Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

National University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/25/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Choose a school that you are willing to represent and be proud of attending. If online or in-class works for you, or both, National may be for you. Definitely be prepared and organized!

    Bang for the buck

    As a new student, the costs are very high. Considering I'm doing online and I'm in a credential/Master's program, the price may be comparable to others equally.

    Will enjoy being here

    I'm actually doing an online program, so I won't be visiting any of the National sites much. Nevertheless, I'm excited to begin my program.

    Will learn a lot

    I'm looking forward to attending National. I think I will learn a lot and I can't wait!

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    national university is located in san diego county. there is the zoo, museums, theaters and beaches all within an hours driving distance to the campus.

    Food and Dining

    i don't know what national university's amenities are in this regard.

    Dorm Life

    i live off campus and am not aware if national university offers a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    i've found the classes to not be nearly as difficult as i had thought they would be. the amount of resources supplied online and through the textbooks are surprisingly comprehensive and informative, i haven't had any problem keeping up with the subjects.

    Tips for prospective students

    i found a great beginning to my education at national university with my admissions counselor. he was able to refer me to my financial counselor and plan my academic schedule completely.

    In three sentences

    national university has a comprehensive administration set up that makes registration and educational planning easier than i've seen at any other institution. i was able to become enrolled and begin my education path easily after a 10 year break, with classes that weren't over my head and instructors that answered all my questions and were very approachable. i would definitely recommend national university to any of my friends or family for furthering their education.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    State of the Art campuses.

    Great for these types of students

    working professionals

    Bang for the buck

    It's kind of expensive, but I'm used to CSUSB which is the lowest in the country.

    Academic Rigor

    Some instructors there are tough but that happens with all schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have been to physical classes before and know the time and dedication classes require you will do fine. Just keep up and keep ahead and you'll do great.

    In three sentences

    National University has a wide range of courses. Their instructors are quite diverse in knowledge and experience. Ever since I transferred here I stopped screwing around and got my academic path together, you kind of have no choice but to succeed with National University. I think I'll go there for Grad school too!

  • 03/11/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I don't know who can learn in that type of environment...certainly not me...I don't know that I would recommend the school for anyone. They certainly don't have the student's best interest in mind (the bottom line is how much money they can make).

    Tips for prospective students

    Just know what you are getting yourself into before you sign up with National University. They are very slick in the way they do things...and hopefully if you know what you're getting into you won't get messed over like I did.

    Bang for the buck

    If I could give a negative rating for this one I would. They outsourced my training without telling me and it was really bad to say the least. I am not stupid when it comes to the class I was taking...I had had some training previously...it just came down to the fact that the training stunk.

    Am enjoying being here

    Heck no (and that's putting it nicely)...it has been a nightmare from day one. A complete nightmare. I did an online course and they were so sneaky on the way they did things. I am just so thankful that I am done with them.

    Am learning a lot

    I learned not to try so hard...and to quit while you're ahead. I should have never worked so hard to go to National University. They are shady at best. I signed up to go to National University...I paid over $5,000 to go to what I thought was National University. They ended up outsourcing my training...and the training I received was a joke at best. I just finally quit it was so bad.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    5 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    From the posts I have read of current students, the academics are both fun and challenging.

    In three sentences

    National University is a great opportunity for me, as a military spouse living overseas, to achieve my goal in receiving my degree. The advisor that I have been conversing with has been a great help and answers all of my questions. Everyone at National University has gone above and beyond my expectations.

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    yes, good

    Clubs and Activities

    Soroptimist

    Great for these types of students

    all ages.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a expensive college. Try and get as much grands and keep applying for scholarships, even if you take financial aide.

    What to do for fun

    Make sure your classmates find you on facebook.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent. Demanding but structured. Sometimes the instructors are slow to grade but never slow to answer question pertaining to the study material and the assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you take the online classes make sure you keep up with the Discussion Boards and don't wait until last week to start any paper due for the class. If not the first week try and start the second, that way you get more time for revision and editing.

    In three sentences

    National University is highly acredited college with demending but excellent instructors. Classes are 4 week single subject formany which makes it easier to focus and finish the classes than the semester format. National University has excellent online courses that are quite demanding but very educational and structured to the topic of the particular course

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    More expensive than most colleges but worth the investment.

    What to do for fun

    Take time to do anything you can to destress and make yourself a productive student.

    Food and Dining

    No food and dining offered.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life offered.

    Academic Rigor

    You are given the tools necessary to succeed. It is all about how you allot your time and what you do with the tools given to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard especially if enrolled in an accelerated program.

