Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Mt. San Jacinto Community College District Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who are looking for a 2-year associates degree or credit to transfer to a 4-year college, but don't have a lot of money to spend. This school is a great way to buy time to earn more money for a 4-year institution, while still getting a good education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll early! So many students apply to the college that it is bursting at the seams. This means if you don't apply for the right classes as soon as possible, you most likely won't get them. Also, be sure to make use of the counselors. They are extremely helpful in planning what classes you should take and getting you transfer-ready.

    Bang for the buck

    Twenty-six dollars a unit?? Yes please! This means even students who are in tough money situations can enroll in classes guilt-free. It is very affordable, and many classes are eligible to transfer to 4-year colleges.

    Am enjoying being here

    MSJC is typically looked down upon in the community as the local community college, but in attending I was pleasantly surprised. The atmosphere on campus is very relaxed, but all of the students are determined to make something out of themselves, so we motivate each other.

    Am learning a lot

    This college provides me with all of the basic classes I need to transfer to a 4-year college and still provides classes that spark my interests, such as Environmental Science Lab and World Religions. Classes are educational and small enough to get one-on-one help with the teacher.

  • 07/07/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    take advantage of all the resources they offer and get involved in clubs they are helpful when transferring.

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any type of student, but is best for students who do not have a lot of money and are looking for a top-notch education. Even top students in high school will learn as much at this school as if they went to a 4 year university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy the books from somewhere online or from other students. I paid for all my books new and they were all over $60.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is extremely cheap. I LOVE how cheap it is. Compared to other schools, going to Mount San Jacinto is like going to school for free, which in this economy is mind blowing! The cafe is also very cheap but it serves delicious food.

    Am enjoying being here

    The faculty is extremely nice and open with the student population and even the students are friendly and open-minded. I love being close to the mountain even though the weather can sometimes be hot, but the campus is small and it is very easy to locate classes.

    Am learning a lot

    Ever since I first stepped into my first class at this campus, I have learned multiple ideas and concepts in every class, every day. I go home and tell my family what I learned that day and they're surprised at some of the information I tell them. The instructors take their time teaching a concept and are very open to students staying after class to discuss what was taught that day. The student-teacher ratio is very low and it's easy to interact in class with the instructor and other students.

  • 11/08/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students, whether you are enrolled full-time, part-time, or only taking a single class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll as early as you possibly can. At this school classes fill up incredibly fast. In this case the sooner you do it, the better.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though it is a community college and cheaper than most other schools, I still had to shell out almost six hundred dollars for one semester.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus environment is very relaxing. For the most part the people there are friendly and willing to help. I have made some very good friends at this school. Also everything feels very relaxed and stress-free.

    Am learning a lot

    This is my first semester of college and I don't think I could have picked a better place to start. Most of my teachers are very good at what they do. I go into the classes not knowing very much about the subject but after a few weeks I feel comfortable that I am understanding everything.

  • 07/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who can't travel very far from their homes in the campuses surrounding area's.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early! Classes fill up so fast here also do well in your classes so when you re-turn for another semester you will have seniority and your enrollment date will be alot sooner than some. If you do get lucky enough to get on a wait list just crash the course a lot of students filter their way out of the class in the first two weeks just stick with it and you'll likely get in. Also for questions you have you need to do most of the research yourself the staff such as the counselors there and advisers are terrible. They aren't on the same page half the time they can't even help me with my question or the information that they give me is incorrect. Its very frustrating at times

    Bang for the buck

    A unit is jumping from 26 to 36 dollars I mean yeah that is alot cheaper than a private four year that's 12k-30k a semester however, I am only a college student I dont get FASFA scholarships are hard to come by my classes for next semster are going to be around 800 and thats just for classes no books or materials for someone who doesnt have alot of financial help it can be extremely expensive.

    Am enjoying being here

    This school is closest to me I would have to commute if I went anywhere else, the school is over flowing with students and is always getting more, plus the school is so impacted they've made so many budget cuts and cut backs they didn't even have summer classes this semester it really is not the best community college but, its whats readily available.

    Am learning a lot

    It really depends on the professors and teachers you get. My accounting Professor was great he actually worked in his field for years not only did he teach us the principles of accounting but, he also shared his experience. On the other hand you could get a professor or teacher that really doesn't know what they are doing or how to teach the class which is really unhelpful and a waste of time and your money. Asking around and looking up reviews can be helpful in choosing a class with the right teacher/professor for you.

  • 07/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for people with great GPA's who want to try and get their General Education done before transferring.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not slack off, do not take on more than you can handle and stay committed to your education. Community Colleges are great but you could easily be stuck there for a very long time.

    Bang for the buck

    If you attend your classes and pay attention you will definitely get your moneys worth.

    Am enjoying being here

    Not the school for me, but could work for others. Good clean campuses and an inviting, responsible atmosphere

    Am learning a lot

    This is a good school for being a Community College, but you need to have a good GPA going in to get the classes you need/want because there is a big overflow of students and classes are getting more and more tough to get into. Good Luck in all your future endeavors!

  • 08/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to save money, this is a good school. And if you want to become a nurse, the nursing program at MSJC is really great as well. Hope this helps.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to register early! I cannot emphasize that enough. Many people are going back to college so getting the classes you need can get difficult. And if you get an early registration date, be sure to sign up for the classes that will be harder to get into. For example, if you need to take Anatomy and Physiology and you have the chance to take it, then take it! SO many people need the course and it is difficult to get in unless you have a great registration date. Also, if a professor in one of your classes ask for someone to be a note-taker, raise your hand. You will automatically get first priority registration for the next semester. I did that and it helped me SO Much getting the classes I needed.

    Bang for the buck

    It's no surprise that community college is cheaper than a university. It's also the smarter road to go on. Spend the first couple years finishing up your General Education then transfer to a university. You will save A LOT of money.

    Am enjoying being here

    For the most part, I do enjoy MSJC. The classes are smaller than a university so you can really get to know your professor. They are there to help you become successful and whether you're there for an Associates or to finish up general education courses, they are there for help.

    Am learning a lot

    I am truly learning so much, espeically in the science classes. The teachers (espeically in Anatomy and Physiology) are great and will be there to help you.

  • 11/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Mt. San Jacinto is perfect for students who want more attention from their teachers and who may need help in their subjects. Also, this college is perfect for science majors who want to get a lot of experience working in lab classes. Students with a limited income would also enjoy this school, as it provides the same amount of learning for much less than a university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't hesitate to ask your teachers for help. If you are having any trouble in your subjects, approach them after class and attend their tutoring sessions. If you need further help go to the learning center and as for a tutor and attend the S.I. sessions provided for most of the more difficult subjects. Also, plan on what classes you want to take a semester ahead and apply for them as soon as you possibly can. This will help ensure that you will get into the classes you need to take and that you can stay on schedule for earning your degree.

    Bang for the buck

    Getting an education as good as that given at a major university for only $26 is almost unbelievable. Not only do students learn the same materials as are taught at universities, but they also get more attention from their teachers. The lab classes I have taken even offer up to twice as many labs as that at some major universities in California! If you really want to get a bang for your buck, I highly recommend this college.

