Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

NHTI-Concord's Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    not much. it's refreshing.

    Great for these types of students

    dentistry / nursing majors. those who are not sure of a major yet.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i like the community garden.

    Bang for the buck

    this college certainly puts a lot of effort into accommodating every possible need a student has.

    What to do for fun

    there are too many activities and clubs to count. there are fields for sports, a pond for boats and fishing, a track for running, path for walking. there are woods, nature, and there is the city of concord minutes from campus full of it's own offerings.

    Food and Dining

    they make food in the cafeteria, and i'm pretty sure it's our culenary students who do it all. the food itself is always delicious, a good hearty meal with real ingredients.

    Dorm Life

    i've heard complaint about the fellow roommates and their actions, though the dorms themselves are rather fitting. they have the necessities and some entertainment area as well.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers work the students hard and expect a specific level of independence from them. they are not push overs like some, but they are an understanding crowd that knows the workload of students and therefore do no give us what they know we cannot handle for work.

    Tips for prospective students

    this college is great if you aren't sure of your major because you can get a foundational education going without spending too much money in a university that may not even be a good fit for you. you can earn your foundation credits (that are transferable almost anywhere) without spending so much money, or the likely case, borrowing so much money. it is a huge reliever on the dent in your pocket.

    In three sentences

    this college works hard to make it's students feel comfortable and welcome. they do put effort into reducing the amount of stress a student feels, and calms the overwhelming new territory feeling that comes with the new experience. they definitely make their resources well known so the students are aware of help if it is needed.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never worry about your safety. Faculty and security are everywhere. The students are ever really alone while on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are to many clubs and activities to count! They are wonderful and full of great opportunities. And there are also many opportunities to start your own club or activity.

    Great for these types of students

    NHTI is a great place for students who want to get their degree quickly and efficiently, and be rewarded in their future because of their school choice. The general success rate for NHTI is incredibly high.

    Bang for the buck

    So affordable!

    What to do for fun

    There are TONS of on campus activities. The host concerts, plays, have movie nights, and sell tickets at half price for so much more.

    Food and Dining

    The is the cafeteria, and a Bistro. Both are fabulous! Such a great surprise to have good school food.

    Dorm Life

    I do not personally live in the dorms. But I have heard that they are clean and well kept. Security keeps a watchful eye on the dorm students at all times. It's safe.

    Academic Rigor

    Can be tough, but only if you DO NOT put enough effort into it. If you put in the time and energy needed you will not receive good results. The academics are slightly rigorous, and the professors do not play games. But what better way to prepare for life?

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask questions, the staff are ALWAYS willing to answer any that you have. There are so many academic opportunities.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love this school. The faculty is friendly and helpful. The campus is easy to navigate.

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very good... There are security patrols, as well as Campus Safety help units around the campus parking lots.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs including a Criminal Justice Club, and a Christian Club, among others... Christian club is small, but the material is good...

    Great for these types of students

    The learning experience is good for students who have been out of school for awhile, as well as those who are just coming out. Students should be willing to work hard and do their best.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is affordable compared to larger colleges, and the learning experience and learning quality is really good.

    What to do for fun

    You can walk by the river and enjoy the scenery on campus. The Student Center offers ping-pong, TV, a pool table, and a piano.

    Food and Dining

    On campus there is a Bistro that offers a few options, including a Subway.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, so I cannot comment...

    Academic Rigor

    The learning can be tough, but it is thorough and the professors are readily available to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best, work hard, and enjoy the learning experience! Get to know your professors and advisor as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    The campus is clean and inviting. The faculty are very friendly and helpful. The learning experience is great!

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is top notch. They are available 24 hours a day for any needs.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life there. The only Greek institution is Phi Theta Kappa, which is a international honor society for two year colleges.

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 33 different clubs on campus so there is something for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of tuition gives you the most bang for the buck in NH

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of things to do for fun from dorm nights, movie nights in the student center along with dances and BBQ's that are put on by the Student senate at no cost for the students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. At the Capital Commons it is set up as a buffet style cafeteria with a lot of healthy choices. The Bistro in Sweeney Hall as great choices including a Subway in the bistro.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun and full of activities and the campus is close to a lot of off campus events.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are rather easy. The hardest classes at the college is the Anatomy and Physiology class. But you come out well learned in the areas you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    One great tip for prospective students is to have all your information ready for the advisers. This will make class registration time go by painlessly and will become a joy to see your adviser.