    In three sentences

    The school is very knowledgeable in the areas of study that they offer. Staff is always willing to help out and insure we succeed. I feel that I am being prepared for my field of study with the most current information and skills.

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Parents and full time employees.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to campus early, the wifi gets overloaded around 5:15pm.

    In three sentences

    A fast paced environment with professionals who work in the fields they teach. Perfect for those who may have children and/or a day job. A safe and prosperous environment for military personnel and dependents.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    adult professionals and working class

    Food and Dining

    no cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    In three sentences

    Small classes, no waiting list for nursing program, friendly advisors convenient for working adults with kids

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is great for full time parents and workers that don't have time to attend traditiona classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I can't think of any.

    Bang for the buck

    It is definitely worth the money spent.

    What to do for fun

    I attend classes online so I am not sure about the area for fun events.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are extremely challenging, but that is a good thind. I feel I am getting a A++ education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have time for a one month intensive course. Course work can be demanding.

    In three sentences

    National University is challenging. It has awesome faculty. Assistance is always available for students.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The online program is great for parents and full-time employees, as well as military personnel.

    Tips for prospective students

    Professors respond to questions in a timely manner. Textbooks are available in either physical form or e-book format. Be prepared for a rigorous program and participation.

    In three sentences

    National University is excellent with their program availability. I am highly impressed with the involvement of the Department Director for my program of study. The professors are excellent with communication and assisting students.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I'm not done yet, but I certainly hope it's worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Use your imagination and create FUN!

    Food and Dining

    We have the best New Mexican food in town that you'll find anywhere!

    Dorm Life

    I have not utilized any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are not too rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships no matter where you go!

    In three sentences

    NAU is convenient. I like having the ability to take courses online. They are also accessible in person or via phone if I need them.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Its really expensive but its accelerated.

    What to do for fun

    Make friends with your fellow cohort, they are the only ones who truly understand what you're going through and they will have your back when life hits.

    Academic Rigor

    This is an accelerated program for the hardest bachelor's degree available.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective nursing students: make sure you can really afford to not have any time for anything but school. Seriously.

    In three sentences

    Most of the professors and clinical instructors are good. The administrative side is terribly unorganized and there seems to be little recourse for bad/ineffective professors. If you're in the nursing program (like me), prepare to give up your life for 22 months.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This institution is great for any one that leads a very busy lifestyle.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable tuition. Especially considering the quality of education you receive.

    What to do for fun

    Could not say, attended the school via distance learning.

    Food and Dining

    Attended the school via distance learning.

    Dorm Life

    Did not attend dorm, attended via distance learning.

    Academic Rigor

    As I stated previously: I learned more in 4 weeks than in 3 years.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep close contact with your instructors and advisers, their priority is your success.

    In three sentences

    The instructors and advisers are very attentive to my progress and needs as a student. The tuition is affordable. I learned more during the 4 weeks of my first course than I did in the 3 years I spent in the previous academic institution I attended.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is for fast paced students, students that get bored easily or students that want to get done faster.

    Food and Dining

    Our lunch/dinner breaks are not long so there is not a whole lot to eat that is fast. The school offers vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are not offered.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are 100% committed to going to school. National University is accelerated and at times can be very challenging. You get what you put into your studies.

    In three sentences

    National University has been an amazing school, the advisors are wonderful and help with anything. I have taken both online and on-campus classes and National makes it easy no matter what. I give National two thumbs up!

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    16 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    The computer science degree is very competitive in the level of courses that are required. I am confident that upon graduation, I will be equipped academically to compete with other top level schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the website to solidify which program track best suits them regarding course selection. The admissions counselor is very friendly and eager to help.

    In three sentences

    National University is a regionally accredited school offering many competitive academic majors. The school offers many of the degrees online and accessible to those pursuing an education while making a living in the work force. The diverse course selection and flexible attendance times set this school apart from other online schools.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Living at home.

    Food and Dining

    LIving at home

    Dorm Life

    This does not apply as I am living at home.

    Academic Rigor

    These classes are not easy. However, I think they will prepare you for teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to take your classes online, please explore every aspect of the website for every class. It is very easy to miss something. If you are planning on student teaching with National, make sure that you have an advisor who is on top of things. Mine was fired, and I missed some meeting dates, so now I am a semester behind, which is why I am applying for this scholarship. I will need the money to work on my masters degree in history while I am waiting to student teach.

    In three sentences

    National's online classes are preparing me for teaching. It requires working in classrooms in addition to school work online. When I complete the course work I feel that I will be well prepared to teach my subject area.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for returning students that want to finish their degree.

