Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Mount Vernon Nazarene University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 15 people found this review useful. 1 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    great for anyone who wants to expand thier learning and keeping up with thier walk with God

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a wonderful campus and a very christian atmosphere

    Am learning a lot

    the Nazarene is a wonderful school, the professors really care about each student, they are always there to talk to. It doesn't matter if you're 24 or 50 you are a student and treated as equal, as just another person on campus. the kids are very welcoming and

  • 07/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Our Psychology department is amazing and I love our professors! So pysch majors. Also anyone who loves to get to know others and be in a great Christian Atmosphere!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your admission counselor they love to work with prospective students. Don't get your books in the Cougar Corner bookstore they are so much cheaper on amazon and ohiolink. Keep your dorm room door open for at least the first month because people will stop in and become friends with you. Go to Friday Night Live, play gotcha in jterm, play every intramural you can, and work hard in classes.

    Bang for the buck

    When you pay tuition you expect to go to class and gain at degree. When you apply and go to Mount Vernon Nazarene University you are doing so much more than gaining a degree. At Mount Vernon you are gaining a wonderful life experience and you are making friends that become like family. Getting a degree may be an ultimate goal but it's important to enjoy the trip and at Mount Vernon you will.

    Am enjoying being here

    For me it is almost financially impossible to return to Mount Vernon Nazarene University. However, I love this college. There is so much to do including Cosmo groups (community service), intramurals, there is great classes, and a wonderful christian atmosphere. I have a huge heart for MVNU and that is why I'm doing so much work to get scholarships!

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at Mount Vernon really care for their students. If I don't understand something I know I can talk to them and get help. MVNU is a Christian liberal arts school so not only am I learning about my major but I am becoming more of a well rounded person. A lot of schools stuff 70 or 80 students in with one professor but not at Mount Vernon, I feel like I'm a student and not a number.

  • 08/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student who wants college to not just expand their mind, but to help them grow spiritually, and help give them a support group of Christian friends for when they venture into the world after college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Freshman move in week is jam packed with events for the new students. You might think some of the events are dumb, or that you don't want to go, but don't just blow it off! That first week of school is a great time to meet a lot of new people, and doing that can help college feel more like home in just a matter of days. Some of those people might become your best friends! (And even if you really didn't want to be at whatever event is going on, you're probably not alone, so find some people to pass the time with!)

    Bang for the buck

    Although I had the opportunity to have a full ride to a state school, I still chose to attend MVNU, and there has not been one second that I have regretted that decision. The growth I've made both spiritually and academically, as well as the friends that I've met and the experiences I've had there, make MVNU worth every last penny to me.

    Am enjoying being here

    I had a pretty great high school experience, and was afraid that college would pale in comparison to the fun times I had back then. MVNU did not disappoint, though. I am always chomping at the bit to get back on campus after summer break. I always have a blast. The friends I have made here are ones I hope I'll never lose!

    Am learning a lot

    Professors here don't just hold a degree for their area of focus, they hold a passion. Their enthusiasm for and thorough knowledge of their subject really shows, and helps me be more interested in what they have to say, even when it's about something like math.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for almost every major on campus, and even if you just have an interest in a certain topic, there is a club for it! Community service is a big part of MVNU life and there are many opportunities to get out into Mount Vernon and surrounding areas to serve. There is definitely something for everyone here!

    Great for these types of students

    MVNU is a fantastic place for Christian students who want to grow in their walk with God as they attend college. The education and nursing programs are held in high esteem, so if you are considering either of those careers, check MVNU out!

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of fun events on campus, such as Friday Night Live, Open Mic Nights, concerts, Lip Sync contest, the end of the year Block Party, and even just movie nights. Mount Vernon has a bowling alley, movie theater, and a roller rink as well. Columbus is only about 45 minutes away, and many students go there on weekends to shop.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria is open from 7am-7pm and you may enter at any time. The Cafe has a wide variety of food and always includes a pizza and sub line. The 586 Cafe is open for late night snacking and you receive credit for the 586 on your card each semester. In addition, Mount Vernon has many restaurants that are priced for college student's wallets!

    Dorm Life

    The Residence Life Staff is interested in building a personal relationship with you. The RD, RA, and SLAs on your floor will host events so you can grow in your community life. These people really want to help you through your life at MVNU and will be there if you need anything. As a side note, freshman dorms are HUGE and include sinks!

