Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Muhlenberg College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 out of 16 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Muhlenberg is the school for you if you enjoy a close-knit community, want professors who know your name (and your last test grade!), appreciate the arts and can understand less-conventional types of diversity. Our pre-health programs (and all sciences for that matter) are absolutely fantastic as are Muhlenberg's performing arts programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared with a smile, a NorthFace jacket and a good work ethic! If Muhlenberg is your first choice, definitely apply early decision and everyone should interview if you can. Also, come out for a campus tour and information session... the admissions department loves visitors and will make sure your experience is wonderful.

    Bang for the buck

    Muhlenberg is an expensive school, but as a small, private, liberal-arts institution, you definitely get what you pay for. The education is top-notch and the faculty and staff reflect the top-dollar price tag. The financial aid office is really good about accommodating the needs of everyone.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people of Muhlenberg are really, really friendly, which lends itself to creating a fun community environment. Muhlenberg is definitely not a party school like some of the bigger state schools, but it is easy to have a good time! On the downside, Allentown is a pretty boring place.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors truly care about your progress and the liberal arts philosophy really allows you to challenge yourself in a variety of academic areas.

  • 07/31/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Muhlenberg College is the perfect place for students who are extremely passionate about the arts, but do not want to forfeit their academic goals for a conservatory-like atmosphere, as well as for the students who want to be very involved in the arts, yet wish to pursue a different academic major. We have extensive dance, theater, music and arts programs, yet, as a liberal arts college, there is also a very strong emphasis on academics. No one has to be a major or even a minor to participate in any shows or take any arts classes so a large portion of the student body participates in at least some aspect of the arts without the arts being the sole focus of the entire campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely suggest any prospective student who is highly interested in Muhlenberg College to apply early decision. A great portion of each incoming class does apply early decision which is wonderful because that means most everybody at Muhlenberg is at their first choice school and is truly passionate about being there. Don't panic though! Muhlenberg's early decision deadline isn't until February 1st, only two weeks before regular decision. This gives you plenty of time to truly decide if Muhlenberg is the place for you. Also, visit the campus and make contact with professors, students, coaches, etc. as often as you can. The Admissions Office takes note of every time you make an effort to show interest in the school and it reflects very well on your application!

    Bang for the buck

    Muhlenberg College does an absolutely great job of offering both merit-based and need-based aid, so even if the tuition scares you at first glance, don't be afraid. There are even talent scholarships available for theater, dance, etc. plus three academic societies that the admissions office may offer you acceptance to which come with an additional scholarship. There is an extensive Career Center which anyone has access to starting from the first day of freshmen year where the experienced staff helps you create resumes, gives mock interviews, provides connections to alumni for possible post-graduation employment, and aids in the process of graduate school choice and application. Also, while work-study students have first choice at campus jobs, anyone can get a paying position on campus. Overall, Muhlenberg provides a wonderful balance of small, community feel with big university opportunities so, if you make the most of it, I definitely feel anyone is more than able to get their money's worth out of a Muhlenberg education.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am so lucky that I know I have most certainly picked the best place for me to spend my college career! In my opinion, Muhlenberg College could not be more perfect. They have an extensive arts program and a heavy emphasis on strong academics. There are so many opportunities like ways to get involved on campus and in the community, places to go abroad, research projects in conjunction with professors, independent studies, and more. The campus is small enough that you feel very 'at home', yet without feeling suffocated. There are several other colleges right in the same area, plus Philadelphia is only an hour away. I have already made friends that I know will last a lifetime and built relationships with many professors. My classes are interesting, engaging and will aid my greatly in 'the real world' after graduation. Housing is guaranteed all four years, yet the college helps you take steps to adjust to eventually being on your own. I really could not ask for more from Muhlenberg.

