Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Multnomah University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/10/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    As they say, If it's Bible you want, you want Multnomah.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get signed up fast! Classes fill up.

    Bang for the buck

    20k a year? That's ridiculously cheap! And the college gives you many financial gifts it receives just to get you such a good deal! How can you beat it?

    Am enjoying being here

    High school felt like I learned to do tests. Everything here feels purposeful. I do tests to verify that I've learned. Learning is the point!

    Am learning a lot

    Good gracious! I'm learning so much! Who knew there was so much meaning in what seemed before to be orderless Sunday School stories!

  • 09/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Multnomah is great for those with a servants heart ready to serve the Lord.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pray about it that God would provide, because Multnomah is an awesome place!

    Bang for the buck

    It is kind of expensive to go here, but you cannot put a price on the knowledge God pours out onto the Professors to teach us!

    Am enjoying being here

    The Community here is so loving! I am a commuter and I literally feel like I am living here! God has been giving everyone a heart to love and accept one another for who we are!

    Academic Rigor

    Going to Multnomah gave me a whole new perspective on who Jesus really is!! I love all my classes! The homework is normal but the knowledge they give you is outstanding!!

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I love the campus. In fact for the area that it is in, we are pretty safe. The group of individuals who run the safety checks do a wonderful job keeping things out that need to be out. I've never personally had anything disastrous or bad happen to me on the campus or even in the neighborhood, only a few odd people.

    Greek Life

    well there aren't any sororities or anything but as far as Greeks go we have a few. :) We have a couple small houses near campus that are all filled with unique individuals.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs: Mafia= everything from playing mafia to eating foods from other countries. MK kids to PK kids and even the moocher students. Activities. All sorts exists and then more are created. Ideas are always excitedly welcome as long as one has a teacher supporting it or another who is in charge.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard workers, fun energetic, organized, planners, those who stay on top of their work.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ah, unusual traditions. Weddings or rather proposals. We used to take the man who proposed and tie him to a chair and take the woman dress her up in a wedding gown of TP and parade her through the dorms and make them both tell their stories after she rescued the man.

    Bang for the buck

    Unfortunately private schools are more expensive. But for private schools this definitely is a helpful object 20 thou for the school year. Financial aid is also appreciative towards those with little income.

    What to do for fun

    Oh people find the best things to do for fun. We've had recreational time: some people play soccer, ultimate Frisbee, volleyball, basket ball and other fun sports. We have a skate church right next to us where many students go to blade and skate. If this isn't the style, well the community goes camping once a semester and hosts scavenger hunts too. Movies, tea, music events are also hosted. Not to mention the outgoing staff that love their students. Also there are an arrange of mountains where one could go hiking or even ski. Public transportation is definitely helpful if one wants to go down town or to a mall. Its cheap and helpful for those without cars.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a lot of different choices and opportunities. It does its best to be helpful for individuals needs based on allergies and even for those students who work there. I love the staff and enjoy their company when getting food/ serving it.

    Dorm Life

    It's great when you just transferred/graduated and are under the age of 22. If older than it gets a little rough.

    Academic Rigor

    Its hard, that is why only 33% of the people who enter here leave with a degree from here. If you stick with it, you'll definitely be proud of yourself when you are done. Some classes are easier than others. But if it was easy many people wouldn't learn very much. However, if reading and writing come naturally to you its the place to be for a Christian college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always have fun! Make sure you take time in your life, for your life. This way it ensures that you are able to be free to make decisions about your life, and you are able to relax before any major tests or papers. Fun is a necessity to life.

    In three sentences

    I believe that Multnomah University is a great place to learn about God and develop healthy relationships. It preps one to go into ministry here in America and over seas. The best thing about Multnomah is that is a great place for community.

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They know what they are doing. They come to help you whenever you call. You do not have to worry about them doing their job incorrectly, because they are so professional and helpful.

    Clubs and Activities

    You can pretty much choose whatever club you want to join. I am in a club that is cross-cultural, eating foreign foods and talking about different cultures and experiences. There are plenty of other clubs and activities available.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I definitely would have to share a little about Cinco de Mustache. During the month of October through November, the men on the campus do not share (like No-shave November) and on the 5th day of the month of November there is a grand celebration of transition for the now men transiting from boyhood to manhood. It is so goofy and hilarious, you cannot help but enjoy the lunch special they put on.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely do receive a good education for the money you pay to attend the college. Some may not stay there very long as it is pricey and as they discover who they truly are and what they truly desire in life. Multnomah's professors are so encouraging and worthy your time for sure.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things you can do for fun around Multnomah's campus as well as around the Portland area. I recommend a cruse down Stark Street visiting the different stores and stopping at Bipartisan for tea or coffee. I also love sports that you can be a part of at the college such as soccer, volleyball, ultimate frizbee, and basketball, although I am a runner so I run for fun. ;)

    Food and Dining

    Their food has greatly improved over the last few semesters. The kitchen crew has incorporated a lot more healthy options such as raw vegetables and hummus, fish (once or twice a week), and chicken instead of red meats. The salad and sandwich bar is never a downer, especially as you can make a grilled sandwich at the pannini station.

    Dorm Life

    They provide comfortable living in the dorms. There are kitchens, lounges, and a piano for those who love playing the piano to entertain or to just simply play. It is a fun environment where young men and women can learn how to live near one another and have each other for encouragement and support.