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major declaration, your academic course load will vary. Usually each semester is 15-16 credit hours. The professors here truly care about your academic success and many will go above and beyond to help you understand something taught in class. In addition to help from professors, there is peer instruction available for many of the general education requirements. The academic programs at MVNU should be doable for most students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Build a relationship with your admissions counselor. They are totally willing to work with you as you go through the application process. Take advantage of visit days and ask questions of current students and professors to get a true feel for the MVNU community.

    In three sentences

    MVNU is more than a school, it is a Christian community that encourages educational, social, and spiritual growth. If you are looking for a small Christian liberal arts college then you should definitely consider MVNU!

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Mount Vernon Nazarene University would be great for a student who wants to learn, have fun, and grow spiritually with the LORD!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have not already visited MVNU, I would recommend making a quick call or visit their website and schedule a visit. You could visit on a specified visit day, which are listed on MVNU's website, or you could take a personal visit. It is always wise to visit a University so that you can make the best decision for yourself; if the University provides what you are looking for.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that students at MVNU receive beyond how much they pay to attend. Students are obtaining a high quality education, and still enjoy attending Mount Vernon. Although, the cost is not cheap, I believe students are completely satisfied in the end.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really like MVNU. MVNU offers great academics, fun activities, and environment. Although academics are usually a main factor in deciding where to attend college, entertainment and activities are also important. Mount Vernon Nazarene University provides fun-packed movie nights, sports activities, bomb fires and lots more! MVNU is also a place to grow spiritually with the LORD. A student can enjoy chapels, communion, and service in the community. Students can join Cosmo groups, which are a group of students who go into the community and help serve others. For example: the elderly, homeless, underprivileged, adults, and children.

    Am learning a lot

    While attending Mount Vernon Nazarene University, my expand of knowledge has grown immensely. The skills that I have learned are relatable and necessary for life. The Professors make this possible by providing written notes to the students which I find key to study and learn in my classes. The Professors are also very helpful; a student can ask many questions.

  • 07/23/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    MVNU is great for students who want to grow in their faith and continue in their Christian walk during college.

    Bang for the buck

    With all the benefits that I will gain from being at Mount Vernon, such as the small class sizes, Christian environment, and faculty that truly cares about the students, I think that it's truly worth the price of admission. Additionally, the financial aid office works hard to make sure you get the money you need.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is beautiful, and there are things to do around campus. There is a bike trail and a movie theater very near to campus, and cool activities such as Sunfest come to campus each year. It is definitely not a city environment, so if you are looking for lots of malls and clubs, this is not the school for you.

    Will learn a lot

    Their education program is excellent, but very rigorous. After meeting with my professors, I expect to learn a lot, but be challenged a lot as well.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 34

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This college seems really amazing! I really would like to attend this college when I complete my senior year in high school. I cannot wait!

  • 02/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    you feel very safe on the mvnu campus.

    Great for these types of students

    mvnu's strong points are their education, athletic, and art programs/majors.

    Academic Rigor

    most of the teachers truely want you to succeed and are more than willing to help out in any way they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    definately visit the campus, and feel free to ask any questions you may have.

    In three sentences

    mvnu is a good school and i have been blessed to be a pseo (post-secondary education option) student here for the past 2 years. growing up in mt. vernon, mvnu has been a big part of the community and i have gotten to know many of the past students who loved going to mvnu. overall, i believe that the profesors and staff at mvnu really do care about each student and would truely enjoy seeing each one succeed.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Campus events, go to Columbus 45 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of options.

    Dorm Life

    Pretty awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the major, you always will have to apply yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for rules, but open minded to the fact that you signed up to come here, and they are good for you.

    In three sentences

    It has a wonderful atmosphere. Great learning environment. Good place to make friends.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus! If you can, visit a few times throughout the year, as schools look different in different seasons.

    In three sentences

    Mount Vernon Nazarene University is a school full of passionate people. Students and staff are passionate about their interests, their areas of study, and most importantly God. People at MVNU love what they do.

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. The community is safe too

    Greek Life

    No Greek life

    Great for these types of students

    Nazarenes

    What to do for fun

    Go off campus

    Food and Dining

    Food was good, but being a small school, there's not much variety.

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus

    Academic Rigor

    My first year wasn't too hard, but you just have to study!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you visit the school!

    In three sentences

    This school is very small. It is a good school for someone who doesn't want a big school and wants to transition into college life because to me, it is a lot like high school. The students and faculty are friendly, but being a diversity student, there's not much diversity.

