zip-line, and an annual Crab Feast tradition ($5 for all you can eat crabs!!) and other fun activities. During other weekends, there are movie nights (usually new movies that are not yet on DVD), Bingo nights (students usually line up an hour before to make sure they have a seat!), a Christmas Dance, and a Homecoming Dance. Campus Activities also plans events off campus attending the D.C. Cherry Blossom Festival, March for Life, Georgetown and Tysons Corner Shopping Shuttle and trips to New York City for the day (only $25!!). The Mount gives its students plenty of opportunities to have fun on or off campus - you will find many of students that wish they had more time just to do the activities!

    Food and Dining

    As a small campus, we do not have the luxury of a Chick-fil-A or Starbucks (those are about 20 minutes away), we have a single cafeteria called Patriot Hall. Patriot Hall is open all day and serves everything you could think of. The deli station is filled with choices that you could make or invent a new sandwich every day! The campus bakery is home to some of the best chocolate chip cookies and plenty of other delicious desserts. Rounding out the rest of the menu is the Pizza station, Home-Style Station (like home-cooked meals), Pasta Station, Salad and Soup Bar, Grill, and VegetarianStation. In addition, the cafeteria also has a Cafe that is open during the late night and early morning. Mount students will never starve and have plenty of great choices for their breakfasts, lunches, dinners and mid-night snacks.

    Dorm Life

    The campus life of Mount St. Mary's is very comfortable. There are many different residential halls to choose. If you are interested in traditional-style residences, then Terrace, Sheridan, and Pangborn are your best choices. Terrace is the oldest building on campus, built approximately around 1808, and recently was renovated right before the Mount's 200th anniversary. Also on the campus, Bicentennial provides suite-style rooms for four people. These rooms are complete with four single rooms, a private bath, and a common living room area. One of the newest additions to the Mount's residential life are the Cottages. Each of the five cottages house about ten people, have a full living room, two baths, and a full kitchen. Finally, the Mount also has three towers of Apartments on the main campus. The Apartments range from 2-5 person units and have a kitchen, living room, and bathroom. Also, the laundry at the Mount is free - so, you do not have to bring your nickels and dimes! Every room also comes with a free micro-fridge, television cable outlet, and high-speed internet. As an 88% residential campus, the Mount provides a home away from home for many of its successful students.

    Academic Rigor

    The Mount's academics are very challenging. Attending a liberal arts University, you will get to take classes that you might not normally choose at a regular university- psychology, economics, philosophy, and theology. With the liberal arts education, the courses challenge you to think about those subjects and bring those subjects into your daily life conversations. Attending the Mount has definitely expanded by knowledge and enhanced my conversations with friends, family, and strangers.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend that you visit campus. The Mount is a beautiful and historic campus. The Admissions Office at the Mount are some of the kindest people you will ever meet. The Admissions Office hosts many different events for prospective students. Some of these events include an Overnight Experience (spending the night with a current Freshman and attending classes), A Day at the Mount program (spend the day and attend classes with a current Freshman), Open Houses, and many other great programs. If you would like to plan a visit or a campus tour, please visit: www.msmary.edu/campusvisit - It will be one of your best visits ever!

    In three sentences

    Mount St. Mary's University is a strong, faith-filled and family-oriented community. As one of the smallest DI schools in the US, the Mount provides every Varsity and Club team with a Team Chaplain, who attends the adjoining Mount St. Mary's Seminary. Arriving on campus, one will immediately feel the warm welcome from all students and faculty and will be in awe of the beauty of the historic 200+ year old University.