    Dorm Life

    There is no doorm life

    Academic Rigor

    if you complete all of your assigments on time, you should get a good grade on your class.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would like to advise to anyone who is interested in attending National University to be prepare to have a lot of homework and in order to succeed to make a schedule and follow it.

    In three sentences

    National University is great place to get your degree. I have been taking classes here to obtain my Bachelors for the past three months. I love the fact that the professors are actual people working in the field of the subject.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    non traditional or working stoduents

    Bang for the buck

    No wait lists and I will finish with my bachelor's faster than I could get an AA at a junior college, making the price well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    join their FB community and connect with other students in your same major.

    Dorm Life

    off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Fast paced, either 4 or 8 week classes, so you must stay on top of your studies, nearly impossible to catch up of you miss a class or fall behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Once you have submitted your transcripts for review, you can petition any classes that don't transfer over how you feel they should, and they are good about approving them. Also must stay on finance department to post aid and scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Great for non traditional students who can't get into a 4 year college. You can enroll and work on pre-requisites in a fast paced environment. More costly than a normal school, but you will get done quicker.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Full time workers, first time students, continuing education after a long time.

    Academic Rigor

    They have great programs that really gives you the education you seek.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to fit education in your busy life, this school really helps and has lots of programs to choose from.

    In three sentences

    It's a great place to start education or continue education. There are many online programs to choose from. You take one class a month which helps you focus on one subject at a time.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am an online student and have not been on campus.

    Greek Life

    I am not involved in Greek life at NU.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am an online student and am not involved in NU clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Speaking from an online student perspective, NU is a good school for those who are disciplined enough to work independently. I haven't had any trouble getting the classes I have needed. If you want or need to do school online, and especially if your employer is footing the bill (not the case for me), NU will help you achieve your goals.

    Bang for the buck

    You may be able to get an equivalent education for less by shopping other regionally accredited online colleges. And of course by doing as much as you can at the JC level.

    What to do for fun

    I am an online student and my fun activities don't center around campus.

    Food and Dining

    I am an online student and don't dine on or around campus.

    Dorm Life

    I am an online student and have never seen the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This is the sixth college I have attended, and I find that there are easy classes and hard classes wherever I have gone. NU will expose you to the required material, and require you to think critically about it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are an online or transfer student, do all or as many of your general education requirements as you can through your local JC to keep your costs significantly down. As with most colleges, there is a range of professors from great to not so much. Check rate your professor or ask around about which to steer towards and away from.

    In three sentences

    I attend online courses only. I love the convenience of not having to drive, park, and walk, and being able to do most things on my schedule. The cost is significantly higher than some UC/CSU schools, but if you can't be on campus (or don't want to), NU is a good school for getting it done online.

  • 09/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Organized and detailed oriented.

    What to do for fun

    Network with other students

    Academic Rigor

    The nursing program is very accelerated and requires a lot of work

    Tips for prospective students

    Classes are very fast paced. Don't fall behind in your reading and school work.

    In three sentences

    I will start Nursing school in October, and so far I love the school. Teachers are very helpful and the staff is too. The Nursing program has a very good reputation too.

  • 09/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nothing on campus.

    What to do for fun

    absolutely nothing.

    Academic Rigor

    No too much learning with online classes is like self-study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Watch the catch in financial aid department.

    In three sentences

    Good people. Bad financial aid department. Too irresponsible.

  • 09/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    NU Commons

    Great for these types of students

    Self-starter, and independent worker

    Bang for the buck

    Teachers are good and highly educated, they expect a lot but teach you a lot if you are willing to put in the work by going online daily and doing your readings.

    What to do for fun

    NU Commons

    Food and Dining

    It's my own cooking and I love it.

    Dorm Life

    It's my own home and I love it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your work. Don't slack, and tests and quizzes are all timed. You have to do the readings, participate in the live lectures, and discussion boards in order to pass the class.

    In three sentences

    Teachers are well educated in the courses they teach, they are very receptive to questions, and you actually do learn from an online program.

  • 10/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Totally safe as I never leave my home to go to campus.

    Greek Life

    No comment.

    Clubs and Activities

    No comment.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who can't or don't prefer to commute. Gas is almost five dollars a gallon and I never have been on campus yet. I have save lots of cash in gas money alone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Study from my pc at home.

    Bang for the buck

    N U is perfect for my pocket book. I will have a surplus of funds since I will qualify for Pell, SEOG, and Cal Grant! There is always students loans if I need more to go on. The value is outstanding at N U.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach or the mountains.

    Food and Dining

    I cook my own food because I like my food better than paying for someone else's. It tastes way better and the nutritional value can't be beat.

