Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Nazareth College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, personable, artsy, energetic, easy-going, involved, determined, hard-working.

    Tips for prospective students

    GET INVOLVED! I know it's cliche, but it's true. Naz has over 50 clubs and organizations that cover absolutely anything you could want to do! There's The Gleaner and Sigilum, the student run newspaper and yearbook; the Undergraduate Association, Wilderness club, Ski team, foreign language clubs, numerous community service opportunities and so much more. And even if you think you might not have time for a full commitment to one of these clubs, but you still want to participate in that one event they are planning, no problem. Many of the clubs understand that as college students we are busy people and welcome students with any amount of time to commit to their club. Also, take time to enjoy the Rochester area that surrounds campus. There are so many opportunities in the area to experience, just get out there to see them!

    Bang for the buck

    Nazareth is a private college and is therefore automatically going to be on the expensive side. However, before you start freaking out about tuition costs, know this: student fees include access to all of the extras on campus. This means free use of the fitness center which has it's own racquetball courts, use to the entire Otto Shults Center, free unlimited library access, wireless internet in many buildings, nearly unlimited studio access for art majors and practice space for music majors, lab fees for foreign language majors allow you to use the state of the art Tell Me More equipment at any given time during the semester, there are also many cultural events for all of campus in the French, Spanish and Italian houses, one free ticket to each student for all student shows, which are always good considering that Naz has the 9th best performing arts department in the country. All of this and more is included in the money that you are paying for tuition and student fees!

    Am enjoying being here

    Nazareth's campus life is amazing! I love living on campus. Not only are there 50+ clubs and organizations to get involved with, the village of Pittsford is literally right down the road. So on those warmer nights it's easy to talk a walk into the village with some friends to grab some Ben & Jerry's ice cream. There's so much to do on campus that if you ever find yourself sitting in your dorm bored on any given day...then something is just not right!

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at Nazareth are great. However, to be a realist, you will always run into those professors that you feel just may not know quite as much as they make it seem. Although once in a great while this happens, all of the professors are open and willing to help you with absolutely anything pertaining to their courses. Naz professors are the type of teachers that are there to just talk if you need it during their office hours.

  • 12/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If there is a major here that interests you, and you have visited the campus and feel comfortable, then it is a great school for you. It's not a huge university or a huge city, but that can be a very good thing for certain types of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the classes seriously and just do the work. Talk to your professors, try to get to know them as they can help you a lot later. Take care of yourself, it's not worth it if you are unhappy or unhealthy. Definitely have fun! Read alot, too. Know what you are doing and why you are doing it.

    Bang for the buck

    Everyone always says you get what you pay for, and I think it definitely applies here. Teachers are fantastic, facilities are continually upgraded, and campus is in a really nice location, so of course you to have to pay up for it. All housing and tuition and books are going to be expensive so as long as you are academically happy it is worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Although I grew up in a town about 15 minutes away, living on campus has given me a new adoration for the town of Pittsford and the city in general. I have found Pittsford Plaza to be the most convenient shopping center, my friends and I love going to Schoen Place on the canal for ice cream or dinner, and with a car it is not too hard to shoot right down East Ave into the heart of the city. As for the campus itself, I couldn't ask for prettier scenery, and the campus is small enough to enjoy it. Plenty of places to hang out and get coffee, food, study or exercise. Night life on campus leaves something to be desired, if you are looking for a huge party school Nazareth is not the place. But I have never had a problem finding something to do at night and there are tons of opportunities to get involved and make something happen.

    Am learning a lot

    As a musician involved in all kinds of music since an early age, I thought I knew something about music, but I couldn't have been more wrong. My program has filled in gaps that I didn't know existed, in a very detailed and thorough way. So far (3 semesters) I have come across only one teacher that did a bum job of inspiring and teaching. Everyone else has been great. I do not feel trapped in the program, as everyone has to take a certain number of perspective courses that can act as electives in other disciplines. My biggest problem so far has been not having enough time to take all the electives I want.

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our tour guide said they sometimes have mixers in the restaurants on campus. They sound really fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food looked so good when we walked through. There are so many options. We got to try a brownie and they were really good :D

    Dorm Life

    The dorms look pretty normal but, they are clean and right in the middle of campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply!! No matter what you think just apply. You may get in. I never thought I would get in, let alone get a scholarship. I ended up getting both. The school is amazing.

    In three sentences

    I visited this school today and I absolutely fell in love with it. It's so beautiful and fun. The campus is easy to navigate and unique.

  • 09/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    A small campus not designed for wallflower students in classroom or social settings.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plenty to do with clubs, movies and sports. Get to know your professors.

    Bang for the buck

    The professors I have are always available and easily reached. I think I am getting a great value for the buck.