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't much in Mount Vernon to do, but Easton mall and Columbus is only 45 minutes to an hour away. We do hold a lot of fun events on campus to try to keep the campus life up, but the last couple years were pretty down. The new Student Body President is going to try and make Mt. Vernon a lot better in the area of fun events, so hopefully this upcoming year will be much better.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria setting is very nice and the food choice is great. We have a pizza bar, salad bar, sub bar, and chipotle style bar (though not as good as chipotle) that are open from 7 to 7. For lunch and dinner, we have a grilled item, a saute bar, and main line foods. The food can become pretty routine after you've been their for awhile, but the amount of choices makes it a lot better. The desserts are always delicious which is a good and bad thing, for those not looking to gain the freshman 15.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. I have not heard many people say they did enjoy their time in the dorms. Most people actually miss their dorm time when they go off to apartments. We have upperclass dorms for the guys and a split freshman/upperclass dorm for the ladies. The apartments are very nice as well, and the rooms are so of the biggest in university owned apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    Our professors teach with the basis of graduate school around the corner. They prepare their students, not only for their field, but also for graduate school education. If you are looking into Nursing or Education, these are our two strongest and well equipped majors. And we have some of the top religion professors in the Wesleyan-Holiness Movement.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you desire to come to MVNU, I suggest calling and getting a personal tour and meeting with your advisor for your major of choice. Also, there are visit days with groups called MVNYou days, and they are the first Monday of every month during the school calendar.

    In three sentences

    Mount Vernon is a place where people care about your personal, spiritual, and academic life. It's small enough that you can know everyone, but big enough to keep your business personal. Mount Vernon's love for God is known the minute you walk on campus.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are some people on our campus that struggle to find activities to do for fun. However, the key to finding activities to do for fun is finding the right friends! My friends and I can make anything fun because we surround ourselves with awesome personalities, which is one thing that is very easy to find at MVNU. We also have the Student Government that sets up events for us like the Block Party, Relay for Life, Midnight Madness, Intramurals and other surprise events throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    In my opinon, MVNU provides students with a lot of variety when it comes to meals. The cafe is always open from 7am-7pm during the week, which is very convenient when you're on your way to class and in need of a snack. The only complaint I have is that they should have better hours for the weekends.

    Dorm Life

    I was VERY pleased with my dorm life experience. The halls and bathrooms are kept very clean and the rooms are more spacious then any other college I've visited. The best part about MVNU campus is that you only have to be in the dorms for two years tops. Once you become an upperclassman apartments are available for you to share with five other friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at MVNU do a great job at pushing you to give them your all. They encourage you to go above and beyond your comfort zone which, I've learned, only benefits you in the long run.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are in constant communication with the financial aid office, that way they become familiar with you. If any complications occur it will be easier to figure out for both you and the office.

    In three sentences

    Mount Vernon Nazarene University is the perfect school to attend if you are looking for a small campus with a great christian atmosphere. The first thing that comes to mind when I think of Mount Vernon Nazarene University is the awesome community of friends and mentors that are available. The most amazing part is that even the professors make an effort to be a part of your college experience, which is a very comforting thing!

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are bowling alleys as well as movie theaters. There are two major malls about 40 minutes away. MVNU holds many events for students as well!

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are very serious about helping you to succeed!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved in all of the campus events! They are really fun!

    In three sentences

    Mount Vernon Nazarene University is an amazing school. You will not only grow academically but also spiritually. You will never have any problems finding friends around the campus! :)

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I would recommend this school for kids coming straight out of high school that want the college experience of living on campus and all that goes with it. It is a somewhat conservation Christian university, so a religious background is a huge deciding factor for prospective students here.

    Bang for the buck

    Mount Vernon is a private university, which means private cost! That said, they have very good financial aid options that often bring the cost of attendance down to a public university level.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of student groups on campus to get involved with, and events in the evenings designed to bring students together with each other and the community.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent! Residential students are required to purchase the meal plan, but fear not! The cafe has a wide selection, with little stations offering various food styles (salads, Mexican, Chinese, pizza, etc.). The food is high-quality and tastes great.

    Dorm Life

    Mount Vernon has typical dorms. They're not great, but what dorm room is? Bunk beds, desks, minimal storage space, communal restrooms. Each room does have its own sink, which is nice.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't started classes yet, so I can't personally say, but I have heard other students say it's an intense course load, balancing clinicals and classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus! It's impossible to get a feel for what a school is really like on-line. It's so important to physically get on campus, take a tour, talk to some faculty members, and look around town a little before you make your decision.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful, and the small town it's located in certainly encourages studying! Every faculty member I have met with or spoken to so far has been very kind and helpful. They have a new nursing building that is gorgeous, with state-of-the-art equipment that I can't wait to use!

