Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Muskegon Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/26/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students wishing to stay out of debt before their junior year or just ease into the college experience exercise good judgment in choosing MCC. The college is a good option for the young and old alike and offers the general education courses that all students need. If you are comfortable with a small school or can wait to transfer to a bigger one, MCC is a good fit for you. Approximately 5,000 students are enrolled this coming semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is advisable to visit ratemyprofessors.com to get a general idea of the way an instructor runs his or her class. Pay special attention to the syllabus as this is an invaluable tool most students ignore. It will tell you what to expect, especially when it comes to grading. Know where you stand in a class. Some professors neglect to post grades and some make mistakes. They're only human! So always ask questions and take full advantage of office hours.

    Bang for the buck

    'Bang for the buck' is right! For a Muskegon County resident like myself, classes cost only $69 per credit hour. College is always a wise investment, but community college is an amazing value. You can save a substantial amount of money staying at home and living off campus. MCC also lessens the cost of college by providing free services such as tutoring and printing.

    Am enjoying being here

    MCC has a uniquely qualified and friendly staff. I cannot say enough about my flexible, attentive, enthusiastic professors. Along with academics, students can enjoy extracurricular activities including sports, theater, and a multitude of clubs. Although there is no campus housing, you can still get to know plenty of people and make good friends.

    Am learning a lot

    Muskegon Community College’s professors sincerely want their students to learn as much as possible and they go out of their way to make this happen. One of my instructors was excellent and helped me at my own pace. Another was tougher and rather vague. He had high expectations but I know that his teaching style made his students better learners. There are many classes available for freshman and sophomore students at MCC. There are even programs for those pursuing a bachelor’s degree.

  • 03/13/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security is great at mcc.

    Clubs and Activities

    i was involved in the vegetarian club, but it was not very successful.

    Bang for the buck

    it was not worth my time.

    What to do for fun

    there are a few restaurants and bars near the college.

    Food and Dining

    they are limited on vegetarian foods.

    In three sentences

    muskegon community college did not challenge me in any way. the classes were very easy to pass. the parking was horrible as well.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional

    Food and Dining

    I haven't ate there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your financial aide rolling ASAP. Talk to your counselor.

    In three sentences

    The Administration office is a bit of a mess. However, the classes are wonderful. I cannot express enough how engaging and thorough my teachers have been.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A few cars have gotten broken into since I have attended their, but that can happen any where.

    Clubs and Activities

    A fair amount of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students wanting a good education at a reasonable cost!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is not much that is unusual about MCC. It is a regular community college.

    Bang for the buck

    Great cost!!!

    What to do for fun

    Although Muskegon is a small city there is still a lot to do. Going to the beach and bowling are my two favorite things! Also, in the summer their is Michigan Adventures.

    Food and Dining

    The food at MCC is very limited, but still good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Muskegon Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    Great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work! If you work hard, when it is time to transfer, you can get great scholarships as a transfer student!

    In three sentences

    Muskegon Community College is a great school. It has given me an opportunity to get a great education for a reasonable cost. I think all students that have the ability to attend MCC should do their first two years here!

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards are always on duty and roam around the campus frequently.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life doesn't really exist at MCC since there aren't any dorms. However, there is an honors fraternity, Phi Theta Kappa, that is open to anyone with a 3.5 GPA or higher.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of opportunities to join clubs and participate in activities. Many of them are open to join at any point in the semester and provide a great way to make friends

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students. MCC has honors programs, standard classes, special help courses, and has a great tutoring center.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus puts on Wild and Wacky Wednesdays in the Student Union where different activities are available; popular activities include karaoke, henna tattoos, and hypnotists.

    Bang for the buck

    Most of the classes are transferable and are much more affordable than a big university. The campus allows students to apply for campus jobs along with having opportunities for off-campus jobs.

    What to do for fun

    There is a mall and a cinema about ten minutes from the campus, and miniature golfing, bowling, and Michigan's Adventure amusement park locally too.

    Food and Dining

    There are a variety of restaurants in town along with plenty of sit down places in the surrounding areas.

    Dorm Life

    Since it is a community college, there aren't any dorms. There are, however, options of staying in local apartments as well as staying at home

    Academic Rigor

    There are teachers that are strict about assignments and attendance, however, with such small class sizes it is easy to form relationships with teachers which makes them more lenient.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to register for classes as early as possible, and it is cheaper to buy books on half.com than it is to use the bookstore. If you can, try to buy and sell your books through half.com, you will get your books cheaper and sell them back for more.

    In three sentences

    Muskegon CC is an affordable way to get a handle on the college experience. It allows students to live at home or at local apartments. It is located in a part of the city that provides employment as well as internship opportunities.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security vans running around campus constantly, there should be no worries

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are shy;come out of there shell. Its great for all kinds.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not any that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Prices in Muskegon aren't terrible at all. Just make the right choices and be responcible with your money.