    Am learning a lot

    I am definitely learning a lot at Muhlenberg College. The academics here are very strong, but not in a competitive way. The professors are kind and personable; they demand the best of you, but, with the average class size being just nineteen students, you are able to get the individualized attention you need in order to succeed. Freshmen year, Muhlenberg offers a great program called a First-Year Seminar or FYS. It a writing-intensive class that you choose yourself from a list of sixty or so topics. The topics range from Finding Your Muse to The American Road-Trip to How to Think About Weird Things and each are the specialty of the professors who teach them. An FYS has approximately fifteen students in it who are also the students in your orientation group and the professor is your temporary advisor until your major is declared. The class is designed to explore the topic in a way that truly causes you to think and, also, to get you used to college-level writing. For this purpose, each FYS has its own writing advisor who is an upperclassman who has taken a course about teaching and editing writing. They attend the class and are available to help with any paper. This program is a wonderful way to start-off your college education; it causes you to start thinking at a higher level, gets you closely acquainted with your advisor, provides you with an upperclassman resource and introduces you to classmates who share similar interests. Thanks to my First-Year Seminar, I can say I am definitely soaking as much out of my Muhlenberg education as possible.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    around the school is fine, but allentown itself can be dicey.

    Greek Life

    not that popular, but there if you want it.

    Clubs and Activities

    theatre anything. gym. hanging out in dorms, suites. partying not too crazy. it's manageable.

    Great for these types of students

    smart, theatre geeks, jewish

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    people here are buff, and pretty attractive. i go to the gym everyday. zumba is great. love the dance classes.

    Bang for the buck

    pricey, but worth it. if i weren't in a scholars program though i may have chosen a less expensive school.

    What to do for fun

    hillel is really big here. at first i was intimidated because i am not jewish. but they are welcoming once you make friends.

    Food and Dining

    at first the food was okay, but after a while you get sick of it.

    Dorm Life

    prosser is a party dorm. brown nice freshmen dorm for girls. walz is good choice for freshmen guys. upperclassmen live in suites, mile houses.

    Academic Rigor

    at first it was too easy but now i feel challenged. i am in one of the three honors programs. the college is generous with scholarships if you are a great student. it's also what you make of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    it may be hard to adjust to the lack of stuff to do on the weekeneds if you are from a big city. but, you should get involved in campus activities which is easy to do for those in theatre. lotsa people from nj, and surrounding pa area.

    In three sentences

    muhlenberg college is a small lac located in allentown, pa. there is not that much racial diversity here, but after a while you become used to this. at first it was difficult because i graduated from an inner city, urban setting with a lot of diversity. theatre is a big nationwide draw here. so is pre-med, pre-law, and business.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Muhlenberg is great for anyone who is driven and willing to work hard. The courses are hard and you have to study alot so you have to be willing to put in the work if you want the grade. It's also great for theatre majors. Our theatre department is great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up with your classes and GPA your senior year. Don't slack off and take only easy courses, keep a hard class or two. This will show colleges that you are still motivated. Also, it's not how many activities you do, but it's how long and how involved you were.

    Bang for the buck

    I don't know that much about how well my education will be overall, but so far I think that I am getting my monies worth. All tutors, worskshops, and appointments during office hours are abundantly available.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus really is a community. People are really friendly and always willing to help you out.

    Am learning a lot

    You learn alot, it's hard material but the teachers are good and want to help you.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is safe, but criminal occasionally migrate from downtown allentown and commit crimes just off-campus. call boxes are located everywhere and you often see a police patrol car.

    Greek Life

    common but not mandatory.

    Clubs and Activities

    great theater and arts facilities, decent athletic facilities, greek life, a fair number of clubs relative to the size of the student body.

    Great for these types of students

    theater students. white, middle-class students who plan to study biology.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a bird museum on the top floor of the biology building which houses thousands of taxidermied bird specimens from around the world.

    Bang for the buck

    the strength of the school is really the biology/pre-med program, so if that is your plan you should really consider muhlenberg. a degree from muhlenberg in another discipline may be very well-respected, but you may not necessarily get your money's worth.