    Am enjoying being here

    love the campus. The professors I have are always available. There is plenty for me to do on this campus and its not to far to town for a quick bite to eat or shop.

    Am learning a lot

    I am taking one major with 2 minors. A busy schedule.

  • 10/04/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    I LOVED my college visit here! Everyone was so welcoming and my family was very impressed. I am definitely looking very closely at Naz for my college in upcoming years.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    our 24 hour campus safety makes you feel at home. any fears or concerns you may about the campus, they will try their best to fix it. when there is a scare on campus, campus safety always report in a timely manner.

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life at naz. however, you can find other campuses close by that offer greek life. there are several students who are apart of the greek life and still attend naz

    Clubs and Activities

    so many clubs to chose from at nazareth. these clubs offer students the opportunity to create activities that will enlighten their mind. these clubs have meetings, events and parties that help students enjoy the naz experience.

    Great for these types of students

    naz is a great college for students who want a small school and wants to know their professor on a 1-on-1 basis.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    orientation weekend is a tradition in which incoming freshmen come to naz the weekend before classes start and become familiar with campus.

    Bang for the buck

    naz is a private college, so the price is a little high. however, most students do qualify for financial aid. our financial aid office will assist you with tuition payments.

    What to do for fun

    there is always some event going on around campus. there will be a times when you are bored with naz but that is just college.

    Food and Dining

    the food edible. it really is not that great. however, it is getting better.

    Dorm Life

    residential life is family based. everyone is friendly and willing to help one another.

    Academic Rigor

    the work professor give are work that can be done in a timely manner. nazareth do have a strong standing on academic integrity.

    Tips for prospective students

    get to know your residents and other staff. naz is way to friendly for one to be all to themselves.

    In three sentences

    nazareth is a small college with a great friendly atmosphere and a unique campus. all the faculty and students are friendly and will help each other out. nazareth has great professors who has top knowledge in their field of work.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they are awesome. i feel totally safe on campus. the campus safety officers are always on duty. they are friendly and they will walk you to your residential hall if your walking late by yourself.

    Greek Life

    naz is not big on greek life but there are neighboring colleges that do allow you to pledge.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are literally clubs for everything : dancing, singing , art ; spirituality; non spirituality. there is always something to do on campus. it is hard to miss sport events on campus. everyone goes out to support the different teams. its great.

    Great for these types of students

    naz is great for bubbly students who know when to buckle down and do their work and manage their time. it is great for students who have or desire professionalism.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    toward the end of every school mixer , the dj plays a song called living on the prayer. that is the nazareth anthem. with this song we all come together appreciating the journey that we are on with each other.

    Bang for the buck

    it costs about 40,000 dollars a year to attend nazareth college. but , they have several scholarship opportunities that will benefit you tremendously. financial aid is willing to assist especially if you are eligible for heop.

    What to do for fun

    naz is located in the rural area of rochester called pittsford. the pittsford plaza is about a 15 minute walk from the school. in the plaza there is a movie theater , food and grocery stores, and a shopping area. you can also take the bus to downtown rochester and go to the markets where there are fresh fruits. the bus's are free for students.

    Food and Dining

    the pasta tastes the best! the dining hall is always clean. the chef cooks all different types of food to accommodate the different cultures of the campus. food however is only available by naz until 12 midnight every night. be sure to stack up on snacks for your room.

    Dorm Life

    there awesome people here at naz. you get so close , its like family. the ra's are trustworthy and kind. they are always there to help you out. snacks! ... they will be your best friends. not all halls provide personal bathrooms, but they are all kept clean. laundry is inclusive when living on campus. you only need to buy detergent. its best to do laundry on mondays because no one really does laundry on mondays.

    Academic Rigor

    the rigor of a class depends on the professor. there are some classes that are demanding and sometimes you get stuck with more than one of those types of classes a semester. professors, however , give you the grade that you have earned.

    Tips for prospective students

    stay on top of your reading for classes no matter what. teachers care about you but they will not baby you. stay as organized as possible and make daily schedules so that you accomplish as much as you can during the day. do not stay in your room all the time! go out and meet new people ; they want to meet you too.

    In three sentences

    nazareth has a beautiful campus. it is filled with friendly people: from the president of the school right down to your classmates. you learn something new everyday on campus.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a campo person around either on foot or patrol and the security features with the 'personal panic buttons is extraordinary.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a Naz Golden Flyer on the Men's Volleyball Team. Athletics are top notch for the D3 player.

    Great for these types of students

    Folks who like a small class size

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The tunnels are EXCELLENT. Weather in upstate NY is questionable, but there is a tunnel to keep you warm and dry.

