Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Mount Wachusett Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/25/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone of any age. Whether you're fresh out of high school or feel like getting an education you never had the oppurtunity for (there's even a day care center on campus for those having to care for children). It's also great for students needing to save money, or students unsure about what they want to major in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you make an appointment with someone at the financial aid office. This school applies for loans and aid through specific parties, so you want to make sure you're applying for the correct ones.

    Bang for the buck

    Obviously this school is a great option regarding price. Community colleges are a great way to save money, just remember it's not the name that matters but how well you do.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are always fun events and activites going on at the Mount, and you meet a lot of interesting people through classes and clubs.

    Am learning a lot

    Not only have I learned a great deal, but attending this college has given me a bigger apreciation for my major and has gotten me more excited about my future.

  • 01/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Definitely a good school coming back for a little more education after not being in school for a while. Also, students looking to reduce costs for tuition will benefit by attending here for the general classes for their majors, especially if the student is undecided about his major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely register for classes early: except for the more general classes, many will fill up quickly, or be canceled due to lack of people signing up for it.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely a good price for the tuition; I was able to pretty much pay for the classes right out of my bank account with no loans, and with my parents paying for half of the tuition.

    Am enjoying being here

    The teachers and students here are all nice. I did not join any student clubs in the first semester (I was too busy concentrating on my schoolwork), but I wish I had. This semester, I am rectifying that by joining the Intramural Sports and Theater clubs.

    Am learning a lot

    I have only completed one semester, but so far, all the classes are really informative.

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never had a problem with the safety there and the campus police are always on the alert for everything. They seem to be doing there job well.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a lot of clubs to choose from but I personally do not have the time in my life right now to do any. They are always having activities going on for every club it seems though.

    Great for these types of students

    They have a day care center for young moms who want to take classes and they always have stuff going on for the kids. It really seems to help these young women out a lot.

    Bang for the buck

    Going to MWCC is a great idea for even high school students who want college credits early. I decided to take a college course in my senior year and loved it so much that I kept taking them and when I started in the fall, I already had nine college credits so it was a really good jump start for me and made me feel really accomplished in such a short amount of time! It was one of the best choices I ever made so far in my early adulthood.

    What to do for fun

    They have clubs, movies, dances, a lot of stuff.

    Food and Dining

    The food their is great and fresh all day and so much to choose from all the time!

    Dorm Life

    no dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    The academics really challenge you and go with your own pace so you do not feel overwhelmed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you follow up with your professor and get any extra help you need because they will always want to help you. They have free tutoring everyday in their library, so their should be no reason to fail! Take summer courses there! They are fun, laid back, and will get you those extra credits you need for graduation. Take night classes, I take them now and there really focused on helping you, class size is smaller, the people are more mature who actually want to learn and a lot of the night classes are only one day a week so they can fit in with your busy life!

    In three sentences

    A great stepping stone that will help you achieve what you thought you never could before. Working around your own schedule and busy life at this college is definitely possible. MWCC will do whatever it takes to help you succeed and is with you every step of the way!

  • 06/03/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you know what you want to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make an appointment with the Financial Aide Office to help you fill out the forms.

  • 01/29/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to have a great experience and an amazing education!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the Finanicial Aid Office to recieve information on loans, payment plans, and scholarships. Also make sure you sign up for classes ahead of time because the class that you may need will most likely fill up quick, so get it done ASAP.

    Bang for the buck

    not only do you get a great education but you have multiple different activities, clubs, and events that are always available to students.

    Am enjoying being here

    not only do I enjoy going to school here but I love the environment and the campus.

    Am learning a lot

    Not only am I currently learning completely new things here, I have created friendships within my major that I will carry with me throughout the rest of my life.

  • 10/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for any kind of student; adult, teenager, single mommy's. Anybody would do great here and should give it a fair shot and just apply.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out the application, it costs nothing and you never know, you might like it here better than somewhere else. Also, it doesn't matter what you SAT, ACT, AP scores are, there are not needed on the App.

    Bang for the buck

    Most definitely get the bang for your buck. Why get yourself into debt when you can spend the first to years here and then go to state or private college after.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoying being at the Mount, its got a nice campus. Although I am taking my classes online this semester, I liked what I saw when I went for orientation.

    Am learning a lot

    I am most definitely learning a lot while studying at the Mount. I am learning the same things that I would learn at a more expensive school for less.

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    one can see campus security all over the place, whether if it an officer roaming through the halls or patrolling the parking lots in one of their vehicles, campus safety is a huge priority here at mount wachusett.

    Greek Life

    there is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    too many to list here but here are a few... math club, cats, theatre club, the mount wachusett newspaper, international club and so much more!!!!