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    To get into any of the dorms/apartments you have to have student ID to avoid letting in anyone that shouldn't be on campus along with the campus safety on site that patrols.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have clubs and activities in almost every category. Mount Vernon Nazarene University offers a lot of cosmos groups which can double as community service and keep an individual actively involved in the community.

    Bang for the buck

    Mount Vernon Nazarene University is known to be an expensive college, but is well worth it depending on what you want in an university. The classes are well paced with generally helpful professors. Being a Christian Campus is also a great benefit if you want a place that will support you in your faith through the staff, students, and overall atmosphere of the campus. There's a lot to say about being in a place where you can be comfortable and thrive.

    What to do for fun

    There is a bowling alley and skating rink nearby the campus. Also Student Life generally tries to keep activities plentiful by planning cookouts, contests, and talent shows. There are also small recreational groups such as volleyball, softball, and baseball to compete with one another throughout the school year.

    Food and Dining

    There is one cafeteria on campus along with a small restaurant called the 586. Food in both areas are delicious with a wide variety of food in the cafeteria. Though there are only two places to eat on campus, they aren't usually too crowded and the campus is located where local places will deliver.

    Dorm Life

    As a commuter student I can't say too much about the dorms, but have stayed in them a few times. They are pretty nice, but have seen a lot nicer on other campuses. There are apartments available for Sophomores and up which are preferable by most. There is a curfew throughout the week with an extended curfew on the weekends. For the most part the curfew isn't a problem, but there have been complaints.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be very challenging, but most of the professors are extremely helpful and understanding. If you have good study ethics you will be fine and well prepared for your career of choice.

    Tips for prospective students

    MVNU is for you if you are willing to work hard and are wanting an area to live out your faith. Even though it is a Christian based University all individuals and beliefs are welcomed onto the campus. However, be aware that behaviors such as drinking, smoking, and having premarital sex is frowned upon and will get you into trouble.

    In three sentences

    Mount Vernon Nazarene University is a Christian based community that is very supportive of one another. The classes are thought provoking and excel in preparing individuals in their major. The school tries to stay involved with their students to see them all succeed.

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety at MVNU is always on the ball of keeping us informed and do a great job of keeping our campus as a safe and secure environment for its staff and students.

    Greek Life

    We have a few Greek Life opportunities, but I am not sure what they all are because their aren't very many of them here.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have various academic clubs as well as student government clubs, relay for life council, and various amounts of community service groups. There are a lot of different groups with different backgrounds so that everyone can get involved and do their part.

    Great for these types of students

    MVNU is great for Rule Followers as well as Christian students who want to make an impact in the world or have a heart for Missions. MVNU is also for those who just want to be a part of a loving and welcoming campus community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year we have the annual SonFest (our Christian Music Festival, this year Featuring The David Crowder Band), Rootbeer Mugging, as well as Relay for Life, 80's Neon Bowling, Cinema at Sundown on Oakwood Lawn, Block Party with Inflatables and Paint Drums and many more activities.

    Bang for the buck

    MVNU exists to shape the lives of its students in the image of Christ! We are a very close-knit campus community with a love for each other that many outside students do not understand. We have a No Alcohol or Tobacco Policy which makes our campus a more friendlier and welcoming environment, where the students feel much safer. We are required to be involved with the chapel services and obtaining 36 chapel credits per semester, but we are also offered many various ways to obtain them. I encourage anyone just to try attending MVNU if you are at all interested, because I feel that you will be welcomed and absolutely love the welcoming atmosphere presented here.

    What to do for fun

    There are many community service groups on campus that offer on campus activities as well as traveling opportunities. We also have local movie theater, bowling alley, ice cream shops, a small family style water park, plus many hiking trails and water falls. Also from MVNU, you can be to either Polaris, Mansfield, or Heath Malls all within a 45minute driving time.

    Food and Dining

    We have great buffet style dining here at MVNU. The variety is very big and you don;t have top pick a meal plan. At MVNU you can go to the dining hall as many times as you want in a day, and the cost of your meal plan never changes!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm-Life at MVNU s simply amazing. We basicall have an Open Door Policy where they ask you keep your doors open to become more social and interactive with other students on your floor. They have all same-sex dorming and also On campus Apartments and Suites for Upperclassmen. Also the freshman and sophomore dorm rooms are MUCH BIGGER than other dorm rooms at most colleges.

