Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Nassau Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are an athlete, the athletic program is one of the top programs on the Island. Just look up its history.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your Fafsa in on time or early.

    Bang for the buck

    Be sure to do your Fafsa in a timely fashion because financial aid has a history of not giving out enough money to help with cost. Remember, only if you get your fafsa in on time will you experience less stress on finances. But don't get me wrong, this school is a good buy.

    Am enjoying being here

    The extra-curricular activities make this school worthwile. You obviously get to meet new people and make new friends for a lifetime. joining clubs is a great oppurtunity to network. Plus it helps get your mind off struggles when you try different activities. There's a plethora of things to do. They even have time allotted for this called club hour. Its a period where you can go to the student union and play pool, grab a bite, or study in the library.

    Am learning a lot

    Most Professors have a masters degree and most importantly experience in their field. For example, I took a personal finance course over the summer and my professor was a financial advisor or planner. Either way, she had first hand knowledge of the topics she was talking about.

  • 06/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    this is great for a student that does not want to go too far from home but still get some freedom at the same you can relax and take your time with your classes

    Tips for prospective students

    just know that going to class is very important and try not to get a bad professor ask around or do your homework on every class and the professor before had...

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Crime unfortunately does happen. Especially at night when there are less officers on patrol. But I've never felt unsafe while on campus - its just about making common sense decisions.

    Greek Life

    The only Greek LIfe is the Honor's group. No frat house - sorry.

    Clubs and Activities

    One thing this school does not lack are clubs and events - they're out there, and they're bountiful, you just have to look and show up to the meetings!

    Great for these types of students

    If you don't yet know exactly what you want to study/major in this is a good start. And best school to save money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The random gazebo on the quad. Usually inhabited by smokers, but its just off the corner of the foot ball field which just doesn't make sense.

    Bang for the buck

    I study at Nassau because of it's National reputation, its network with some of the top colleges in the North East and most importantly the tuition. I'd much rather spend $3-4K a year to take the same classes than spend $10-20K at a 4 year school.

    What to do for fun

    You really have to take the initiative to look for fun on campus. If you want a truly fun and enjoyable experience join a club. But don't expect to have a rewarding experience if you don't put out the effort and try something new.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria in the CCB/Student Lounge is actually good. There is a great variety in terms of fast food and healthy food. They have pre-packaged salads that are actually really good as well as a fresh salad bar. My only complaint is the price - $7 for a fresh salad. $4.99 for the prepackaged. There is also Red Mango, Taco Bell, and Pizza Hut but I stay away from those.

    Dorm Life

    Non existant.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't too rigourous, depending on the professor. Some professors will baby you and tell you what chapters to read and how to come prepared - others will just give you the syllabus for the semester and expect you to figure it out on your own. Your safest bet is to prepare to teach yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have an idea of what you want to study in the future so that you take credits for classes that go toward your major. Unfortunately, if you graduate with credits that do not apply to your major, the institution you transfer to may not accept the classes as core credits and you'll have to take extra classes - meaning it may take longer to graduate. My advice is to plan ahead and don't be discouraged when a professor or class doesn't live up to your expectations. Make the best of it and see NCC as a step in the right direction.

    In three sentences

    You have to put in extra effort to get a great education. You get what you pay for. Keep your goals for graduating/transferring in mind - this school is really just a stepping stone.

  • 10/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone! It's such a diverse school- it's easy to adjust once you're there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you choose a good schedule- earlier classes are better because it's easier to park. Always try to be early for class- if you aren't, you'll be looking for a parking space for 45 minutes and miss your class.

    Bang for the buck

    Price-wise, Nassau is very affordable, and you get a lot for your money. The professors that I have had all know what they are doing and have experience working in the field they are now teaching about. My only complaint is parking- get there early to get a spot, and you'll be fine.

    Am enjoying being here

    Nassau is a great school, especially if you live close by. It's great to get the experience of going to a more diverse school that has so many different students, as well as majors. The classes are great- just make sure you keep up and do your homework.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a fashion design major, and the program at Nassau is amazing. I have learned a lot, and the professors go at a good pace- not so fast that you can't keep up, but they keep the classes moving quickly so you are always moving on to the next project.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's safe to be there .At night there are so much lights you can call it day .

    Clubs and Activities

    There will be something you can do . You like to work out there is a free gym you can go too. You like play games there is a club that you can go to ,that can can play with the WII ,X-Box and PS3 . You love to dance there is a break dancing club and 3 other dance type clubs out there .

    Bang for the buck

    The school is very cheap . You can have FSFA pay the whole year if you fill out .

    What to do for fun

    Free stuff is always fun , most of the time there are give out stuff like food ,pens, flash-drives .Last week I got a light bulb for my room .

    Food and Dining

    The food the best you love fast foods , they have Taco bell and White Castle . Health food are all over just the some as fast foods. Make your own salads a lot of raps and bars of all kind .

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is not good .Not at all BC there are not dorms .