    Bang for the buck

    I love Naz and feel the environment fits my personality and needs just perfectly.

    What to do for fun

    Student activities is very active and being near Rochester makes it easy to find cultural, spiritual and entertainment outlets. The bus runs every half hour!

    Food and Dining

    I was very pleasantly surprised by how many options there were, and the food is really good.

    Dorm Life

    Love the dorms, the options and the activities. Being so close to Rochester means there is always something to do.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a freshman, so I do not have another college to compare it to, but I believe the courses are challenging but rewarding as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a tour and ask questions, there are many new opportunities coming with our additions. Don't let the tuition deter you from checking out the school because they really work with you to help you as much as they can.

    In three sentences

    The classes are challenging but small enough to really become involved in the discussions. The campus is great and even in the winter you can go to class in your slippers or shorts because of the tunnels. The level of excellence that the school is known for will be recognized by future employers giving you an edge.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everyone gets a creeper beeper to keep with them at all times in case of an emergency.

    Greek Life

    None, thankfully!

    Clubs and Activities

    We even have a Quidditch team! We have lots of clubs about diversity which I love.

    Great for these types of students

    LGBT students are very well accepted at Nazareth. Students who want to get to know their professors well and develop relationships with them should go to Nazareth.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Attached to the library is the fish bowl. There are houses for foreign language classes and events (Spanish house, Italian house, French house, and German Cultural Center). You can even live in the French house! Lots of the residence halls are former nun residences (Nazareth used to be a Catholic college).

    What to do for fun

    Rochester is a great and diverse city. There are lots of great museums, historical sites, places to go at night, and places to shop.

    Tips for prospective students

    You'll need to read a lot, study a lot, and take lots of tests but it will be worth it in the end. Do not let one bad grade or a difficult class discourage you.

    In three sentences

    I love that Nazareth is a small school where you can get to know a lot of people. I also love the diversity of the student body. Their Spanish program is amazing!

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety officers keep our campus safe and there is hardly ever any problems

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    SO many fun clubs and activities like midnight basketball and lazer tag

    Great for these types of students

    Artsy and also physical therapy students who want to work but also have fun

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a sick ice cream bar in the basement of one of the dorms that has amazing ice cream

    Bang for the buck

    its alright but i am paying a lot.

    What to do for fun

    Be inventive, there are always sports going on, lots of clubs for events, lots of dancing clubs, and fun stuff everywhere

    Food and Dining

    Food is amazing here, there is an on demand chef for almost everything.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is tons of fun, there are so many things to do all the time

    Academic Rigor

    academics aren't that hard

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know that you want to be here because it is a lot of money if not.

    In three sentences

    Amazing campus, really beautiful and is in a good neighborhood. The academics though are kind of lacking in some departments but some are really good at the same time. Lots of fun all the time

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is AMAZING at Nazareth! There is an amazing staff of campus police. There are blue lights which at least two can be seen from any point on campus. The best might be that Nazareth College gives all students Security Escort Beepers if they wish for one. It is a little device that can fit on a key chain. If pressed, the beeper will let the nearest building and the campus police know that the student is in trouble. Someone comes running to help. The beeper covers all campus and up to a mile away from campus lines.

    Greek Life

    There are no frats on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many club options at Nazareth, from Go Green Club to Ultimate Frisbee Club. E-mails about club meetings are sent out daily, inviting anyone to come.

    Great for these types of students

    Nazareth is great for all students, including study abroad visitors. Nazareth aids everyone who comes through their doors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The outdoor classroom is something that not many places have. On nice days it is open for anyone to use. The professors love it and take students there when they can.

    Bang for the buck

    All private schools tend to be expensive, but Nazareth is worth it. The college is very good about financial aid and scholarships. The education is worth it. There are many unique learning opportunities. There is even an outdoor classroom!

    What to do for fun

    Nazareth is the perfect location! Nazareth is close to other colleges. This is create because students get a chance to go to many sporting events and meet many people. Naz is only around the corner from Wegmans and other stores. It is only 15 minutes from an extremely large mall called East View.

    Food and Dining

    Many different dining options for a small campus. They have just about everything, including a gluten free area. In general college food wont be as good as home cooking, but Nazareth food is good.

    Dorm Life

    From my own experience there was a perfect mixture of people living in buildings. There is housing for freshmen who want to live in that kind of environment. There are buildings with mixtures of freshmen/sophomore and junior/seniors which creates a good environment for making friends. The buildings themselves are clean and good sizes for dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors will do anything to aid their students. If a student needs help, professors are always there to aid students outside of class. Teachers challenge students enough that a good grade is truly a grade deserved.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise for prospective students to visit the campus. You never know if a campus is a fit until you see it. Nazareth staff is very welcoming to students.