    Academic Rigor

    MVNU's academics aren't too much to handle, but they do give you a tough enough work load which makes us more well-rounded as a whole.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you aren't a rule follower this isn't the place for you. If you are looking for a place overwhelmed with the Love of Christ and the vision of changing the world this is the very place for you! MVNU exists to change the lives of its students and you can definitely tell that its a true statement here. If you are looking for a loving and welcome environment with the love of Christ everywhere around you, then MVNU is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    Mount Vernon Nazarene University is a place where you can truly feel God's presence working in lives of its students. MVNU is a great place to become connected with other Christians and has a great impact on everyone who is a part of its Campus. MVNU truly lives out its motto of changing the World through the Love of Christ.

  • 09/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to stay grounded in your faith in God, it would be a good idea to come to a Christian liberal arts university or a Christian private school, at least for a year or two, and then try to conquer the real world on your own.

    What to do for fun

    The student union is an option for fun. They have ping pong tables, televisions, Foosball tables, and pool tables. Also there are dorm events, clubs, intramurals, and lots of things to be involved in.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great. Just watch out for those Freshman Fifteen. Make sure to incorporate exercise in your daily plans. The food in the cafe is all really good and it is all catered, so I always feel like I get way too much to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Also something to get used to because I didn't have to share anything with a sister back home. But I have found some really great friends. Tip of the day: you don't have to be best friends with your roommate, just be comfortable enough to live together.

    Academic Rigor

    It was hard for me to try to figure out time to study for everything, but if I just try to finish everything for every class on time, it will turn out great.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is a lot to get used to. It wears me out. But once you get here and get over the initial of being a freshman away from home, you will love it here.

    In three sentences

    The first week and a half were pretty tough. It will definitly be well worth that stress and the cost to come here for at least a few years. I like all my classes and the professors are all great, there is prayer and devotions in most classes.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Mount Vernon is incredibly affordable-they are very competitive with their financial aid. The experience at MVNU is life changing, and it's hard to put a price on that!

    What to do for fun

    At MVNU, you get to be creative with your time, and if you're not a creative person, the student life creates great campus events to dive into. Mount Vernon is known for Sonfest, which is a day-long concert with Christian bands. Outside of that though, there are events in the town of Mount Vernon, like First Friday where students can get involved with the community. We also offer intramural sports and various clubs and organizations, from cycling club to S.I.F.E.

    Food and Dining

    MVNU offers a 7-7 meal plan where you can eat in the caff as many times as you want-which is awesome! The food selection varies from a chipotle-style bar to an Italian section, a sub line, a made to order line, and a traditional meal line that changes day to day. There is also always a breakfast selection, no matter the time of the day and there is unlimited fruit, dessert, and various delicious drinks!

    Dorm Life

    MVNU has a curfew, which is great for building community in the dorms and apartments! Girls and guys head back to their dorms for curfew to then bond with the others in their living space...it's after curfew hours when true memories are made! :)

    Academic Rigor

    94% of Mount Vernon graduates either get a job in their field or are accepted into grad-school. Mount Vernon doesn't only challenge students academically, it provides all of the academic support to see you succeed!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come on campus to visit MVNU! You can read about it all day long, but you won't truly experience MVNU until you are surrounded by the great people that care here. If you show interest in MVNU, you can count on wonderful people to help you along the whole college-search process.

    In three sentences

    Mount Vernon offers a wholistic education that shapes the whole person to Christ-likeness while preparing them for their field of interest, from ministry to nursing! MVNU has created a campus built around the principle of community and it is very clear, from the mentoring staff to the life-long relationships built.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    i am in a couple clubs and they are so fun. One of them we work with handicapped teens and the other we make crafts with kids!

    Great for these types of students

    Christian Pre-med majors education majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Beautiful Chapel

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, but i would not choose any other school.

    What to do for fun

    Nice gym and rec hall. Dorm activities are biweekly

    Food and Dining

    Delicious! they do there best to change things up

    Dorm Life

    So glad i chose to stay rather than commute!

    Academic Rigor

    Homework is about every night, but professors are very helpful and understanding!

