Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Napa Valley College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/04/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Self-motivated, those who don't want to be broke in life, those wanted to later transfer to a 4 year and get that same degree for a whole lot less money.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go early, get your paperwork done. Expect to spend a lot of time in line trying to get classes. Everyone wants to go and they except everyone. Sit in on classes, do whatever you have to the first few semesters until you get priority. Work hard and you'll see results.

    Bang for the buck

    With the current price raises in tuition it hurts the wallet. Still you can't beat the money you save at the JC. Many teachers are aware that students at a JC struggle for money and go that extra mile to make books cheaper and eliminate costs.

    Did enjoy being here

    It's school, let's face it. If you want parties, and drinking go find some expensive university. If you honestly want to learn and get though college so you can get on with you life, go the JC route. Napa has just as good a JC as anyone else.

    Did learn a lot

    It's a junior college, don't expect state of the art, on the cutting edge of technology, but do expect to learn the basics. You've got to start somewhere and fore getting your GE's out of the way there's not better option. Much more culture and age perspectives brought into discussions.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i know for a fact that the school is safe and secure. they have there own police force on campus

    What to do for fun

    i like to go out withmy friends.

    Food and Dining

    i have'nt had anything that has tasted bad or anything like that. everything has been good

    Dorm Life

    i dont live in a dorm i am a 34 year old single mother that lives with her parents at the time.

    Academic Rigor

    i do not know what this means.

    Tips for prospective students

    utilize all the programs that are available to you.

    In three sentences

    it is a good college. i really like all the help i am getting from all the staff members and even students. it is a clean school and i think it is environmentally safe.

  • 12/06/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The Napa Valley College is great for all types of people. It welcomes anyone who wants to further their education and it is easy on the wallet. It is a great stepping stone to a higher level of schooling and education.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely recommend involving yourself in some sort of activity at the college. Whether that be sports or music or theater. I would also have to say that making sure you meet with a school counselor on a regular basis to make sure you have all the classes needed to graduate.

    Bang for the buck

    NVC is a great way to get an education for the right price. Classes are very inexpensive, parking for a semester is very reasonable as well as the prices for books.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoyed being a member of the Storm. Napa Valley College is a clean campus with great facilities. I was a member of the baseball team which made my two years very enjoyable. The sports programs are very involved and strive to make you succeed.

    Am learning a lot

    Napa Valley College is a good stepping stone for those students who wish to go on to the next level and obtain a higher level of education as well as a degree.

  • 12/27/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Put yourself out there. Don't be afraid to get involved and take advantage of every opportunity that is thrown your way.

    Bang for the buck

    The pricing for the Napa Valley college is perfect. Its a great price for the education you received in return. This college is the perfect place to start your education so you move on to another college with confidence.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being at the Napa Valley college because this school offers something for everyone. There are so many clubs, activities, and sports that you can get involved in.

    Am learning a lot

    I am really learning a lot at the Napa Valley college. The teachers here are very enthusiastic about their jobs and really show their love for teaching and knowledge.

  • 08/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Napa Valley College is great for students who haven't decided what they plan on majoring in,for a student that enjoys teachers who are passionate about the subjects they teach, and for students that can not yet afford a four year university and qualify for financial aid.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should immediately speak with a councilor who will help the student determine the classes that are transferable and the courses required for particular degrees. If the student is unsure which course of study to pursue the I recommend taking classes that are transferable and that also fulfill requirements for general education just in case the student decides to pursue a four year university later in the future.

    Bang for the buck

    Financially i believe Napa Valley College provides students with terrific opportunities. They have a financial aid program for low income students in addition to federal work study, which provides paying jobs for students at the college.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is smaller so you often see familiar faces in different classes; however the classes are full to beyond capacity. It is very difficult during freshman year to enroll in your desired courses since freshmen have a lower priority. But teachers frequently add people to the class who aren't enrolled, but this causes the teachers to spread their attention among a larger group of students which takes away from the students originally enrolled in the course.

    Am learning a lot

    Napa Valley College is an excellent place to further your education after high school because the teachers are truly passionate about the subjects they teach which leads to a better education for the students. However it is a community college so the quality of your education is not comparable to the education you would receive attending a four year university, but Napa Valley College provides students with a solid general education foundation for transferring into a university.

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    there are a few taco trucks that come to campus but inside the library theres a little coffee shop that has pre made sandwiches

    Tips for prospective students

    log on to their web advisor there is a neat feature that plans out what classes you need to take and when to take them

    In three sentences

    great school, teachers are very helpful and want to see you do well unlike other community colleges i've attended.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent, lock your cars just in case!