    What to do for fun

    there are many activites planned on campus, many bars in a short distance from the school, multiple colleges in the surrounding area, dorney park and wildwater kingdom, short trips to nyc and philly, etc.

    Food and Dining

    there is a newly renovated dining hall, starbucks on campus, and many affordable places to eat just off-campus.

    Dorm Life

    safety may be an issue at times, but most activity occurs off-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    some courses are more challenging than others, but the tight community makes it very easy to form focused study groups.

    Tips for prospective students

    the strength of the school is really the biology/pre-med program, so if that is your plan you should really consider muhlenberg. a degree from muhlenberg in another discipline may be very well-respected, but you may not necessarily get your money's worth.

    In three sentences

    the student body is very small, thus you can develop intimate, lasting relationships. the faculty make teaching students their number one priority, but students may also benefit from their research projects. the campus is small, pretty, located just on the outskirts of an urban location, and the facilities are excellent for such a small school.

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Theater students or athletes thrive here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    St. Pattys day is epic here.

    Bang for the buck

    I wouldn't do it any other way. Although the school is very expensive, the education is unvaluable. I'm also having the time of my life.

    What to do for fun

    There's so much to do for much. I love going to watch all the games, which is great for athletic people. For theater people theres always a performance going on. There are plenty of partys on weekends and a lot of the time me and my friends go hang out in the light lounge in Seegers just for fun because you'll see everybody.

    Food and Dining

    Muhlenberg has the best dining hall. The food is great. I'll go to breakfast an hour early just so I can study in there. Its like a giant ski lodge. Its so beautiful. And GQ is great for late night snacks or when you're in the mood for something different.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing. Although freshman dorms (esp. Prosser) aren't the nicest dorms in the country, their so much fun. Its like living in a house with 300 brothers and sisters. You're never lonely and people are always in their rooms hanging out, having a good time.

    Academic Rigor

    Muhlenberg is a hard school to get into but a harder school to get good grades in. I've learned more in chemistry this year then most people learn in all 4 years of college but it just makes me that much smarter and it will definitely help me out in the long run.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Its a great way to meet new students, teachers and staff. Also, leave your door open while you're in your room, you'll be surprized at how many people stop by to say hello. If you're into sports, join a team. You make the most amazing friends and there will never be anywhere on campus where you don't know somebody.

    In three sentences

    Muhlenberg is such an amazing school in every aspect of student life. The accommodations are amazing and they're enhanced by all the students who fill them. You can always find something to smile about while you're on campus.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus seemed very safe.

    In three sentences

    I spent the day at Muhlenberg for an open house and everyone was extremely friendly. The professors get to know their students very well. There are so many activities going on so it seems impossible to be bored.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    apply early!

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere is above all other colleges I visited, and I am beyond satisfied with choosing Muhlenberg as my school. It's easy to call this wonderful school home, and the academics are challenging yet fun. I love this school.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great- you can call for the campo to escort you anywhere.

    Greek Life

    Present, but not overwhelming.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty to offer.

    Great for these types of students

    Theater majors, undecided majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a giant polar bear in the new science building that caught me off gaurd one morning.

    Bang for the buck

    Pricey, hence i'm applying for internet scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    Many clubs and groups to join.

    Food and Dining

    Some of the best in the US.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are perfectly liveable.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are serious and so are the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, get good SAT scores

    In three sentences

    There is a warm atmosphere. Great faculty, dedicated students. Great place to explore options within a liberal arts context.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Connect with the Admissions officers. Cindy and Phil are really amazing and nice and knowing them helps a ton when you are applying. Being recognized is also one of the best feelings in the world

    In three sentences

    I really liked how everyone at Muhlenberg seems to like it throughout their entire college career. Whether they work in admissions or are just a regular student, they love it. One person told me that they felt that Muhlenberg was a bubble of happiness.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If you are social you will find things to do. Dorm parties for the underclassmen and a few local bars for the 21+ crowd. Decent selection of clubs, intramural sports, and other activities.