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers help you out most of them . They care ,if your not doing good they let you know before its to late .

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't run off after class . There will be something you can do . You like to work out there is a free gym you can go too. You like play games there is a club that you can go to ,that can can play with the WII ,X-Box and PS3 . You love to dance there is a break dancing club and 3 other dance type clubs out there .

    In three sentences

    Nassau Community College is a great place to find your self .The teachers help you out most of them .There will be every thing for everyone.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    An overall pretty safe campus but just be cautious when attending night classes. The parking lots are lit, but be smart; walk with other people around if possible--there's almost always a group walking to their cars from classes since they're let out together--and/or just keep your wits about you walking to your car. It's pretty safe but stuff happens.

    Greek Life

    With minimal dorms, it's pretty rare but existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs and activities for anyone who likes anything.

    Great for these types of students

    Those students looking to save a few bucks, definitely those looking to bring up their GPA at a 2-year school to get a nice scholarship to a 4-year--plenty of students transfer to Hofstra & NYU, some of the top schools in the country, all because they got a pretty easy 4.0 at NCC.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The cafeteria and courtyard outside are some nice spots for social gathering and hangouts.

    Bang for the buck

    As mentioned, really an excellent college for the price. Some parts of campus aren't well maintained at times but it's a nice campus overall.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of clubs like most other colleges, but the majority of college attendees are very friendly and it's a pleasant college to attend. This college was also rated in the top 5 by Maxim or something, lol. Good looking people 'round these parts!

    Food and Dining

    Not bad. There's a decent size cafeteria with a Subway, Pizza Hut, Taco Bell, Red Mango, etc.

    Dorm Life

    Non-existant.

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers are very lenient, but once in a blue moon you'll get a disciplinarian that thinks he's teaching at Yale and dishes out some crazy Master's thesis to prepare you for 4-year college. If that happens, either run, or work your @$$ off. If you survive it, you'll wind up learning a ton and might even find it interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    A reasonable parking spot is difficult to come by unless you arrive pretty early for class; *do not* park in teacher lots, as $90 tickets are distributed like condoms at Planned Parenthood. Even more important, treat teachers with respect and you'll be amazed how much they joke around and cut you slack; and keep your jokes witty, not obnoxious. They'll love you. The most important thing I can advise is not to apply unless you plan to actually care. It was miserable when I originally applied but I went back with an interest in the subjects I was taking and a will to do well and I enjoyed the learning experience immensely. Remember, the more you know, the more jokes you'll understand.

    In three sentences

    Incredibly knowledgeable, patient teachers, most of whom also teach at top ranking 4-year colleges in the area. Administration is friendly but extremely difficult to get in contact with via phone, however the website is very user friendly and helpful. Overall, an excellent college, especially for the affordable price.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The public safety isn't very good, but i think its not a dangerous environment. But its best to always be alert, especially if your taking night classes.

    Greek Life

    no sure.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of different clubs and activities, very diverse.

    Great for these types of students

    Willing to work hard for 2 years. If you can't handle a 4 year college, you can take your time on classes in nassau.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Most of the students go to the ccb building because thats where the food court is located.

    Bang for the buck

    no sure.

    What to do for fun

    clubs and activities, school events, sports intramural, ccb

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good, except its kinda of pricey.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm life, you have to live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors can be good, its a good idea to go on rate myprofessors.com

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and don't slack off. Don't expect too much out of the advisors. Parking can be annoying, so its best to go to class earlier. You can spent 2 years here, or more, but its better to finish nassau on time.

    In three sentences

    It can be a good college if you get involved. It saves you money, compare to other colleges. If you study hard and get good grades it will be a good experience and you can transfer into a better school.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Nassau offers a wide range of extra curricular activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students with low income families or students that live nearby and don't want to go to far for collge.

    Bang for the buck

    Nassau is more affordable than many other colleges and you get a really good education.

    What to do for fun

    I go to Roosevelt Field Mall or the Source Mall. Both malls are located near Nassau Community College.

    Food and Dining

    There are many places to eat on campus. If you choose to eat somewhere else there are many restaurants located nearby.

    Dorm Life

    Nassau does not offer housing at this time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a parking permit or take advantages of the buses that pass through.

    In three sentences

    Nassau Community College has many courses and activities to offer. This makes it easy for students to explore different opportunities and find something they enjoy. Nassau helps students pursue their academic goals with their amazing staff.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always alerts, be it via email,texts or bulletins. Students are constantly being reminded of the dangers of an open campus. We are also updated on any mishaps that occur on campus using the same mediums. Safety patrol are always around making sure the campus is secure.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs, ranging from Jewish to single parents. With so many clubs on campus, there is never a moment of boredom as it were on campus. These clubs always have an activity planned that not only entertains but educates the student body as well.

    What to do for fun

    The CCB building is where the action takes place.On any given day a large body of students can be seen congregated near the building making new friends and drawing others to their cluster of gaiety.