    Am enjoying being here

    Mt. San Jacinto College is a wonderful college to attend if you want to make new friends and get a good education. In my experience, it is almost impossible not to make new friends in the classes you take at Mt. San Jacinto; the classes are small and students often work in groups. The learning center provides students with free tutoring if needed and the teachers, from what I have experienced, are always willing to help students. I've really enjoyed my time at this school.

    Am learning a lot

    Mt. San Jacinto College is a perfect place to get prepared for future degrees and careers. The small class sizes are perfect for students who need help on assignments and in lab classes. Students get a lot of one-on-one time with teachers, something nearly unattainable in large university classes. In my experience, the teachers have always provided useful syllabuses, tutoring sessions, and they stay on topic during lectures. I would recommend this school to anyone who wants to get the basics down good and hard before moving on to more advanced subjects.

  • 06/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If your a new student, don't be too set on getting through your Associates in 2 years. There just isn't enough classes with how many students there are.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would check out some other junior colleges in the area as well. Like Palomar or RCC. MSJC is a good school, its just really impacted and hard to get into classes. It would probably be a good idea to register for classes at a couple different places if you can, or just be okay with the fact that an AA/AS could take you 3 - 5 years.

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty good classes for only $36 a unit (as of FA 11). I recently had a teacher that also teaches the same class at a University. I literally got the same education for cheaper!

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a nice place to be. Good surrounding area, and it's close to my home. Feels a little like high school.

    Am learning a lot

    All of the teachers I have had have been great. I love all of my classes. However, with budget cuts and what not fewer and fewer classes are being offered.

  • 08/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any one who wants to learn and have fun doing it come here!

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll early!!!

    Bang for the buck

    For being an out of state resident this school is very costly but not as much as other schools.

    Am enjoying being here

    Last year was my first year and I immediately felt at ease coming here, everyone is so nice and very helpful!

    Am learning a lot

    I never had good grades in high school so I was pleasantly surprised that I was learning so much and getting good grades!

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is a police department located on the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a honors club.

    What to do for fun

    san jacinto is a very small town, but there is bowling, and places to eat.

    Food and Dining

    i walked into the cafeteria, and was confused as to where the food was at. they had hot dogs and soda.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    as long as the student takes time to read their material, it is pretty simple.

    Tips for prospective students

    when attending mt. san jacinto college, always be on time, some professors will and do, lock the door at the very second class begins. i have seen it happen to more students then i care to admit.

    In three sentences

    this college is a wonderful learning atmosphere, where one can learn how to reach their academic potential, and strive for success. mt. san jacinto college is a place where excellence resides, and students can far exceed their own expectations. this college is a recommended place to pave the way for future success.

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    its a community college so price for classes is nothing compared to paying for a university.

    Food and Dining

    pretty good lunch room stoked with farley good food.

    Dorm Life

    not part of dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    i have pretty well organized teachers online and at campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are going to the temecula campus get there early for a parking spot, very limited parking.

    In three sentences

    its a very easy school to get to if your located in the riverside and temecula area. it has a nice layout you dont have to walk to much. be sure to wear sun screen in the summer time!

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe as the campus is very small, which i believe is a good thing.

    Clubs and Activities

    unknown/not available at the campus i am currently attending

    Great for these types of students

    great for students that want to get a small taste of college education, and for learning the basics before moving/transferring to other higher colleges.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    with the help of administrative, financial aid was obtained and all of the tuition was handled automatically

    What to do for fun

    they do provide an area to access the internet in the computer room. there students may check there college email to see if assignments are posted, or do research on school work.

    Food and Dining

    currently i am attending a small campus which only consist of 4 classrooms 1 administrative building, and 1 set of restrooms, therefore a cafeteria, or food area is not available. however i rate it a three not because it has a poor dining facility, but because they do designate an area with seats and tables .

    Dorm Life

    currently i am a student living at home, and do not live the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    i believe as most colleges may perform the same, lectures and assignments are given, and it is up to the student to complete the school work.

    Tips for prospective students

    sign-up/register early as this gives a better opportunity to obtain the classes desired.

    In three sentences

    the san gorgonio pass campus, which i'm attending, is a very nice, small and comfortable campus. all of the faculty as well as the instructors are very helpful in all aspects. registering with the college was little hassle with help from all administrators.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much on campus to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    They have a small cafe and the food isn't to bad.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms because it is a community college

    Tips for prospective students

    It may be hard to get classes in the beginning, but just keep trying because you will eventually get a class.

    In three sentences

    You can get a great education for the price. It is hard to get classes unless you have units to up your priority. There is a nice range of subject you can study.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Theater department!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like a small town environment.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much. There are dance concerts, plays, an art gallery, sports...

    Food and Dining

    There are a few shopping centers around the school with fast food resteraunts like Dell Taco, Starbucks, McDonalds, Subway, Carls Jr.

    Dorm Life

    There is none.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes are pretty easy as long as you keep on up on the work. There are a few harsh professors. There is a free tutoring service at the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is not a place for people who want a big school environment. The town itself also doesn't have much for entertainment.

    In three sentences

    I love it here because it has a nice, small, community feeling and most of the professors and staff are friendly. It is also relatively inexpensive to go here. The theater department is growing and the dean of the department is very helpful in advising theater majors.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are usually police officers somewhere around the campus. Teachers are everywhere as well. There is usually no unsafe activity at this school as many of the students that attend are responsible adults who are strictly there to learn and have fun outside of campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities around campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who want to go to school and still work. It is in location for students that live anywhere between Temecula and San Jacinto. You can opt to be a part-time student and work at the same time. You can also be a full-time student and work at the same time as well.

    Bang for the buck

    The costs to attend this college are much less than a university but still require the standard cost per unit for each class. The average for a full-time student is around 400-500 dollars, not including books. The best advice is to buy your books on amazon or somewhere online ahead of time in order to spend less money. The book store at this school is VERY pricey.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do for fun at school, but there are other shops and hang-out spots around the area to go and study with friends or just to spend time together. There is also space available around campus to do this and in the LRC building.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe where they can make food from the menu for you. There are also a lot of snacks and drinks to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at MSJC.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can vary with teachers and subjects. Most teachers are very helpful and can answer any questions you may have, just make sure to ask!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you find out all the deadlines for any applications ahead of time. Make appointments with your counselors to ask them any questions. Enroll in your classes as soon as you get your registration date!

    In three sentences

    This school has a nice location. The teachers here are great and really friendly. The campus is easy to navigate through.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is fine here, no problems.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is good. Our cafeteria has good food, well prepared and staff are always friendly. Never pass a meal by. :)

    Dorm Life

    We do not have doorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    Academicly, the school is great. A lot of teachers have the experience and are highly dedicated. Learning can be fun in the right ways. Always trying to find some interest in the topic helps.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay dedicated to your work. Life will always throw you curve balls, but it's up to you to play like a baseball player. Never give up on your dreams, there will always be someone willing to help somewhere. School is a learning opportunity. :)

    In three sentences

    Mount San jacinto college is fun but classes are really hard to get into. I enjoy most of the teachers who work in the community college. They provide many tutoring opportunities for students who struggle with homework.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is lots of security on campus. However, I suggest you don't roam the campus alone at night, for it is not lit very well and it could get dark.