    Food and Dining

    Wide variety of food with some fresh, local options. Good vegetarian selection as well. The campus dining program focuses on sustainability.

    Dorm Life

    Avoid the all-girls freshman dorm! It is tough to be social if you live there. They started building some nice new suites during my senior year. They also offer college-owned off-campus apartments for juniors and seniors. These are a perk if you can get one through the lottery.

    Academic Rigor

    Muhlenberg has a great academic reputation. It is known for its strong liberal arts foundation and its pre-med sciences and theater arts programs. Professors are all caring and extremely smart. You definitely get more personal attention here than at a state school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great if you are looking for a small school with personal attention and an intimate feel. Not a good fit if partying is your priority.

    In three sentences

    Muhlenberg has a small campus and student body, but it provides a caring and intimate environment for students. Students are encouraged to customize their experience by becoming involved in the many clubs and activities offered on campus.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campo is made up of retired Allentown Police Department officers. They keep everyone safe but are reasonable! There is a Blue Light system on campus and students must use their ID cards to swipe into buildings. Campus is safe, students feel comfortable leaving laptops, cell phones, and wallets on tables while they get food in the dining hall or are away from their desk at the library.

    Greek Life

    About 1/3 of all students at Muhlenberg participate in Greek Life. Students aren't permitted to rush until their sophomore year. Greek life has a presence, but isn't exclusionary.

    Clubs and Activities

    Muhlenberg is chock-full of clubs, and you can start a new one with enough interested students.

    Great for these types of students

    Friendly, kind, outgoing students willing to get involved in clubs, activities, and the community and work hard in class but also have fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Victor's Lament is a modern art sculpture that is featured on the main green at the front of campus, and is iconic.

    Bang for the buck

    College is supposed to be some of the best years of your life, and Muhlenberg seeks to provide that. The Muhlenberg Fund takes 17% off of expected tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of things, both inside and outside of the Berg Bubble. You can visit the Lehigh Valley Mall or take one of the buses driven by Shuttle Steve to the Target in the nearby shopping center or the Maingate Nightclub on college nights. There's always people hanging out in the freshman quad, GQ, and Light Lounge and there's lots of activites sponosred by MAC, such as Stuff-a-Plush, trivia nights, and performances from bands and singers.

    Food and Dining

    Muhlenberg redesigned their dining hall within the past year, and has fantastic food with lots of options provided by Sodexo. There's vegetarian, gluten-free, and kosher options. You can also snack at the General's Quarters (GQ) or the LSC cafe at the gym.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman have 3 housing options, surrounding the freshman quad: Walz (the most highly sought after, newest and nicest, typically goes to early decision students), Prosser (the largest dorm, known as Dirty Pross but it's a great bonding experience), and Brown (all girls dorm with the most spacious rooms).

    Academic Rigor

    Muhlenberg was rated the #1 theatre program in the country a few years ago, and is also known for their science and education programs. Class size is kept small, and there are no TAs. Merit Scholarships are available, and there are honor programs such as the Dana Scholars and Muhlenberg Scholars.

    Tips for prospective students

    Schedule a visit! The admissions counselors are more than willing to help and being a tour guide is a highly sought after position - everyone wants to share how great of a place Muhlenberg is.

    In three sentences

    Muhlenberg College is known as the Caring College, and rightly so - the students that attend college here are some of the kindest and genuinely nice people you'll meet. Muhlenberg takes academics seriously, and also focuses on engaging with the surrounding Allentown community.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They're everywhere, all of the time. And they're super nice. I've heard of campus safety being nearly non-existent at other schools so it's awesome that they're so prevalent here.