    Great for these types of students

    students who are still deciding what they want to do should come to mount wachusett, here they can fall in love with what they want to do with the rest of their life while completing their gen. eds. mount wachusett is also known for its superior nursing program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    some of the neat locations on campus are the hallways between the even and odd wings which provide quiet study areas and one fun tradition is darwin day.

    Bang for the buck

    it is definitely worth the money to come here for the education one receives. especially in the specialized programs such as nursing, or business, students who have moved on said they were ahead of their peers when they transferred to four year colleges.

    What to do for fun

    there are tons of clubs to join here at mount wachusett. there are also tons of fun events, for example the college just had a madre grais dance.

    Food and Dining

    i hear the food is good and have sampled it once myself but it can be a bit on the pricey side. i would recommend if one is on a budget to pack a lunch and snacks.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    for me i find the work keeps me busy but is not all that challenging. however, i also took 6 ap classes in high school, so i felt more prepared than some of my fellow classmates for the workload.

    Tips for prospective students

    come ready to learn and do your work, just because it is a community college do not expect to cruise through it. get all admissions and financial aid paperwork done all time to make the rest of your semester less stressful.

    In three sentences

    mount wachusett community college is a very friendly and open school. this is a good college to attend for students still deciding what they want to do with their lives. the college has a nice location and beautiful campus for all to enjoy.

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Returning adults Non traditional students

    In three sentences

    I've had a great experience at the Mount. Tuition is cheaper than than any state college in the area. Classes are small and professors are great!

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Phenominal for almost any kind of student. More than willing to work with everyone so awesome for adult students going back!

    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs to join!

    Food and Dining

    Good cafeteria. Decent prices.

    Tips for prospective students

    Financial aid, counseling and admissions are eager to help you. Use them!

    In three sentences

    Easy to locate campus and classes. Easy to understand catalog. Awesome website!

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe with professional campus police in every campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that do not have much money for school or students that work or have children.

    Bang for the buck

    Cannot find a better deal for higher education the professors and staff are all very knowledgeable and professional; many also work or have retired from nearby state and private colleges. you get the exact same education for much less than what others are paying.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and social societies that you can join and take part in. The student association also puts on events for students throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    The main campus has a very nice cafeteria style dining area with a large selection of food.

    Dorm Life

    Does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This college is for people who either work or commute so professors won't pile on assignments and are flexible with due dates but provide the student with all the resources to achieve in their area of study. Most professors have real world experience in the subject they are teaching so you will get first hand knowledge of the subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great institution to receive a quality education without breaking the bank. You will receive the same education for a fraction of what other state and private colleges charge.

    In three sentences

    Very knowledgeable staff and professors who are either current or retired professionals in their area of study. The classes are challenging without excess homework so you can adequately balance work and school. Easy to make a schedule that fits for someone commuting or someone that has to work. Class size is also generally small so professors will be more hands on.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police circle the campus during the day and you can find them in there office or the halls but at night they all go home and the parking lot is dark and kind of creepy walk fast and don't walk alone haha!

    Greek Life

    huh?

    Clubs and Activities

    Honestly not to many of the clubs are that great!

    Great for these types of students

    Parents young/old. people who work. people on a budget.

    Bang for the buck

    I think for a community college its priced fairly the online classes are the same price as the on campus classes.

    What to do for fun

    Go for a walk around campus take theater or art and you can also join a club.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good for cafe food and they have a lot of choices the dining area is usually loud and filled with people who like to make a lot of noise don't study here!

    Dorm Life

    NO DORMS!

    Academic Rigor

    I have no idea what this is haha!

    Tips for prospective students

    Review your professors and go to orientation it will help immensely when you have classes for the first time.

    In three sentences

    Mount Wachusett is not a bad comunity college. Its a pretty safe campus. Most of the professor are good teachers.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hrs

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Many offered, all are available to see on the school website.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who have other commitments such as full time jobs and/or a family. Most programs offer night courses.

    Bang for the buck

    Low prices, fantastic education.

    What to do for fun

    Campus activities are offered, and a group od students on campus work to create events for students to attend.

    Food and Dining

    Depending on the day, the food is decent.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available here.

    Academic Rigor

    Nursing is not an easy program, take it seriously and try your hardest.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of their fantastic noncredit classes offered to help clear your minds. Multiple free activities offered on campus to all students.

    In three sentences

    Nursing staff is extremely knowledgable and strives to make students pass and make it to graduation. Small campus, mainly commuters which makes it easy to navigate through campus. Small classes, great individual attention granted to students.

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel very safe on Campus, but simply because there is good security does not mean you should be reckless.

    Greek Life

    There are a couple of Greek named fraternities/sororities, two of which I have been invited to but unfortunately do not have the time to participate in or join.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activities to participate in, but I have not chosen to join a club yet for personal reasons. I do suspect the number of clubs is small for a college, but MWCC is a community college, so perhaps I am wrong? The activities are numerous however.

