Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Navarro College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great for all types of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Seeing that this is my first year the most tips that I can give is study study study It will play a major roll in everything you do in class. show up everyday and on time as much as possible and you will be a step closer in succeeding.

    Bang for the buck

    What can I say You will get your moneys worth plus..

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it. Didn't anticipate on going,but don't have any regrets about it.

    Am learning a lot

    Coming out of High School into college you're guaranteed to learn something and everything I've learned so far has been interesting and will be much help to my future.

  • 11/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Frugal, introverted, new to college life, interested learners, and those that just want a new degree

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize the Corsicana campus for all financial needs, or learn on your own. Make the most of your experience by doing well in your classes, and definitely go for an associate's degree. The core curriculum required for it will automatically transfer (plus a few more hours) to any Texas school [possibly others, too]. The degree makes it to where the school has to accept 60+ hours of your courses, and it cannot be picked apart. They can, however, throw things out such as orientation, but they still credit you with a few hours from it at the school you transfer to.

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers are worth it, and so are some of the staff. However, their financial aid department (on the Waxahachie campus) leave much to be desired. They are not very helpful, and they are very matter-of-fact. That would not be a bad thing if they actually helped you and guided you. I am a first generation college attendee, and they gave me no help or guidance. So, for my associate's degree, I had to pay out of pocket. You'll have to learn on your own, or (maybe) go to the Corsicana campus for help.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have been to both the Corsicana and Waxahachie campuses for courses. Both of them are very clean, the teachers and administrators are friendly, and they love seeing their students excel.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers I have had, especially in the science and math departments, are very good about teaching you exactly what you need to know. They show interest in the subject that they teach, and they guide you when need be.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are up to thirty different clubs and organizations offered at Navarro, and plenty of opportunity to start a club of your own if you wish. Leo CLub, for instance offers community service projects, which not only involves college students but also to the surrounding community. The Honors Program offers community service and academic excellence and comes with a few benefits upon acceptance. A newly formed club called, The International Justice Mission, or IJM, focuses on helping and aiding those bound in human trafficking cases. There are social, academic major based, and volunteer clubs here that would suit anyone's personality.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of sources for those looking for something fun to do at the Navarro College campus. Participating in one of the thirty clubs on campus is a sure fire way to become involved with others, the community, make friends, and also have a great time. The town itself caters to Navarro College residents by offering student discounts at places such as CiCi's, the Bowling Alley, Denny's, and Pollo Regio.

    Food and Dining

    I was certainly impressed with the variety of choices Navarro's food and dining has to offer. This year, in the month of March, National Health Month was celebrated by introducing new, healthier food choices in the school's cafeteria. This change was for the interest of those looking for healthier, more vegetarian food choices which is great for a growing college. The college not only hosts a cafeteria, but a deli, as well. Access is simple, fast, and easy. Food portions are aplenty and caters to every culture.

    Dorm Life

    Community rings true with dorm life, here, at Navarro College. The RA's communicate actively with residents and there are lots of neat offers for those involved with dorm life. Barbeque and crawfish cookouts are just a couple events hosted by the Resident Life crew. Their commitment and dedication to the residents are superb, all the while accomplishing their own academic pursuits.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic success is important to the instructors here. If one needs help with understanding an assignment or tutoring, help is readily available, if one seeks it out. The classwork is enough to keep you busy, but still become involved with outside clubs and organizations. If one works hard and shows their instructor effort, then one's grade will reflect grandly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for those looking into attending Navarro College would be this: Get to know your instructors by visiting them during office hours and do not be afraid to ask them for advice or help, connect with your classmates, and lastly, involve yourself in the numerous clubs and activities Navarro has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Navarro College inspires growth. With Navarro, paying for education is affordable. Navarro College cares about your education and success.

  • 02/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious. Rosie's Deli great place to grab a snack. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner always there to fill you up.