    Greek Life

    I'll be honest, it's OK. There are always things to do on the weekends and it's a great way to meet people. There just aren't many to choose from and about 20% of people on campus participate so there is no pressure to be in one!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot!! You can find at least one club for almost any hobby you fancy.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is awesome if you like personal relationships and knowing everyone and having everyone know you. One of the perks of a school with less than 2,500 people!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hmm...we have battle of the chefs in the dining hall every years where local colleges come and compete in food challenges with us, so the food is always incredible. Sports are a fun thing that a lot of students participate in, whether the play or watch. And Thursday night, many students go to the nearby club, maingate, or the bar, Roosevelt's to hang out.

    Bang for the buck

    It's quite pricey and small, but there is tons of financial aid available (they help me out a lot) and the food in GQ is a bit overpriced. If you are happy here, the money is totally worth it. If you want a bigger school with more options available, save your parents the money, especially if you don't qualify for aid.

    What to do for fun

    I personally am in a sorority so I always have stuff to do on the weekends with my sisters and I'm also part of the Muhlenberg Activities Council so I help plan events, both on and off campus that are fun to go to!

    Food and Dining

    My friends from other schools who come to visit rave about the food...it's just that good! My only issue (hence the 4) is that there are only 3 places to eat on campus and after 8, the dining hall and Freshens close so you're stuck with GQ.

    Dorm Life

    They're your typical college dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved!! It can be boring if you're stuck on campus and don't know anyone so join clubs or a sport or even a sorority or frat! Having things to do and knowing people is what will make your college experience here memorable.

    In three sentences

    This campus is very small and tight-knit. Everyone knows each other either by face or by name and professors really try to get to know their students individually. If you like the community feel and to be challenged academically, this is the place for you!

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Pretty prominent for being about one-fifth of students.

    Great for these types of students

    Artsy kids do pretty well here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Victors Lament

    What to do for fun

    Farmers Market, a lot of good restaurants in the inner-city (Thai, Ethiopian, Mexican, etc.), pretty scenery, farms outside the city, decent number of events on campus... there is a lot, just have to look.

    Food and Dining

    Muhlenberg drastically improved its food quality from when I was a freshman.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty nice. The Office of Residence Life is moving as fast as they can towards equipping every building with central air and heat control. Overall, it is pretty cushy and can only get better.

    Academic Rigor

    As I said in the tips, be ready to work! College in general requires a different mindset from High School. Don't be intimidated though! You learn how to manage your time well, and professors will be there to help you if you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for theater students to have a large presence on campus! Also, be ready to work; many professors will assign a substantial amount of reading and writing.

    In three sentences

    Muhlenberg is a fantastic place for a budding scholar. Faculty encourage you and connect you with local internships and research and job opportunities. People are very nice here and have a wide range of interests.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is wonderful. They are always around and show up in minutes if anyone is in danger. A small campus so they make the students feel safe.

    Greek Life

    A few greek fraternities on campus. There is no pressure to join them and they are not obnoxious. A very good balance of them between school life and greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of different clubs on campus but only for those kids who are really into theater. The theater runs the school while kicking all the other activities under the bus. The theater program is quite impressive though, very together.

    Great for these types of students

    Theater students and pre-med students is what its best for. Kids who are very individualistic. Creative minds.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is over priced in my opinion. The quality of the teachers is worth it but for the price of facilities and food options its not worth it. They do put all of the money towards education which is most important but still over priced.

    What to do for fun

    Many bands come to Muhlenberg from off campus so seeing the show is excellent. Also seeing the bands, chorus groups and theater plays is fun too.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good food. Only one dining hall so the food could get a little bland but it is pretty high quality for a college campus.

    Dorm Life

    I rated this a 3 because you never know who you are gonna room with and who is gonna be on your hall. It could be higher for you or lower for depending on the people around you. I personally would give mine a 5 because I got lucky with a great roommate and hall mates.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on what classes you take. All the teachers are very highly skilled, thats why it is so expensive. Also I rated it 4 stars because it has a 43% acceptance rate so you should expect the course rigor to be somewhat difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask about scholarship opportunities. Figure out if you like a small school that is more interested in the arts than sports.