    Tips for prospective students

    Free study sessions!! Free counseling if needed! Great community atmosphere

    In three sentences

    I love the educated professors that are willing to help. The community is friendly and a great atmosphere. Definitely strong in the Christian faith.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I did not feel safe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of things to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Art majors, teachers, athletes, and music students. The rest are useually forgotten about.

    Bang for the buck

    Mount Vernon can be very pricey considering you are really not paying for a Christian education.

    What to do for fun

    See some of Mt. Vernon, and definitely try attending a 1st Friday event.

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome here.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live in the dorms but most of my friends who did loved it!! They said dorm life was awesome! My only issue with them was the amount of visible mold at times that didn't seem to be taken care of very quickly.

    Academic Rigor

    Most Of the professors are very knowledgeable and experts in their areas of study. But there are a surprising amount of adjuncts which have no supervision and pretty much could get away with murder. They do not know how to teach and really don't know what they are teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you explore all your options and ask tons of questions when visiting this college.

    In three sentences

    Not at all a Christian College....if you want a Christian education I would search elsewhere because wile MVNU claims to be Christian, many unchristian things (drugs, sex, etc.) are often ignored and shoved under the bush for certain students.

  • 12/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Intramurals is the main thing that you can do for fun. You can also be involved in the events that happen on campus as well. Other than that, it most of the fun is off campus.

    Food and Dining

    They have good selections at times especially during ticket night. I wish they had trash cans to put your trash in, it would save the dishroom a lot of hassle. I also wish they had more healtheir choices other than salad.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really nice and big. They do not have many dorm events often. The RA's are very helpful and nice when you need to talk to someone. The only problem with living in the dorms is the people do not know how to flush toilets or clean up after themselves.

    Academic Rigor

    They do challenge you to the fullest and try to get you thinking differently and in depth from what you are used to. It can get overwhelming at times with all the homework you get at once, but it is possible to complete it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you always keep checking with Financial aid about FAFSa etc, because they take forever in getting that done, or they may lose a few papers among the shuffle.

    In three sentences

    Overall its an A+ school, especially academic wise. The teachers care about you truely and want to see you succeed. If you get involved with student life, you will always have a blast!

  • 02/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel perfectly safe on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall can get a little crowded and lines are really long right after chapel when EVERYONE heads to lunch. But the food is pretty good

    Dorm Life

    I really don't know what the dorm life is like because I'm a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are pretty good. I'm only taking general classes ( public speeking, introductin to lit....) they aren't very hard and even if they are a little hard most proffs are willing to help you out of class time.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your looking for a super strong Christian education, I'm not sure you will find it here. They do have chapel MWF and most of the proffesers pray before classes. But once classes start the worldview that proffesers take is not necessarily Christian, they explain all worldviews ( sometimes excluding Christianity) and don't say which ones work better or why Christians should see them as wrong.

    In three sentences

    I am a highschool senior and taking post-secondary classes here.

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sometimes they can be annoying because they will not let anyone walk in the fields after dark. However they are always around and you can feel safe if you go anywhere after it gets dark.

    Greek Life

    They have a lot of traditional and historical classes. They have two level of Greek classes taught by a very educated doctor who knows multiple languages, which can help bring Greek into better or clearer understanding.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are any type of club one could imagine. If they do not have a club one can start one up and have the staff of the campus behind them supporting the club.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are looking to really dive into the word of God should come here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have something called Inter-Murals. This is where everyone gets a group together and they compete at various activities almost daily throughout the year. If something is inappropriate or secular you hear people yell NNA which means not naz appropriate.

    Bang for the buck

    If one really wants to grow in their relationship with God this is the place. Even if one if not Christian the environment is still welcoming. One needs to realize that they need to be serious about their academics if they plan to come here because they will give everyone a first class education.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do in the town except play sports. The school is located in the middle of the country.

    Food and Dining

    The dinning hall is open from 7am to 7pm. There is as much food as one could want and the food is top notch.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very small and often times loose water or hot water.

    Academic Rigor

    Every one of my teachers has had their doctorate degree. They are focused on really helping one grow to becoming a better human being.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would only recommend coming here if one is serious about growing in their relationship with Christ.

    In three sentences

    It is very Liberal and conservative. They are focused on getting people focused on God. They have a high value on academics.

  • 04/25/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can hang out with friends, head down to the Student Union, or go around town to the many places college students love.

    Food and Dining

    Fantastic food!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are great.

    Academic Rigor

    They challenge you.