    Greek Life

    It may be a community college, but there are still sororities and fraternities to join

    Clubs and Activities

    Like I've said before, the school has many clubs that meets any interests and skills.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone can be accepted to Mt San Jacinto College. It's for people pursuing a degree, finding their career path, or for someone who just wants to be there for the sake of getting more education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This school also has three other campus: Mennife Valley, the Temecula Education Complex, and San Gorgonio Pass campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Since it is not a university, prices are not that. Tuition is just 46 dollars per unit and 34 dollars for parking fee. If that's still hard for you they do offer financial aid including BOG waivers, Cal grants and scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities to be involved with including sports, theater and dance productions, and clubs such as sign language, ceramics,communication studies, poetry, and many more.

    Food and Dining

    I have not tried the cafeteria since I commute from my home to school, but I've heard it is a nice place to have good food and hang out with your peers.

    Dorm Life

    Well, it's community college so there are not really any dorm rooms. However, if you don't live nearby, scheduling for classes if pretty flexible and they even have online classes for those who are too busy to attend classes on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Personally, I've only took one class where I felt challenged, but this could vary between students. Overall, you do learn what you need to learn in the classes which is important.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are one of those who don't know what you want to do, start with taking your general education requirements. Usually there is a class people will take that make them realize this is something they will enjoy doing for a living. So taking your general ed. classes is where you can explore your options.

    In three sentences

    Mt. San Jacinto Community College is a good place to start if you don't know what you want to do with your life. They have many options for you to explore with their good selection of degrees and classes. It is also a cheap college, especially good for those who plan to transfer to a four year university afterwards.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All students! There are students of all races, backgrounds, and personalities that attend this college. People wanting to transfer to a 4-year university or are looking to receive an AA degree should look into attending this school.

    Bang for the buck

    The current price for classes is $46 a unit starting summer of 2012. Compared to a university, it is very cheap. There is also a board of governors wavier that one could apply for in order to have their classes paid for. One just has to show that they financially struggling.

    What to do for fun

    There are a variety of clubs and organizations that one can get involve in. All it takes is investigation. The Student Government Association is in charge of all activities so they would have all the information on upcoming events.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafeteria when students can buy food at any time along with tables inside and outside to eat and talk with peers.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms because it is a community college. However, on the Menifee campus there are apartments right across the street.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes can be harder than others depending on the professor. However, if you take the time to study hard and do all the work necessary, then you should have no problem at all getting good grades. If a student is motivated to do well, then they will.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors and the rest of the faculty because they can provide a great deal of information and answer any questions. Make sure you know ahead of time what classes you want to register for because it will make the process much easier. Also, make an appointment with a counselor to go over your education plan so you know what classes you should be registering for. Try to get involved in clubs and other school activities to have a more enjoyable time.

    In three sentences

    There are campuses in multiple nearby cities, making it easier for students to be able to attend classes closer to their home. There are a variety of classes to choose from all subject areas. The faculty is always available to answer any questions.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I've taken mostly online classes, but on my visits to the campus, it seems like a great place to be and take part in the festivities.

    Food and Dining

    Haven't used the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Haven't lived in a dorm at their location - don't believe they have any.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good educational planning and a good choice of classes.

    In three sentences

    Amazing office staff that are always willing to help with whatever questions we have. Great teachers to help you achieve your goals. Wonderful classmates that help each other out.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe at school. There is a police station on campus, and I regularly see the campus police strolling through the grounds. Everyone keeps to themselves for the most part and it isn't very packed like other schools I have heard about.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life..as I am aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not in any clubs at school as of right now, but next semester I plan on joining a few clubs. I have heard nothing but good words of mouth from a Anthropology Club member.

    Great for these types of students

    I would say Mt. San Jacinto college is good for all types of students. I believe it makes for a great, straight from high school, college. It is a decent college for older students to come and get an education, it helps prospective young mothers earn a certificate or degree, and it allows several different pathways for prospective University transfer students like me.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm not aware of any unusual traditions or locations on this campus. I am area of the theater prop storage room, and that is a pretty neat area to see every once in a while. It resembles a warehouse and Mr. O'Connor has his office in there. You get to see different props used for the different plays the school has put on.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, I would recommend this school to people in the area. The professors can be shady though, so watch out and always do research on the professors before you choose them.

    What to do for fun

    As for the school, I never really stay there to do anything fun on the campus. I know the Learning Resource Center is useful to students because they offer free tutoring of almost every subject. I've gotten help with math there plenty of times from peers and from professors. Other than that, the library is nice and has a decent amount of resources. I enjoy being on the campus for the most part.

    Food and Dining

    The school has a cafeteria that is decent. They provide cooked meals, such as hamburgers, french fries, grilled cheese sandwiches, etc etc. The prices are reasonable. Some items are overpriced, some are extreme deals. It all depends on what you are buying. The cafeteria isn't really a hot spot. It's loud, smells oddly of sweat and frozen food and there is almost no sitting. When you do find a seat, don't expect to find a plug for your laptop.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't any dorms at MSJC since it's only a community college. But the living environment around the campus is fair. I believe some elderly duplexes are located directly next to the school, near the teacher's parking lot. On the other side of the campus, near the student parking lots, there is a ran down neighborhood called Quant Ranch. To the front of the school there is a clean, newly built neighborhood, and around the school is surrounded by a newly built shopping center.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I've seen from being there two semesters is that there are good professors and there are bad professors, there are prospective, active, happy instructors willing to help you with your community college experience and there are instructors who don't even want to learn your name. As for class material, I enjoyed the challenging classes, but I have also dreaded the overload of work given from certain classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always make sure you go onto Ratemyprofessor.com and look up the professors first! You might end up with a really bad batch of professors if you aren't careful.

    In three sentences

    My first semester was great! My second semester was a fail! Now onto my third semester, wish me the best.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe, with a quick response team.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a whole array of clubs to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that are serious about college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Its a college rich in diverse cultures

    What to do for fun

    Its all upto you.

    Food and Dining

    The canteen has great cooks

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this college, but admissions can help with housing.

    Academic Rigor

    College is hard-work and long nights. Always keep up with homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do look forward to enjoying an enriched, intimate academic experience at Mt. San Jacinto College.

    In three sentences

    A great college that has small classes for greater teacher and student interaction. Mt. San Jacinto College offers assistance with adoptive technical learning support, counselling, referral services, library aids, effective tutoring and above all promotes confidence and self esteem in its students.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have campus police. I have always felt safe

    Great for these types of students

    students that want to get their undergraduate classes finished at a cheaper price than a university

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not aware of any

    Bang for the buck

    Prices per unit keep going up.

    What to do for fun

    Fun? I have not payed much attention

    Food and Dining

    Very small cafetteria and vending machines

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at MSJC it is a junior college

    Academic Rigor

    MSJC has tutoring available for most subjects and it's free.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take an elective course to get your foot in the door. They give previous students the first registration dates.

    In three sentences

    I think Mt San Jacinto College is a great school. They offer a lot of undergraduate classes. The classes fill up very fast though.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus security walking/driving around.