    Dorm Life

    I camp at home. My home, not folks. So I don't live on campus. I have my own place.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging at first; like riding a bike uphill. When you find your own pace, your momentum carries you. From there your will breeze right in to a new degree and a feeling of accomplishment like no other.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll. Apply yourself. Then, graduate to a better future.

    In three sentences

    N U is challenging. The accelerated pace of the online courses helps me stay focused. Five stars for N U bringing me that much closer to my Bachelors degree.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    National's unique course schedule leaves you plenty of time to do things you love to do! I use my time enjoy all San Diego has to offer such as surfing,snorkeling, hiking and rock climbing!

    Academic Rigor

    While classes are only a month long it is a very challenging month. National has a short amount of time to teach you a lot of information so it is easy to fall behind and very costly. Teachers do not except late work but as long as you stay up to date you will succeed!

    Tips for prospective students

    A good tip is to not be intimidated by the idea of online courses. In this same respect do not think it will be a cake either. These classes are only a month long so they have to pack a whole semester into this short amount of time.

    In three sentences

    I am currently attending National University in La Jolla, Ca. It is a regional accredited college with plenty of flexible online classes. Perfect for anyone who has to balance kids or a job while still attempting to complete school.

  • 12/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No history of car break ins or stolen items since I been a student at National University, The parking garage and parking lot at night has also been safe through the past year that I have been at National University.

    Greek Life

    Does not really exist at National University.

    Clubs and Activities

    NUSNA, is a great organization that nursing students at National University, because it opens up doors for job and volunteer opportunities. NUSNA, also connects students with other students who are further into the nursing program, giving them a chance to share helpful hints.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who can grasp concepts quickly within a week and for those who study well under plenty of stress and pressure. Also, great for those who know how to manage their time well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    After the a really challenging course, quiz, or final, students tend to celebrate at the local restaurants with food!

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty pricey for a nursing program, but you either save time with pre requisites and what not by going to National University or you save money by going else where.

    What to do for fun

    Talk to other students that are ahead of you in the program is really fun, because you get to know what you're in for in the next month!

    Food and Dining

    No cafeterias are present depending on which National University campus you're at. At Rancho Bernardo, you have to leave campus and drive around the block to find food, unless you want some chips and soda from a vending machine!

    Dorm Life

    No dormitories exist, because the campus is really small!

    Academic Rigor

    National University is perfect for anyone who doesn't mind being challenged by a fast paced 1 month course with the same curriculum of a semester course. The condensed time for studying 7-15 chapters worth of material in one week can definitely be difficult!

    Tips for prospective students

    Read assigned chapters before the day of lecture. Manage time well, don't wait the last minute to study, the weekend before the test or quiz should not be the first time test material is being reviewed.

    In three sentences

    National University is a 7/10. Minus 3 points for the class organization, material that is tested and expected of students, and the lack of the opportunity to be able to practice skills on a constant basis. Overall, National University is perfect for anyone who doesn't mind being challenged by a fast paced 1 month course with the same curriculum of a semester course.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Well, I attend school in the comfort of my home. I was in a class with a lady who had a daughter who attended the main campus in San Diego and she never informed us if her daughter was sexually assaulted, robbed, or kidnapped, so I am assuming this branch of National University is a peaceful and serene environment. Also, it is quite safe to walk on campus at night.

    Greek Life

    I am not sure they have fraternities and sororities, but if it is a public institution they might have students who make up fraternities such as Kappa Alpha Psi and Omega Psi Phi.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am an English major, so National University has a social organization for aspiring English teachers and writers.

    Great for these types of students

    National University is great for students who are self-motivated and possess an unwavering desire to obtain a substantial amount of knowledge. Also, it is suitable for individuals who are introverted, but find pleasure communicating with others through electronic messages and posting their thoughts and opinions in classroom discussions which are also called discussion boards.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well, I have never been on the campus of National University's main campus. Sadly, I only attend its interactive campus.

    Bang for the buck

    National University is an affordable academic institution. The courses are set at a reasonable price and their financial aid department is committed to helping its students fund their education.

    What to do for fun

    I love to read and write which coincides with one another. Also, I love to write poetry, listen to soulful music, spend my time on Facebook and other social networks, and go shopping.

    Food and Dining

    Although I miss dining in on campus during my undergraduate years, I love the fact that I can eat my mother's delicious home cooking and go out for Chinese food sporadically.

    Dorm Life

    National University is an online school, so a student who attends this academic institution would probably live with their parents are live on their own.

    Academic Rigor

    All of my classes are in the length of four weeks, so I would advise anyone to study hard and strive to work up to their full potential. These courses can be challenging, yet rewarding at the same time.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise anyone who is desiring to attend this school to develop a strong relationship with your classmates and professors through communicating with them on a regular basis. Also, I would encourage you to do your best in your courses, so that you can take more than one class at a time. National University is an online school and if you don't have a high grade point average you can only take one class at a time which will cause you to be in school longer than students who attend a public four year institution.

