Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Naropa University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/28/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The most obvious thing to say is that this school is perfect for anyone who was the oddball in high school. If you were any sort of outcast, reject, loner, or otherwise ostracized person, you'll fit right in at Naropa. Jocks and cheerleaders don't really exist here. Individuality is highly valued in the Naropa community. Also, LGBTQIA (gay, etc..) people are very accepted here and are treated with respect. Naropa is a very safe place for people of those identities, and even in classes we address such issues very openly and respectfully.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have the means to do so, take a visit to the campus, talk to a staff member, and sit in on a class. That will give you a good idea of how Naropa is run. Don't be afraid of talking with a teacher here and asking the questions you want to know. Naropa also has a lot of unique activities and speeches going on, and if you get a chance definitely go to one. This will show you the ambiance of the place and the people who go here. I have yet to meet an unfriendly student on this campus, so talk to them!

    Bang for the buck

    I won't lie, Naropa is expensive. But so are most private colleges. The total cost is around $38,000 per year. But on the other hand, Naropa was generous in the grant they gave me, and along with scholarships it's not as bad. The atmosphere here makes up for the money, and even though I'm taking out a lot in loans, I would rather be here than any other college. The school is great, the city is great, and it's all worth the extra money that I don't have.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am loving my time at Naropa. This is a very small campus, with many friendly and familiar faces. The teachers, staff, and students alike are very accepting of any time of diversity, and are the farthest thing from judgmental. I feel very at home and at peace with myself here. It is a very loving and open and caring environment. Teachers and students truly get to know each other.

    Am learning a lot

    Naropa is a place of contemplative learning. This means that students aren't forced to stuff a bunch of information in their brains, memorize it, and then spit it back out on a test only to forget about it the next week. That often happened in high school, but not here. Contemplative learning means actually thinking about what we are learning, processing it, and making sense of it for ourselves. It is creating a personal relationship with the class material and discovering how it connects to an individual's life. I feel that learning is only important if it makes an impact, and at Naropa it definitely does.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    you as a student create them.

    Great for these types of students

    For those that desire to gain a better understanding of how spirit has an affect on all areas of disciplines. We can take courses at CU which is an incredible bridge that is offered.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have beautiful ceremonies with smelling incenses that are sacred and fun.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive but it's worth the investment.

    What to do for fun

    Free drum Yoga at Prana taught by Naropa yoga students. Capoeira, dancing, hiking....

    Food and Dining

    The food is yummy, probably the best college food you will ever have.

    Dorm Life

    My experience wasn't the best, but I met incredible beautiful souls and it was worth it.

    Academic Rigor

    We experience a lot of emotional and spiritual growth that is tough for some students. I met a graduate student who turned down a UC Berkley admittance to be at Naropa. It's a very holistic place and they grade fairly. The academic rigor isn't as hard as other universities but I have learned more material here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Because it is such a small school learn that you don't have to be best friends or friends but you can still be friendly which can offer a lot of healing for the wounded student. It's too small to be stuck up and when you are you stand out.

    In three sentences

    Is an amazing place that offers emotional, spiritual and academic growth. We need more diversity here. It's spiritual.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Naropa is easily the safest and friendliest tiny campus, where everyone coexists in a symbiotic relationship. The belief is that in hurting or disrespecting someone else, you are ultimately committing a crime against yourself and against humanity as a whole. It just doesn't exist at Naropa.

    Greek Life

    Doesn't exist in the traditional sense

    Clubs and Activities

    There's something for everyone at Naropa, where individuality is not only accepted, but encouraged.

    Great for these types of students

    Independent, free thinking, spiritually curious, committed, and compassionate with an eagerness to explore personal growth.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Most things at Naropa are unusual. Take for instance any one of our student groups, from Biophilia to plant spirit healers to Thai Massage to Paganist studies. All walks of life and interests are welcomed and encouraged, no matter how unusual.

    What to do for fun

    There's a wealth of things to do at Naropa, all of which are engaging and inspiring. There are discussion groups, yoga classes, acupuncture, outdoor adventures - you name it, Naropa offers it.