    What to do for fun

    There is a beach 15 minutes away. The gym is open 24/7 and there are strip malls up and down the street.

    Food and Dining

    The food there is mainly healthy. There are places where you can order burgers and other similaur foods but healthy choices are very easy to find.

    Dorm Life

    I dont live in a dorm but i do live around campus and there is plenty to do! You'll never get bored with many group and activties one can be involved in.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are small; they resemble high school classes. If you need one on one help, its availible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn the ropes before attending, getting lost is very easy no matter how good you think you are with maps.

    In three sentences

    I love the atmosphere there. They know the lost puppy dog look and do there very best to get you back on track. Muskegon Community College is like on big family.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Muskegon CC provides an enormous amount of clubs, and activities for all students.

    Food and Dining

    The school does have a few decent places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Community College

    Tips for prospective students

    Helpful teachers, great atmosphere. Good school to transfer from.

    In three sentences

    Muskegon Community College is a great school to attend. The professors are really committed to helping their students.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is very, very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs and activities for everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is kind of confusing at first, but once you get to know your surroundings, it's really simple. Pretty much everything is in one building.

    Bang for the buck

    It's very inexpensive to be a student here. There are colleges that have made deals with MCC as well to make sure that all of your credits transfer.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different things to do around here because it's West Michigan - one of the most visited places for vacations! Lake Michigan is just five minutes away, and there's a lot of tourist attractions around.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is really good, but it's kind of expensive.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus because I'm only 30 minutes from the school, but I know that people like living close to school.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers really care about your education, so they don't make everything easy! To succeed, you need to complete homework and participate in class discussions, but they really make you feel at home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you schedule your classes in a way that makes your week flow smoothly. Having all of your classes done by 2:00pm makes it easy to get an afternoon/evening job, and vice versa. If you decide to put big gaps in between each class, make sure that you'll have something productive to do during that time - whether it's homework or a meal, otherwise your time is wasted.

    In three sentences

    Muskegon Community College is a great place for all to attend. Classes are the perfect size, with students of all ages. The teachers and faculty really care about your future here.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    There aren't many dorms at all because it is a community college but there are many housing buildings and apartments near by.

    Tips for prospective students

    Communication between the offices is not so great so if you plan to grab information from someone, do not hesitate to ask questions!

    In three sentences

    Muskegon Community College is a great place to further your education. The instructors are great and it is a nice place to stay close to home and save money. Not only that, but it is smaller than a university so getting lost does not happen much after your first semester.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to get their gen eds out of the way for a great price.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs as well as sports games to attend.

    Food and Dining

    Muskegon Community College is very close to a great selection of both fast food and city down restaurants less then five minutes away.

    Dorm Life

    The closes to dorm life would be Chesapeake apartments. These are expensive though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class and do the homework! Your professors will be more then willing to help if you do both of these things.

    In three sentences

    The staff knew what they were doing and could help you out easily. It was easy to sign up and drop classes when you needed to. Generally most of the teachers cared about your success.

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    play a sport, movies, shopping, miniature golf.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the quality of a 5 star resturant but what I have had I enjoyed.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms for MCC but there are a lot of places in the area that will rent to students.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are the same as you would get at any other school. It really boils down to you applying yourself and completing your assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tip I have for you is to do the best you can, if you run into a problem be sure to consult your instructor before dropping a class. The instructors are very understanding (most of them) and will do what they can to help.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love Muskegon Community College. I first became a student in 2011 and my experience with both students and staff have been amazing. The teachers are very approachable and willing to work with you, all you have to do is ask.

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security truly is great.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots to do on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students are welcomed here.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club or get involved in different activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the free tutoring and success center. It is a big help.

    In three sentences

    Has great help, with teachers and the success center. Teachers really care about you. Clean environment and easy to navigate.

  • 08/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    There is nothing to be afraid of. The teachers are nice and helpful even though it is basically an on-your-own kind of thing. College is still work, but better than highschool.

    In three sentences

    I love college; I was afraid of it, now I wish I had taken it in highschool. It isn't scary, and its fairly easy. I am happy here.

  • 10/05/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For safety, there is just security guards walk around in the building. Nothing bad happens here. It is a safe place!

    Greek Life

    No geek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs that interest everyone! Clubs for gamers to international students. People who loves sports there are college teams. Men's Soccer and Women's Volleyball are nationally ranked!

    Great for these types of students

    Most students are going to transfer to larger university because credits transfer to most colleges.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is very low. A few thousand for the whole semester. It is a good place to take all your basic classes and then transfer to an university.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs on campus. Students can get involved really easily. Between classes you can grab a bite to easy from down the road.