    In three sentences

    This is just a fantastic place for anyone wanting to further their relationship with God, while also attending a fine college. I would suggest that everyone at least take a look at this school to see what they're really all about.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They do almost to good a job.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a large variety of thing to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletic, education, ministry, nursing, and business.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They just completed a new sports arena.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall it is definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much but you can go bowling, disc golfing, and biking.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe has a wide variety of different and good foods.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are quite at the right times and have a great community experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are tough but definitely doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you ask about work study opportunities. They will not help you find a job so you have to ask around.

    In three sentences

    It has a beautiful campus. There is great community. And The class size and professors are wonderful.

  • 06/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel just as safe on campus as I do in my own home; our campus safety is excellent!

    Clubs and Activities

    We have multiple clubs and activities to get involved in. We have clubs from cycling to businesses; intramurals are a huge deal too. We also have a lot of different ministry and outreach clubs that work with the Mount Vernon community.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants a strong Christian atmosphere, along with a great education should look into MVNU.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The most unusual location on campus is known as the Break Up Rock. I am assuming it is where a lot of relationships have been ended.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of tuition is not cheap, but it is worth the money. The experiences and lessons you learn from living on campus cannot be exchanged for any amount of money. (Plus you have unlimited food access from 7 am to 7 pm and you use the washers and dryers for free!)

    What to do for fun

    Mount Vernon is basically in the middle of nowhere; you have to get creative ! One night we plate hide and seek in the chapel, another night we played Walmart tag; it is all about being spontaneous and making memories, that is when you have the most fun!

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is not terrible, but it does get repetitive. You will get tired of the food they serve, but I think that happens at any college someone attends.

    Dorm Life

    Honestly, living in the dorms is not the best. I was not a fan of sharing a bathroom with forty other girls, but I do not regret living in the dorms because if I hadn't, I would not have met my best friends.

    Academic Rigor

    I have learned so much that will be helpful to my major. The classes are challenging and the professors definitely test your dedication to school. The professors also know all of their students personally and care about their success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for fun nights, incredible chapel services and meeting life long friends.

    In three sentences

    Mount Vernon is an amazing, God-centered, beautiful campus. It has helped me grow and mature in life and my relationship with God. It is an excellent school and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is great for religious students!

    In three sentences

    Mount Vernon Nazarene University is unlike any college I have observed. Everyone here is kind o one another and all of the professors are extremely helpful in many ways. I would recommend this to many upcoming college freshmen.

  • 09/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. Most people trust each other to the point of leaving their backpacks or longboards (which there are a LOT of) in the main hallway entering the cafeteria while they eat. However, I would personally bring a bike chain, small safe, etc. Don't be stupid; if you are leaving something of value in the open, it is still up for grabs even on a Christian campus. I am quite sure that there have been a number of years since someone has actually tried to even break in to someone else's dorm room.

    Greek Life

    Being a Christian school, there is no Greek life. However, some of the clubs and the Oakwood dorm like to poke fun at this idea by designing shirts that have Greek lettering that resemble that of sororities and fraternities (i.e., Ã?Â?Ã?Â?Ã?Â? for Oakwood). But that is about it.

    Bang for the buck

    The school's motto is Life Changing, and one's experience on campus will definitely be worth the money. (Maybe or maybe not if you are paying the sticker price, but I don't know of anyone who is doing that.) As a freshman, I already feel the difference this school has made in my life, and I can't wait to see how it will continue to shape me in the upcoming years.

    What to do for fun

    There are bike trails, intramurals, clubs, community service groups, bands, choirs, varsity athletics, SonFest, Oaktoberfest, an available gym (2 in the near future), campus life events, and more! Students are encouraged and invited to get their feet wet with as many of these activities as they can. Plus, in town are many great places to hang out, including the university's own Baker Bros cafe which serves Starbucks coffee!

    Food and Dining

    AMAZING! I love the food here! There is a continuous buffet from 7 am - 7 pm with a number of choices, along with a sub line, pizza buffet, to-go line, fruit counter, and desert bar. There is only one meal plan, and students are allowed up to 3 visits per day at anytime of the day. I like this plan because if one wishes to stop in for an apple or hang out for a while with friends, those options are available; you aren't confined to a certain dining time. The cafeteria is probably the most inviting place on campus, and during the hours in which most people are not eating, it can be a very nice place for studying.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty good - for what dorm life can be. Being a guy, I can only talk on behalf of the men's dorm. The north side is generally the quieter side, as that is the end that many of the Honors students stay in. On both sides, kids will hang out together in each other's rooms, but will only do so respectfully and if invited (that is just the type of kids that come here, which in my opinion is not bad at all).