    In three sentences

    An amazing experience with educators and staff who will do anything for students. Nazareth College has a beautiful campus which is a great environment for incoming students. Nazareth is a great college for undeclared students, because the well rounded classes help point students toward a possible major.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is none

    Great for these types of students

    Art/Music students, as well as those who aren't fans of chaos.

    What to do for fun

    Go off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind. Speak up in class. Care about your classes.

    In three sentences

    Nazareth College is a quaint, private school located right outside of the city of Rochester, NY. This College's curriculum is set up in order to produce well rounded, efficient thinking professionals who will contribute to the bettering of this world. It is easy to tell that education is a priority at Nazareth, with just one visit.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is everywhere, but not in an in-your-face kind of way. They'll always help you too, no matter what your problem is or what time it is.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a huge variety of clubs, plus you can petition to create your own if you can't find any you like or just want to do something regularly with a bunch of people and get school funding for it.

    Great for these types of students

    art, music, sports people

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Echo Circle outside the Shults Center is really cool. It's this big cobblestone circle with low stone walls around it. When you stand in the center and talk, even whisper, it echoes and you're the only one who can hear it. There's a bunch of hidden stuff around campus too, like a pet cemetery. We have horses too.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive but so far it's been worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Eastview Mall is about 15 minutes away, and Pittsford Plaza is a mile from campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the dining hall is usually pretty good the first couple weeks, but takes a dive after that. There are plenty of places to eat though that aren't too bad for college food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms aren't the greatest, but at least in FYE (First Year Experience) there's a sense of camaraderie that can't be beat.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are a complete joke, but plenty are pretty difficult. They're all doable though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors! For the most part, they'll go out of their way to help you out, so take advantage of that.

    In three sentences

    Nazareth overall is a good school. The professors are amazing but the students can be a little clique-y. The campus is beautiful.

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Music, physical therapists, education, business

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The outdoor classroom, the labyrinth, the 1924 room

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you don't mind studying in fields outside of your major. I completed 21 credits that had to do nothing with my major but were required for graduation.

    In three sentences

    Nazareth College is a small, liberal arts school in Pittsford, NY, a suburb of Rochester. There are four schools contained within the college, of which I went to the School of Arts. The music program is tight knit, extremely talented, a lot of work, but a lot of fun to participate in.

  • 04/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is great. Everyone knows them by name and they're super friendly. Your very first day, they tell you to put their number in your phone, and anytime you need anything at all, they'll come help you. If there's a classroom locked that you need to get into, they'll come unlock it. If you lock your keys in your room, they'll come get you in.

    Greek Life

    We don't have Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    At the beginning of each semester, we have a club fair. Every club has a community service component and gets involved with helping and volunteering around the area. I think that's a really great way to make connections and get to know your way around the city and help people all at once.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small classes and small campuses. The most people I've ever had in a class was 35. You get a ton of one on one help if you need it and all the professors know your name. You also are at least familiar with almost everyone on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have tunnels connecting all the buildings (except Carroll Hall and the Arts Center, and some of the dorms) so you don't have to walk outside in the rain or snow to get to classes! Also, the tunnels are filled with infamous tunnel art. Every year, people are assigned to do murals and those are gorgeous, and then you'll see new, unassigned tunnel art appear every so often. People write inspirational quotes, or motivational messages, or draw little pictures. They're always fun to look at and read.

    Bang for the buck

    For as much as I adore my school, tuition is a little crazy. At over $40,000 a year, a lot of people end up having to transfer because they can't afford the school. It's hard to see people go that work so hard and love the school so much, but just can't stay.

    What to do for fun

    We have mixers, sporting events, concerts, lectures, etc. If you're ever looking for something to do, there's ALWAYS something going on. And if none of it interests you, Downtown Rochester is only about a ten minute drive.

    Food and Dining

    Our dining services are via Chartwells, which is also the same company that caters for presidential events, but we don't always get the fancy food the president would. It tastes good, but not living on campus, my stomach hasn't had the chance to adjust to it. But from what I hear, you get used to it quick when you eat it all day.

    Dorm Life

    I commute, but I've stayed in the dorms before. They're nice and most are relatively spacious. People are usually respectful and quiet by certain hours of the night.

    Academic Rigor

    I've never studied so hard in my life as I have at Naz, but the professors make it really easy to feel driven and motivate you to do well. Also, the professors are highly understanding and very fair with their grading processes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour first! Naz is really small - that's great for some students, and not so great for others. Take a tour and get a feel for the campus. If you feel it's too small, maybe it's a good idea to look somewhere else.