    Dorm Life

    Great dorm life, Something you will never forget. Get to meet new people and get along. Also you get to learn to be more independent.

    Academic Rigor

    Instructors are passionate about what they teach. Classes are not hard, but must put 100% of your effort. Learning experience is serious and great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and everything will be great. You must meet the president of the college, very nice person. And need to visit the library, it will become your best friend.

    In three sentences

    It is a great experience. Amazing campus and instructors. Will be amaze by the outstanding instructors.

  • 06/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Navarro college has a great greek life. If you are looking for a new and fun way to make friends and experience the greek life I Defintely reccomend joing the NC Bulldog Step Team

    Great for these types of students

    This college is a perfect college for anyone who is looking to attend a college that is only an hour away from the dallas area, and a great place to make new friends or reunite with old friends

    What to do for fun

    There are many fun things to do if you stay on campus on the weekends. There is a local shopping mall that has many stores such as Rue 21, and Bells

    Food and Dining

    Navarro College has a great varity of food selections, plus they also have some outstanding deserts

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorms are located next to different buildings which makes it a great way to be on time for your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make an effort to attend all of your classes becuase most of the time the professors will give u hints and shortcuts that might help you on tests and finals.

    In three sentences

    Navarro College is a great two year community college. Everyone is friendly and willing to make sure that you start your college year off to a clean and fresh start. I reccomend checking this college out.

  • 02/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    at the waxahachie location they just recently opened a deli. so far so good.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are planning on enrolling in a nursing program, it is hard work but it is so worth it.

    In three sentences

    i am currently enrolled in the lvn program. i would recommend this school to any prospective students. i am enjoying the experience.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    our campus is very safe i dont have to worry about anything hurting or destroying me.

    Bang for the buck

    i moved here my freshmen year of highschool after loosing my mother from getting beat to death by my abbusive father. you guys are probably like why dont she have any frinds, well when i lost my mother i felt like i became afraid of people that i truly dont know. it's hard for me to trust and love people i stay to myself. later on down the road i knew i had a passion for children and i always wanted to let them know that it is ok to talk when you need to. because i understand how it feels to hold everything inside and not let it out. because i was that girl that always said im fine, i'm ok. but deep inside i was hurting and wanted to give up many times but i knew god was not finished with me. i want to major in social work with foster children and help and provide for them in any way that i can.

    What to do for fun

    for fun when i can have fun i usually go home, and hang with family. i dont have alot of friends in college.

    Food and Dining

    navarro has great food and a variety just in case you dont want pizza you have other options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is fun, and very interesting. it can be a good thing and a bad thing, because your mostly with friends and sometimes you may get distracted from doing what is more important such as studying and going over notes.

    Academic Rigor

    most of professors grade test

    Tips for prospective students

    1st attend all of your classes 2nd stay focus and turn in every assignment on time 3rd take notes ans ask questions do not be shy 4th study for all exams

    In three sentences

    navarro is a well known jr.college that lives by it's model succeding together. it has made my self esteem higher, and made me know that i can do anything i put my mind to and always believe in myself. navarro also has made me a better person inside and out.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    its good for all kind of students

    What to do for fun

    they have rec sports like 7 on 7

    Tips for prospective students

    watch who,talk to

    In three sentences

    it is a good school to attand to. the teachers are love to help

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    volleyball/ softball/ basketball/ soccer band 2 years jazz band 1 year spanish club 3 year chess team 1 year – member of all- state deca 2 year- participate on competition for all regions powerlifting 1-year national honor society national honor society officer academic sweater

    Bang for the buck

    i came to the united states when i was only eight years old. my goal was to talk english; it took me about four years to learn and understand. people sometimes made fun of my accent, or laughed because i said the words all backwards. they told me that i would never learn to talk well, and to stop trying that i was just wasting my time. these people said i would, would never be someone in life that i would never move to the next level. now i speak two languages and talk very well. this is because i never stopped trying. now i want to show everyone filled my ears with negative comments that i can be a success. even god, said because you have so little faith. i tell you the truth, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, 'move from here to there' and it will move. nothing will be impossible for you. i believe also faith is the first step up, even when you do not see the whole staircase. if i have to keep walking so i can see every staircase, if i just stay in the same place i will never see new things. i have come too far to stop. i want to get more education and learn more if i stop i will stop learning and knowing things. out there are many things left to discover, i and would like to discover them and find a solution so other people can live comfortable in the future.