    In three sentences

    I am currently attending National University in hopes of obtaining a Master's of Arts in English. I am so elated that I selected this academic institution to pursue a higher education. Because I am a proud student at National University, I am able to learn the information and skills I need to become an extraordinary and unforgettable English professor at a Historically Black College or University.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't heard of anything bad happening.

    Greek Life

    None that I'm aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't had time to look into any school-based clubs or activities. I've been too busy working and applying for scholarships.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who work day jobs or have kids. Most of their courses are available online.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing so far. I have only been going there for a few months.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm told it's relatively expensive compared to state schools, but the upside is that I think they accept everyone and you can start any month of the year.

    What to do for fun

    They do have a Facebook page for students to meet and plan events and activities, but otherwise, all the fun is off campus. I go to the San Diego campus so there's lots to do in San Diego, CA.

    Food and Dining

    There might be a food court or cafeteria at some of the campuses, but I haven't eaten at one.

    Dorm Life

    As far as I know, there are no dorms at any of National University's campuses. The school is geared more toward people who work or have families. It's not really geared toward students who are coming straight out of high school.

    Academic Rigor

    I think the amount of homework and studying is the same as most colleges. It's just that the format is different. You take one class per month at National instead of 4 or 5 classes per semester at a regular college. So you end up reading through a whole textbook in one month, but that's the only class you're taking for that month. So if you add up the total number of hours per month you'd spend on all your classes at a regular college, then you'd probably spend the same number of hours for your one monthly class at National. So in the end, you spend about the same amount of time studying and doing assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's relatively expensive per class, so speak to their financial aid office. You don't have to wait for the fall or spring semesters to start taking classes. They accept new students any month of the year. And I don't think they turn anyone down. As long as you're willing to pay, they'll take you.

    In three sentences

    It has a one class a month format instead of the traditional multi-class semesters. It's strictly academic, so there are no school sports teams. The student body are mostly people who work full time and want to take classes at night or online.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never felt unsafe on the online campus!

    Great for these types of students

    National is great for the non-traditional types - people who have famliies, jobs, and life experience. National is also a top choice among military members.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have the tradition of forgetting my student ID number and having to look it up in my email everytime I log in to the SOAR Student Portal (does that count as a location on campus?).

    Bang for the buck

    Like other private universities, National is pretty expensive compared to state colleges. However, the value is quite good compared to other online programs especially considering it is regionally-accredited.

    What to do for fun

    What should you do for fun when you are in the online program... well, you could hop over to Wikipedia (but don't cite it in an academic paper!).

    Food and Dining

    Obviously I haven't experienced any on-campus dining in the online program (and I'm not that great of a cook).

    Dorm Life

    My two-bedroom apartment is the best dorm on National's online campus ... Obviously there are not dorms, but for the opportunity to socialize and network both online and IRL join the NU Commons Facebook community or join alumni groups on LinkedIn.

    Academic Rigor

    I have found the coursework to be very fast-paced, thought-provoking, and challenging. Just because it is online doesn't mean it is self-paced - you have to keep up. In writing classes, for example, you must expect assignments every day and a paper every week.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for an online education, National University is one of just a few major players in that space that is regionally-accredited. That is what made the decision easy for me. They do offer on-campus programs throughout California as well.

    In three sentences

    National University has an innovative one-class-a-month format and many online programs. Some of the many excellent resources they offer include a large online library, free web-based writing and math tutoring services, and Student Conceirge Services advocates who are available to answer your questions about financial aid, class registration, or any other issues that you may have 24 hours a day. Most importantly, National University is one of the only major players in online education that is both regionally-accredited and a non-profit university.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have only gone to one location, spectrum, and it is a beautiful campus. it is small but it works. across the street there is a library that is open to students for free.

    Food and Dining

    there is a student lounge with vending machines and a microwave, which was very convenient. There was also a small kitchen that serves really good food at a decent price.

    Dorm Life

    Did not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Homework would take at least 2 hours to understand, at the simplest. Studying seemed as if it was a 24/7 job. Anytime extra time you could do studying would not hurt.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure that you do well on the course the first time-classes are not cheap Everything is accelerated, so keeping up on the studying and homework is a MUST. It is very easy to get left behind and harder to get back on track.

    In three sentences

    The environment for the school is great. The students seem very eager to learn and the teachers seem to be as helpful as they can be. All the work that is done in classrooms and at home really do help with test and major exams throughout the course.