    Food and Dining

    they have two food courts. I haven't been to either of them but people told me that the food is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    Since it is a community college there are not any dorms for campus. Majority of students are from or near Muskegon. Most students live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic are good. But most people transfer rather then pressuring a degree here.

    Tips for prospective students

    To most students coming from high school, it might feel like high school to them. IT'S NOT. Remember it is college, so study hard and don't forget to have fun.

    In three sentences

    Muskegon Community college has small class sizes, friendly instructors, and a great atmosphere. instructors are nice and are easy to get a hold of them.

  • 11/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is alright, but a bit too expensive. It is easier to just leave campus and buy food that tastes better and is the same price from a resturant.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not harder than high school.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a security counter by the main entrance. Guards are usually quite helpful when needed. I've never felt like I was in danger while at MCC. Lock your car doors (this goes for any college).

    Greek Life

    Nonexistent,because it's a community college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a number of different small clubs that you can join. Also there are intramural sports and open gym times. And don't forget Wacky Wednesday!

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student, literally every kind of student should consider going to community college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wacky Wednesday, every Wednesday in the Student Union there is something going on. Whether it be free henna tattoos or a hypnotist, or acoustic performances, something is always going on Wednesday.

    Bang for the buck

    It's one of the cheapest community colleges in Michigan. With no help from my parents and no financial aid, I paid for it out of pocket. There are transfer guides and agreements for nearly every college in Michigan, and the counselors are fantastic. Enough said.

    What to do for fun

    There are some intramural sports, and clubs, and the occasional performance at the theater, but on campus, there isn't much to do. However, in Muskegon it's never too hard to find something fun to do, and the beach is never too far away!

    Food and Dining

    Quite a few different eating options at MCC, the Bookstore Cafe on the first floor which offers anything from soups to pizza to wraps to salad, the Student Union has a restaurant where you can order hotdogs french fries burgers etc., there are a number of vending machines located around the building as well, the Cyber Cafe and the Student Union both have microwaves for food brought from home, and if none of those options are appealing to you, go one road down to Apple Avenue and there are a TON of different restaurants to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    It's a community college so most younger students still live with their parents, however for those that come from far away, there are a number of different apartment options, including some literally right across from the street.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your course load, and what classes you are taking. MCC has smaller class sizes than university undergrads, and (if you research your instructors ahead of time) instructors that are usually willing to help after class or in their office hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before registering for a class, check out the instructor on ratemyprofessors.com. It will save you from potentially bad instructors. Next to the Student Union which incredibly loud and impossible to study in is Collegiate Hall which is a great place to study. It's usually pretty quiet, food and drink are allowed (unlike the library), it has a good WiFi connection, and the tutoring center is right next to it as well! When scheduling for classes, give yourself a break between classes (like an hour or two). Scheduling that way allowed me to change gears, so I was able to study and/or get ready for my next class. If you need help, just ask! The tutoring center is there (and free!), and most professors are more than willing to help during their office hours.

    In three sentences

    Muskegon CC offers a much cheaper alternative for a college education, even compared to other CC's. Many of the labs are out-of-date, and need to be upgraded. Teachers/professors/instructors aren't (from my experience) very good, but I have had a few good ones.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is awesome. This campus is very safe. There has never been a time where I have felt unsafe. Security guards are present from the time campus is open until it closes, and security cameras are running 24 hours everyday. Pretty nice

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately, we do not have Fraternities or Sororities on campus. I have always wanted to pledge, but since they do not I will just have to wait until I get to my four-year institution.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are great and there are a lot of people involeved in different clubs. We also have sports here.

    Great for these types of students

    Laid back and hard working students. Students who are looking for affordable classes and tution.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Muskegon Community College is built like a ship, which is pretty intresting. Getting lost is not hard at all. But we have maps and people to help you get to where you need to go.

    What to do for fun

    Muskegon Comunity is not a huge campus but, we do offer a number of students clubs and you can even start of of your own. I am part of the MCC's newpaper and the Rugby club. Next semester I am starting a Poetry club and by the end of next semester I plan on putting together a Poetry Slam.

    Food and Dining

    We do not have a cafeteria. We do have a cafe that has pretty good and a grill. They are both afordable

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunatley MCC does not have dorms, but Muskegon has a number of Apartment complexes.

    Academic Rigor

    The only challeges that I know of at MCC is a class that ones may be taking. It may be challenging to some because everyone is diffierent and everyone has different learning abilities. We do have a tutioring center that is very helpful. Along with a writing center,plus professors with office hours where we can have one-on-one time with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Muskegon Community College will help to get you on the right path towards the career of you desire. I say go for it and do not look back.