    In three sentences

    NHTI is a fantastic community college with a outstanding Nursing program. The professors are very easy to work with and are supportive. The clubs on campus make campus life for both residents and commuters a great time.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is always patroling. There are areas all over campus that students can alert campus safety if they are in need.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs, for personalities of all kinds. There seems to be a club for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking for the college experience, but not the costly tuition that comes along with it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You can rent a bike on campus!

    Bang for the buck

    All of the extra services they offer on campus. For example, in the library you can get extra help from tutors, computers are available for use, insurance is provided, as well as dental now.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs that you can join. There is also a gym. Theres many places outdoors around campus that you can relax, hang out with friends, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Food is available for purchase in two different buildings right on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are located right on campus and the school provides funding for students who are in need of housing while attending programs offered at the school. Very convenient.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors I have had experience with are very knowledgable.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for the college experience for a more reasonable cost and smaller campus. NHTI is the way to go.

    In three sentences

    It is a very beautiful campus that is vry easy to commute to. It has everything that you need right on campus. The education is great ad tuition is very reasonable.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt threatened or intimidated on campus!

    Bang for the buck

    I think the community colleges are a great place to start a college career. The price is (relatively) affordable and if you strive for top grades the scholarships transferring into a 4 year program will allow you to save substantial monies. NHTI is unique in that it also allows you to have the on-campus experience if you desire it.

    What to do for fun

    When on campus I am either in class, clubs, library or hanging with friends at the cafe or elsewhere to relax and socialize.

    Food and Dining

    I have only eaten at the commuter cafe... not the 'real' dining room. I usually bring any food I am going to eat, and thus cannot really judge the dining - I do appreciate the acceptance of bringing bag meals and using their ice and microwave.

    Academic Rigor

    I find the work to be a challenging but not overly hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember why you came, and keep it your top priority to stay focused on your classwork, watching due dates to project your needed efforts. Strive for the highest grade you can achieve so that a lower grade on a project or report will not lower your grade too much, and always attempt to due any extra credit offered to counter any possible problems that could come up.

    In three sentences

    I am a non-traditional student and find the school to be a welcome mix of both, with a welcome mixing and respect for each group of students, recognizing the ability to learn more by sharing ideas and views. Professors are also very adept at recognizing, reaching out to, and capitalizing on the benefits of the mixed classrooms they teach in. I find the school to be a good place to refocus my goals.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    My favorite thing to do is, playing with my two year old son. He is so much fun! We like to be outdoors as much as possible, doing activities like swimming, bike riding, playing ball, and visiting family. When I have the occasional alone time, I enjoy cookouts, festivals, the beach, shopping, kickball, the gym, and cooking. I thoroughly enjoy new experiences.

    Food and Dining

    NHTI has both a cafeteria and a bistro. The bistro has a subway in addition to quick snacks and the cafeteria has an amazing selection. The buffet ranges from salads, pizza, and chicken fingers to eggplant parm and tacos. The food is delicious!

    Dorm Life

    I personally have never lived in the dorms, but I hear that they are wonderful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Any student looking for a college to attend must always be their own advocate. The opportunities are endless if your committed to success. Stay focused and never give up.

    In three sentences

    NHTI is a extremely beneficial in many ways. This school offers free knowledgeable tutors year round to assist in any subject, they have many sports teams, and great support groups. The faculty of NHTI show compassion and they are always willing to help.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It has a beautiful campus. The wellness center is my favorite. Everyone is extremely helpful.

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it's Campus Safety, it is what it is.

    Greek Life

    No greek life anymore.

    Clubs and Activities

    over 30 different clubs and organizations on campus. A really strong Student Senate that has a lot of opportunities available. NHTI is extremely lucky in the way their clubs are allowed to operate.

    Great for these types of students

    It's perfect for students who aren't sure of what they want to do yet. It seems like the majority of students that attend NHTI seem to switch majors at least once while they're here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lots of great running trails and paths around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Such an inexpensive way to achieve an associates degree.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of different sports teams you can join as well as a ton of clubs and organizations on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There's always certain things available, with an additional constantly changing menu.