    Greek Life

    I don't know if there is a greek life or not.

    Clubs and Activities

    See prior post.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone that does not already have an Associates Degree or better, people looking for training certificates, or people looking to transfer to a four-year university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mt. San Jacinto has about eight different campuses. There is a lot of school pride events that go on throughout the year.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get your moneys worth, especially if you get the FAFSA money. I have just received a Paralegal Certificate without having to pay a dollar for tuition.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of clubs and associations. Nearby there is a bowling alley, mall, public pools with slides, HUGE lake, Dinosaur exhibit etc.

    Food and Dining

    There are lots of places to eat near by: Panda Express, Taco Bell, Stater Bros grocery store etc. the list goes on.

    Dorm Life

    I never looked into it. I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Hard working students are rewarded just like any other institution.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a hard working student with good grades you should definitely apply with the Honors Enrichment Program. Your core classes are important, take them first.

    In three sentences

    Mt. San Jacinto Community College exceeded my expectations, especially after transferring there from a private institution. Mt San Jacinto College has helped me so much through the Honors Enrichment Program. All my teachers have been really helpful and willing to go out of their way to help with assignments or whatever.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have on campus police

    What to do for fun

    i donrt know i just go to school an back home dont spend to much tyime on campus

    Dorm Life

    no dorms it a community college

    Tips for prospective students

    easy to enroll online enrollment

    In three sentences

    this school is a good school i learn alot. It is also easy to get to i take the bus everyday.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wanting to transfer to a four year college

    Bang for the buck

    Units will increase beginning Fall 2012 to $49 a unit

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and associations you can be part of. There is also a softball team for those who enjoy softball. They have computers which you may use as well.

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria at this college. There are snack machines where you can purhcase chocolate bars , water or soft drinks. Restaurants which are 2mins from campus include Panda Bear, Denny's, Carls Jr and Del taco as well as grocery store Stater Bros.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home. There are no dorms in this college. There are apartments close by at walking distance should you need to live by campus.

    Academic Rigor

    They are strict on what they expect from you. They assist you as best they can, yet they hope you gain the critical skills necessary to succeed in the 'real' world. Courses are challenging enough that you must pay attention and do your homework to assure you understand them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always check for the deadlines on applying. All correspondence goes to your san jacinto set up email, this includes the financial papers they may need to complete financial aid process. Always ask questions, counselors are available on appt and they take walk ins on Wednesdays.

    In three sentences

    Mt San Jacinto faculty is very helpful and assist you with any questions. Financial aid office guides you to what the necessary steps are to be able and obtain financial aid if you qualify. I enjoy the pleasantness of everyone who encouraged me to continue my education, especially my counselor.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very good

    Greek Life

    not involved

    Clubs and Activities

    community emergency response team

    Great for these types of students

    poor prophet students or need based

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    tables

    Bang for the buck

    cheeper than most colleges

    What to do for fun

    volunteer and club

    Food and Dining

    better than most places

    Dorm Life

    needs some improvement

    Academic Rigor

    i perform about average or below average here.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't transfer or drop out

    In three sentences

    Needs more support

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten anything from there.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't started classes yet, but I heard it's pretty laidback.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your assessment test as soon as possible and find out about financial aid real early.

    In three sentences

    It's really nice and really clean. It seems like they care mostly about how the students do in school and make sure they stay serious about their education. Also, they are really helpful with any questions I have about anything.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see campus police driving around the parking lots and making sure nothing happens to the students vehicles.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have several clubs and activities from an Anthropology club to a Student Government. I suggest joining several over your time here. it makes you stand out more on resumes and on transcripts.

    Bang for the buck

    As of now they are asking i believe $36 a unit which is just over $100 a class which is a whole lot cheaper for your general education then if you were going to a Four-year institution paying almost a $1000 or more per class. I say your going to get more band for your buck here then at a Four-year

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria has a decent selection of food to buy and a decent selection of bottled and fountain drinks to purchase.

    Dorm Life

    I Live off Campus so I do not know.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the course load you are taking. If your good at studying, organization, and multitasking then taking more courses in a semester will be just fine for you but if you are quite the opposite then i suggest taking one to two courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register Early, Be patient with Financial Aid, Make a Counseling Appointment early in the previous semester.

    In three sentences

    Very Friendly counselors, Wonderful Veterans Affairs Specialist, and Great Campus

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never witnessed any incidents or heard of anything happening, so they must be good!

    Greek Life

    No idea.

    Clubs and Activities

    I know they have lots of clubs, I am not yet part of one.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone! Mt San Jacinto is very diverse and very easy going.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a 24 hour camera you can view online of 1 little corner on campus. Weird.

    Bang for the buck

    I think I'm getting my money's worth. They offer a lot of personal enrichment classes which I think is important when going to school and trying to figure out where you want your life headed.

    What to do for fun

    Play frisbee?

    Food and Dining

    The cafe on the Menifee is actually quite decent. Their biscuits and gravy in the morning are amazing!

    Dorm Life

    No idea.

    Academic Rigor

    If you want to take difficult classes, you can. If you want easy classes, they aren't hard to find. The teachers vary.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should enroll as soon as you can, turn in any paperwork necessary as soon as possible and go to class!

    In three sentences

    Mt San Jacinto is a nice, big, clean campus. However, there isn't a big enough diversity of classes and there are too many students. I do like that there are so many sites around the county.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    has almost all sports except swimming

    What to do for fun

    hang out with friends, join a club or sport

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria isn't bad, there is food all around the campus

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life on this campus

    Academic Rigor

    All classes can be used for most majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Getting your two years done here can help you out in the end. It can save you a bunch of money before heading into a four-year university.

    In three sentences

    A good school to get started and transfer to a four-year university. The school is growing more and more since not a lot of people can afford college, starting here can help you make it through.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are shopping centers around withing a mile, and the college has events atleast once a moth.

    Food and Dining

    There are many restaurants around the Menifee campus.

    Dorm Life

    I dont live in the dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up a year before you finish high school so you can get the classes you need by the time you graduate.

    In three sentences

    The staff is friendly. Classes fill up quick. Most instructors are verry helpfull, especially Mrs. Mendoza!!

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    33 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Foodd Is Pretyy Decent

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers Are Exceptional, They Make It Easy To Learn The Curriculum

    In three sentences

    The Schooll Iss Amazingg, I Love That It Has All General ED Classes So Close To Home And At A Low Cost.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police presence every day, all day. I have been attending for 4 years and haven't seen or heard of any situation arising. A very safe environment, even as a women taking night classes walking to the classroom and parking lot, you feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many to choose from, but again, I highly recommend joining the Honors Program. It will allow you first choice to classes, which helps to expedite your college career and achieve your goals even faster.

    Great for these types of students

    Professionals or students trying to figure out which direction they would like to take. The staff and instructors are there for you, even if you are not taking a class with them!

    Bang for the buck

    The school is ranked in the Top 100 Community Colleges and your dollar couldn't be more wisely spent. Absolutely worth ever penny - $46/unit.