    What to do for fun

    play soccer and sometimes chess

    Food and Dining

    i love chinese and italian food

    Academic Rigor

    a college education appreciates in value instead of depreciating. being educated is to be healthier and better human being. receiving a college degree will make me well-rounded and prepared for the professional world. obtaining an education is challenging and expensive but at the end i will receive the well-deserved compensation

    Tips for prospective students

    choice something that really you like. make good decisions.

    In three sentences

    1. i wanted to create a positive atmosphere for my family so i can become a better role model for my future children. 2. express my thoughts clearly in speech and in writing, and make wise decisions. 3.. i want to be able to have a family without financial stress and worries.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have never had any problem with campus safety. in orientation they provided a telephone number to call if you feel unsafe to walk to your car. the campus police are not sparse and are very friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    i was really involved in biology club and absolutely loved it. they are really involved and include a great variety of things. i had no problem finding clubs to get into.

    Great for these types of students

    great for small town kids who are broke. teachers will take their time with you and make sure you are learning the materials. they really care about their students.

    Bang for the buck

    all my credits will transfer to my next college and i will transfer with my associates. tuition is a inexpensive (about 3000 a semester) and you get quite a bit for it.

    What to do for fun

    corsicana does not really have a mall, but they have a good many small shops. they just put in a new movie theatre, and you are about and hour or two away from dallas.

    Food and Dining

    the food is really good and inexpensive! i can get eggs two strips of bacon and two biscuits for five bucks and it actually tastes good. they have a variety of foods that are really inexpensive.

    Dorm Life

    i do not really know because i did not live in a dorm. quite a few of my friends lived in dorms and enjoyed them but dorms are only available at the corsicana campus.

    Academic Rigor

    i am working full time and i took sixteen hours last semester. while i did have to forfeit my personal life, i did not spend an outrageous amount of time studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved with the school. navarro has a great many things to do and a lot of great programs. do not be afraid to dig in to the college culture.

    In three sentences

    they have good teachers and decent facilities, although i never lived in a dorm. your going to learn a lot and have fun doing it. my only regret is not moving into a dorm instead of living at home.

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    11 of 44

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    i think that navarro college is a great place for beginning college students. it is small and the teachers are very helpful. i look forward to attending navarro.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the GIB(recreation center), workout, or play sports in the gym

    Food and Dining

    3 meals are offered in the dining hall

    In three sentences

    At Navarro College you will definitely find a unique teaching environment, where faculty act as mentors and help students grow academically and socially. Navarro College was recently named “The Fastest-Growing Public Two-Year College in the Nation” by Community College Week. I am very happy that I chose this college to help me get started with my career!

  • 03/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that work all the time can still take classes online or all during the day whenever it is good for the student.

    What to do for fun

    You can go out to eat, go see a movie, or bowling.

    In three sentences

    The instructors make learning the information exciting and find ways to help every student understand the materials.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Corsicana has a movie theater with putt-putt, go karts & a game room. There are several resturants and a small outlet mall, but 30 mintues from Ennis, not too far.

    Food and Dining

    I have never ate there.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention to deadlines and make sure all paperwork is filled out correctly and completely.

    In three sentences

    The south campus is very convenient. Faculty are friendly and helpful. The south and main campus are very nice.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Make sure nobody steals your stuff.

    Greek Life

    NO greek life. 2 year school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Athletics is really good here. Football,softball,baseball,basketball,soccer. We are awesome in sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, in-state students.