    Greek Life

    awesome life

    Clubs and Activities

    sacnas chapter mesa club and program shpe club sss program black students union students breaking barriers asian student union queer student alliance anthropology club

    Great for these types of students

    small community, safe environment, great weather no snow. small size classes. great friendly professors in many areas.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we support our local community in many ways by bringing them to our campus to many events semester long. we have cultural events, leadership and educational conferences for high school students and many more.

    Bang for the buck

    i'm glad i started at nvc, the community college has given me a chance to save up for when i transfer to a 4 year. nvc has a police academy and nursing programs along with many other programs that help students go straight to the work field.

    What to do for fun

    big grassy area to play frisbee, soccer, or tan. tennis courts, soccer field, track, hiking near by and swimming. many clubs have open mics, dances and events semester long.

    Food and Dining

    food trucks with coming soon new cafeteria, also great fast food places only 3min away.

    Dorm Life

    there are low income housing near school. nvc posts dorm places for students.

    Academic Rigor

    free environment, napa is a very safe city, lived here all my life. nvc great place to hangout and study with a lot of freedom.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply now, take summer classes if you can. be active on campus within clubs or student government.

    In three sentences

    small college with great professors willing to help you learn and become active in student activities and clubs. nvc has a sacnas chapter, mesa club and shpe club for those interested in science careers. brand new library with lots of space, many tutoring opportunities and learning services. we have great programs like sss for low income students and a great performing arts center! i love nvc!

  • 02/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm life

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is by far the nicest campus I've ever been to. The police officers are very kind and help you with anything you need.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately, there is no Greek life at Napa Valley College.

    Clubs and Activities

    The club life is great! Many students go to several university tours with clubs and there are numerous mic nights and school activities to attend.

    Great for these types of students

    The Napa Valley College is great for students who want to live at Napa and learn new things locally.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The unusual traditions on campus are very funny. The current trending event is an event called human vs. zombies.

    Bang for the buck

    Unfortunately due to budget cuts, the classes are getting shorter and more pricey. But depending on the classes you want to take, make sure you take as many as you can!

    What to do for fun

    As mentioned earlier, join the clubs! It's a great way to meet new people and find inner talents that you never knew you had!

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. Many people prefer to go eat out because there's a food court close by.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at the college, unfortunately.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be very difficult depending on which class you are interested in taking. But I must say many of the professors are kind and willing to work with you if you work hard!

    Tips for prospective students

    Here's a tip if you are going to the Napa Valley College: CLUBS CLUBS CLUBS! Join as many clubs as you can! Academics is very stressful, so why not join clubs you can have fun at. You meet more of your peers!

    In three sentences

    Napa Valley College is an exceptional Community college. Whether you're returning to college, or you're new, the teachers, staff, and student make you feel at home.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is important, Napa Valley College ensures that students are provided with necessary accommodations for those who need it. By doing so, they create an environment that is safe for students.

    Greek Life

    From my understanding, there isn't any type of Greek life held on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities are active during school hours and off. They provide fundraising for different types of school events.

    Great for these types of students

    Napa Valley College is a great college for everyone, not only because they provide education at a lower cost than CSU or private colleges, but they offer experiences that create a foundation for learning.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the unusual events that I noticed that were held on campus were a zombie run off event, where students of Napa Valley College were able to dress like the living dead.

    What to do for fun

    Student programs such as MESA and others clubs offer a diversity of fun for the students. Small events are sometimes held at campus for the students enjoyment.

    Food and Dining

    The college has access to cafes and taco trucks that offer quality food at a reasonable price. Other restaurants in the surrounding area can be available to students including those who purchase students cards that receive percentage off.

    Dorm Life

    Napa Valley College does not offer any type of dorms for the students.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic rigor that the college gives is practical in a way it will enhance our learning experience. I enjoy the challenge by working with others and finding a way to learn from each other.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students is to create an Ed plan before registering for classes. Staff and professors that there to help out with any questions regarding your success for education. Always plan ahead and be involved with some of the school programs.

    In three sentences

    Napa Valley College offers great student services on campus. They also give great customer satisfaction when it comes to signing up for classes. Napa Valley College is a great college experience.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Napa Valley Campus is blessed to have campus police and the police academy. Campus police are on duty from 6am to 11pm at night. Very few incidents happen on campus; therefore, making it safe for all students and staff.

    Greek Life

    At this time we don't have a greek club on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have about 25 active clubs on campus. The most popular the Punte Club and MESA. These clubs are popular among hispantic students but anyone can join.