    What to do for fun

    There are school sporting events to attend, many screenings of movies - academic related, and a host of guest speakers that offer a very informative perspective on a variety of subjects. They will open your mind to the world around you, and the world out side of our borders.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria is a good stop during the day and allows you not to have to spend a lot of money. They offer a wide variety of food choices, from a good old fashioned cheeseburger to a nice caesar salad.

    Academic Rigor

    As with anything in life, there are some very challenging courses. Try to take courses that are of interest to you, it will make the class much more enjoyable and hopefully you will be more successful academically. Also, try to get into the Honors Program or Phi Theta Kappa programs, these are based on academic achievement, but off quite a bit...The Honors will put you at the list for registration dates...THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT, and you only need a 3.0 to qualify, no wait listing for classes!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research. The schools website is very easy to manipulate and most all of your questions can be answered there. The more prepared you are before getting started, the better your experience will be...don't forget to fill out your FAFSA.

    In three sentences

    Most all of the instructors are very helpful; however, if you have one that can be challenging, there is always the free tutor center. The counselors are very helpful and take the time to go over any questions you may have, although you need to be sure to schedule your appointments early, because they are very busy.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have campus police . I've never heard about something damgerous happening on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have clubs for students majoring in pyschology, political science drama, and communications. They also have a ceramics club.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to transfer later and students who aren'y sure what they want to do.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know any it's only my second semester.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is fairly cheap. About $36 a unit. You can get a BOG waiver if you need it.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club and talk to people around you. Be friendly.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat at the cafeteria. I have food allergies so I can't eat too much. They have a wide selection of drinks. They offer tea and coffee, water, soda if you like it and other people enjoy the food they provide.

    Dorm Life

    Don't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The couses aren't too challenging the teachers make it easy to understand. There happy to answer any questions you might have after all it's what they are there for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out your financial aid early. You don't want to wait till the last minute because there are always corrections that need fixing and it could take a while. Play it safe don't procrastinate. Register early too. If you wait you might not get the classes you want if any.

    In three sentences

    It's a good school. The teachers are friendly and nice. There are many good resources for the students here.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are on campus police if you need an escort at night or if you have any safety issues. I don't see the police around campus very often, but when I do, I see them not too far from their cars.

    Food and Dining

    Food varies depending on campus. San Jacinto campus and has a bigger cafe. Menifee Valley Campus has a smaller cafe. Food on both campuses does not taste too bad. Packaged food and sodas seem a bit overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms that I know of that is associated to the college.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors teach at a university level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early and don't wait until the last minute because spots fills up fast. Apply for EOPS and/or Disability for an earlier registration date.

    In three sentences

    Not enough classes for everyone. Needs more activity. Friendly people

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a good police office on campus which patrols the campus and sends warning alerts out, if there is some criminal activity on site, to the students for their safety.

    Great for these types of students

    Disabled students have a resource center on campus to meet their needs. Students that qualify are allowed note takers, translators, recorders, and extra time for tests.

    What to do for fun

    There are campus barbecues and festivals, blood drives and parties done throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    The food is limited to a few hours a day and not very expensive, but it is put on a shelf after hours at a reduced price. The down side is the shelved stuff is what ever is left over from the cafe' and in what ever amounts so first come first serve! The food is good!

    Academic Rigor

    Don't be too prideful to take help! there is tutoring in the learning center and they can answer questions as you do homework. Use any and all services you qualify for so as not just to pass your classes but to actually learn something.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register on time and know ahead of time the classes you need and the days and times you are available to go to school before you register. Have an academic plan listing your semesters of classes to take the guess work out of class searches. Be patient if your class is not offered this semester. Try to avoid dropping out of classes or with drawing from them, it does affect your GPA!

    In three sentences

    In need of financial support for any where. Well meaning, but short of funds to offer many services during class times. Well maintained academic performance expectations, by staff and professors teaching the classes.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Unknown.

    Greek Life

    Unknown.

    Clubs and Activities

    Various.

    Great for these types of students

    Vocational, transfer, working adults.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Too new to evaluate.

    Bang for the buck

    $46 per unit is excellent for your first two years.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Many restaurants within a mile of the Menifee campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging, but obtaining A's is doable. My current GPA for all post secondary education is 2.3, but I am around 3.5 in the two on line classes I am taking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early. Set aside at least $150 per class for textbooks before the first day of class.

    In three sentences

    Make sure when visiting the financial aid office to continue asking questions until you are satisfied and either qualify for aid, or totally understand why you don't.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Menifee campus has a police building on campus. I've never witnessed a serious safety/out of line behavior incident.

    Greek Life

    More clubs and activities than I care to participate in.

    Clubs and Activities

    More clubs and activities than I care to participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    Brand new Technology building. Animation, networking, programming, video editing. In great condition and new technology.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a lot of tutoring and help programs for struggling students. Football and sports, and a blood drive. Nothing really unusual.

    Bang for the buck

    Class units cost $48 as of Oct. 2012. Way more affordable than starting off at a University. Pay close attention to which units transfer and which don't.

    What to do for fun

    Fun? Whatever you want outside of class.

    Food and Dining

    Crappy cafeteria food. Though they do offer fruits, cereal, bars and fruit juices.

    Academic Rigor

    Difficult to sum up. I'm a 4.0 student. My hardest class was Interpersonal Communication. My best classes were the hard sciences.

    Tips for prospective students

    Score well on your entrance exam. If you are rusty in Math or English, study up before taking the placement test. It will save you from taking the lower classes. www.khanacademy.com is great for math tutoring.

    In three sentences

    Affordable classes. Safe Campus. Good Information Technology curriculum.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great here because campus police makes sure students are safe during the day and night. Especially at night campus police make sure students get to their car's safe.

    What to do for fun

    Mt. Jacinto college offers student to join activities like being part of the ASB club and participating in cheerleading. As well as, joining variety of sports like soccer, tennis, golf, basketball, softball, baseball and football. It helps students build self-esteem and time management.

    Food and Dining

    College food is great here because its made by students who know what students like. Its prepared in a good manner, so students can enjoy the food. Also can enjoy it with friends while studying or doing homework for classes.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms in Mt. San Jacinto college, but their are student that live next to the college and seen that students tend to live together. Someway it helps have a great experience in building new friendships with other people and students.

    Academic Rigor

    Mt. Jacinto community college prepares student with high knowledge and high standards for their college degree. As well making it a fun experience for the students reaching their goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ready to get more knowledge by being positive, be motivated to challenge yourself. And being a responsible adult in taking oneself decisions.

    In three sentences

    Mt. San Jacinto community college has been so far a great place to be in. First, I enjoy being in class because the teachers are helpful to student's who need help in a certain chapters. Lastly, the college gives tutoring services to student who need help in classes and its a great help to all students very much.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a safe place to be at. They have cops every where and when a disaster hits they worn you over the intercom and they have safe places for you to go to.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great!

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for all types of people.

    Bang for the buck

    There are a lot of things that you can do, you can even work for the college and it will help pay for some of your expenses.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs and sports, and hang out with the friends you have made.

    Food and Dining

    Great food!

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I have learned a lot at this college it is a great school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and never give up your goals.