    Bang for the buck

    In-state is really cheap and worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Make A LOT of friends who live off campus.

    Food and Dining

    A lot of times the food sucks at the cafeteria. But i guess it`s cheaper.

    Dorm Life

    The new dorms are nice but I live in the old ones. HORRIBLE. RA`s are really strict and you have curfew after 11 etc.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers and professors are really nice and helpful. Not too hard but different than high school. Lots of classes offered here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay away from bad company! Stay focused on your school work and you can save a lot of money here for 2 years. Make sure you`ll join a club or something that will keep yourself busy. Challenge yourself and you`ll be fine.

    In three sentences

    NC is a good school with great teachers and professors. It`s in a small town so there is not much to do but if you`ll join a club you`ll be fine anyways. The campus is actually really nice for a 2-year school.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    One of the best organizations is Recreation and Sports. They provide various sport leagues open to any student interested. There is also a great recreation room for students to play pool, ping pong, air hockey, basketball, volleyball, workout or just enjoy the flatscreen tvs.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining services provide quality food that makes the students feel close to home. The menu provides variety and even vegetarion options. The food and dining services even provide a chance to make suggestions of food to add to the menu.

    Dorm Life

    All the residence halls provide a comfortable standard of living at a affordable price. The Residence Life team works hard for the residents to maintain a positive and productive environment. Also, there is usually regular social and educational events for the residents to engage in.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging but not overbearing. With the right attitude and study habits these classes can be very rewarding. Navarro College gives you all the tools you need to succeed. The rest is up to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all the various resources Navarro has to offer. From academics, future planning, financial, organizations. They are all here for you so talk to them and see what they can do to help you reach your goals.

    In three sentences

    Its a great college for traditional freshman as well as more advanced students. The staff are always friendly and helpful. The cost is affordable and the courses transfer to most universities.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    there always doing something

    Great for these types of students

    yea its perfect for anyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    some what

    Bang for the buck

    yea,i guess

    What to do for fun

    not much

    Food and Dining

    it alright

    Academic Rigor

    really good

    Tips for prospective students

    none

    In three sentences

    Its small but really cool. The teachers are really nice and there to help. the staff always there to help you on anything

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I'm going for the summer, so they don't offer as many extracurricular activities as in the fall.

    Food and Dining

    They have snack machines that are a little pricey but in the bookstore, they have the cheapest muffins you'll ever get!

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    They challenge you, but not to the point where you feel like you have to read there mind to get a decent grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the summer courses! It's short and sweet, and because the teachers are so willing to assist they set you up for success.

    In three sentences

    Navarro is very friendly and all staff are willing to assist in any way possible. The environment is very welcoming from the outer parts, to the classrooms. I love it!

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never so much as heard a raised voice around this campus, I have never once felt threatened or ill at ease in this building.

    Greek Life

    I am a geek and this school allows me to get all my classes done in the morning, which gives me all the afternoon to play vidio games.....and study......yes, lots of studying.

    Clubs and Activities

    I havent really noticed any clubs or activities.

    Great for these types of students

    students eho are sure of what they want and are modivated to get there without a whole lot of stress

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    one whole side of the building is made of glass and I find that incredibally amazing, especially to sit and study beside it.

    Bang for the buck

    overall the campus is very effective at helping you achieve your goals, but there are those few teachers that just seem to be verry difficult.

    What to do for fun

    the plays are always fun.

    Food and Dining

    the campus Im attending doesnt have a diming hall, so I dont know what it would taste like.

    Dorm Life

    the midlothian campus where Im at doesnt have dorms, but Im sure their nice.

    Academic Rigor

    they really try to gelp you sucseed, its very nice to have some support.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure the teacher matches you, get your books from another student or half priced books, attend the plays!