    Food and Dining

    Though tiny, Naropa's cafe offers quality meals and snacks, many of which are prepared from our own produce garden, and are dietary restriction friendly. There are options for carnivores, vegetarians, gluten haters, and vegans alike.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, but have heard wonderful things about the on campus housing community and its student involvement.

    Academic Rigor

    Although Naropa isn't a traditional education setting, the classes and coursework are equally challenging - perhaps even more so, because not only are you expected to learn facts and textual information, but also be able to directly relate and practice what you learn in your own life. Everything taught has a tangible quality of realness and practical application - they are skills you will take with you and utilize for the rest of your life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to take a long, hard look at your life and your own choices to find true purpose and meaning to the work you will be doing in the future.

    In three sentences

    Naropa provides an opportunity for self reflection and personal growth, while encouraging interpersonal relationships and community involvement. You are literally transformed into a new compassionate individual, fully capable and willing to thus transform the world for the better. Naropa has offered insight into all walks of life, and provided the space to see life through another's perspective.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Community Practice Day is an entire day set aside for the community to practice together. Sitting and walking meditation, yoga, ikebana, and talks on contemplative education are a few of the features.

    Tips for prospective students

    Cultivate curiosity into your own thought and action patters, know what you stand for, but be open to hearing the other side.

    In three sentences

    A thorough exploration into the self, the other, the world. Creates a foundation of contemplative education to carry throughout the world. Peaceful discussions, classrooms set-up in a circle.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I love to dance, tell stories trough poetry, and connect with people that have no idea about me. I love tobring people together, regarrdless of looks, race, sexual orientation and age.

    What to do for fun

    Dance, meditate, Rap, poetry.

    Food and Dining

    the food is good, and healthy.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is okay, but the community makes it live.

    Academic Rigor

    I hope you love meditating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself, be patient, and love all!!

    In three sentences

    I love Naropa, it is a different approach to live, and soul.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    None.

    Greek Life

    Nonexistent.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student R.O.O.T group for free activities of outdoor nature. Free equipment rental. You may rent a bike for however long you want for free. Excellent student government

    Great for these types of students

    Contemplative students, psychology students, theater students, environmentalists, activists. Students that aren't worried about money or mundane office jobs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Meditation groups, drum circles, chanting. I once saw a topless girl bike through campus.

    Bang for the buck

    If you're going to be counting money into the equation, it's not worth the cash. For a private institution, we should at least have things like a gym and a food court, and some of the buildings are ancient and have no air conditioning. It's really quite terrible.

    What to do for fun

    Boulder itself is a really fun city, but the school offers many other opportunities. A student group lets you rent equipment for free to take on student organized camping trips, hiking trips, and once I even saw advertisement for a skydiving trip.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafe that serves mediocre food like salads and sandwiches. It sells hippy things like chai tea. Nothing that you can ever live off of. (Hence the full kitchens in the dorms)

    Dorm Life

    Dorms come equipped with full kitchen, living room, bathrooms and furniture. Some policies are quite fascist but you will learn to love your community. Very quiet at night. It's a substance free environment complete with a court yard, computer lab, meditation room, laundry, and many other things. Wifi is a NIGHTMARE.

    Academic Rigor

    The physical homework may be mundane and simple, it's not a large workload for the average student, but what is taught is very meaningful if taken seriously.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is not right for everybody. It is expensive and you might feel as though you are not getting your money's worth out of the tuition. What you will get is growth and knowledge about yourself as a person in ways you've never experience before.

    In three sentences

    A contemplative school that focuses on individual growth as a human being. The most difficult work at this school is the internal work that will strengthen through practice and mindfulness. An alternative form of education for students who feel as though they don't fit in with modern day college.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's very safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    if you wanna do something, you've got to make your own group! They come and go with the students. It's pretty easy to get funding to do it.