    Great for these types of students

    Napa Valley College is a Cultural Diverse community. We students come from all over the United States to attend our college. Everyone is treated with the utmost respect and equality.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The most unusual tradition is the Human verses Zombies game. It's a huge play station game, but the students are making a play station game come alive on campus by making the campus a game board.

    Bang for the buck

    Napa Valley College had beautful peacocks walking around the campus at one time but now they are gone. Someone complained that they were aggressive birds , not to me. Animals are only aggressive only if they are taught that way, or have been abused.

    What to do for fun

    Napa Valley College has different Clubs that students can join or start their own. Most of the activies are throught the clubs. There are field trips taken to the different college universities. For example, Sacramento State Univerity, Sonoma State, and UC Davis.

    Food and Dining

    Napa Valley College has opened up a new cafe. It looks just Star Bucks. The menu is almost similar to Star Bucks and the salads, sandichs, pastries, coffee, and tazo teas are great.

    Dorm Life

    Napa Valley has not domes. However, we do have a housing board. The list is located on our website.

    Academic Rigor

    Napa Valley College has a strict law concerning Pay to stay. This means a student has 7 days to pay for the classes or the classes will be dropped. Therefore, the student has to pick another course and hopefully the other classes are open.

    Tips for prospective students

    To prospective students, if you find it hard to get into a class, pick any course just to get your foot in the door. Put yourself on the waiting list for a class, even if it us crowed. Never give up. Once your registered for class, try to have a educational plan done. Even if you have to adjust it a few time, its okay. Most don't know what major they want to take.

    In three sentences

    Napa Valley College has the best customer service. Organized, fast and efficient. Napa Valley College has the best programs for nursing (ADN) program, Paramedic (EMT) program, Police Academy, Winery studies, Welding, and Human Services. The campus is very beautiful. It has a lake for boat riding or just to relax and put your feet in the water.Beautiful hot air balloons fly over the campus almost everyday, during the morning hours.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus. On duty cop at all times. Not to much criminal activity.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great clubs and activities such as dances and plays. Any club can be created depending on interest.

    Great for these types of students

    Students majoring in winery positions. A very calm campus not over crowded.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is starting to get more expensive but it is all worth the money. The campus has many new buildings and is currently being remodeled.

    What to do for fun

    The napa valley offers many things to do for fun. The college has many clubs and organizations that you can get involved with.

    Food and Dining

    Great food and very nutritious.

    Tips for prospective students

    Their are great programs however the waitinglist to the ADN program is a real bi issue that should be improved.

    In three sentences

    Napa valley college is a great college to attend. The teachers are very helpfull with everything. The counselor are the best and help in every aspect.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food is pretty good here

    Dorm Life

    there are currently no dorms at this college

    In three sentences

    This is a good college if you are looking to save money. It is in the beautiful wine town. If you arent looking to party too much this is a great college to do your studying.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security constantly patrols the campus and there are emergency buttons and phones located all around campus!!

    Clubs and Activities

    The dance club is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! we went to the sf jc and took dance classes there and watched their yearly dance production!! we hold fundraisers like zumbathons etc,

    Bang for the buck

    Yes tuition went up another $10 this year $46 a unit, but in the long run getting a higher education is worth any amount of money to me.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different clubs to join and student activities to participate in ie; Dance Production, Student Choreograph Show, Zomie vs Humans!!! etc.

    Food and Dining

    The McArthur library has a cafe that offers healthy affordable meals and snacks.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms available here at the jc.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your major. I am majoring in Animal Science which requires Calculus and to transfer to UC Davis I need to keep at GPA of 3.20. Choose your major wisely.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you submit your fafsa's ON TIME! even if you don't think you qualify for financial aid APPLY, you might qualify for BOG fee waiver.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love the courses offered and all of the different resources available here at the jc. The staff and students really make the campus a fun and friendly learning experience.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Exclusively safe and quiet location.

    Clubs and Activities

    All types of clubs..

    Great for these types of students

    Accounting, wine producer, business

    What to do for fun

    Meet other students in your field of study.

    Food and Dining

    I have yet to eat any food produced at NVC.

    Dorm Life

    No dormitory on campus or near campus

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers and staff are very thorough concerning information.

    In three sentences

    I think it's a good school. They should offer more online classes. Staff is especially nice and helpful.

  • 10/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are food trucks and a small cafe that one can grab food from but there isn't a large cafeteria to actually sit down and eat at.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms located at the college.