    In three sentences

    is clean, friendly, and very helpfull. needs work hiring teachers more suited for their position. a great place to learn and study.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Its good for students that.couldnt get into big schools. Navarro accepts almost anyone. It is a wonderful school for teen moms.

    What to do for fun

    I go to the store they have there and look around

    Food and Dining

    Great! I even meet the people that work there. They are really nice. The food is extreamly good.

    Dorm Life

    I live at my own house. I wouldnt know.

    Academic Rigor

    I start in about a month so I wouldnt know but I have many friends that go there and they all love it.

    Tips for prospective students

    So not take money to the front desk. There is a money opening to the left. The front desk will not take it. Any money for whatever reason.

    In three sentences

    Navarro College is a friendly envirment. Really nice people. Just wish.it.was more organized

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    great classes just wish there was a wider selection

    What to do for fun

    There is a wide variety of clubs and activities for the more involved students however i just focused on my studies and didnt have time for extras.

    Food and Dining

    Great food, friendly costs, and clean establishment.

    Dorm Life

    wouldnt know didnt stay in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    I still wish they offered more classes and some of the teachers there definately should teach more classes!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait till the last minute to do your financial aid, the longer you wait the more frantic you will get.

    In three sentences

    Good community college. Fair cost for a freshman. Friendly staff who are very helpful.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs available.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are difficult and some are very easy. This really depends on the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure the classes you take transfer to the university you want to attend after Navarro College

    In three sentences

    Navarro College is a small way to get started with college; financially and in class size. Smaller classes make the transition from high school to a university easier. With cheaper tuition it helps reduce the amount of student loans students have to take.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As far as I have seen the safety at Navarro is great. I haven't even seen anyone slip and fall yet so i would say its pretty great.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life at the campus in Waxahachie.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a couple of different unique clubs at Navarro. But the fun thing about it is that you can start your own club if you really had an interest in something and you think someone else would to.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want to go to college to get an education and want to take it slow before jumping into the University life, Navarro really helps get you ready for that.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No traditions that i have heard.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends just in the surrounding areas. The school itself is just for class but there is plenty to do around like bowling and places to eat and watch games.

    Food and Dining

    Its okay, I dont really eat there but there are tons of places to eat around if you wanted. Specifically to the school....the pizza is good.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm. You have to commute.

    Academic Rigor

    If you go to class and pay attention you should have no problem with passing your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    I wouldn't buy my books from the bookstore but that is at any college. Just call them and ask them what books your class will be using and if you know if the teacher uses them. The people who work in the bookstore know about the teachers because some of them are taking classes there. One more thing to do is to ask about the teachers before you choose your classes, but don't just ask one person ask several random people if you have to.

    In three sentences

    I actually attend the Navarro College in Waxahachie and the Faculty and Staff are so nice and helpful. The professors are wonderful and their enthusiasm and cheerfulness makes you want to learn. I recommend this College to anyone who is looking for a small start or who want their associates degree.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get involved with other students and find out about activities nearby for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Didn't eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Didn't live in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    It does stretch your knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to other students to get a better idea about teachers that will really help you. Don't be afraid to express your opinions.

    In three sentences

    Some of the teachers really care about their students. The school is small enough to meet friends easily. Don't wait until the last week before finals to ask for help because they seem to be too busy.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do in your spare time. Bowling, pool, and many more activities.

    Food and Dining

    They have good food. A little pricey though.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Engineering.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, and do the best you can do. Do not get distracted

    In three sentences

    It is a very good community college. It is a good place to start your education and then transfer to a 4 year university. A lot of degrees and majors available here at the college. And it is not hard to get accepted to.

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Movie Theater, Bowling, Museums, all kind of stuff.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school, save money!

    In three sentences

    It's a great school! The town is nice also! You get a good education!

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the football games, hang out with your friends, and/or you can make up your own clubs and activities.

    Food and Dining

    Very spacious, clean, and delicious

    Dorm Life

    Its small rooms but you'll meet wonderful people and there is two closets, you share a bathroom with your roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    Study study study and make sure you turn assignments in on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait to do your financial aid at the last minute and always be yourself.