    Food and Dining

    The main dining facility houses several eateries. It is safe to say that no student is dissatisfied with the selections made available. It doesn't hurt that the food is quite good either.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is non existent as it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The majority of the professors are excellent teachers. They are experts in the field that they teach so they are able to make the lesson enjoyable as well as easy to understand. It is interesting to note that Nassau awards the largest number of Associates Degrees in the state of New York. Students are expected to attain a minimum of a C average, in most departments, to attain credit for that class.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important tip for an college student is to create and manage their GPA. This Acronym stands not for grade point average but goal, plan and action. It is advisable that every college student have a goal they ultimately want to meet, create a plan to get to that goal and then act on that plan. This will prove to be successful. It never hurts to plan and be prepared and as such students should also prepare for class by researching their professors. Websites such as rate my professor.com allow a student to get to know their professors before entering the class room. Also, if it is available, use the school's website to research the material the professor will require for the course i.e. the textbook. It never hurts to have an advantage.

    In three sentences

    Nassau community college affords its students an inexpensive and wonderful start to a promising future. There are many programs and professors who provide work placement and internship opportunities that propel students further along on their journey to success. I award my college five stars and recommend it as a start to any who dream of attending college but cannot afford it.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are absolutely fun and you get to meet new people come from different places. Good part about clubs is that you can start your own club.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In Nassau people don't be criticize from other people you come as yourself. You can easily fit in everyone brings something new to the school.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Nassau is absolutely delicious but it's a bit expensive. The service that they provide is good.

    Dorm Life

    Nassau dosen't have any dorms. If your coming from another country or state you should search for an apartment to rent.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you enter Nassau you should join the clubs they offer because you get to know more people. Don't be afraid to ask a certain question to a teaher if your lost in subject. The teachers there offer extra help.

    In three sentences

    Nassau Community College is a great college for people that are unsure in what they want to major in. The professors are very nice and helpful. NCC provides students with free tutoring.

  • 12/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I'm not a music major, but do miss playing my instrument. I attended a concert held by the music department and enjoyed it greatly. I also learned that you could join the concert band even if you're not in the class and join them to play pieces of music. So whoever has an interest in music, even as a hobby, should look into the music department to see if there's anything you could join.

    What to do for fun

    I haven't had much experience with extracurricular activities yet, but there are many clubs that you could find interesting. No matter who you are, there's definitely at least one club that would suit you.

    Food and Dining

    There are three locations where you can get food. I particularly love the food court in building CCB because of the variety of places to buy food from, such as Red Mango and Pasta Pasta. The other two locations, Treat Street and Treat Street Too, also have varieties of foods that you can buy for both breakfast and lunch.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The assignments given by the professors I have so far have been fair and give you a chance to open your mind in some ways as well as practice or learn skills you may not have used or learned much about in high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to the campus early if you drive for a good parking spot! Also, I suggest that you watch out for the smokers outside of the buildings by the entrances to avoid secondhand smoking.

    In three sentences

    Nassau Community College deserves to be a 4-year institution. I love going to this college already. I'm excited to continue onto my next semester!

  • 05/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ambitious, wants to save $ while getting a good education, good sports too

    Tips for prospective students

    - Go to class all the time and do your homework because attendance and homework was a large proportion of your grades and tests are important- never miss them - Look up your professors on ratemyprofessor.com to see if your professor is someone that you can understand, work with and like.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a lot more than what you pay for, its awesome!

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy going to NCC, I am on the equestrian team there, in the honors program and met a lot of great people here.

    Am learning a lot

    I am in the honors program at NCC and I am in classes that have more challenging material but not a lot of more work. In regular classes of the same topic they learn the same topics but we got more in depth into the material which is really good and I like a lot.

  • 09/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    yeah its great all types of diverse students within the college, this school is a land of oppurtunitys!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all this college experience you can its a great thing for you to do it allows you to take great care of the cheap tution its a steal!

    Bang for the buck

    Yea it's the best Bang for your buck i love it very cheap and affordable!

    Am enjoying being here

    yeah loving the collegiate atmosphere making the most of It as much as i can!

    Am learning a lot

    Learning and soaking up all the College things i can its a great experience and pleasure to even be in college!

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students that have a set major in mind cause nassau will more likely have your major. But if your undecided on your major you won't be able to truly test out some of the schools programs, because you need a good grade point average to get accepted in some of them, and/or sign in early.

    Tips for prospective students

    You must sign up for classes early do not wait till they send you a letter most of the classes will be closed out. set up a four day schedule so you have more time for homework, work, and relaxing. Some programs are very difficult so don't be surprised when you and your fellow classmates take more than two years to complete your major. If you want to complete your major on time and without classes overload try taking some classes over the summer or winter break.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a Community school, a suny school and is a lot of financial aid for students if they can't afford the low intuition of 3,000 for full time students as is.