    Dorm Life

    You need to stay above all the drama and bs that goes on in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It has some of the most rigorous programs in the state.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to always place your academics first and take your education seriously.

    In three sentences

    A small, caring, very personal college. It's an amazing place to do your first two years of college. It really feels like home.

  • 10/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Like i said, they called me for indecent exposure because i was going to the bathroom in the woods (well away from any buildings or public areas) I wasn't even disturbing the the peace. They have nothing better to do than follow a kid that is going to the bathroom in the woods. Rediculousness. If you're looking to get into trouble for doing absolutely nothing, then by all means, go to NHTI- Concords Community College.

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life. Its NHTi for gods sake.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not much to do.

    Great for these types of students

    The types of people that want to save up enough to go to a real college that doesn't treat you like a high school kid should go here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The butt huts are a great place to smoke cigarettes. A lot of people actually pick up smoking because of the butt huts.

    Bang for the buck

    Even if you're not disturbing the peace you could get in trouble for something. These costs add up depending on the situation you are in. I understand its not a place to goof off, but if the student doesn't cause trouble then don't hassle them.

    What to do for fun

    There are a good amount of clubs I will admit, but they need more on campus activities. The only time i see people outside is when they are walking to class. Do recreational games or something.

    Food and Dining

    Food is decent, can't complain about that.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is terrible. They will bust you for anything and everything. I was peeing in the woods and campus security called it indecent exposure even though i was well away from all buildings and public areas.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a moderate school, they challenge you just outside of the comfort zone. Very manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't dorm here. There are way too many rules.

    In three sentences

    This school has great courses. The teachers are very respectful. The food is okay.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    good

    Academic Rigor

    appropriate

    In three sentences

    Great class sizes. Very personable faculty and staff. I will return.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One of my first semesters here, a bunch of students had blocked other cars in. I was blocked in of course and campus safety was great. They found a way to weave people out of the big mess as cars started to leave.

    Clubs and Activities

    NHTI offers so many clubs. I am currently going to be a part of the practical student nurse association. It is such a great opportunity. The individuals from student life and student senate are very nice and helpful!

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for mothers, students with jobs, and students looking for a great education!

    Bang for the buck

    NHTI is very affordable. I would recommend a community college for any high school senior, I wished I had started out here in the beginning. Who really wants all those student loans!

    What to do for fun

    NHTI offers many clubs and orgranizations. NHTI also has dances and other fun things to do around campus. Take full opportunity of what they have to offer.

    Food and Dining

    NHTI has two cafeterias and they both are nice. The one in Little Hall I prefer more because it is buffet style.

    Dorm Life

    I have never dormed at NHTI.

    Academic Rigor

    I am currently a nursing student and have the most work I have ever had in my life and love it! It is such a great learning experience and the professors are awesome.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the many resources NHTI offers, they are very helpful!

    In three sentences

    NHTI is a great school and in a great location in Concord. They offer many resources to help students that are struggling. The nursing program is competitive but awesome!!

  • 04/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is right there and they never leave you to do with issues alone they are there every step of the way.

    Great for these types of students

    If you dont want to be just a number this is the college for you! It is cheaper than universities and alot of schools are connected with NHTI program wise, I am eligible for the 2 plus plan because I go to NHTI and I am a criminal Justice Major!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there isnt a ton of locations on campus, the smoke stack is availible for NHTI art students thats where you will take your classes if your an art major. Unusual traditions hmm Pie your professor and the bbqs

    What to do for fun

    We are always having things around campus NHTI gets involved with so many different programs and charities there is never something not to do, this isn't including all the clubs we have, next week we are having a bbq which has live music games and free stuff! then we are getting involved the next week with hospice and friends of forgotten children orphanage!

    Food and Dining

    The cafe food is amazing, there is always a big variety they have food that's there all the time but they like to shake it up as well :) I love their pasta and deserts. They may have Italian day or Mexican always a variety.

    Dorm Life

    I personally am not a dorm student, but I have seen the rooms perfect size and becuase its a small school you are right in the center of everything and the meal plans are great! My friends love it.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major stay on top of your classes of course and get out and involved as much as you can, not only do the teachers expect that and respect your determination. You look great to other schools as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont be afraid of being just a number. NHTI proffesors truly care about helping you and making your learning experience their number 1 priority. Of course not all professors are the same, I have never had one teacher that wasn't understanding.