    In three sentences

    When I step foot on to campus I fell in love with how the teachers interact with their students. Also the student dining hall it was big and the food smell so good. Lastly, there are so many activities to do on campus like intramural sports, soccer, and basketball.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus officers always on campus so it makes the students feel very secure.

    Bang for the buck

    At Navarro College you receive in my opinion way more than you pay for, because of all the dedicated teachers.

    What to do for fun

    There are various clubs and organization you can join. Plus Navarro also offers a variety of sports ranging from, soccer, to football, and basketball.

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay in the dorms so I can not share my opinion about it.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes and teachers you take will depend a lot on how hard the class itself is to you. Some teachers are hard on his or her students but only because they like pushing you to do your very best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind, and you will enjoy attending Navarro College.

    In three sentences

    Navarro College is a very underestimated school. I feel that it can offer students many great opportunities that bigger schools can not offer. Great teachers and student body, definitely a school you might want to consider before you attend a bigger university.

  • 07/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Its good and plan to eat more on campus then out in the town.

    Dorm Life

    It may be smaller then i expected, but it will suit me fine while i'm away from home.

    Academic Rigor

    It has what i want and more and even though i have my intended major i plan on taking on some that with help my life as a farm kid.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot offered to you.

    What to do for fun

    Everything is offered to you. :)

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a very good pick for a two year college. It's in the country but there's nothing wrong with that its always good to try out new things and environments when your from the City of Dallas.

    In three sentences

    I recently visited Navarro College Monday, July 22nd. I loved the tour instructor she was nice, funny, and let me know everything i needed to know about the campus. The school is clean seemed relaxing and like a good environment.

  • 08/04/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you talk to students more about what to expect from Navarro staff and where you should go to get started. Always introduce yourself to your professor and make a positive impression. Stay on top of your financial aid status, because it's not Navarro's responsibility.

  • 08/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always be aware of your surroundings, don't leave anything in your car, and always go places with a buddy.

    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in going to a small school with a university feel and close to home. Also not as expensive as a big university. This Junior College has sports and is lots of fun.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of school activities planned, there's also a movie theatre in town so we can do movie night.

    Food and Dining

    Still to early to tell, but it's got to be better than the cafeteria food at my old high school. Glad I got on the larger meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    Love the dorm life, met new friends and the dorms are pretty clean. I share a room with another person and we have one bathroom all to ourselves.

    Academic Rigor

    Too early to tell, but I'm in athletics and the there's not much room for error.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the school before you commit, make sure you like everything about the school before you make that move. Take each class seriously, go to class and meet your instructors. Don't procrastinate, try and manage your time effectively.

    In three sentences

    I've just started my freshman year, but so far I really like it, the campus is pretty nice and it's not to far from home if I get home sick. My coach has really spent a lot of time expaining all the do's and dont's. Also, the teachers and instructors here seem to really care about the students.

  • 09/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are police people who walk around. One night if walking back from your night class you can call and have a police officer walk you to your car or dorm.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students outgoing, quite, shy, and loud.

    Bang for the buck

    Food...heck yea it is cheap and it is delicious.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of activities held on campus. They are a great way of meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing, the price are cheap, and the service is great.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on the dorms but I heard that they are great.

    Academic Rigor

    Awesome!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be yourself and you will do great!

    In three sentences

    I is a wonderful school. It is one of the best community colleges to start out of. I recommend that any one just getting out of high school to start off at Navarro College!

  • 10/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Some weekends they have outside activites. I mostly go to the sport games. I go to Wingstop or Pizza Hut.

    Food and Dining

    Very limited. On weekends Saturday you get food twice and Sunday you get food from the cafeteria once. You must get a refrigerator and microwave for sure. It is not like home cooking.