    Great for these types of students

    The wealthier the better, preferably with a large trust fund. On the other hand, they accept everybody, so it could also be good if you can't get in elsewhere.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Making love in the meditation rooms is popular.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is well over twice the state average and the facilities do not reflect that. We have almost nothing but old-fashioned chalkboards, classrooms, and cushions. The faculty are not paid well either. It's a constant mystery where my money goes-- probably into advertising for the school.

    What to do for fun

    Hippie drum circles, poetry writing, falling in love with other students, gossiping, hiking in the mountains, meditation retreats

    Food and Dining

    There is no dining hall on campus, only a private restaurant called the Naropa Cafe. Their food and prices are reasonable, although not terribly outstanding.

    Dorm Life

    If you're interested in paying an inflated price to share a small apartment with a tiny bed inside an architecturally dull building filled with ignorant potheads, Snow Lion is the dorm for you. But hey, that sounds like most college dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This school does not ask for any intellectual engagement whatsoever. It is an experientially-focused education, which is a great idea. In practice, however, it means very dull classrooms with little mental activity.

    Tips for prospective students

    DO NOT go here for a degree. It's just not worth it. Go only if you want a gentle, kind space to noodle around and bang drums for a few years. If you're really attached to the Naropa mystique, satisfy your curiosity by coming just for the summer writing program or for one class.

    In three sentences

    Naropa is not a real college, but a gentle container for those looking to find themselves. Save yourself some time and money by starting a serious meditation practice, making some good friends, and finding a skilled therapist. You'll get the same or better results!

  • 02/11/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Hoping its involved and fulfilling.

    Tips for prospective students

    Full awareness of history of the school.

    In three sentences

    Very excited to attend. Hoping for some in depth experiences. Can't wait.

  • 10/23/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good campus security

    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    Buddhist, philosphy, and non traditional studies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Colorado is a leagal Marajuana state.

    What to do for fun

    Malls, film festivals, music concerts, hiking, climbing, camping and biking are just a few.

    Food and Dining

    Healthy food with many selections and meal plans which you can customize.

    Dorm Life

    Not your regular/typical dorm life. They have apartment style living spaces for individuals or shared with roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not all about the GPA. There is a high concentration on personal growth.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your reserch carefully. Make sure the rather bohemian approach to learning is a good fit for you.

    In three sentences

    They offerunique approach to Academics. Naropa's concentration is not just about acedemic perforance but person growth as well. I feel Naropa University is the most perfect match for my beliefs and ambitions in life.

  • 06/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe there. It's a very small campus, so there aren't many people who wander on there.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    Very interesting and unique clubs. Students can absolutely create their own clubs rather easily.

    Great for these types of students

    Untraditional, like learning in group settings, communication +, open-minded, enjoy contemplative practices, open-minded, okay with people from diverse backgrounds, enjoy small, intimate classes, hold an interest in a provided major, self-motivated, artistic, hippy, alternative, activist, buddhist, meditator, martial artist, environmentalist, outdoor enthusiast.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lots of meditation. Hanging out on the green always happens. You will see people practicing Tai Chi on the green.

    Bang for the buck

    I think this school is priceless for what it delivers. I have yet to attend a school that pays so much attention to individual needs, meets with students who have questions, works with you if you have a problem or want to change something about the system or school, innovative, looks at the individual for their own desires, creative curriculum.

    What to do for fun

    Depends on what you like to do. On campus, visit the green house, take some tai chi or yoga classes, go for a hike.

    Food and Dining

    Good food, too expensive. This we need to work on. [on campus] Off campus, one can find reasonable meals.

    Academic Rigor

    It's an entirely different type of academic rigor. Scantron tests, standardization and regurgitation of information is not a part of the academic process at Naropa. This school asks you to look at yourself, apply yourself to the questions being asked and present yourself wholly. Totally different. It is what you make of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Unique place, not a traditional North American style university. Research it, ask current students questions, e-mail, skype, call, and see if this is the kind of higher education institution for you.

    In three sentences

    Naropa is an extremely unique school that is on the cutting edge of contemplative education. I've never found another school that values unique, individual, and specific interests in curriculum before. It's invaluable for whole-self-discovery.