    In three sentences

    Naz is a really great school. All of the professors are highly knowledgeable and always willing to go out of their way to help students. The classes are fun and engaging.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety at Naz is AMAZING. They respond so quickly and are very nice and approachable. I always feel safe when I'm on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    SO many options to choose from. There is always something happening on campus, so get out and enjoy your college time.

    Great for these types of students

    Small-town students, those who enjoy easily running into people they know on a daily basis.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nazareth has underground tunnels that most people love, especially since Rochester weather is so unpredictable. One of my favorite traditions is midnight breakfast, which occurs in the dining hall at the start of finals week in the spring semester. The faculty and staff serve the students free breakfast foods.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private college, so prepare to pay a lot of money. Scholarships are available, but that doesn't always do the job. No matter what private school you go to, you will pay a ridiculous amount of money.

    What to do for fun

    Walk around the beautiful campus, play an extracurricular sport, go to a sporting event, get involved in the undergraduate association or attend one of their on-campus events, join a club, etc. There are SO many options at hand.

    Food and Dining

    No matter what college you attend, every one will at some point complain about the food. However, I have visited a number of my friends at their colleges and their dining services don't even compare to Nazareth's. They have said so themselves. There are a number of options for the food and it is pretty decent in taste.

    Dorm Life

    Compared to other colleges I've visited, Nazareth's dorms are great. They have a variety of styles- singles, doubles, suite styles, and on-campus apartments. The doubles and suites are very spacious and some buildings even have A/C.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major, Nazareth can be a tough college. Like I said, the professors are very willing to assist you with whatever you need, but you also need to put forth a lot of effort on your own.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a small college, Nazareth is the perfect school. Get involved in on campus activities as much as you can- there are a TON of options.

    In three sentences

    Nazareth is a close-knit community. The professors truly care about their students and many of them even take the time to get to know you as a person. The campus itself is beautiful; it is secluded enough to maintain a sense of privacy while also having a number of options for shopping and food within walking distance.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing much happens here. It's pretty safe.

    Greek Life

    We don't have this.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many options for many different interests.

    Great for these types of students

    Foreign language. Global Business. Physical therapy. Teachers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have an outdoor classroom. We also have echo circle.

    Bang for the buck

    It's one of the least expensive private schools in New York that still provides a lot for it's students.

    What to do for fun

    Go see the town of Pittsford. There are some great shops and restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    The food is typically delicious. Only downside is that they will serve mostly the same things every day.

    Dorm Life

    Kearney hall is for crazies. All day, every day.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others. Some professors are tough. It all depends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your money's worth! Get involved and have fun. Step outside your comfort zone. There are lots of opportunities.

    In three sentences

    This is a beautiful campus. It is a great choice for undecided freshman, who aren't sure what to major in, but still want to go to a four year school that will help them out. Awesome choice for foreign language majors and anyone looking to study abroad.

  • 08/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on at the campus. There are mixers, movies nights, sporting events, etc. You can also go into Pittsford for dining or shopping.

    Food and Dining

    There are several different dining options on campus. The food is okay.

    Dorm Life

    As a freshman, I lived in the typical freshman dorm which was just okay. As a sophomore I have an amazing suite in a newer dorm. Dorm life is a great way to make new friends and build a support system.

    Academic Rigor

    My professors have high expectations. The work is hard, but I have learned so much.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus to see if it is right for you. I visited several schools before I found the one right for me.

    In three sentences

    Nazareth is small enough so that your professors know you, but large enough where you can meet many different kinds of people. The campus is beautiful and has that old, ivy league feel to it. Pittsford, where the campus is located, offers quaint shops and restaurants, but if you are in the mood to visit the city then Rochester is right nearby.

  • 08/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are help phones situated all over the campus. Each student has the opportunity to get a safety beeper that, when pressed, contacts the 24-hr campus safety dept. to find you wherever you are on campus. There are always campus safety staff patrolling the campus. It's an extremely safe campus.

    Greek Life

    I wouldn't know.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a ghost nun that lives in one of the residence halls and in an academic hall's basement (which used to be the infirmary) you can hear ghostly hospital noises, too.

    Bang for the buck

    I'd say it's a little overpriced, but I think it's been worth it so far.

    What to do for fun

    There's always activities and clubs going on for anything you could imagine.

    Food and Dining

    The food tastes good and they are very accommodating. There are tons of options. I've never gone hungry. I just feel a little sick after I eat, but maybe that's just a transitional thing.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice, especially for public facilities. My dorm room is really spacious. It is hard to make a lot of friends if you don't get into a suite, however.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very well done, and I've only been bored in Philosophy and Music 101 (but that's because I've been involved in music for 11 years).