    Am enjoying being here

    The school has plenty of clubs that'll pertain to your major or hobby. They have tons of field trips and events scheduled for the school.

    Am learning a lot

    This school's commercial art program is great. They have up to date software and teachers who are currently in the graphic design, advertising, and animation fields.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    all students

    Tips for prospective students

    nassau is a great place to cultivate your academic knowledge

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    You have to be individually focused. This however, is the key to success in any institution.

    What to do for fun

    Join Clubs!! There are over 100 exciting clubs - both educational and just for fun. If the club you want doesn't exist (which rarely happens), you are more than welcome by Nassau to start up your own club.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take advisement for granted. Advisors are needed to guide you the perfect, smoothest way through the school. Be open to them. they are very friendly. As long as you are motivated and hardworking, you would be an outstanding student.

    In three sentences

    Nassau Community College is the best thing that ever happened to me. Affordable tuition, super-friendly professors that attend to you on a one-on-one basis when you have problems/questions, honors program is the best you can ask for. Grade AA rating for Nassau Community College!

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    ncc can be a little high in prices for a community school but its definitely worth your wild. all the things that come with it is definitely a bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    join clubs or sports teams. hang out i the u building and socialize with others.

    Food and Dining

    cafeteria is excellent

    Academic Rigor

    some classes were easy but others really pushed you and made you work for your grade

    Tips for prospective students

    don't take the work lightly or go into nassau thinking it's a job because some courses can be challenging. don't just take course that pertain to your major. broaden your horizon because you might find something else that interest you more than your major, and there's nothing wrong with changing it.

    In three sentences

    nassau community college is a great school for finding what you want to do in life. it really helped me decide and find my passion and what i want to do as my career. definitely give this school a 10.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is the university police always roaming around.

    Greek Life

    There is greek life but very minimal.

    Clubs and Activities

    A huge variety.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are trying to take some extra classes to get credit for in their college

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely super affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of student activities.

    Food and Dining

    Food is decently good for a meal and a snack.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life. There is no campus housing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't underestimate this college just because it is a community college. Attendance is important.

    In three sentences

    Make sure you know who your professor is, it will make a huge difference in your college experience. Nassau Community has a safe environment and many fun places to go nearby! If youre looking to take some extra classes, this is the place for you with a variety of classes.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 45

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It is a highly reputable institution. The instructors are very competent. Also, it's quite affordable.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs and activities all over campus

    Food and Dining

    Very large cafeteria with all different types of food and lots of dining all over the area

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms on campus, it is a community college, many students live locally.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are great, very helpful and offer office hours if you have any questions. Also provide academic centers that offer extra help and tutoring.

    In three sentences

    Nassau is a great college to start at to just continue your education. Many helpful staff and students all over campus. So many different career opportunities and very affordable.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I've never eaten on campus.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college there are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have any questions, don't be afraid to ask. The people here are always willing to help and offer the best options for you.

    In three sentences

    They staff is always helpful and polite. The provide convenient online and in class classes. They are conveniently located by my house.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nassau Community has a large public safety facility and the campus is patrolled at all times.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, Pay attention, Value the education that you will receive.

    In three sentences

    Nassau Community has knowledgeable and qualified professors. Nassau Community has cheap and affordable tuition. Nassau Community is one of the top five best colleges in New York State.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    check out campus and see if you'd like it and the environment too. some people may not like it

    In three sentences

    i think that nassau has a good campus with helpfull people. there is also great transportation, the buses leave you on campus. it is also near by places to go out and have a little fun

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a very enclose in a very friendly community and very safe. Nothing ever happens, Students are friendly and so are teachers.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't know exactly what they want to major in yet. It's very affordable for those who are finacially struggling, Many of my friends have said that financial aid has cover all their cost for College. As for me, I do have to pay, but it's more cheaper than attending a four year college.

    What to do for fun

    There are various sports to join from soccer to football. There are many club and activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be prepare for all the work that has to be done. Take classes seriously bbecause you don't want to repeat classes.

    In three sentences

    I believe a lot of students will benefit from going to Nassau Community College. It's great and affordable and gives you the same education, you would receive if you were to attend a 4 year college. It's also great to for students who don't know what to major in yet and get their basic education

  • 09/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a student union that has a pool table, Foosball table, and other games. It is also where most of the clubs meet.

    Food and Dining

    Taco bell, White Castle, Red Mango, and more

    Tips for prospective students

    Follow all the due dates when registering.

    In three sentences

    Very diverse in culture. People come from from all over NY state. Teachers care about the students.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs. Go somewhere in the area.

    Food and Dining

    Mainly fast food. I would pack a lunch

    Dorm Life

    There is none.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are so helpful, so the classes are not bad. Sciences take work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let community college deter you because of the name. This is one of the best in the nations.

    In three sentences

    A perfect school for anyone who is looking to save money for the first years & a great quality education. Every one of my professors have been knowledgeable & helpful. There are some research opportunities as well and many clubs to get involved in!