    Academic Rigor

    Multnomah is not easy, as I mentioned in the other section. The credits required are higher than regular schools, but if you are serious about your studies, you will not regret it being more challenging. It is worth the time spent studying because you learn so much about the world around you and about you as an individual.

    Tips for prospective students

    If it's Bible you want, then Multnomah is the right fit for you. You have to realize, however, that the classes provided are not easy, because the professors require you to earn your grade, unlike some colleges. You need to be prepared for being open with people in the community, but you do not have to share your whole life with everyone that asks you how you are doing.

    In three sentences

    I would give Multnomah University a rating of 9/10. If you are looking for a school that offers a double major in biblical studies as well as a major you can use anywhere else, like education, business, psychology, etc. then Multnomah is the place for you. It provides on-campus and free tutoring and counseling while providing on-campus living.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety team is great and always keeps the kids under their wing.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of fun clubs (Disney club), and at least two or three dances I know of in the year.

    Great for these types of students

    Centered on God, looking to be centered on God.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Chapel is one of my favorite buildings, it's a quiet place to come a pray.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a great school and education for the money, good friends will be made as well.

    What to do for fun

    It is in Portland so there are lots of bookstores and fun restaurants to try.

    Food and Dining

    There is a lot of different choices when it comes to buying lunch, whether you eat certain foods or not.

    Dorm Life

    Other students are respectful and the cost is not too high.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes will challenge you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend Mondays at MU and ask lots of questions.

    In three sentences

    A wonderful, beautiful, well-kept campus. The school has knowledgeable, caring teachers who go the extra mile to help and teach students. The other students, whether they be living on campus or commuters, are all very welcoming and help bring joy to class rooms.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everyone I've met who has attended says they feel very safe on campus

    Great for these types of students

    If you want God, you want the Bible, and you enjoy being with people who are the same, there is no better place to be.

    Bang for the buck

    Multnomah is muuuch cheaper than your average non-profit Christian school.

    What to do for fun

    Anything and everything to do in a big city--Portland is your backyard!

    Food and Dining

    Not bad.

    Dorm Life

    Enormous dorm rooms with couches, awesome people to hang out with, and regular nerf-gun fights--what more could you want?

    Academic Rigor

    You get the Bible itself. Period. Everyone at Multnomah is a Bible major. When it comes to the professors, Multnomah has some of the greatest minds in their fields. The small class size gives students the chance to get more out of class time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Email the admittance staff. They will personally answer all of your questions--and they get back to you fast! I even got a handwritten postcard from one of staff once. They really care about you and it's evident from the get-go.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe on campus even though we are on a pretty sketchy street.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Involvement Committee SWOT MK Club (Missionary Kids, Military Kids, Moocher Kids, ECT....) Volunteer Opportunities (Day of Outreach, Spring Thaw, various conferences and events...)

    Great for these types of students

    Christian, looking for a small school with a family feel. Students going into Ministry.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cinco De Mustache for Guys and Miss Multnomah for the Women. Cinco is a month where the guys don't shave, then when they do, they do character style, dress up, have a milk taost and come serenade us ladies. Miss Multnomah is a 'pagent' where we ladies can be silly and the next day we have a lunch together

    Bang for the buck

    I'd say it's pretty good. Yeah it is expensive, but we do have Great teachers who really know their stuff.

    What to do for fun

    You can hang out on campus or go explore Downtown. We are close to Vancouver, so you can also explore over there.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is great, watch out for the Freshman 15, there is a good selection of food. We have Pizza and Burgers, Chicken, Ham, Steak, stuff like that with rice or noodles and veggies, two kinds of soup each day, a salad bar, a deli bar, a good selection of desserts and fresh fruit.

    Dorm Life

    The entire Res Hall is pretty close-knit. We live life side-by-side and we can lean on each other for anything. We are sisters and brothers.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging and they make you THINK. The assignments run the gambit from no sweat to I'm gonna die, ripping your hair out, it depends on the class and the Prof.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to work, you will want a part-time job and make sure you are ready to grow in your faith. This is a small community, so you will get a family, no cliques. You have a Chapel Requirment and a Student Ministries Requirement, come prepared to get involved in a local church.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful and we are all a big family. We learn together and support each other. We have world-class professors, who have first hand experience in their fields.

  • 07/03/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    In the heart of Portland, you have many things to do for fun, like boat rides, walks, amusement parks, libraries, parks, endless things!

    Tips for prospective students

    Start the application process earlier rather than later, it will help you get more scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Multnomah is a great school. For people wanting to double major in Bible and an alternative career-based major, it's perfect. However, if you want to have more focus in an alternative field, it may not be the absolute best choice as it still is a Bible College and that's its focus.

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hr patrol.

    Clubs and Activities

    Offers some.

    Great for these types of students

    Who are seeking the bible and a small school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Coffe shop is fun.

    Bang for the buck

    Spendy but good.

    What to do for fun

    Lots to do around Portland.

    Food and Dining

    Amazing options. Very good food.

    Dorm Life

    Live in a house on campus. Dorms are offered for single students. Other housing offered for families.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard. This is an extremely academically challenging school.

    In three sentences

    Great college. I have felt like this school has supported my academic needs and is setting me up for a successful future. Has outstanding proofessors.