    Great for these types of students

    Those whom have earned their GED (like myself,) those who live in the area, those who would like to save money while getting an excellent education, and really everyone else!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a daycare center, not sure if that is unusual. I cannot think of anything unusual, but perhaps I am used to everything that may be?

    Bang for the buck

    MWCC has great prices for tuition! The only thing I do NOT recommend doing (as far as finances go) is buying textbooks and materials from the bookstore unless you absolutely must, as you can find better deals online (especially if you look hard enough.) But I still give it a 5 star for this category because the prices are otherwise reasonable for things like tuition and certain fees that most colleges charge anyway.

    What to do for fun

    There are many events taking place rather often, from indie films to seminars, raffles to clubs. There is plenty to do, and if you pay attention you may end up at an event with free stuff!

    Food and Dining

    Excellent food at affordable prices!

    Dorm Life

    3 because there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    While there are challenges, they are surmountable. You will get what you put into this, so do your best!

    Tips for prospective students

    There are no dorms, so plan on living within your traveling limit. Be kind to others and they will be kind in return. The cafeteria prices are very nice and the choices are often healthy. Arrive early because parking fills up very quickly during the day in the beginning of the semester. Some professors will give you leeway if you are not always on time, but please be courteous and arrive early anyway as often as you can. Remember your grade is always earned, and you will likely be unable to change a past grade, so learn from any mistakes you may make.

    In three sentences

    MWCC is an incredible school with wonderful faculty members and students. Seriously, I have not met a single person here I did not like! They provide so many opportunities to learn and grow, and have encouraged me to move up in the world.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anybody really!

    Food and Dining

    Foods is FANTASTIC.. Love the pizza.

    Tips for prospective students

    BE ON TIME! It's super embarrassing especially when the teacher stops talking to let you walk to your seat. Do your studying! The grades are easy to get if you stay focused!

    In three sentences

    The teachers are very willing to help when you need the extra time. It feels as though your at a 4 year college with how dedicated SOME teachers are. The student accounts window I tend to stay away from because they are mean!

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    so many to choose!!

    Great for these types of students

    single parents, living at home, working

    Bang for the buck

    A good education for little money

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, go to the gym, participate in the many free activities

    Food and Dining

    good food, but very expensive!!

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms there

    Academic Rigor

    4 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with atlea.st one group. Use the library, and dont rely on the tutors, you still need to study on your own time

    In three sentences

    Outstanding staff, but could use better language. A very big and useful library. So many classes and clubs to choose!

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    School has a large, active security team.

    Greek Life

    unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to list.

    Great for these types of students

    Fans of science, technology, Information systems, nursing, physical therapy, theatre, business, nerds and geeks.

    Bang for the buck

    Top notch education at a community college

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs, activities and a theatre group at the college. Nearby is bowling, movies, shopping and fitness.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria on campus. It's ok. There are many other choices within a mile or so of the college, including family restaurants, diners, fast food and pizza and sub shops.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor depends on the class, lab or how confident you are in the area being taught.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work for your grade and be responsible for your own academics. This is college, not high school.

    In three sentences

    Excellent professors & library staff, classes I need are here and with a schedule of day, afternoon, evening and classes I can go to class around my life.

  • 02/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our own police force here that are real police officers, not rent-a-cops.

    Greek Life

    I am in Phi Theta Kappa, and there is also Alpha Beta Gamma.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons! I am party of so many things it is hard to keep track sometimes!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who cannot afford a big dream school but want to start off someone to work their way up.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I wouldn't say anything is really unusual, but there are tons of things that happen annually with free swag.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of actives and clubs students can get involved in. And there is always something fun going on in the cafe during community time.

    Food and Dining

    They have their own Green Street cafe. Lots of choices.

    Dorm Life

    It is only a 2 year community college, so as of right now they do not have dorms. Recently there has been discussion about adding dorms to the school in order to provide the students with a full college experience.

    Academic Rigor

    All of my classes have been amazing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask, there are tons of people that are very friendly and will definitely help you along the way. Take advantage of the resources that are provided here. There is tons of help to make sure you succeed at accomplishing your goals here.

    In three sentences

    This school is a green school that is very involved with the community. They are willing to help students succeed. I personally have had the best experience here.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are seen many times patrolling the campus. Campus police have a vehicle that drives through all the parking lots and around campus to make sure all is secure and no mischief is occurring. There is also security patrolling within the building.

    Clubs and Activities

    MWCC offers a variety of different clubs and organizations. From the dance club to the Alpha Betta Gamma Honor Society Group, anyone could find one to fit their interests.