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I thought it was interesting that the students in boot camp cannot talk to the other students for the 14 weeks they're in training.

    In three sentences

    Although I wanted to go to UNH, I recently visited NHTI and felt it would be a good second choice. It has the necessities and everyone seems exceptionally friendly. I was a little worried about the partying, but seeing the campus safety and the number of crimes committed put me at ease.

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe, there are blue sirens around if you ever need help from campus security, even is it's to get a jump for your car.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not apart of any clubs and I rarely go to activities because I commute, but there are plenty of things to do if you don't mind kicking around the school.

    Great for these types of students

    NHTI is great for everyone because they offer so much. There is a huge diversity in the people you will meet.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's nothing to unusual, other than GameJams where you will find my fellow nerds and I making games over the course of 48 hours.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a good education and classes don't cost nearly as much as the bigger Universities or Private Schools.

    What to do for fun

    There are sports teams to join and plenty of different people to meet. There are multiple clubs and other things going on around campus to keep you entertained.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria and a bistro. You can get Subway without having to pay Meal Tax which is awesome.

    Dorm Life

    I commute so I don't know how dorm life is, but the cafeteria is good.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are easy, some are really hard. You will know which ones they are once you take them.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Wait a week to get your books, sometimes you don't use them. - Do not wait to finish your work, college classes are heavier loads than high school. - If something interests you, explore it. - Don't be afraid to ask questions, teachers will help and most people probably have your questions too.

    In three sentences

    NHTI is a great school to start at, and has plenty of opportunities for many fields of study. There is always help available if you need it. NHTI offers a lot of campus activities.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety stays on top of the ball and is really nice even when their busting you for smoking pot.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You can only smoke in your car or in the designated areas.

    Bang for the buck

    For a cheap college like this one the education is pretty good.

    What to do for fun

    Each dorm has a game lounge that's pretty entertaining and there is a great student center with a lot to do. Not to mention the space center on campus!

    Food and Dining

    The only down side, the food sucks. And if you have dietary needs as I do its a struggle.

    Dorm Life

    I love living here, its like my second family.

    Academic Rigor

    The teaching staff here is great and will work with you if you're struggling.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should dorm and not commute, its an amazing experience and you get to meet a lot of great people!

    In three sentences

    I love it here at NHTI! They have made me feel welcomed and at home. Also its nice how cheap it is!

  • 03/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is on top of things throughout the day and night to keep everyone safe.there are places on campus to push buttons if you feel unsafe or are in any situations where you need help

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different clubs and fun activities where you don't have to be part of but still have fun enjoying them and free food

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who want to become more educated and become a better person while pursuing their dream job

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and fun activities that go on throughout each semester!

    Food and Dining

    The food is very well prepared.I loved being able to sit and do homework in a space I could spread out my homework

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest tip I could ever give is to stay on top of your work.Dont mess around, you're there to become something bigger,make your lives better and learn as much as you possibly can

    In three sentences

    This college is one if the most promising colleges to students.all of the staff are incredibly helpful and willing to work around your schedule for you to take classes.some programs are extremely competitive but the main thing you get out of that is when you graduate, you will know everything in the field you pursued your career

  • 04/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, they have these blue light poles, if you ever need assistance.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some clubs, but you can also start a club as well.

    Bang for the buck

    You get more than you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs, some sports, and if you cant find anything on campus, you can always check out the city.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, depending on the day.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are a bit small.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors do a great job at helping you if you need extra help. If you don't understand the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your not sure what you want to major in, starting here is great because lots of options.

    In three sentences

    A great place if money is a issue. You knowledge you get here is more than you paid for. Also has a very friendly environment.

  • 04/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the different campus events that happen every week. You never know who you will meet or what you might learn.

    Food and Dining

    I love the Bistro because, you can grab something quick before or after a class and they have yummy options.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, but what I have seen of them they are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Class difficulty depends on the classes you are taking, but the more advanced ones are not easy by any means.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in as many activities and school events as you can!

    In three sentences

    The school as a whole has a nice atmosphere with good class choices. With it being a smaller school, you get more interaction with your professors for a better learning experience. A good school if you are looking for a local, affordable college.