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food and Dining area is a place where student don't just go and eat, but to socialize and meet other that attend Nassau Community.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself, don't try to impress, because their are variety of people that attend you will find friends.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is reliable.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life I think is for the seniors.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have plenty of clubs and activities to get into.

    Great for these types of students

    If you have trouble in math, make sure to visit the math center. They have one on one help and tutoring.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The North Annex building is way off campus but its not a bad walk.

    Bang for the buck

    There is a wide range of food outside of campus.

    What to do for fun

    They have plenty of events to go to throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, but a little pricey.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for commuting students.

    Academic Rigor

    They have a separate department for honors classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the extra help opportunities and studying time.

    In three sentences

    Very affordable. A friendly diverse area. A great library to study and get work done.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You have to look on their site to know what to do for fun but when you join clubs there are alot of things to do

    Food and Dining

    They have everything. Taco bell spanish food alot of food choices. White castle and a mc donalds down the street

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    They have a lot of things going on here i am doing exercises here that they give out for free and clubs also.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't hold back questions because not asking questions will make you fall back quickly. Study hard and long for the test. Be prepared for anything here

    In three sentences

    The professors are great and helpful. When you need help they are there to help you with anything. Don't hesitate to ask them any questions you have

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    NCC is a tiny campus with more than twenty thousand students. It's hard for dangerous situations to happen without being witnessed. I feel public safety does a great job of keeping the school safe. They work 24-7. They do write county tickets for illegal parking though.

    Greek Life

    There is one club that has a Greek name, but it is the honors club and you don't need to pledge to join.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activities, mostly sports. They don't seem to do much on campus, like running events.

    Great for these types of students

    NCC is great for working students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a carnival at NCC in the springtime. It runs for about 4 hours.

    Bang for the buck

    NCC is all bang and (in respect to alternative colleges) no buck. You can complete two years of school for about ten thousand, and NCC is one of the country's top rated community colleges.

    What to do for fun

    Most people at NCC get to class and leave immediately after. There are clubs at the school, but they don't seem very popular. Also, there is a student union but I don't find that many people use it.

    Food and Dining

    Don't eat NCC food if you don't have to. It's expensive and not good. Try a bagged lunch instead.

    Dorm Life

    NCC is a 100% commuter school.

    Academic Rigor

    I find that attending NCC is easier than my senior year of high school as an AP student. A lot of time needs to go in to the work, but I don't find it to be difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out rate my professor before signing up for a particular class because some professors have been teaching at NCC for as long as it has been open and don't teach up to date, especially in the sciences.

    In three sentences

    Nassau is a great commuter school as it is very accommodating of students needs. Most students work and go to school full time and the professors are understanding. The problem with Nassau being a commuter school is that I find it is not a very social school.

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security poles around campus, but honestly, campus seems too small and too crouded for anything to really happen. Oh, also it's pretty funny how students don't care if there is a car or bus driving by, they just cross the street whenever they feel like without even glancing around to see if it is safe.

    Great for these types of students

    People who were not great in high school, or adults who want to go back to school to earn a degree. Good for people who smoke a lot and don't mind constantly smelling cigarettes and weed or getting smoke blown in your face.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the school overall isn't really that great, you can't get a cheaper college tuition anywhere else in NY

    What to do for fun

    As sad as this sounds, most people hide out in the library during breaks and eat their lunch there. There are clubs, but most of these only meet during club hour on tuesdays and thursdays. For this reason, it is very difficult to be a part of more than one club.

    Food and Dining

    There are 3 locations on campus where you can buy food. 2 of them are very small and great to pick up a drink or a bag of chips or cookies on your way to class. The other one, Top Flight, has a decent selection of foods and is not as over priced as most other campuses. There is a place which always cells pasta, chicken parm, and I believe paninis. Then there are pizza hut, red mango, taco bell, white castle, and a salad place. There is also a place in Top Flight which sells breakfast in the morning and french fries, chicken strips, and burgers later in the day. There is coffee and hot chocolate there also along with various drinks and small snacks.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here! It is solely a commuter school. However, there are many military homes around campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I personally do not feel that the classes are very difficult. However, I know that there are still many students who struggle. Don't worry, there are many tutoring and extra help organizations provided by the school. Don't be afraid to ask for help! :)

    Tips for prospective students

    You basically don't need anything but a high school diploma or GED to go here. Remember to do well on your placement tests because they will decide what courses you have to take. The higher of a score you get, the less courses you will need to graduate!

    In three sentences

    Nassau Community College is great for students who either need a better start at life because they struggled greatly in high school, or who have major financial problems and have no ability to get a loan for anywhere else. If you were in honors or ap classes in high school, you probably should not go here because you may feel as if you are not being challenged. NCC is basically the school in between high school and college.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe and secure here. I sometimes wish that the security in the parking lot would be less strict when it comes to parking. but, it is nice to know that they are there.