    In three sentences

    Small sized, easy to get around school. Good academic support if you ask for it. Friendly student body.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Things get stolen, both I and some friends had objects stolen last year. You are in a city even though it doesn't feel like it and other people use the schools buildings. Heck even the other students are not trustworthy. Keep your stuff with you at all times, just be smart. As for feeling safe, there is little danger from outside, but be careful on weekends. That is when all the closet drunks come out and we do get reports of sexual assault reported. You will find that anywhere, it is just colleges cover it up to maintain reputation. But remember you can always call and ask for an escort if you feel unsafe. I usually called a friend, but the campus safety officers are always willing to help out.

    Greek Life

    Overrated, a fraternity got kicked off campus last year for hazing. And most of them still do haze. If you aren't in one they tend to be annoying, especially since they recruit freshmen without pledging them, even though they are not supposed to.

    Clubs and Activities

    Since they are student run you aren't getting the best organized groups out there. But some of them are really good and I recommend you try them out.

    Great for these types of students

    It isn't really the type that matters. You will like the school as long as you aren't afraid of trying new things.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sign up for the trivia night at the library. Even if you don't win it is fun.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs and even the non fun clubs, by which I mean Anime or Magic the Gathering Club, have fun events. And there are always pick-up games going on in the Green during the warm months.

    Food and Dining

    My parents love to point out how spoiled I am food-wise, compared to their colleges. But you will get bored of your options eventually, especially if you only eat the pizza. Take advantage of the other stations, the lines never are as long as they look. And try out the Knoshery, but avoid there rice (they make it to dry). For meal plans try to go for one with more dining dollars. You will not use the dining hall as much as you think and will end up with excess swipes.

    Dorm Life

    No matter what anyone says all the freshmen dorms have problems with alcohol and drugs. The RA's tend to turn a blind eye to it, and are rather wimpy about helping with social problems. The roommate pairing for freshman is rather bad as well, so be careful. But I did have a good experience in my dorm, my RA's (one was moved up to head RA part way through the year :( we missed her) were always willing to talk, even late at night. I also made good friends with the girls in the hall.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the professor mostly, but don't be afraid to go for the ones that make you work. You will learn more in those classes and the professors will make exceptions for you, helping to get you into closed classes or ones you don't meet the requirements for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to talk to strangers, you will meet awesome people there and all the staff (whether your professor or the people in the Woods Dining Commons) are nice and willing to help out. Also join clubs and go to seminars. It may seem like a waste to spend an hour of your day listening to someone lecture, but your professors will notice and approve and there is really tasty food at all of them.

    In three sentences

    It is a very small campus with everything you could want in easy walking distance. Be warned that the culture is not quite what they brag about, harassment is alive and well, there are groups on campus that are working to fix that. There are a lot of opportunities for making friends, in classes (most of which are small) and in clubs.

  • 12/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    It is there if you want it but not overwhelming or a pressure to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Theatre, Dance, Biology, Chemistry, Pre-med, Business, friendly

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The fishbowl is the glassed in section of the Trexler Pavilion and it is beautiful and great to study in!

    What to do for fun

    There are tons to audition for and get involved with. I love being in the Muhlenberg Theatre Association and Muhlenberg Dance Association. If you aren't in the arts, there is still plenty to do! We have organizations for just about everything!

    Academic Rigor

    It is perfect for those who want a strong performing arts program without the conservatory academics. You have a strong education in mainstream academics as well as in the arts.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply! I absolutely love it. If you are thinking theatre or dance or music, DEFINITELY audition. Generally: just talk to students. Everyone is very helpful and loves to talk to prospectives. It feels like home here and it is easy to get involved and make friends.

    In three sentences

    It is academically rigorous and perfect for Theatre and Biology majors. It has a good variety of majors but definitely specializes in the aforementioned. Competition in the theatre and everyone is very driven in their lives.