    Tips for prospective students

    Try your hardest to get into a suite. Get to know your academic adviser right away; s/he is very helpful and is really good at overriding things so that you can take classes you thought you weren't allowed to. Keep on top of deadlines, especially check your Naz email every day.

    In three sentences

    The campus is gorgeous and the perfect size: not too big, but not tiny. The faculty and staff are amazingly nice, intelligent, and helpful. Although I think the price is excessive, you get a lot for your money, and I believe it's worth it.

  • 10/02/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Please please please please PLEASE utilize your resources here. The staff that work here are miracle workers. They've stopped at nothing to help the admissions process be as easy and non-complex as possible; they truly go above and beyond! Never be afraid to ask any questions, they've got the answers and then some! They're so willing to help!

    In three sentences

    A small campus with a small student body, but the support is unreal. This college really makes you feel like you're at home and a part of a family. I'm so excited to complete my college education here!

  • 11/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We are not only in a small town, but on campus, they take a lot of security measures.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Nazareth always has activities. I usually have conflicts between classes, work, clubs, and activities because there are so many good ones to choose from. Its really easy to get involved and participate.

    Bang for the buck

    There are a lot of special activities and events, and most things are free, but tuition is steep. I often think wow this is so nice but then I would rather pay less in tuition than have free movies and popcorn every week.

    What to do for fun

    There are always a lot of activities and events on campus. There are sporting events, movies, lectures, clubs, events, and mixers. Off campus there is a lot to do in Rochester. Pittsford is small, but there are shops and restaurants. You can walk by the Erie Canal, ride bikes, or row. There are clubs in Rochester. The school does excursions a lot, too. There are a trips to Letchworth State Park, Cedar Point, and to a concert in Buffalo for example.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus isn't bad, but it is very repetitive. There are healthy options, but it can be difficult to get a good variety. There are five places to eat on campus, so there is some difference, but they are all owned by the same catering company so a lot of the food is the same in all the locations.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are much nicer than others, but each one has its pros and cons. There are suite-style dorms and singles and doubles. For upperclassmen there are apartments on campus. Since campus is small, its easy to visit friends no matter which dorm they live in.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are generally pretty laid back and very doable for almost anyone I would say. You can be challenged, but for the most part if you do your work and study for tests, there's no reason for not passing. Even in classes I don't understand as well, I can pretty easily get good grades. Professors are really welcoming and are always willing to help you or explain material again for you. Of course you have to put forth effort, but generally Nazareth is not a difficult school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Nazareth's new core curriculum is very specific to this college, so I would imagine that transferring out would be difficult depending on how long you've been here. I have realized Nazareth is a really big music, nursing, and PT/OT school and I've heard those programs are good.

    In three sentences

    Overall, I like Nazareth. The location is nice because its close to the city of Rochester, but its really in a small village. The school is small, so its friendly and welcoming; its easy to be familiar with both peers and professors.

  • 11/19/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I play sports all year round. I have started when I was on modified and has followed me up all the way through my high school years. I play soccer, basketball, and softball. When I was in tenth grade I was nominated to be captain for my Junior Varsity basketball team. Also when I was in tenth grade I was pulled up on varsity for both soccer and softball. This year, my senior year, I was nominated for captain for soccer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I think it's interesting that there is a key chain clicker that you keep on you at all times in case there is an emergency. I have never seen that before and it will make me feel safe while i'm on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Everyday I am busy with homework and thats all that I will do until it's done. On my free times I like to hang out with my friends and I play sports all year round. I play soccer, basketball, and softball. I enjoy my sports and working out and also am involved in the Health Careers Academy which gives me a head start in the nursing field. I love to help people and make them feel good about themselves.

    Food and Dining

    There is a variety of food and i love how there are different food bars that you can choose from.

    Dorm Life

    When I visited Nazareth, I loved the dorm rooms and thought they are a perfect fit and size. I would love to live in Nazareth's Clocktower dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I am more of a hands on student and like to experience things for myself. Test taking is my weakness but I work hard and dilligently.

    In three sentences

    I personally love Nazareth College and is my first choice college. I am majoring in nursing to become an Registered Nurse and i feel like Nazareth is the perfect fit for me. I have visited Nazareth College as well as applied here. It's a beautiful campus.

  • 11/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    YOU CAN GRAB A CREEPER BEEPER AT CAMPUS SAFETY BUT YOU'LL HARDLY HAVE NEED FOR IT ON CAMPUS

    Greek Life

    NOPE

    Clubs and Activities

    THERE'S A LOT TO PICK AND CHOOSE FROM

    Great for these types of students

    THERE'S SUCH A GREAT MIX OF DIFFERENT PERSONALITIES THAT YOU'LL FIND SOMEONE YOU CLICK WITH WHEREVER.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    WE HAVE TUNNELS, GOOD FOR THE WINTER, BUT BE SURE TO GET SUNSHINE EVERY NOW AND THEN OR YOU'L GET SICK

    What to do for fun

    LIMING WITH FRIENDS, WALK TO THE PLAZA DOWN THE ROAD FOR SHOPPING OR A MOVIE.