    Dorm Life

    It is decent but I have to move out everything for cleaning when we break during holidays. I have had things stolen a few times and so you have to watch your back.

    Academic Rigor

    They are challenging but I had an unfair professor who failed me for no reason and pulled down by gpa big time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go little at the location to be sure you can deal with the area. If you are not close to family to go home sometimes you will not be happy here. No mall, little activities, lots of construction and few eating places. Don't take online classes.

    In three sentences

    Navarro College is ok but it is in the middle of no where. Very little campus activity and no bus service. I had decent professors but got one last year who failed for no reason and no one would help me.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will feel very safe here there is campus police that rides around and now they have emergancy poles.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a girls and boy step team and a girls dance team and so much more.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the school events, hang with friends, and there do be some parties.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but you do get tired of eating the same thing every week.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorms they are very nice and funn to stay in.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very easy if you focus and do your work. Ask questions if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go here if you are only plan on partying.

    In three sentences

    It is very good school to go to focus on your studies. It's a small campuse so it's to find buildings. The school is very cool and is fun to go to.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Navarro is a great college for students that learn better in a smaller environment.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of different clubs and organizations at Navarro. It's easy to make new friends and meet different people. We also have football games that you can attend for fun and special events like fundraisers and bake sales.

    Food and Dining

    There are several bistros and caf�©s on campus. The food is fresh and well priced. You are able to use more financial aid money to pay for food on campus. There is a large Friday of choices to choose from and a cafeteria that has a study.

    Dorm Life

    I am not currently living in the dorms on campus but I have seen them and visited them. There isn't much to say about college dormsâ?¦they are all fairly small! Navarro's college dorms are similar to your average dorm room.

    Academic Rigor

    At Navarro, there is easy access to libraries and tutors where you can get help if needed. In most cases, instructors give out personal cell phone numbers and also email addresses so they can be reached at any time. Staff at Navarro is really there to help their students!

    Tips for prospective students

    Build a strong relationship with each of your professors at Navarro college. In my experience, every professor wanted to help me when I was willing to put in the effort so build a relationship! Opportunity is definitely out there at Navarro!!

    In three sentences

    I rate Navarro College 8 out of 10. The campus is a very comfortable and confined environment, where it is easy to get around. Every professor I've had has been extremely helpful and resourceful.

  • 01/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is no fun at this school.

    Food and Dining

    Never had their food only the vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at Waxahachie campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic is not to hard but still challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for nasty smells from the building the exploded 2 years ago.

    In three sentences

    Very cheap. Very small. Not what a typical college is.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join intramural, a great way to meet new people and play sports you enjoy. Go to the movies or attend all the school events.

    Tips for prospective students

    create a stress free environment for yourself to study and relax.Take a break every once and a while when exams come around. Make memories.

    In three sentences

    Navarro has made many opportunists for me. It has allowed me to make life time friends and get the basics I need to continue my education.A very friendly and safe environment.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The price you pay for the education is definitely worth it and I would highly recommend attending in order to save money if you are going a Bachelors degree.

    What to do for fun

    For fun there is the Gib where you can play various games. There are basketball courts on campus as well as sand volleyball, air hockey, ping pong, pool, and a lounge area where you can watch movies and just hangout with friends.

    Food and Dining

    I really enjoy the food here on campus and the dining facilities are pretty nice as well. The cooks know what they are doing.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm but I hear that it is convenient to be on campus and it quite fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically the classes are challenging and thought provoking. They enhance your critical thinking ability and require commitment in order to earn the grade you wish to achieve. What you put in is what you get out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study after class so the material sticks and you won't have anxiety when it comes to exam time. Relax and enjoy the atmosphere. The college experience is a blessing.

    In three sentences

    Navarro College is an excellent school to attend if you are enrolling in college for the first time. The Professors are great and willing to work with you and help make sure that you understand the material. It is a beautiful campus with plenty of resources for students to take advantage of and succeed in furthering their academic dreams.