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    32 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe environment.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am giving National University 4 stars with regards to clubs and activities. I believe National University should strengthen its social networking through international alumni associations. I think this issue could be remedied.

    Great for these types of students

    National University is appropriate for those students who love to write. This applies not only to the writing and English programs. One has to be able to do a lot of communication by means of online discussion boards, and one must also write papers. I would only recommend this school to serious students of all ages. It is also convenient for adult learners and those who have full time employment. You choose when you want to study and participate. Live events are not always required if they do not fit the students' work schedules.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    National University has several branches across the country. I noticed there is one even in Atlanta where I live.

    Bang for the buck

    Not only did I publish in 5-6 books and magazines after I graduated, but I also got a job as a teacher in the public schools. I am currently taking strategic communications classes (at National University) that I need to pursue college teaching and publishing. As an adult learner who wanted to expand her horizons, this school met my needs. I wanted to be academically challenged and National University met my expectations! This school has new and innovative strategies for utilizing technology!

    What to do for fun

    I was in the online writing and English programs so I cannot rate some aspects of life in La Jolla.Based on my research, it does look like there is a lot to do in La Jolla. I would plan on staying in the area for a week when you graduate.

    Academic Rigor

    I had previously completed a Masters in Foreign Language at an Ivy League School. I recognized that the Creative Writing and English Literature Programs were both rigorous. The screenwriting courses were the most difficult, so I would take an introductory screenwriting course before enrolling in National University's graduate level offering. Prospective applicants might wish to see whether their professors will be adjunct or full time professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Most of the courses are intensive. Adult learners are serious about learning. Be sure to have a calendar and write down your due dates for assignments at the beginning of the courses. Typically, you will have to interact with other students on a discussion board weekly, and you will have a longer paper due weekly. At the end of the month, a major assignment will be due. National University also provides live discussions for some of the courses.

    In three sentences

    This university has a wonderful creative writing department at the graduate level. I would highly recommend the creative writing degree to serious writers who aim to be published. I found a nonfiction publisher for my chapters as soon as I completed my degree from this school. Great fiction, creative nonfiction and poetry programs!

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good security

    Great for these types of students

    Busy life

    What to do for fun

    This is a school focused on just school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of school work and read the text book!

    In three sentences

    National University is a fast paced learning environment. It is great if you are a working professional. If you can stay focused and want to stay on track, this is the school for you!

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I go to the San Diego campus, so there is a ton to do...beach! School offerings are non existent.

    Food and Dining

    Small cafeteria at the Main campus. Good food and very friendly.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers expect a lot from their students, and really want you to learn the information.

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to be ready for fast paced classes, don't put off studying because a month goes by quickly!

    In three sentences

    Great school, I love the fast paced class schedule. They don't work on the typical 4-5 classes a semester, you take one class at a time for a month or 2 depending upon the credits.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Once your Academic Transfer Info is finished plan out your full degree and schedule classes ASAP otherwise scholarships are impossible to earn.

    In three sentences

    NU can be fully online. NU is super fasted paced. NU is challenging.

  • 04/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to improve writing skills, alot of your grade is based on how well you written communication skills.

    In three sentences

    Very high paced courses, and alot of writing. Some benefits to 1 class a month and some downfalls. Lastly some courses I find to be a waste of time and money.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a security guard - does a great job

    Greek Life

    unaware

    Clubs and Activities

    none that I'm aware - a big negative. However, NU Commons is helpful to reach out to others across the state in your field (or not).

    Great for these types of students

    Those who don't want to fade into the background of 299 other students. If you like to have one-on-one attention, a great support system.

    Bang for the buck

    I suppose it is more than a state college, but close to what you'd pay for a private school. The plus is they are lenient and helpful when it comes to financial aid. You literally have nothing holding you back from going. I was able to attend up to 3 classes while my financial aid was processed.

    Academic Rigor

    More challenging that I expected

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to put in work! It's not a coaster ride, but the small classroom is worth it!

    In three sentences

    The teachers are very knowledgeable and helpful. Course outlines are usually clear-cut and you know what's expected of you. The best part for me is the networking because the teachers work in the field they're teaching.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Some campuses have a cafeteria and some campuses do not, overall the food is really good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses do go by very fast, I've been through impacted programs before so I know what to expect. Be ready to complete more than 2 chapters every class meeting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your studies because this school offers impacted courses, 1 month to complete each course you take. One week you have lectures and then you have an exam or quiz the next week. Keep your nose in the books. Also, make sure you have a lot of study time.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are extremely helpful when you have questions that need to be answered. When applying for this school, the academic advisors are thorough with each program you are interested in. And The class sizes are decent.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's om San Diego. There is a lot to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Online classes are great, but I would recommend trying a few on site courses as well.

