Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Murray State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/10/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Area students that live at home with parents

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet Kirk Rushing, financial aid advisor, he is wonderful to help!

    Bang for the buck

    Wonderful opportunity

    Am enjoying being here

    I've learned alot just in one semester

    Am learning a lot

    Love it there!

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus safety is very good. the police live in the dorms so if any time you have a problem and need one of them you can just go down and see them .

    Greek Life

    there is only one greek club offered on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are multiple clubs that a student can be involved in. and most of the clubs do activities so the students will have something to do.

    Great for these types of students

    murray state college, has really good programs for students interested in veterinary technology, nursing, and gunsmithing. other than that the college is just basically to get your general classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    no response

    Bang for the buck

    the school is a little expensive for what it is and offers.

    What to do for fun

    there is absolutely nothing to do for fun at murray state college. nor is there anything fun to do in the tiny town of tishomingo.

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining experiences at murray state college are horrible. the food you get served here is unhealthy and also tastes horrible. and also the experiences in the dining room are terrible.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is rather boring, there are never any student activities for us to do. i do admit the dorms are very nice, but a bit pricey.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are challenging, however the small class sizes and one on one time that you get with the professor is extremely helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would definitely recommend murray state college to any one, however i would also recommend that you stay off campus.

    In three sentences

    murray state college is over all a good transition school for students who come from a small high school like i did. the small class sizes and one on one time you get with the professors is been extremely helpful.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is alwaysfriendly and willing to help

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students!

    Bang for the buck

    I have learned so much and I've only been there for two semesters! The proffesors really help you understand and when they can't tutors are always available

    In three sentences

    I love Murray State! Wonderful people and great atmosphere.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will always see the campus cops around and they live in the dorms if you have any problems.

    Greek Life

    There is only one Greek Fraternity but it's for people who have taken a theater class for at least one semester.

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't a lot of clubs where you can mess around but they are more suited to go along with your major.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who study agriculture and students that are not quite sure what majors they want. I suggest that until you firmly decide, stay in general studies and get a taste of different majors while attending.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Murray hosts an annual donkey basketball games. It pits the Alumni and the undergraduates of the vet programs against each other while riding donkeys.

    Bang for the buck

    Sometimes, you might get an unmotivated teacher but it does not happen very often. The tuition is not all that bad but be sure to check on your balances every once in a while.

    What to do for fun

    It's a good idea to get a good group of friends who like to go out, because you will get bored in this isolated township. The nearby towns of Ardmore and Durant have movie theaters, bowling, and skating if you want to go out. Ada, which is further away, and Madill have laser tag arcades. If you like to drink, Tishomingo only has one bar and it's more of a place for locals. However if you want to stay within the town and just distract yourself for the night, check out the schedule of the basketball and baseball teams. Murray just started getting more attention for the games, so locals will come out and liven things up a bit. Be sure to look at the monthly schedule that is posted on the board because every once in a while there will be a game night, party, or dance. If you like to exercise, the Chickasaw Gym is nearby. It has several weight-lifting machines, a few punching bags, a pool, and treadmills. There are exercise classes offered there, so take a few for fun. If you like going outdoors and nature watching, there is a wildlife refuge down the road from the college.

    Food and Dining

    Remember what it was like going to the high school cafeteria? It's kind of like that but you can drink something besides milk. There is a soft drink fountain, a salad bar, a soft serve ice cream machine, and a desert bar. The meals themselves are limited and there's not a lot of variety like there is in a large university. The Grind is right next to the cafeteria, and it serves stereotypical college food: pizza slices, hot dogs, fries, and burgers. Tishomingo does not have fine dining restaurants and not much variety. There are two Mexican food diners, Subway, Sonic, Dairy Queen, and Cousins. Cousins is like fast food but cooked slower. If you are attending Murray during the fall and spring semesters, do not go to Cousins from 11:20 A.M.-12:20 P.M. because the local high school is right across the street from it and has open campus during lunch. It will be packed not only with adult regulars but teenagers. The local grocery store, Sooner Foods, is a great place to shop for whatever you'd like to eat. It runs from 7 A.M. to 9 P.M. The fruit and vegetables are fresher than the nearby Walmarts of Durant, Madill, and Ardmore. Sometimes they will not have what you want, but most of the time you will find it. During the spring and summer, starting in April, the local snow cone stands start popping up. They have tasty treats and diabetic options.

    Dorm Life

    There are two dorm houses: Aggie Suites and McKee Hall. Aggie Suites are where you want to be. It's basically an apartment with two to three bedrooms that are all shared with a bathroom and a living room. You will actually have some sense of personal space if you need it. McKee Hall, however, will take some getting used to. It's the basic two bed dorm room and there are two bathrooms per floor. One on each wing. The bathrooms are large, and have three toilet stalls and shower stalls. If you hate going up stairs, request not to be in McKee Hall because there are no elevators. Then again, it's a three floor dorm house.

    Academic Rigor

    There is an array of good professors and bad. The classes with coaches are easy and laid back but the ones with professors passionate about their course are interesting and challenging. The online classes are good but it's almost too easy to fall behind in them. Just stay motivated and make a schedule for yourself, otherwise you'll just fail easy courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for work study as fast as you can. The jobs get snagged up pretty quickly and the part-time jobs in Tishomingo are sparse. Try to raise up your ACT score so you will pay less fees, the admissions will be impressed with someone of an ACT score of 26+.