    Bang for the buck

    I absolutely love the fact that I can get a two year degree and not be paying it back for at least 10 years after I graduate.

    What to do for fun

    Oh there are so many things to do in the Campus Life clubs and activities. Sports and music. Support groups. And the campus is really nice.

    Dorm Life

    My dorm is my bedroom in my parents home. <3

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor? Well I think Rigor is a state of mind. It is not how easy or how rigorous or difficult a task or class is. It is your attitude and approach toward it. This attitude makes the difference between success and failure.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study. Take High School seriously, but even if you did neither of those things don't be afraid to try. There are people that believe in you out there, but you have to believe in yourself enough to take the first step. I wish that I understood that when I was in high school. It took me three years after high school to attempt college. I am so glad for the help and support I received.

    In three sentences

    I think the people here really help the students to believe in ourselves. Leaving High School and going to College is a scary move in a young persons life and they made me feel safe and secure. I love the fact that since for me money is such an issue, that I can get the first part of my needed degree here and then just have 2 years in a more expensive school.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I would say it is a great education theres more then enough resources to go to incase you feel lost or have any questions and every staff member and student is more then willing to help out. Its just a great enviornment to be around.

    What to do for fun

    There are a variety of clubs anything you can think of, Nassau Has it. It is what you make of it, its kinda impossible to get bored at Nassau because of the variety of things you can do.

    Food and Dining

    Quality food, Lots of variety just a little pricy but still affordable and can hold you down for most of the day.

    Dorm Life

    No rating because Dorms dont exist which is a bummer :/

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are great depending on who you chose I suggest you go to rate my teacher to see who your ending up with but other then that you still have to put your best foot forward in whatever you do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for Financial Aid on time! And if you want an affordable and quality eduation come right on along. If your looking to play sports here then bring your A Game because the Coaches for any team play favoritism so its hard to tryout. Thats the only reason Im transferring is for better oppurtunities and also the lack of Dorm life.

    In three sentences

    Great learning enviornment, Very friendly staff And great campus.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's always Public Safety around. From the experience I've had, I find that Public Safety is very helpful.

    Greek Life

    There are many ways you can find help if necessary. Classmates, professors, and there are Math labs, Computer labs where student aids are available for help.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs, and most of them are quite active. So, it's easy to find one that interets you.

    Great for these types of students

    Whether you are interested in studies, sports or partying, there's all kinds of people at NCC. There's more than 20, 000 students attending the college, so that won't be an issue.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None I'm aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    At approximately $2,400 a semester, I would say the tuition is cheap.

    What to do for fun

    On Tuesdays and Thursdays, there is club hour from 11:30-12:30, and no classes are held from 11:15 till 1; so pretty much you can join a club and get to know some people. There's a ton of clubs to choose from, so it's easy to find one that will interest you.

    Food and Dining

    The food is generally quite good; the cafeteria beneath the CCB building is good. Only thing is dislike is the price, which is slightly on the higher side (at least for me).

    Dorm Life

    There are not dorm's at NCC!

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are not extremely challenging, unless you are taking like 17 credits every semester (which I would say is fine for the first semester). Generally, you will get the grade you earn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you sign up for classes early! The classes will get full quite quickly, so you don't want to be late.

    In three sentences

    Whether you were a decent or great student in high school, NCC is a great college to begin with. The costs are low, and the professors are generally good too. Overall, I would say it's a good college.

  • 02/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Join the Outing club, lots of adventures, and fun

    Bang for the buck

    its cheap, and a good start

    What to do for fun

    people are chill, my firs semester i made friends we played ukelele around the campus singing and dancing.. the College union building is pretty fun also

    Food and Dining

    im a vegetarian, there is a great salad bar, red mango, taco bell has vegetarian options, so does the italian place but it is a bit pricy

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    in the science and mathematics department the classes are challenging and do require effort, but very do able

    Tips for prospective students

    dont fall into the cycle of a lot of the students that attend, its not a dead end and its not 13th year of highschool

    In three sentences

    a good start, value, at least in the bio, chem, and science departments dedicated knowledgable teachers. they apply the right amount of pressure on you, and truly want you to succeed. i do enjoy this school.

  • 03/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are usually a campus safety guard in every building, they have their own building and drive around campus in cars and in mini cars as well.

    Greek Life

    There isn't much Greek life at Nassau, just one club but it is for Honors students.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs are offered and meet during club hour which is 11:30 to 12:15, there are NO classes during club hour so you don't have to struggle to find a club that meets during hours that you can attend. There are many sports teams that are welcoming and all the coaches are extremely friendly. If you want to try out for a team, reach out to a coach and they will not turn you down, they will always help you out.

    Great for these types of students

    Great school for students who didn't do so well in high school. Nassau is a great place to save your money and pull up your grade to create a higher GPA for yourself. It's also great for those students who aren't ready to go away and handle the responsibility of living by themselves as well as college courses which are more difficult than high school classes. You don't get much individual attention, you have to seek the help you need which helps you grow and causes you to always take the initiative.