    In three sentences

    THe school offeres online and in class courses. It is quick with their one month long courses. I enhoyed getting my degree done fast.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    Greek Life

    None that I am aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    None that I am aware of.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuter, busy schedule, paraprofessional, thinking of going back to school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes it is an expensive university given it is private.

    What to do for fun

    Outside activities, given the campus is more commuter friendly.

    Food and Dining

    None, I live off campus.

    Dorm Life

    None.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent. It challenges you and also tests your knowledge and abilities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please do your research of all universities and campuses for the number one program you are looking for. Rate between universities and colleges.

    In three sentences

    Excellent. It accomodates students' schedules. Very expensive, though.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    41 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students who are working and only have time for night/weekend classes or online classes.

    What to do for fun

    surf, golf, sports, hang with friends

    Food and Dining

    live off campus, but i dont think theres much for dining

    Dorm Life

    live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    One class per month seems like it shouldn't be too much of a workload

    Tips for prospective students

    great online classes, easy to adapt to.

    In three sentences

    So far the admissions and financial aid departments have helped me a lot. I like the flexibility of the school with online and on campus classes. The campus is modern with new computer labs and relevant majors and concentrations.

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While we have a security guard that sits in the lobby, they won't allow students to park close to the entrance. We have to park all the way on the other side of the lot which is dimly lit at night when you get out of class.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want a miserable experience then this college is for you. Honestly, I thought it was only certain people that have problems... I thought I was not one of them. Everyone in the nursing program has problems with this school! Out of all the students I have talked to, not ONE person from my cohort (or others) have said they would return.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is raised at least EVERY 6 months to stay competitive. Which is a crock because if they would take out their recruitment centers from the malls and a little less advertisement would help out a LOT!

    Food and Dining

    Only vending machines, but I don't know about the other campuses

    Academic Rigor

    One class teaches you one way how to do it, and the next class tells you that the other way was wrong... it makes it really fun ;)

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't GO!

    In three sentences

    RUN!!!! Don't walk.... run away from this school! Headaches from day one, no communication between departments. Some of the teachers are good... only some. As a nursing student, I am kind of stuck but I would never attend again, even if tuition was free.

  • 08/02/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    43 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    No food and dining, classes are online.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. Classes are online.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes go by fast and there is a good amount of work, stay on top of your reading and always participate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Follow up with your classes and don't be afraid to ask questions if you are confused. Staff is very knowledgeable.

    In three sentences

    The campus is clean, and the staff is very helpful.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Gym.

    Food and Dining

    No food and dinning.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Any program will be rigorous. This school is accelerated. Be prepared to give up your social life.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definetely do research about the top 2 schools you are considering before making a decision. Ask current students about their experience.

    In three sentences

    I feel the local branch is not equipped with seasoned employees. There is a lot of confusion about schedules, financial aid, and program requirements. I would not reccommend friends to attend National University.

  • 11/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    non-existant

    Great for these types of students

    Working adults

    Bang for the buck

    Cheaper than other private universities.

    What to do for fun

    none. this is solely to get your education completed.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life because most of the students are working adults.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say that it is pretty rigorous because one subject is jam packed in 4 weeks. The teacher cannot teach you everything so you have to do a lot of self-study and learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you choose this school, be prepared to be focused on getting school work done because 4 weeks flies by and if you mess up the first week, its hard to make a comeback.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school if you are trying to get your degree as quickly as possible. I love the class format because you can really focus. The advisors and faculty really try to help you succeed.

  • 12/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Parents, full time workers

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are pricey, but you reach your goal a lot faster than the traditional college setting.

    Food and Dining

    I don't live on campus

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    The course work is demanding due to the fast pace. As long as you do not allow yourself to get behind, it is possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    You must be disciplined in order to be successful. Time management is they key.

    In three sentences

    This university has an excellent faculty, they are involved and attentive to their students. The courses are fast paced and extremely flexible. This is an excellent school for anyone who works or is raising a family.

  • 12/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Study

    In three sentences

    National University in convenient. They work around a full time working schedule. Fast pace courses. Every month there is a new class.

  • 12/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No Campus.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    No clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for students who are dedicated and are interested in self motivated work.The majority of the students that attend national have a career path they know.

    What to do for fun

    This is an online school.

    Food and Dining

    There is no food or dining at this school.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging. The classes last a month in total. If you are dedicated yo put in the time and planning then it is beneficial.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to be, if you are not already, an independent, self motivated thinker. The courses require you to use time management to achieve all task. If you keep this in mind you will excel in this school.