    Great for these types of students

    MWCC is great for students who are unsure of what they want to pursue their education in. It is also good for students whose grades were not so good in high school; the school helps build up student GPA.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    MWCC is very affordable and will work with you to help find ways to pay for your education if no financial or not enough of it was granted. They also offer payment plans.

    What to do for fun

    The school has many groups, organizations, and activities that occur though out the school year. The also setup events such as, Halloween fests, where all students can attend. They also allow for students to help and volunteer for many profit and non-profit organizations.

    Food and Dining

    Main Campus in Gardner, Ma has a full kitchen in which they provide a fresh salad bar, pizza, sandwich center, and hot foods. They also have snack, coffee, and gluten fee foods.

    Dorm Life

    MWCC does not have dorm rooms for students. However, the school does post local apartments and rooms for rent in which students can look at if looking to move closer to campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes at MWCC should be taken as seriously as classes in 4 year colleges. Depending on the type of major one is in depends on the rigorousness of the academics. For example: a business law class may be much harder than and art class; however, it all depends on the student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try not to stress if you graduate high school without a set idea regarding what you want to do in life. First year in college is basic classes that touch up upon past high school information. Advisers and teacher will help guide you through your education so that you can come up with a better idea of who you want to be or what you want to do.

    In three sentences

    Mount Wachusett Community College is a great college that helps students improve and grow confidence in their academics. The school and staff is very helpful and great in providing services that can help students obtain a great education. The college has other campuses that offer classes at a variety of different time which is very convenient for those who work full time.

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Self efficient.

    Bang for the buck

    I got full financial assistance but even if I didn't it would have been well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    I only took online classes with the exception of two reading classes so I am not exactly sure what they have to offer but the lemonister campus is right on rout 12 so I'm sure you could find something to do.

    Food and Dining

    I am not a good candidate to rate food because the only time I ate at the mount was for national honors society.

    Dorm Life

    They do not currently have dorms, however they are in the process of deciding whether or not to put them in.

    Academic Rigor

    For the most part the teachers were amazing and definitely able to help out in any way.

    Tips for prospective students

    The teachers are willing to help those who help themselves and if you take an online class be prepared to be self efficient and don't think that they will be there to hold your hand through the due dates.

    In three sentences

    The mount helped me with bringing my GPA up from high school so now I will be able to transfer. All in all I think the mount is a great community college with a lot of credibility and awesome teachers. I will definitely continue my education here even when I transfer.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always available.

    Great for these types of students

    Independent, hardworking and motivated students.

    Bang for the buck

    Not only will you be saving a lot of money, but you will be getting one of the many great educations there is to offer in the state of MA.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs and activities. Form study groups. Make new friends.

    Food and Dining

    I have not yet tried their food, but the menu sounds good.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Although I have not yet taken courses, I can sense certain ones will be challenging. Judging by the textbooks, you will be able to cover a lot of topics and areas all over the course of a semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Make sure you buy your books anywhere but the school bookstore. 2) Rent the books that you know you won't ever use again - you save more money. 3) Mingle and make new friends. This could form a carpooling arrangement or a lifelong friendship. 4) Get involved in clubs and other activities. Although the Mount is not a stay away school, you can still enjoy every last moment possible and make it a home away from home.

    In three sentences

    The education really does represent their slogan: Start near, go far. There is a wide variety of options, with transferring assistance included. And there are individual groups and courses that bind students of the same area/degree.

  • 08/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is amazingly safe.

    Greek Life

    great

    Clubs and Activities

    Awesome!! Everyone is welcoming.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for non-traditional students.

    Bang for the buck

    Get involved in the honors program, the scholarship covers any extra expense and makes transferability of credits better.

    What to do for fun

    I am involved in a couple of clubs and take part in leadership.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is pretty darn good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The Mount is what you make it, challenge yourself it will be worth the effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in the clubs, particularly anything that involves community involvement.

    In three sentences

    The Mount is a fantastic opportunity to spend less and get more. There is a lot of support for non-traditional students. The Honors program is excellent.

  • 11/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You get your moneys worth at this school and the teachers and staff make sure of it!

    What to do for fun

    Around the area of Gardner there are a lot of places to go for fun. Movie theater, bowling alleys, and plenty of restaurants. Also at the college there are many activities, and clubs. There's also a fitness center with a lot of fun classes to take.

    Food and Dining

    Great food!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms yet, but they are thinking about having that option in the future.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers try and push you to make you challenge yourself! They want you to learn and not just take the easy way out!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because it is a community college doesn't mean the education you receive is not great. It is great, so make the most of it! Great school, a lot of clubs and activities. Even if it's just to get some core classes out of the way its a great school for that!

    In three sentences

    Mount Wachusett Community College is a great school for people to start out at. It is affordable education to begin with. Also great for people just looking for a certificate or specific classes.