    In three sentences

    Murray is in the sleepy town of Tishomingo, OK. Be warned, this town is isolated, so you will want to save up some money to go to the bigger towns if you want to have some fun. The classes can be challenging if you're not used to struggling in school.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get started

    In three sentences

    Easy to find your way around. Responsible pricing. Nice people

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Unsure.

    Greek Life

    Unsure.

    Clubs and Activities

    Unsure.

    Great for these types of students

    Unsure.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unsure.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm not really sure what this means.

    What to do for fun

    Study, computers, music.

    Food and Dining

    Have not yet attended

    Dorm Life

    Off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring everything you need the first time.

    In three sentences

    This is my first time attending. I have not started school yet, but the enrollment process was very smooth and simple.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Murray Lake is fairly close and there's always a good movie to see at the theatre.

    Food and Dining

    I attended my classes at the higher education center.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I thought the academics of Murray were challenging enough, but not completely time consuming. It was perfect for my first year of college, to get into the swing of things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the idea of going to college scare you. The staff at Murray make it super easy to get everything in order to attend and get ready for the year, but make sure to ask lots of questions. If you don't understand something the advisers are always willing to help.

    In three sentences

    Murray State has been a great place for me to start my college experience. After graduating high school I wasn't sure what I wanted to do as a career, so I went to Murray to take my basics. I have taken a variety of classes to figure out the best career path and I have enjoyed all of them.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    agriculture, sports

    What to do for fun

    hang out with friends

    Food and Dining

    good

    Tips for prospective students

    study

    In three sentences

    Small school, nice people

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    It is wonderful. Room mates are great to be around.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start early with your admission. Talk to the business office they will help you with whatever you need. The dorms are reallyh spacious.

    In three sentences

    Everyone are super friendly. I couldn't ask for a more helpful staff. The teachers are amazing.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always things to do around campus such as: game days, movie nights, dances, and etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food is usually pretty good. They usually have a few options and there is always a salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    I've never lived in the dorms, so I can't exactly answer.

    Academic Rigor

    Murray State is like a repeat of high school. It is very easy to maintain a high GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to get the most out of Murray State College get involved with student activities. Also, it isn't hard to get enough scholarships that you won't have to pay anything as long as you apply.

    In three sentences

    Murray State College is great if you are just looking to get your basics and don't have much money. Scholarships are easy to get, and most of the instructors are very nice and will help you with your classes. It's a very small school, so you will know almost everyone on campus.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Being out in the middle of no where there really isn't concern for your safety and we campus police that live on campus just in case.

    Greek Life

    We don't have any fraternities or sororities here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs and activities here that go all the time. Sports here are pretty big.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a good place for athletes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't really any I can think of except the baseball team at basketball games stand behind the opposing team and heckle them all game long. It's pretty funny and fun at the same time.

    Bang for the buck

    It's really not too expensive to go here. Especially if you live in state.

    What to do for fun

    Considering the school is pretty much in the middle of nowhere, all there really is to do is fish and go backroading. There are two different bigger towns about thirty minutes away that have more things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food here isn't the best by a long shot but there is usually something at least during breakfast, lunch, or dinner that is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    For me, being a baseball player, the dorm life is awesome. I get my own room and I get to hang out with all my buddies anytime I want.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't tough here as long as you show up, apply yourself, and do the work that is necessary.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should be prepared to get bored at times because there isn't much to do here but the people here are friendly so it shouldn't be hard to make friends.

    In three sentences

    It is a college that is full of nice people. Everyone here is very friendly and helpful. Instantly I felt comfortable and even though Tishomingo, the town the college is in, is pretty small, it grows on you and I can't get enough of it.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Around Southern Oklahoma, Murray State College is one of the cheapest colleges you will find. You can get the same degrees at MSC as you can at OU, but all for a lower price!

    What to do for fun

    There are many social organizations you can join. From sports, to academic clubs, there are several ways to use the talents you have.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers and staff at MSC are nothing but helpful. They are friendly and will do whatever they can to get you through their classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your grades up. Your grades are the most important thing in college.

    In three sentences

    Murray State College is a small, public college with many opportunities. It has a very high admit rate and has a great staff. It is a great place to make friends, have fun, and learn all at once.

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of security

    Greek Life

    Not involved

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports and clubs

    What to do for fun

    Lots of sports Activities

    Academic Rigor

    Good

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for on line classess.

    In three sentences

    Great at price for high school students. Very good location. They offer great general education.

  • 04/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I like to watch Netflix or I go to the game room on campus and play pool with my roommates.

    Food and Dining

    The dining room is always so clean and the food there is good all of the staff that work in the café are so nice and they greet you with a smile.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Murray is interesting in a sense you share a apartment like dorm room with three other girls and the rooms them self's are in great shape themselves. Thursday nights they have a student activity. over all it is a great dorm life experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic experience is great the professors are great at their jobs and they explain things so that everyone in the class room understands before moving on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always connect your proffers if you need help or you are going to miss class they are really good at working with you.

    In three sentences

    Murray is a small and quite college that has a lot of nice members. There is small classes so that you can have a lot of one on one with the teachers. As well as the great dorm rooms