    Academic Rigor

    While it is not impossibly difficult, the academics are still quite challenging. Fortunately, the professors are also very good at explaining the material. The Honors Program is quite rigorous, so do think it through before joining.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for financial aid, both from the school and from outside sources. While it is not the cheapest, MVNU does give money away, so you do not want to miss these opportunities.

    In three sentences

    MVNU is a very nice, small, clean, Christian university in a very suitable town. Professors and students are intentionally friendly, and there is often some sort of activity taking place on campus. The school is well known in the region for its Nursing, Business, and Ministry schools.

  • 10/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I love the caf food! There is a lot of variety.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are better than a lot of other colleges and they try really hard to room you with people who are similar to you.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but the Professors are all very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be shy. Step out of your comfort zone and make friends. Most people here are really nice!

    In three sentences

    Mount Vernon Nazarene is a great place to come to grow intellectually and spiritually. The professors really care and the campus is really a community.

  • 03/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is a Christian or who wants to learn more about God. If you want a campus where you can still have clean fun and get an excellent education, MVNU is the place!

    What to do for fun

    There are so many organizations that are open to everyone. All sports are free to watch if your a current student. We have a brand new arena, with a state of the art fitness center. Our PSU has pool tables, foos ball tables & ping pong tables. Downtown Mt. Vernon is just a shuttle bus away, with lots to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    A wonderful Christian campus, we have chapel three times a week. Everyone is very friendly, no matter who you are, or where you have come from, you will never find a stranger, everyone speaks to everyone. It is a great place to serve the Lord or learn more about him and get an education!

    In three sentences

    Everyone is so friendly here, no one ever sees a stranger. Everything is within walking distance, and I am very happy here. Wonderful university!

  • 04/08/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    32 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    AMAZING!

    In three sentences

    The facilities are very nice, the people seem friendly, and the food is amazing.

  • 04/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The (not-so) Eternal flame, Break-up rock, Kissing Bridge, and the Reflection Pond are a few unusual locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Most everyone qualifies for some sort of merit/financial aid. I have discovered that this school teaches more than preparing for a life work; it is making it purposeful through service. More than anything, the close and loving community and personal growth I have experienced makes this school worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are almost always events going on around campus. There are intramurals for normal sports and even strange ones like corn-hole. There is also a plentitude of clubs and ministries to get involved in, including dance and biking.

    Food and Dining

    If you are on the meal plan, the CafÂ?Â? is where you will eat your meals. The food is very good, though the meals can get monotonous. (They do offer ice cream from 7am-7pm, which helps immensely). However, there are alternate dining options like the 586 cafe, and Baker Bros. cafe downtown at the Hunter Hall nursing facility-both offer Starbucks coffee. Each student is given $30 per semester to pay to eat at these places.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm rooms are spacious and each includes its own sink and mirror. Only freshman are required to live in dorms. The university also offers apartment style dorms for upperclassmen, and off campus housing for students who are married.

    Academic Rigor

    The freshman level courses are reasonably challenging. Depending on your major, your classes can be especially difficult; particularly for nursing students. However, you will be more than adequately prepared for your future profession.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to comply with University rules. This is a Nazarene institution; drugs and alcohol are absolutely forbidden. Apply for as many endowed scholarships as you can. The way to get the most of the experience at the Naz (as it is affectionately termed) is to let yourself be shaped; especially if you do not share this background.

    In three sentences

    MVNU is a small, private Nazarene four-year university located in Mount Vernon, OH. The aim of the university is to serve the world through education through its students. It is a liberal arts university, offering degrees from nursing to pastoral ministries.

  • 04/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety are pretty cool.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have plenty of clubs, organizations (Enactus!), and activities on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for those students who want a caring and Christian environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have Freshman Mugging. It is just an event to get students together and drink root beer floats or coke if you don't like root beer,

    What to do for fun

    We frequent the local Walmart. Walk on the trail next to campus. Intramural Sports Enactus is a great organization. Join it! We try to empower people through initiating positive change. Cosmo Groups

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a mini fridge its nice to have in the dorm and apartment. Be prepared to learn and learn a lot. Know the motto To seek to learn, is to seek to serve. Be prepared to answer the tough questions. Look at other sites for books than the book store and check Ohiolink!

    In three sentences

    I love the atmosphere and the Christian community. The professor truly care about you and your future. The people you meet here will change your life.