    In three sentences

    National University facilitates me studying on my time . The staff is helpful and encouraging.The classes that they provide are challenging ,but help me become the teacher I want to be.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No rating, I have not experienced campus safety although campus grounds are well kept and in good areas.

    Greek Life

    I do not believe there is a Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    No rating. I have not experienced clubs or school related activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want a fast paced, focused curriculum.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No rating. I have not experienced anything unusual.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are expensive and information is relevant but until I'm in my classes for my specific major, I feel its a little on the expensive side.

    What to do for fun

    I live in San Diego, so there's always something to do around here.

    Food and Dining

    No rating. I have not eaten on campus.

    Dorm Life

    No rating. I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I love the accelerated class format (one class per month) which creates a tough schedule but with little time to become uninterested. There is always something to be doing or reading. It's tough, but amazing at the same time.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're using financial aid, start early on your FAFSA and FA paperwork.

    In three sentences

    My experience so far at National has been great. I love the accelerated classes and the availability of classes. The teachers have been excellent and the class sizes are relatively small.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Since I take classes online I am not aware of the food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    In three sentences

    Currently enrolled in the Online program. Professors are awesome and very interactive throughout the course.

  • 02/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well I really do not have time for fun because I work 12 hour shifts then I get online and start doing my homework.

    Food and Dining

    Live on my own.

    Dorm Life

    I live on my own.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a very intense program because all courses are one month and then you move on to your next class. It's insane because you start the course and then next thing you know you are done with it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of all your deadlines because if you miss one assignment you will regret it. Every point counts and it's very important that you do not miss any assignments.

    In three sentences

    The best experience I've had attending College. You get to choose at what time you do your work as long as you turn it in before the deadline you are fine. Great University for those who work, have children, or just are not the sit in class type of person.

  • 02/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Moms or full time worker

    What to do for fun

    Fun? No, college isn't for fun. College is for those who want to succeed and no time for that. Just get it done to move on to your career and then have fun!

    Food and Dining

    Doesn't supply food, but restraunts close to school

    Dorm Life

    Doesn't supply dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Easy to get in Ask your advisor if they have a college background knowledge so they can help you with making your schedule adequately Research what you want and look at your prerequisites for those classes. Be prepared and know what you want. Don't let anyone influence what your goals should be.

    In three sentences

    Works with a busy schedule Allows you opportunity to accel quicker Wish it was cheaper

  • 02/19/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    53 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    they have great counselors that guide you through the whole process.

    In three sentences

    great school, love the campus and teachers

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports,Church, beach

    In three sentences

    Very accommodating, Helps students with some tutors and fast paced.

  • 03/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who live in remote areas and students who need to work or care for children.

    Bang for the buck

    NU is expensive, but for the accelerated pace and ability to take online courses, it's worth it. The level of education is excellent. I may have been able to get a similar level of education at another University, but not while living in my location and working full time. Nor could I have done so in such a short time.

    What to do for fun

    Plan on concentrating more on your coursework than your social life while you attend National, especially if you are working full-time. The accelerated schedule means focusing on your coursework almost all of the time.

    Food and Dining

    I took online courses. I'm not sure that food is offered on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live in a dorm, and don't think that NU offers dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses at National University are fast-paced, because of the accelerated schedule. Don't imagine that just because the courses are fast paced, or because you are taking courses online, that it will be easy. The instructors are all wonderful and also demanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to read, research and write more than you have probably ever done in your school experience, especially if you are taking online courses. The online coursework is interactive, but mainly in the form of writing and responding to other student's written work. If you are disciplined, the accelerated format is completely doable, but if you are not, you might have a hard time.

    In three sentences

    National University provided me with an opportunity to get my degree while working full-time and living in a remote area. The instruction and course materials at National are top-notch. I've taken both online and traditional courses at other Universities and National University provided a wonderful and complete learning experience.

  • 04/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus, clean and tidy too.

    Greek Life

    None here.

    Clubs and Activities

    In whatever program you are in- there are usually ways to get involved. study groups are the best way to succeed and make new friends.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes aren't cheap, again- don't wait to apply for those scholarships. I haven't gotten any yet- but don't give up!

    What to do for fun

    Depending on where your campus is. I am new to the sacramento campus and Im still exploring.

    Food and Dining

    No cafeteria here.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here but they will help you find housing and roommates if needed.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are tough, but you usually only face one at a time. The school is fast paced but well worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stop waiting! Go apply and find those scholarships.

    In three sentences

    National University has allowed me to finally finish college! They make it simple and guide you step by step to completing your program. I am thankful I have found national university and am moving towards my future.