    Food and Dining

    IT GETS A BIT REPETITIOUS

    Dorm Life

    DEPENDS ON WHERE YOU ARE BUT FOR THE MOST PART ITS A CLOSE KNIT FAMILY.

    Tips for prospective students

    THE PROFESSORS ARE HERE TO HELP YOU SO DON'T BE AFRAID TO TALK TO THEM. THERE ARE OFTEN CHEAP TICKETS FOR CONCERTS, GET THERE EARLY IF YOU WANT TO GO.

    In three sentences

    THE TEACHERS HERE ARE ALL VERY FACILITATING. THE COMMUNITY IS SMALL ENOUGH FOR YOU TO HAVE FAMILIAR FACED AROUND NO MATTER WERE YOU GO. EVERYONE IS FRIENDLY

  • 12/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I had a personal encounter with campus safety after leaving for a break and forgetting something I desperately needed. I called campus safety over the break to see if they were available to let me into my residence hall after break had started. Campus safety was open, and more than happy to help me out. Campus safety is always open for questions, and safety procedures. As far as the campus goes, there is the blue light system, and beeper keychains are offered to all students free of charge to assist students in emergency situations.

    Bang for the buck

    Is a bit pricey, but offers a wide range of programs for all interest levels including the health related services, business administration, and many education/teaching fields.

    What to do for fun

    Things to do for fun include all types of sporting events, and off campus trips such as concerts, NFL games, amusement parks (Cedar Point) and free transportation to places off campus. The events sponsored by Nazareth, for example, the concert this past Fall - Macklemore in Buffalo was $5 a ticket. Nazareth offers great events for a relatively cheap price which makes it easy for students to get off campus with friends with included transportation for cheap!

    Food and Dining

    Nazareth offers a wide range of food for each student depending on health, interests, and nutrition. The campus offers many different locations for dining; the most popular being the main dining hall which offers pizzas, and grill options on a daily basis in addition to healthy options, a salad and fruit bar, a sandwich and pasta bar, and the daily special.

    Dorm Life

    Living in residence halls is a great opportunity at Nazareth. One of the biggest positive factors about living on campus is the number of friends you will acquire. Nazareth offers many student activities daily on campus that students may not be able to participate in if living on campus is not something they partake in. Some events include grocery bingo, and events inside the residence halls. There are a variety of dorm buildings and living styles to choose from including singles, suites, and doubles, and the rooms are all a reasonable size!

    Academic Rigor

    Though Nazareth is not an Ivy League school, it includes a variety of equally competitive programs such as Nursing, OT, and PT. Being a liberal arts school, all majors are required to take mandatory courses challenging students under a wide range of topics such as philosophy, psychology, and mathematics.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in one of the more competitive programs such as physical therapy or occupational therapy you must keep your grades up as a high school student because these are two programs where a student is accepted in right off the bat, and it is hard to enter the program at a later date due to their extensiveness and intensity. Programs like nursing are easy to apply for after acceptance. If you are interested in Naz apply early because the spots for competitive programs will fill up quickly!

    In three sentences

    Nazareth college is a great place to make friends, it's a small campus with a variety of academic programs. Nazareth offers many clubs, and is a valued athletic school competing in D III. The teachers here at Naz genuinely care about each student's personal success and offer their assistance in and out of the classroom helping kids home, on campus, or on vacations many miles away.

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have creeper beepers which are little key chain things with buttons on each side. Essentially if you have a medical emergency or feel unsafe, you can press both buttons and it sends a signal to Campus Safety saying where you are. There's also a blue light system where you can press a button and talk to campus safety if you ever need help. I feel very safe there

    Clubs and Activities

    There's always something going on thanks to the many clubs and activities on campus. Also, really great free food!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The albino squirrel! You have to see him before you graduate. Also, if you don't like the weather outside, do not fear, WE HAVE UNDERGROUND TUNNELS!!! They follow the main path of campus and go to almost all of the buildings and dorms. You never have to step outside if you don't want to, and can wear flip flops in the dead of winter!

    Bang for the buck

    Don't let the initial cost of the school scare you. Scholarships and financial aid help a lot! College is going to be the first of many large expenses in your future, but what is different about college as opposed to buying a car or house is that the money you spend here is an investment in yourself. The school is smaller than a state school would be but that is a huge benefit. If a professor sees that you are hardworking, they will do whatever they can to get any opportunities that they feel might be good for you.