    In three sentences

    This college is a good school, I love coming here. I get the help I need and I don't have to go through any hoops, like I had to at my other college I went to. Great staff and friendly students.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is ok, but way too damn overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips would be to get any assistance you need.

    In three sentences

    This is the best school I have ever attended. Ever since I stepped foot on this campus, I felt like I've grown intellectually. I would recommend this school to anyone who live in southern Riverside county.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Get a parking permit because campus police can be real jerks.

    Clubs and Activities

    May theater arts clubs and phi theta kappa, also science and mathematics clubs and student body.

    Great for these types of students

    Relaxed, want to learn, and want to succeed by transfering to a 4 year.

    Bang for the buck

    It is just a community college but it WILL prepare you fir a 4 year college. The teachers do care about the students and WILL help.I am glad I came here

    What to do for fun

    Concerts Plays Comedy shows

    Food and Dining

    Food is actually very good and unlike many place they serve big portions at a very reasonable price.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the teacher you can either fly by the course with no worries (except mid term and final) or you can learn and do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some teachers are horrible because they lack enthusiasm and some classes are boring but keep the class you are in because there is not much room in any class.

    In three sentences

    Mt. San Jacinto College is one of the best community colleges in the state. Many well trained teachers some even have doctorates in their field of study. Relaxing environment and a very peaceful place to study.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is right next to the Menifee police station. The campus has had very little crime in the last several years.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs in which students may participate. It seems like there is a club rush every other week.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to transfer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Steer clear of the smoking section that I randomly placed in the middle of campus.

    Bang for the buck

    If you're looking to start your education and save as much money as possible, MSJC is the school for you. Classes are cheap and the education is good. It is a great school to start a transfer program from.

    What to do for fun

    There are not a whole lot of campus activities that go on.

    Food and Dining

    The campus cafe does not serve very good food, nor are the choices very nutritious. Fortunately there is a new shopping complex across the freeway about 5 minutes from the Menifee campus that has a great selection of restaurants.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors here are very professional for the most part. However, the school does feel very much like high school at times.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make are that you register as early as possible. This school is known for being overcrowded and it is not very likely that you will make the class via wait-listing.

    In three sentences

    It is a good college if you like smaller , more intimate classroom settings. The environment is not the most exciting, but the classes can be challenging. This is a good school if you are looking to transfer after two years.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school has many clubs you can join or sports. There is plenty of shopping near the Menifee campus also.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria here is great and has great snacks for on the go students.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms but if there were I'm sure they would be great.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are great here and the teachers challenge you.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would visit the nearest campus's counseling department and get all the information you need to pursue your academic career.

    In three sentences

    The staff is very helpful at this school. The counseling department is especially helpful. There are many different class choices and campuses.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has been an increase in car break-ins recently. Also, it's not entirely uncommon for fights to break out and the on campus police are as lazy as it gets.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa, is the honors organization of MSJC. Closely tied to the honors program, it is dedicated to academic excellence and community service.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a good variety of clubs and activities on campus. Every semester there is a club rush so you can see all the different groups there are on campus. Most are beneficial for transfer applications.

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to go to school, but aren't ready for or can't afford a 4-year should be good at MSJC. Even if you just want to take a few classes you are interested, this is the route to take. Especially good for parents or people who work full time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any traditions that I'm aware of on campus. The cafe, outside the LRC, and the computer labs are popular hangout areas.

    Bang for the buck

    Because MSJC is a public community college, it is much cheaper than a university and some trade schools. Most students receive a good deal of financial aid, too.

    What to do for fun

    The people on campus are lively and there's almost always an event each week. It is very easy to find people with the same interests as you and there are several areas that are good for down time.

    Food and Dining

    The food at MSJC is really a hit or miss. Depending on the campus, what the cafe is making, and who is working on a given day decides whether the food is good or not.

    Dorm Life

    MSJC does not offer on-campus housing, but the facilities are reasonably nice.

    Academic Rigor

    As a community college...MSJC's coursework is typically much easier than you might get from a 4-year college. There are, of course, challenging classes and things vary depending on the teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use MSJC as a tool to your advantage, not just a place to go for a few years and mess around. Really delve in and try to pick a path in life.

    In three sentences

    As a growing community college, MSJC has a lot to offer if people are willing to use the programs available to them. However, the school could be better off without some of the instructors. Overall, a good school.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    47 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Mt San Jacinto Police are on campus at all times that it is open. They even have a little substation on campus. If you take evening classes, take them with a partner.

    Clubs and Activities

    They do exist. I go to learn, not so much to find a social crowd. You can find fellow students that share your major/minor. One of the history professors is the head of one of the clubs, so the instructors do get involved in various things on campus as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student that wants to succeed can benefit from Mt San Jacinto. I don't recommend being a professional student and taking a spot that someone else who really cares needs. The college won't complain as long as you maintain a certain GPA. People of all different ages have gone to the college and with various majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not that I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    Not many campuses have a Learning Center or professors that are so willing to devote time to help the student succeed. Here is where Mt. San Jacinto is really over the tops.

    What to do for fun

    There are walking trails at some parks in San Jacinto and Hemet. If you enjoy hiking, you can drive up to Anza or Idyllwild. I'm trying to convince the local firemen to start having cook-offs (aka fire musters) for the public relations aspect of their job. Maybe you can help promote the idea. You have never had cooking until a firefighter cooks for you.

    Food and Dining

    College has some food available in the store, but it is only a few blocks from a shopping center. The shopping center has a bank, Stater Bros (makes some custom sandwiches or fried chicken), Carl's Jr., Starbucks, etcetera.

    Dorm Life

    I never stayed at a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    You can make it as hard on yourself as you choose. I don't recommend making it too hard for yourself. Take classes you enjoy with the ones that you find difficult. I enjoy math and hate history. I took them together. Don't overload yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to counselors first. They are there to help you. It helps to know the classes you need to reach your goals and not waste valuable money. Also, take advantage of the Tutoring Center because it is free and there to help you succeed.

    In three sentences

    I found that the professors are very helpful and willing to help you out. Also it is nice that the tutoring center hires students to help existing students to succeed. The location is right by shopping, Starbucks, and restuarants to make it easy for students to walk to pick up whatever they need.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always there to make sure the peace is always kept.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs being formed for every and all types of students, all you have to do is to get out there and look around.

    Great for these types of students

    Thus particular school is great for those who want to transfer to a university.

    Bang for the buck

    The bookstore is a bit overpriced, thus you should only shop there at you're own risk.

    What to do for fun

    There's always some event going on at the campus for those social butterflies, such as film festivals, sports, or plays. Something for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    The food is made fresh every day, and hot meals and made fresh to order every day from 11-4. And if you don't want the school food, there are plenty of restaurants around the campus that give discounts to students.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are just the right difficulty for those who like a challenge. Professors will help in any way they possibly can.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering applying, apply as soon as you can because classes fill up fast. And if there is a learning community for classes that you want or need, enroll in it, that will be the best way to learn.

    In three sentences

    This school has some of the best teachers. I would this recommend community college to anyone. It has been a great experience so far.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is safe.