    Academic Rigor

    There are enough resources for you to succeed and the teachers have a lot of time for students to approach them for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for the resources available for you on campus, the teachers here understand that a lot of the students attending the college attend due to financial need so feel free to ask them for help.

    In three sentences

    It's great if you want to save some money for the first few years of your college career or if you are still unsure of what you want to major in then. The Jr. College allows you to take different classes that may interest you or ones that you just need at a cheaper price. Napa Valley college has also a lot of new facilities such as the new library to provide students with enough resources to succeed.

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With the police academy training right on campus we are well equipped with all the modern technology to keep students and staff safe. There are emergency alert systems all through campus and along the borders where sport fields and parking is surrounding the school. Students are also linked through text message to alert you in case of an emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities to offer different students. If you are into science or drama they have clubs for you to join. For ethnic groups they offer the Umoja Community or Puente to name a few. The NVC clubs are a great way to meet new people and make friends.

    Great for these types of students

    Students of all ages and backgrounds will fit right in and feel comfortable at Napa Valley College. Whether you are looking to get your degree and move onto a four year college or do a certificate program in human services or psychology technician. They also have a police academy well know for Northern California.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Napa Valley College is adjoined to Kennedy Park which offers golfing, a river walk, boat dock, fishing, volley ball courts, playground, bmx bike track, radio airplane zone, a pond full of ducks and geese, softball fields, and a black top for kick ball! Surrounded by wildlife from the Napa River the campus also has permanent residents which are peacocks. It is unique to be so close to nature and a great way to relax.

    Bang for the buck

    The Napa Valley College has recently done a lot of remodeling and has built a new gym, theater, and library. They continue to offer new training programs as well as the ones they already have. For example respiratory therapy and police academy, to just name a few .

    What to do for fun

    Definitely get involved in school clubs and the activities they offer. There is so much more you can learn working with your peers and it is fun. Just this month the school is having a Zombie Awareness program and they will teach us how to dance to Michael Jacksons' Thriller for the Halloween Celebration

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe at Napa Valley College offers fresh and healthy choices. Although the menu is not that large the quality is good. Expect to spend some time in line as well as food is made to order.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms at Napa Valley College.

    Academic Rigor

    Napa valley college teachers will challenge you , challenge you to think for yourself. While learning your lessons you will see we all have opinions and are taught to find our own in our studies. Academically you will grow and ultimately grow as a individual from the education they give you.

    Tips for prospective students

    The idea of going to college may seem intimidating to some, but with my experience it has opened so many opportunities. You meet new people that are just like you and you realize you are not alone in this new experience. This is a part of your life you can only grow from, take advantage of this opportunity in your life and you will be glad you did.

    In three sentences

    Napa Valley College has many programs that can train you to go straight into the work force and they offer multiply degree programs. I am enjoying my classes to get my A.S. in Human Services and look forward to continuing my education. The learning environment at NVC is diverse and has a strong sense of community, I love my school.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Bowling, movies, mall, parties.

    Food and Dining

    There are many places close by to eat .

    Dorm Life

    I live at home and NVC doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    For academics, there are many support services such as the Writing Center where you could go to and receive extra help.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for any student would be to get involved in clubs and services. For example, when I first came to the college I had a very difficult time registering for classes because almost every class was already full. However, now registering for my second semester, I have found it much less stressful because I am priority 0 due to the fact that I'm in the EOPS program. I would encourage anyone to join EOPS, the Puente courses, and SSS.

    In three sentences

    I believe this college is very well structured. You can find almost any type of help or support on campus. From the writing center to the health center, it's all there.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    A great place to become educated without having to pay the full State, University, or Private college tuition cost for the first two years. Napa Valley College provides a great learning environment with great professors that are ready to help their students.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Transfer

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a way to get your registration priority bumped up - classes fill up quick

    In three sentences

    Great small school for the money.

  • 01/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus, there is a Police Academy, so I always feel safe knowing there are people around who would know how to help me in an emergency. I still, however, carry a stun gun because some classes are out in the boondocks and there are some shady characters around when it gets dark.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are unsure of what they want to major in, first year college students, athletes, musicians, theater performers, and adults that want to continue their education later in life.

    Bang for the buck

    If you want to do your general education, but you don't want to have to pay an arm and a leg, this college is great. In the last two years, I was able to finish my general education at a low cost, under $4000 for tuition and under $1000 for books.

    What to do for fun

    The college offers many clubs and groups to join. They have activities on campus and other opportunities for students to get involved. The theater and music programs also offer entertainment in the form of concert and productions. In April, The Sound of Music will be playing!