    In three sentences

    Muskegon Community College is a great school. This college is diverse which makes it interesting and fun. So far the professors are amazing at teaching and they care about their students and this campus. Itis also very chill and home-like

  • 04/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is not amazing but they have healthy choices.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus living but there are apartments down the road from campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not super hard, but a good step between high school and university classes. As long as you apply yourself and study, you can be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a great school to go to if your unsure of your major, or just to get your associates out of the way.

    In three sentences

    The staff is friendly, I have never had a problem with the teachers. They want to see you better your education. You get to meet many different people.

  • 04/30/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Not much of a variety.

    Dorm Life

    Don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are nice.

    In three sentences

    I love this school. I have applied and am waiting for something back. My mother and my father went to this school, and my father graduated and my mother couldn't finish. I have been to the campus many times, and I love it. That is why I have chose this college to attend,

  • 05/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For those who want smaller debt.

    Bang for the buck

    It is better if you live in county, but if you live outside of Muskegon county then you pay about twice as much as in county residents...

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not, do not go to Baker! Me and a bunch of students here are transfers from Baker College, and we have all had no success with that place

    In three sentences

    It is an overall nice place to be. Although the tuition has risen since I started here, it is still cheaper than a private college or university. It can seem like high school with gen-ed classes, but just ignore the kids that don't care to pass...

  • 05/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good, and the prices aren't too bad either.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for MCC, as far as I know.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging without being too much so.

    In three sentences

    This is a wonderful school with a great community. The teachers are wonderful, and there are plenty of new friends to make. The buses come every 20 minutes, but beware: the MATS bus system isn't very good.

  • 10/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am currently in Phi Theta Kappa Honors Society. We do many events such as our Santa Day coming up in December. We put on outfits and bring in Santa Claus just to give students here a break from stressful test taking. On Wednesdays, there are multiple events in the lounge areas on MCC campus such as performances by music majors and face painting! It is nice to have short activities to do between classes that make school a little less stressful and a little more fun!

    Food and Dining

    I am constantly eating here at MCC. Our Bistro downstairs offers snacks and entrees from cheesy fries to hamburgers and tacos. Upstairs, there are pre-made salads and to-order pizzas and subs for a few dollars; which is good for us penny-pinching students! Also, in the bookstore, there are snacks and drinks for sale along with everyday items such as flashdrives and hand sanitizer. Vending machines surrond campus, containing food options, coffee, and drinks. There are many options for food here at MCC and all are affordable for students. At the beginning of every week, the Bistro sends an email to all MCC students that says the week's specials for upstairs and downstairs, so there is always something new to try!

    Dorm Life

    We do not have dorms here at MCC. Most students commute from home or apartments nearby. The students here vary from first year college students to mothers and fathers wanting to pursue more education. We do not offer a dorm life but we do have organizations and campus events that make it worthwhile. I think it is nice to be able to come to class and go home to eat and at the end of the day go and sleep in your own bed at your own home.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic experiences here at MCC are not what I expected when going to my hometown community college. I did not think there would be this vast amount of organizations and clubs available for part-time and full-time students. I love the amount of classes you can take in one specified field. For students looking to transfer out after a year or two at MCC, the classes you can take to further your education generally or in your specific major are the same criteria you would take at a 4-year college but half the price. It is great that students here can receive the intense amount of knowledge at a community college. I love every class I take and every teacher I have is open to help and encourage you along.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a current student and a working employee, it is essential to maintain a organized schedule and manage your time. It is very easy to forget about a meeting or small assignment when you have a million things going on. Make sure to take notes on EVERYTHING! Even if you don't think you need to know a point your professor made or believe you already know that information, write it down anyways. It is so crucial to know everything your teacher is lecturing on because you never know what will be on the exam. Have Fun! School can be stressful and sometimes unbearable but it is important to just relax and not stress. Your college experience is supposed to be a time in your life where you explore. Do not get caught up in trying to Ace every quiz, assignment, project etc. College is where you pursue your interests and grow as an individual. Staying focused and organized will help you succeed in the long run.

    In three sentences

    Muskegon Community College is a great start for freshman and sophomore college students looking to begin their college experience one step at a time. This college helps students begin college classes and preparation for a university while pursuing sports, clubs, and organizations. MCC offers quality general and specified classes for a variety of students for a affordable price.

  • 10/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is very good. There is a hot line if you see anything suspicious.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities to join. There are always events happening in the student union.

    Great for these types of students

    ATHLETICS

    What to do for fun

    I play soccer for the MCC Womens Soccer team.

    Food and Dining

    The food is priced nicely and reasonable. The food tastes great and is made right here in out kitchens.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, but have been in them. The dorms are very nice for the price you pay. (Townhouses)

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are very good with the subjects they teach and are very helpful.