    Greek Life

    The campus is very simple.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a handful of clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    It is perfect if you do not know what you want to major in. Perfect if you bombed high school. Perfect if you can not afford school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It feels very at home, Many people who attend are from local high schools.

    Bang for the buck

    You pay alot less then a calstate which is great.

    What to do for fun

    There are a variety of clubs.

    Food and Dining

    This campus has a small cafeteria, It does the trick for a small snack.

    Dorm Life

    This campus does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are very well prepared for those who plan to transfer.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend apply for financial aid if you are on a budget. See your councilor often and ask a lot of questions

    In three sentences

    Like most of my instructors have mentioned, it is a great school if you are on a budget. The best part is that instructors at this college are able to focus on each students needs. It is a life changing experience.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun would be joining clubs.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the school is not that bad and it helps that the school is close to a store where you can buy something and just heat it up at the shcool.

    Dorm Life

    There are no Dorms at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    I guess class work is more in some classes than in others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join Clubs and take and interest in your education. Ask questions.

    In three sentences

    I thought this was a good school to go to. The teachers work with the students. The only down side is that its hard to get into the classes that you need.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security patrols the parking lots and people are always out and about.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various sports teams including football, baseball, and tennis. They have walking classes as well as dance classes. During the summer, there are workshops to help prepare you for the fall semester. The art classes display their work in art shows and dance puts on evening showcases toward the end of the semester.

    Great for these types of students

    MSJC is great for students that want a valuable education without all the distractions of large campus life.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a community college, the education is much more affordable and the instructors are great! They show interest in your academic career and are very helpful when it comes to explaining projects or curriculum. The lab has standard equipment and the library is fairly large, equipped with a learning center and tutoring services.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria on campus ,but MSJC is also located a couple minutes away from two different shopping centers so you have plenty of food options.

    Dorm Life

    It is a community college so there are no dorms, but there are houses to rent nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on your classes. What you get out hinges on the work you are willing to put in. The instructors expect the same from you as would be expected at a four-year; however, the smaller classes mean that you get more help if you are struggling.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of things. If you haven't heard back, call up the office yourself. If you didn't get to register for a class, crash it because most instructors will add you in.

    In three sentences

    Mt. San Jacinto Community College provides a good education for less money. The students are inviting and the administrators are helpful. However, due to the budget cuts, it is harder to register for your classes.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Safe! Emails are always sent out if there are incidents that occur, or if there are natural disasters such as power outages, traffic collisions or bad weather conditions.

    Greek Life

    Unaware.

    Clubs and Activities

    MANY! There are clubs ranging from movie clubs to major specific clubs!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone new to college or anyone interested in transferring or continuing their education

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not that I am aware of!

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are expensive and so are books, but parking is only twenty bucks! That is super cheap! And it's a big parking lot!

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of great clubs to get involved in. I am part of SWANS which is a nursing club. They have BBQ's twice a month here too! Vendors, schools, clubs and other fun activities to do during this time.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe has excellent food and they have specials each day of the week to help with the cost of things! They have everything from burritos to hotdogs, sandwiches, salads and soups!

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms here!

    Academic Rigor

    I have had great teachers and all of them were always more than willing to help me out if I needed it.

    Tips for prospective students

    My only tip would be to save your money because books are expensive! Other than that, their library is expansive with books and computers, the cafe has delicious food and the hours are perfect within my schedule.

    In three sentences

    Mt. San Jacinto is a great college. The staff, teachers and students are all very helpful and friendly. I have fully enjoyed my experience at this beautiful college campus.

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We had a bomb threat this semester and the campus had no evacuation plan. The students whom were in the room next to the threat were merely moved into another room instead of in a parking lot or to the hills. They were also not informed of the situation they were in until later in the day. Campus police for the win.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs!

    Great for these types of students

    Poor students. Students who don't know what they want to do with their lives as well.

    Bang for the buck

    Get all of general education out of the way for the price of two classes at university level? I think yes.

    What to do for fun

    It is right next to the freeway so go to Temecula. Lots of fun there. On campus, well nothing unless you get involved in a club like I did.

    Food and Dining

    Bring food because there is are not healthy options in the eating area.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Although it is a community college the academic demand is the same as any other college. They do not give you a break because it is not a university, so do not expect one. No laziness, it sets you up right for university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Only attend the Menifee campus. Expect for them not to buy your books back so sell them back on amazon. Be part of a club, it will make your time there enjoyable rather than just a hassle.

    In three sentences

    This school is dreary, or at least the San Jacinto campus is. The teachers are amazing, as long as you look them up on 'rate your professor'. The workers in the library, the student store, and the cafeteria are not there to help you, so don't ask.

  • 06/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a relatively safe campus compared to others. There have been some incidents with fights or car break-ins but campus police really stays on top of things.

    Great for these types of students

    Community college attracts a lot of people we aren't serious about school. But at MSJC I have seen more people who are serious and really care about their education. I would say if your coming to MSJC to goof off, don't bother. The professors and many students here are dedicated!

    Food and Dining

    All there is is the school cafe which is decent, well priced, food but there are a lot of options close by campus.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms on campus but there are a lot of apartments close by if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research on professors and don't give up if you don't get the best! Don't let the students who aren't serious deter your ambitions. Do strive to keep your grades up - you can join Phi Theta Kappa and be eligible for lots of scholarships. Plus they have a bunch of volunteer opportunities on and off campus to help with university applications! Don't underestimate the power of MSJC - or any community college - to truly have an impact on your life.

    In three sentences

    This school can be a great experience, but you have to be willing to do the work. There are a lot of great professors and students, and a lot of not-so-great ones. MSJC is an awesome stepping stone to prepare you for university.

  • 06/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Since tuition has been raised, it's not as cheap as it used to be, but it's $56.00 a unit now.

    What to do for fun

    There's clubs on campus such as the environmental science club, the psychology club, the atheist club, the christian club, the political science club.

    Food and Dining

    Food is made in the cafe and it's pretty good if they prepare it in front of you. Buying food already prepared isn't as yummy.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors expect a lot from you because you're an adult now. Always come to class on time so you'll be prepared for the test.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to always register as early as possible, due to classes getting filled very quickly. Have all of your high school information ready for them to receive. Look at the catalogue so you'll be prepared on what classes to take.

    In three sentences

    It's great for students who are searching for what they want to do in life. They get you prepared and are always available if you have questions. The counselors will guide you with where you want to transfer and what you'll need in order to get there.

  • 08/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    MSJC is very secure with campus safety. There are around the clock security and a campus police station. Being a student who takes classes late at night it is important that I feel safe on campus and MSJC does just that.

    Greek Life

    I am not aware of much Greek life on campus I know there is one Greek campus sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    Although I am not currently in any clubs, they do look promising and I look forward into joining them. they range from many diversities and offer many opportunities to their students.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students look to earn certificates, AA, AS, or a transfer to a 4-year college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    To my knowledge there is nothing I have found strange or unusual on campus just yet.

    Bang for the buck

    MSJC offers a wide variety of financial aid programs to help you get more bang for your buck!