    Bang for the buck

    Since Nassau is a SUNY school many of your credits are transferred so instead of paying a lot to go away to school you are paying less for the same credits.

    What to do for fun

    There are many sports teams and clubs at Nassau. For fun you can join a sports team, attend a game, or join a club. Many of the clubs offer fairs. Last week there was a multi cultural fair with over 100 tables serving different kinds of food for everyone to try.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is filled with different food options especially healthy ones. There are many tables for you to eat inside and outside.

    Dorm Life

    Nassau doesn't offer any dorms. Many students that attend here live close to the school.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes you are taking, rigor can depend. Math and science classes take a lot of work. Some teachers give homework that is to be graded while others give homework that isn't ever checked, it's just for your own help. It all depends on teacher and course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should use Nassau as a great way to discover and lock in their future plans. Its a great way to get started especially if they have a low GPA or if they aren't ready to go away to school yet. Nassau offers a lot of helpful resources but you have to go after them, they are not handed to you.

    In three sentences

    Nassau is a large school with a large amount of students with a great focus on helping students to transfer to a 4 year school.

  • 06/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The dance majors, hip hop team, and basketball players are the most friendliest. They treat you like family.

    What to do for fun

    You can hang out in the college union or the CCB. Everyone is nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to become friends with the person next to you. It will pay off in the end.

    In three sentences

    Nassau Community College is one of the best community colleges. The professors here really care about the students. Attending Nassau was one of the greatest decisions I've ever made.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its okay, but not dangerous.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anime club, french club, disney club, movies club, fiction club, dance club, creative writing club, and many others.

    Great for these types of students

    Computer lab is great for kids that need to use the computers. the library is great place too study and borrow textbooks so you don't have to buy them.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm not sure about this.

    What to do for fun

    There's plenty of things too do for fun, they're clubs to join, you can do zumba, swim, or other things.

    Food and Dining

    The food is mostly fast foods places. But they do serve healthy foods too.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms at ncc

    Academic Rigor

    It's good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourselves , get to class on time, make sure you know the names of the buildings. If you drive get there early to get a parking space.

    In three sentences

    Ncc is a great college with great experiences for students. You meet great people that love the same things you love. The teachers are nice.

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    39 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs, from Anime, to fashion to international clubs

    Food and Dining

    There's a place to grab a bite on the first floor of the B cluster. there are many places to sit and eat on the campus especially at the entrance

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not yet started school so i do not know how the classes will be.

    In three sentences

    Majority of buildings were classes are help and other buildings such as the bursar and financial aid buildings are in walking distances of each other. The campus is nice and has lots of trees around. They have a payment plan which helps pay the tuition if someone has trouble paying.

  • 08/30/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    40 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see security officers near almost every building. They're friendly, will keep an eye out for you and will help you out when you're lost.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a huge list of clubs and sports. There's something for everyone!Interested in FWS? There's something to do in every department!

    Great for these types of students

    If you love trying out new things for affordable tuition. If you want a place where you can grow both academically and socially.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The buildings are hard to locate at first but you'll get used to it, it's just a big campus.

    Bang for the buck

    They offer a variety of financial aids, student loans and scholarships. FAFSA( Pell Grant and FSEOG),TAP, and also book vouchers. Check your NCC email daily, when you get an email from the advisement office, hurry and meet with them! To register for classes, as soon as your FAFSA is processed, go see an advisor or someone else for assistance,or you can register at home!

    What to do for fun

    Sports, clubs and hang out with buddies.

    Food and Dining

    Haven't attended classes yet so I do not know.

    Dorm Life

    I will not be residing in a dorm so I do not know much about this.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't started classes yet but it seems like there are classes of all kinds offered here. From easy-going and relaxed to competitive and challenging. A little something for everyone! Like to challenge yourself? Join the Honors Program!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go onto Nassau's website and read up on things you need to know for the admission processes. Apply for financial aid about 8-9 weeks before admission deadlines. Take your placement test and if you get a lower grade, you can try again! Always carry an ID and your N00 # for these. Hand in your immunization records and residency proofs.

    In three sentences

    It has a very high ranking amongst other colleges in Nassau and it's especially known for it's reputable and caring teachers and staff. Along with many varied degree offerings and affordable tuition.

  • 09/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of public safety.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    variety

    Great for these types of students

    Indecisive.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    unsure.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely getting my moneys worth.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out inbetween classes and make new friends.

    Food and Dining

    There are lots of dining options in the Cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The school has a great academic program for pretty much every intended major and really helpful professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus before your first day of classes, make all your classes consecutive, register early for classes, and the earlier the classes, the more difficult it will be to find parking spots.

    In three sentences

    Nassau Community College is a big campus. It has a lot of options for your future career goals. It is a great stepping stone to your future.