    Food and Dining

    The college offers a small cafe and coffee bar with Starbucks brand drinks. The variety is great for the size of the cafe. Also, on campus every day during lunch and rush hours, there are a couple different food vendors that come to add more options for food. There is also an In-N-Out, Starbucks, McDonalds, and Panda Express very close to the campus.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms on the Napa Valley College Campus.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a junior college, so it doesn't offer extremely rigorous courses. However, some teachers that came from four year universities offer a UC course at the JC price. If you want a challenge, look to take courses with these teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    The courses here may seem easy the first few weeks, but don't let that fool you. Keep up in your classes and do your homework. A lot of students find it easy to slack off and end up failing most of their courses. It isn't extremely difficult to get good grades, but you have to do your part by studying and keeping up on your homework.

    In three sentences

    This college is great for first year college students and adults looking for continued education. If you are unsure of what you want to major in, this is a great place to start! They offer a variety of courses and counselors to help you transfer to a four year school.

  • 03/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    With learning disabilities.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities on Campus people can get involved in, and club, and organizations you can be apart of.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you go to your classes, and be on time.

    In three sentences

    It is a very nice, welcoming college to attend. Very intelligent teachers that show great interest in helping their students to excel over their studies. The business offices are most helpful in helping and answering any questions a student has.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great. There is tons of campus police.

    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Any.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    Its a junior college so it doesn't cost very much.

    What to do for fun

    Tons. Bowling, Shopping, Wine Tasting, Biking, Sports.

    Food and Dining

    Amazing I mean we live in the Napa Valley.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Awesome

    Tips for prospective students

    Register on time because classes fill up FAST!

    In three sentences

    This college is small but offers a lot. I can always get help with anything. Finding classes is easy and its close to home.

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    - I never really purchase anything on campus since I personally think it's a bit too expensive, so I take the option to head down to Target that is 2 minutes away from the school.

    What to do for fun

    - Take a drive to downtown Napa and explore their little shops/boutiques. There are many clubs to join as well.

    Food and Dining

    Food is slightly overpriced on campus, but the school is near a plaza filled in-n-out, mcdonalds, taco bell, jack in the box. Many options.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life here.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers do not ask for too much. The work varies by professor but very doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Go to class at least 30 minutes early if you have a 9am class or later. Parking is hard to find.

    In three sentences

    - The staff is very helpful. - Environment is clean and professional with very fun students. - Classes are impacted at times.

  • 02/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    NVC has clubs, however, the advertising for them is not well done.

    Food and Dining

    NVC has a cafe and a bookstore that both serve food and snacks. The bookstore has affordable food, however it is mostly snacks and nothing filling. The cafe has sandwiches, soup, paninis, chips, soda, etc., however, most the food is very high priced.

    Academic Rigor

    As it is at any other college, you can expect to spend anywhere from an hour and thirty minutes in class to three hours in class with about two hours hours of homework per class.

    Tips for prospective students

    One major tip is to get to campus about an hour early for class (at least) because parking is a nightmare. As well, apply for the FAFSA and immediately check for eligibility for the BOGS fee waiver, this helped me with finances over the past two years.

    In three sentences

    Napa Valley College is a fantastic starting school for students who can't afford a 4-year college right away. The teachers are extremely helpful and qualified. NVC is affordable and well worth the two years I have spent here.

  • 03/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do on campus. They do hold occasional events such as Open Mics or random contests held by the clubs, but on a daily basis there isn't anything fun to do on campus that will keep students entertained during their free time.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. All of it is freshly made and the school's cafe provides healthy choices for students and promotes healthy eating. The school also has food trucks that come from Monday-Thursday, with a different food truck each day. It gives students many options to choose from so they don't have to leave campus.

    Dorm Life

    I'm only rating this one star because this is a community college that doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    For the most part, the professors do push you to work hard. They want you to experience what it's like to be at a 4 year university without overwhelming students. If you do not know what you want to do, go to a community college and figure out what you want to major in, especially Napa Valley since the professors here are experienced and know what they're doing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to get involved on campus. Talk to your counselors at least once or twice every semester to keep track of how you're doing as they can help you prepare for transferring if you plan on doing so. The teachers are generally very nice and are willing to talk to you outside of class if you need help, so take advantage of that. If you're also looking for a job, the career center is a great place to go because that's where I learned how to make a resume and get myself ready for applying for jobs and job interviews.

    In three sentences

    Napa Valley College is a wonderful campus with diversity as you get to meet new people. The staff and faculty are welcoming and great as well. It still needs improvements, but overall a community college I'm glad I decided in attending.