    What to do for fun

    For fun MSJC offers a wide variety of clubs that range from honors, sorority, cultural, and dance. These offer and give the students time to interact with the community and our fellow peers whom share similar interest. Also there is sports such as good old fashion American football.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dinning are those typical of cafeteria food. Not completely horrible but nonetheless it is food.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life offered so for that reason i rate it one.

    Academic Rigor

    Considering I am only a freshman the academic rigor seems appropriate and accurate for the education level offered at

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important tip to take into account id DO NOT PROCRASTINATE! Keep on top of deadlines especially when it comes to registering for classes. Also look into all programs that MSJC has to offer, you'll be surprised how much there is to help you financially, educationally and personaly.

    In three sentences

    Mt. San Jacinto is learning from the past, celebrating the moment, and changing the future. Learning from the past because who you were does not define who you are. By celebrating the moment you are changing your future by choosing to pursue your passion and more importantly to better yourself.

  • 11/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Well our. College does not have closed gates around campus because we are located near apartments for the elderly, we have an amazing staff of police officers ion vampus, and police station located behind our campus. :)

    Greek Life

    Unsure of this.

    Clubs and Activities

    As I explained earlier, we have MANY clubs and on campus activities to look at. (STEM,art,academic,theatre,science,drama,and much more)

    Great for these types of students

    Participate in anything you can. it feels great to be involved, and participating with our college and college activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The eagle located near the library is a very symbolic part of our campus. it is the biggest statue on campus, and for some reason grabs the attention of many without knowing. It is also our school mascot.

    Bang for the buck

    Normal community college which has lower cost on textbooks, and other materials needed. Great ban for the buck items :)

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs offered on campus that you may participate in.Also. Our campus has many activities in the quad when our college has an upcoming football game, college fairs, navy recruits, or holidays.

    Food and Dining

    There are many restaurants near campus. Starbucks, Denny's, Mcdonalds,and many more are around campus.

    Dorm Life

    No on campus dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This college offers a variety of well organized programs. Puente, for example, is a great program on campus that offers the knowledge of why it is important to transfer to a four year university, and to prepare you to become a successful individual, and student. The Honors program is an excellent program also offered on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    I could honestly say that all students should be prepared for the courses. Each course is going to be time consuming,however, make time for your studies,and your loved ones. Not only do some courses have many assignments, but

    In three sentences

    Mount San Jacinto is a great college in our community. Located in a small town, San Jacinto,CA, it is a very great college for the community, and offers various programs, and studies. I honestly give this college an 8 out of 10.

  • 11/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    BSU, theater, sports

    Great for these types of students

    Underachievers or students not in a hurry to move on

    What to do for fun

    Theater and sports

    Food and Dining

    Limited

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll in a different JC. Although I got early enrollment due to sports the classes are not that great, the campus is in disrepair there never seems to be any money to make improvements yet MSJC want to expand.

    In three sentences

    Classes are hard to get into unless you get preferential enrollment. The campus is rundown. The students are older in age.

  • 12/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our own campus security at the main campus, which makes it very safe to be a student. They will notify us, the student body if anything goes wrong.

    Greek Life

    There are different kinds of people that play different roles that suit them. Unlike high school, there are no cliques or groups of people that choose to hang out exclusively. College is more universal and welcoming to any student.

    Clubs and Activities

    The best part about being a member of those organizations is reaping the benefits of early registration and scholarships. Those are the best things that a student can ever get while they are in college.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Honestly, I am not involved enough to know about this context.

    Bang for the buck

    As I mentioned above, MSJC is very affordable if one qualifies for financial compensation.

    What to do for fun

    There are various extracurricular activities that include sports and becoming a member of the Honors Enrichment Group (HEP) etcetera.

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria in my campus. Only a single vending machine.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    MSJC is an excellent college to attend because the staff are more than qualified and it costs a lot less than the same private education.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend this college. Make sue that you apply for any kind of financial aid before enrolling.

    In three sentences

    I love my college. It is very affordable if the student receives financial aid. There are no more than 25 students per classroom at the extension campus.

  • 03/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All students welcomed on campus, there is a wide age group of students.

    Bang for the buck

    Since it is a junior college, if you are transferring out, make sure credits will transfer with you. Put the work in for that A. If you are going to pay for it, do the work!

    What to do for fun

    Hanging out on campus and meeting new people is always fun. Going to clubs is a great way to get involved and see what the school is all about.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is actually pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    No on campus dorms, it is a junior college.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are as hard as you make them. Study all the time, and it will not be so hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do your homework, it is an important part of learning. Go to each class, and pay attention.

    In three sentences

    Mt. San Jacinto is a very diverse campus that can accommodate any schedule. The teachers love what they are doing and involve students in class work. This school is also affordable and a good place to take all general classes.

  • 03/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    61 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cops on campus. Rarely does anything happen. I have only heard of a cell phone being taken and a bike stolen. .

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa -Officer position come around which give you higher rankings on scholarships. Either way, being a member of PTK helps you to access additional scholarships.

    Clubs and Activities

    PTK, SGA, and about 25 others. Monthly bbqs and events scheduled. There are clubs sponsoring events almost every month.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students. Musicians and dance students tend to hang out together and practice. There is EMT practice that happens.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lots of clubs to join. The Menifee campus It's right next to the freeway so they tend to have some weekend events that can cause a problem for parking.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm FAFSA so I'm doing ok. Books are really pricey but try to order a.s.a.p. from half.com or amazon (cheaper to purchase but I tend to rent).

    What to do for fun

    I am an older student and am not there for fun. I am focused and for that reason have a decent gpa. It's my last semester before transfering to a university.

    Food and Dining

    Small cafeteria on campus with kitchen. Smells greasy but it is crowded. Several vending machine with alternating options - junk or fresh

    Dorm Life

    None avail.

    Academic Rigor

    Some class are suprisingly easy but there is usually at least 1 per semester (for me) that took extra effort. Be sure you make the time to study and it shouldn't be too bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get started early. Don't wait and try to get as much information as you can. The more you know the better off you are.

    In three sentences

    It's a good school but pretty impacted right now. They are really good at helping anyone with disabilities. Some excellent instructors the rest are average.

  • 03/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's almost always a cop patrolling. I always feel safe.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of activities to participate in, all of which have info easily accessible through the college website.

    Food and Dining

    It's okay, what college food it really good anyways...

    Dorm Life

    This campus does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The majority of the teachers here know what they're talking about and can successfully instruct course material.

    Tips for prospective students

    The books at the bookstore are expensive, look at other options for textbook purchases. Also, talk to a counselor frequently, or else you won't know anything about anything.

    In three sentences

    This college is reasonably priced and physically small. This allows for a more intimate class setting which, in my opinion, enhances learning. As a junior college, this is a great place to attend if you are unsure of your major, or you are not sure about transferring to a University yet.

  • 03/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    63 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    If you qualify for the fafsa you can get classes paid for.

    What to do for fun

    there is nothing fun to do in hemet if you got to the san jacinto campus.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is pretty good and they always have nice bbq for the students.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    always check ratemymentor.com to make sure you get a good teacher that wants to tech.

    In three sentences

    It is a nice campus but some teachers don't want to be there and won't help their students. They have a bunch of fairs and events for students to participate in.