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although Nassau Community College has an open campus its safe. Security is present but you don't get the feel of a police presence hovering your every move. Students are mature so you do not see fighting and arguing everywhere.

    Clubs and Activities

    On campus there are plenty clubs and organizations to join. There are trips, tickets to NBA, NHL, NFL games at reduced prices. Mostly if you thought about it NCC has it or you can start it.

    Great for these types of students

    Nassau is great for any student whether you want to do accounting, fashion or engineering. Everything is there for your needs.

    Bang for the buck

    Nassau Community College is a very affordable school. You definitely get your moneys worth with the supreme education provided.

    What to do for fun

    Fun is what you make of it. There are plenty organizations to enjoy during club hour. There's open gym time to play some sports or even an entertainment room to play some video games. Even if you just want to hang out there are plenty places to sit and enjoy the sun.

    Food and Dining

    The CCB (student center) has healthy choices and your everyday food. Anyone can enjoy a salad or panini or maybe get some white castle or taco bell all on campus. Even off campus Chipotle, McDonalds, Checkers, etc. are all close.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. 100% commuter school accessible by Bus easily.

    Academic Rigor

    As an engineering student the curriculum is pretty top notch. All professors within the department have extra hours and are open to help. Classes aren't packed and there are enough help centers to get you through.

    Tips for prospective students

    Understand what major you want to do and meet with the faculty. Visit Nassau Community College and explore the campus.

    In three sentences

    Nassau Community College is a great school with a big campus. The student life is great which gives students a break from a in depth curriculum. Faculty is welcoming and there is plenty of opportunities to succeed.

  • 02/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The administration is great about communicating what is going on around campus. You see the security out around campus patrolling at all hours. If you ever have an issue, the security personnel are always there to help you.

    Greek Life

    I know nothing about this.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not tried any of the clubs or activities though I am sure they are great.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are not sure what you want to do, or you need to complete some prerequisites, well this is the place for you. Don't be shy, inquire and come visit the campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    I think for the costs you pay, the quality of education is completely worth it. The professors listen to you, the students are great and the administrators listen to you. What else could you ask for?

    What to do for fun

    From skydiving to movies, there are tons of fun things to do. The water is only 15 minutes away to take a stroll on the beach or take a 45 minute drive out east to go tour a vineyard. You will make your experience whatever it is you want it to be.

    Food and Dining

    There are tons of restaurants in the area from Chipolte, The Noodle Shop, Starbucks to upscale restaurants such as the Garden City Hotel.

    Dorm Life

    I can't comment on this, I never lived on campus here.

    Academic Rigor

    Listen, it comes down what you make of your situation. You will get whatever it is you put into your educational experience. At Nassau, you will be challenged, though if you come here to just get by, well I think you will get a mediocre experience. If you come to be challenged, you will maximize your educational opportunities here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Most students are afraid or ashamed to ask lots of students. My best advice is to ask tons of questions. The professors are here to help you learn and your job as a student is to learn, therefore speak up.

    In three sentences

    For an amazing hands on experience, Nassau Community College is the college for those students who want to learn in smaller classroom environments where you can get that personal experience with the professors who teach the classes. I have attended many different institutions and at the end of the day, Nassau is hands down the best institution for someone who wants to an interactive experience. I encourage any student interested in pursuing career advancements to challenge themselves with a course at NCC.

  • 02/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Work very hard even in the cold and rain. Always make sure the campus is clean and safe.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    very active groups and activities, they're always promoting new members to join and having fundraisers. Always have a speaker or concert going on, usually very informative.

    Bang for the buck

    VERY affordable. One semester here is a fraction of the cost of other schools.

    What to do for fun

    They have availability in the gym's for people who want to play volleyball, work out or go swimming. They also have a large field in the middle of campus for any activity you would like to do.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining isn't bad, very easy to get to since there is a main hall and a few smaller treat shops. They have a lot of different options to chose from, even vegetarian. Fast food style for when your running from class to class and affordable snacks.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life. Everyone commutes but it's beneficial because you can work or do other things and base it around your college life.

    Academic Rigor

    The work load, test's and studying is not hard. If you stay on top of everything and pay attention in class your bound to do well. Classes are easy to get to and there's a lot to offer.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your not willing to attend class you will not learn, and your not ready for school. Be ready and willing to receive what they have to offer, it'll be harder when you transfer out so be grateful.

    In three sentences

    This college is highly underrated. The teachers and how they teach really allow you to learn material rather then just sit in a classroom. It's all about being able to connect with the teachers and the material, they're really there to help.

  • 03/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The clubs are endless! And the campus is beautiful!

    Food and Dining

    I love the food choices! Theres so many!

    Dorm Life

    It's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Mostly all the professors have their PHD.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join the clubs! Go down to the cafeteria because they have great food and get to know your professors because they are really helpful!

    In three sentences

    Nassau Community College is a great affordable school. The professors know what they're doing and they have many clubs and activities. I would most definitely recommend this community college to anyone.