  • 03/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is not really much fun to do. Its a small community college without dorm life or dining.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be persistant in being sure that what you want done gets done. Be responsbile for your own things do not rely on the school to complete anything.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are great. The ladies that work at the front desk are not very helpful. The leadership and help needs to be more informational and helpful.

  • 03/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Really no bang for any buck you spend here.

    What to do for fun

    There are parties a lot of times. There is a waterpark being built, and there is a movie theatre. That's about it.

    Food and Dining

    I tried the food once with a friend because I don't live on campus and I don't eat there very much but what I did try was decent.

    Dorm Life

    I don't and have not stayed in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are alright. There are a few I would recommend like Mr. Prim for English and Mr. Todd for developmental math.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is pretty laid back, not too many restrictions. The campus is nice and well kept. The teachers are really cool, well most of them!

    In three sentences

    Navarro College is an okay school to attend. The surrounding area doesn't have much to do. The town is quite small and more on the boring side.

  • 04/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is good on campus and in the community nearby.

    Great for these types of students

    That's not from a major city or large environments. Loners. Those not used to big crowds.

    Bang for the buck

    It's easy on a parent's wallet. Wish we didn't have to take courses from high school such as algebra and history. It hasn't changed...

    What to do for fun

    Play football, volleyball, or basketball with others on campus, hang out at the student center, watch movies, go to a nearby park. Dallas is about a 40 minute drive.

    Food and Dining

    The food is o.k. I wish they would allow larger portions when desired and a larger variety. Options are pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    Down life is cool. There are many rules of which some make you feel like a child at home with parents rather than a young adult in college. Activities exist to engage students on slow weekends and in the evenings. The facilities are maintained well.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are appropriate and prepare for future careers. Your basics such as English and math are better here in a smaller setting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Give Navarro serious consideration. It's a good education and not as expensive as other schools. Communicate with your instructors regularly and get to know essential staff.

    In three sentences

    Navarro is a good environment for first year students to engage in college when they are concerned about leaving home. Navarro is located in a growing community where students are not overwhelmed as if in a big city. The campus is not too large and the faculty cares about the students.

  • 06/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 44

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus seems to be very secure.. There are policemen around quite a bit.. i havent heard of any problems in my first year here..

    Greek Life

    This I have no idea about..

    Clubs and Activities

    Im sure there are several clubs available.. Im in the JohnDeere program.. Therefore I really dont know much about the clubs and extra activities..

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone seems very friendly.. Not hard to make friends.

    Bang for the buck

    Although all college is expensive.. I do believe it is well worth the money.. Ive enjoyed every minute of my schooling so far..

    What to do for fun

    There is a activity center on campus.. With basketball, pool tables, tv, etc.. It can help you pass some time.. Very nice set up

    Food and Dining

    I have not ate at the on campus cafeteria.. So I have no opinion of the food and dining.. I usually go home to eat..

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms. I live in a rv park just down the road from Navarro College.. So I have no idea about the dorm life here.

    Academic Rigor

    I am enrolled in the John Deere Program. Studying to be a Diesel Mechanic. I love this program that Navarro has.. I have been challanged and learned alot in the first year... Very rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework and study different school concerning the degree that you want. That way you can narrow it down to the exact school that you would like to attend.

    In three sentences

    Navarro college is a really nice school... My first year was very rewarding and fullfilling.. I recommend Navarro College to any one.

  • 08/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 44

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Cruise around the small town, hang with friends at the local park, and enjoy the open environment.

    Food and Dining

    There is no food options at my campus, but we are hoping to get a sub shop.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm!

    Academic Rigor

    Its a really good education for what you pay, but talk to other students because they will give you the scoop on the easier teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    View the campus and talk with current students upon applying to this school. They will give you all the insight into what it is like to attend this school.

    In three sentences

    This school is really friendly, and geared to help students succeed. They handle issues with great professionalism.