    What to do for fun

    The list could go on forever. Mixers (kind of like a dance), sports games, musicals and shows, and an assortment of random events going on every week. We had a really fun dance party like thing that was essentially like a mosh pit in a blow up pool with bubbles. We also had a Hunger Games Training event where there was a showing of the first Hunger Games movie, a large feast, and several events to participate in such as a chicken wing eating contest, archery tag, a blow up maze, etc. There's always something going on.

    Food and Dining

    Plenty of options for whatever you like. Pasta, pizza, subs, wraps, the grill, a healthy eatery. The school also has vegetarian and vegan options. Also if you're especially lazy like me and don't feel like stepping out of your dorm/ academic building, Naz Delivers is a special delivery service that they have to offer. Great for football games when you're craving a pizza and chicken wings!

    Dorm Life

    Love it! Living on campus is amazing because you can wake up twenty minutes before class and walk there. Gas can get expensive and with Western New York weather, you never know when the snow or ice could appear and delay you. It's especially great as a freshman because it makes it easier to meet people. Love my RAs.

    Academic Rigor

    It's college so it's definitely not going to be a cake walk. However, your professors set you up for success. If you work hard and show your dedication, you will do great. Some majors are more rigorous than other, but if it's your passion, go for it! Don't forget, you can always change your mind!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit!! Take a tour of campus and see for yourself whether or not you would be happy there. My visit to the campus sold me the second I stepped foot there.

    In three sentences

    Nazareth College has a beautiful campus, and is my home away from home. The faculty is very helpful, and cares about your success. It is a small school, and that allows for you to have a personal connection with all of your professors and fellow students.

  • 05/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have a good variety, but a lot of food tends to make me sick. That might be just me, but I've heard from other people on campus that they feel the same.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in Kearney and it was okay. The room was big enough, but the bathrooms were absolutely terrible. It usually smelled weird, and people were crazy loud and destructive. The other dorm buildings seemed to be a lot better.

    Academic Rigor

    It's definitely challenging, but in a good way. I have a solid mid-3.0 average, and I probably could do better. They give you a good amount of work, but I haven't really thought it too super useless. The professors are usually willing to work with you if you're really having trouble with anything.

  • 06/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nazareth College is so good about safety! It's a small campus so campus safety can get to you quickly if you have any issues but it's a very safe campus in a very safe location so there really aren't any problems.

    Clubs and Activities

    For a small college there are quite a few clubs to choose from and they're very good about allowing you to get new clubs started if you feel there's something you'd like to add.

    Bang for the buck

    Nazareth College can be very hard to afford and while they give financial aid to almost every student it's sometimes not enough causing some financial difficulties. Nevertheless, while I have this struggle I will do anything to continue going to Nazareth College because I absolutely love it. It would financially make more sense to go to a different college but I love the campus, the people, the classes, and everything about Nazareth College!

    What to do for fun

    There are not a lot of things to do on campus since it is a small college, but there are buses all the time that stop at the college and go all over the city so you can go to the mall or explore downtown Rochester which has an abundance of options.

    Food and Dining

    Nazareth College is a small school so there are not as many places to choose to eat on campus. Nevertheless, all of the food is really quite delicious and they work to give you different options. It gets kind of old after a while because you feel like you don't have that many choices but overall it's very good!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great at Nazareth College! Although it's a small college you have quite a variety of dorms to choose from including louder more social dorms and quieter more secluded dorms. They're all kept pretty clean and the RA's are all pretty friendly and helpful if you have any concerns or questions. The room sizes are all pretty good too!

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the required classes for all students are easier than specific major courses so they can be used to buffer your grade from your harder classes. Specific major courses however, aren't a walk in the park. Nazareth College classes definitely push you to do your best; it seems slightly overwhelming when you're trying to get everything done, but at the end of every semester you're truly smarter and have actually attained so much knowledge instead of just sliding by so it's worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't push aside Nazareth because of the required classes every student has to take. There are a lot of required courses that we all have to take and while it may turn you off at first, it's actually pretty cool because you probably won't take those kinds of courses again for the rest of your college career and it broadens your range of knowledge. Also, prepare to get kind of tired of the food after a while; while it's all pretty good, after a while it seems like you don't have many choices. This being said, our food is still much better than a lot of other colleges. The majority of people at Nazareth are also genuinely friendly; it's a pretty small college so you see a lot of the same people around campus but there's such a good vibe!

    In three sentences

    Nazareth College is amazing. It has such a great atmosphere and everyone is so friendly. The teachers and classes are awesome and you really feel like you're getting the education that you want.